MyHeritage

by MyHeritage Ltd. (Gilad Japhet)
Allows you to build your own family website to share photos, videos, family trees, events, news and more with your family. It includes face recognition technology for your photos. They have a blog.

Free • Subscription • Online • Full Featured
http://www.myheritage.com/
Overall1134.49 out of 54.49 out of 54.49 out of 54.49 out of 54.49 out of 5 4.49
20141104.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5 4.50
20130    No Ratings
Earlier32.84 out of 52.84 out of 52.84 out of 52.84 out of 52.84 out of 5 2.84

Add Your Review of MyHeritage

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

113 Reviews of MyHeritage     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

MyHeritage Review by J Spriggs,  3 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Great support from the My Heritage team. I always have had problems following computer ‘jargon’ instructions and this was no exception. Not that their instructions were not clear, I simply did not understand what they were trying to tell me. Contacting the support team resulted in clear instruction in a ‘non jargon’ manner that even I could understand and it solved my problems. Sometimes took a couple of days to respond, but if they are dealing with computer dummies like me all the time, their workload must be overwhelming. Great support. Thanks

Biggest Pro: Clear, precise help that guides you round a problem like mine.
Biggest Con: None.

MyHeritage Review by Bernard DAGORNE,  4 days ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Temps de réponse insupportable !
88 secondes pour une simple transaction.
Ma liaison Internet n’est pas en cause, je suis connecté via la fibre à 100 MO
Très mauvaise gestion des Smart Matches

Biggest Con: Incredibly long response time

Google translate: Unbearable response time!
88 seconds for a single transaction.
My Internet connection is not involved, I am connected via fiber 100 MO
Very poor management of Smart Matches
Biggest Con: Incredibly long response time

MyHeritage Review by Марина Копорова (Marina Koporova),  Nov 24, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Замечательный сайт! Большое количество возможностей для поиска и создания генеалогического древа. Отличный сервис и техподдержка. Грамотно и удобно построен интерфейс. Очень просто и комфортно работать. Большое спасибо создателям сайта!

Работая в МуHeritage получаю огромное моральное удовлетворение. Для меня это приятный отдых, совмещенный с полезным времяпрепровождением.

Biggest Pro: удобно, просто, доступно
Biggest Con: нет

Google translate: Great site! Plenty of opportunities to find and create family tree. Excellent service and technical support. Competently and comfortably built interface. Very easy and comfortable to work. Many thanks to the creators of the site! Working in MyHeritage get great moral satisfaction. For me it’s a pleasant holiday, combined with a rewarding pastime.
Biggest Pro: convenient, simple, accessible
Biggest Con: no

MyHeritage Review by Peter Holakovsky,  Nov 20, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Excellent software for creating a family tree.

Biggest Pro: User-friendly, good features and good graphics.
Biggest Con: I have not found any.

MyHeritage Review by Irene Gray,  Nov 2, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I recently lost my family tree due to my computer crashing :( I was devastated. I had taken over 2 years to do it. I contacted MyHeritage by email. I was contacted almost immediately and within 3 days of me giving them a few bits of information they found it for me. I was over the moon. I can highly recommend MyHeritage to anyone who is about to embark on researching their family tree. They make it easy with their family tree builder. Thank you MyHeritage for all your help.

Biggest Pro: The site is easy to use and understand
Biggest Con: Nothing I can think of

MyHeritage Review by nizza tushia,  Oct 31, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

my expeiernce with my heritage was gret . ican make a severl tress .

also when i have a problem allways there is some one who can halp me

Biggest Pro: easy to use

MyHeritage Review by Sr. Helen McCormac,  Oct 21, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

My experience with My Heritage so far has been great. Several times in the past months I have had questions.
On all of these occasions I received an immediate response that someone would be in touch to help me shortly
to solve my problem. Within hours or at the latest the next day I had a solution. On all occasions Dean was
professional and courteous and he put me on the right track.
In my case my father had done so much on his own researching our genealogy. When he died in 2009 I took
over guarding the data. A friend introduced me to My Heritage. I am positive my father would be so happy seeing his research in My Heritage. I look forward to sharing My Heritage with our family.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use.
Biggest Con: Haven’t found one yet!

MyHeritage Review by Suzanne Rahm,  Oct 19, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I get frustrated very easily, unfortunately. Whenever I need ‘help’, I don’t think that the person helping realizes , at first, that I am not very computer literate !! So all in all, I think that the experience was satisfying.

MyHeritage Review by Joan Pattinson,  Oct 15, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I think that My Heritage Family programme is the better of all the sites I have used. I love the charts, reports etc that are available. It is so easy to use. I had to tick it as the best because I feel it is.

If you want to hear things that would make it better, I feel that if this programme had the similar asset that Ancestry.com has with regards to; when a search is being done, that alongside what the search brings up, could also put possible other areas that could show the same person.

