MyHeritage

Click To See Award Winners
by MyHeritage Ltd. (Gilad Japhet)
Allows you to build your own family website to share photos, videos, family trees, events, news and more with your family. It includes face recognition technology for your photos. They have a blog.

Free • Subscription • Online • Full Featured
http://www.myheritage.com/
Overall1744.22 out of 54.22 out of 54.22 out of 54.22 out of 54.22 out of 5 4.22
2015553.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 53.9 out of 5 3.90
20141164.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 5 4.47
Earlier32.84 out of 52.84 out of 52.84 out of 52.84 out of 52.84 out of 5 2.84

Add Your Review of MyHeritage

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

174 Reviews of MyHeritage     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

MyHeritage Review by Eileen Cohen,  Apr 16, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I find MyHeritage to be an easy, user friendly site; and for me, the fact all entries are saved automatically, is a big plus. I had lost half of a family tree from another site.

The many genealogical resources at the disposable of MyHeritage users is awesome; and proved invaluable. Love the Smart matches etc!

When I needed help, it was forthcoming almost immediately.

Biggest Pro: Easy usage
Biggest Con: -

MyHeritage Review by Jan Arnst,  Apr 7, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I discovered I had made an error that needed My Heritage to sort out .I sent them an explanatory email and they attended to the issue promptly and with good email communication.

MyHeritage Review by Sergio Gerlach,  Mar 30, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am not a tech savvy person, but enjoy learning about my ancestors.
Christina, from My Heritage was most helpful when I went into panick mode from purchasing the wrong plan.
I was given the Premium plan as a courtesy until my non techy issues were resolved.
I received a phone call at my earliest convenience, and now am enjoying this project with over 300+
ancestors and family members.

Biggest Pro: Personiled help from a real person.
Biggest Con: I kept sending e-mails, so I created many ticket reference #’s.

MyHeritage Review by Jack dudley (Inman) Robinson,  Mar 30, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

The support is “non-existent”….I have made several requests for support only to receive myheritage “robo” reply with a tracking number without any follow up. I am paying for a premium plus upgrade and have not been able to complete the “syncing” of our site This has been going on for 3 months. Also, I have not been able to downloads the software on my PC….I keep receiving an “English failed” error message…..again no support.
Why doesn’t myheritage have chat capibilties.

Biggest Pro: site format capibilites
Biggest Con: non-support

MyHeritage Review by Michel Duran,  Mar 30, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I want to thank the staff of Myheritage for helping me with a problem. I didnot get the birthday alerts anymore and roblem was solved in a few days !!!!

MyHeritage Review by Kaye Minnit,  Mar 29, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I really like My Heritage. It’s easy to use and the smart matches really help you to find more information.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use.

MyHeritage Review by George Tomko,  Mar 27, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Great record matches and fast finding best site I have found yet for genealogy.

Biggest Pro: fast finding
Biggest Con: a little complicated

MyHeritage Review by Alf Dixon,  Mar 26, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

As an ‘oldie’ and newcomer to computer activity I ventured into My Heritage - pushed some wrong keys and called for help! It was as quick as distance would allow and was courteous, comprehensive in presentation, and with simple to follow instructions. Result - ALL fixed…

Biggest Pro: Willingness to assist
Biggest Con: none

MyHeritage Review by w,  Mar 20, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Customer support is not just bad. It is non-existent. I have a problem with the billing on my account for which I submitted a web-based complaint (the only way to contact them). After a full business week, I have not even received an acknowledgement of my communication. I really need to talk to a human being about this billing problem, but I cannot get any response at all out of them.

The only reason that I signed up was because some European cousins have put their trees there. I have found no records on MyHeritage not already available to me on my other subscription sites. I see no value at all in posting my own tree there, which would be duplicating the tree I already have on Ancestry — where I can find an abundance of records to tie to the tree.

I have subscriptions on several of the major sites, and MyHeritage is by far the worst in almost every way. For the cost versus the value, it is also by far the most expensive. I wish my cousins would migrate to Ancestry, so that I could simply not have to deal with MyHeritage any more. The cousins’ trees are the only thing that makes MyHeritage worth visiting, but it is becoming much less and less worth the frustration and the cost. So at some point, I expect that I am just going to be so fed up with MyHeritage that even the cousins’ trees will not be enough to get me to continue dealing with MyHeritage.

MyHeritage is just not in the same league as Ancestry or other services. They once showed the potential to do so, but they have clearly failed to live up to that potential.

Biggest Pro: Trees of some European cousins
Biggest Con: Non-existent customer support - billing problems

MyHeritage Review by Deborah Stafford,  Mar 19, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Because the holder of this MyHeritage website passed away, I needed to cancel the account and secure a refund of the automatic payment that was made after the account holder died. The customer service agent (Cristine) that I dealt with was most polite and accommodating. She handled all of my concerns as well as the refund quickly and with courtesy. I am most appreciative of the service she, and MyHeritage, provided during this difficult time.

Biggest Pro: Prompt reply to my concern
Biggest Con: none

MyHeritage Review by Lisa Tucker,  Mar 17, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I can’t stand My Heritage, nor the ‘helpful’ staff. If you’re looking for something to use for your ancestry don’t use this product. By the way, don’t take their ‘free’ trial. It’s not free and they will not give you your money back.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: Their ‘free’ trial is not free.

