Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16

Click To See Award Winners
by Ancestry.com
The number one selling genealogy program of all time. Produces a wide variety of reports and charts. This entry is for Family Tree Maker as it existed up to Version 16, which was then rewritten entirely in 2008. Because the versions are so different, please use this entry for the older versions and use the FTM - Current Version to review the newer versions.

Unsupported • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://web.archive.org/web/20060803064623/http://familytreemaker.com/
Overall763.46 out of 53.46 out of 53.46 out of 53.46 out of 53.46 out of 5 3.46
2014183.24 out of 53.24 out of 53.24 out of 53.24 out of 53.24 out of 5 3.24
2013133.3 out of 53.3 out of 53.3 out of 53.3 out of 53.3 out of 5 3.30
Earlier454.36 out of 54.36 out of 54.36 out of 54.36 out of 54.36 out of 5 4.36

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

76 Reviews of Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Harald Weiß,  Nov 12, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

In over 20 Years I collected more than 80.000 family related names, data, most of them with picture and vita. 2 GB – all one by one - no bulk-input. 200 Generations covering 5.500 years from all over the world. Impossible to split the network to separate partitions. I updated FTM up to Version 11. Later the response time became dreadfully slow. I thought either my computer or XP could not cope. in 2010 I bought an up-to-date system and installed the rewritten Version of FTW. It took 103 minutes(!) to enter my data - resulting incomplete, data missing, not usable. Now back to Version 11 on XP I am stuck. I cannot recall having seen a FTW Specification regarding a limit of people that FTW can handle? After all, is that my problem? What can I do? It was so easy and comfortable with the pre 2008 versions to build this grandiose genealogy network. A bit tricky with pre Christianity generations. I am confused with the rewritten FTW. It appears too complicated and seems to follow different objections. I would certainly prefer to continue with a speed-improved Version 11. An answer resp. recommendation would be highly appreciated. Thank You.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Pat Clauser,  Oct 20, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Version 11

Biggest Pro: Don’t see any
Biggest Con: Not easy to see everything about somebody at one time. Version 10 was much better.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Myrna bailey,  Oct 6, 2014

Not Rated

Have version 2006 and I can’t use my web serch any more. Why they took it off the older version
Now what doi do?im pretty elite rate and not sure how igo about instuling a 2014 version
What do I do?

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Vanessa,  Sep 18, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I love FTM 16, easer to use to, add names to tree, to look up family on internet, to read reports.

Biggest Pro: easer to update in formation and read the family tree
Biggest Con: more complacated to use.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Val,  Sep 10, 2014

Not Rated

For what its worth: I’m running FMT version 11 on a Windows 7 Home Premium laptop. That computer is 2 yrs old now and I no longer remember how I loaded FMT on it — but I’m pretty sure I installed it with the FTM discs and have had zero trouble running it.

Biggest Pro: 20+ years using the FTM software so I’m very familiar with how it works.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by robert von berge,  Sep 8, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Ive been a user of FTM since 1998 and enjoyed using it until they sold out to Ancestry. I purchased FTM2012 to upgrade from 2005,not a good ides. Found it more complicated making it user unfriendly but eventually I semi mastered it. I have only sent over a small Family tree that contains very little to check out Ancestry’s motives. Don’t do it ,it becomes public regardless of what they say. Ive had problems with the Font on the program enlarging bigger than the boxes on the screen, requiring a reboot of the program. Call to tech support say’s it’s my problem, however no other program on my computer has this problem so I live with it. I have been reading all of the issues with upgrading, because I have the 2012 version, but I am now convinced to go with Legacy.
Ancestry has messed up what use to be the best, maybe if you subscribe to the $150. program they will send you a bug free FTM. (note: don’t sync to ancestry)

Biggest Pro: Charts and Reports easy to use
Biggest Con: Ancestry’s intreferance with once was the best. poor tech support

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Jeanne Gorlick,  Sep 1, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I really liked FTM and used it since 2000, but there was a downside. When you upgraded ot a newer version, you lost research from the previous versions. I have had real problems since the 2012 version upgrade. Then I upgraded to 2014 hoping for improvement. Now I’m supposed to download my FTM data on gedcom to Ancestry so that anyone can take and use my data, good or bad. The only other option is to make the information unavailable to anyone except chosen people. I decided to just put some family trees on the Ancestry side to see what happened. I only added information readily available from Ancestry.com. Many unknown people began taking information from the FTM side. I have contacted customer support with my complaint. After 3 minutes your are switched to a recording of your opinion of your experience.

Biggest Pro: My information is stored there.
Biggest Con: You don’t own your family tree any more. It was sold to Ancestry.com

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by joyce mannell,  Aug 28, 2014

Not Rated

I have the F.T.M. 2005 on my xp pc and 2006 on my vista pc problem is why cant i add it to my laptop windows 8
I tried but it never worked am I doing something wrong I keep upadating it to a memory stick as I dont want to lose anything

Any help please contact me jc.mannell@gmail.com

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Jeanette Vanden Bosch,  Jul 23, 2014

Not Rated

FTM 16 was the last software ancestry put out that was any good at all. The new FTM is set up to sync with ancestry webpages established by people who need software, or want to share, or want to take what they find on other trees on the site. The newest FTM is a joke. It is difficult to get around in, and if you make a mistake impossible to correct it. Now as of July 31 the auto search feature is going away. A lot of genealogists have vision problems, 16 is very easy on the eyes, the new version I can barely see…totally confusing as well.