I find that with this My Heritage Family, it is so easy to navigate and has so much to offer, that is why I have chosen this site to be my main Family Tree programme.

Biggest Pro: Brilliant charts, reports etc
Biggest Con: I have people in the same tree as another person but they are put next to another person who is also in my tree so I cant tick that I accept them, this has happened in quite a few people, I dont want to reject them because they are in my tree but not a match with the person they are matched with in the alerts. I hope that makes sense.

MyHeritage Review by edward cockett,  Oct 5, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

simply excellent—- but the review system is far to complex –too many choices and not to the point

Biggest Pro: my heritage
Biggest Con: the review system and sites

MyHeritage Review by Wendy Broda,  Oct 2, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I love working with MyHeritage. I’ve tried other family tree sites, and MyHeritage is the best. I’ve been using MyHeritage for over a year.
Their family tree program is easy to use, and easily syncs with my published tree on their website, to help keep everything up-to-date.
MyHeritage gives me lots of records for people in my family tree - matches with the same people in other family trees, which helps fill out and even give me new generations for my tree. Even better, MyHeritage gives me matches with actual historical records.
Also, when I have a question about the site, and I can’t find the answer right on the site, I contact them for help, and receive very fast assistance.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use
Biggest Con: Once in a while, the matches with people in other family trees are mixed up - I get matches within another tree that match, and some that don’t match at all, within the same tree.

MyHeritage Review by Smiljana Ivanc,  Sep 25, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

MyHeritage is my favourite

I started to discover my predecessors in 2000, when my cousin from the other part of the Earth gave me original package with Sierra’s Generations Beginner’s Edition 8.0 (Easy Tree and Easy Chart) and taught me in less than 1 hour, how to use it with efficiency. In that time I had personal computer with Windows 98 with CE fonts. The next one was notebook with Windows XP. With some tricks Easy Tree and Easy Chart worked fine on it. In December 2013 my notebook totally crashed, so I bought another one - but this one has 64 bits platform. I was forced to install Windows 7. It was much more difficulties to make Easy Tree running on it as it was on Windows XP. Because Easy tree uses CE fonts for Slovenian letters with “roofs”, gedcom exports produced false names, surnames or places etc.

So I decided to find modern genealogy software, that should be the best surrogate for my favourite Generations Easy Tree and Easy Chart. I tested many of them (Brother’s Keeper, Geni, Family Tree, Family Tree Maker, Ancestral Quest etc.), but MyHeritage became my favourite very quickly.

I found MyHeritage the best and easiest of all of them - on web site or on slim version for my Android or MyHeritage Family Tree Builder locally on my computer.

I easily imported gedcom from Sierra’s Easy Tree in MyHeritage Family Tree Builder, where I had to change manually all of Slovenian letters with “roofs” from spoiled CE fonts to normal fonts in names, surnames, places or remarks.

But … my family tree had nearly 6.000 people somehow related to me (directly or by marriages). I found “find/replace” function very useful, but I still needed more than 1 week to change all. Finally I was prepare to put my family tree on the web.

Another but … free Basic MyHeritage Package can consists of up to 250 persons and I had 5.825 … What to do? I decided to delete it on the web site (as a matter of fact I have it in MyHeritage Family Tree Builder localy on my notebook, as it was in Sierra’s Easy Tree).

Some days later I got very pleasant mail from MyHeritage Team, as follows:
“Dear Mrs. Ivanc,

Thank you for your email.

I would like to take the opportunity to ask if we can be of assistance with any further questions you might have.
After all, you have published a magnificent tree with 5825 persons in your Ivanc Web Site.
That must have taken many, many hours to create.

In addition to that, I would like to inform you that as you are a valuable user here in MyHeritage, I have given you a Premium Plus site subscription for your Ivanc Web Site for free for the period of six months.
This way you can try the many Premium Plus features such as the Smart Match confirm and merge functions, print a family book or create a chart and of course you will have unlimited storage.”

I was more than surprised, excited, pleased … I will surely renew my subscription after six months, because I really found MyHeritage as the best genealogy software.

MyHeritage became mine after a week of usage because of many reasons:
- now I don’t have problems with Slovenian letter with “roofs” any more,
- “find/replace” function is very user friendly and helpfully,
- I can easily check the consistency of my tree within tools,
- exported gedcoms are clear without spoiled letters,
- family tree can be edited both on web site or on Android or locally on computer,
- now I can collect data everywhere, even if no computer is available,
- I can datamining and use (Premium Plus) smart matches from other family trees to supplement my data,
- etc.

I can say in one sentence: MyHeritage is my favourite.

Biggest Pro: excellent web-android-computer access
Biggest Con: none

MyHeritage Review by Birgit Jeppesen,  Sep 19, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I suddenly had problems working in Family Tree Builder, could not come to the site who are constantly told that there was an error. I contacted the support department MyHeritage help.

