MyHeritage

by MyHeritage Ltd. (Gilad Japhet)
Allows you to build your own family website to share photos, videos, family trees, events, news and more with your family. It includes face recognition technology for your photos. They have a blog.

Free • Subscription • Online • Full Featured
http://www.myheritage.com/
Overall1074.51 out of 54.51 out of 54.51 out of 54.51 out of 54.51 out of 5 4.51
20141044.51 out of 54.51 out of 54.51 out of 54.51 out of 54.51 out of 5 4.51
20130    No Ratings
Earlier32.84 out of 52.84 out of 52.84 out of 52.84 out of 52.84 out of 5 2.84

Add Your Review of MyHeritage

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

107 Reviews of MyHeritage     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

MyHeritage Review by Sr. Helen McCormac,  2 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

My experience with My Heritage so far has been great. Several times in the past months I have had questions.
On all of these occasions I received an immediate response that someone would be in touch to help me shortly
to solve my problem. Within hours or at the latest the next day I had a solution. On all occasions Dean was
professional and courteous and he put me on the right track.
In my case my father had done so much on his own researching our genealogy. When he died in 2009 I took
over guarding the data. A friend introduced me to My Heritage. I am positive my father would be so happy seeing his research in My Heritage. I look forward to sharing My Heritage with our family.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use.
Biggest Con: Haven’t found one yet!

MyHeritage Review by Suzanne Rahm,  4 days ago

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I get frustrated very easily, unfortunately. Whenever I need ‘help’, I don’t think that the person helping realizes , at first, that I am not very computer literate !! So all in all, I think that the experience was satisfying.

MyHeritage Review by Joan Pattinson,  Oct 15, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I think that My Heritage Family programme is the better of all the sites I have used. I love the charts, reports etc that are available. It is so easy to use. I had to tick it as the best because I feel it is.

If you want to hear things that would make it better, I feel that if this programme had the similar asset that Ancestry.com has with regards to; when a search is being done, that alongside what the search brings up, could also put possible other areas that could show the same person.

I find that with this My Heritage Family, it is so easy to navigate and has so much to offer, that is why I have chosen this site to be my main Family Tree programme.

Biggest Pro: Brilliant charts, reports etc
Biggest Con: I have people in the same tree as another person but they are put next to another person who is also in my tree so I cant tick that I accept them, this has happened in quite a few people, I dont want to reject them because they are in my tree but not a match with the person they are matched with in the alerts. I hope that makes sense.

MyHeritage Review by edward cockett,  Oct 5, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

simply excellent—- but the review system is far to complex –too many choices and not to the point

Biggest Pro: my heritage
Biggest Con: the review system and sites

MyHeritage Review by Wendy Broda,  Oct 2, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I love working with MyHeritage. I’ve tried other family tree sites, and MyHeritage is the best. I’ve been using MyHeritage for over a year.
Their family tree program is easy to use, and easily syncs with my published tree on their website, to help keep everything up-to-date.
MyHeritage gives me lots of records for people in my family tree - matches with the same people in other family trees, which helps fill out and even give me new generations for my tree. Even better, MyHeritage gives me matches with actual historical records.
Also, when I have a question about the site, and I can’t find the answer right on the site, I contact them for help, and receive very fast assistance.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use
Biggest Con: Once in a while, the matches with people in other family trees are mixed up - I get matches within another tree that match, and some that don’t match at all, within the same tree.

MyHeritage Review by Smiljana Ivanc,  Sep 25, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

MyHeritage is my favourite

I started to discover my predecessors in 2000, when my cousin from the other part of the Earth gave me original package with Sierra’s Generations Beginner’s Edition 8.0 (Easy Tree and Easy Chart) and taught me in less than 1 hour, how to use it with efficiency. In that time I had personal computer with Windows 98 with CE fonts. The next one was notebook with Windows XP. With some tricks Easy Tree and Easy Chart worked fine on it. In December 2013 my notebook totally crashed, so I bought another one - but this one has 64 bits platform. I was forced to install Windows 7. It was much more difficulties to make Easy Tree running on it as it was on Windows XP. Because Easy tree uses CE fonts for Slovenian letters with “roofs”, gedcom exports produced false names, surnames or places etc.

So I decided to find modern genealogy software, that should be the best surrogate for my favourite Generations Easy Tree and Easy Chart. I tested many of them (Brother’s Keeper, Geni, Family Tree, Family Tree Maker, Ancestral Quest etc.), but MyHeritage became my favourite very quickly.

I found MyHeritage the best and easiest of all of them - on web site or on slim version for my Android or MyHeritage Family Tree Builder locally on my computer.

I easily imported gedcom from Sierra’s Easy Tree in MyHeritage Family Tree Builder, where I had to change manually all of Slovenian letters with “roofs” from spoiled CE fonts to normal fonts in names, surnames, places or remarks.