Biggest Pro: ease of use
Biggest Con: none

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Vivian,  May 23, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I had Version 10, and entered lots of data. The entire computer crashed, and I could not install the software on the new machine. All attempts to learn How to retrieve the lost data ended up nowhere - LOTS of brick walls where customer support is promised - attempts to get even basic answers by phone, by email or on-line led to deadends. I’d have been better off rigging up something from Excel - at least I’d still be able to access what I had input.

Biggest Pro: easy to use tabs and connections
Biggest Con: You do NOT own or have guaranteed access to your own data and inputs.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Jeff Redman,  May 7, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I have used FTM for years and through the 2006 version it was great, but when I attempted to upgrade to 2008 the new version would not open the or convert the 2006 file. All contacts with FTM support ultimately resulted in “you’ll just have to reenter your data, because the file could not be converted to work in the new version. Since I have more than 100,000 entries. The reenter the data is just not do-able.

Biggest Pro: Great features
Biggest Con: The company didn’t insure file compatibility and does not seem to care.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Doreen,  Apr 15, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Have not liked FTM since 2008 and I too have kept an old XP laptop just so I can access the good program. Ancestry.com has intruded on every aspect of our databases since then. Try using the newer ones without internet? Even worse.

Someone said that on Windows 8.1 you can use 16 again. I know my Vista computer it did not work on, So can anyone tell me if it is working for them? I would really LOVE to make FTM my program again. I have been using several programs since 2008 and I am sure each time I change programs I lose some data.

Biggest Pro: FAST
Biggest Con: Hasn’t worked with Microsoft’s constant changing of filing systems for too

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by J.McLane,  Feb 28, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

FTM v.16 was the highwater mark for this program. It has consistently gone downhill since, with junk and screens that are worthless to 95% of genealogist. I maintain an old limping XP PC so can I still use it. The makers need to wakeup before market share erodes (probably already has)

Biggest Pro: 5 generation view, Clean simple screens that are easy to use.
Biggest Con: Not compatible with any windows version after XP

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Sandra,  Feb 26, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I prefer Family Tree Maker 16, and it is working with Windows 8. I was not happy with the bloated newer versions of Family Tree Maker. I am currently considering changing to Legacy which appears to have a better rating than Family Tree Maker.

Biggest Pro: vers 16 is user friendly and simple
Biggest Con: lack of support and inability to delete unneeded facts in batch

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by diana,  Feb 3, 2014

Not Rated

I have been using FTM for many years but only use 2008. I have many thousands of names and mostly no problems until last week. When I opened it following the day before entering names it had lost at least 2-3 years work. I was gutted.

Can anyone help me, unfortunately I hadn’t backed it up for sometime.

Is the reason for crashing because I should have updated FTM to a newer version. I should also add I use Vista on my computer. I am not very confident at installing new versions.

Please respond to rjdbb@telia.com
thanks Diana

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Betty Swann,  Jan 26, 2014

Not Rated

I am trying to locate a Family Tree Maker 2006 and cannot find one. Do any of you have one I could buy? I saved all my data on it,did not publish it due to possible errors, thought I had saved it on a CD and discovered I had not. I think I need 2006 installed and then try to use my CD.
Please respond to:
bettyjswann@gmail.com
Thanks.

Biggest Pro: I need a copy of 2006
Biggest Con: I can’t find one

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Gordon Canning,  Jan 20, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

My Version of Family Tree Maker 16 is not supported in Windows 7 Home Premium

Biggest Pro: Ease of use
Biggest Con: Not compatable with Windows 7 Home Premium

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by John J. Rynkiewicz,  Jan 5, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

OK, I have Windows XP and FTM 2005. A relative of mine sent me her FTM 2012 ftmb file but I am unable to get it to open or work within 2005 file formats? What do I do now? Do I need to convert this backwards from the FTM 2012 version so it will work in FTM 2005? From everything I have read about the newer verisons of FTM appears as if end users all agree that Ancestry blew it with these newer version. So now that this is a said and done deal what about us end users who like using the older version like 2005 and then MS goes ahead and says they will no longer support their OS of Windows XP platform?

Un-Happy in Lockport, NY

Thanks

John (JJRynk@hotmail.com)

Biggest Pro: I dunno, someone tell me please!
Biggest Con: Lack of Downward compatibility

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by T. Wall,  Nov 4, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Run Family Tree Maker using a Virtual Machine that is Windows XP within Windows 7.

I absolutely hate Family Tree Maker 2012 and do not see anything in Family Tree Maker 2014 that makes me want to buy it. Ancestry blew it with Family Tree Maker 2012 and still hasn’t gotten it right.

Biggest Pro: Keeps the ease of data entry I enjoy.
Biggest Con: Windows XP will no longer be supported next year and Windows 8 is yet to be tried the Client Hyper-V and Family Tree Maker Version 16.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Sylvia Marshall,  Nov 2, 2013

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

This program stinks! This is not a word I generally use, however its the best word to describe this program!

Biggest Pro: Haven’t found any as yet,.
Biggest Con: Broderbund should never have sold it.

Show 21-40 »