The Next Generation (TNG)

Click To See Award Winners
by Darrin Lythgoe
Produces really nice looking dynamically creating web pages from information stored in mySQL database tables using PHP scripting on the Web site.

Purchase • Online • Utility • Builds Website
http://www.tngsitebuilding.com/
Overall1184.76 out of 54.76 out of 54.76 out of 54.76 out of 54.76 out of 5 4.76
2015104.71 out of 54.71 out of 54.71 out of 54.71 out of 54.71 out of 5 4.71
2014124.92 out of 54.92 out of 54.92 out of 54.92 out of 54.92 out of 5 4.92
Earlier964.72 out of 54.72 out of 54.72 out of 54.72 out of 54.72 out of 5 4.72

Add Your Review of The Next Generation (TNG)

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

118 Reviews of The Next Generation (TNG)     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Fabio Arduini,  Jul 20, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Finally I fount what I need!
Excellent.
Wonderfull media management!

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Richard Hill,  Jun 15, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I had used a couple of open source packages for online our family tree since 2005 but they just did not work properly, so I decided to look for some new software.

I tried a couple of competitor offerings trial versions then I came across TNG. It seemd too good to be true but it wasn’t. It had just what I was looking for. Pure online software, PHP/MySQL, mobile friendly, some excellent templates that are easy to customise and a price which is just too low. There had to be a catch!

Setting it up was not quite as simple as I had hoped, it is a complex programme, but the issues I had were down to me forgetting to do things quite properly. In both cases Darrin was superb. He identified the issues and it took me seconds to fix them.

I thoroughly recommend the software and want to thank Darrin openly for his help.

Biggest Pro: Does pretty much everything I want.
Biggest Con: Learning curve for functionality. Documentation needs updating and review.

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Jody J Oosting,  Apr 18, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

If you are looking to put your family history online in the form of a web site so that others who might be related to you might find the information - then I have to say look no further. I have used TNG since late 2006 early 2007. How to describe TNG? Like PC’s vs Mac TNG has the functionality that seems to be unparalleled, but it isn’t entirely user friendly for the average joe.

Most of my computer knowledge comes from the 80’s and early 90’s. I only have 1 generation html knowledge. I know what java is….and I know enough to open a php file and find what I am looking for in order to change it. Knowing the basics will definitely assist you in launching your own site. But you don’t have to know everything if anything. Darrin is pretty good at giving you step by step instructions on installing the software onto your own server and launching your own site.

Within a month of launching my site, I connected with a family member I never knew about. Within six months I connected with 5 other family members allowing to build over 250 years of history. In 2012 my father gave me my grandma’s maiden name and within a year of that added another 450 years of history just from one name. This is all because of TNG and no other software can say that.

The Scofield Family Project (www.tsfp.org) wouldn’t be where it is today if it wasn’t for Darrin. Great Software.

Biggest Pro: Allows you to launch a site within minutes.
Biggest Con: User Functionality.

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Chris Homan,  Apr 11, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Great looking designs and very functional and thorough genealogical details included. Difficult to set up and customize if you don’t know much about ftp, servers and html code. The TNG forum is only somewhat helpful and difficult to find answers to specific questions. Lots of users view your problem, but doesn’t seem like anyone is monitoring to offer direct help. It would be helpful to have a visual with directions on how to and where to change code to make changes to the pages. I’m a fan but wish it were a bit easier for beginners. Seems geared to a niche market of code knowledgeable users, not for the masses.

Biggest Pro: All the things you want in a genealogy program and more.
Biggest Con: Difficult to customize and fix errors.

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Chris Wyvill,  Apr 10, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have had my own family website and family tree software since 2002. I have tried many geneology programs and most are just ok at best.

I installed TNG with no issues at all. I am using multiple branches, the main tree data onmy site contains 1,575 people belonging to 509 families.

The gedcom import was literally seconds to complete. What an excellent product TNG is. The flexibility and customization available is very user friendly.

Biggest Pro: Flexibility and speed of data retrieval
Biggest Con: None

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Forestbank,  Mar 25, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

If you like the idea of having your own genealogy website that you can have great control over, then this program is brilliant. I’m no IT expert and I’ve never had any problems using this, importing gedcoms, entering data online and loading up & linking photos & scanned documents. Good updates with really helpful community support on forums.

Biggest Pro: Excellent software at a reasonable price
Biggest Con: None

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Rob,  Jan 30, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Excellent

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Espen Hegge,  Jan 27, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

This is an absolutely wonderful program for my needs. Some will be put off by the fact that you need a server to host it, but this is exactly what I need. It allows for easy editing of my data, no matter what computer, tablet or phone I’m on. I need a mobile solution, that allows me to easily work from anywhere, and TNG does that superbly!

