Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16

Click To See Award Winners
by Ancestry.com
The number one selling genealogy program of all time. Produces a wide variety of reports and charts. This entry is for Family Tree Maker as it existed up to Version 16, which was then rewritten entirely in 2008. Because the versions are so different, please use this entry for the older versions and use the FTM - Current Version to review the newer versions.

Unsupported • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://web.archive.org/web/20060803064623/http://familytreemaker.com/
Overall683.48 out of 53.48 out of 53.48 out of 53.48 out of 53.48 out of 5 3.48
2014103.06 out of 53.06 out of 53.06 out of 53.06 out of 53.06 out of 5 3.06
2013133.3 out of 53.3 out of 53.3 out of 53.3 out of 53.3 out of 5 3.30
Earlier454.36 out of 54.36 out of 54.36 out of 54.36 out of 54.36 out of 5 4.36

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

68 Reviews of Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Jeanette Vanden Bosch,  Jul 23, 2014

Not Rated

FTM 2016 was the last software ancestry put out that was any good at all. The new FTM is set up to sync with ancestry webpages established by people who need software, or want to share, or want to take what they find on other trees on the site. The newest FTM is a joke. It is difficult to get around in, and if you make a mistake impossible to correct it. Now as of July 31 the auto search feature is going away. A lot of genealogists have vision problems, 16 is very easy on the eyes, the new version I can barely see…totally confusing as well.

Biggest Pro: ease of use
Biggest Con: none

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Vivian,  May 23, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I had Version 10, and entered lots of data. The entire computer crashed, and I could not install the software on the new machine. All attempts to learn How to retrieve the lost data ended up nowhere - LOTS of brick walls where customer support is promised - attempts to get even basic answers by phone, by email or on-line led to deadends. I’d have been better off rigging up something from Excel - at least I’d still be able to access what I had input.

Biggest Pro: easy to use tabs and connections
Biggest Con: You do NOT own or have guaranteed access to your own data and inputs.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Jeff Redman,  May 7, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I have used FTM for years and through the 2006 version it was great, but when I attempted to upgrade to 2008 the new version would not open the or convert the 2006 file. All contacts with FTM support ultimately resulted in “you’ll just have to reenter your data, because the file could not be converted to work in the new version. Since I have more than 100,000 entries. The reenter the data is just not do-able.

Biggest Pro: Great features
Biggest Con: The company didn’t insure file compatibility and does not seem to care.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Doreen,  Apr 15, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Have not liked FTM since 2008 and I too have kept an old XP laptop just so I can access the good program. Ancestry.com has intruded on every aspect of our databases since then. Try using the newer ones without internet? Even worse.

Someone said that on Windows 8.1 you can use 16 again. I know my Vista computer it did not work on, So can anyone tell me if it is working for them? I would really LOVE to make FTM my program again. I have been using several programs since 2008 and I am sure each time I change programs I lose some data.

Biggest Pro: FAST
Biggest Con: Hasn’t worked with Microsoft’s constant changing of filing systems for too

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by J.McLane,  Feb 28, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

FTM v.16 was the highwater mark for this program. It has consistently gone downhill since, with junk and screens that are worthless to 95% of genealogist. I maintain an old limping XP PC so can I still use it. The makers need to wakeup before market share erodes (probably already has)

Biggest Pro: 5 generation view, Clean simple screens that are easy to use.
Biggest Con: Not compatible with any windows version after XP

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Sandra,  Feb 26, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I prefer Family Tree Maker 16, and it is working with Windows 8. I was not happy with the bloated newer versions of Family Tree Maker. I am currently considering changing to Legacy which appears to have a better rating than Family Tree Maker.

Biggest Pro: vers 16 is user friendly and simple
Biggest Con: lack of support and inability to delete unneeded facts in batch

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by diana,  Feb 3, 2014

Not Rated

I have been using FTM for many years but only use 2008. I have many thousands of names and mostly no problems until last week. When I opened it following the day before entering names it had lost at least 2-3 years work. I was gutted.

Can anyone help me, unfortunately I hadn’t backed it up for sometime.

Is the reason for crashing because I should have updated FTM to a newer version. I should also add I use Vista on my computer. I am not very confident at installing new versions.

