MyHeritage

Click To See Award Winners
by MyHeritage Ltd. (Gilad Japhet)
Allows you to build your own family website to share photos, videos, family trees, events, news and more with your family. It includes face recognition technology for your photos. They have a blog.

Free • Subscription • Online • Full Featured
http://www.myheritage.com/
Overall3694.26 out of 54.26 out of 54.26 out of 54.26 out of 54.26 out of 5 4.26
2016874.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5 4.20
20151634.25 out of 54.25 out of 54.25 out of 54.25 out of 54.25 out of 5 4.25
Earlier1194.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 5 4.47

Add Your Review of MyHeritage

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

369 Reviews of MyHeritage     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

MyHeritage Review by Bengt Forsberg,  1 day ago

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

My problem concerns the synchronization between the online-tree and the computer-tree. The problem arose at the beginning of the year 2016. I discovered the error when my computer-tree did not grow even though I confirmed people from the online-tree. Together, I managed to confirmed about 600 people.
In early 2016, I contacted MyHeritage Support. Pretty soon I got a friendly response. Moreover, all the people from the Support were friendly and helpful.

Later in the spring of 2016 I was contacted from the Support. The last two days, 22 and 23 June 2016, I was helped via TeamViewer. The Support came to my computer from outside and started with the sync repair.

Today I have confirmed a lot of personal information from the online-tree to my computer-tree. Sync has gone well. A great thank you!

Biggest Pro: Kind treatment
Biggest Con: It took 5 months to solve the problem

MyHeritage Review by Beverly L Schreiner,  2 days ago

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I am very happy with My Heritage. I have added thousands of new relatives. I do find the software runs slow at times and sometimes stops altogether, but not too often.

Biggest Pro: Availability of thousands of names.
Biggest Con: I had a problem at one point of not being able to add anything to the site. Customer service and contacting by email, they were nice but could not help me and my problem was sent to the developers who finally fixed it about 3 weeks later. There was no communication from anyone during that time. It would be easy to send an automated email saying we are working on your problem, please have patience, but they did not. I was frustrated.

MyHeritage Review by Tschamper,  2 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

J’ai eu quelques problème d’installation et synchronisation avec le logiciel family_tree_builder_8269
lors de sa réinstallation sur un nouveau laptop. Tout à pu être résolu grâce au support de MyHeritage.
Le personnel est serviable et très compétent.
Daniel Tschamper

Google translate: I had some installation problems and synchronization with the software family_tree_builder_8269
during its relocation to a new laptop. All have been resolved with the support of MyHeritage.
The staff is helpful and knowledgeable.

MyHeritage Review by Robbbbbbbb,  5 days ago

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I am very happy with MyHeritage.com and the related MyHeritage Family Tree Builder software. It has organized my family tree of over 1500 relatives and 500+ photos. The cost is way higher than expected, but no different than other sites like ancestry.com. They always want to sell you more information, but usually that is not needed. Every few years it may be worth buying access to some extra data, but usually not more than for one month or so. I usually never require contacting the company for support, but when I did, it took longer than the 24 hour turnaround time to get back to me. However, it did resolve the little issue that I was having. Backups happen monthly which protect the site and its contents.

I am never sure if the backup only backs up what is published online, or all my additional notes that are optionally kept private off line by choice?

I have also never really understood how/if family members can add to the site, or if I, as the owner of the site, am the only one that can add content on photos? And/or if family members add their own content, does it get synchronized with my MyHeritage Family Tree Builder software that is local to my PC? The company should have ongoing classes on these subjects to help its members.

I end up paying for this site, year over year, and the rest of my family couldn’t care less about helping or paying. So 100s of other people can access the details I put in for free and they are less then appreciative of my effort. But that is just life and family for ya!

In general, REALLY COOL SOFTWARE, for a substantial personal fee, with adequate Service. Serving unappreciative family worldwide :) Highly recommended still!

