MyHeritage

Click To See Award Winners
by MyHeritage Ltd. (Gilad Japhet)
Allows you to build your own family website to share photos, videos, family trees, events, news and more with your family. It includes face recognition technology for your photos. They have a blog.

Free • Subscription • Online • Full Featured
http://www.myheritage.com/
Overall1334.31 out of 54.31 out of 54.31 out of 54.31 out of 54.31 out of 5 4.31
2015143.43 out of 53.43 out of 53.43 out of 53.43 out of 53.43 out of 5 3.43
20141164.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 5 4.47
Earlier32.84 out of 52.84 out of 52.84 out of 52.84 out of 52.84 out of 5 2.84

Add Your Review of MyHeritage

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

133 Reviews of MyHeritage     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

MyHeritage Review by Mayflower,  55 min. ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Horrible, and even alarming!. Once the free family tree software is downloaded, it connects the user to the MyHeritage public user group site, but the software is defective or isn’t compatible with normal browser settings. The result is that it is impossible to use any of the site’s user controls - even the highly important security settings - and it is also impossible even to delete the connection to the public user group site as a last-ditch privacy protection defense mechanism. Beware of downloading MyHeritage!

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Defective software controls and no control over privacy.

MyHeritage Review by Rod Carty,  1 day ago

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I’ve been using FTB and the MyHeritage site for eight years now. I tried other programs and sites first but I found their program works best for me. The work went fast so it didn’t take me long to exceed the free basic online account of 250 people!

While the built-in help could use some upgrading, the online knowledgebase is pretty good, and I’ve found the support team to be quite responsive, including when it will take a modification of FTB to resolve my issue.

Their SmartMatching is quite interesting and has helped me locate quite a few relatives. It is far easier to add information through this than manually. Their RecordMatching, which is only a few years old, has revolutionized my efforts to validate my information. Being new means though that they don’t yet have a strong worldwide database, but it’s growing.

Biggest Pro: Connection of photographs to family records
Biggest Con: Not yet enough worldwide information available

MyHeritage Review by Andreas Schönfeldt,  4 days ago

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I am satisfied with the help I got from Schlomi. The moment I downloaded the Family Tree Builder on my PC, the edit function on my Family Tree Website dissapeared. At that time I already upgraded my subscription to Premium Plus. In the end I uninstalled the Family Tree Builder from my PC and asked Schlomi to delete my original Web Site and transfer my Premium Plus status to the new Web Site I started which had the edit function but was not linked to my Premium Plus status. In the end all was succesfully done and I received a new e-mail adress to which I could sent documents and fotos to my new Web Site.

I must however agree with some of the people’s criticism. Since I started with My Heritage I didn’t find any new member with our family name by using the program. They advised me to use the Super Search Function but I don’t get any relevant information by using it. You only get an enormous amout of irrelevant information. It also doesn’t help to put date of birth, full names and any other relevant information when you do a Super Search. When the results come, there are no corrolation between the info you put in and what you get back. Even the names and surnames can differ.

Since I started with My Heritage, I tried to get a link to Germany where my ancestors came from, but with no success. This is the biggest problem with this program. Untill now it didn’t help me to extend my genealogy by one extra ancestor.

Biggest Pro: It is a fun hobby
Biggest Con: Not very user friendly or accurate when trying to do research..

MyHeritage Review by Dennis Prestidge,  Jan 20, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

On 19 January 2015:
I had a problem with one element of MyHeritage tree builder software, which, though not of massive importance, was sufficiently inconvenient for me to want to have the problem fixed. It was the MyHeritage support team which suggested to me that maybe a session using TeamViewer might be the way to tackle the problem, so a member of that team, Schlomi, contacted me, and we arranged a mutually convenient time for us to set up a TeamViewer session on my computer.
From the very beginning Schlomi was extremely helpful and pleasant to deal with, putting me at my ease because my previous experience of using TeamViewer had been rather limited (4 or 5 times, at most, and not recently). The problem turned out to be far more complicated than I had at first thought, and it took Schlomi a full 45 minutes to solve the problem, but solve it he did. At one stage I suggested to him that that I thought he’d done it, but he immediately replied that he wanted to double check a few more points before he was satisfied. His ability, speed and thoroughness were all obvious for me to see.
I remain very very grateful to Shlomi and the team support group for dealing with me and my problem in the way that they did. I applaud their efficiency and expertise.

