The Next Generation (TNG)

Click To See Award Winners
by Darrin Lythgoe
Produces really nice looking dynamically creating web pages from information stored in mySQL database tables using PHP scripting on the Web site.

Purchase • Online • Utility • Builds Website
http://www.tngsitebuilding.com/
Overall1374.88 out of 54.88 out of 54.88 out of 54.88 out of 54.88 out of 5 4.88
201725 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00
2016135 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00
Earlier1224.76 out of 54.76 out of 54.76 out of 54.76 out of 54.76 out of 5 4.76

Add Your Review of The Next Generation (TNG)

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

137 Reviews of The Next Generation (TNG)     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by David Powell,  Jan 3, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used TNG for a number of years and it has consistently produced excellent websites from my genealogical data. The folks that write and maintain the TNG source code are constantly upgrading it and are very helpful. New features have been added on a regular basis. It is a bit difficult to set up in the first place but produces just good output it is well worth the effort.

Biggest Pro: Produces excellent web site for your genealogical data
Biggest Con: Some technical knowledge needed

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Carvel,  Jan 2, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I was initially hesitant to use a program like TNG, because it requires the transfer of data from my desktop program (Ancestral Quest) to TNG via GEDCOM files - which I thought would be cumbersome and difficult.

However, after implementing TNG I found three things:
1. The GEDCOM transfer is really quick, simple, and effective. I no longer view it as a problem. It takes me less than 20 minutes each time I update my online TNG website from my desktop program - and that is for a total of 6 different GEDCOMS coming from different research areas.
2. TNG does a powerful job of managing input from multiple GEDCOM files. It perfectly fits our needs because of our multiple GEDCOM file situation.
3. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the TNG website that we have built. It has powerful capabilities built into it. It is designed specifically for genealogy. Very happy with it and proud of the website we have created using TNG as the base.

Take a look at our TNG website: http://www.whiting-global.org.

Biggest Pro: Easy of use (once it is set up), ability to handle GEDCOM files from multiple sources, rich online functionality.
Biggest Con: Setting it up initially was a little difficult. Suggest getting help from someone who is tech-savvy.

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Henk Rolvink,  Nov 28, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Great for organizing your genealogical information based on the GEDCOM files uploaded. For me it is very useful as I can organize media, tombstones, articles and create great overviews. System is well maintained with regular updates.

Biggest Pro: Easy way to publish based on GEDCOM and organize a lot off additional information.

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Bill,  Sep 10, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The product and support are fantastic!

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Craig A.,  Jul 23, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I haven’t found anything better, desktop or server based. Been using TNG since v10.01 2014, now using 11.0.1 and wouldn’t use anything else. Other Family have shared their GEDCOM’s just for the Data Reports TNG produces to help them find errors and inconsistencies in their data. With more and more data becoming available in on-line searches, these problems are getting easier to fix.

My family in Europe is able to login and help without travel. Some have told me their name is spelled wrong. They especially love the “Relationship” finder, where TNG will graphically map out and provide “A is the 2 x cousin once removed of B” relationship information.

TNG v11
Pro’s:
- Professional looking, highly functional interface with templates for Mobile and Desktop displays
- Supports display and search of non-US characters, like ø, æ, etc for proper presentation. (database collations)
- Supports storing DNA Tests and all media types; pictures, documents, notes, recordings, etc.
- Thorough GEDCOM 5.5 Import/Export, allows database sharing with Desktop based genealogy.
- Supports multiple trees (I have three installed I’m working with now, mine and two others… collaboration)
- 20+ Data integrity checks. Reports: “Married, after Death”, “Bad Date (GEDCOM test)”, “Died before Birth”, etc.
- Write your own Genealogy Report formulas in raw SQL, or GUI Formula builder
- Still nimble with 463,470 person, 179,174 Family database size
- Online TNG Forums for support and sharing of ideas and Genealogy Report recipes with others.
- Darrin Lythgoe, amazing support, highly responsive, far exceeds my wildest expectations.
- Only requires web server (Apache, PHP, MySQL), Mine: Ubuntu, was OpenSUSE, could be a Windows or Mac platform
- Supports “normal” database backup/restore procedures (MySQLdump) in addition to GEDCOM backup/Restore, and file copy of external media folders (I prefixed mine with MyStuff_ as in “MyStuff_Photos”, “MyStuff_gedcom”, “MyStuff_documents” … etc.
- Works out of the box with many “default” server LAMP/WAMP) setups. (Linux/Windows, Apache, MySQL, PHP)

Cons:
- Weak on merging tools to merge or partially (pick and choose) merge two independent GEDCOM data Trees.
- Need at least modest (beginner) server skills to configure correctly.
Strong genealogy software.

Biggest Pro: Package completeness and enough flexibility for advanced users, yet simple enough for most beginners.
Biggest Con: After two years of off/on heavy use, I can’t think of any. I did have to learn about genealogy (my problem, not TNG)

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Michael Shorkey,  Jun 22, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

As a professional database developer, I am astounded by the completeness of Darrin’s design. I had been running a genealogy database I designed nearly 25 years ago in ACCESS and had ported to SQL 2008. Had a self designed web-site up and running for several years that contained many of features in TNG, and even had plans to include several of the other feature in future revisions. But why re-invent the wheel! The extra features I desired were already in TNG, and had several more that I had not though of.
So congratulations Darrin, I’ve now ported my 45,000 people into your program. It wasn’t that hard once you understand the schema.

