Get My Ancestors

by Ohana Software LLC
A free program from Ohana Software that allows you to download your family tree from the FamilySearch family tree and save it as a PAF database. You must already have access to familysearch.org.

Free • Windows • Mac • Utility
http://www.ohanasoftware.com/?sec=GetMyAncestors
Overall82.14 out of 52.14 out of 52.14 out of 52.14 out of 52.14 out of 5 2.14
20140    No Ratings
201322.53 out of 52.53 out of 52.53 out of 52.53 out of 52.53 out of 5 2.53
Earlier61.46 out of 51.46 out of 51.46 out of 51.46 out of 51.46 out of 5 1.46

Add Your Review of Get My Ancestors

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

8 Reviews of Get My Ancestors     RSS 2.0 RSS                   Add Your Review

Get My Ancestors Review by freeseek,  Nov 27, 2013

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

This software would be perfect if it could download more than just ancestors and descendants (i.e. relatives beyond first degree cousins) or if you could instruct it to download ancestors of multiple individuals rather than just one individual. I came up with a workaround, but it is not an ideal one and it is a bit tedious:
1) GetMyAncestors (http://www.ohanasoftware.com/?sec=downloads&page=GetMyAncestors) to download different ancestor trees
2) PAF (http://download.cnet.com/Personal-Ancestral-File/3000-20414_4-14899.html) to convert trees into gedcom
3) GenMerge (http://www.genmerge.com/GenMergeSetup.exe) to merge all the gedcom files into a single file

Biggest Pro: free and fast
Biggest Con: does not add relatives beyond first degree cousins, does not save in gedcom format

Get My Ancestors Review by Judith Covert,  Sep 23, 2013

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

It does not help with the fact I have a GED file that has over 1000 people. If I could just upload or convert the GED file it would save a great deal of time

Get My Ancestors Review by EdwinReffell,  Dec 22, 2012

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I made gedcoms using Get My Ancestors from the tree I have made at FamilySearch thinking it would contain all I had put into FamilySearch. Finally I set it at 99 generations and 99 descendents which is the limit. I had to keep checking my tree in FamiySearch to see if I had everything excluding people known to be living or people I have been asked to omit. I did this several times because no time did Get My Ancestors download my whole tree. I am thoroughly disappointed with it and shall remove it from my computer. I hoped I would be able to use it to download the tree for sharing to Ancestry to save me time but it will not. According to the software provider there is a benign bug in it which prevents it from,including everything so you will only get about a third of what you thought you would get in the gedcom Get My Ancestors creates.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Does not do what it says it will do

Get My Ancestors Review by Pauline,  Sep 28, 2012

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Looks and sounds great by general public membership/login is not good enough, you have to be a member of the LDS to use it. Wasted hours trying to get on and the help sucks and there is not contact link to send an email

Biggest Pro: wouldn’t know can’t use it
Biggest Con: can’t use it

Get My Ancestors Review by Darrell,  Oct 3, 2010

Not Rated

This is worthless unless your part of the Church of Later Day Saints. This software is for use with new.familysearch.org, however, the new site is not available to the general public yet.

Get My Ancestors Review by Rob D.,  Jul 31, 2009

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

As I manually keyed several of my ancestors from the New FamilySearch program into RootsMagic 4, I thought to myself “there has got to be a better way”. And, lo and behold, along comes “Get My Ancestors”. My database contains around 1400 individuals, and “Get My Ancestors” helped me find over 4000 of my ancestors (or 2600 additional ancestors). Wow! The price is right (free), and obtaining the registration information wasn’t a big deal for me. When I teach people how to do geneology in my stake, this is the first program I am going to show them. Congratulations Ohana software! You are totally awesome for making this program!

Biggest Pro: Saves hundreds of hours of manual data entry.
Biggest Con: Obtaining the registration key.

Get My Ancestors Review by Richard Anderson,  Jul 23, 2009

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Trying to get Licence

Get My Ancestors Review by Jan,  Oct 14, 2008

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

A program using any GEDCOM import to create graphical view of ancestors, descendants, family and GEDCOM tags.

Biggest Pro: Clear view on data
Biggest Con: Non