Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16

Click To See Award Winners
by Ancestry.com
The number one selling genealogy program of all time. Produces a wide variety of reports and charts. This entry is for Family Tree Maker as it existed up to Version 16 which was sold up to 2008. It was then rewritten entirely. Because the versions are so different, please use this entry for the older versions and use the FTM 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry to review the rewritten versions. To review the latest release (March 2016 or later), use the Family Tree Maker page for Software MacKiev.

Unsupported • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://web.archive.org/web/20060803064623/http://familytreemaker.com/
Overall1144.18 out of 54.18 out of 54.18 out of 54.18 out of 54.18 out of 5 4.18
201684.46 out of 54.46 out of 54.46 out of 54.46 out of 54.46 out of 5 4.46
2015264.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5 4.50
Earlier803.36 out of 53.36 out of 53.36 out of 53.36 out of 53.36 out of 5 3.36

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

114 Reviews of Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Caroline Mortimer,  Apr 22, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I found this really difficult to use and when I had entered everything I couldn’t print the full tree.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by ralph,  Apr 18, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am using v11 2003 post 2008 versions are unusably bad. But I have a question, does v11 run on Windows 10? there are contradictory statements here, some say the old versions run, some say not. Which is it?

Biggest Pro: Most information on one page, notes easy to access, easy to paste into, saves only basic text
Biggest Con: only 4 children show

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Brenda Kane,  Apr 18, 2016

Not Rated

I have a new computer - Windows 8 - my installation CD for FTM 16 is missing - my former computer person had all my CDs and he is also among the missing. So - all my info is “in space” and I am unable to access any of it. Any idea where I might beg, borrow, find the installation CD for 16.

Biggest Pro: Loved the FTM - had 9 originally and then went to 16 but no further.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Arnold Chamove,  Apr 1, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Of the dozen I have trialed and used, this is the best and the one I use daily. The screen is uncluttered and only has the stuff you use a lot. And it is intuitive in that what you most-commonly do is right there in front of you. After ver 16 was “Improved”, it dropped to almost unusable and unstable.

Biggest Pro: Intuitive and uncluttered
Biggest Con: Verson has now been “improved” and they cut the link with Ancestry

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Maurice Johnson,  Mar 11, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Version 16 is a better program then 2012. You can indicate more data the new version. and lot easy to operate.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Pontus J.,  Feb 5, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I tried the new FTM 2014 and didn’t like it and have no interest whatsoever to use it.
Where can I buy/download a new copy of FTM 16 ???

Biggest Pro: Works well and easy to use!
Biggest Con: Not for sale anymore.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Jack Mansfield,  Feb 4, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’m still using it and not planning nto upgrade.
BTW Does anyone know wshere I can get a manual?
J

Biggest Pro: It works for my purposes
Biggest Con: Data and Photos somewhat limited

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Sylvia,  Jan 8, 2016

Not Rated

Early edition, easy to use the latest not so good.

Biggest Pro: Early edition, very user friendly
Biggest Con: Now Ancestry doesn’t want to be affiliated with it?

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Thomas Colwell Payne,  Dec 9, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used FTM v16 and continue to use it even though new versions were available. I continued to invest in the newer versions expecting the later versions to be better than FTM16. Each new release after v16 never met my expectations, so I never really used any versions after v16.

I use Ancestry to find new relatives, supporting documents and photos. But, my FTM v16 is where I keep all my primary master files and records. I have about 27000 individuals in my tree and have been working on my tree since 1970. My purpose has been to update an old family tree book “The Paynes of Hamilton” published in 1910. I was planning on releasing a new book through 2010, but Hurricane Katrina on 2005 redirected my Genealogy hobby to rebuilding my home hobby. Now, (2005) I am back, with a new computers, and my backup genealogy program & files loaded. I reloaded FTM v16 but my computer see a software error when trying to print reports & trees in “PDF” format.

