The Next Generation (TNG)

Click To See Award Winners
by Darrin Lythgoe
Produces really nice looking dynamically creating web pages from information stored in mySQL database tables using PHP scripting on the Web site.

Purchase • Online • Utility • Builds Website
http://www.tngsitebuilding.com/
Overall1324.85 out of 54.85 out of 54.85 out of 54.85 out of 54.85 out of 5 4.85
2016105 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00
2015144.72 out of 54.72 out of 54.72 out of 54.72 out of 54.72 out of 5 4.72
Earlier1084.78 out of 54.78 out of 54.78 out of 54.78 out of 54.78 out of 5 4.78

Add Your Review of The Next Generation (TNG)

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

132 Reviews of The Next Generation (TNG)     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Michael Shorkey,  4 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

As a professional database developer, I am astounded by the completeness of Darrin’s design. I had been running a genealogy database I designed nearly 25 years ago in ACCESS and had ported to SQL 2008. Had a self designed web-site up and running for several years that contained many of features in TNG, and even had plans to include several of the other feature in future revisions. But why re-invent the wheel! The extra features I desired were already in TNG, and had several more that I had not though of.
So congratulations Darrin, I’ve now ported my 45,000 people into your program. It wasn’t that hard once you understand the schema.

Biggest Pro: Most complete genealogy program I’ve ever encountered. Low cost. Pretty easy to use.
Biggest Con: Assumes it will be running on a host webserver, Building and configuring the local Wampserver (not for beginners!) before upload to host server, bulk importing media (photos, documents, recordings). But all these issues only come into play if converting from another non-GEDCOM database, not something most users are going to experience!

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Peter Bjorn Thomsen,  Jun 8, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using TNG for quite a lot of years now. The program stille evolves and is highly recommended

Biggest Pro: Support is perfect and always quick, price is reasonable, The program has all necessary features for most genealogy researchers
Biggest Con: I haven’t found any yet

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Lisa H,  May 7, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I like that I can view my site from anywhere I have internet access. It’s like carrying around all my genealogy files with me everywhere I go. There are levels of security you can set up so that you can collaborate with other family members from anywhere and prevent people from seeing data on living people.

Biggest Pro: Portability of all my genealogy files.
Biggest Con: None.

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Frantisek Pastor,  Apr 29, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

TNG is the best genealogy software for a multilanguage website. It has a very nice and good design. I like it very much.

Biggest Pro: Support and a reasonable price.
Biggest Con: None.

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Jim McKane,  Apr 17, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used TNG for a number of years. Not only does it produce excellent pages created dynamically but it is very easy to give fellow researchers controlled access to add new data as well as update existing data.

Biggest Pro: Allowing other researchers to work with me on the database
Biggest Con: Can be a little difficult for computer ‘newbies’ to setup BUT TNG offers an installation service as well.

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Joern-Alexander Heye,  Mar 19, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

We works since 2012 (V9) with TNG.
I test a lot and this was my choice at the end.
Local programs are only for yourself. Cloud programs have not so much privacy.
Here you see all and have control over your installation, media and data.
Easy installation and maintain. Best genealogy program ever.

Biggest Pro: low price, good performance, privacy, big community
Biggest Con: don’t see any yet

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Roar Dahle,  Mar 15, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Best genealogy program ever

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Ron Vonck,  Mar 4, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Easy to install. Easy to maintain. Superb program.

Biggest Pro: Magnificent lay-out
Biggest Con: not found

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Ronny Bovijn,  Feb 25, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The software is easy to install. I installed it on a Synology DS411+II. The instruction video is very helpful to get it running. Once set up, the customization is a piece of cake. I’ve imported a Gedcom file with 865 members in it coming from myHeritage and that went very smoothly, even including the pictures, documents etc… This package is great, a must have to set up your history. Great job!!

Biggest Pro: Nice layouts, easy to use and even to install.
Biggest Con: Couldn’t find it yet…

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Oliver,  Feb 17, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Das beste Ahnenforschungsprogamm auf PHP Basis was ich bisher getestet habe.
Die Investition hat sich auf jeden Fall gelohnt.

Biggest Pro: sehr Intuitiv und logisch Aufgebaut
Biggest Con: Design und Frontend Programmierung leiden ein wenig unter der hervorragenden Ahnenverwaltung

Bing translate: The best genealogy program on PHP based on what I’ve tested so far.
The investment has paid off in any case. Biggest Pro: very intuitive and logically built; biggest con: design and front-end programming suffer a little under the excellent management of the ancestors

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by David N Muxo,  Oct 29, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am a PHP programmer, but I wanted to spend my time doing genealogy, not coding! I chose TNG because I could use it “right out of the box”. After over five years of use, I decided to incorporate it into a family website, and I made the first revisions, dusting off my old talents. But the real point is that a non-programmer can use TNG perfectly well without any coding. And it keeps on working. Darrin is very helpful and always responsive to questions. This is the best supported website that I have ever used.

