Clooz

Click To See Award Winners
by Ancestral Systems, LLC (Joe Bissett and Richard Thomas, Jr.)
Clooz is a document based sophisticated research assistance tool and database for systematically researching, accumulating, analyzing, organizing and storing the evidence and clues to your ancestry, and interfaces with certain established family tree programs.

Purchase • Windows • Auxiliary
http://www.clooz.com/
Overall334.67 out of 54.67 out of 54.67 out of 54.67 out of 54.67 out of 5 4.67
201465 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00
2013124.36 out of 54.36 out of 54.36 out of 54.36 out of 54.36 out of 5 4.36
Earlier154.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 54.6 out of 5 4.60

Add Your Review of Clooz

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

33 Reviews of Clooz     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Clooz Review by John Gilbert,  Nov 14, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using Clooz for a number of years and have found it to be a thoughtfully constructed program that is constantly being improved. It is an excellent, perhaps indispensable, tool for the serious genealogist.

Biggest Pro: Support - I have NEVER experienced such quick and thorough response to the few questions/issues that I have had arise. My issues have always been solved within 24 hours if not less.
Biggest Con: The wide range of capabilities that I have not been able to yet fully explore and exploit. Not truly a con.

Clooz Review by Tom,  Nov 13, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using Clooz since Ver 1 and love it! My initial use was to catalog all of the “hard copy” documents I had gathered over the years. I travel to my hometown 3-4 times a year and try to do some genealogy research on each visit. I found that I was accumulating a large quantity of “notes” on those visits. My solution was a MacBook Air and run Clooz 3.5.5 using VMWare Fusion 6. I enter my research directly into Clooz….no more notes!!! There have been a few “bumps” along the way……but a thorough reading of the Manual and the excellent FREE Video Tutorials have smoothed them out! For those questions that I could not readily resolve by myself, Joe and Rich were there to provide immediate answers!

Biggest Pro: Free video tutorials and great support.
Biggest Con: None… a best fit solution for me.

Clooz Review by Ed Allard,  Nov 9, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I began using the first iteration of Clooz some years ago and discarded it because it was cumbersome to use and fussy to coordinate with my genealogy database, Legacy Family Tree. Version 3 is a considerable improvement so I have come back to Clooz because it makes sense for organizing my documents as well as for entering data from documents as I find them and matching up the people in them later, which is particularly useful for a one-name study. The import and export of data with Legacy is also much easier and consistent with the conventions used in Legacy 7.5 and 8. I use a Mac and find that Clooz runs effectively in a Windows virtual machine using Parallels, with no loss of capability. My data were automatically installed in my main Mac documents directory, so they can be backed up regularly with all my other files even when the virtual machine is not running. The customer service provided by Joe and Rich is exceptional. I recently noted some issues with a census template and within a matter of days, they designed a new template for me to test run for them. Keep up the good work, guys!

Biggest Pro: The responsiveness and ‘can do’ attitude of both Joe and Rich.
Biggest Con: Importing a well-populated database into Clooz can be overwhelming at first.

Clooz Review by Mojavelyn,  Sep 25, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

My experience with Clooz Customer Support has been outstanding. My computer crashed and all the files and programs crashed with it. I thought I was going to have to reinstall Clooz. Notified Support late that night, had a First Step Solution early the next day. AND IT WORKED without issue. The instructions for the repair were short, sweet, simple and concise and step by step. And if that didn’t work, let them know and they’d get to work on it to attempt replication. Well, they don’t have to replicate it, it worked. AND I didn’t loose any data in the crash.

Biggest Pro: Being able to put all parties of a document in the proper list and linking that person to all the documents associated with them.
Biggest Con: Where do I start? doesn’t matter, just enter some data,

Clooz Review by Cherie Brumfield,  Sep 16, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I think that Joe Bissett and Richard Thomas (Joe and Rich) have done a wonderful job of making Clooz! much more easily accessible than it used to be. I recently got a new computer, found that I didn’t have a disk to r-install the program, went to their website and almost immediately found the directions for downloading the correct program. It took me less time to download Clooz!, put in my key and activate it, locate all my data and be up and running than it has to re-install a number of other programs for which I have disks. I would highly recommend Clooz! to anybody who wants to keep their genealogy documents and sources organized and easily accessible.