Dennis Prestidge
Dennisprestidge3@gmail.com

MyHeritage Review by Peter O'Regan,  Jan 19, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Excellent resource for tracing your family’s roots. I started with the free version which allows you to carry out most functions so that you can see if genealogy is something you want to pursue more actively. You can sync your web based family tree with the desktop software so that updates are reflected in both places. Invitations can be sent to family members allowing them to see the tree and contribute to the project. The mobile app allows you to view your family tree from any location. Excellent customer support on the one occasion I needed it.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use and plenty of functions.
Biggest Con: Record matches (access to records is a premium feature) seem to throw up results based on partial names without reference to location or other available information.

MyHeritage Review by Cindy Reynolds,  Jan 18, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

if you have big trees and have added gedcom files….it does not merge them or help merge them….it adds to the names and is hard to associate with people who are the same in your tree….it also does not save well….I have lost complete branches of trees that did not save….

Biggest Pro: it used to be good but have to pay for everything now it seems….
Biggest Con: duplicates are horrible and does not merge people well…associations are bad also….

MyHeritage Review by RJ,  Jan 15, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been very pleased with MyHeritage - and especially with the help that I have received when I had issues or problems. They responded to emails within a day, and were very patient with my questions, walking me through the steps to correct a problem. The upgrade to Premium has been very helpful with this - I only wonder if they couldn’t occasionally field calls by telephone. That would help expedite repeated emails on a particular subject.

MyHeritage Review by Jeffrey Hillel,  Jan 12, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Hi fellow genealogists!
I have been using “My Heritage” for the last four years.
Since the moment I realized that if I would’t start constructing a family tree a.s.a.p. valuable family history would be lost for ever, there would be nobody around who could identify people in photographs; in short the past lives of my ancestors would be as if they never lived.
I tried various programs and decided to take out a basic subscription with “My Heritage”. I have never regretted it and I soon found that the basic program wasn’t enough and I upgraded.
I have found new family I never knew I had and my contacts with a larger circle of family are a lot stronger than ever.
Hope to use for many years to come and would recommend to everyone.
Jeffrey

Biggest Pro: My contacts with family are a lot stronger than ever.
Biggest Con: I don’t get enough sleep until I discover some mysterious ancestor!

MyHeritage Review by Karel Culik,  Jan 11, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using MyHeritage for 2 years and I´m fully satisfied with this application. Especially the cutomer support in case of synchronization issue was excellent and I really appreciated it. MyHeritage is well arranged and thanks to it I have been able to contact some of my lost family members.

Biggest Pro: Customer service support
Biggest Con: Nothing

MyHeritage Review by barrie smith,  Jan 10, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

if I was an American I have no complaints, but trying for thing in the UK is not so good the only information that I get is what I discovered on other medias

Biggest Pro: ESEY TO AROUND THE PROGRAMME
Biggest Con: NOT MUCH HELP WITH SCOTLAND

MyHeritage Review by Graeme O'Neill,  Jan 6, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using My Heritage system now for over three years without too many problems.
The biggest problems have been a lack of knowledge by members that you match against, who use their web-site to place multiple databases with parts or variations on their whole database - I too got caught this way! This unfortunately places multiple needless matches on line.
Once these matches have been agreed to, I recently found a great tool to standardise all your location information - I try and make this as full as possible so others on the other side of the world understand. This tool is found under . If you place your place name or parts of it in the box you can the find all the variations in your data. Select your best version and use it with cut and paste, to replace all the other versions.
Another thing I’m busy doing with my 84000 names is where-ever possible placing an approximate birthdate, so that matching can be carried out more intelligently when the step arrives.
Not only have I doubled the number of people in my database, in three years, but more importantly have increased the information held on these people.

Biggest Pro: ease of use and price
Biggest Con: some smart matches have become laughable lately.

