Geni

by Geni, Inc. (David Sacks, Alan Braverman)
Allows families to collaboratively build their family tree. When the user adds a relative’s email address, that relative is invited to join the tree. Your family’s information is kept private as you can only search for people who are in your family. When separate trees begin to overlap, they can be merged, with the potential of producing a world family tree. In November 2012, Geni was purchased by MyHeritage.

Free • Subscription • Online • Full Featured
http://www.geni.com/
Overall1941.96 out of 51.96 out of 51.96 out of 51.96 out of 51.96 out of 5 1.96
201692.38 out of 52.38 out of 52.38 out of 52.38 out of 52.38 out of 5 2.38
2015161.98 out of 51.98 out of 51.98 out of 51.98 out of 51.98 out of 5 1.98
Earlier1691.74 out of 51.74 out of 51.74 out of 51.74 out of 51.74 out of 5 1.74

Add Your Review of Geni

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

194 Reviews of Geni     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Geni Review by Eugene Buell,  Jul 11, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Complex and way to expensive.

Biggest Pro: What the site once was like.
Biggest Con: Price

Geni Review by TAREA,  Apr 4, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Paid subscription is useless. You get nothing as far as access to any actual sources. Waste of money!!!!

Biggest Pro: Easy to use
Biggest Con: Paid membership is worthless

Geni Review by Dean,  Mar 6, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I did a lot of work in 2007 that I saved on Geni. I admit I was using a free account, but the issue was that they later decided to limit the size of free accounts to an even smaller size and I lost most of my work. To make matters worse, the backup that I made using their backup tools is not compatible with anything. Nearly all my work is lost and my backup is worthless.

Biggest Pro: None really.
Biggest Con: Not really a serioius geniology site. They do not take preservation of your data seriously.

Geni Review by Susan (Shelton) Scharfenstein,  Feb 10, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I am listed as deceased on Geni’s website. How can I get this misinformation deleted? It’s extremely upsetting. Found this misinformation on Google.

Geni Review by Stewart Lake 4th And Last Husband Of Constance Frances Marie Lake (A.K.A. Veronica Lake),  Jan 24, 2016

Not Rated

Geni, Ancestry.com, Findagrave.com, Findadeath.com, MyHeritage.com and all the rest. Have my deceased wife Constance Frances Marie Lake (A.K.A. Veronica Lake) consorting with a sordid cast of characters.
Each of them claim that my wife was born in 1919. And that she married a robert carleton-munro in broward county florida may 29, 1972.
If my wife who married me in Stockton, California on December 22, 1971. And whom gave birth to our twin children January 22, 1972. Had traveled 3000 miles to Miami Florida marrying a robert carleton-munro May 29, 1972 as all these sites claim. She would have been arrested and jailed for bigamy by the State Of California.
My Heritage.com has my wife married to Gary Cooper with children. If all you nice people would like to see how all these sites publish false and misleading information. Type into your computers Stewart and Constance Lake’s marriage certificate. And you will see a State Of California issued marriage certificate for us. And if you will also type in Constance Lake’s 1973 obituary.jpg you will see whom my wife was actually married to at the time of her death. And you will know for a fact. That each of these sites make up some of their stories.

Thank you,

Stewart Lake

4th And Last Husband Of
Constance Frances Marie Lake
(A.K.A. Veronica Lake)

Biggest Pro: NONE
Biggest Con: ALL INFO ON MY WIFE IS INCORRECT!!!!

Geni Review by Paul Berger,  Jan 14, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I entered my name and password which I know, Geni would not accept. I clicked in finding my password and entered my email address. I was told you would email me my password. You never emailed me my password. My email address: xxxxxxxxx@gmail. The password I have been using: xxxxxxxx’ You would not accept that. Will you please solve mt problem?

Geni Review by Randy Schoenberg,  Jan 8, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am not an employee of Geni, but I really love the program and think it is by far the best tool we have for genealogy. It really pains me to see people who obviously don’t know much about Geni, or genealogy, write such negative reviews. If you want to see why Geni is in fact the best program for genealogy, read by blog posts at http://schoenblog.com/?p=712 and http://schoenblog.com/?p=471

Biggest Pro: Collaboration
Biggest Con: Some people just don’t understand how great it is

Geni Review by Mitchell,  Jan 7, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is by far the best genealogy site I have used — not for digging up sources, but for building the actual tree. That’s because the collaborative approach works so well. The edges of your tree meet other people’s trees, and it’s easy to combine them here.

Yes, there are mistakes, but there are mistakes on people’s private trees too (they just don’t know it because other people haven’t looked at them). And mistakes can be easily corrected on Geni.

I have expanded my tree hugely on Geni, and I have met a number of distant relatives who I would not have otherwise had the opportunity to contact or work with. All the people I have been in touch with are serious about sourcing things and keeping the data accurate.

Biggest Pro: Collaboration
Biggest Con: Source documents for marriages are attached to the two spouses individually, rather than to the marriage event.

Geni Review by Alan Ashton Mann,  Jan 2, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have found another link who is on MyHeritage - can I link to her?