Biggest Pro: Best program support
Biggest Con: None that I’ve yet found

Clooz Review by Cheryl Mapes,  Jun 3, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used Clooz since the first version was released and I love the program. It has helped me get my 30+ years of genealogy information documented and helps me so I don’t go looking for information that I already have. Best of all the upgrades since the original version are great and make the program more user friendly. Joe and Rich have done an excellent job in fixing problems with the older version and have done a great job in recognizing that there were problems with the program and have addressed them in a timely manner. They are constantly improving the program and updating the program with new and helpful improvements.

I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PROGRAM FOR ALL WHO DO GENEALOGY, IT IS VERY USER FRIENDLY AND HELPS KEEP YOUR INFORMATION DOCUMENTED. Looking forward to using version 4 and all the new improvements and enhancements they have made to the program. The are always updating the program.

I got a laptop and was having problems with the installation of CLOOZ on the computer. I contacted support and Joe and Rich were very helpful and got me up and running in a timely manner. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND CONTACTING THEM IF YOU HAVE PROBLEMS BECAUSE THEY WILL HELP YOU AND THEIR STEPS TO HELPING ARE VERY EASY TO FOLLOW.

GREAT JOB JOE AND RICH, YOU ARE THE BEST!! Never had any other support people who were as dedicated to serving their customers as these two men are. They also stick with you until the situation is completely resolved. My last situation took me while to get to handle because I had a heart attack and 3 bypass heart surgery in April so it took me awhile to get back with them. When I didn’t respond to their messages they kept in touch with me regularly to make sure the problem was resolved. Once I was back up and able I informed them of my health and they were patient with me until I was able to get the program installed on my computer. I KNOW ALL MY SITUATIONS WILL BE RESOLVED WHEN I CONTACT SUPPORT. LOOKING FORWARD TO MANY MORE YEARS OF WORKING WITH JOE AND RICH, AND USING CLOOZ.

Biggest Pro: Excellent Tech support, they are always very prompt in responding and getting back with you in a timely manner.
Biggest Con: Don’t have any

Clooz Review by SueM,  Nov 14, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Clooz is helping our small historical society and museum to index directories and other local items so that we can publish them on the web. We really couldn’t do it without the software, which allows us to carry one person across several documents, and link each name to an image of the page it is found on.

I have rarely, if ever, found software with such a dedicated and helpful support staff. I almost feel like they are staff at museum!

I can hardly wait until I can link my data with TMG, which we use for genealogy studies.

Biggest Pro: Ability to link images to persons, and multiple documents to one person
Biggest Con: Learning curve isn’t drastic, but some volunteers are easier to teach than others

Clooz Review by JOHN FARRALL,  Oct 21, 2013

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

The program is cumbersome and difficult to use.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: does not work as advertised

Clooz Review by JanE,  Oct 21, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have mounds of paper and Clooz is helping me to get it all organized and correctly cited. It easily keeps track of every piece of paper for each ancestor, which will be beneficial when I begin to put the stories together. As another reviewer says, I have found the Clooz team to be extraordinarily responsive to my requests for support. Joe and Rich are personable and have always responded within a day to my emails for help. The video tutorials have been very helpful.

Biggest Pro: Easily keeps documents organized
Biggest Con: Can’t think of one

Clooz Review by Terri B,  Oct 18, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’d be lost without Clooz. I’ve been using this software since Clooz 1 - so about 15 years or more. Using Clooz keeps me organized and is a wonderful tool for analyzing the documents collected during research. Templates make easy work of entering census info (US,UK, French, Irish, Canadian, German & Norwegian), census substitutes (directories, yearbooks, tax records), birth records, death records, marriage records, SSDI, photos, maps. There’s also a research log.

Rich and Joe have vastly improved an already powerful piece of software. They brought back limited import/export of people and sources with Legacy Family Tree. The most recent update now includes the capability to export events, facts, photos and media along with people and sources to Legacy Family Tree.

Support is fantastic! Questions are answered quickly. Bugs are addressed far more quickly than any other piece of software I have ever purchased. And there are numerous ways to get help with Clooz. Most questions can be answered by simply reading the Help file or the Clooz manual. If that doesn’t answer the question, there is a mailing list and Facebook. Best of all, Joe and Rich are only an email away. One or the other generally returns emails within 24 hours or less (although they are entitled to a day off every now and again).

Now we are all very patiently waiting for version 4.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use, great support, affordable, performs as advertised
Biggest Con: None

Clooz Review by John Blair,  Oct 15, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The improvement from the original “Clooz” program is wonderful. Joe and Richard have done a fantastic job of
upgrading and improving Clooz.

