Heredis for PC

by BSD Concept
The best known genealogy software in Europe, developed over 20 years ago. Offers several tools for speedy and simple data entry, analysis of your genealogy and editing of your documents. It includes a Search Wizard that accesses online research tools including Heredis Online, Family Search, Ancestry and MyHeritage. It is available in French and English. There is also a Mac version and an iOS version.

Purchase • Windows • Full Featured
http://www.heredis.com/en/heredis-pc/
Overall173.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 5 3.70
201423.93 out of 53.93 out of 53.93 out of 53.93 out of 53.93 out of 5 3.93
201323.35 out of 53.35 out of 53.35 out of 53.35 out of 53.35 out of 5 3.35
Earlier133.69 out of 53.69 out of 53.69 out of 53.69 out of 53.69 out of 5 3.69

Add Your Review of Heredis for PC

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

17 Reviews of Heredis for PC     RSS 2.0 RSS                   Add Your Review

Heredis for PC Review by Denise Moss-Fritch,  Mar 20, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I rated Heredis 2014 a 3 only because of the cons identified below. The software lacks any ability to record name variations, including a married name (cultural - in France married women use their maiden name). There is no separate source and citation, meaning that each reference to a book (a source) for a specific entry (on a page) is independent from another entry, expanding the number of source / citation. The witness tab for an event is someone who witnessed the event (for example, a census taker or minister who married a couple), not others recorded during the same even (for example, a census).

The sync capabilities of Heredis 2014 are excellent, easily permitting the user to sync over a home network between multiple computers, only adding or changing the new information. The graphical interface is excellent, particularly the migration map, extended family view, and other elements.

Biggest Pro: Sync between computers (PC, Mac, and iOS), graphical interface (migration map, extended family view, and others)
Biggest Con: Lack of user information (Help is a pdf with very general information, without how-to instructions), online forum offers little from Heredis team

Heredis for PC Review by Guernman20,  Jan 8, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This review concerns the new 2014 PC version. There is also a Mac version and an app for iPhone and iPad.

This software is extremely function rich with very good navigation and easy data entry. The software can be held on 3 PC’s which is included in the price. Therefore there is very good portability due to synchronising via wi-fi or usb. As the files include media and I can take my laptop with me to show to clients and carry out further research.

Trees can be loaded onto multiple websites for free.

The tagging of media is a little cumbersome and place names don.t easily allow specific addresses to be included. I am sure these issues will be addressed in the future.

Biggest Pro: Portability and use across different platforms
Biggest Con: Media tagging

Heredis for PC Review by LucieMC,  Jul 8, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I love the new Heredis PC - it downloaded quickly and synced well with the Heredis app on my iPad. So far so good and I do recomment it. I cannot understand why people try to compare Heredis with other genealogy software. They are all different no matter which one a person purchases. i totally love the program so far..

Biggest Pro: The ability to enter data all on one page for the whole family
Biggest Con: Want to see a choice of married as well as partners. I wish there was a better way to receive support than going to the forum.

Heredis for PC Review by TP,  Jan 2, 2013

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Unable to get the PC version (working in Windows 7) to sync with iPad or iPhone. Apparently there is a known problem between Apple/Microsoft, that was not identified by Heredis prior to purchase of the PC version. Very disappointed and would not recommend this package.
Little support from Heredis.

Biggest Con: Poor Heredis support

Heredis for PC Review by Constance Paradiso,  Dec 26, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I love the PC/iPhone capability that this program offers. It makes it so easy to research on the road.

Heredis for PC Review by GC,  Dec 23, 2012

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Can synchronise across Windows, Mac & ios platforms. One of the easiest programs to use but not THE easiest. Comprehensive range of reports and charts. Worth considering for a newbie but if you are happy with another program, stick with it.

Biggest Pro: Imports GEDCOM from Brothers Keeper with minimal errors.
Biggest Con: Not as easy to use as my old favourite, Brothers Keeper.

Heredis for PC Review by Koenraad Cuypers,  Dec 22, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I try a lot of genealogy software but this is the best , it is not easy to learn but it does a lot more then other soft

Biggest Pro: Navigation and input
Biggest Con: More print lay outs

Heredis for PC Review by HollyMaxine,  Dec 22, 2012

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Although I think the iOS version is excellent, the PC version isn’t as easy to use as I had hoped. There are some oddities in both function and display that are not apparent from the “limited to 50 names” trial. Truthfully, I had no intention of switching from Legacy to Heredis for my primary database but I am so happy with the iOS version on my iPod and iPad that I use Heredis merely as a transfer point to get my data to the iOS devices. It was worth the cost to me to be able to have my data with me at all times. The display on the PC version is cluttered and simply confusing but since it simply serves as transfer point for my database to iOS, I can live with it. I rate it a 4, however, because it easily accepts the gedcom file without too much adjustment and the syncing feature is absolutely superb. I can sync from PC to iPod and then from that iPod to iPad without a single glitch.