Biggest Pro: Software
Biggest Con: Cost

MyHeritage Review by Dieter Heuer,  5 days ago

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Hello,

thank you for your help and support!

Biggest Pro: very correct on the telephone and trying the best to find adiquate salutions!
Biggest Con: it took longer to get a response

MyHeritage Review by Robyne Moran,  5 days ago

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Hello,

When I rang your phone centre, I was answered by an operator, who did not give her name, but was able to answer my question. She also gave me a free week to contact any other members on My Heritage.

So thank you for this.

Robyne Moran

Biggest Pro: I was able to talk to an operator from My Heritage
Biggest Con: Did not give me her name

MyHeritage Review by BOIZOT,  6 days ago

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Bonjour,
Je voudrais vous féliciter pour la rapidité et la qualité des réponses aux différentes questions que j’ai eu l’occasion de vous poser par mail.
En effet les réponses sont très claires et bien illustrées par des impressions d’écran bien pratiques.
Je félicite en particulier Alexandra !
Par contre je regrette que sur les liens qu’elle m’a envoyés pour donner mon avis, il n’y ait que de l’anglais auquel je ne comprends RIEN !!!
Je profite de ce mail pour vous redire qu’autant je suis d’accord pour payer mon abonnement et l’impression des arbres, autant je ne suis pas d’accord pour payer ENCORE l’accès aux « Record matches »
Gérard Boizot
Mail : gerard.boizot@neuf.fr

Biggest Pro: WHAT IS ? I DONT UNDERSTAND !!!
Biggest Con: WHAT IS ? I DONT UNDERSTAND !!!

Google translate: Hello,
I congratulate you for the speed and quality of responses to the various questions that I had the opportunity to ask you by email.
In fact the answers are very clear and well illustrated with handy screen prints.
I especially congratulate Alexandra!
By cons I regret that the links they sent me to give my opinion, there are only in English which I do not understand NOTHING !!!
I take this mail to reiterate that as I agree to pay my subscription and the printing of the trees, so I’m not willing to pay AGAIN access to “Record matches”
Gérard Boizot

MyHeritage Review by Václav Kural,  6 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I like the Heritage very much, I am very pleased to use MyHeritage ! It’s very profesionály done and very user friendly. I was happy with the quick support from Dean about my issue as well.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use
Biggest Con: Did not find any

MyHeritage Review by Bernadine Derbas,  Jun 17, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Judith was very helpful in giving me instruction how to do corrections on my Family Tree. Without her help I would not print copies of the tree to my family showing all the errors I made. She is one good employee. Keep her. Thank you.

Biggest Pro: Cannot think of any.
Biggest Con: So far I have none.

MyHeritage Review by Brenda,  Jun 17, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I find this easy to use and the technical support has been good also. I recently merged my tree with my DNA results and it worked very well. I like the charts and books.

Biggest Pro: Printable charts and books
Biggest Con: Extra charges for certain features

MyHeritage Review by Paul H,  Jun 16, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Doesn’t allow for names of multiple wives or husbands. Like wtf? Also, there’re too many prompts requesting for ancillary questions that waste my time. Also, it takes much longer to load up than my previous program which doesn’t fit Windows 7 of course. Needless to say, I’m looking for something else. Can’t tolerate the omission of vital names. Like wtf, man? How can a program not allow for 2nd wives etc?

Another problem with the program. It doesn’t allow for foreign letter characters like the German umlauts. Half the Europeans use umlauts or other such characters in their names, and for a family tree program not to allow for that is absolutely stupid.

Biggest Pro: I can’t think of any
Biggest Con: Doen’t allow for names of multiple wives or husbands. Like wtf? Also, there’re too many prompts requesting for questions that waste my time. Also, it takes much longer to load up than my previous program which doesn’t fit Windows 7 of course. Needless to say, I’m looking for something else. Can’t tolerate the omission of vital names. Like wtf, man? How can a program not allow for 2nd wives etc?