Best regards.

Alan Mann

Geni Review by Theo,  Dec 23, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

A not reliable site, just usable for hints and pointers!”

A site for hints and pointers, but not usable as base for the results of your own research!
Every day thousands of users add incorrect information and relations, caused by the daily sent hints with profiles and trees from MyHeritage. Every madman can make his own tree on MyHeritage and unfortunately are there many persons who phantasize ancestors to look important. All this $#*! is copied to Geni!
There doesn’t exist an instruction how to work on the site, even a part of the curators who are working on Geni doesn’t know how everything is working.
Geni had a longtime a very bad management and bad customer service for basic users, now there is a new CEO, who is an excellent software engeneer, but caused by the lack of competent support, he isn’t able to improve the Geni site untill the quality of other genealogy sites. Customer service is now more worse than it allready was.
As free basic user there are too many limitations and too many popups with requests to upgrade to become a paying user.
The search tool works very bad and continious annoying with requests popups to upgrade. It is easier to search via Google with addition site:Geni.com than to search as a Geni user!
For a collaboration site there are too many private limitations and too many duplicates. Very difficult and annoying working if you get every try the upgrade to paying user popup

Geni doesn’t accept any critical comment about the site, the customerservice or the management. Geni has regarding that the mentality of North Korea! Every free user, paying user and even every curator who publish negative comment will be suspended and indefinitely blocked to work on Geni !

Biggest Pro: More than 70,000,000 by bloodrelation or marriage with another connected profiles, dynamic treeview, some kind of a relationpath/lineage counting, multilangual, social and research forum for users, projectcollaboration,
Biggest Con: Unreliable profiles, mostly no or wrong sources for the data and relations, easy vandalism that can ruin your inputs, poor software for projects editing, poor search-engine, bad profile displays.

Geni Review by Ocky,  Sep 8, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I did not find Geni very easy to use. The charge to use a basic genealogy site is not worth it. Try other free sites and you will get more features.

I will say the tree graphic is quite good looking.

Biggest Pro: Not bad looking
Biggest Con: Hidden costs, Privacy is not respected

Geni Review by Michelle,  Aug 28, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

This program is too difficult to use. I made several mistakes in posting information and could not remove the information.

Biggest Pro: Didn’t find any
Biggest Con: The manner in which parents, grand parents is posted is very confusing.

Geni Review by stuart small,  Jul 25, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have noticed a mistake with geni regarding my father harry small he was born 13th april 1926 . some one put 1928 which is wrong

Biggest Con: how can anybody make a mistake

Geni Review by David,  Jun 19, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Dear Geni, please tell me how I can remove all the family tree data that I have posted on your site…
Today, you told me that I am related to ” BenAbu (Seidman) is your second cousin twice removed’s wife’s fourth cousin once removed’s husband’s sister’s husband’s first cousin once removed.”
.
Not only is that INCORRECT, (You show her related to me via my Maternal Grandfather, but she is, in fact related to me via my Maternal Grandmother) and you have gone thru an idiotically convoluted path to tell me about my (half) 1st cousin, Once removed… She is the daughter of my Grandmother’s half sister…

Biggest Pro: Nothing
Biggest Con: Everything

Geni Review by Jane,  Jun 11, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Just found my family tree already done. However my father has gained 3 non existent siblings!!!

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: security

Geni Review by mike,  May 19, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I just joined your tree. Unfortunately, I can’t correspond with others on your tree because I haven’t enlarged my tree to connect.
One of your members either has learned something I don’t know, or they’ve made a mistake on their connections.
That seems to me to need to be explored and discussed outside of your tree structure, but I’m unable to reach that person due to the structure of your system.
Mike

