Familienbande

Click To See Award Winners
by Stefan Mettenbrink
A free full featured genealogy application for Windows, MacOS X, and Linux, with both German and English websites.

Free • Windows • Mac • Unix • Full Featured
http://www.familienbande-genealogie.de/en/index.html
Overall344.77 out of 54.77 out of 54.77 out of 54.77 out of 54.77 out of 5 4.77
201774.75 out of 54.75 out of 54.75 out of 54.75 out of 54.75 out of 5 4.75
201684.66 out of 54.66 out of 54.66 out of 54.66 out of 54.66 out of 5 4.66
Earlier194.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 5 4.90

Add Your Review of Familienbande

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

34 Reviews of Familienbande     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Familienbande Review by Familienbande-Fan,  Sep 11, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Ich benutze das Programm schon seit “gefühlt” immer. Gleich zu Beginn meiner Familienforschungen (vor rund 10 Jahren?) bin ich zum Glück auf dieses Programm gestoßen und benutze es seither intensivst. Praktisch null Probleme (und wenn doch mal was ist, bekpmmts du erstklassigen Support direkt vom Entwickler …)
Großen Dank an Stefna Mettenbrink!!!

Edge translation: ‎I have been using the program for “felt” always. Immediately at the beginning my family research (around 10 years ago?), I came across this program happily and use it extensively since then. Virtually zero problems (and if it is what, you get world-class support directly from the developers…) ‎
‎ Big thanks to Stefna Mettenbrink!‎

Familienbande Review by Jörg Schwarze,  Aug 28, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Ich habe eben den Entwickler angeschrieben. Ich hhätte nicht erwartet, sofort eine Antwort zu bekommen. Er hat mir auch gleich eine aktuellere Version zur Verfügung gestellt.

Biggest Pro: Service

‎Edge translation: I’ve written on to the developer. I don’t expect to get an answer immediately. He has made also a newer version available.‎
‎Biggest Pro: Service‎

Familienbande Review by Annelie Winkelmann,  Aug 5, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Für mich als Computerneuling eine erstklassige Software. Ich habe keine Probleme mit der Einarbeitung ins Programm gehabt. Die Einführung im Handbuch war sehr hilfreich.
Selbst bei meinen Anfängerproblemen hat der Entwickler mir sehr schnell geholfen.

Biggest Pro: Einfache Bedienung, der Entwickler hilft direkt
Biggest Con: Die Benutzeroberfläche wirkt etwas altbacken.

Edge translation: ‎For me as a computer newbie a first-rate software. I have had no problems with the training in the program. The introduction to the guide was very helpful. ‎For my beginner problems the developer quickly helped me.‎
‎Biggest Pro: Simple operation, the developer will directly help‎
‎biggest con: the user interface looks a bit old-fashioned.‎

Familienbande Review by Hans Fritsch,  May 1, 2017

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Sehr schönes Programm! Auch mit meinen geringen Komuterkenntnissen komme ich damit gut zurecht. Gut finde ich, dass ich alle Daten zu einer Person sofort auf einen Blick erkennen kann. Das hilft mir, die Daten aus den Kirchenbüchern zu übernehmen.
Auch der Exelimport hat mir geholfen. Ich konnte damit die Daten, die ich früher in eine Exceltabelle eingegeben habe, direit übernehmen.

Biggest Pro: Gute Bedienoberfläche, Excelimport
Biggest Con: Habe noch nichts gefunden.

Edge Translation: ‎Very nice program! Even with my small Komuterkenntnissen I’m doing good so. Well, I find that I can immediately see all data related to a person at a glance. It helps me to take the data from the church books. ‎
‎ Even of the Exelimport helped me. I could take direit the data that I previously entered in an Excel spreadsheet, so that.‎
‎Biggest Pro: Good user interface, Excel import‎
‎biggest con: still nothing found.‎

Familienbande Review by Eric DeLong,  Apr 27, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Toll, dass ich Familienbande gefunden habe. Es ist wirklich einfach in der Bedienung und bietet mehr, als ich benötige. Vieles habe ich bestimmt noch nicht mal entdeckt. So musste ich erst auf die Möglichkeiten der Verwandtschaftssuche aufmerksam gemacht werden. In dem Zuge wurde ich dann auch über die kommende Version informiert.
Ich freue mich schon darauf.

