Geni

by Geni, Inc. (David Sacks, Alan Braverman)
Allows families to collaboratively build their family tree. When the user adds a relative’s email address, that relative is invited to join the tree. Your family’s information is kept private as you can only search for people who are in your family. When separate trees begin to overlap, they can be merged, with the potential of producing a world family tree. In November 2012, Geni was purchased by MyHeritage.

Free • Subscription • Online • Full Featured
http://www.geni.com/
Overall1651.74 out of 51.74 out of 51.74 out of 51.74 out of 51.74 out of 5 1.74
2014161.56 out of 51.56 out of 51.56 out of 51.56 out of 51.56 out of 5 1.56
2013211.72 out of 51.72 out of 51.72 out of 51.72 out of 51.72 out of 5 1.72
Earlier1281.89 out of 51.89 out of 51.89 out of 51.89 out of 51.89 out of 5 1.89

Add Your Review of Geni

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

165 Reviews of Geni     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Geni Review by LOIS,  23 hrs ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

FOR 6 YEARS THIS WAS THE BEST EVER. AS THE SR FAMILY MEMBER I HAD ALL THE RECORDS IN AND IT WAS PERFECT FOR MY FAMILY. THEN THE BOTTOM FELL OUT. I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO CHANGE E MAIL ADDRESS DUE TO CHANGE IN SERVICE. NOW DOES NOT ACCEPT EITHER THE OLD OR THE NEW.
FOR PAST 5 MONTHS MY NOTIFICATIONS ON LINE SHOW OTHER FAMILY MEMBERS BUT NOT THE DIRECT (MY CHILDREN) EVENTS.
I HAVE TRIED TO CONTACT CUSTOMER SERVICE SEVERAL TIMES.
GUESS WHAT. THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO RESPONSE
SHAME. IT WAS GOOD. NOT ANY MORE.
TERRIBLE WASTE OF ALL MY TIME AND EFFORT
LW

Biggest Con: NO BODY TO CONTACT

Geni Review by ted cohen,  5 days ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

geni only wants $$$

Geni Review by Maria Angeles O´Donnell,  Sep 22, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Geni allows 8 time removed family to get into my tree and add and remove what ever they see fit just because this particular relative is Pro. I don´t have a problem with him adding to the generation of my grandparents but he is adding to my first cousins and their children. Does he takes into consideration that these members may not want to be on this website and that is the reason for not being updated.

What is a family member? When somebody that is far, far family member is allowed to change, add, remove, merge information that I have put into my family tree it is not right. Maybe the problem started when MyHeritage bought it.
Then I cannot login Geni with my Windows 7. Why? I have spoken to my server and finally the server said that was a problem with Geni.

Biggest Pro: at one time the volunteers were great
Biggest Con: Far way relatives can change the information I had put in my tree

Geni Review by Nordic,  Sep 21, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Geni is super expensive with zero quality control. Attempts to communicate with them takes weeks. As a Pro user I attempted to download some gedcom files, which took a long time, they claimed they didn’t know I was a Pro user. The pictures that I uploaded on personal family appeared in other peoples files, and the sites the Geni owns. Even though they are owned by the same people, you cannot access the information stolen from you without paying a huge fee. I’d not join, I’d not put any information on their site, nor would I ever recommend them.

Biggest Pro: At the beginning it looks good.
Biggest Con: Poor quality control, customer service doesn’t exist, high price.

Geni Review by Glenys Kirby,  Aug 4, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

If you join Geni you become the PREDATOR and are STALKED my FOLLOWERS they then merge your site and they become the MANAGER Lets not forget the CURATORS who keep sabotaging your Profiles. And then there is the RELATIONSIP PATH of those following you. One minute they are your 18th Cousin and when you start another line they become related through their ex wife CONFUSED. It gets worse They then allow FOLLOWERS on the living and when you start DELETING the living They send an Email saying you are MISUSING the programme and then LOCK YOU OUT. A couple of weeks later they then CLOSE your access. IT doesn’t end there they put a another person in as Manager. My Niece who was invited by me to see the site is now the Manager. And Now you have to Join the company they merged with MY HERITAGE to access the information. Stick with ANCESTRY.COM

Biggest Pro: Nothing
Biggest Con: You cant contact them but they can monitor you and then contact you and they do not respond when you respond to them

