Geni

by Geni, Inc. (David Sacks, Alan Braverman)
Allows families to collaboratively build their family tree. When the user adds a relative’s email address, that relative is invited to join the tree. Your family’s information is kept private as you can only search for people who are in your family. When separate trees begin to overlap, they can be merged, with the potential of producing a world family tree. In November 2012, Geni was purchased by MyHeritage.

Free • Subscription • Online • Full Featured
http://www.geni.com/
Overall1981.76 out of 51.76 out of 51.76 out of 51.76 out of 51.76 out of 5 1.76
201731 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 1.00
2016102.14 out of 52.14 out of 52.14 out of 52.14 out of 52.14 out of 5 2.14
Earlier1851.83 out of 51.83 out of 51.83 out of 51.83 out of 51.83 out of 5 1.83

Add Your Review of Geni

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

198 Reviews of Geni     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Geni Review by Arthur,  Jun 18, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

After geni was purchased by MyHeritage everything went wrong.
No actions at bug reporting, no action on slow response, no action on relationship calculator problems.
Who’s still paying for geni.
Stop now.

Geni Review by Markku,  Jun 18, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I think geni doesn’t have any active management anymore.
The problem’s are increasing day by day, without any action or response.
Is this just a moneymaker site.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: relationship calculator, slow response

Geni Review by Cheryl,  May 1, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have had several people just take over managing profiles I manage, this should not be allowed, and I did not give permission for it, some Russian that I have no idea who he is, and don’t think he is in any way related. Security is just lax on this site, and half the time you cannot delete profiles and takes way too long to do it.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: security

Geni Review by Alvin Klughart,  Nov 23, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

You allowed someone to post false information about me and other members of my family.
I’am not deceased . My sister is not deceased. They misspelled my mother maiden name.

I don’t know this person who posted this stuff, without permission. I don’t know why they posted it, and I don’t know how they know our names.
I am not deceased. My sister is not deceased, and this is causing problems.
Legal action may be forthcoming .

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: none

Geni Review by Eugene Buell,  Jul 11, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Complex and way to expensive.

Biggest Pro: What the site once was like.
Biggest Con: Price

Geni Review by TAREA,  Apr 4, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Paid subscription is useless. You get nothing as far as access to any actual sources. Waste of money!!!!

Biggest Pro: Easy to use
Biggest Con: Paid membership is worthless

Geni Review by Dean,  Mar 6, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I did a lot of work in 2007 that I saved on Geni. I admit I was using a free account, but the issue was that they later decided to limit the size of free accounts to an even smaller size and I lost most of my work. To make matters worse, the backup that I made using their backup tools is not compatible with anything. Nearly all my work is lost and my backup is worthless.

Biggest Pro: None really.
Biggest Con: Not really a serioius geniology site. They do not take preservation of your data seriously.

Geni Review by Susan (Shelton) Scharfenstein,  Feb 10, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I am listed as deceased on Geni’s website. How can I get this misinformation deleted? It’s extremely upsetting. Found this misinformation on Google.

Geni Review by Stewart Lake 4th And Last Husband Of Constance Frances Marie Lake (A.K.A. Veronica Lake),  Jan 24, 2016

Not Rated

Geni, Ancestry.com, Findagrave.com, Findadeath.com, MyHeritage.com and all the rest. Have my deceased wife Constance Frances Marie Lake (A.K.A. Veronica Lake) consorting with a sordid cast of characters.
Each of them claim that my wife was born in 1919. And that she married a robert carleton-munro in broward county florida may 29, 1972.
If my wife who married me in Stockton, California on December 22, 1971. And whom gave birth to our twin children January 22, 1972. Had traveled 3000 miles to Miami Florida marrying a robert carleton-munro May 29, 1972 as all these sites claim. She would have been arrested and jailed for bigamy by the State Of California.
My Heritage.com has my wife married to Gary Cooper with children. If all you nice people would like to see how all these sites publish false and misleading information. Type into your computers Stewart and Constance Lake’s marriage certificate. And you will see a State Of California issued marriage certificate for us. And if you will also type in Constance Lake’s 1973 obituary.jpg you will see whom my wife was actually married to at the time of her death. And you will know for a fact. That each of these sites make up some of their stories.

Thank you,

Stewart Lake

4th And Last Husband Of
Constance Frances Marie Lake
(A.K.A. Veronica Lake)

Biggest Pro: NONE
Biggest Con: ALL INFO ON MY WIFE IS INCORRECT!!!!

Geni Review by Paul Berger,  Jan 14, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I entered my name and password which I know, Geni would not accept. I clicked in finding my password and entered my email address. I was told you would email me my password. You never emailed me my password. My email address: xxxxxxxxx@gmail. The password I have been using: xxxxxxxx’ You would not accept that. Will you please solve mt problem?

