Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16

Click To See Award Winners
by Ancestry.com
The number one selling genealogy program of all time. Produces a wide variety of reports and charts. This entry is for Family Tree Maker as it existed up to Version 16 which was sold up to 2008. It was then rewritten entirely. Because the versions are so different, please use this entry for the older versions and use the FTM 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry to review the rewritten versions. To review the latest release (March 2016 or later), use the Family Tree Maker page for Software MacKiev.

Unsupported • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://web.archive.org/web/20060803064623/http://familytreemaker.com/
Overall1314.13 out of 54.13 out of 54.13 out of 54.13 out of 54.13 out of 5 4.13
2016254.16 out of 54.16 out of 54.16 out of 54.16 out of 54.16 out of 5 4.16
2015264.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5 4.50
Earlier803.36 out of 53.36 out of 53.36 out of 53.36 out of 53.36 out of 5 3.36

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

131 Reviews of Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Douglas E Walker,  6 days ago

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Overall the FTM had very good Family Trees but was let down with the Book Making pagination prior to printing. The only problems I had with the Trees was when when taken over by Ancestry, when finally it failed to work altogether on their site. In other words Ancestry ruined a good product.

Biggest Pro: The Trees are very good
Biggest Con: The Book making set-up has problems with pagination particularly when pictures are included

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Donald,  Sep 13, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Alright program if you want to be tied to Ancestry.com. The second I finished my tree as much as I could on Ancestry, transferred to other programs I deleted FTM. There are just better programs to use than this one which don’t have the bugs. Right now my favorite programs are as follows: RootsTrust, Gramps, and Heredis.
I also deleted Legacy 8 and am considering deleting RootsMagic as well just cause these genealogy programs are definitely not user friendly and make it harder than it should be to Cite things.

Biggest Pro: The ability to download your tree directly from Ancestry.
Biggest Con: Outdated and buggy.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Gary Penley,  Sep 8, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I like it better than ancestry .com in adding people and linking them and using hints.

Biggest Pro: Variety of reports and ease of use
Biggest Con: Hard to logon from PC

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Razwal Kohistani,  Sep 8, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is world best software

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Paula W.,  Aug 27, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I was advised by an ancestry.com representative to purchase Family Tree Maker to help me transfer information from other user’s family trees to my own. I purchased the download link for 3 computers and installed the software on only one computer. I was able to log into the program once, but soon discovered I was unable to access the family tree that I was a guest in viewing. I logged out, and have since been unable to log back in. I use the same e-mail/username and password used to access ancestry.com, but I keep receiving a “Log In Failed” error message. The absolute worst part of it all is that there is no live technical support: No 1-800 number, and the live chat doesn’t work. I submitted an e-mail to tech support but received a reply stating it’ll be 1-2 business days before they can get back to me. Being it was sent on Friday, I figure I won’t hear back until Monday at the earliest, which is the cut off date to view the tree I’ve been invited to view. I’m uncertain if these issues exist because there has been no software updates for the past 2 years… but I’m out nearly $90 for a program I cannot use as I was told I could.

Biggest Pro: None.
Biggest Con: No technical support. Cannot log into ancestry through the software. Outdated software.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by David Pentland,  Aug 24, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using FTM since its early days (Broderbund) and upgraded every few years until reaching FTM 2006. After the major rewrite in 2007 I waited a while and then purchased FTM 2010, if for no other reason than to ensure I had all of my existing FTM data (you can export/import) in a modern supported format and product.

Although the newer FTM versions handle data/media storage much better, and have nice dynamic links to Ancestry.com, I find the post-2007 FTM interface much less intuitive and easy to use, so for the majority of my work I stick with FTM 2006. It does everything I need in a simple but still feature rich way.

It has a good, if a little clunky, ‘Books’ function which I use to create paginated, chapter’ed, indexed family books and trees for publishing to PDF / printing. It has some great tree charts such as ‘All-In’One’, ‘Direct Decedent’, and ‘Hourglass’, some with nice ‘Fan’ style options. I also like the ‘Relationship Calculator’ which states my relationship to others in my tree, although I do miss a way of charting that visibly, which FTM 2010 can do.

Yes, it has it’s downsides, such as not being able to copy / link the same source information to multiple facts at once and that any media you add (e.g. pictures) are separately imported and stored within the FTM file itself rather than simply being linked to the source file on disk. This can make FTM files quite large, especially if you add the same media to more than one person or book, and makes media change management tricky.

FTM 2006 runs fine for me on Windows 10 with a couple of tweaks… I set FTM.EXE Properties, Compatibility Mode to “Windows XP” and checked “Disable display scaling”. Yes, clicking ‘Preview Book’ crashes the whole program - a way around this is to stop using ‘Preview Book’ button (takes some getting used to) and instead, set up a PDF printer on your computer and use ‘File, Print Book…’ - you can then preview the resulting PDF file.

