MyHeritage

Click To See Award Winners
by MyHeritage Ltd. (Gilad Japhet)
Allows you to build your own family website to share photos, videos, family trees, events, news and more with your family. It includes face recognition technology for your photos. They have a blog.

Free • Subscription • Online • Full Featured
http://www.myheritage.com/
Overall3064.23 out of 54.23 out of 54.23 out of 54.23 out of 54.23 out of 5 4.23
2016243.78 out of 53.78 out of 53.78 out of 53.78 out of 53.78 out of 5 3.78
20151634.25 out of 54.25 out of 54.25 out of 54.25 out of 54.25 out of 5 4.25
Earlier1194.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 5 4.47

Add Your Review of MyHeritage

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

306 Reviews of MyHeritage     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

MyHeritage Review by Totalkrasch,  1 day ago

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Jag fick totalkrasch på myheritage för en vecka sedan,mailade då supporten och fick vänta ungefär en vecka men fick sedan svar att jag skulle rensa datorn från cookies och en massa sparat och rensa internetfilen. Sedan har all fungerat perfekt

Anders Björkman

Bing translate: I got total crash on myheritage a week ago, then emailed support and had to wait about a week but then got answers that I would clean your system from cookies and a lot of saved and clean internet file. Then have all worked perfectly

MyHeritage Review by Ron,  2 days ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have not used this program enough to evaluate its value. I joined a year ago at about half price. I never intended to renew the subscription, but they set me up on auto rebill to my credit card. I received a notice on Saturday that they had billed me $238 for the next year. I called on Monday morning to cancel, and they told me they didn’t give refunds, and that I had supposedly known for a year I could cancel the auto rebill. They finally agreed to give me a 25% refund. I believe a reputable company would have informed me before rebilling and/or refunded my money.

Biggest Pro: Don’t know
Biggest Con: Billing practices

MyHeritage Review by spanishmayne,  2 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

MyHeritage is such an easy program to use. So very much easier than its main rival whom I will not name.
You can quickly grow your tree without a lot of hassle, except from outsiders who want to know where you got all your information from. I had someone suggesting that I stole all his info, when in fact it all came to me from MyHeritage.
You can get a back-up that will cover all your documentation and photographs, so that you need never lose your hard work.
I can recommend this to anyone from a young student doing a Family Tree consignment, up to and including Seniors who want to leave some history for their families.
First class support is available if or when required.

Biggest Pro: Smart Matches that come to you for confirmation and the ability to have a relative update their private details if you wish to allow that relative access.
Biggest Con: I made a mistake by pressing the Sync to website key for my private tree. Couldn’t stop the synchronization and had to delete my private, personal details from web site.

MyHeritage Review by Hana Travnikova,  5 days ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

It is scam to get money from people using the worst online business practices.

Biggest Pro: Nothing
Biggest Con: Useless with fraud manners

MyHeritage Review by Momtaz Ardeshir,  6 days ago

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Myheritage is really a very good program to create and share your own family tree. By chance, SmartMatches could be an extraordinary tool to find connection with other family trees, if anyone.
The problem I had was to contact the support center. The button on the site is inactive (maybe because I am a Mac user ?). Finally, I found the email address thanks to Google engine. The support (Thamar) was excellent and my problems was solved rapidly.
The only weakness I found concerns the registration and use of the site by members once received the invitation mail. I do not know why they have problems and after two failures they become discouraged and give up!

MyHeritage Review by Ken H,  Feb 4, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is a brilliant site with good support. First class!

Biggest Pro: Family Tree book
Biggest Con: None

MyHeritage Review by Diane Podell,  Feb 2, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

MyHeritage is wonderful, marvelous, and enjoyable, most of the time. One of the best things about it is how great the support team is, and I know because over the years I have had many questions and problems, and they have been incredibly helpful. Dean and his team have recently cleared up a situation that had me stalled for several months, and he extended my subscription to cover the lost time. I think that was exceedingly nice!

When I started this project I was in my 70s, and not really comfortable finding my way around a computer. Ten years later I still do not have a complete understanding about how it all works, but I do have over 1500 people, including two who were born in 1599!

Biggest Pro: The helpfulness of the support team.
Biggest Con: Doesn’t seem very intuitive about the needs of the older and technologically uncomfortable user.

MyHeritage Review by iain dunn,  Feb 2, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Once you are used to the website settings following my entries has been relatively easy.

The help team have been excellent.

Biggest Pro: Ease of adding [& removing ] entries
Biggest Con: keeping on the generation line & avoiding double entries

MyHeritage Review by Vedran,  Jan 28, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Simply the best!

MyHeritage Review by Esther G.,  Jan 26, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

He recibido ayuda del Depto. de Support, Mr. Yehudah, las veces que lo he necesitado. Hace un par de dias, les consulte como se transfiere mi arbol al Museo de la Diaspora, y se ocupo de transferirlo de immediato. Bravo!
Les recomiendo MyHeritage.com. es un programa muy facil para trabajar. En el pasado, estuve con otros programas, y este me ha parecido el mejor.
Muchas gracias.
Esther

I have received support from the Department. of Support, Mr. Yehudah, the times I’ve needed. A couple of days ago, I see my tree as the Museum of the Diaspora is transferred, and transfer of Immediate care of. Bravo!
I recommend MyHeritage.com. It is very easy to work program. In the past, I was with other programs, and this seemed to me the best.
Thank you.
Esther

MyHeritage Review by Jennie Blewett,  Jan 23, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I find My Heritage very easy to use, and the Research has been a good help to connect and contact others in our family tree members.
Also to the Team at My Heritage for there support

Many Thants Jennie

MyHeritage Review by Eric Colaris,  Jan 19, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’m very pleased with the level of customer support I’ve received from MyHeritage, and never had a problem with the program. It’s a wonderful tool I’ve been able to use to reconnect and even make initial contact with relatives! Overall I’m very happy with the product provided!

