Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16

by Ancestry.com
The number one selling genealogy program of all time. Produces a wide variety of reports and charts. This entry is for Family Tree Maker as it existed up to Version 16, which was then rewritten entirely in 2008. Because the versions are so different, please use this entry for the older versions and use the FTM - Current Version to review the newer versions.

Unsupported • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://web.archive.org/web/20060803064623/http://familytreemaker.com/
Overall863.81 out of 53.81 out of 53.81 out of 53.81 out of 53.81 out of 5 3.81
201565 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00
2014233.17 out of 53.17 out of 53.17 out of 53.17 out of 53.17 out of 5 3.17
Earlier573.67 out of 53.67 out of 53.67 out of 53.67 out of 53.67 out of 5 3.67

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

86 Reviews of Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Nancy-Jo Nunez,  2 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have had this program since it came out and was a real advocate of Broderbund’s product for years up through this version. I LOVE IT. The data entry screen is simple and not cluttered with stuff. The book feature is flexible, you can add your own pages, images, etc. by “inserting a text object aka a plain page”. The program used to sync with ancestry.com but stopped on Version 16. I still use it. I am disappointed that this Version 16 will not run well with all features enabled once you move off Windows XP, Windows 7 has compatibility issues and I didn’t move to Windows 8 because I’m on 7 and already doing without features like: exporting to a PDF..none of the charts can export, reports can’t export and forget exporting a book in Windows 7 with Version 16. Other than that I REFUSE to move to an ancestry.com product. I’m looking for a program to download for free just to print out my charts and it’s looking like Roots Magic so far. But this and previous version built by Broderbund are my favorites, very easy to use and allows real flexibility.

Biggest Pro: Book feature allowing you to add your own text documents, building the book with what you want and not some predetermined table of contents
Biggest Con: Family Tree Maker looses functionality on Windows 7, Windows 8…it runs fantastic on XP

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Cyn Texas,  Apr 9, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used Family Tree Maker since 3.0 came out! I am currently using FTM 16 on my Windows 8.1 computer. I used the Vista patch which works on Windows 7 also on my Windows 8 and 8.1 to make it work.

I just wanted to let others know that it does work on 8 and on 8.1!! I have used it for nearly 2 years on my Toshiba laptop which came with Windows 8. I updated to 8.1 and it works fine on it also. Be sure to always shut it down yourself properly each time after you open it. I have tried the newer ones and always come back to the older version. It is just user friendly and doesn’t get messed up by syncing with Ancestry. Syncing with Ancestry can really mess up a newer tree!

I have recently had a problem with mine with the “Edit Notes” not opening and I may have to reload it to fix the problem. However, this is minor compared with the problems I had with the new versions! Any of them I bought and tried had so many drawbacks compared to the simple FTM 16. Hope this helps someone else!

Biggest Pro: Just plain easier! Especially for newbies and us baby boomers!
Biggest Con: A little harder to install, but there is help out there just google the Vista patch!

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Virginia,  Mar 7, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This was the best and last really perfect FTM . Easy to use, easy on old eyes, great reports with ease in choosing the info wanted or not wanted in the reports.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use
Biggest Con: None

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Ben,  Jan 25, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have upgraded, from the beginning, to most of the new versions until I received 2014 and I may be done. Some I did not use. I still use 16 for my work and load the updated files to 14 as I know that some day I will probably have to use it in spite of my dislike for that version. Version 16 was very easy to use although there are some minor problems while using it in W7, but nothing major. I used to recommend it for any new members in our genealogy club, who were beginners. In our club, some members, due to our age, have enough trouble with just using a computer and they would not be able to use version 14. It seems that the newer versions were built to give some programmers work and are not relevant to the rest of us. I think the average person just wants a program, like 16, which will organize their information on their computer and make it readily available to share with our families. The vast majority of us are not professional “genealogists” and do not need all of the bells and whistles. I can make the newer versions work, work, but I still don’t like them. I bought a new computer, in Dec. and I purchase another W7 model, so that I can use 16 on it as I am guessing that it will not work on W8 or W8.1

Biggest Pro: User friendly for beginners. easy to demonstrate to beginners, easy to use for all
Biggest Con: Some minor problems, in W7, when exporting some files to my desktop

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Dale Updike,  Jan 21, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I bought version 2012 and 2014 and hate them both. I still use version 16, as it is simpler, easier, FAR FAR faster, and far less complicated than the latest 2 versions. I import my file from 16 into 2014 for uploading to my Ancestry account.