Geni Review by lp,  Jun 21, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Stick with Ancestry.com . I tried geni for a day. the free subscription is useless. the search is terrible, does not allow detailed searching without adding people to your tree. Even using the general search by name, I did not find the people I was looking for even though they have records available on ancestry.com. i then came here and read all the privacy issues. deleted my account and small tree immediately.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: confusing, bad search, limited information in free membership

Geni Review by Randy Schoenberg,  Jun 6, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Here’s my answer to Geni’s critics. http://schoenblog.com/?p=471

Geni Review by Mark Solomons,  Jun 3, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

No gedcom upload or download facility
There are crazy users trying to build the biggest tree in the world. They steal your family’s details and photos and add them to Geni and refuse to take them down.
The misuse email address never replies.
It’s worse than a virus, invades your privacy and should be closed down for contravening laws.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Stealing your private information, listing living relatives as dead, stealing your family’s photos, refusing to respect your privacy

Geni Review by Jim Symon,  May 23, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Geni would be great if they hadn’t recently (MyHeritage?) decided to price themselves in the stratosphere where only the most ardent genealogy buffs would be interested. The free version is crippleware.

Biggest Con: price

Geni Review by GARY MATUSKA,  Apr 14, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

free service ok but geni pro not worth the money i tried the free trial and canceled before the trial period was up but they charged me $119.40 any way. their links do not work and there is no prominent “contact us” portal. some have mentioned curators but i can’t find these either.

Biggest Pro: free tree out there for all to see and to access
Biggest Con: very limited access to subscription help, no portals or links to deal with business issues

Geni Review by LD,  Mar 17, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Lets be real here..my SOURCED information and PICTURES is what is shown on the net when people do a search for genealogical info (since I am forced to make it public), it is what entices them to join Geni—to obtain that information–the information that I took time to research, source and place into the ridiculously flawed “One World Tree”. So, should Geni pay me a % of the fee they charge? What does Geni actually contribute to someone like me? Someone who just wants to have a home for my tree? I have NO use for “smart matches” or random “merges” that take more time for me fix than actual research.

I understand the concept of a “One World Tree”..problem is most people copy and paste WRONG and UNDOCUMENTED information that sneaks into MY SOURCED and DOCUMENTED trees. I have people married to brothers, sons, and sisters…duplicates galore with no way to remove them; Public profiles I want to keep private.

To be clear, when I joined, the “World Tree”, public profiles and random merges were not in effect. Policy changes “mid-stream” left many of us confused at best and angry at worst.

Biggest Pro: Curators are awesome–these people are VOLUNTEERS–not paid Geni employees
Biggest Con: Site not user friendly (ie can’t easily fix mistakes) random merges with UNDOCUMENTED, UNSOURCED and WRONG information

Geni Review by David,  Feb 2, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

The question is, what are the mechanisms for resolving or representing conflicts between overlapping family trees? How is uncertainty represented?

Geni Review by Tiffany R.,  Jan 31, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I love Geni. I think it’s one of the best family tree websites out there today. Its very easy to use and the best part is that you get to collaborate with an amazing community of users. I had been working on my family tree for several years now alone, with very little interest from my family. Once I stumbled upon Geni and starting building my tree, all of a sudden I found myself with a wealth of information I never knew existed. Their goal is to create a single, family tree of the entire world. With all the horrible duplicates and incorrect information out there on the internet on sites like Ancestry, I was at first was weary of this. But, after a few years, I can now see the benefits of it. One of the biggest problems with family trees online is that wrong information is copied over and over. Not something you have to worry about with Geni since their goal is not to have any duplicates. All duplicates are merged into one profile. People can correct mistakes as they find them and add new information too. Everyone gets to benefit from the work of others! Curators help maintain the world tree and they are extremely helpful. They are part of the reason that makes Geni’s family tree so great.

They introduced Record Matches this past year and it has been amazing. I’ve found so many matching historical records to my tree and it’s easy to confirm and connect to their profiles. Unfortunately, it does require a data subscription to access it, but it’s totally worth it.

If you’re looking to fully control your tree then I strongly suggest you go somewhere else. And I hope people who are reading these reviews will keep in mind that many of the reviewers are trying to use Geni for something that it was not intended for. In my opinion, it is an unfair assessment of what Geni offers. Geni is perfect for what it has set out to do, a collaborative world tree. Those not interested in sharing their tree should definitely go somewhere else. To those reviewers I say this - it’s not them, it’s you.

