Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16

Click To See Award Winners
by Ancestry.com
The number one selling genealogy program of all time. Produces a wide variety of reports and charts. This entry is for Family Tree Maker as it existed up to Version 16 which was sold up to 2008. It was then rewritten entirely. Because the versions are so different, please use this entry for the older versions and use the FTM 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry to review the rewritten versions. To review the latest release (March 2016 or later), use the Family Tree Maker page for Software MacKiev.

Unsupported • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://web.archive.org/web/20060803064623/http://familytreemaker.com/
Overall1224.21 out of 54.21 out of 54.21 out of 54.21 out of 54.21 out of 5 4.21
2016164.37 out of 54.37 out of 54.37 out of 54.37 out of 54.37 out of 5 4.37
2015264.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5 4.50
Earlier803.36 out of 53.36 out of 53.36 out of 53.36 out of 53.36 out of 5 3.36

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

122 Reviews of Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by D O Connor,  3 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have F T Maker 11 and it has proved excellent with over nine hundred people in my trees.
It has developed a technical problem. All my info is in my PC but I cant print it or save any new tree.

If I reload my programme will I loose my info or will my info transfer to my new programme??

Any help please will be welcome?

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by SheilaFirehair Spencer-Stover,  Jul 3, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Love it, now, after being hacked, my disk seems to have a glitch. How can I beg, borrow, buy, a nw, or good working V 16 disk? I absolutely detest 2014 version–

Biggest Pro: Did every thing I ever asked of it. without an error.
Biggest Con: that FTM stopped allowing us users options. If one wants/prefers, to re-purchse, use, V16, why not let us.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Linda Waha,  Jun 10, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am still using FTM 2006 and really like it. I am running Windows 7 and until lately had no trouble saving (backing up) my database to CD. Now I get a “generic error” message. I did not work on entering much of anything for a while, but lately I have been in entry mode again. I also want to transfer my database to a Windows 10 laptop. I have installed the FTM 2006 software with no problem, but don’t know where to go from there. Help! I don’t want to lose years of work.

Biggest Pro: ease of use
Biggest Con: cannot backup to CD

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Helen Steadman,  Jun 6, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

How do I get all the records that I have spent 20 years + putting into Family Tree Maker? I aM SICK.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Ashley,  May 26, 2016

Not Rated

Still running 5.0 from 1998 with no big issues. I upgraded from 4.0 in 1998. No corruptions of data that I can find over the years. Descendant tree no longer works in Windows 10.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Ann C. Lake,  May 26, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used Family Tree Maker for many years and have been very pleased with it. I have approximately 2000
names on several trees. Recently our hard drive went on our computer and we were down 3 weeks.
Thank goodness I had backed up most of my data and reinstalled some of it. My biggest problem is signing on to add more names. Most of what I get is Ancestry.com (I do not belong, I am 84 and watch my pennies).

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Daniele,  May 8, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have a new computer and doen’t work with Windows 7 - I need driver for my family tree maker version 16 -

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Razwal Kohistani,  May 1, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Good

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Caroline Mortimer,  Apr 22, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I found this really difficult to use and when I had entered everything I couldn’t print the full tree.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by ralph,  Apr 18, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am using v11 2003 post 2008 versions are unusably bad. But I have a question, does v11 run on Windows 10? there are contradictory statements here, some say the old versions run, some say not. Which is it?

Biggest Pro: Most information on one page, notes easy to access, easy to paste into, saves only basic text
Biggest Con: only 4 children show

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Brenda Kane,  Apr 18, 2016

Not Rated

I have a new computer - Windows 8 - my installation CD for FTM 16 is missing - my former computer person had all my CDs and he is also among the missing. So - all my info is “in space” and I am unable to access any of it. Any idea where I might beg, borrow, find the installation CD for 16.

Biggest Pro: Loved the FTM - had 9 originally and then went to 16 but no further.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Arnold Chamove,  Apr 1, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Of the dozen I have trialed and used, this is the best and the one I use daily. The screen is uncluttered and only has the stuff you use a lot. And it is intuitive in that what you most-commonly do is right there in front of you. After ver 16 was “Improved”, it dropped to almost unusable and unstable.

Biggest Pro: Intuitive and uncluttered
Biggest Con: Verson has now been “improved” and they cut the link with Ancestry

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Maurice Johnson,  Mar 11, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Version 16 is a better program then 2012. You can indicate more data the new version. and lot easy to operate.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Pontus J.,  Feb 5, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I tried the new FTM 2014 and didn’t like it and have no interest whatsoever to use it.
Where can I buy/download a new copy of FTM 16 ???