Biggest Pro: Edit screen is FAR superior to LL other FTMs and software programs.
Biggest Con: They discontinued the “Web search” option in 16 - disgusting!! An obvious ‘money grab!’

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Jacqueline Lubinski,  Jan 7, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am still using FTM version 11. I have had the “new and improved” Ancestry bought out versions, up to currently FTM 2012. While they give you more info on the screen–less is sometimes better! It is too bulky to use. The charts are difficult to calibrate and don’t shrink down how you want them. I have been using FTM since the late ’90’s. Every upgrade in that format was easy and did not need mastering. Every one of the bought out Ancestry new formats I need to buy a new manual to read how to do everything. It is not user friendly and it takes me twice as long to get what info I am looking for. Version 11 I WILL NOT get rid of and use it until it falls apart!

Biggest Pro: User friendly right out of the box.
Biggest Con: none

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Gray,  Dec 27, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

The most irritating family tree program I have had to use. Why was it necessary to remove the tried and tested 2006 version? I have lost over 50 years of work and it will take at least two years to re-enter all my data. I bought FTM2014 but I found it so stressful I took it back to PC World and was refunded. I also bought FTM 2010 four years ago and did not use it for the reason but kept it and now I am stuck with that unless I can find a better program. Can anyone recommend a better Family Tree program so I can dump my present FTM 2010?

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Cris Moorehouse,  Dec 8, 2014

Not Rated

If something works why change it? When Ancestry.com bought Family Tree Maker they completely changed the look of the program and I find it very difficult to use and find my way through the names in my FTM files. I did call and talk to someone at Ancestry.com about FTM and was made to feel like a idiot. I guess if you are a pro you have no problems but not being a pro I find my elf when I try to use a version above 16. I maintain a laptop with Microsoft Windows Vista so I can use FTM as I have over the years but it currently shuts down constantly as I am using the program.

Biggest Pro: Version 16 very easy to use.
Biggest Con: Versions after 16 very difficult for me to use

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Richard,  Dec 2, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am still running this software on W7. I was dissuaded from upgrading by the poor reviews of the later versions.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use and intuitive

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Murphy,  Nov 30, 2014

Not Rated

FTM Ver 11 was the best. Newer versions lack functionality, quality and inherent intuitiveness with fewer options. Unfortunately the current owners will not go back to older versions and will not give the users what they want. I wish I understood why. Without the software to produce what the owners want the additions to Ancestry.com eventually dry up. FTM 2014 does not produce reports properly. It does not use RAM properly because it will not generate a Table of Contents for the smallest book. I have published books with 1600 pages without difficulty with ver 11. Based on the postings I have read publishing a much smaller book than 1600 is a real issue and cannot be done.

Biggest Pro: The biggest Pro for FTM before Ancestry was a good quality product with real support.
Biggest Con: The worse thing that happen for the genealogist who enjoys the hunt for family was owners who care not about what the user wants.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by marilyn,  Nov 25, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I’ve used FTM for years and am currently using FTM 16. thought I would upgrade to the newest version as mine won’t let me save a report. So I print it out, then scan to a pdf. BUT after reading ALL the negative reviews on the newer versions, I guess I’ll stay with what works. How sad that a 7 year old software is better and more stable than the current one. Running Win 7 with no problem.

