Click To See Award Winners
by MyHeritage Ltd. (Gilad Japhet)
Allows you to build your own family website to share photos, videos, family trees, events, news and more with your family. It includes face recognition technology for your photos. They have a blog.

Free • Subscription • Online • Full Featured
Overall2534.31 out of 54.31 out of 54.31 out of 54.31 out of 54.31 out of 5 4.31
20151344.24 out of 54.24 out of 54.24 out of 54.24 out of 54.24 out of 5 4.24
20141164.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 5 4.47
Earlier32.84 out of 52.84 out of 52.84 out of 52.84 out of 52.84 out of 5 2.84

Add Your Review of MyHeritage

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

253 Reviews of MyHeritage     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

MyHeritage Review by Dr Herman Wiechers,  21 hrs ago

Not Rated

MyHeritage is my favourite website for genealogical research! It is accurate, concise and to the point. It is easy to work with, and super for research. Any family or friends interested in genealogy are referred to this super site. My thanks and appreciation go to the dedicated and efficient safe who manage and keep this site going! Many thanks, Herman

Biggest Pro: Easy and accurate research
Biggest Con: Can’t think of one!

MyHeritage Review by Gordon Dyck,  2 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Somehow the changes I made in the Family Tree Builder desktop application weren’t syncing with the MyHeritage web site. It was very frustrating because I’d done a lot of work offline. I opened a technical support case and promptly received an email giving me detailed instruction for what to do including screenshots. Problem solved. MyHeritage Support did a fantastic job.

Biggest Pro: Responsive support with understandable instructions.

MyHeritage Review by Matthias,  2 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Just starting ;-)
Yesterday I had a problem with the interface, so I opened up a support case / question !
3 hours later, they emailed me the solution to my problem, clear and understandable :-)
Not a bad reaction time, to be honest, even though I’m a “freebie” member……

Thank you !!!!

MyHeritage Review by George Booth,  2 days ago

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I called My Heritage with a problem: I have an ancestor (8 generations back) who had children from two different husbands. A few generations down the track, two descendants met, married and had chidlren. However, the original ancestor had to be represented twice. My email to My Heritage was promptly answered and I was asked to call back on a free number. In conversation with Shimon, I was told that this could not be done any other way. So that was a bit of a disappointment, but the prompt, friendly response and additional advice and help has been greatly appreciated.

Biggest Pro: Prompt, friendly advice
Biggest Con: Original problem could not be fixed.

MyHeritage Review by Roy Gardner,  3 days ago

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Seemed to have dificulty getting the issue accross but having done that the it was dealt with swiftly by MyHeritage representative.

Biggest Pro: Effectively solved and explained
Biggest Con: Not understanding what was provided at the outset.

MyHeritage Review by Vicki Butler,  3 days ago

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I sought assistance from MyHeritage following the death of my father who managed his family tree, as I wanted to take over from my father. I experienced some problems with following the recommended steps, more likely to be my confusion over what I was meant to do. Each step to do the changeover created a further issue, complicating things.
From the beginning, I received very punctual responses from Shimon, from MyHeritage. The emails were courteous & sensitive to the passing of my father, and the instructions were methodical accompanied with clear diagrams of what to do on the MyHeritage site.
Because I was having a lot of problems in the end, Shimon was able to sort out everything for me from their end, resolving the issues easily, and with much appreciation from me!

MyHeritage Review by JOHN FLIPPIN,  4 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Thank you Shimon for your excellent customer service.

You were very patient with me and your instructions were right on saving me a lot of future frustrations
by efficiently educating me of the optimum use of MyHeritage.

I just love the software so easy to use and provides so much return in knowledge and neatly displaying
my family heritage.

Biggest Pro: Knowledge of the product and patience
Biggest Con: None

MyHeritage Review by Rachel,  4 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

MyHeritage is just the right program for me. I got paper family lists by several relatives, and combined them all on Myheritage, finding interesting connections. The “Smart Matches” is a very useful feature, learning about my worldwide scattered family. Many had been killed in the Holocaust, and I didn’t even know of them.

I like to add photos of the persons, and often get them from the smart matches.

There’s an automatic monthly backup which was very useful after I mistakenly deleted something I shouldn’t have.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use, excellent support both by mail and phone call from the Support.

MyHeritage Review by Erik Nordahl Svendsen,  5 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

As a PremiumPlus member I allways get effective, kind and patient help from MyHeritages servicepeople. Recently I tried to upload a video of 1400 MB (!), untill I learned the limit is 60 MB (by the way this limit could be more clearly stated). The service staff explained in several rounds how I could reduce the size of the file. The result is a high quality sound, and the video is a speech, but of course a rather poor picture quality.

Biggest Pro: Very competent service help
Biggest Con: Maybe too narrow limits for video

MyHeritage Review by Martyn Hayes,  6 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I would like to thank Michael at My Heritage in the assistance he provided in solving my technical issues. The instructions were clear and easy to follow even for a computing Luddite like me. I was particularly impressed by the follow up Phone call from the UK.

Keep up the great work My Heritage


Biggest Con: Customer Service

MyHeritage Review by Noeline Wagener,  Nov 20, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I had an issue with the version of Family Tree Builder that I could not resolve. I sent an email off to the support team and they responded the next day. A couple more emails failed to resolve the issue. Then I got a phone call from Michael who was able to talk me through a process to resolve the issue. I am very grateful Michael was pleasant and patient with me. Thank you.

Biggest Pro: Prompt service
Biggest Con: That it happened in the first place

MyHeritage Review by Dianne Durda,  Nov 20, 2015

Not Rated

I’m pretty new at researching my family tree but so far so good. I’m surprised at how many people are working on the same tree.

