Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16

by Ancestry.com
The number one selling genealogy program of all time. Produces a wide variety of reports and charts. This entry is for Family Tree Maker as it existed up to Version 16, which was then rewritten entirely in 2008. Because the versions are so different, please use this entry for the older versions and use the FTM - Current Version to review the newer versions.

Unsupported • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://web.archive.org/web/20060803064623/http://familytreemaker.com/
Overall973.97 out of 53.97 out of 53.97 out of 53.97 out of 53.97 out of 5 3.97
2015174.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 5 4.47
2014233.17 out of 53.17 out of 53.17 out of 53.17 out of 53.17 out of 5 3.17
Earlier573.67 out of 53.67 out of 53.67 out of 53.67 out of 53.67 out of 5 3.67

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

97 Reviews of Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Jeanne Stodder,  6 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

i Had two or three versions prior to 16 and was very happy with them. I especially liked the book writing feature.
I created a 200 page family history with photos and stories and a minimum of charts which no one who isnt a genealogist (professional or amateur ) really wants to read. . theresfter I did annual updates with photos and stories. in the form of newsletters. being able to insert photos into the text w as a terrific feature.
Then in 2012 I got a new Mac and got a 2012 version of .f.t.m for mac.
.i cant begin tell you how disappointed .i was to. Discover there was no book writing feature !
that begins to compare with the old pc versions? fortunately I have a laptop PC which I have used ever since

Isorry about typing errors but I’m writing this on an old iPad that jumps all over the place!,

Biggest Pro: Already stated
Biggest Con: Sometimes when trying to insert photos into a page with other photos they will jump around,

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Diana Korol,  Aug 23, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

We have been working on building our family trees since the 90’s and found that version 16 was the best and easiest to work with. We used the descending way of doing these trees because we were taught that they begin at the roots, like a tree grows, not with the person doing the trees. We also like that we were able to build our own books - great feature. Now that we have all this information for four different family what do we do with it as the newer versions don’t allow trees to be built in a descending manner and the book feature doesn’t work. We liked the Family sheet you can see the family unit at a glance. The charts are easy to follow and can be printed on 81/2 X 11 paper not on continuous paper like the older printers used to. What a waste of our time and energy.

Biggest Pro: very user friendly, great book feature, great chart capability
Biggest Con: none

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Suzen Miiller Holder Middleton,  Aug 23, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

easy to use. Put a lot of effort into getting information.

Biggest Pro: easy to use
Biggest Con: can’t find the one I did

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Leonard,  Jul 30, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Beyond a doubt the most user friendly and complete genealogy program to date. More information is visible from the family group sheet view than any program. All of the vital data for a family of 12 is visible on one screen. It is a shame the product was discontinued. There is nothing new in the 2014/15 version other than the extra effort needed to navigate and the way too crowed display.

Biggest Pro: All vital data seen for a family of 12 on on screen and a simple scroll brings up 13+ members
Biggest Con: Discontinued Internet search feature and PDF format printing of reports

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Pat,  Jul 16, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Version 16 is the best. I have 2014 but completely unloaded it and loaded 16 after I finally found a copy. Does anyone know of a like version 16 that will work on a 8.1 computer?

Biggest Pro: Easy to use
Biggest Con: None I can think of

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by H. M. French,  Jul 14, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I HATE FTM 2014. The old Family Tree Maker was so simple and easy to use. If you wanted your pictures in chronological order, you simply clicked Format and then clicked the button to put them in chronological order. If there is a way to do this in FTM 2014 - other than dragging from top to bottom - it is too obscure to find. Also, FTM 2014 has decided that I can’t add “media” from the desktop anymore. I have to put a picture on a flash drive and import it from that. Again, there may be way to import from the desk top but good luck finding it.
I am so tired of geeks trying to see just how complicated they can make an otherwise easy to use program. The same thing happened to Print Shop when Broderbund sold it.

Biggest Pro: Haven’t found one yet
Biggest Con: ridiculously complicated

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Loretta Bilow,  Jul 13, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Can Ioad version 10 on my computer that has Windows 7. I am interested in purchasing the latest version.
Loretta

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Janet Richards,  Jun 22, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I have a family tree maker original disk, but can’t install the program in my new computer w windows 8.1. When will family tree maker have an updated version that 8.1 windows can process.

Biggest Pro: easy to understand and well organized
Biggest Con: unable to transfer to other computers and windows software

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Janet Richards,  Jun 22, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I like Family tree 2006 but how do I transfer it to my new computer with an 8.1 version of windows. I installed my program June9,2007. Company hasn’t given me much help

Biggest Pro: Easy to use and nice format
Biggest Con: Trying to transfer or share data with other family geneology members.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Guy Castille,  Jun 15, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I Had several of the newer versions. I uninstalled them and switched back to version 9. I prefer the charts on the older versions they are easier to enter information and correct mistakes. Too bad the newer versions don’ t have the old charts. the family page in the older versions is the best feature for checking history. I don’t like the way the newer versions try to take over my system. if a newer version came out with the old family page then I might buy it.

Biggest Pro: easier to correct mistakes
Biggest Con: none

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Elaine Pavone,  May 25, 2015

Not Rated

Wonderful!!! So intuitively easy. I really hate the newer versions. They’re almost impossible to navigate. I am looking for a different program but not certain which would be similar to Family Treemaker v.16.

