MyHeritage

Click To See Award Winners
by MyHeritage Ltd. (Gilad Japhet)
Allows you to build your own family website to share photos, videos, family trees, events, news and more with your family. It includes face recognition technology for your photos. They have a blog.

Free • Subscription • Online • Full Featured
http://www.myheritage.com/
Overall1574.26 out of 54.26 out of 54.26 out of 54.26 out of 54.26 out of 5 4.26
2015383.85 out of 53.85 out of 53.85 out of 53.85 out of 53.85 out of 5 3.85
20141164.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 5 4.47
Earlier32.84 out of 52.84 out of 52.84 out of 52.84 out of 52.84 out of 5 2.84

Add Your Review of MyHeritage

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

157 Reviews of MyHeritage     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

MyHeritage Review by H. Lawson,  Feb 21, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

The problem with this site is twofold. FIrst they hide a lot of information from you - hoping you will pay more money for more features. Nowhere on the site that I have found is a full explanation of what you get at each level. Second id the pricing structure. These guys seem to have taken a sheet from the rip-off Cell Phone and Cable carriers. “Oh - Your free long distance doesn’t include Canada - that’s $350 for your one call to Canada last month”. Wish they would be honest about the features.

Recently tried to tie two trees together, one created by a family member. Seems you can’t really do that directly, as the names of living family members are hidden.

That is a rip off for folks with large families who are trying to join trees from different branches.

Biggest Pro: The tree building is straightforward and fairly easy
Biggest Con: Rip off pricing, poor information, and misleading advertising.

MyHeritage Review by Jim Donecho,  Feb 21, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Thamar and the Heritage Support Team were very responsive to both of my issues. Due to the complexity of MyHeritage and the ability of allot of their users, these were issues that were my fault not anything that was an error on MyHeritage.

Biggest Pro: Answers that were easy to follow.
Biggest Con: none

MyHeritage Review by Carolyn Gibson,  Feb 18, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I had planned to let MyHeritage go, but then I was offered a helping hand that I could not refuse. MyHeritage gave me the time and the opportunity to see how the advanced membership could help me and I have been so glad to have that.
That’s a wonderful thing about MyHeritage, they really do help :)

Biggest Pro: plenty of opportunity to see other trees, compare and contact other members
Biggest Con: difficult to find and change names in my own tree when necessary

MyHeritage Review by Dick J,  Feb 18, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I signed up for Premium Plus and did not notice that it does not include a data subscription (Which was what I really wanted). When I tried to cancel my subscription I got routed to their “dispute resolution” web site, which does nothing but mail me an automatic e-mail. They have so far ignored my request.

Biggest Con: Useless customer support

MyHeritage Review by Sebe Klevering,  Feb 18, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Very good service by very friendly staff. They really take the time to understand an ‘user-problem’ and are seeking for a solution. In my case a solution is technically difficult, but MyHeritage gave me insight to handle my problems.

Biggest Pro: Friendly

MyHeritage Review by Bent J. Larsen,  Feb 18, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

In my opinion MyHeritage is the very best program if you are interested in building your family tree. If you have some problems they as well answers very fast, and most of the time your problems are solved. I for sure can recommend the program. Also the danish version is very good.

MyHeritage Review by Christine Foreman,  Feb 17, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Quite a good website, but I find some of the instructions difficult to understand, but to be fair, I need to use it more.

Biggest Pro: Safe to use and cannot be copied by others
Biggest Con: When I submit my photo, it just looks black and I cannot understand why this is.

MyHeritage Review by Smiljana Ivanc,  Feb 16, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’m very satistified with MyHeritage. The only thing I would like to change is date format. I was born on 10th May 1955. Instead of 10 May 1955 I would like to have this format 10.5.1955 or d.m.yyyy.
I understand that in other genealogy products date format can be d.m.yyyy or m.d.yyyy - that can make confusion for numbers under 12, that means that my birth date could be interpreted as 5th October instead of 10th May.

Biggest Pro: Easy to handle complex data and relations between people.
Biggest Con: Date format should be also in dd.mm.yyyy format.

MyHeritage Review by Maggie,  Feb 13, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

MyHeritage responded with utmost care to my question regarding signing up.

