My Great Big Family

Click To See Award Winners
by Web Portal People, LLC
A website and online family tree program allowing families to collect their family information together. Includes many interactive features and can import GEDCOM files.

Subscription • Online • Full Featured
http://www.mygreatbigfamily.com
Overall371.9 out of 51.9 out of 51.9 out of 51.9 out of 51.9 out of 5 1.90
201841 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 1.00
201752.5 out of 52.5 out of 52.5 out of 52.5 out of 52.5 out of 5 2.50
Earlier282.81 out of 52.81 out of 52.81 out of 52.81 out of 52.81 out of 5 2.81

Add Your Review of My Great Big Family

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

37 Reviews of My Great Big Family     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

My Great Big Family Review by Juanita Hise,  Mar 31, 2018

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have had my site for several years. This year at renewal time it was due March 24 I paid on March 15 it cleared my bank March 19. My site does not let me enter. I have tried contacting MyGreatBigFamily and web portal people so many times. I have not received one reply. I am very frustrated. Got a phone number from my bank from the transaction called it several times had to leave message. No reply. What else can I do?

Biggest Pro: I love the site.
Biggest Con: No communication

My Great Big Family Review by john bishop,  Mar 24, 2018

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

They crashed the website. The provided no notice. It just went down like a ton of bricks

Biggest Pro: full fledged website with lots of features,
Biggest Con: it all went away in a flash, no emails, no notice.

My Great Big Family Review by Jackie Little,  Mar 10, 2018

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I am sorry I did not find these reviews first. On March 7, 2018, I ordered and paid for my site. They said it would take 24 to 48 hours to have the site up and ready for me. Here it is the 10th, and still waiting. Have sent about 6 emails, and no response. I guess I just wasted my money, since there is no phone number to contact them. This must be a scam. I have learned, never use a site that does not have a contact phone number.

My Great Big Family Review by Kevin,  Feb 6, 2018

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Terrible company. No support. They NEVER respond. We renewed our site in December, they took our payment, and the site is now down. Its gone. 15 emails later, still nothing. We reversed the charges and we are moving on. I cannot tell you strongly enough, do not have anything to do with this company! “Web Portal People, LLC” They run this site, as well as a class reunion site service, and one other. Oh, to top it off, we have now lost all our data. Database, pictures, everything.

Biggest Pro: There are none at this point.
Biggest Con: They are the biggest con. Con artists.

My Great Big Family Review by BW,  Nov 17, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Terrible custom support. If you lose your admin account, you are screwed. Hope the admin never passes away (sarcasm)

My Great Big Family Review by Brandon,  Oct 12, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Our family has used this service for more than 5 years. Great program and support has always been prompt.

Biggest Pro: Features. Genealogy. interactiveness and privacy

My Great Big Family Review by Emmet,  Jun 21, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I am still waiting on support contact. I will not renew after 6 years this relationship is going down the drain.

Biggest Pro: It is a good idea
Biggest Con: No support…never!

My Great Big Family Review by Bob Johnson,  Jun 4, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

We have been with My Great Big Family Web Site for a few years. But the last couple of years they are HORRIBLE at responding to emails.
We have put in a ton of work on this site and have asked a few questions and get no responses.
Would love to see them go out of business.

Terrible company! DO NOT USE THEM!

Biggest Con: Doesn’t respond to emails. No support!

My Great Big Family Review by JE,  May 5, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

They are the absolute worse when trying to get support. I have sent countless emails asking what my renewal fee will be for two years. THEY NEVER RESPOND! NEVER!
Terrible company…do NOT use them.

Biggest Con: Poor Support. You will be ignored!

My Great Big Family Review by Bob,  Apr 29, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Is anybody home at My Great Big Family? Have been with them for years. In the past year or so I cannot get support to respond or help with any issues, as some have stated in other reviews. I like all the different aspects of the service, but if I had known support would not be available to assist when needed. My main complaint is with their word processer for newsletters and reunion information is clunky and outdated. Can spend a lot of time trying to format a newsletter or reunion info and it is really frustrating. While most of the other elements of the site seem to be working well, I worry they are on auto-pilot and not taking care of customers. The review summary above sure show a major drop in consumer confidence. I am researching for a new company that will value our family more than this.