Biggest Pro: Mobility
Biggest Con: Needs to be hosted on a web server

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Bernard Wortelboer,  Jan 26, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Last year, I have updated my genealogy site with this very flexible software. It is indeed simply excellent and easy to install and an very active user community.

Biggest Pro: Flexible, stable, multi-language, fast
Biggest Con: none

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Ørjan K. Albriktsen,  Jan 15, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Simply excellent..!

Biggest Pro: Great, stable, yet regular updates.. …and a very responsive developer.
Biggest Con: None.

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Hans Uwe Petersen,  Dec 28, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

TNG is very suitable when running af multi-langual website, when having family members in different countries.
TNG can be run on your own server giving you full control over the installation and access to the site.

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Jan,  Aug 29, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Excellent

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Marie-José Schiavon,  May 10, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am using this script from more than 10 years, it works perfectly, is always up to date to the latest technology, and I always get the same excellent personal service from Darrin. Genealogy is complex and the script is always improving to match the information.

Biggest Pro: Stability
Biggest Con: none

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Rosina Lippi,  Apr 18, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

An all-around excellent, very stable and powerful program, top notch support and a good community of users. New features added and refined on a regular basis.

The biggest disappointment for me personally is the lack of sophistication in terms of recording sources and citations. Inflexible, clunky, limited options. In an otherwise excellent program, this is unfortunate.

Biggest Pro: stability
Biggest Con: very clunky source/citation system

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Shawn Miller,  Apr 5, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

As far as web-based genealogy products go, this is the best. I’ve spent several years researching, testing and trying different products. We still continue to use The Master Genealogist as the main database repository (trying to get away) and do gedcom imports into TNG.

Biggest Pro: It is fast and reliable. Darrin and the rest of the gang are always quick to support the app.
Biggest Con: No Major Complaints.

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Nathanael,  Mar 16, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is a reply to Steve Peters:

“Despite the fact than modenr genealogical research occurs on the road, this is the one desktop-based application which seems obstinately to avoid quite simple access to its MySql database from mobile devices.”

(My experience has been the opposite of Steve’s: with more and more of the world moving online, I find I spend less and less time on the road, and can accomplish more in a weekend in front of my PC than I could in six months of letter writing and visits to far-flung repositories twenty years ago.)

However, we need first to dispel one misapprehension: TNG is not a “desktop-based” application, it is web-based. Which means it is accessible by any device with a reasonably modern browser. You can log in, upload, download and edit your MySQL database from anywhere in the world as long as you have Internet access.

So then I’m not clear what Steve means by “obstinately avoiding access from mobile devices”. Perhaps he means the templates are not optimized for mobile devices. This was true, but has been addressed by the latest TNG release (v10), which now detects and adjusts for mobile devices (in web parlance, responsive design).

If you’re looking to put your genealogical research on the net in a dynamic presentation, TNG has no equals. The only thing that comes close is is PHPGedView, which lacks in some aspects — notably, infrequent updates and a smaller user community).

I normally agree with Steve about one-man shows, which is why I’m an ex TMG-user: too-infrequent updates, and a developer that never interacts with his users. But Lythgoe has been pushing out regular updates for years, and is very active and supportive of his users. I’ve never waited more than 24 hours for a response.

I’ve been using TNG since version 6, and am not even considering switching.

Biggest Pro: Regular updates, reasonably priced, and a responsive developer
Biggest Con: Not a fan of most of the templates

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by George Hill,  Mar 6, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Great system and regularly updated. Well worth paying for,

Biggest Pro: Very comprehensive

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Howard Burdick,  Feb 25, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I operate the Burdick Family Association (http://www.burdickfamily.org) and am a software engineer and web app designer by training. I was preparing to write my own on-line genealogy app when I “discovered” TNG in 2009. Now, I would not think of using any other tool. Its features far exceeded my requirements and ranks amongst the most intuitive and powerful applications I have used. Darrin’s dedication to this product is unsurpassed and I truly hope he becomes rich from the sale of it. Buy it — it will be the best money you have ever spent.

Biggest Pro: Too many to list.
Biggest Con: None. Zero. Zilch.

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Hanne B. Stegemüller,  Feb 14, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using TNG for years and I simply love it - it is the best program to put genealogy data on the internet.

Biggest Pro: No HTML-files, but a big stron database

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by myrootsplace,  Feb 12, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This Software hands down is the BEST software for putting your genealogy online. There is nothing else like it. There are so many features that I could not even begin to tell you how wonderful it is.

Biggest Pro: Very usable, Easy to use, Wonderful Support, Great Software
Biggest Con: no member profile (a member cannot link to themselves) - new feature suggestions

Show 21-40 »