But … my family tree had nearly 6.000 people somehow related to me (directly or by marriages). I found “find/replace” function very useful, but I still needed more than 1 week to change all. Finally I was prepare to put my family tree on the web.

Another but … free Basic MyHeritage Package can consists of up to 250 persons and I had 5.825 … What to do? I decided to delete it on the web site (as a matter of fact I have it in MyHeritage Family Tree Builder localy on my notebook, as it was in Sierra’s Easy Tree).

Some days later I got very pleasant mail from MyHeritage Team, as follows:
“Dear Mrs. Ivanc,

Thank you for your email.

I would like to take the opportunity to ask if we can be of assistance with any further questions you might have.
After all, you have published a magnificent tree with 5825 persons in your Ivanc Web Site.
That must have taken many, many hours to create.

In addition to that, I would like to inform you that as you are a valuable user here in MyHeritage, I have given you a Premium Plus site subscription for your Ivanc Web Site for free for the period of six months.
This way you can try the many Premium Plus features such as the Smart Match confirm and merge functions, print a family book or create a chart and of course you will have unlimited storage.”

I was more than surprised, excited, pleased … I will surely renew my subscription after six months, because I really found MyHeritage as the best genealogy software.

MyHeritage became mine after a week of usage because of many reasons:
- now I don’t have problems with Slovenian letter with “roofs” any more,
- “find/replace” function is very user friendly and helpfully,
- I can easily check the consistency of my tree within tools,
- exported gedcoms are clear without spoiled letters,
- family tree can be edited both on web site or on Android or locally on computer,
- now I can collect data everywhere, even if no computer is available,
- I can datamining and use (Premium Plus) smart matches from other family trees to supplement my data,
- etc.

I can say in one sentence: MyHeritage is my favourite.

Biggest Pro: excellent web-android-computer access
Biggest Con: none

MyHeritage Review by Birgit Jeppesen,  Sep 19, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I suddenly had problems working in Family Tree Builder, could not come to the site who are constantly told that there was an error. I contacted the support department MyHeritage help.

I got a quick response at various options and solutions. Unfortunately it did not help. But after approximately 10 days came the solution and by the help of the support team who guided me through the process, the problem was solved and the Family Tree Builder works again.

Big thanks for helping support department MyHeritage.

Sincerely,
Birgit Jeppesen, Denmark

MyHeritage Review by Инга Фоминых (Inga Fominih),  Sep 8, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Я хочу выразить огромную благодарность разработчикам, модераторам, администраторам и … всей команде генеалогического сайта MyHeritage. Год назад, когда у меня была собрана часть информации по многочисленным родственникам, а впереди ещё ожидали открытия, передо мной стала проблема - как систематизировать все имеющиеся данные. И тогда, я случайным образом, обнаружила эту социальную сеть. При помощи этой программы, я стала администратором двух собственных семейных сайтов. Это позволило мне создать родовые деревья и заниматься их “разрастанием”. Стимулировало меня к поиску информации о предках и о потерявшихся “веточках”. Объединило многих родственников нашей большой семьи, окунуло их в воспоминания прошлого. Данный генеалогический сайт, мою заинтересованность историей семьи, превратил в хобби, которому я уделяю большую часть своего свободного времени: нахожу единомышленников, знакомлюсь с интересными людьми, познаю много нового и интересного не только связанного с семейной историей, но и с историей своей страны и других государств в тот или иной период времени.
Как сказал Фёдор Тютчев: “Нет ничего более человечного в человеке, чем потребность связывать прошлое с настоящим.” Благодаря MyHeritage эта потребность возникла не только у меня, но и у многих людей со всего мира - исходя из количества зарегистрированных участников данной программы и благодарных отзывов пользователей. Ещё раз большое спасибо автору и его команде! Удачи во всём, везде и всегда!

Biggest Pro: Получила быструю и квалифицированную техническую поддержку, когда возникли проблемы с загрузкой фотографий и синхронизации семейного сайта в MyHeritage с программой Family Tree Builder.

Google translate: I want to express my gratitude to the developers, moderators, administrators, and … the whole team genealogical site MyHeritage. A year ago, when I had collected some information on the extended family, but there is still expected opening in front of me there was a problem - how to organize all of the available data. And then I randomly found this social network. With this program, I was the administrator of two of their own family sites. This allowed me to create a family tree and deal with their “sprawl.” Stimulated me to search for information about the ancestors and lost “twigs”. United many relatives of our big family, dipped them in the memories of the past. This genealogical site, my interest in family history, turned into a hobby, which I spend most of my free time: I find like-minded people, get acquainted with interesting people and learn many new and interesting not only associated with a family history, but also with the history of his country and other States in a given period of time.
As Fyodor Tyutchev said: “There is nothing more human in man, than the need to link the past with the present.” With MyHeritage this need arose not only me, but also many people from around the world - based on the number of registered participants in the program and grateful comments users. Once again, many thanks to the author and his team! Good luck in everything, everywhere and always!