Ancestry a decision not to support FTM or to improve Ancestry “Book” printing capability greatly disappoints me. Before Katrina, I could print a 1000+ page family book, that look very similar to my cousins book published in 1910. It seems that Ancestrys book capability can only be published from their on site partner in small tree format and at very high price. The new Ancestry, to truly be a great program, needs to equal the old FTM v16 printing capability of Books, with table of context, multiple ancestry and descendant trees, photos, indexes, reference listings.

Ancestry: ThomasColwellPayne
Email: ThomasCPayne@aol.com

Attention: I hope Kendell Hulet, senior vp of product management at Ancestry realizes that Ancestry alone doesn’t meet his customers needs!

Biggest Pro: FTM v16 printing capability of Books, with table of context, multiple ancestry and descendant trees, photos, indexes, reference listings.
Biggest Con: The decision to discontinue FTM v16 for all it wonderful printing capability

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Bob,  Dec 2, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Still using Version 4.0a, Windows 95 on my Windows 10 laptop. Only feature that doesn’t work is Help. CD’s loaded with no problem.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Ralph,  Nov 30, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I liked the versions of before Ancestry took it over. I use FTM2012 but have it won’ synchronise with Ancestry - fails because Ancestry while it has the best records & database creates too many duplicate persons & facts in their profiles due to poor software for merging. My main tree has 16000 names of which I estimate 6000 are duplicates. So FTM has many duplicates also.
It is easier & quicker (fewer keystrokes to work in Ancestry but it duplicates people as you merge.
From others comments I don’t think I should upgrade to FTM2014. Ancestry replies to problems eg duplicates are not helpful.

Biggest Pro: Great hints & searches from Ancestry
Biggest Con: Produces duplicates as you merge in Ancestry & then won’t synchronise to FTM

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Bonnie Chumney,  Nov 24, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used Family Tree Maker from 1998 until the present. However, when I purchased the updated program in 2008, I hated it and still do. It was a major overhaul from that which made Family Tree Maker the #1 family genealogy program of all time, and in my opinion brought it down to nil. It is horrible, when compared to the earlier versions. It doesn’t allow you to use your CDs you collected and paid good money for, so that they could have you pay for online search, which in cases doesn’t even give you the information you had available in some of the CDs. Broderbund made a much, much better software product than whoever took over in 2008, and I have continued to use my FTM version 16 until I upgraded to Windows 10 recently. Well, it seems my older version will not work on the new op system, and since I don’t like the later versions at all, I have decided that recording my research results is more stressful and complicated than fun, anymore. Thus, I won’t be needing my subscription to ancestry.com anymore either. I will find another program as much like the old one as possible, or another hobby, altogether, and hope whichever does not require technology that updates all the time.

Biggest Pro: the older versions made by Broderbund before 2008 were where FTM got their reputation as #1.
Biggest Con: The versions since 2008 are nowhere near as good, as simple or as helpful without the use of ancestry.com online services.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Ian Wallace,  Oct 21, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have a couple of old versions of FTM that have served me well since last century.
I was interested to read of the problems some people have had with running old versions under new operating systems. I am currently running FTM9 (from 2001) under Windows 10 without any problems. It is easy to use and meets my current requirements. I also have some small current research trees online with Ancestry but update them manually.

At some stage I will rewrite my database with improved source recording using new software. It will not be New FTM !

Biggest Pro: Flexible and easy to use. Does not try to force “sync” with online data.
Biggest Con: None really

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Tricia Webb,  Oct 17, 2015

Not Rated

I had FTM2006, which I loved and populated with 30,000 individuals over 5 years. When my new computer was running Windows 8, I was forced to upgrade to FTM2014
I hate it - it did not transfer all the citations, notations and additional info I had built. I cannot manage to easily add facts or data. Everytime I sit down to use it, I can cry with the frustration. Such that I have stopped doing genealogy. I called the FTM sales and support and they were useless.