Biggest Pro: Professional and courteous

MyHeritage Review by Kathy Fisher,  Feb 12, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Recently having got myself in a pickle and uploading 3 family trees in error, I called on the support team for assistance. How nice it is to have nice friendly people assist you. My query was sorted and even got my subscription kindly extended. Thank you Support Team. Keep up the good work with this site.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use
Biggest Con: Finding contact details for Support

MyHeritage Review by Al Brockman,  Feb 11, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I just subscribed to My Heritage for their “Premium Plus” package. After subscribing, I found that what you get for a subscription is just more storage. If you want access to actual records, it costs another $100. The whole of their marketing is very misleading.
When I called their customer service, I heard what sounded like a radio in the background

All in all, a rather shabby operation. Records may be good but the entire operation is set up to fleece customers

Biggest Pro: Good records
Biggest Con: Great consumer fleecing operation

MyHeritage Review by Therese Hicks,  Feb 10, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

My dad died 5 years ago, but they kept sending me reminders of his birthday. Also, my dad had started this family tree from his own computer, though I would do a lot of work on it when I visited home. But once he died there has been no way for anyone to communicate with the site.

I asked for help on this on the 14th of January, and on the 3rd of February MyHeritage got back to me. They had granted my request to be made the site manager. Now I can continue to add information to the site. This has been much appreciated!

Biggest Pro: The site doesn’t get taken down, even after years of neglect!
Biggest Con: I can’t figure out how to import information from other trees.

MyHeritage Review by P.S. Ruckman, Jr.,  Feb 7, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

The Book Report option was clearly the most useful tool in the gig. It no longer works. Technical support? Forget about it? Upgrade? Why? I have been waiting for support to answer an e-mail well over a month now. Not renewing my subscription.

Biggest Con: Book Report option no longer works - NO technical support

MyHeritage Review by Julie,  Feb 5, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I love this site, it’s easier to use than others I tried.

there is a tree website that I use to search for ancestors, http://www.bayanne.info/Shetland/index.php. It is so easy to go from ancestor to ancestor and I’d love a family tree site to more resemble this layout.

Biggest Pro: finding the Tree Builder download
Biggest Con: The typical tree layout

MyHeritage Review by Philippe de Meulemeester,  Feb 5, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I could not sync my family tree and lost all my family site-I got a marvellous support from My Heritage Than,k you Shlomi for your kindness and efficiency !

MyHeritage Review by Joan Pattinson,  Feb 4, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I lost all my family tree, and these great people on My Heritage Family site, helped me get it all back and with all the photos, thank you support team for all your wonderful support.

Biggest Pro: The calendar alerts are great also the smart and record matches
Biggest Con: I love this site if there is anything that I could wish for on it, it would be that if I find the person I want that there could be a ‘perhaps this could also be the person you are searching for’ , and show other areas that this person is also listed in.

MyHeritage Review by Sandra Nagy,  Feb 4, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I originally had a problem with My Heritage and Roots Magic. Every time I tried to see more information on My Heritage, it wanted to charge me $6.50. After several attempts and even talking with Roots Magic support, I wrote a not too kind letter to My Heritage. Dean researched everything and found that I had 2 accounts. As I am a member of the LDS church, I was very frustrated that I could not use My Heritage as promised. So after several communications with Dean we finally got the problem resolved. I would like to Thank Dean for his patience and courteous manner in which he resolved all of my issues.

Biggest Pro: Being able to use the program with Roots Magic
Biggest Con: Lack of training to show the availabilty of My Heritage with other Software programs

MyHeritage Review by Laura Griffiths,  Feb 4, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I always receive help when asked for - even so far as going to the trouble of calling me in South Africa from the USA. The last request I had was dealt with efficiently and effectively and a small technical problem was rectified putting me back on track with my photo uploads. My family are impressed with the family tree I have been able to construct with My Heritage and have been enthusiastic in contributing extra information and photos. All in all it has been a seamless service from them and a great deal of fun for me.

Biggest Pro: Great personal service and help and a fantastic product
Biggest Con: None that I can think of

MyHeritage Review by Charlene Kelley,  Feb 4, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’m new to MyHeritage. I moved my tree when 23andMe added MyHeritage to our options for our tree. I had a problem and contacted MyHeritage. I received very prompt response with assistance, and my issue was quickly resolved. I found the staff to be extremely pleasant and helpful.

I’m enjoying getting to know the site and all the benefits of it’s use.

Thank you MyHeritage staff. You’ve all been very helpful!

Biggest Pro: Helpful staff and I like all of the ‘hints’ that appear in the tree.
Biggest Con: No con so far!

MyHeritage Review by R. Riley,  Feb 3, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Laura very helpful-and sent diagrams.

Biggest Con: Time between emails

Show 21-40 »