MyHeritage Review by Kevin S Barry,  Jun 14, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am very pleased with MyHeritage! It is very professional and great concept. It is very user friendly and the support is very good I feel like I get better contact with my relatives.

Biggest Pro: I feel like I get better contact with my relatives
Biggest Con: Merging trees and locked out on some relevant information.

MyHeritage Review by Elena Denoth,  Jun 12, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Bonjour ,
J’aimerais soutenir soutenir Alexandra de l’equipe MyHeritage qui a ete tres professionnelle et efficace , chose rare ces temps ci
MyHeritage est un site particulirement bien fait, j’ai une amie qui grace a ce site a retrouve plusieurs personnes de sa famille
Dans mon cas ca n’a rien donne mais je ne perds pas espoir….

Biggest Pro: La facilite d’utilisation du site et le service support
Biggest Con: Domage qu’il ne soit pas en plusieurs langues surtout pour les personnes agees qui ne parlent pas toujours anglais

Google translate: Hello ,
I would support support of Alexandra MyHeritage team has been very professional and efficient, a rare thing these days
MyHeritage is a particularly well-done site, I have a friend who thanks to this site are several members of his family
In my case it has nothing gives but I do not lose hope ….
Biggest Pro: The ease of use of the site and support services
Biggest Con: Shame it is not in several languages especially for elderly people who do not always speak English

MyHeritage Review by Ben Ferrell,  Jun 9, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been a member of My Heritage for more than six years. In that time I have had phenomenal progress in the building of my family tree. It will soon surpass 78,000 members. I had no idea that I would enjoy the process so much.
The software has been easy to use and generally reliable. On the occasions when I was in need of assistance, customer care has been competent, courteous and responsive.

All together I feel that using My Heritage is enjoyable and the best value for the cost that I have seen.

Biggest Pro: The Matching feature. Helps build the tree in directions I would have not discovered otherwise.
Biggest Con: Some software issues can be challenging and take some time to resolve.

MyHeritage Review by Michel Monette,  Jun 9, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

J’ai récemment eu besoin d’aide et j”ai eu une réponse rapide et efficace de la part D’Alexandra de l’équipe de My Heritage. C’est un ami qui m’a recommandé ce logiciel quand j’ai commencé à m’intéresser à ma généalogie et je suis absolument satisfait des résultats obtenus et du support fourni.

Biggest Pro: La facilité d’utilisation du logiciel et la qualité du support fourni.
Biggest Con: Ce site pour exprimer mes commentaires. Je déplore qu’il soit seulement en anglais.

MyHeritage Review by Michael (miki) Arbel(Berl),  Jun 9, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

First time I am able to sort out and arranged the data I have on my scattered family.
It was not easy but the stuff (Judith in particular), managed to lead me to the MyHeritage illuminating world.
I am so happy I have subscribed…

miki arbel

Biggest Pro: abling to see connections within remote persons in a minute…
Biggest Con: a lot of work…but worthwhile…

MyHeritage Review by Judy D,  Jun 9, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Always get helpful advice on my questions/problems. This time I had super fast reply. Loved it!

Biggest Pro: Knowledge of tech support
Biggest Con: has been slow to reply in the PAST - Not this time

MyHeritage Review by Lyndall Hore,  Jun 8, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

When I needed support, the first person obviously did not read my email and sent a generic response. The second person, however, promptly resolved the issue. Overall, I’m very happy with My Heritage and find it easy to navigate.

Biggest Pro: Smart matches.
Biggest Con: none

MyHeritage Review by Flerkk,  Jun 6, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

They suck big time. Overcharged me. I lost $175.00 + in about 3 hours. Don’t use them unless you have lots of money!

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Overcharging

MyHeritage Review by Kat v,  Jun 2, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

No family history. No documents.

worse yet when I try to claim my 30 days full refund guarantee they laugh at me and basically call me an idiot over the phone. An amazing troupe of well scripted actors they have in their call centre.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Refusing to refund

Show 21-40 »