My Great Big Family

Click To See Award Winners
by Web Portal People, LLC
A website and online family tree program allowing families to collect their family information together. Includes many interactive features and can import GEDCOM files.

Subscription • Online • Full Featured
http://www.mygreatbigfamily.com
Overall204.72 out of 54.72 out of 54.72 out of 54.72 out of 54.72 out of 5 4.72
201464.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5 4.70
20130    No Ratings
Earlier144.76 out of 54.76 out of 54.76 out of 54.76 out of 54.76 out of 5 4.76

Add Your Review of My Great Big Family

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

20 Reviews of My Great Big Family     RSS 2.0 RSS                   Add Your Review

My Great Big Family Review by Richard Furgeson,  Aug 25, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

“Triple A” family website program. Thanks Dick Eastman for pointing us to mygreatbigfamily. We had been using myfamily.com for the past 10 years and they recently announced they were shutting down their service. Needless to say we were left scrambling like many others to find a new home for our family and our family history. The features of the mygreatbigfamily.com program are beyond impressive and well thought out by its creators. Historical archives, family tree, photo sharing, messaging, chat, news, recipes, etc…..it’s all in there.

I could write a long review but Dick captures much of it in his review at http://blog.eogn.com/2014/07/16/mygreatbigfamily-com-an-alternative-to-myfamily-com/

Biggest Pro: integrates social and family history features
Biggest Con: A little expensive but no limit on family members that can participate at no extra cost

My Great Big Family Review by Norma Collins,  Jul 30, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Must say this program is very impressive. Very well thought out and a perfect replacement for our family website that we had for many years on Myfamily.com. We looked at numerous sites but Mygreatbigfamily.com has all the features we wanted and more. Support has been extremely attentive as we migrate from myfamily.com to mygreatbigfamily.com.

Think what we love most about the program is that every family member can have their own homepage on the site where they can post personal news & photos. It’s like having many websites in one but at no additional cost.

The family tree features are outstanding.

Biggest Pro: Many features, support, usability

My Great Big Family Review by Charles Hapleman,  Jun 19, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

With MyFamily.com shutting down in September we have been looking for a new home. We did a free trial site and were very impressed with all the features they have built into this. The family tree feature is great and we were able to use their gedcom importer to quickly upload our family tree to the site. Our permanent site on our own domain name was up within 24 hours although they say it can take up to 48 hours.

If you want to get started right away, try a trial site. It’s free and you can convert it to a live site later if you decide to use the service.

Biggest Pro: Lots of features. More than we need but you can also shut any features off you don’t want.

My Great Big Family Review by Evans,  Jun 19, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am very happy and relieved that my family and I can now say we have a website. We had received a notice from myfamily.com that they were retiring their website and thanks to mygreatbigfamily.com we can continue to stay in touch and have a secure website for years to come. As of this morning our site is up and running fine! The support team is extremely helpful and volunteered to assist with making our transition from my myfamily.com to our very own website. I am so thankful For their help and will gladly spread the word to other families about mygreatbigfamily.com.

Biggest Pro: A secure private site for families
Biggest Con: None!

My Great Big Family Review by Bruce Ketchum,  May 20, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

We have been using this site for a little over 6 months now. Think what our family loves most about this site is the ability to interact and share our family history in a very private setting. Many of our family members are hesitant to post anything on social media sites such as Facebook.

The genealogy and family tree features built into our mygreatbigfamily site are really awesome. We now have 6 generations of our family captured in our online family tree. There are so many other great interactive features they have built into the program. Can’t think of a more comprehensive program for private family communication and capturing of our family history. Kudos!

My Great Big Family Review by Richard B,  Jan 15, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I setup a family website with Mygreatbigfamily for my family as a Christmas present a few weeks ago. I really can’t say enough about all the great features this program has to offer. We can chat, share photos, message and neatest of all they have built in genealogy and family tree program for us to document our family history. We also find it a much safer alternative to Facebook which is way too public for our needs and privacy requirements. Support has always been prompt responding to any questions. Thanks for a great alternative!

Biggest Pro: private, easy to use

My Great Big Family Review by Paul Thomas,  Oct 23, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Recently discovered MyGreatBigFamily.com. What an amazing program. The genealogy / archiving features are top rate and the social networking features they built into are quite extensive. We like having an online place for just our family.

Biggest Pro: Extensive features

My Great Big Family Review by AJ Jackson,  Jan 29, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

One day, amidst my melancholy generated from missing my family, I decided that I wanted to offer an on-line bulletin board for my aunts, uncles, cousins, etc., to post photos and stories about their family as a means to keep in touch more often than the annual holiday card. I researched several web based family sites. My Great Big Family offered multiple family pages, a family tree maker, and many other features which were intriguing, so I thought I’d give it a shot.

In addition to the updates of our living relatives, everyone has also contributed stories, photos and documents of those long lost relatives which has helped immensely with our genealogy research. After we get a good pile of trinkets; one of us will write a story about that great-great-great-grandparent or grand uncle or cousin and post it on a family page, which gets everyone talking. Our family history has provided bragging rights for some, and fun gossip for others. I hear them say “Did you read that…” or “Did you see that story about…” And they’ll reference our family site. Overall, it’s been great fun to spark such an interest and to our pleasant surprise, it’s brought a few family members closer together.

I’m not a tech savvy person, so any time I needed help, I’d write to My Great Big Family and they’d walk me through the steps to do the things I wanted to do to make our family site sparkle. My Great Big Family continues to make enhancements and add features, all of which are appreciated. A few of the suggestions made by me or my family members were also incorporated. Between the school age kids who are referencing our site for a school project or my aunts and uncles, who are all in their 70’s and 80’s; our site is enjoyed by many generations. I’ve referred genealogists who are tracking my same ancestral lines to our family site for stories and documents, and they have nothing but great things to say.