Biggest Con: Lack of useability. Viewing format is not user friendly. No ease of access.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Mark Loev,  Oct 14, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have FTM 2005. It has never given me a problem and always easy to use. But reading all the horror stories of the 2014 version scares me. Maybe i should go with an entirely different company.

Biggest Pro: Version 2005 was perfect couldnt be better
Biggest Con: Have to upgrade to newer version for windows 10

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Susan Miller,  Sep 6, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I LOVE Family Tree Maker 2006/Version 16 - the Version 16 just added a small upgrade. I loved the earlier FTM editions as well back to 1997 - each upgrade then brought us a few new features. I have never gotten this version to work decently in any Windows version newer than XP. When my XP desktop finally died earlier this year, I was delighted to find people on eBay that still are building new desktops with XP, and my new desktop works fine! Info and links to the upgrade from FTM 2006 to Version 16 can still be found at http://help.ancestry.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/2508/~/ftm-2006%3A-updating-to-version-16. There is a link to the patch to try to get it to work on Vista or Windows 7 on the same page - I have not tried that for years, but the one I tried never worked.

I have tried newer versions of Family Tree Maker and hate them. Roots Magic is better than newer versions of FTM and will open FTM files, but I find it very awkward to use. I now use a newer computer for banking and online shopping but stick to XP for genealogy. I do miss the auto search feature from FTM to Ancestry, but I much preferred the old search on Ancestry to the new search.

Biggest Pro: Everything is easy to see and find in a family group sheet format, and the reports and books are much better than those of the software programs of the past 10 years. It is very easy to learn and use.
Biggest Con: It has been getting increasingly difficult to obtain good computers that run Windows XP - but it is worth it to me just to keep using FTM 2006/16!

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Jean Lewis,  Sep 5, 2015

Not Rated

I rate version 16 as the best mainly because of the “book making” ability BUT everyone should know if you upgrade your computer to Windows 8 or above you have to upgrade your FTM software AND the books will not transfer and the newer versions do not include the ability to create books. Shame on Ancestry for its lack of concern for all of us who have used FTM for so many years.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use and ability to create books of your families.
Biggest Con: Version 16 cannot be used on Windows 8 or above.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Jeanne Stodder,  Aug 26, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

i Had two or three versions prior to 16 and was very happy with them. I especially liked the book writing feature.
I created a 200 page family history with photos and stories and a minimum of charts which no one who isnt a genealogist (professional or amateur ) really wants to read. . theresfter I did annual updates with photos and stories. in the form of newsletters. being able to insert photos into the text w as a terrific feature.
Then in 2012 I got a new Mac and got a 2012 version of .f.t.m for mac.
.i cant begin tell you how disappointed .i was to. Discover there was no book writing feature !
that begins to compare with the old pc versions? fortunately I have a laptop PC which I have used ever since

Isorry about typing errors but I’m writing this on an old iPad that jumps all over the place!,

Biggest Pro: Already stated
Biggest Con: Sometimes when trying to insert photos into a page with other photos they will jump around,

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Diana Korol,  Aug 23, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

We have been working on building our family trees since the 90’s and found that version 16 was the best and easiest to work with. We used the descending way of doing these trees because we were taught that they begin at the roots, like a tree grows, not with the person doing the trees. We also like that we were able to build our own books - great feature. Now that we have all this information for four different family what do we do with it as the newer versions don’t allow trees to be built in a descending manner and the book feature doesn’t work. We liked the Family sheet you can see the family unit at a glance. The charts are easy to follow and can be printed on 81/2 X 11 paper not on continuous paper like the older printers used to. What a waste of our time and energy.

Biggest Pro: very user friendly, great book feature, great chart capability
Biggest Con: none

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Suzen Miiller Holder Middleton,  Aug 23, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

easy to use. Put a lot of effort into getting information.

Biggest Pro: easy to use
Biggest Con: can’t find the one I did

Show 21-40 »