The Next Generation (TNG)

Click To See Award Winners
by Darrin Lythgoe
Produces really nice looking dynamically creating web pages from information stored in mySQL database tables using PHP scripting on the Web site.

Purchase • Online • Utility • Builds Website
http://www.tngsitebuilding.com/
Overall1484.72 out of 54.72 out of 54.72 out of 54.72 out of 54.72 out of 5 4.72
2017134.57 out of 54.57 out of 54.57 out of 54.57 out of 54.57 out of 5 4.57
2016135 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00
Earlier1224.76 out of 54.76 out of 54.76 out of 54.76 out of 54.76 out of 5 4.76

Add Your Review of The Next Generation (TNG)

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

148 Reviews of The Next Generation (TNG)     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by juzerli,  Nov 12, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

good software , easy to use,

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Gene Wheeler,  Nov 7, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used TNG ever since I first heard of it several years ago. What that decision easy it for me was the ability to dynamically create and update web pages without having to use HTML, which had made it necessary to manually create and/or change links links and new pages among various data, even when making small changes. That had discouraged me from even wanting to make updates because of all the time and effort required. With TNG, one simply creates a current GEDCOM file, uploads it to the server, and you’re in business!

In addition, the program has so many features that I could never expect to use them all, so I focus on those that are most important to me. Furthermore, the support offered by Darrin Lythgoe and the TNG community of users, goes well beyond one’s expectations. I’m perfectly happy with my decision to use TNG.

Biggest Pro: Dynamic web page creation and modification
Biggest Con: Wish I had the time to use all those fantastic features!

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Peter Thomsen,  Nov 5, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

A very nice program that has helped me for several years by now.

Thanks
/Peter

Biggest Pro: Online solution, that simply works, right out of the box
Biggest Con: none

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Ron Vonck,  Oct 26, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am using it for some years now and I am very satified.

Biggest Pro: In my own language (Dutch)
Biggest Con: I would’n know.

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by JPB,  Sep 24, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Excellent program, clear and easy to understand. Flexible adaptations allow an individual solution for everyone. In case of problems the community or the programmer always helps directly and solution-oriented. Thanks to its multilingual nature, this software can be used anywhere in the world. I have been working with this program for many years.

Biggest Pro: all
Biggest Con: nothing

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Don Jaggi,  Jun 18, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have not found any online genealogy program that even comes close to TNG. There is no need to manage html pages, so I can focus on my research. I have used it for years. The presentation of data is superb. I have multiple gedcoms, they can be searched together and individually. It is ideal for presenting and researching descendants of ancestors with pictures and sources. As good as it is, the program is upgraded and improved on a continuous basis. Timely customer support. Google has indexed my names so other people can connect by making google searches.

Biggest Pro: A fully functional genealogy program on the internet.
Biggest Con: $60 a year to maintain

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Frans Erich,  Jun 2, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

TNG is the best tool for Genealogy research and presentation. Because it enables you to work together globaly.

Biggest Pro: Web enabled
Biggest Con: None that I know of

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Gary Hoffman,  May 24, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This works as well as any genealogy program for your PC, perhaps better. And it’s online.

Biggest Pro: Easy to install and use.
Biggest Con: So many features, I can’t begin to use them all.

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Misty Bearman,  Apr 25, 2017

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I absolutely love the software. It’s the cleanest genealogy builder I’ve found yet. My only issue is that I have no knowledge of php, css, or any other form of coding. They say that css & php knowledge isn’t necessary, but I have to strongly disagree. I wish they had a drag and drop type editor (like Weebly or Wix) to be able to design your website from start to finish. I have no clue on how to add custom pages & links, so unless I fork out more money (I’ve already invested $300 in my family tree!!!), I’m basically screwed. The TNG software is fantastic though!

Biggest Pro: Beautiful data charts
Biggest Con: Horrible templates, not user friendly for those with no php or css knowledge.

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Tony Gott,  Mar 30, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using the program for over 10 years and I am still delighted with it.

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Laurence Stephenson,  Mar 4, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I use TNG as my primary genealogy program. It is easy to use and has a great user base who are always willing to help.

Biggest Pro: The author Darrin Lythgoes always willing to help..
Biggest Con: It can’t magically knock down brick walls for you.

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by David Powell,  Jan 3, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used TNG for a number of years and it has consistently produced excellent websites from my genealogical data. The folks that write and maintain the TNG source code are constantly upgrading it and are very helpful. New features have been added on a regular basis. It is a bit difficult to set up in the first place but produces just good output it is well worth the effort.

Biggest Pro: Produces excellent web site for your genealogical data
Biggest Con: Some technical knowledge needed

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Carvel,  Jan 2, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I was initially hesitant to use a program like TNG, because it requires the transfer of data from my desktop program (Ancestral Quest) to TNG via GEDCOM files - which I thought would be cumbersome and difficult.

However, after implementing TNG I found three things:
1. The GEDCOM transfer is really quick, simple, and effective. I no longer view it as a problem. It takes me less than 20 minutes each time I update my online TNG website from my desktop program - and that is for a total of 6 different GEDCOMS coming from different research areas.
2. TNG does a powerful job of managing input from multiple GEDCOM files. It perfectly fits our needs because of our multiple GEDCOM file situation.
3. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE the TNG website that we have built. It has powerful capabilities built into it. It is designed specifically for genealogy. Very happy with it and proud of the website we have created using TNG as the base.