Biggest Pro: built in site elements
Biggest Con: support has been terrible

My Great Big Family Review by Barb Y,  Oct 6, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Cannot pull up our family site. The administrator has also tried. I have added many pictures and history to that site and now that is lost. What happened to the wagnerfamilywebpage?

My Great Big Family Review by Eugene,  Aug 1, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

The site has poor customer service. We have sent several emails regarding problems with the web site but they are non-responsive. After doing some research we found that the parent company Web Portal People, LLC is located out of New York. Address is 201 Hapeman Hill Rod Red Hook, NY 12571. Phone Number 914-489-9121. Please note that you can only leave a message. Still no response.

Biggest Con: Customer service.

My Great Big Family Review by George,  Aug 1, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Our family’s web site has been with this company for years. The site has everything we need. However, the past few years we have been having problems accessing the web site and adding content to web site. Most recently, we can’t access the family web site at all. We have left several emails and no response. We are current on the renewal so I’m not sure what the problem is. Buyer beware!

Biggest Pro: Great content.
Biggest Con: Customer service

My Great Big Family Review by Jerry Summers,  Jul 18, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Loving our new family website and the service. Thanks for the help getting us started and for a great product!

Biggest Pro: Awesome features

My Great Big Family Review by Tom,  Jun 3, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

As another poster stated …”something odd is going on with this company”. I tried out their demo website for a week and decided it had the features I wanted so I decided to give it a try for $139.95. After signing on I was sent an auto email which states “If your site has not appeared within 48 hours please notify us immediately.” Well, its a week later and they have haven’t responded to 3 emails (no phone #) and nothing has happened with my requested domain name (checked if registered). I not sure if mygreatbigfamily has staff at all or whether he/she is on extended vacation but I cancelled the charge.

Biggest Pro: Nice looking demo
Biggest Con: Well…no staff

My Great Big Family Review by Family Website,  Mar 8, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Will not answer email. No phone number to be found. Something odd is going on with t his company. Very frustrated.

Biggest Pro: Nice Website
Biggest Con: Poor management, poor customer service, no means to contact other than email and they refuse to respond

My Great Big Family Review by Tim Johnson,  Feb 25, 2015

Not Rated

Have sent inquiries about site issues to their customer service team. Very long delays in answering (days or weeks, if any response). The site looks good. They certainly take your money, but customer service is very poor.

Biggest Pro: Possibilities look great
Biggest Con: Poor customer service response.

My Great Big Family Review by Richard Furgeson,  Aug 25, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

“Triple A” family website program. Thanks Dick Eastman for pointing us to mygreatbigfamily. We had been using myfamily.com for the past 10 years and they recently announced they were shutting down their service. Needless to say we were left scrambling like many others to find a new home for our family and our family history. The features of the mygreatbigfamily.com program are beyond impressive and well thought out by its creators. Historical archives, family tree, photo sharing, messaging, chat, news, recipes, etc…..it’s all in there.

I could write a long review but Dick captures much of it in his review at http://blog.eogn.com/2014/07/16/mygreatbigfamily-com-an-alternative-to-myfamily-com/

Biggest Pro: integrates social and family history features
Biggest Con: A little expensive but no limit on family members that can participate at no extra cost

My Great Big Family Review by Norma Collins,  Jul 30, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Must say this program is very impressive. Very well thought out and a perfect replacement for our family website that we had for many years on Myfamily.com. We looked at numerous sites but Mygreatbigfamily.com has all the features we wanted and more. Support has been extremely attentive as we migrate from myfamily.com to mygreatbigfamily.com.

Think what we love most about the program is that every family member can have their own homepage on the site where they can post personal news & photos. It’s like having many websites in one but at no additional cost.

The family tree features are outstanding.

Biggest Pro: Many features, support, usability

My Great Big Family Review by Charles Hapleman,  Jun 19, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

With MyFamily.com shutting down in September we have been looking for a new home. We did a free trial site and were very impressed with all the features they have built into this. The family tree feature is great and we were able to use their gedcom importer to quickly upload our family tree to the site. Our permanent site on our own domain name was up within 24 hours although they say it can take up to 48 hours.

If you want to get started right away, try a trial site. It’s free and you can convert it to a live site later if you decide to use the service.

Biggest Pro: Lots of features. More than we need but you can also shut any features off you don’t want.

Show 21-37 »