The Next Generation (TNG)

Click To See Award Winners
by Darrin Lythgoe
Produces really nice looking dynamically creating web pages from information stored in mySQL database tables using PHP scripting on the Web site.

Purchase • Online • Utility • Builds Website
http://www.tngsitebuilding.com/
Overall1054.76 out of 54.76 out of 54.76 out of 54.76 out of 54.76 out of 5 4.76
201494.88 out of 54.88 out of 54.88 out of 54.88 out of 54.88 out of 5 4.88
2013224.77 out of 54.77 out of 54.77 out of 54.77 out of 54.77 out of 5 4.77
Earlier744.67 out of 54.67 out of 54.67 out of 54.67 out of 54.67 out of 5 4.67

Add Your Review of The Next Generation (TNG)

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

105 Reviews of The Next Generation (TNG)     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Rosina Lippi,  5 days ago

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

An all-around excellent, very stable and powerful program, top notch support and a good community of users. New features added and refined on a regular basis.

The biggest disappointment for me personally is the lack of sophistication in terms of recording sources and citations. Inflexible, clunky, limited options. In an otherwise excellent program, this is unfortunate.

Biggest Pro: stability
Biggest Con: very clunky source/citation system

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Shawn Miller,  Apr 5, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

As far as web-based genealogy products go, this is the best. I’ve spent several years researching, testing and trying different products. We still continue to use The Master Genealogist as the main database repository (trying to get away) and do gedcom imports into TNG.

Biggest Pro: It is fast and reliable. Darrin and the rest of the gang are always quick to support the app.
Biggest Con: No Major Complaints.

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Nathanael,  Mar 16, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is a reply to Steve Peters:

“Despite the fact than modenr genealogical research occurs on the road, this is the one desktop-based application which seems obstinately to avoid quite simple access to its MySql database from mobile devices.”

(My experience has been the opposite of Steve’s: with more and more of the world moving online, I find I spend less and less time on the road, and can accomplish more in a weekend in front of my PC than I could in six months of letter writing and visits to far-flung repositories twenty years ago.)

However, we need first to dispel one misapprehension: TNG is not a “desktop-based” application, it is web-based. Which means it is accessible by any device with a reasonably modern browser. You can log in, upload, download and edit your MySQL database from anywhere in the world as long as you have Internet access.

So then I’m not clear what Steve means by “obstinately avoiding access from mobile devices”. Perhaps he means the templates are not optimized for mobile devices. This was true, but has been addressed by the latest TNG release (v10), which now detects and adjusts for mobile devices (in web parlance, responsive design).

If you’re looking to put your genealogical research on the net in a dynamic presentation, TNG has no equals. The only thing that comes close is is PHPGedView, which lacks in some aspects — notably, infrequent updates and a smaller user community).

I normally agree with Steve about one-man shows, which is why I’m an ex TMG-user: too-infrequent updates, and a developer that never interacts with his users. But Lythgoe has been pushing out regular updates for years, and is very active and supportive of his users. I’ve never waited more than 24 hours for a response.

I’ve been using TNG since version 6, and am not even considering switching.

Biggest Pro: Regular updates, reasonably priced, and a responsive developer
Biggest Con: Not a fan of most of the templates

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by George Hill,  Mar 6, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Great system and regularly updated. Well worth paying for,

Biggest Pro: Very comprehensive

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Howard Burdick,  Feb 25, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I operate the Burdick Family Association (http://www.burdickfamily.org) and am a software engineer and web app designer by training. I was preparing to write my own on-line genealogy app when I “discovered” TNG in 2009. Now, I would not think of using any other tool. Its features far exceeded my requirements and ranks amongst the most intuitive and powerful applications I have used. Darrin’s dedication to this product is unsurpassed and I truly hope he becomes rich from the sale of it. Buy it — it will be the best money you have ever spent.

Biggest Pro: Too many to list.
Biggest Con: None. Zero. Zilch.

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Hanne B. Stegemüller,  Feb 14, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using TNG for years and I simply love it - it is the best program to put genealogy data on the internet.