Biggest Pro: Clean, straight forward interface making data entry and review a breeze.
Biggest Con: Old style data storage means all added media is included / replicated within each FTM file.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Francie Ede,  Aug 1, 2016

Not Rated

I’ve been using FTM 2006 for years. I like the way the screens are laid out and I like being able to design reports that I can copy into Excel spreadsheets so I can analyze my data. When I switched over to a 64 bit processor 3 years ago, the publisher portion of FTM quit working. It would just close the program every time I would try to preview the book. I tried upgrading to FTM 2014 and I didn’t like the screens. It also did not upload any of my notes. So, I went back to FTM 2006.

I now have a new computer and FTM 2006 publisher still isn’t working properly. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by my_skeletons@yahoo.com,  Jul 31, 2016

Not Rated

Family TreeMaker v11 2003 is my all time favorite after trying everything out there. It’s IDEAL for a researcher! You can keep the new programs–plenty of whizbangs and stuff–but not half as good!

Biggest Pro: The newer programs store media better and acess online trees (if you plan to extract them)
Biggest Con: Lots of fluff, too busy, not great for reports or research or bios.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Ann Weber,  Jul 27, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used Family Tree 16 since it came out and it is the best. The 2012 version, a gift to me, is totally changed and not to my liking. Since I have years of work in FTM version 16 and thus far, it has been ‘’saved’ through several computer changes/crashes……….I am concerned about downloading WIN 10 as I have heard some say their files was lost. Since this FTM is such an old version, will I lose it with update from WIN 7 to the new WIN 10? I am so undecided.

Biggest Pro: allof FTM 16, love it
Biggest Con: none

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by D O Connor,  Jul 19, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have F T Maker 11 and it has proved excellent with over nine hundred people in my trees.
It has developed a technical problem. All my info is in my PC but I cant print it or save any new tree.

If I reload my programme will I loose my info or will my info transfer to my new programme??

Any help please will be welcome?

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by SheilaFirehair Spencer-Stover,  Jul 3, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Love it, now, after being hacked, my disk seems to have a glitch. How can I beg, borrow, buy, a nw, or good working V 16 disk? I absolutely detest 2014 version–

Biggest Pro: Did every thing I ever asked of it. without an error.
Biggest Con: that FTM stopped allowing us users options. If one wants/prefers, to re-purchse, use, V16, why not let us.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Linda Waha,  Jun 10, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am still using FTM 2006 and really like it. I am running Windows 7 and until lately had no trouble saving (backing up) my database to CD. Now I get a “generic error” message. I did not work on entering much of anything for a while, but lately I have been in entry mode again. I also want to transfer my database to a Windows 10 laptop. I have installed the FTM 2006 software with no problem, but don’t know where to go from there. Help! I don’t want to lose years of work.

Biggest Pro: ease of use
Biggest Con: cannot backup to CD

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Helen Steadman,  Jun 6, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

How do I get all the records that I have spent 20 years + putting into Family Tree Maker? I aM SICK.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Ashley,  May 26, 2016

Not Rated

Still running 5.0 from 1998 with no big issues. I upgraded from 4.0 in 1998. No corruptions of data that I can find over the years. Descendant tree no longer works in Windows 10.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Ann C. Lake,  May 26, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used Family Tree Maker for many years and have been very pleased with it. I have approximately 2000
names on several trees. Recently our hard drive went on our computer and we were down 3 weeks.
Thank goodness I had backed up most of my data and reinstalled some of it. My biggest problem is signing on to add more names. Most of what I get is Ancestry.com (I do not belong, I am 84 and watch my pennies).

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Daniele,  May 8, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have a new computer and doen’t work with Windows 7 - I need driver for my family tree maker version 16 -

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Razwal Kohistani,  May 1, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Good

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Caroline Mortimer,  Apr 22, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I found this really difficult to use and when I had entered everything I couldn’t print the full tree.

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by ralph,  Apr 18, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am using v11 2003 post 2008 versions are unusably bad. But I have a question, does v11 run on Windows 10? there are contradictory statements here, some say the old versions run, some say not. Which is it?

Biggest Pro: Most information on one page, notes easy to access, easy to paste into, saves only basic text
Biggest Con: only 4 children show

Family Tree Maker - Up To Version 16 Review by Brenda Kane,  Apr 18, 2016

Not Rated

I have a new computer - Windows 8 - my installation CD for FTM 16 is missing - my former computer person had all my CDs and he is also among the missing. So - all my info is “in space” and I am unable to access any of it. Any idea where I might beg, borrow, find the installation CD for 16.

Biggest Pro: Loved the FTM - had 9 originally and then went to 16 but no further.

Show 21-40 »