MyHeritage Review by John Marshall,  Mar 17, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

This company took money from my credit card without my consent. It has not refunded this money despite my demands that it do so, and has not responded personally to resolve my complaint. Do NOT use this company for any reason.

Biggest Pro: Ties with other geneology programs
Biggest Con: Dishonest practices

MyHeritage Review by Kristine Curtis,  Mar 10, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I had a problem getting my own MyHeritage account due to a mix-up with my password. I had been in contact with a member from Poland and we were trying to learn if we were related (we weren’t, darn it!) but in our efforts to connect, we mixed up our accounts. All it took was one email to the helpful people at MyHeritage in which I explained the problem. I heard back from them that everything was fixed and I could get started on my family tree with my own account.

Biggest Pro: They understood the problem with no questions and fixed it!
Biggest Con: It took a week or so. This wasn’t a problem for me but in this day of “instant fixes” it might be for someone else.

MyHeritage Review by Mr.Derlin G.Clair,  Mar 9, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

MyHeritage has proved to be a very excellent way to construct a FamilyTree with,my dear people.Many Kudos to their fine Website,friends.

Biggest Pro: Ease of Entry in entering data on each ancestor.
Biggest Con: That the Premium features are only available with a paid subscription

MyHeritage Review by Susanna Gilbert,  Mar 8, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Terrific!
My father died in 1946 when I was a baby and he was 61. My mother told me that my father had a brother from whom he was estranged, but she did, in fact, meet him once. The brother was married, but my mother didn’t know whether or not they had any children. I spent much of my life daydreaming that somewhere there were descants, but eventually I gave up the dream.

One day, just for fun, I googled my father’s name, and his nickname came up on someones family tree at MyHeritage. Also, my mother was listed as ‘Unknown Davy” as was I. The dates and the relatives were correct and so I contacted MyHeritage. I didn’t want to join, but rather, to put the mistakes right. ‘Thamar” offered me a free one month Premium subscription, giving me enough time to contact the appropriate Site Manager. I accepted, and within about two weeks I found him. He is my first cousin twice removed and is his family’s Site Manager. It turned out that my father’s brother had a daughter! This newly-found cousin and I quickly formed a very nice relationship, and now, through email and Skype I am meeting more of my missing family. (Amazingly, he lives in New Zealand about a mile from my first cousin on my mother’s side! (MyHeritage has already asked me to write about this. Right now I am not well, but will get to it asap.
I became so excited that I paid for a year’s membership to MYHeritage, and will likely extend it.

So, if Thamar had not given me the free one month subscription, I would likely never have found my family. Thank you!

Biggest Pro: Being given the free one month Premiun membership
Biggest Con: Learning how to work my site. For example, how to post photographs, use citations etc.

MyHeritage Review by David A. gerling,  Mar 6, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have been doing genealogy for only one year and am still learning how to use the site. I just found out about the Help site. How can I get to the Help site from my home page? When I do a smart match I can’t return to that person. It takes me back to the home page and I have to type that persons name in to get back to that person. I do like that I can get smart matches from FamilySearch now. I am also meeting new people and even got an email from France. David

Biggest Pro: Resolved my problem in a timely manner.

MyHeritage Review by Hans van der Gronden,  Mar 4, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Ik ben een zeer tevreden gebruiker van de Family Tree Builder, maar onlangs had ik problemen met het synchroniseren/publiceren op de website. Gelukkig heeft het supportteam mij voortreffelijk geholpen, zodat nu alle leden van mijn stamboom de laatste versie kan inzien.

Biggest Pro: eenvoudig in gebruik
Biggest Con: bevestigen van smartmatches niet mogelijk bij de gratis versie

Google translate: I am a very satisfied user of Family Tree Builder, but I recently had problems syncing / publish on website. Fortunately, the support team helped me excellently, so that all members of my family tree can see the latest version.
Biggest Pro: easy to use
Biggest Con: securing smart matches is not possible with the free version

MyHeritage Review by H. Lawson,  Feb 21, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

The problem with this site is twofold. FIrst they hide a lot of information from you - hoping you will pay more money for more features. Nowhere on the site that I have found is a full explanation of what you get at each level. Second id the pricing structure. These guys seem to have taken a sheet from the rip-off Cell Phone and Cable carriers. “Oh - Your free long distance doesn’t include Canada - that’s $350 for your one call to Canada last month”. Wish they would be honest about the features.

Recently tried to tie two trees together, one created by a family member. Seems you can’t really do that directly, as the names of living family members are hidden.

That is a rip off for folks with large families who are trying to join trees from different branches.

Biggest Pro: The tree building is straightforward and fairly easy
Biggest Con: Rip off pricing, poor information, and misleading advertising.

MyHeritage Review by Jim Donecho,  Feb 21, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Thamar and the Heritage Support Team were very responsive to both of my issues. Due to the complexity of MyHeritage and the ability of allot of their users, these were issues that were my fault not anything that was an error on MyHeritage.

Biggest Pro: Answers that were easy to follow.
Biggest Con: none

MyHeritage Review by Carolyn Gibson,  Feb 18, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I had planned to let MyHeritage go, but then I was offered a helping hand that I could not refuse. MyHeritage gave me the time and the opportunity to see how the advanced membership could help me and I have been so glad to have that.
That’s a wonderful thing about MyHeritage, they really do help :)

Biggest Pro: plenty of opportunity to see other trees, compare and contact other members
Biggest Con: difficult to find and change names in my own tree when necessary

Show 21-40 »