Biggest Pro: einfache Bedienung
Biggest Con: manches findet man nicht sofort

Edge translation:
‎It’s great that I have found family ties. It is really easy to use and offers more than I need. I bet not even discovered much. So I had to attention only on the possibilities of finding relatives. In the course I was informed also about the upcoming version. ‎
‎ I am looking forward.‎
‎Biggest Pro: easy‎
‎biggest con: one finds some things not immediately‎

Familienbande Review by Manfred Elbracht,  Mar 1, 2017

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Prima Programm. Einfach in der Bedienung und viele nützliche Funktionen. Ich habe sicher noch nicht alles gefunden.

Leider ist der Gedcomexport noch nicht vollständig. Es werden noch keine Quellenangaben exportiert.

Biggest Pro: Sehr übersichtliche Darstellung, umfangreiche Suchmöglichkeiten
Biggest Con: Quellenangaben werden nicht exportiert.

Edge translation: ‎Prima program. Easy to operate and many useful features. I found not all sure yet.‎
‎Unfortunately, the Gedcomexport is not yet complete. Still no citations are exported.‎
‎Biggest Pro: Very clear presentation, extensive search capabilities‎
‎biggest con: citations are not exported.‎

Familienbande Review by Marie Courliss,  Mar 1, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Full featued Programm, easy to use.
You get a linux 46-bit version from the support!

Biggest Pro: individual printing options, runs on linux
Biggest Con: Last version from 2/2016 (you get a new test-version, if you ask)

Familienbande Review by Marion Rüll,  Oct 1, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Ich kann mich Jens nur anschließen. Das Programm ist klasse! Ich hatte Probleme mit der Linux-Version (64-Bit). Als ich deswegen nachgefragt habe, bekam ich die Information, dass die nächste Version von Familienbande auch 64-Bit Systeme (Linux, Windows und Mac OS) unterstützen wird. Mir wurde die aktuelle Testversion bereits zur Verfügung gestellt. Sie läuft bei mir problemlos.

Das nenne ich Service!

Auch vom Funktionsumfang hat Familienbande alles, was ich benötige.

###
Die Idee von Jens greife ich auch mal auf:

English by Google translator:
I can only agree with Jens. The program is great! I had problems with the Linux version (64-bit). When I inquired why, I got the information that the next version of Familienbande will support 64-bit systems (Linux, Windows and Mac OS). I was asked the current trial is already available. It runs smoothly with me.

What I call service!

Familienbande Review by Jens Theiss,  Jun 26, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Familienbande ist ein einfach zu bedienendes Programm, das kaum Wünsche offen lässt. Der Entwickler ist sehr hilfsbereit und gut erreichbar.
Der Gedcomimport hat problemlos funktioniert und die Ausgabe kann vom Anwender selbst beeinflusst werden. Allerdings gibt es auch schon viele tolle fertige Vorlagen. Insbesondere das Ortsfamiienbuch und die Ahnentafeln haben mir gefallen.

Inziwschen läuft auch schon eine Testversion für 64-Bit Linux. Die Entwicklung geht also weiter.

###

English by Bing-Translator:
Familienbande is an easy to use program that leaves nothing to be desired. The developer is very helpful and easy to reach.
The Gedcomimport worked without any problems and the output can be influenced by the user himself. However, there are also many great ready-made templates. In particular the Ortsfamiienbuch and the Apbt has pleased me.
Now a trial version for 64-bit Linux is available. The development goes on so.

