Geni

by Geni, Inc. (David Sacks, Alan Braverman)
Allows families to collaboratively build their family tree. When the user adds a relative’s email address, that relative is invited to join the tree. Your family’s information is kept private as you can only search for people who are in your family. When separate trees begin to overlap, they can be merged, with the potential of producing a world family tree. In November 2012, Geni was purchased by MyHeritage.

Free • Subscription • Online • Full Featured
http://www.geni.com/
Overall1791.79 out of 51.79 out of 51.79 out of 51.79 out of 51.79 out of 5 1.79
2015101.99 out of 51.99 out of 51.99 out of 51.99 out of 51.99 out of 5 1.99
2014201.62 out of 51.62 out of 51.62 out of 51.62 out of 51.62 out of 5 1.62
Earlier1491.83 out of 51.83 out of 51.83 out of 51.83 out of 51.83 out of 5 1.83

Add Your Review of Geni

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

179 Reviews of Geni     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Geni Review by Don Fulton,  Apr 22, 2015

Not Rated

This site is similar to Ancestry and/or Genealogy.com whereas they claim to merge some of the world together and ask for submission of your tree, then turn around and charge for a copy of the information. Secondly they should post their monthly and annual price for the service vs. waiting until you provide all kinds of information BEFORE THEY MENTION the free trial period. Most people don’t have a count down calendar at their PC and once you forget to cancel you’re on the hook. I have over 13,000 members on my tree and there is no mention of down loading a GEDCOM file to save time vs. individually entering your information.

Biggest Pro: Availability
Biggest Con: Hidden costs

Geni Review by Casey Lee Anderson,  Apr 10, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Would be better if you could make yourself a curator without having to have a geni pro account, also would be better if it was completely free but because deads peoples birth,marriage,divorce,death records are public records easily accessed in the courthouses for free but if you want copies that’ll cost money just wish they had DNA testing in the olden days that way you can have a record of it.

Biggest Pro: good to use
Biggest Con: hard to figure out if something’s amiss with identical profiles

Geni Review by Mark,  Mar 26, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I find all our data all over other sites without permission.

No customer service to resolve family data security issues and concerns.

Totally unacceptable. Stay away.

Biggest Pro: system functionality
Biggest Con: data secuity

Geni Review by J.T. Clemensen,  Mar 18, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

They have posted inaccurate information about myself and my family.

Geni Review by Glennis Fateley,  Mar 14, 2015

Not Rated

As I have already reviewed this site and its illegal practise allowing false information as well as defamatory information now I find like others my names , and i mean names I used to be known by etc all of them and now my children have been added also…

Why I wonder do people try to protect their identity these days from ID theft when Geni will allow anyone in any mental incopacity to put it all out in cyberspace for you.

When you ask them to remove anything they just let the perpetrator do it in a private manner which still allows anyone who wants to know approach the perpetrator and vice-versa to do the same anyway . What a horrible company with no morals … I too thought if a living persons info is to be made public or allowed to become public even through a so called private pathway(profile manager) then the person this manager is profiling should have the right to allow or disallow said right… it seems not so on this nasty site.

Biggest Pro: Allows anyone no matter their psyciatric condition put defamatory information out in Cyberspace for the world to see and also this allowing Id theft. What hope does anyone have and what rights also.. so invasive to anyones privacy.. should be prosecuted..
Biggest Con: Nothing nothing nothing and less than nothiing… just Zilch…

Geni Review by Glennis Fateley,  Mar 9, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Genie is a dangerous site it allows people to post defamatory information and untruths in family trees as I found on looking at a profile for my dead mum. My nasty sibling has posted two different times my mothers details of which so much is incorrect. She has put my mothers death as .. and I quote cause of death and then put in my name…

she has been in a psyciatric ward in Orlando florida back in 2002 and has spent years trying to damage me and my life since my mum chose to leave her less than she originally was going to inherit because she emptied my parent bank accounts before my dad died and got caught for freudulently taking large amounts by telling the bank of nz my parents were doing major home renovations .. she blames me for her getting caught and vows to ruin my life…

Biggest Pro: Geni should be more careful what they put out on the internet for the world to see and check details before trusting people managing profiles and family tree information . check that their site is not just being used to damage someone elses reputation.