Biggest Pro: easy interface; stable
Biggest Con: can’t save reports, charts to a pdf file

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Harald Weiß,  Nov 12, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

In over 20 Years I collected more than 80.000 family related names, data, most of them with picture and vita. 2 GB – all one by one - no bulk-input. 200 Generations covering 5.500 years from all over the world. Impossible to split the network to separate partitions. I updated FTM up to Version 11. Later the response time became dreadfully slow. I thought either my computer or XP could not cope. in 2010 I bought an up-to-date system and installed the rewritten Version of FTW. It took 103 minutes(!) to enter my data - resulting incomplete, data missing, not usable. Now back to Version 11 on XP I am stuck. I cannot recall having seen a FTW Specification regarding a limit of people that FTW can handle? After all, is that my problem? What can I do? It was so easy and comfortable with the pre 2008 versions to build this grandiose genealogy network. A bit tricky with pre Christianity generations. I am confused with the rewritten FTW. It appears too complicated and seems to follow different objections. I would certainly prefer to continue with a speed-improved Version 11. An answer resp. recommendation would be highly appreciated. Thank You.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Pat Clauser,  Oct 20, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Version 11

Biggest Pro: Don’t see any
Biggest Con: Not easy to see everything about somebody at one time. Version 10 was much better.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Myrna bailey,  Oct 6, 2014

Not Rated

Have version 2006 and I can’t use my web serch any more. Why they took it off the older version
Now what doi do?im pretty elite rate and not sure how igo about instuling a 2014 version
What do I do?

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Vanessa,  Sep 18, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I love FTM 16, easer to use to, add names to tree, to look up family on internet, to read reports.

Biggest Pro: easer to update in formation and read the family tree
Biggest Con: more complacated to use.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Val,  Sep 10, 2014

Not Rated

For what its worth: I’m running FMT version 11 on a Windows 7 Home Premium laptop. That computer is 2 yrs old now and I no longer remember how I loaded FMT on it — but I’m pretty sure I installed it with the FTM discs and have had zero trouble running it.

Biggest Pro: 20+ years using the FTM software so I’m very familiar with how it works.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by robert von berge,  Sep 8, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Ive been a user of FTM since 1998 and enjoyed using it until they sold out to Ancestry. I purchased FTM2012 to upgrade from 2005,not a good ides. Found it more complicated making it user unfriendly but eventually I semi mastered it. I have only sent over a small Family tree that contains very little to check out Ancestry’s motives. Don’t do it ,it becomes public regardless of what they say. Ive had problems with the Font on the program enlarging bigger than the boxes on the screen, requiring a reboot of the program. Call to tech support say’s it’s my problem, however no other program on my computer has this problem so I live with it. I have been reading all of the issues with upgrading, because I have the 2012 version, but I am now convinced to go with Legacy.
Ancestry has messed up what use to be the best, maybe if you subscribe to the $150. program they will send you a bug free FTM. (note: don’t sync to ancestry)

Biggest Pro: Charts and Reports easy to use
Biggest Con: Ancestry’s intreferance with once was the best. poor tech support

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Jeanne Gorlick,  Sep 1, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I really liked FTM and used it since 2000, but there was a downside. When you upgraded ot a newer version, you lost research from the previous versions. I have had real problems since the 2012 version upgrade. Then I upgraded to 2014 hoping for improvement. Now I’m supposed to download my FTM data on gedcom to Ancestry so that anyone can take and use my data, good or bad. The only other option is to make the information unavailable to anyone except chosen people. I decided to just put some family trees on the Ancestry side to see what happened. I only added information readily available from Ancestry.com. Many unknown people began taking information from the FTM side. I have contacted customer support with my complaint. After 3 minutes your are switched to a recording of your opinion of your experience.

Biggest Pro: My information is stored there.
Biggest Con: You don’t own your family tree any more. It was sold to Ancestry.com

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by joyce mannell,  Aug 28, 2014

Not Rated

I have the F.T.M. 2005 on my xp pc and 2006 on my vista pc problem is why cant i add it to my laptop windows 8
I tried but it never worked am I doing something wrong I keep upadating it to a memory stick as I dont want to lose anything

Any help please contact me jc.mannell@gmail.com

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Jeanette Vanden Bosch,  Jul 23, 2014

Not Rated

FTM 16 was the last software ancestry put out that was any good at all. The new FTM is set up to sync with ancestry webpages established by people who need software, or want to share, or want to take what they find on other trees on the site. The newest FTM is a joke. It is difficult to get around in, and if you make a mistake impossible to correct it. Now as of July 31 the auto search feature is going away. A lot of genealogists have vision problems, 16 is very easy on the eyes, the new version I can barely see…totally confusing as well.

Biggest Pro: ease of use
Biggest Con: none

Show 21-40 »