Geni Review by Randy Schoenberg,  Jan 8, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am not an employee of Geni, but I really love the program and think it is by far the best tool we have for genealogy. It really pains me to see people who obviously don’t know much about Geni, or genealogy, write such negative reviews. If you want to see why Geni is in fact the best program for genealogy, read by blog posts at http://schoenblog.com/?p=712 and http://schoenblog.com/?p=471

Biggest Pro: Collaboration
Biggest Con: Some people just don’t understand how great it is

Geni Review by Mitchell,  Jan 7, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is by far the best genealogy site I have used — not for digging up sources, but for building the actual tree. That’s because the collaborative approach works so well. The edges of your tree meet other people’s trees, and it’s easy to combine them here.

Yes, there are mistakes, but there are mistakes on people’s private trees too (they just don’t know it because other people haven’t looked at them). And mistakes can be easily corrected on Geni.

I have expanded my tree hugely on Geni, and I have met a number of distant relatives who I would not have otherwise had the opportunity to contact or work with. All the people I have been in touch with are serious about sourcing things and keeping the data accurate.

Biggest Pro: Collaboration
Biggest Con: Source documents for marriages are attached to the two spouses individually, rather than to the marriage event.

Geni Review by Alan Ashton Mann,  Jan 2, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have found another link who is on MyHeritage - can I link to her?

Best regards.

Alan Mann

Geni Review by Theo,  Dec 23, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

A not reliable site, just usable for hints and pointers!”

A site for hints and pointers, but not usable as base for the results of your own research!
Every day thousands of users add incorrect information and relations, caused by the daily sent hints with profiles and trees from MyHeritage. Every madman can make his own tree on MyHeritage and unfortunately are there many persons who phantasize ancestors to look important. All this $#*! is copied to Geni!
There doesn’t exist an instruction how to work on the site, even a part of the curators who are working on Geni doesn’t know how everything is working.
Geni had a longtime a very bad management and bad customer service for basic users, now there is a new CEO, who is an excellent software engeneer, but caused by the lack of competent support, he isn’t able to improve the Geni site untill the quality of other genealogy sites. Customer service is now more worse than it allready was.
As free basic user there are too many limitations and too many popups with requests to upgrade to become a paying user.
The search tool works very bad and continious annoying with requests popups to upgrade. It is easier to search via Google with addition site:Geni.com than to search as a Geni user!
For a collaboration site there are too many private limitations and too many duplicates. Very difficult and annoying working if you get every try the upgrade to paying user popup

Geni doesn’t accept any critical comment about the site, the customerservice or the management. Geni has regarding that the mentality of North Korea! Every free user, paying user and even every curator who publish negative comment will be suspended and indefinitely blocked to work on Geni !

Biggest Pro: More than 70,000,000 by bloodrelation or marriage with another connected profiles, dynamic treeview, some kind of a relationpath/lineage counting, multilangual, social and research forum for users, projectcollaboration,
Biggest Con: Unreliable profiles, mostly no or wrong sources for the data and relations, easy vandalism that can ruin your inputs, poor software for projects editing, poor search-engine, bad profile displays.

Geni Review by Ocky,  Sep 8, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I did not find Geni very easy to use. The charge to use a basic genealogy site is not worth it. Try other free sites and you will get more features.

I will say the tree graphic is quite good looking.

Biggest Pro: Not bad looking
Biggest Con: Hidden costs, Privacy is not respected

Geni Review by Michelle,  Aug 28, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

This program is too difficult to use. I made several mistakes in posting information and could not remove the information.

Biggest Pro: Didn’t find any
Biggest Con: The manner in which parents, grand parents is posted is very confusing.

Geni Review by stuart small,  Jul 25, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have noticed a mistake with geni regarding my father harry small he was born 13th april 1926 . some one put 1928 which is wrong

Biggest Con: how can anybody make a mistake

Geni Review by David,  Jun 19, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Dear Geni, please tell me how I can remove all the family tree data that I have posted on your site…
Today, you told me that I am related to ” BenAbu (Seidman) is your second cousin twice removed’s wife’s fourth cousin once removed’s husband’s sister’s husband’s first cousin once removed.”
.
Not only is that INCORRECT, (You show her related to me via my Maternal Grandfather, but she is, in fact related to me via my Maternal Grandmother) and you have gone thru an idiotically convoluted path to tell me about my (half) 1st cousin, Once removed… She is the daughter of my Grandmother’s half sister…

Biggest Pro: Nothing
Biggest Con: Everything

Geni Review by Jane,  Jun 11, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Just found my family tree already done. However my father has gained 3 non existent siblings!!!

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: security

Geni Review by mike,  May 19, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I just joined your tree. Unfortunately, I can’t correspond with others on your tree because I haven’t enlarged my tree to connect.
One of your members either has learned something I don’t know, or they’ve made a mistake on their connections.
That seems to me to need to be explored and discussed outside of your tree structure, but I’m unable to reach that person due to the structure of your system.
Mike

Show 21-40 »