Geni Review by Elin Margrethe Jonassen,  Mar 1, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

it was fun to begin with, but now everything does cost BIG money. No I don`t see the point to have built this three. Wish I have never startet og spend so much time on this :(

Biggest Pro: it was fun to begin with, but now everything does cost BIG money. No I don`t see the point to have built this three. Wish I have never startet og spend so much time on this :(

Geni Review by lady fontaine,  Feb 19, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I found literally—-”a ton of mistakes” on your “faked” “made-up” “postings” for Isaac winston” etc.!!!
When I tried to write in for this fraud “bug”notification -Your site “Geni” refused to let me sign in… Well someone should report you to the Better Business Bureau for *illegal discriminating behavior” & *posting Fraudulent “time-lines” linked with “my Winston ancestors” who were noted to have lived in the following “century”.I happen to be aware of some “Jokers” /(corrupt idiots) (around me??)* trying)to “rewrite history”—& fake being my real Family: (IE: my crazy girlfriends: 1.(a design-stealin Croatian), &(an Italian-whose mother is straight off the boat from Sicily) & (a half-Chinese-Canadian)-who all deeded they would benefit from claiming my family ancestry as theirs!! “I was given *The original “Family Tree” by my Grandfather Dr. Louis Winston-(who was a member of the S.A.R.:”Sons of the American Revolution”.(*the “Tree”stolen from me” & possibly on a Sabrina-or Simone’ from Croatia?) I find her “using my names as hers” *with tons of people-& my [password] I can’t use on any *Ancestry Sites*because she may be using it? I could help “correct” a lot of your falsified information—but there is now way to prevent people still “undoing” when I find all my “ancestors & their cousins historic houses: *(or that one of the Isaac Winstons married 4 times: or that our houses were designed by Thhomas Jefferson*(& someone goes back & undoes it in some way!!) in fact there is a whole history of people undoing all their “connections”—in England & in America. Thank You MQ Fontaine Winston

Biggest Pro: that on can find an ancestors related family
Biggest Con: that they get important information wrong: and that I am not allowed to notify your website of how to correct any of these things

Geni Review by Maggie,  Jan 28, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Love, love, love Geni! It’s very easy to use and perfect if you want to create/store your family tree online. I love their mission to connect everyone in the entire world because we are all related! I’m only using their FREE membership and it works great. I can add unlimited people, which is already more you than other online sites that charge after hitting a certain limit. I don’t have the funds for a Pro sub, and I’m managing just fine without it. Because Geni collaborative, there are always lots of friendly people in the discussions who can help you merge.

Privacy is not a concern because you can configure your own privacy settings. They have a really simple policy too - living profiles are private, deceased profiles are public.

I think I will spring for the data sub though if I can save up enough. There are just so many historical records that have been match automatically to my profiles! I’m dying to see them but you need a subscription to view them.

Biggest Pro: Nice looking tree, great community of friendly users and curators who can help you
Biggest Con: Pro is too expensive

Geni Review by I hate recaptcha,  Jan 19, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

The worst website ever. They even try to force you to pay to enter the data about your family that they need. It is as if facebook were to force you to pay to post to your profile. It’s the most retarded thing I’ve even seen in my whole life.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: It’s retarded

Geni Review by Danny,  Dec 23, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Geni is the most incredible and daring idea on the net - a family tree that connects the entire world! There are few problems, but they’re understaffed. Geni is great for connecting and collaborating with people. Other sites ask you do work that’s already been done several times over, but on Geni you work with others. Join Geni and help improve this global project of mammoth proportions.The fee is great value for what you get out of it.

Biggest Pro: Connects the entire world!
Biggest Con: Some Privacy Concerns.

Geni Review by Bob Britton,  Dec 18, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Geni and My Heritage stole my money and will not give it back. I paid $300 for a lifetime subscription based on the many users they have in Norway (a small, but interesting part of my ancestry). After a short time I was notified that my “lifetime” subscription was being cancelled as they had merged with My Heritage. I was invited to resubscribe and get access to My Heritage, too. Why would I give money to a company that had just robbed me?

Now I see by these posts that I should be concerned about my privacy. I have gone to Geni.com and my account and profile is still there. I am even listed as a “Pro” user. I cannot do anything at all with my data base as I am blocked and invited to sign-up for a $10 per month subscription. Don’t give your money to highway robbers.

Biggest Pro: They didn’t shoot me in the head when the robbed me.
Biggest Con: My personal data is still on their website.

Geni Review by Solna K Wasser,  Dec 2, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

You have made accessible and public my name and the names of my children. All of whom are living this was apparently entered by a David Pine whom I do not know. I happened to google Bernard Wasser who is deceased . Please remove this information. names of Living persons should not be published.