Please respond to rjdbb@telia.com
thanks Diana

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Betty Swann,  Jan 26, 2014

Not Rated

I am trying to locate a Family Tree Maker 2006 and cannot find one. Do any of you have one I could buy? I saved all my data on it,did not publish it due to possible errors, thought I had saved it on a CD and discovered I had not. I think I need 2006 installed and then try to use my CD.
Please respond to:
bettyjswann@gmail.com
Thanks.

Biggest Pro: I need a copy of 2006
Biggest Con: I can’t find one

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Gordon Canning,  Jan 20, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

My Version of Family Tree Maker 16 is not supported in Windows 7 Home Premium

Biggest Pro: Ease of use
Biggest Con: Not compatable with Windows 7 Home Premium

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by John J. Rynkiewicz,  Jan 5, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

OK, I have Windows XP and FTM 2005. A relative of mine sent me her FTM 2012 ftmb file but I am unable to get it to open or work within 2005 file formats? What do I do now? Do I need to convert this backwards from the FTM 2012 version so it will work in FTM 2005? From everything I have read about the newer verisons of FTM appears as if end users all agree that Ancestry blew it with these newer version. So now that this is a said and done deal what about us end users who like using the older version like 2005 and then MS goes ahead and says they will no longer support their OS of Windows XP platform?

Un-Happy in Lockport, NY

Thanks

John (JJRynk@hotmail.com)

Biggest Pro: I dunno, someone tell me please!
Biggest Con: Lack of Downward compatibility

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by T. Wall,  Nov 4, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Run Family Tree Maker using a Virtual Machine that is Windows XP within Windows 7.

I absolutely hate Family Tree Maker 2012 and do not see anything in Family Tree Maker 2014 that makes me want to buy it. Ancestry blew it with Family Tree Maker 2012 and still hasn’t gotten it right.

Biggest Pro: Keeps the ease of data entry I enjoy.
Biggest Con: Windows XP will no longer be supported next year and Windows 8 is yet to be tried the Client Hyper-V and Family Tree Maker Version 16.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Sylvia Marshall,  Nov 2, 2013

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

This program stinks! This is not a word I generally use, however its the best word to describe this program!

Biggest Pro: Haven’t found any as yet,.
Biggest Con: Broderbund should never have sold it.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by GT,  Sep 21, 2013

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Software cannot deal with multiple reference research facts. GEDCOM export do not export preferred status.

Biggest Pro: connects with ancestry
Biggest Con: Flaky you’ll need to delete all those census error facts or facts in general to export

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Jayne Tuohig,  Sep 1, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used FTM since 2001 up to Version 16. I bought 2010 and hated it. None of my pre-set charts would convert to the upgrade Dumped it, and retreated to v16. I can’t believe what they did with the newer revisions - plus now I’m learning that Ancestry will not support this version?

Biggest Pro: Bibliography
Biggest Con: Restricted Word processing capability in “Notes” segments.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Jim Duggan,  Aug 13, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used FTM from the early days through to 2008 version. However, version 16 is by the best version I used. I am an accredited genealogist since 1999 and FTM has been great. The newer versions work well online but more complex than v.16. I have preferred v. 16 as well for printing books and reports. I use windows 7 and used the patch from windows to enable v.16 to work on my computer and has worked reasonably well. I also use CutePDF for printing reports as PDF files and works great. Let’s hope they come to their senses and go back to the v.16 template and functionality.

Biggest Pro: Easy and dependable, with windows patch for Windows 7
Biggest Con: Nil

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Gary Vaillancourt,  Aug 12, 2013

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

FTM#16 the Index of Individuals quit working and the Data base now starts with the Z’s and many of the people are gone.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Monica,  Jul 28, 2013

Not Rated

I’ve been using FTM 16 and now have to go to a Windows 7 computer. I called Ancestry about the compatibility of FTM 16 and Windows 7. The gal emailed me, ‘Family Tree Maker 2005, 2006 & 16 Update for Windows Vista & Windows 7′. Has anyone tried this update and had success?

Biggest Pro: Ease of use.
Biggest Con: Is not supported by Ancestry and is not compatible with Windows 7 … unless the above update works.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by john Blake,  Jun 12, 2013

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

The ease of version 16 compared to the 2012 is poor

Biggest Pro: media addition
Biggest Con: lack of managable features

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Tom Cannon,  Apr 7, 2013

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have already gone through unpteen versions and now it looks like I will not be able to take Verion 7.0 to Windows 8. The least expensive alternative is to stick with what you have. Purchase a used lap top and use it just for FTM and never update again.