Biggest Pro: So intuitively easy to navigate. Also the ability to link to the Ancestry databases so easily.
Biggest Con: none

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Nancy-Jo Nunez,  May 2, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have had this program since it came out and was a real advocate of Broderbund’s product for years up through this version. I LOVE IT. The data entry screen is simple and not cluttered with stuff. The book feature is flexible, you can add your own pages, images, etc. by “inserting a text object aka a plain page”. The program used to sync with ancestry.com but stopped on Version 16. I still use it. I am disappointed that this Version 16 will not run well with all features enabled once you move off Windows XP, Windows 7 has compatibility issues and I didn’t move to Windows 8 because I’m on 7 and already doing without features like: exporting to a PDF..none of the charts can export, reports can’t export and forget exporting a book in Windows 7 with Version 16. Other than that I REFUSE to move to an ancestry.com product. I’m looking for a program to download for free just to print out my charts and it’s looking like Roots Magic so far. But this and previous version built by Broderbund are my favorites, very easy to use and allows real flexibility.

Biggest Pro: Book feature allowing you to add your own text documents, building the book with what you want and not some predetermined table of contents
Biggest Con: Family Tree Maker looses functionality on Windows 7, Windows 8…it runs fantastic on XP

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Cyn Texas,  Apr 9, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used Family Tree Maker since 3.0 came out! I am currently using FTM 16 on my Windows 8.1 computer. I used the Vista patch which works on Windows 7 also on my Windows 8 and 8.1 to make it work.

I just wanted to let others know that it does work on 8 and on 8.1!! I have used it for nearly 2 years on my Toshiba laptop which came with Windows 8. I updated to 8.1 and it works fine on it also. Be sure to always shut it down yourself properly each time after you open it. I have tried the newer ones and always come back to the older version. It is just user friendly and doesn’t get messed up by syncing with Ancestry. Syncing with Ancestry can really mess up a newer tree!

I have recently had a problem with mine with the “Edit Notes” not opening and I may have to reload it to fix the problem. However, this is minor compared with the problems I had with the new versions! Any of them I bought and tried had so many drawbacks compared to the simple FTM 16. Hope this helps someone else!

Biggest Pro: Just plain easier! Especially for newbies and us baby boomers!
Biggest Con: A little harder to install, but there is help out there just google the Vista patch!

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Virginia,  Mar 7, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This was the best and last really perfect FTM . Easy to use, easy on old eyes, great reports with ease in choosing the info wanted or not wanted in the reports.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use
Biggest Con: None

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Ben,  Jan 25, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have upgraded, from the beginning, to most of the new versions until I received 2014 and I may be done. Some I did not use. I still use 16 for my work and load the updated files to 14 as I know that some day I will probably have to use it in spite of my dislike for that version. Version 16 was very easy to use although there are some minor problems while using it in W7, but nothing major. I used to recommend it for any new members in our genealogy club, who were beginners. In our club, some members, due to our age, have enough trouble with just using a computer and they would not be able to use version 14. It seems that the newer versions were built to give some programmers work and are not relevant to the rest of us. I think the average person just wants a program, like 16, which will organize their information on their computer and make it readily available to share with our families. The vast majority of us are not professional “genealogists” and do not need all of the bells and whistles. I can make the newer versions work, work, but I still don’t like them. I bought a new computer, in Dec. and I purchase another W7 model, so that I can use 16 on it as I am guessing that it will not work on W8 or W8.1

Biggest Pro: User friendly for beginners. easy to demonstrate to beginners, easy to use for all
Biggest Con: Some minor problems, in W7, when exporting some files to my desktop

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Dale Updike,  Jan 21, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I bought version 2012 and 2014 and hate them both. I still use version 16, as it is simpler, easier, FAR FAR faster, and far less complicated than the latest 2 versions. I import my file from 16 into 2014 for uploading to my Ancestry account.

Biggest Pro: Edit screen is FAR superior to LL other FTMs and software programs.
Biggest Con: They discontinued the “Web search” option in 16 - disgusting!! An obvious ‘money grab!’

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Jacqueline Lubinski,  Jan 7, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am still using FTM version 11. I have had the “new and improved” Ancestry bought out versions, up to currently FTM 2012. While they give you more info on the screen–less is sometimes better! It is too bulky to use. The charts are difficult to calibrate and don’t shrink down how you want them. I have been using FTM since the late ’90’s. Every upgrade in that format was easy and did not need mastering. Every one of the bought out Ancestry new formats I need to buy a new manual to read how to do everything. It is not user friendly and it takes me twice as long to get what info I am looking for. Version 11 I WILL NOT get rid of and use it until it falls apart!

Biggest Pro: User friendly right out of the box.
Biggest Con: none

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Gray,  Dec 27, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

The most irritating family tree program I have had to use. Why was it necessary to remove the tried and tested 2006 version? I have lost over 50 years of work and it will take at least two years to re-enter all my data. I bought FTM2014 but I found it so stressful I took it back to PC World and was refunded. I also bought FTM 2010 four years ago and did not use it for the reason but kept it and now I am stuck with that unless I can find a better program. Can anyone recommend a better Family Tree program so I can dump my present FTM 2010?

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Cris Moorehouse,  Dec 8, 2014

Not Rated

If something works why change it? When Ancestry.com bought Family Tree Maker they completely changed the look of the program and I find it very difficult to use and find my way through the names in my FTM files. I did call and talk to someone at Ancestry.com about FTM and was made to feel like a idiot. I guess if you are a pro you have no problems but not being a pro I find my elf when I try to use a version above 16. I maintain a laptop with Microsoft Windows Vista so I can use FTM as I have over the years but it currently shuts down constantly as I am using the program.

Biggest Pro: Version 16 very easy to use.
Biggest Con: Versions after 16 very difficult for me to use

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Richard,  Dec 2, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am still running this software on W7. I was dissuaded from upgrading by the poor reviews of the later versions.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use and intuitive

Show 21-40 »