Geni Review by Sheila,  Nov 2, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have become increasingly disturbed and frustrated by Geni’s inability to protect living individual’s privacy. While on the face of it, it appears living people’s identities (DOB, etc.) are protected, but they are not. For example, I can find information on my mother, who is deceased, in an internet search. If I search for living individuals in my tree in an internet search, I will not find them, but I will find their names through my mother because they’re related. It gives you the entire family structure only without the dates of birth. Furthermore, photos of living individuals are freely distributed, which is highly disturbing, especially when they are of children. When using the program itself, it’s impossible to delete a person. I tried to delete some living people so they cannot turn up on an internet search, and it cannot be done. I’m at the point now where I just want to delete the entire tree.

Biggest Pro: Family tree display is nice
Biggest Con: Huge privacy issues

Geni Review by LOIS,  Oct 24, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

FOR 6 YEARS THIS WAS THE BEST EVER. AS THE SR FAMILY MEMBER I HAD ALL THE RECORDS IN AND IT WAS PERFECT FOR MY FAMILY. THEN THE BOTTOM FELL OUT. I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO CHANGE E MAIL ADDRESS DUE TO CHANGE IN SERVICE. NOW DOES NOT ACCEPT EITHER THE OLD OR THE NEW.
FOR PAST 5 MONTHS MY NOTIFICATIONS ON LINE SHOW OTHER FAMILY MEMBERS BUT NOT THE DIRECT (MY CHILDREN) EVENTS.
I HAVE TRIED TO CONTACT CUSTOMER SERVICE SEVERAL TIMES.
GUESS WHAT. THERE IS ABSOLUTELY NO RESPONSE
SHAME. IT WAS GOOD. NOT ANY MORE.
TERRIBLE WASTE OF ALL MY TIME AND EFFORT
LW

Biggest Con: NO BODY TO CONTACT

Geni Review by ted cohen,  Oct 19, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

geni only wants $$$

Geni Review by Maria Angeles O´Donnell,  Sep 22, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Geni allows 8 time removed family to get into my tree and add and remove what ever they see fit just because this particular relative is Pro. I don´t have a problem with him adding to the generation of my grandparents but he is adding to my first cousins and their children. Does he takes into consideration that these members may not want to be on this website and that is the reason for not being updated.

What is a family member? When somebody that is far, far family member is allowed to change, add, remove, merge information that I have put into my family tree it is not right. Maybe the problem started when MyHeritage bought it.
Then I cannot login Geni with my Windows 7. Why? I have spoken to my server and finally the server said that was a problem with Geni.

Biggest Pro: at one time the volunteers were great
Biggest Con: Far way relatives can change the information I had put in my tree

Geni Review by Nordic,  Sep 21, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Geni is super expensive with zero quality control. Attempts to communicate with them takes weeks. As a Pro user I attempted to download some gedcom files, which took a long time, they claimed they didn’t know I was a Pro user. The pictures that I uploaded on personal family appeared in other peoples files, and the sites the Geni owns. Even though they are owned by the same people, you cannot access the information stolen from you without paying a huge fee. I’d not join, I’d not put any information on their site, nor would I ever recommend them.

Biggest Pro: At the beginning it looks good.
Biggest Con: Poor quality control, customer service doesn’t exist, high price.

Geni Review by Glenys Kirby,  Aug 4, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

If you join Geni you become the PREDATOR and are STALKED my FOLLOWERS they then merge your site and they become the MANAGER Lets not forget the CURATORS who keep sabotaging your Profiles. And then there is the RELATIONSIP PATH of those following you. One minute they are your 18th Cousin and when you start another line they become related through their ex wife CONFUSED. It gets worse They then allow FOLLOWERS on the living and when you start DELETING the living They send an Email saying you are MISUSING the programme and then LOCK YOU OUT. A couple of weeks later they then CLOSE your access. IT doesn’t end there they put a another person in as Manager. My Niece who was invited by me to see the site is now the Manager. And Now you have to Join the company they merged with MY HERITAGE to access the information. Stick with ANCESTRY.COM

Biggest Pro: Nothing
Biggest Con: You cant contact them but they can monitor you and then contact you and they do not respond when you respond to them

Geni Review by lp,  Jun 21, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Stick with Ancestry.com . I tried geni for a day. the free subscription is useless. the search is terrible, does not allow detailed searching without adding people to your tree. Even using the general search by name, I did not find the people I was looking for even though they have records available on ancestry.com. i then came here and read all the privacy issues. deleted my account and small tree immediately.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: confusing, bad search, limited information in free membership

Show 21-40 »