Biggest Pro: Get quick and expert technical support when problems with uploading your photos and family site in sync with the program MyHeritage Family Tree Builder.

MyHeritage Review by Geoff Strickland,  Aug 26, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I had a computer problem and had to reinstall all my soft ware. I had to reinstall the MyHeritage family tree soft ware and reconnect my family tree. I could not get my tree to work to the premiumPlus level. I contacted the MyHeritage help by email and I had a reply almost immediately with a procedure to fix the probem. This did not rectify the connection to the PremiumPlus, but after several communications with the MyHeritage help the problem was resolved completely.
The responce from the help people at MyHeritage was extreamily good and all their communications were easy to follow. I would recomment this product to anyone.

Biggest Pro: Quick response when I had an issue.

MyHeritage Review by lorne mackenzie,  Aug 25, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Like the quick response when I’ve had problems

MyHeritage Review by Celso Suárez,  Aug 24, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Simple and intuitive, but at the same time with many possibilities. The help center is rapid and effective. I have updated to user Premium to continue increasing my tree.

Biggest Pro: Interface
Biggest Con: Price

MyHeritage Review by Евгений Пиглицын (Eugene Piglitsyn),  Aug 21, 2014

Not Rated

I use FTB the last 3 years.The program works perfectly.All my requests have been answered quickly/

MyHeritage Review by Steve Evans,  Aug 19, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

MyHeritage provides us with two family web sites. We are very pleased with the ease of use, wide range of site member communications options, flexibility of configuration and responsive support. And, one should not neglect the cost dimension! MyHeritage is extremely cost effective with a range of pricing options that allow you to tailor the features to match your requirements.

Bravo MyHeritage!

Biggest Pro: Member communications
Biggest Con: Configuration can be a tad complex - but how else does one achieve flexibility?

MyHeritage Review by Jerome Blafer,  Aug 18, 2014

Not Rated

My experience in using the Help Center was positive.

Biggest Pro: Rapid response.
Biggest Con: None

MyHeritage Review by Daniel Steyn,  Aug 17, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have been registered with My Heritage for some time,but only started serious genealogy tracing in Nov 2013 . I have used other sites as well but have been very pleased withMy Heritage. The smart matches have produced some very useful links and clues. But what I have come to appreciate the most has been the reports that are produced - they are “personal” - in that one can relate them to a specific family member and one can add real meaningful notes on anyone - and these are neatly displayed in PDF at the end of the report book. Relatives have been pleasantly surprised at the reports . I have had excellent service from the help desk. I encountered a font text problem in some of my biography notes - this was speedily sorted out and I now know how to overcome my problem.

Biggest Pro: Reports
Biggest Con: Maximum of 250 names before one has to pay - expensive in some foreign currencies

MyHeritage Review by Gilles Nullens,  Aug 14, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I started using My Heritage in December 2013. Not being very competent with computers at the beginning I had some difficulties but with the help of the efficient Support Team I more or less overcame them. Now I have more than 7,000 names on my Family Tree and although I feel submerged I slowly progress.

The only thing that I do not like is the number of matched proposed. At least half of them have absolutely nothing in common (different names, different birth and death dates, etc). At the present time there are more than 15,000 matches to check and at a rate (that I cannot sustain) of 100 a day it will take more than 150days -more than 6 months- to go through. I do not dare to think about the job required.

Biggest Pro: Simple software and great help from the Support Team
Biggest Con: Number of wrong matches proposed.

MyHeritage Review by John McKone,  Aug 13, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Had a problem with adding ‘Notes’ but the problem was overcome with assistance from Dean who was patient with me and now is working like a dream. I consider the program to be extremely user friendly so what more could one want?

Biggest Con: Too many Smart Matches that are NOT smart matches and people who have multiple copies of their site.

MyHeritage Review by Dugald Mitchell,  Aug 10, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The continuing help I got with what was a difficult problem was terrific.

Biggest Pro: I was helped over a number of Emails, Help did not dismiss me as a dope
Biggest Con: Npt being able to quickly decide yes and nos in the review of smart matches. I have over 5000 smart matches to look at and that is time impossible using the present methods.

MyHeritage Review by Alexander Cumming,  Aug 8, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I recently had a couple of issues with the FTB which I couldn’t solve, but after contacting an agent my problems were solved immediately. The instructions I received by email from Rafael were clear and easily understood and the problem was quickly fixed. Keep up the good work

Biggest Pro: Easy to use and great support team.
Biggest Con: Too many smart matches which shouldn’t be classified as smart matches.

MyHeritage Review by Melody Addington,  Aug 7, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I will give a rating of 5, to MyHeritage for their help and support with missing photos. I had over 11122 photos and over half were missing. I contacted MyHeritage and they were able to explain in detail what I needed to do to retrieve these photos. It worked and all are in and viewable now. The support team is great!

Show 21-40 »