Biggest Pro: up to Version 7.0, good software
Biggest Con: cost of continued up-dates as well as learning curves on newer version are prohibitive.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Janet Muff,  Mar 17, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have worked with FTM for many years, and the latest version I have been using is FTM16, which I love. I should say up front that I have a large, complex database (over 86,000 individuals and over 300,000 source references) as I have been researching the early families of an entire county in Vermont. Thus my data is not a single family tree but a web of inter-relationships among many families over many generations. Yet I have never had a problem with FTM 16. I can add data with a single click. I can link and unlink. I can make corrections easily. It is simple and straightforward. No fancy bells and whistles. Just wonderful data management. But I have been uneasy as my database has grown, and twice in the past many years, when I have had occasion to contact Ancestry, I have asked whether there was a limit to the capacity of this program, either in megabytes or number of individuals. I have been told that the capacity was “unlimited.” That’s a direct quote.

But recently the program has slowed a bit (meaning it takes 6 or 7 seconds to open a field so that I can enter additional data). As it is no longer supported by the Ancestry.com help line, I had to submit my questions/concerns via email. The situation was not resolved and after several back-and-forths, I was asked to send my database to Ancestry for further evaluation, which I did grudgingly.

The database came back “partitioned,” which is a misnomer. True partitioning would have removed a section of the database to another file and reduced the existing file. This would have given me two files to work from - the new file and the old file minus the section that had been removed. But Ancestry’s idea of partitioning was to copy about 29,000 individuals into a separate file, leaving the original file intact and having the same difficulty with slowness. This was not helpful. I was advised to purchase the new 2012 version of FTM.

Let me also say that I have upgraded twice in the past many years, to the 2008 version and to the 2010 version and did not like how they functioned. So, I returned to my tried and true Version 16. To me the new versions felt like ornate Victorian chairs as compared with the simple Shaker chair I’d been using. Complex though my database may be, I want the operation to be smooth, simple and efficient.

Nevertheless, I was worried that I might be reaching the capacity of Version 16, so I purchased the 2012 Version and loaded my data (a several-hour process) into the new program. Then, I set to work learning the new format. Knowing that I have never met an upgrade I liked, I steeled myself to perservere despite the inner revolt that ensued.

Then tonight I discovered that my database is too large even for the 2012 version, which crashed repeatedly when I tried to make a minor addition to an existing burial source. That source references over 3200 separate bits of information because it pertains to a large number of gravestones. But as I feel compelled to document the origins of my data, I use the source whenever it applies. The 2012 version could not handle this situation. It took 55 seconds just to open the field which would allow me to enter information. And as soon as I entered the brief gravestone inscription and clicked, “OK,” the program crashed. I tried four more times, always with the same result.

For test purposes, I returned to my Version 16 file, opened it to the appropriate individual, and clicked on the icon to add the burial information. (It took 7 seconds to open vs the 55 seconds for FTM 2012.) I typed in the gravestone inscription, clicked, “OK,” and was on my way! No fuss and no muss.

As I’ve already said, I love this program and am heartbroken that Ancestry does not see what a gem they have. And I don’t understand why they can’t produce two versions - the streamlined 16 and the one with bells and whistles that will make you “the star of your family reunion.”

I will add one more bit of information. My computer consultant and I spoke with the support staff at Ancestry earlier today to ask whether there was a limit to the capacity of the 2012 version. We told the representative that we had been having a slowing problem with Version 16. “Oh, the limit of that program is 80,000 people!” she said. No one had told me this. Not when I’d spoken with other support staff over the years. And not in this lates slowing sitution, when the technicians had my actual database in hand and could see the number of individuals, the number of sources, and the total size (198 MB). And the answer to my question about the capacity of Version 2012: “It’s unlimited,” she said. If you believe that, perhaps I can sell you a bridge in the Mojave desert.

I don’t know what I will do now. Certainly I can’t continue with the 2012 version as it is already overwhelmed. Neither can I truly partition the existing database because, while it will allow me to copy a tree to another database, it will not let me delete a whole segment from the existing database. To delete the necessary 30-40,000 individuals, I would have to do them one by one.

Biggest Pro: Simple, streamlined, easy to use, reliable.
Biggest Con: Can’t be partitioned.

Show 21-40 »