Biggest Pro: ease of use and the automation of the SmartMatch system
Biggest Con: SmartMatches with trees that haven’t been updated for years!

MyHeritage Review by Jan S,  Jan 19, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I just began my genealogy project and after recommendations & my own extensive review of the family tree spreadsheets out there, I selected to use the one at My Heritage. And I couldn’t be more pleased! Its easy to use, contains lots of spaces for detailed information and is visibly appealing. But part way into my project, I inadvertently messed up my spreadsheet and was horrified I had lost all my information. So I emailed the My Heritage help desk. In a flash, their tech, Noam, got back to me with an analysis of the problem, confirmed with me which project information I wanted to retain, and immediately fixed the problem. Not one thing was lost and everything is perfectly intact. I am so relieved! Noam even followed up to be sure everything was still working ok. Wow! that’s terrific customer service! My experience so far with My Heritage is excellent. The good recommendations I received about My Heritage were absolutely right! - JLS

Biggest Pro: Easy to use spreadsheet, secure backup, great customer support

MyHeritage Review by Vadim Belopolsky,  Jan 19, 2016

Not Rated

The best service in genealogical area. Superior customer service.
But…To stay on the top please keep your mind for usability of Tree Builder.

MyHeritage Review by G Sanders,  Jan 17, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

After having used ancestry.com, heritage seems to have very little to offer. Their data gives me back information I posted to rootsweb, family search and wikitree but very little new information. The format is fairly cumbersome. A subsidiary company tracked me while on the site and called me by telephone. The rep misrepresented himself as a heritage employee and tried to get me to give him a credit card number. He convinced me heritage had a more extensive european database than ancestry. This doesn’t appear to be the case. If you are new to creating your family tree heritage will be helpful, but they do not offer monthly subscriptions. For me, an unpleasant experience.

Biggest Pro: Good data for living relatives.
Biggest Con: Much of the info they provide is free online-family search, rootsweb and wikitree.

MyHeritage Review by sharon Coulter,  Jan 17, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Absolutely dreadful. Had 14 day trial. Didn’t have any of records that needed. They took subscription. Told me I could only have 25% refund even though subsequently found out entitled to full refund under their terms and conditions. Have emailed them constantly with no joy. Customer service a joke complete rip off merchants. For God sake don’t use them

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: customer service staff lie

MyHeritage Review by Helen Marie More,  Jan 14, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Hi Laura,

Many thanks!! Per your well described instructions .. I successfully changed my credit card info via Bluesnap.

Take care .. and do have a Grand 2016 .. Helen Marie More (Marlborough, MA)

Biggest Pro: The “Entire” Program !!
Biggest Con: N/A

MyHeritage Review by Robert B,  Jan 10, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

My experience so far with MyHeritage.com has been great. The website gives you so many tools with which to explore and document your family history in so many ways. Since researching family history can be a monumental task, MyHeritage breaks it down into smaller, more manageable steps for the everyday person to understand.
My most memorable experience with MyHeritage staff was after Christmas 2015 when like everyone else, I had an enormous amount of debt I had to catch up on, including the website subscription. I did not have the money to renew the subscription, and in a last ditch effort to save all the research I had made, I contacted MyHeritage staff and explained my situation. They completely shocked me with understanding and empathy - they extended a short grace period to allow me to pay my membership.
I was, and am, absolutely elated! Before beginning an on-line family tree, I researched all the family tree websites in order to make a prudent decision. The first of course was Ancestry.com I’ve always been the one to give the little guy a chance first, so I made a decision to go with MyHeritage - and I’m glad I did. I’m sure that I would not have encountered the same quality of customer service at the competition.
I recommended MyHeritage to anyone! The biggest is not always the best!

Biggest Pro: Customer Service

MyHeritage Review by Timo,  Jan 10, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Really handy! Allmost found my ancestors by doing nothing.

Biggest Con: Since MyHeritage I don’t have time to do any housework anymore

MyHeritage Review by Lynn Morgan,  Jan 9, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

No back up when there are technical problems just default notices acknowledging your problem but no one gets back to you to resolve it. I have sent 4 messages to no avail.
I paid for premium plus subscription allegedly enabling me to save unlimited numbers of individuals in my tree. I keep getting pop up boxes asking me to upgrade and pay more for a service I have purchased. I joined in December 2015.
I received a call from a representative from My Heritage and decided to subscribe. I paid by debit card on the phone. I had six attempts to fraudulently recover sums of money from my account. Lloyds Bank were quick to spot and prevent the fraudster (s) because in their opinion the ’site was not secure’ and ‘they have had several complaints from other Lloyds customers regarding My Heritage. I can’t get anyone to respond to my complaints.

Biggest Pro: Good search engine.
Biggest Con: Insecure web site re financial transactions. Appalling customer service. Beware

Show 21-40 »