Biggest Pro: Converts gedcom fairly well with only a few oddities; scales photos well, wifi sync to iOS is excellent
Biggest Con: Cluttered and confusing display on PC version

Heredis for PC Review by MaggyMay,  Dec 21, 2012

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Of the three versions, this is where my major complaint lies. Have free version for Mac, so have had to learn your vocabulary and where things are compared to FTM which I have used since 1998 but thought I’d give your program a try. I also have the free versions of iPad and Windows downloaded - which would be my ideal world. I love the fact I can sync all three, HOWEVER your Windows version isn’t a mirror image to the Mac version, so I have trouble finding things and have to re-learn TWO programs and honestly can’t be bothered to remember 2 different programs. For that reason I have reverted back to FTM for windows only. Until you can offer the Windows and Mac versions being the same AND a combined price for both programs I will not be using Heredis - look at programs like Adobe Photo Elements - you buy the program in one box, and it can be used for BOTH Windows AND Macs for one price. Thanks for asking.

Biggest Pro: syncing WIN, Mac and iPad - and ideal world to me
Biggest Con: Windows version needs updating to match the Mac version. Being charged double to use both windows and Mac.

Heredis for PC Review by M H du Plooy,  Dec 20, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The best MAC program that I have used to date.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use
Biggest Con: Price

Heredis for PC Review by Hazel G. Smith,  Dec 20, 2012

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

About the same as My Heritage Family Tree Builder

Heredis for PC Review by Charles Clark,  Dec 20, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

It is by far the best genealogy program that i have found for someone who is 92 yeard old and with very littil edcation not even grade 8.

Thank you

Heredis for PC Review by Alex,  Dec 20, 2012

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

The cross platform use is great

Biggest Pro: Ease of use,

Heredis for PC Review by Clyde Matsumoto,  Dec 20, 2012

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Heredis overrides last name formatting and support is not as helpful as it could be (see my review if the IOS version).

Biggest Con: Last name formatting.

Heredis for PC Review by Carl Roshong,  Dec 20, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am trying the trial version and comparing it with my current program. Heredis is superior in many ways. It is fast and very easy to navigate. It’s screens offer exceptional, broad perspective viewing, eliciting more organized thinking regarding addenda. I intend to take advantage of the Christmas Discount offer to reward myself for having been a good boy inn2012. I have been with my other program for many years, alas I must say farewell and jump on board with Heredis. Happy Holidays anf Christians, please have a Merry Christmas.

Biggest Pro: Graphics and ease of navigation
Biggest Con: Will let you know

Heredis for PC Review by Jean Richards,  Dec 20, 2012

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

It looked good, and I trust Dick Eastman, but I was never able to download the program that I purchased. Thus from the start, I have very negative feelings about this. Sorry, I would have liked to try it.

Biggest Pro: None that I ever saw
Biggest Con: Could not download

Heredis for PC Review by E Rocha,  Nov 21, 2012

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I’ve been doing genealogy for years and recently switched to a Mac. I was despairing of finding the perfect software for me. I have tried every Mac genealogy software available. FTM2 is way too buggy and the interface is not attractive, although it’s the best when dealing with sources. Also, it lacked some of my musts (such as prefix) and other name related issues. Reunion 10 is good but expensive and lacks some of the automatic error checking and warnings. I also tried MacFamily Tree and iFamily for Leopard,a and while them all had their good points, they fell short on my musts : powerful name recording (akas, prefix, suffix), reference id (not the automatic numbering), automatic data entry checking & duplicate warnings, ability to attach multiple records to each source, phone app, PC & Mac platform and reasonable price. Heredis fullfilled all of my musts and it’s attactive and fun to work with. The only downside is that the sources options could be a little more robust. For instance, while you can source each event with multiple sources, but there’s enough there to meet my needs and still have an great sources database. I’m loving Heredis and I look forwarding to addition of templates to the sources function and an Android app. Once the sources function is improved, this will be a 5 star product.

Biggest Pro: Data entry, relationship manager, error checking, reports, looks and feel
Biggest Con: Sources need nore templates or ability to add more fields to source screen