Geni Review by David Rosner,  May 18, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I am sorry to say that I am leaving Geni for many reasons… some of them almost made me give up a 42 year hobby of Genealogy.
.
If you wish to contact me you can find me at JewishGen (#5478) or Ancestry. On those sites, no one can delete or edit without your permission. I will gladly send out GEDCOMs to those who believe that we are related. From there we can discuss how to merge and edit trees, once we determine a relationship… . The reasons I am leaving Geni are listed below.
.
1) Horrible customer service, as relating to the issues below. .
.
2) People without management capabilities being able to just “willy-nilly” delete profiles that I have uploaded.
.
In the last 3 years, I have gotten e-mails stating nearly 400 times that “A Profile you manage has been deleted by (XXXXX Individual)”. It is quite disconcerting to see 42 years of Genealogy work disappear, bit by bit… (I was first introduced to genealogy when asked to do a simple family tree in 3rd grade, in late 1972… at the age of 8, and I am now 50). Those of you who know me, know that NOTHING is simple with me)
.
My SON’s profile was deleted by a person from INDIA that I could have no conceivable relationship to, going back THOUSANDS of years…
.
A Cousin, who was angry that I had posted maiden names of DEAD PEOPLE, felt that it was somehow “harming” HIS family, and deleted 20 profiles that he did NOT have management over, was warned about this, by Geni customer service, and then proceeded to delete 17 MORE profiles (that he did NOT manage) before I was able to block him.
.
The simplest fix for this was to require that the person wishing to delete a profile must ASK the manager of that profile FIRST… isn’t THAT what COLLABORATION is all about? But Geni refuses to do this, and has shown that the definition of “Collaboration” is allowing “Willy-Nilly” deletions… what is the point of even having management of profiles…?
.
I am very open to making data more accurate… but please, tell me where the errors are, rather than just deleting my submission and replacing it with your own…
.
3) I had acquired a low-level stalker, who was constantly e-mailing me about errors on my tree (for about 6
months), regarding RECENT people that were mostly still alive, and I had personally spoken to regarding the accuracy of the data, and claiming to be related (by marriage) on BOTH Maternal (Lithuanian) AND Paternal (Romanian) sides of my family. I know, this IS possible, but unlikely. Once I called her out on this, she faded away…
.
4) I have had more than one Geni volunteer curator tell me that I should just “deal with it” regarding the un-
authorized deletions, because “Geni is a “Collaborative Project, and because I submitted my data, now it was owned by Geni, and anyone could edit (or delete) it… (except myself…)
.
5) I submitted well over 8000 names, in the earliest days of Geni, now, because I refuse to pay for Geni, I cannot see all the data I have submitted (unless I become a “Pro” subscriber, I am limited to seeing 1000 names in my tree).
.
6) I seem to have been added to the giant project without my knowledge or consent. As such, I am getting
bombarded with messages about how people that have NO BLOOD CONNECTION to me are now my cousins… Including the messages from one VERY PROLIFIC user/curator who has also told me that I CANNOT “undo my involvement” with Geni, He is a “cousin of a spouse of a cousin”, so that means he is NOT blood related to me (at least not within the last 350 years), but yet I see his messages that tell me that I am “Great Nephew, Thrice removed of (Someone’s) third cousin’s spouse’s ex-brother in-law’s grand- father’s brother” (or some other equally ridiculous way of telling me something I don’t care about (unless a blood relation can actually be traced), (but it’s in the the giant tree)… And I have seen some seriously convoluted ways to tell me that a “non-blood” related person was related to me by several distant marriages…
.

I only want to know about BLOOD RELATIVES and their immediate spouses… I don’t even track the names of the parents of spouses that marry into my family tree (unless it’s a cousin marriage)… I really don’t care if I am related by a convoluted path of 155 marriages to Jesus Christ… REALLY… I DON’T CARE… If I AM a “Blood Relative”, show me how I am connected, and I’ll be REALLY impressed…
.
7) I presume that Geni has fixed this, but I might be wrong… when I submitted my data, Geni didn’t seem to
understand divorces properly… and the Website sent out an e-mail congratulating a cousin on her 30th anniversary… then I got another e-mail from her new spouse (of 20 years, threatening ME with physical violence, because the anniversary reminder dredged up a bad episode in the cousin’s life when she was briefly married to an physically abusive husband for 5 years, then divorced, then happily re-married to this new person).
.
I had started to delete MY OWN submissions, in order to eliminate my presence on Geni and it appears that because I was involuntarily added to the giant project, some of you are saying that you are also now seeing people disappear, for this, I apologize… if you want to acquire management of selected profiles, I’ll gladly give over those profiles, all you have to do is ask me… unless, of course the other option is for others to continue deleting my submissions, and to replace them with their own… . It now appears that I will have to just stand-by and watch as my Geni profiles are deleted, or edited (for the good or bad) by people who don’t have management over them… I will not be “fixing any errors” that are created any more, as it has become pointless… so, I cannot vouch for the accuracy of anything that “remains” on Geni .

Thanks Geni, for almost ruining a 42 year-long hobby of Genealogy…==

Biggest Pro: It really COULD be a neat service…
Biggest Con: see all the above in my review…

Geni Review by Don Fulton,  Apr 22, 2015

Not Rated

This site is similar to Ancestry and/or Genealogy.com whereas they claim to merge some of the world together and ask for submission of your tree, then turn around and charge for a copy of the information. Secondly they should post their monthly and annual price for the service vs. waiting until you provide all kinds of information BEFORE THEY MENTION the free trial period. Most people don’t have a count down calendar at their PC and once you forget to cancel you’re on the hook. I have over 13,000 members on my tree and there is no mention of down loading a GEDCOM file to save time vs. individually entering your information.

Biggest Pro: Availability
Biggest Con: Hidden costs

Geni Review by Casey Lee Anderson,  Apr 10, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Would be better if you could make yourself a curator without having to have a geni pro account, also would be better if it was completely free but because deads peoples birth,marriage,divorce,death records are public records easily accessed in the courthouses for free but if you want copies that’ll cost money just wish they had DNA testing in the olden days that way you can have a record of it.

Biggest Pro: good to use
Biggest Con: hard to figure out if something’s amiss with identical profiles

Geni Review by Mark,  Mar 26, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I find all our data all over other sites without permission.

No customer service to resolve family data security issues and concerns.

Totally unacceptable. Stay away.

Biggest Pro: system functionality
Biggest Con: data secuity

Show 21-40 »