Biggest Pro: timely support, various charts and reports available
Biggest Con: too many “confirm matches” requests… takes up too much time to do these

MyHeritage Review by Anna Maria,  Nov 19, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Od dłuższego czasu nie wyświetlała się w pełni moja Księga czasu. Próbowałam na własną rękę szukać przyczyny ale bez skutku. Według mnie wszystko było w porządku. Zwróciłam się o pomoc do MYHERITAGE. Odezwał się do mnie Pan Thamar. Muszę przyznać , że z wielkim zaangażowaniem próbował rozwikłać przyczynę jej nie wyświetlania się. Poświęcił mi dużo czasu za co jestem mu niezmiernie wdzięczna. Każdemu użytkownikowi tej strony życzę by trafiali na Pana Thamara. Solidna osoba i doprowadzająca problemy od początku do końca.
Dziękuję Panie Thamar za czas, za poświęcenie i podejście z tak wielkim zaangażowaniem do mojego problemu.

A tak nawiasem mówiąc MYHERITAGE jest wspaniałą stroną do szukania swoich korzeni rodzinnych. Drzewo genealogiczne na Waszej stronie wygląda wspaniale.
Pozdrawiam Pana Thamara oraz całą załogę MYHERITAGE

Biggest Pro: Wspaniała strona do tworzenia rodzinnego drzewa genealogicznego
Biggest Con: warto by pomyśleć by inni użytkownicy z rodziny nie mieli możliwości ściągania danych.

Google translate: For a long time not to show in my book of full time. I tried on my own to look for the cause but to no avail. For me everything was fine. I turned for help to MyHeritage. He spoke to me, Thamar. I must admit that with great commitment attempted to unravel the reason for her not to display. I devoted a lot of time for which I am extremely grateful to him. Each user of this page I wish that were sent to Mr. Thamara. Solid person and feed issues from the beginning to the end.
Thank you for your time Mr. Thamar, for the dedication and approach with such great commitment to my problem.
By the way MyHeritage is a great party to seek their family roots. The family tree on your website looks great.
I greet Thamara and the entire crew MyHeritage
Biggest Pro: Great site to create a family tree family
Biggest Con: it is worth to think that other users of the families do not have the possibility to download the data.

MyHeritage Review by Lydia Hartoch,  Nov 18, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I started the family tree and it has evolved into a huge enjoyable project with many family members involved- I thoroughly recommend it !!!

Biggest Pro: Strengthened family relationships
Biggest Con: Not enough time to research and find more relations

MyHeritage Review by Ellis Trautman,  Nov 18, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I find Myheritage website & Family tree builder programme very easy to use.
Firstly the tree programme is free to download. The limited 250 entries, free, is a great way to launch ones tree before publishing. I built mine larger before doing so but that was my choice. Once started, it’s easy to see how it works.
The features available, around your tree are amazing. To allow others to view your tree online is so easy.
To be able to print Ancestors or descendants on paper is convenient for those not computer literate.
To navigate the tree on line is also very easy.
The matching facility is very useful for contacts with other tree builders of related families. I have gained relevant data from other trees & I have contributed to others trees, both information & photos. It can put you in contact with others, worldwide. I have been in contact with folks in Canada, South Africa, Norway, America, U.K., I’m in Australia.
The ability to include photos is another feature that adds quality to a tree. To put a face to a name, adds a human element, especially to old, long since departed ancestors.

Some of the matches are not well scrutinised when presented for confirmation, names often totally wrong. The time to process matches is significant, so better scrutiny would be helpful.
Super search is also frustrating. The alphabetical sequencing of search results is often poor, very American biased. Search request for Scotland & get mostly American.
Super search is too expensive for few results. Successful results were good results though too few.
I’ve seen other genealogy sights & this one is my preference, for simplicity.

Biggest Pro: Very user friendly & flexible with good support.
Biggest Con: Processing matches is time consuming but obligatory. Not really a con.

MyHeritage Review by Keith Rockefeller,  Nov 18, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

My heritage is a fairly good site. I’ve been able to track quite a few lines within my family tree. I have had some points where the data search engine did not work the greatest and led no where. That was frustrating, but I have learned so much and appreciate how much help they have been.

Biggest Pro: Ability to cross reference to other lines for information
Biggest Con: The search engine is hard throws out information that is not helpful

MyHeritage Review by Руслан,  Nov 18, 2015

Not Rated

MyHeritage very great service . I like its functionality and the fact that there is always improvement to the wishes of users. However wanted more flexible tariff plans.

MyHeritage Review by Scott Griffith,  Nov 18, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

We all have our gripes about sites incessantly pushing up-dates that have to be paid for, not having consistent rules about finding your way from A to B, lack of clear, simple explanations and so forth. Recently at I sought help and actually got it. I was initially told to wait while my problem was sent to ´our´ expert team, which I´d been told before elsewhere, but the team got back to me pretty quickly. They showed evidence of having studied the problem I´d described, answered my questions in detail, with helpful screen-shot illustrations, and I was impressed. Thank you.

Biggest Pro: Thoroughness
Biggest Con: don´t know

MyHeritage Review by Stacy Simon,  Nov 17, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

AWESOME software. I’ve grown my family tree by dozens of people after they generate matches in public records and other family trees where we share an ancestor. The support is also very good, they follow up in a timely manor and help troubleshoot if you have any questions. The possibilities are endless.

MyHeritage Review by Darrel Gray,  Nov 17, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using My Heritage for several years now and have been very satisfied. I find it easy to use and the Support Staff very responsive.

Biggest Pro: All of the matches they provide which helps build and/or confirm my tree.
Biggest Con: None

Show 21-40 »