Biggest Pro: Most complete genealogy program I’ve ever encountered. Low cost. Pretty easy to use.
Biggest Con: Assumes it will be running on a host webserver, Building and configuring the local Wampserver (not for beginners!) before upload to host server, bulk importing media (photos, documents, recordings). But all these issues only come into play if converting from another non-GEDCOM database, not something most users are going to experience!

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Peter Bjorn Thomsen,  Jun 8, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using TNG for quite a lot of years now. The program stille evolves and is highly recommended

Biggest Pro: Support is perfect and always quick, price is reasonable, The program has all necessary features for most genealogy researchers
Biggest Con: I haven’t found any yet

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Lisa H,  May 7, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I like that I can view my site from anywhere I have internet access. It’s like carrying around all my genealogy files with me everywhere I go. There are levels of security you can set up so that you can collaborate with other family members from anywhere and prevent people from seeing data on living people.

Biggest Pro: Portability of all my genealogy files.
Biggest Con: None.

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Frantisek Pastor,  Apr 29, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

TNG is the best genealogy software for a multilanguage website. It has a very nice and good design. I like it very much.

Biggest Pro: Support and a reasonable price.
Biggest Con: None.

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Jim McKane,  Apr 17, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used TNG for a number of years. Not only does it produce excellent pages created dynamically but it is very easy to give fellow researchers controlled access to add new data as well as update existing data.

Biggest Pro: Allowing other researchers to work with me on the database
Biggest Con: Can be a little difficult for computer ‘newbies’ to setup BUT TNG offers an installation service as well.

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Joern-Alexander Heye,  Mar 19, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

We works since 2012 (V9) with TNG.
I test a lot and this was my choice at the end.
Local programs are only for yourself. Cloud programs have not so much privacy.
Here you see all and have control over your installation, media and data.
Easy installation and maintain. Best genealogy program ever.

Biggest Pro: low price, good performance, privacy, big community
Biggest Con: don’t see any yet

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Roar Dahle,  Mar 15, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Best genealogy program ever

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Ron Vonck,  Mar 4, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Easy to install. Easy to maintain. Superb program.

Biggest Pro: Magnificent lay-out
Biggest Con: not found

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Ronny Bovijn,  Feb 25, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The software is easy to install. I installed it on a Synology DS411+II. The instruction video is very helpful to get it running. Once set up, the customization is a piece of cake. I’ve imported a Gedcom file with 865 members in it coming from myHeritage and that went very smoothly, even including the pictures, documents etc… This package is great, a must have to set up your history. Great job!!

Biggest Pro: Nice layouts, easy to use and even to install.
Biggest Con: Couldn’t find it yet…

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Oliver,  Feb 17, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Das beste Ahnenforschungsprogamm auf PHP Basis was ich bisher getestet habe.
Die Investition hat sich auf jeden Fall gelohnt.

Biggest Pro: sehr Intuitiv und logisch Aufgebaut
Biggest Con: Design und Frontend Programmierung leiden ein wenig unter der hervorragenden Ahnenverwaltung

Bing translate: The best genealogy program on PHP based on what I’ve tested so far.
The investment has paid off in any case. Biggest Pro: very intuitive and logically built; biggest con: design and front-end programming suffer a little under the excellent management of the ancestors

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by David N Muxo,  Oct 29, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am a PHP programmer, but I wanted to spend my time doing genealogy, not coding! I chose TNG because I could use it “right out of the box”. After over five years of use, I decided to incorporate it into a family website, and I made the first revisions, dusting off my old talents. But the real point is that a non-programmer can use TNG perfectly well without any coding. And it keeps on working. Darrin is very helpful and always responsive to questions. This is the best supported website that I have ever used.

Biggest Pro: Support
Biggest Con: None

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Ocky,  Sep 8, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I use TNG on my own website and it is very good. The functionality is excellent. I think the presentation is a little clunky, for example the look compared to Webtrees is not as modern. That being said i believe it is more featured that Webtrees.

An important issue to many would be that it is not a public website model where your data is hosted on someone else’s server. You need the ability and interest to get this working on your own equipment / server or rent space elsewhere. But if you do want to fully control your own genealogy site then this is the pick of them.

Biggest Pro: Features, support
Biggest Con: Need some technical interest and ability to setup and maintain

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Andy Barber,  Sep 5, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I attempted to create my own website for a long time and abandoned the project immediately upon finding TNG. Very well done. Ample customization choices, great correlation of data. Best money on genealogy-related software I’ve ever spent. http://www.barbersrazor.com/

Biggest Pro: customization, Depth of administration pages
Biggest Con: some slight refinements still needed

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Howard Burdick,  Aug 24, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using TNG since 2009 and would not consider using anything other application. In my opinion, it is better than any other genealogy application on the market, and the ONLY one you should consider if you plan to host your family tree on-line. The functionality is superb, the user interface self-explanatory, and Darrin Lythgoe is an amazing and dedicated developer. I believe history will look back and realize that TNG was one of a few industry-changing developments for genealogy. You can see it in use with over 80,000 entries at the Burdick Family Association website (http://www.burdickfamily.org).

Biggest Pro: Too many to mentioned, but being a web app is huge.
Biggest Con: None

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Fabio Arduini,  Jul 20, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Finally I fount what I need!
Excellent.
Wonderfull media management!

Show 21-40 »