I got a quick response at various options and solutions. Unfortunately it did not help. But after approximately 10 days came the solution and by the help of the support team who guided me through the process, the problem was solved and the Family Tree Builder works again.

Big thanks for helping support department MyHeritage.

Sincerely,
Birgit Jeppesen, Denmark

MyHeritage Review by Инга Фоминых (Inga Fominih),  Sep 8, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Я хочу выразить огромную благодарность разработчикам, модераторам, администраторам и … всей команде генеалогического сайта MyHeritage. Год назад, когда у меня была собрана часть информации по многочисленным родственникам, а впереди ещё ожидали открытия, передо мной стала проблема - как систематизировать все имеющиеся данные. И тогда, я случайным образом, обнаружила эту социальную сеть. При помощи этой программы, я стала администратором двух собственных семейных сайтов. Это позволило мне создать родовые деревья и заниматься их “разрастанием”. Стимулировало меня к поиску информации о предках и о потерявшихся “веточках”. Объединило многих родственников нашей большой семьи, окунуло их в воспоминания прошлого. Данный генеалогический сайт, мою заинтересованность историей семьи, превратил в хобби, которому я уделяю большую часть своего свободного времени: нахожу единомышленников, знакомлюсь с интересными людьми, познаю много нового и интересного не только связанного с семейной историей, но и с историей своей страны и других государств в тот или иной период времени.
Как сказал Фёдор Тютчев: “Нет ничего более человечного в человеке, чем потребность связывать прошлое с настоящим.” Благодаря MyHeritage эта потребность возникла не только у меня, но и у многих людей со всего мира - исходя из количества зарегистрированных участников данной программы и благодарных отзывов пользователей. Ещё раз большое спасибо автору и его команде! Удачи во всём, везде и всегда!

Biggest Pro: Получила быструю и квалифицированную техническую поддержку, когда возникли проблемы с загрузкой фотографий и синхронизации семейного сайта в MyHeritage с программой Family Tree Builder.

Google translate: I want to express my gratitude to the developers, moderators, administrators, and … the whole team genealogical site MyHeritage. A year ago, when I had collected some information on the extended family, but there is still expected opening in front of me there was a problem - how to organize all of the available data. And then I randomly found this social network. With this program, I was the administrator of two of their own family sites. This allowed me to create a family tree and deal with their “sprawl.” Stimulated me to search for information about the ancestors and lost “twigs”. United many relatives of our big family, dipped them in the memories of the past. This genealogical site, my interest in family history, turned into a hobby, which I spend most of my free time: I find like-minded people, get acquainted with interesting people and learn many new and interesting not only associated with a family history, but also with the history of his country and other States in a given period of time.
As Fyodor Tyutchev said: “There is nothing more human in man, than the need to link the past with the present.” With MyHeritage this need arose not only me, but also many people from around the world - based on the number of registered participants in the program and grateful comments users. Once again, many thanks to the author and his team! Good luck in everything, everywhere and always!

Biggest Pro: Get quick and expert technical support when problems with uploading your photos and family site in sync with the program MyHeritage Family Tree Builder.

MyHeritage Review by Geoff Strickland,  Aug 26, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I had a computer problem and had to reinstall all my soft ware. I had to reinstall the MyHeritage family tree soft ware and reconnect my family tree. I could not get my tree to work to the premiumPlus level. I contacted the MyHeritage help by email and I had a reply almost immediately with a procedure to fix the probem. This did not rectify the connection to the PremiumPlus, but after several communications with the MyHeritage help the problem was resolved completely.
The responce from the help people at MyHeritage was extreamily good and all their communications were easy to follow. I would recomment this product to anyone.

Biggest Pro: Quick response when I had an issue.

MyHeritage Review by lorne mackenzie,  Aug 25, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Like the quick response when I’ve had problems

MyHeritage Review by Celso Suárez,  Aug 24, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Simple and intuitive, but at the same time with many possibilities. The help center is rapid and effective. I have updated to user Premium to continue increasing my tree.

Biggest Pro: Interface
Biggest Con: Price

MyHeritage Review by Евгений Пиглицын (Eugene Piglitsyn),  Aug 21, 2014

Not Rated

I use FTB the last 3 years.The program works perfectly.All my requests have been answered quickly/

MyHeritage Review by Steve Evans,  Aug 19, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

MyHeritage provides us with two family web sites. We are very pleased with the ease of use, wide range of site member communications options, flexibility of configuration and responsive support. And, one should not neglect the cost dimension! MyHeritage is extremely cost effective with a range of pricing options that allow you to tailor the features to match your requirements.

Bravo MyHeritage!

Biggest Pro: Member communications
Biggest Con: Configuration can be a tad complex - but how else does one achieve flexibility?

MyHeritage Review by Jerome Blafer,  Aug 18, 2014

Not Rated

My experience in using the Help Center was positive.

Biggest Pro: Rapid response.
Biggest Con: None

Show 21-40 »