P.S. I also read people having trouble with their subscriptions. Customer service does exist. It took me two seconds to find contact info in their Help Center. I got a speedy reply to my refund request after I forgot to cancel my free trial.

Biggest Pro: collaborative world tree
Biggest Con: difficult to fix wrong merges without the help of a curator

Geni Review by Brittany Anderson,  Jan 26, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I signed up for geni just for the sake or organizing my family tree online somewhere easy. I quickly realized that while it’s free, which is nice, it’s truly a site for clickophiles. Your profiles can merge with others, without your permission sometimes - which can be very annoying. I’ve had multiple times where I’ve gone to see that my profile merged with someone else’s and the two had extremely contradicting information. Normally I’d see this as an opportunity to discover more, so I would ask for their sources, since they did not provide them readily on the profiles, but unfortunately none of the information they gave had a reliable source. It was always random unreliable sites that gave absolutely no citations. Documentation is key in genealogy, but many people on geni have yet to figure this out. Some people just want to believe their ancestors did certain things or were certain people, but won’t accept the documents that state otherwise. I’d be fine with their living in denial if it didn’t impact my own online tree.

Biggest Pro: free
Biggest Con: clickophiles everywhere

Geni Review by vance,  Jan 8, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

don’t want cant find a way to cancel it all lies

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: money con

Geni Review by murgatroid,  Jan 4, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Do not touch Geni with a barge pole!
Truly wish I’d seen the comments here before dipping my toe in this cesspool.
Data-thieves.
Impossible to fully delete my account / tree - had to go through each profile one by one deleting the content & images - no guarantee that they won’t simply ignore my deletions. (Guess they have backups). Some of the profiles of close relatives can still be seen via google search.
i.e., massive privacy issues.
Disgusting organisation peopled by *Big World Tree* evangelists.
Scope for a class action here.
Mea culpa for not reading the sensible misgivings below.

Biggest Pro: zero
Biggest Con: A VERY big con!

Geni Review by Wes,  Dec 8, 2013

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I’ve been a Pro user for some time. You can get family information entered, but customer service doesn’t exist. Pictures will mysteriously get incorporated to another site they own that you cannot access. Keep away.

Biggest Pro: Not much
Biggest Con: Slow, and no customer service.

Geni Review by JH Moore,  Nov 13, 2013

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I joined and thought it was a good site, I then became a PRO customer and almost overnight my family grew to 5000. I had no idea that everyone on Geni would have access to my tree. I have delete as much as I can and would like to delete my account if I could only find a way to do so.

Biggest Pro: Can’t think of one
Biggest Con: Everyone has access to your account and can merge, or change profiles.

Geni Review by JW,  Nov 9, 2013

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have been using Geni since 2009 and I have found it to be a great way to connect with distant family members and work together as a team to build the one world tree. With the addition of record matches from Myheritage you can easily add missing family members with the very accurate matching system.

There are a great team of contributors working in all areas of the world, and projects allow us to focus on certain areas. No other genealogy site has the depth of information in a single tree as Geni does. A lot of work has been done to make the historical part of the tree as accurate as possible, there’s still a lot of work to do but we are getting there. Geni curators can turn profiles into “master profiles” and lock correct data in place so it cannot be change to false data.

For a site with over 8 million users there is surprisingly little duplication, and fake profiles can be quickly reported and deleted by customer service.

1. For those below about being able to Google your name, were you LOGGED OUT at the time? you can change your settings so you cannot be Goggled, and non claimed living profiles cannot be made public and are not searchable on Google.

2. Those complaining they cant delete info, there is a little X in the corner of each profile that allows you to delete a profile.

All in all 4 stars. Needs some improvements here and there but overall a good site. But if you have the attitude of THIS IS MY TREE DON’T TOUCH and can’t work with others this isn’t the site for you.

Peace.

Biggest Pro: Collaboration with other users created a dynamic family tree which is always growing and improving
Biggest Con: needs more users to become active collaborators

Geni Review by James,  Oct 13, 2013

Not Rated

Can not get on…………..anymore………………….help

Biggest Pro: good site
Biggest Con: locked the tree

Show 21-40 »