MyHeritage Review by Patricia Peoples,  Jan 3, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I have used MyHeritage for several years now and am mostly satisfied with it. I subscribe principally because members of my family find it easier to use than Ancestry.com! While the tree itself is very user friendly I find that the photo aspect of the site needs much work. There is no way to organize photos beyond very basic albums (i.e., cannot create sub-albums or organize photos within albums!). Also find that Family Tree Builder and the web site do not synchronize as promised - I have stopped using FTB entirely because of that. And Smart Matches are not smart at all - either far too many “matches” are found or none at all, even with full vital information provided for the search.

Biggest Pro: Customer support
Biggest Con: Inability to organize photos; poor synchronization between FTB and MH web site.

MyHeritage Review by Audrey Newman,  Jan 2, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

They have found absolutely nothing - pages of a different birth date and different first name. I know when this person was born and when he died - zero results. In addition I was one day late in cancelling my subscription and was not reimbursed. Ir seems it will thus be cancelled on 4 October 2015. Go to Ancestory as I have!

MyHeritage Review by Craig,  Jan 2, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I have just cancelled my MyHeritage subscription after almost a year. The “smart matches” are not all very smart, and not at all useful - it finds other trees with the same individual, but much “private” information, and almost no sources attached. The record matches are more useful, mostly from FamilySearch, US Census, US newspapers, US Death Index, and UK census. For me, little added value over what I already have access to. I had only one minor technical problem, and after many e-mail exhanges, it was not sorted our.

Biggest Pro: Some good record matches
Biggest Con: Smart match trees have no sources

MyHeritage Review by Harald Bugmann,  Dec 31, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Using MyHeritage, I was able to re-establish contact with a family in the UK to whom we had lost any connection seveal decades ago. This was just great!

Biggest Pro: Great customer service!
Biggest Con: Nothing.

MyHeritage Review by Sherry Zealley,  Dec 30, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I had created two family trees. One of them exceeded the allowable number of names and was a “guest” site. It was also in my married name. The other tree was in my maiden name and had very few names. I wanted to combine the two trees and have the final one in my maiden name and have it be a premium account. Thamar came to my rescue. He gave me detailed instructions as to what I could do and then he eliminated the guest account and gave me the LDS premium account for the combined tree. He made the process very clear and easy and was extremely polite and helpful. He even responded on Christmas and on a Sunday when I least expected responses. I really appreciated working with him and felt very satisfied with his help. Thank you for this opportunity to let you know what a valuable employee you have in Thamar.

Biggest Pro: Quick response with clear instructions to solve my problem
Biggest Con: None

MyHeritage Review by Ladislav Royt,  Dec 30, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

S MyHeritage jsem většinou spokojený, hlavně s FTB.

Biggest Pro: Dobrý přehled a grafika.Jsem spokojený s komunikací.
Biggest Con: Občasné problémy se synchronizací

Google translate: With MyHeritage’m mostly happy, especially with the FTB.
Biggest Pro: Good overview and graphics. I am satisfied with communications.
Biggest Con: Intermittent problems with synchronization

MyHeritage Review by Major Tom,  Dec 30, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Nicht sehr benutzerfreundliches Angebot.
Viel Support bzw. Hilfe erforderlich,
um die Anwendung zum Laufen zu bringen.
Das kann man hier auch aus den vorherigen
Beiträgen herauslesen.

Biggest Pro: Keine

Google translate: Not very user-friendly range.
Much support or help is necessary,
get up and running the application.
One can also find from the previous
Contributions read out.
Biggest Pro: No

MyHeritage Review by Lucille Palifka,  Dec 29, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Enjoy using myheritage and have filled gaps in my family tree. When I needed some help connecting after the internet had been down for a month, I received prompt and effective advice.

Biggest Pro: Lots of information connecting ancestors.
Biggest Con: Wish the DNA tests were less expensive.

MyHeritage Review by John Hermsen,  Dec 29, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’m using MyHeritage for several years and always with great pleasure. It’s easy to use, i never really needed the support team. And now there is also a Mac version of MyHeritage Family Tree Builder. With the same look and feel as the Windows version. That’s a great achievement, everything is at same place as in the PC version, so no searching. It’s there where you think it is, fantastic. I think it’s even better then Reunion and its for free and is support you language. So what you need more.

Great Job.

Biggest Pro: There is now also a Mac version
Biggest Con: Don’t know

Show 21-40 »