I’ve been a member of MGBF since 2007 and look forward to many more years of internet family gatherings.

Thank you, MGBF, for being a part of our family!

AJ Jackson

Biggest Pro: Willing to assist and listen to the needs of members
Biggest Con: A little time consuming to add people to the family tree, if not uploading a GEDCOM

My Great Big Family Review by Thomas Haynes,  Jan 10, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Awesome program for families that want a private place to document and share their family history. The online family tree features are very impressive and comprehensive. But this family website is more than just a place to keep your family history, They have incorporated just about every imaginable social feature you could want to keep in touch with your family. Very well done. Two thumbs up!

My Great Big Family Review by Greg Ross,  Nov 15, 2011

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Loving all the new interactive features they just added. Definately worth looking at.

My Great Big Family Review by Debbie Murphy,  Oct 31, 2011

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Have been a customer for years. Wanted to say we have been very pleased with the product and the service. They just released a bunch of great new features that have taken the interactivity of our family website to a whole new level. Facebook is fun and all but kind of for the moment type place. If you are really looking for a permanent place to privately interact with just family, share, and preserve your family history this site is the cat’s meow. My family loves using this service and they love it even more now. Thanks MyGreatBigFamily.com!

Biggest Pro: Safe & secure

My Great Big Family Review by Bill Hughes,  Oct 8, 2011

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

We have a big family reunion coming up and wanted a place online for our family to connect and share our family history. After reviewing numerous family web site options, we chose mygreatbigfamily to host our family website and family tree. They offer a free trial that we took for a test drive before we purchased. I was pleasantly surprised to find my site active and online within 2 hours of placing my order even though it says it can take up to 48 hours. I am very impressed with all the detail that they put into the design of this product. Support requests have been answered promptly and thoroughly. That’s it for now. Back to building our online family tree.

Biggest Pro: Security, features

My Great Big Family Review by Benny Higgenbotham Jr.,  Sep 27, 2011

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Our family website has been running smoothly since the problem in February 2011 was reported to your site. Please remove the negative review (if possible), We are more than pleased with My Great Big Family’s handling of the situation. Thank you for your assistance.

Biggest Pro: Loads of features.
Biggest Con: Teaching/motivating family members to enter info… (like they do on Facebook).

(((I’ve removed the other review for you. — Louis)))

My Great Big Family Review by Andrea Flemming,  Sep 15, 2011

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

My family was looking for a more private alternative to services like Facebook. This site offers more features than any other service we reviewed. The geneology / family tree features are awesome. Service has been prompt and professional. Kudos to MyGreatBigFamily for providing such a great product and service.

Biggest Pro: Many features

My Great Big Family Review by John B,  Sep 8, 2011

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Love it.! Just what my family was looking for in a private family web site. Lots of great features. The geneology features are very extensive. Support has always been prompt and thorough. Thanks for a great product that our family loves using.

Biggest Pro: Lots of great features

My Great Big Family Review by Gail Summers,  Mar 22, 2011

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Our family started using the service 2 years ago. The genealogy features they have built into the site are very extensive and very well done. We have over 1000 members in our online family tree that we maintain on the site. One thing we love about the service is that we can all have our own family homepage within the site at no additional charge. The site is loaded with many other features. We also like the privacy aspects of the service versus other social networks. We have never had any problems with the service and have always recieved timely responses to our questions. They handle support requests via email but will make arrangements to have support call you if they cannot answer or resolve via email.

We recommend this service and have recommended MyGreatBigFamily to our friends who also enjoy using the service as much as we do.

My Great Big Family Review by Marie G,  Feb 25, 2011

Not Rated

I have been contacting them for the past several weeks to find out more information about there site. I cannot get anyone to respond to my inquires. While there site seems to have almost all of the features I am intrested in not being able to contact someone and get a response is disconcerting.

My Great Big Family Review by Carol Turner,  Dec 10, 2010

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

My family loves using the program. I can’t belive all the features they pack into this. I feel it provides my family with a much safer environment to interact with family than sites like Facebook. The online family tree / family explorer features are super! Support has been prompt and professional.

Biggest Pro: Great features
Biggest Con: none

My Great Big Family Review by Sare Largay,  Nov 21, 2010

Not Rated

I was wowed by their website, but disappointed by the customer service. I made my purchase 48 hours ago and have heard nothing in response. The website was not set up within 48 hours as the response email to my purchase indicated, and despite three attempts to contact them, I have not yet received a response. I was very excited about this site and had hoped to be up and running to present this as a gift. I am hoping to hear from them soon.

Biggest Pro: It looks like an amazing tool for the family to use to stay connected
Biggest Con: Im still waiting for it to be set up, and no one has responded to my inquriries as to why it has not been completed as promised.

(((Followup: My Great Big Family contacted the writer and tried to help correct the problem. When the writer was unresponsive they issued a full refund. — Louis)))

My Great Big Family Review by Gene Schreiner,  Aug 25, 2010

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

My Great Big Family support contacted me soon after I entered the two negative reviews. They had the website setup and I began reviewing it right away. It looks great. What I said in the reviews is true, but now that I have access to the website I wish I could remove them. Maybe an Administrator can.

Biggest Pro: Lots of functions
Biggest Con: Lot to learn to administer

(((I’ve removed the other two reviews for you. — Louis)))