Biggest Pro: No HTML-files, but a big stron database

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by myrootsplace,  Feb 12, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This Software hands down is the BEST software for putting your genealogy online. There is nothing else like it. There are so many features that I could not even begin to tell you how wonderful it is.

Biggest Pro: Very usable, Easy to use, Wonderful Support, Great Software
Biggest Con: no member profile (a member cannot link to themselves) - new feature suggestions

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Jan Tivey,  Feb 7, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I Love This.!!!!!!!!
Took me a while to get it installed - mainly because my web server settings needed a tweak but nothing to do with the software. It is just fabulous. Got a lot to learn but the help, forums, wiki are all there for reference so I will be occupied for a while adding all my info!

Biggest Pro: Great looking information at your fingertips, great search engine for finding people, fabulous support and wiki
Biggest Con: Not found any yet

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Shirley Fields,  Jan 3, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

A learning curve but still the best.

Biggest Pro: Being able to show all your documentation with images
Biggest Con: The learning curve

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Yvette,  Dec 20, 2013

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I’ve been a user for over five years. It’s a very good program to publish and edit your family tree online. However, I find it is no longer “The Next Generation.” None of the templates are mobile-friendly, the templates do not comply with internet standards like HTML or WCAG and there isn’t much innovation.

What I like about using TNG rather than online trees such as Ancestry.com is that I am master of my own data. I’m not subject to anybody’s terms that may change at any given time, so I don’t risk losing access. Also, I can see how many people visit and link to my other genealogy pages so they get more interest. The way the program is set up makes them easy to index by Google, so your entire family tree can be found there.

Biggest Pro: Tremendous support
Biggest Con: Just not that innovative anymore

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Gene Wheeler,  Dec 18, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’ve used TNG for eight years, and it just keeps getting better and better. The product, support, and user base is phenomenal. One could not ask for a better genealogy site-building tool than TNG.

Biggest Pro: So easy to learn and use, yet lots of room for customization.
Biggest Con: None in my book!

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by B-O,  Nov 20, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

:-)

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Torben Aastrup,  Sep 5, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using The Next Generation of Genealogy Site Building since summer 2004 and I am still completely satisfied with the program. Darrins help is the best help of all the utilities, I have drawn on in my 25 years of computer.

http://www.aastrup.de/tng/index.php

Biggest Pro: really nice looking dynamically creating web pages
Biggest Con: none

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Michael,  Aug 27, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The “review” by Jennifer doesn’t belong here. This is for posting reviews about the SOFTWARE that is run on TNG-based websites. Jennifer, your complaint (not a review) should have been sent to the webmaster of the website that has your incorrect family details. I would suggest going to that website and use the Contact Us link, or make your corrections via the Suggest tab/button

Biggest Pro: superior software
Biggest Con: relationship calculator having a grandparent’s sibling as “great” instead of the correct “grand”

*** Moderator Note *** I agree. I’ve removed Jennifer’s post.

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Yves Leterme,  Aug 11, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Great !

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Juergen Amling,  Aug 2, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

A great way to display your genealogy information on the web. I use another program to keep my original database on my home computer, but you can’t beat TNG for web display

Biggest Pro: Dynamic display of information. Great support

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Jeff Killian,  Jul 7, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Ive been using this software for several years now and Darrin keeps making it better and better

Biggest Pro: ALL
Biggest Con: Export to GED file

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by David Hamilton,  Jul 4, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The best product I’ve seen for a reasonable cost. Great response to issues and continued development. I highly recommend TNG.

Biggest Pro: Ease of installation and setup, very flexable.
Biggest Con: Would like to have a Joomla integration

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Dave Spang,  Jun 24, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is the easiest to use and most adaptable genealogical software I have seen or used. And the support is tremendous.

Biggest Pro: ease of use and support
Biggest Con: none known

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Camilo Rodriguez-Uribe,  Jun 13, 2013

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Easy to use.

Biggest Pro: update from everywhere
Biggest Con: do not have tree consistency checker

Show 21-40 »