Biggest Pro: Works well and easy to use!
Biggest Con: Not for sale anymore.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Jack Mansfield,  Feb 4, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’m still using it and not planning nto upgrade.
BTW Does anyone know wshere I can get a manual?
J

Biggest Pro: It works for my purposes
Biggest Con: Data and Photos somewhat limited

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Sylvia,  Jan 8, 2016

Not Rated

Early edition, easy to use the latest not so good.

Biggest Pro: Early edition, very user friendly
Biggest Con: Now Ancestry doesn’t want to be affiliated with it?

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Thomas Colwell Payne,  Dec 9, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used FTM v16 and continue to use it even though new versions were available. I continued to invest in the newer versions expecting the later versions to be better than FTM16. Each new release after v16 never met my expectations, so I never really used any versions after v16.

I use Ancestry to find new relatives, supporting documents and photos. But, my FTM v16 is where I keep all my primary master files and records. I have about 27000 individuals in my tree and have been working on my tree since 1970. My purpose has been to update an old family tree book “The Paynes of Hamilton” published in 1910. I was planning on releasing a new book through 2010, but Hurricane Katrina on 2005 redirected my Genealogy hobby to rebuilding my home hobby. Now, (2005) I am back, with a new computers, and my backup genealogy program & files loaded. I reloaded FTM v16 but my computer see a software error when trying to print reports & trees in “PDF” format.

Ancestry a decision not to support FTM or to improve Ancestry “Book” printing capability greatly disappoints me. Before Katrina, I could print a 1000+ page family book, that look very similar to my cousins book published in 1910. It seems that Ancestrys book capability can only be published from their on site partner in small tree format and at very high price. The new Ancestry, to truly be a great program, needs to equal the old FTM v16 printing capability of Books, with table of context, multiple ancestry and descendant trees, photos, indexes, reference listings.

Ancestry: ThomasColwellPayne
Email: ThomasCPayne@aol.com

Attention: I hope Kendell Hulet, senior vp of product management at Ancestry realizes that Ancestry alone doesn’t meet his customers needs!

Biggest Pro: FTM v16 printing capability of Books, with table of context, multiple ancestry and descendant trees, photos, indexes, reference listings.
Biggest Con: The decision to discontinue FTM v16 for all it wonderful printing capability

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Bob,  Dec 2, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Still using Version 4.0a, Windows 95 on my Windows 10 laptop. Only feature that doesn’t work is Help. CD’s loaded with no problem.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Ralph,  Nov 30, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I liked the versions of before Ancestry took it over. I use FTM2012 but have it won’ synchronise with Ancestry - fails because Ancestry while it has the best records & database creates too many duplicate persons & facts in their profiles due to poor software for merging. My main tree has 16000 names of which I estimate 6000 are duplicates. So FTM has many duplicates also.
It is easier & quicker (fewer keystrokes to work in Ancestry but it duplicates people as you merge.
From others comments I don’t think I should upgrade to FTM2014. Ancestry replies to problems eg duplicates are not helpful.

Biggest Pro: Great hints & searches from Ancestry
Biggest Con: Produces duplicates as you merge in Ancestry & then won’t synchronise to FTM

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Bonnie Chumney,  Nov 24, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used Family Tree Maker from 1998 until the present. However, when I purchased the updated program in 2008, I hated it and still do. It was a major overhaul from that which made Family Tree Maker the #1 family genealogy program of all time, and in my opinion brought it down to nil. It is horrible, when compared to the earlier versions. It doesn’t allow you to use your CDs you collected and paid good money for, so that they could have you pay for online search, which in cases doesn’t even give you the information you had available in some of the CDs. Broderbund made a much, much better software product than whoever took over in 2008, and I have continued to use my FTM version 16 until I upgraded to Windows 10 recently. Well, it seems my older version will not work on the new op system, and since I don’t like the later versions at all, I have decided that recording my research results is more stressful and complicated than fun, anymore. Thus, I won’t be needing my subscription to ancestry.com anymore either. I will find another program as much like the old one as possible, or another hobby, altogether, and hope whichever does not require technology that updates all the time.

Biggest Pro: the older versions made by Broderbund before 2008 were where FTM got their reputation as #1.
Biggest Con: The versions since 2008 are nowhere near as good, as simple or as helpful without the use of ancestry.com online services.

Show 21-40 »