Familienbande

Click To See Award Winners
by Stefan Mettenbrink
A free full featured genealogy application for Windows, MacOS X, and Linux, with both German and English websites.

Free • Windows • Mac • Unix • Full Featured
http://www.familienbande-genealogie.de/en/index.html
Overall344.77 out of 54.77 out of 54.77 out of 54.77 out of 54.77 out of 5 4.77
201774.75 out of 54.75 out of 54.75 out of 54.75 out of 54.75 out of 5 4.75
201684.66 out of 54.66 out of 54.66 out of 54.66 out of 54.66 out of 5 4.66
Earlier194.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 5 4.90

Add Your Review of Familienbande

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

34 Reviews of Familienbande     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 21 - 34                   Add Your Review

Familienbande Review by Thomas Breu,  Sep 21, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Easy to use software (and immediate author’s support when needed). This software offers various export and printing options, which allow individual adaption to user’s needs.

Biggest Pro: Flexibility
Biggest Con: None

Familienbande Review by Günther Tropschuh,  Sep 21, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Familienbande is cooperating with ist users. Free of expansives. Although I would be willing to a sort of cost. There is no advertising and no link to foreign sources - I guess.

Biggest Pro: service for users

Familienbande Review by Gernot Stimmeder,  Sep 21, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

always great help from all users and the developer

Biggest Pro: is free and windows compatible
Biggest Con: none

Familienbande Review by Irmgard Möller-Ziegler,  Sep 21, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Seit ca 2010 arbeite ich mit Familienbande. Entscheidungshilfen war: die Hilfestellungen durch Herrn Mettenbrink, es lief auf meinem Mac und ich kann es auf anderen Geräten mit unterschiedlichen Plattformen laufen lassen, lwar Freeware und ich komme mit dem Programm sehr gut zurecht. Es hat den Vorteil, daß es immer weiterentwickelt und auch gegengeprüft wird. So ist man immer auf der sicheren Seite.

Biggest Pro: Ständige Fortentwicklung des Programms
Biggest Con: keine

Google translate: Since about 2010, I worked with family ties. Decision aids was: the assistance by Mr. Mettenbrink, it was running on my Mac, and I can run on different devices with different platforms, LWAR freeware and I get along very well with the program. It has the advantage that it is always evolving, and also cross-checked. So you’re always on the safe side
Biggest Pro:. Constant further development of the program
Biggest Con: no

Familienbande Review by Manfred Sand,  Sep 21, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This program is still very good. I can’t add anything to my review of 2008 and all the reviews of other authors here!!!

Biggest Pro: the author Metti

Familienbande Review by Michael Steuer,  Sep 21, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

A very simple and great programm,
All purpose to use for simple genealogical tree as well as to transribe church registers and make genealogical research books
engaged author, who looks for contact to his users in order to make the programm better

Biggest Pro: simple to use, source management, Print models can be to tailored to own needs
Biggest Con: No datafield for Swiss-Heimatort, but enough free datafields to define for own use

Familienbande Review by Andreas,  Sep 21, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Seit 2004 arbeite ich mit Familienbande. Damals war es eines der wenigen Programme, die auch auf dem Mac liefen. Für mich war aber entscheidend, dass es Freeware ist, sondern dass mir Herr Mettenbrink Hilfe versprach, wenn ich Probleme hätte. Dieses Versprechen hat er bis heute gehalten: Antwort bekomme ich fast sofort - und Hilfe auch! Es gibt ein rühriges Forum und Anwender, die ihre Arbeit anderen Anwendern zur Verfügung stellen. Familienbande ist vielleicht nicht die eierlegende Wollmilchsau aber ein solches Genealogieprogramm gibt es wohl auch nicht.

Biggest Pro: Ständige Weiterentwicklung des Programms
Biggest Con: Ich habe keine Kritik

Google translate: Since 2004 I have been working with family ties. At that time it was one of the few programs that ran on the Mac. For me, however, was critical that it’s freeware, but that my Lord Mettenbrink promised help if I had problems. He has held until today this promise: Answer I get almost instantly - and help too! There be a lively forum, and users who make their work available to other users. Family ties may not be a panacea but such a genealogy program, there is probably not
Biggest Pro:. Continuous development of the program
Biggest Con: I have no criticism

Familienbande Review by Frank M. Henoch,  Sep 21, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Very good program with a mailing list. All mistakes are immediately eliminated; Author helps happy to legitimate requests. And all for free!

Familienbande Review by Hans-Georg Emberger,  Sep 21, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Great program for multiple platforms. Very encouraged author.

Biggest Pro: Very encouraged author.
Biggest Con: None

Familienbande Review by Frank Licher,  Jun 9, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The program is easy to use and allows displaying several data simultaneously in different windows (input window, list of names, list of descendants, toolbox, etc.). Users with a large monitor so can keep all important information in view.
Events can be documented each by a source. Sources can be saved as text or as graphic file (JPG, PDF).
Familienbande is very flexible regarding export and printing of data. Own print models allow individualized printings and lists. Those can be also downloaded from the author’s website.
The program offers 12 languages: German and 11 translations (English, Swedish translated by human + 9 European translations done by Google).

Biggest Pro: Easy desktop, source management, individualized print models

Familienbande Review by Brett,  Jun 8, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Confusing screens and not intuitive process.

Biggest Pro: Opens GEDCOM file
Biggest Con: Confuding process

Familienbande Review by Fritz the Cat,  Jun 21, 2013

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I agree with the previous reviews. It is a good program. Probably similar to other software, though I cannot seriously do a comparison since I never had the wish or need to try other programs. As far as I can tell, GEDCOM export of sources is still missing.

I am using the Windows version, too, so please update the description.
Also, the website says there is an English version available, though the translation was done by Google. Help wanted :)

Biggest Pro: Free, simple to use, getting better all the time…
Biggest Con: Sources not in GEDCOM export

Familienbande Review by someone,  Dec 18, 2009

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Really good program. Easy to use, good source management. Developer is helpful and listens to user’s wishes. Steady updates ~6 months apart. Possibility to design your own output templates. A useful choice of user-generated templates for printing / html / text export is available on the website.

Not Mac only! Also available for Windows - but in a few details, behavior is not typical for Windows.

Biggest Pro: easy, quick, lots of features
Biggest Con: German only (for now?…); GEDCOM export does not include sources (yet…)

Familienbande Review by Manfred Sand,  Nov 7, 2008

Not Rated

Sehr gutes Programm mit Mailing-Liste. Alle Fehler werden umgehend beseitigt; Autor hilft gern bei berechtigten Wünschen. Und das alles kostenlos!!!

Translation: German » English
Very good program with a mailing list. All mistakes are immediately eliminated; Author helps happy to legitimate requests. And all for free!

Biggest Pro: Very easy INPUT

« Show 1-20