Biggest Pro: Support
Biggest Con: None

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Ocky,  Sep 8, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I use TNG on my own website and it is very good. The functionality is excellent. I think the presentation is a little clunky, for example the look compared to Webtrees is not as modern. That being said i believe it is more featured that Webtrees.

An important issue to many would be that it is not a public website model where your data is hosted on someone else’s server. You need the ability and interest to get this working on your own equipment / server or rent space elsewhere. But if you do want to fully control your own genealogy site then this is the pick of them.

Biggest Pro: Features, support
Biggest Con: Need some technical interest and ability to setup and maintain

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Andy Barber,  Sep 5, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I attempted to create my own website for a long time and abandoned the project immediately upon finding TNG. Very well done. Ample customization choices, great correlation of data. Best money on genealogy-related software I’ve ever spent. http://www.barbersrazor.com/

Biggest Pro: customization, Depth of administration pages
Biggest Con: some slight refinements still needed

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Howard Burdick,  Aug 24, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using TNG since 2009 and would not consider using anything other application. In my opinion, it is better than any other genealogy application on the market, and the ONLY one you should consider if you plan to host your family tree on-line. The functionality is superb, the user interface self-explanatory, and Darrin Lythgoe is an amazing and dedicated developer. I believe history will look back and realize that TNG was one of a few industry-changing developments for genealogy. You can see it in use with over 80,000 entries at the Burdick Family Association website (http://www.burdickfamily.org).

Biggest Pro: Too many to mentioned, but being a web app is huge.
Biggest Con: None

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Fabio Arduini,  Jul 20, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Finally I fount what I need!
Excellent.
Wonderfull media management!

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Richard Hill,  Jun 15, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I had used a couple of open source packages for online our family tree since 2005 but they just did not work properly, so I decided to look for some new software.

I tried a couple of competitor offerings trial versions then I came across TNG. It seemd too good to be true but it wasn’t. It had just what I was looking for. Pure online software, PHP/MySQL, mobile friendly, some excellent templates that are easy to customise and a price which is just too low. There had to be a catch!

Setting it up was not quite as simple as I had hoped, it is a complex programme, but the issues I had were down to me forgetting to do things quite properly. In both cases Darrin was superb. He identified the issues and it took me seconds to fix them.

I thoroughly recommend the software and want to thank Darrin openly for his help.

Biggest Pro: Does pretty much everything I want.
Biggest Con: Learning curve for functionality. Documentation needs updating and review.

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Jody J Oosting,  Apr 18, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

If you are looking to put your family history online in the form of a web site so that others who might be related to you might find the information - then I have to say look no further. I have used TNG since late 2006 early 2007. How to describe TNG? Like PC’s vs Mac TNG has the functionality that seems to be unparalleled, but it isn’t entirely user friendly for the average joe.

Most of my computer knowledge comes from the 80’s and early 90’s. I only have 1 generation html knowledge. I know what java is….and I know enough to open a php file and find what I am looking for in order to change it. Knowing the basics will definitely assist you in launching your own site. But you don’t have to know everything if anything. Darrin is pretty good at giving you step by step instructions on installing the software onto your own server and launching your own site.

Within a month of launching my site, I connected with a family member I never knew about. Within six months I connected with 5 other family members allowing to build over 250 years of history. In 2012 my father gave me my grandma’s maiden name and within a year of that added another 450 years of history just from one name. This is all because of TNG and no other software can say that.

The Scofield Family Project (www.tsfp.org) wouldn’t be where it is today if it wasn’t for Darrin. Great Software.

Biggest Pro: Allows you to launch a site within minutes.
Biggest Con: User Functionality.

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Chris Homan,  Apr 11, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Great looking designs and very functional and thorough genealogical details included. Difficult to set up and customize if you don’t know much about ftp, servers and html code. The TNG forum is only somewhat helpful and difficult to find answers to specific questions. Lots of users view your problem, but doesn’t seem like anyone is monitoring to offer direct help. It would be helpful to have a visual with directions on how to and where to change code to make changes to the pages. I’m a fan but wish it were a bit easier for beginners. Seems geared to a niche market of code knowledgeable users, not for the masses.

Biggest Pro: All the things you want in a genealogy program and more.
Biggest Con: Difficult to customize and fix errors.

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Chris Wyvill,  Apr 10, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have had my own family website and family tree software since 2002. I have tried many geneology programs and most are just ok at best.

I installed TNG with no issues at all. I am using multiple branches, the main tree data onmy site contains 1,575 people belonging to 509 families.

The gedcom import was literally seconds to complete. What an excellent product TNG is. The flexibility and customization available is very user friendly.

Biggest Pro: Flexibility and speed of data retrieval
Biggest Con: None

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Forestbank,  Mar 25, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

If you like the idea of having your own genealogy website that you can have great control over, then this program is brilliant. I’m no IT expert and I’ve never had any problems using this, importing gedcoms, entering data online and loading up & linking photos & scanned documents. Good updates with really helpful community support on forums.

Biggest Pro: Excellent software at a reasonable price
Biggest Con: None

Show 21-40 »