Clooz Review by Anna,  Oct 15, 2013

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Am new to this software but am so impressed with the organizational details.
The support is awesome.
Reminds me of Excel spreadsheets in that there is so much that can be done if I apply myself!
The tutorials are a good additional self-help feature.
I really appreciate software that is responsive to user needs. I am looking forward to seamless integration with Ancestral Quest.

Biggest Pro: A very much needed document organizer.
Biggest Con: none really, that isn’t something that can’t be resolved with support.

Clooz Review by jdewey,  Oct 15, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have found the Clooz team to be extraordinarily responsive to my requests for support. It is almost like I have a personal friend there who really cares! The video tutorials are very clear and have helped me learn new things about the program, even though I’ve been using it for several years.

Biggest Pro: Very quick responses to my questions
Biggest Con: Don’t have one

Clooz Review by Marilyn,  Oct 15, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am a lady in my late 70’s. I have been working with Clooz from the beginning. Love the system. I have needed their help maybe 5 or 6 times and they are very concise with their instructions and surprisingly quick. Love the guys and the program.

Biggest Pro: Quick
Biggest Con: None I can think of.

Clooz Review by Charlie,  Jul 24, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using Clooz since it first came out as Clooz version 1 and I have yet to find any other genealogy-document program that does what Clooz does. I will admit that the first version was a little clunky, but the functionality was just what I was looking for to help me organize the hundreds (perhaps thousands) of documents I have collected in my genealogy research. And the best part of Clooz is that you can keep going back to it and mining out more clues (pun!) and more gems from the documents you input before. That happened to me with a census form that I had recorded earlier but it was only some years later that I went back and found that my ancestor was living down the road from one of his cousins. I think that Clooz 3.0 is a great step forward and has eliminated a lot of the clunkiness and Joe and Richard are superbly fast with their responses to any call for help. Clooz may not be the genealogy program I use everyday, but it is one of my most valuable and precious repository for my research work. I am not sure I could manage all the data I have without it.

Biggest Pro: Lets you know exactly where everything is in your mountains of research papers
Biggest Con: Takes a while to build up to a level of usefulness…but that’s my problem, not the program’s.

Clooz Review by Sandy Johansen,  Mar 25, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Have used original Clooz for years and am really enjoying the enhanced new version. I use clooz to track all of the source documents I’ve collected on both my personal line and those that I collect for clients. What a boon it is to have a single master list of my documents available. It makes report writing easier, it organizes my materials and provides me a safe and consistent place to manage my data. The team is really working hard to make this an extra-ordinary product, kudos for a job well done. Love how it interfaces with Legacy too!

Biggest Pro: Saves me time, keeps my work organized and easily accessible, great value for the price.
Biggest Con: None, I liked it before and still love it, but can say I wish the new generation was here years ago!

Clooz Review by Ken K,  Jan 5, 2013

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have used Clooz since the 2.0 version - it was “clunky” then but the 3.0 version has brought this up to a very functional, relational database. You can see the digital photos and documents that you refrence and it forces you to get organized with your documents. Now, my documents are not just filed, they are organized and I can go to them directly. I don’t search through folders hoping to find the supporting reference.

Biggest Pro: relational database that links people, proofs and images
Biggest Con: you need to come up with your own proprietary reference numbering system

Clooz Review by Lyn,  Jan 4, 2013

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Clooz is frustrating and extremely hard to understand. One of the men did try to help but even then it was still confusing. I gave up and quit. I did get a refund, but I did feel someone needed to tell the other side.

Biggest Pro: I did get to talk to a person for some help, not a recording
Biggest Con: Too technical and confusing to learn to use.

Clooz Review by D Yarbrough,  Nov 26, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

love, Love, LOVE the software modifications. I have been playing with Clooz since version one, but just never really caught on to the way it works..

NOW, with modifications, and the great support group, I finally understand it…

Pick up a source document. Select the document type from the list. (or create your own document type), and enter the information found in the document. You can even link to the document as an efile.

Reports are great as well. You can find all the documents you have entered for an individual or all the individuals listed in a given document.

AWESOME JOB Guys..

Clooz Review by Greg McCoy,  Nov 6, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Clooz 3.1. Its the only program for genealogy that I know of that allows you link several persons identified in a photo with one scan of that photo and it shows you all of those links in a single database. It also keeps track of census, documents, death certificates, build styles (homesteads of various ancestors), wills,etc. scans and links them all to the correct ancestor.

Biggest Pro: Organization with attention to details and data entry is a cinch!

Show 21-33 »