Take a look at our TNG website: http://www.whiting-global.org.

Biggest Pro: Easy of use (once it is set up), ability to handle GEDCOM files from multiple sources, rich online functionality.
Biggest Con: Setting it up initially was a little difficult. Suggest getting help from someone who is tech-savvy.

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Henk Rolvink,  Nov 28, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Great for organizing your genealogical information based on the GEDCOM files uploaded. For me it is very useful as I can organize media, tombstones, articles and create great overviews. System is well maintained with regular updates.

Biggest Pro: Easy way to publish based on GEDCOM and organize a lot off additional information.

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Bill,  Sep 10, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The product and support are fantastic!

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Craig A.,  Jul 23, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I haven’t found anything better, desktop or server based. Been using TNG since v10.01 2014, now using 11.0.1 and wouldn’t use anything else. Other Family have shared their GEDCOM’s just for the Data Reports TNG produces to help them find errors and inconsistencies in their data. With more and more data becoming available in on-line searches, these problems are getting easier to fix.

My family in Europe is able to login and help without travel. Some have told me their name is spelled wrong. They especially love the “Relationship” finder, where TNG will graphically map out and provide “A is the 2 x cousin once removed of B” relationship information.

TNG v11
Pro’s:
- Professional looking, highly functional interface with templates for Mobile and Desktop displays
- Supports display and search of non-US characters, like ø, æ, etc for proper presentation. (database collations)
- Supports storing DNA Tests and all media types; pictures, documents, notes, recordings, etc.
- Thorough GEDCOM 5.5 Import/Export, allows database sharing with Desktop based genealogy.
- Supports multiple trees (I have three installed I’m working with now, mine and two others… collaboration)
- 20+ Data integrity checks. Reports: “Married, after Death”, “Bad Date (GEDCOM test)”, “Died before Birth”, etc.
- Write your own Genealogy Report formulas in raw SQL, or GUI Formula builder
- Still nimble with 463,470 person, 179,174 Family database size
- Online TNG Forums for support and sharing of ideas and Genealogy Report recipes with others.
- Darrin Lythgoe, amazing support, highly responsive, far exceeds my wildest expectations.
- Only requires web server (Apache, PHP, MySQL), Mine: Ubuntu, was OpenSUSE, could be a Windows or Mac platform
- Supports “normal” database backup/restore procedures (MySQLdump) in addition to GEDCOM backup/Restore, and file copy of external media folders (I prefixed mine with MyStuff_ as in “MyStuff_Photos”, “MyStuff_gedcom”, “MyStuff_documents” … etc.
- Works out of the box with many “default” server LAMP/WAMP) setups. (Linux/Windows, Apache, MySQL, PHP)

Cons:
- Weak on merging tools to merge or partially (pick and choose) merge two independent GEDCOM data Trees.
- Need at least modest (beginner) server skills to configure correctly.
Strong genealogy software.

Biggest Pro: Package completeness and enough flexibility for advanced users, yet simple enough for most beginners.
Biggest Con: After two years of off/on heavy use, I can’t think of any. I did have to learn about genealogy (my problem, not TNG)

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Michael Shorkey,  Jun 22, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

As a professional database developer, I am astounded by the completeness of Darrin’s design. I had been running a genealogy database I designed nearly 25 years ago in ACCESS and had ported to SQL 2008. Had a self designed web-site up and running for several years that contained many of features in TNG, and even had plans to include several of the other feature in future revisions. But why re-invent the wheel! The extra features I desired were already in TNG, and had several more that I had not though of.
So congratulations Darrin, I’ve now ported my 45,000 people into your program. It wasn’t that hard once you understand the schema.

Biggest Pro: Most complete genealogy program I’ve ever encountered. Low cost. Pretty easy to use.
Biggest Con: Assumes it will be running on a host webserver, Building and configuring the local Wampserver (not for beginners!) before upload to host server, bulk importing media (photos, documents, recordings). But all these issues only come into play if converting from another non-GEDCOM database, not something most users are going to experience!

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Peter Bjorn Thomsen,  Jun 8, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using TNG for quite a lot of years now. The program stille evolves and is highly recommended

Biggest Pro: Support is perfect and always quick, price is reasonable, The program has all necessary features for most genealogy researchers
Biggest Con: I haven’t found any yet

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Lisa H,  May 7, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I like that I can view my site from anywhere I have internet access. It’s like carrying around all my genealogy files with me everywhere I go. There are levels of security you can set up so that you can collaborate with other family members from anywhere and prevent people from seeing data on living people.

Biggest Pro: Portability of all my genealogy files.
Biggest Con: None.

The Next Generation (TNG) Review by Frantisek Pastor,  Apr 29, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

TNG is the best genealogy software for a multilanguage website. It has a very nice and good design. I like it very much.

Biggest Pro: Support and a reasonable price.
Biggest Con: None.

Show 21-40 »