Pro: For Windows, Mac OS and Linux available, easy to use, very flexible data output
Con:Gedcomexport incomplete (development was promised)

Biggest Pro: Für Windows, Mac OS und Linux verfügbar, einfach zu bedienen, sehr flexible Datenausgabe
Biggest Con: Gedcomexport unvollständig (Weiterentwicklung wurde aber zugesagt)

Familienbande Review by DieVo,  Jan 22, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Am 21.01.2016 ist eine neue Version von Familienbande erschienen, die unter anderem auch das Problem mit der Benutzer-Sprachen-Einstellung behebt, das der Benutzer MD hier vor 2 Tagen gemeldet hatte!

Biggest Pro: Das Programm ist per USB-Stick oder CD ohne Installation auch auf unterschiedlichen Computer-Plattformen lauffähig; schnelle Reaktion des Entwicklers bei Fragen oder Problemen; ständige Weiterentwicklung des Programms.
Biggest Con: Das Konzept der auf Vorlagen beruhenden Druck- und sonstigen Ausgaben ist zumindest für mich sehr gewöhnungsbedürftig.

Google translate: On 01/21/2016 a new version of Familienbande has been released that fixes among other things, the problem with the user’s language setting, the user MD had reported here 2 days ago!

Biggest Pro: The program can be run on different computer platforms using a USB stick or CD without installation; fast response of the developer with questions or problems; continuous development of the program.
Biggest Con: The concept of templates based on printing and other expenses is at least getting used to for me.

Familienbande Review by MD,  Jan 19, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Attempted to install on a Windows 10 machine. There is no English installation help, or English help file at all from what I can find. I was able to run the program, import a GEDCOM, select language as English. However the program kept reverting to Swedish. I have no idea if this is an installation problem, a Python bug, or something else. I can’t recommend this program unless you are a German-speaking Python-fluent Sysadmin. There is a peer-support community.

Biggest Pro: Simple, streamlined, free
Biggest Con: No english-language help, unsuccessful install.

Familienbande Review by Meiner Einer,  Jan 4, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Großartiges Familienforschungs-Programm! Sehr leistungsfähig.

Biggest Pro: lauffähig auf mehreren Rechnern mittels USB-Stick…

Google translate: Great genealogy program! Very powerful.
Biggest Pro: run on multiple computers using a USB stick …

Familienbande Review by Rüdiger Arnold,  Jan 3, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Ich nutze Familienband seit fünf Jahren. Der Hauptgrund der damaligen Entscheidung für FB war ein Kommentar in einem Forum, dass der Programmierer und die Nutzergemeinschaft eine tolle Unterstützung liefern. Und dass hat sich als vollkommen richtig herausgestellt. Ebenso gibt es eine sehr gute Zusammenarbeit zu neuen Funktionen zwischen Gemeinschaft und dem Programmierer Stefan Mettenbrink. Sinnvolle Wünsche werden ziemlich schnell eingebaut in FB. Vielen Dank dafür.
Ein sehr großer Vorteil sind die Import/Export-Möglichkeiten, wie GEDCOM, CVS, etc. Insbesondere der Export ist frei programmierbar in einer programm-internen Sprache. So kann man sich selber seinen spezifischen Export zusammenbasteln, wie Familienbücher, Stammbäume oder Schmuckdruckvorlagen. Oder man nutzt eines von den vielen von der Gemeinschaft zur Verfügung gestellten Export-Programme.
Die Daten bleiben auf dem eigenen Rechner und werden nicht ständig zwangsweise in eine “Cloud” hochgeladen, wie in einigen anderen Programmen.
Es gibt FB in 12 Sprachen, durch Nutzerübersetzung und durch Google Übersetzung.

Biggest Pro: Integrierte Programmiersprache, für beliebig gestaltbare Export-Möglichkeiten (PDF, RTF, DOC, CVS, ) und User-Community die ihre Export-Möglichkeiten den anderen zur Verfügung stellt.
Biggest Con: keines

Google translate: I take family band for five years. The main reason of that decision for FB was a comment in a forum that the programmer and the user community provide a great support. And that has turned out to be absolutely correct. There is also a very good cooperation about new features between the Community and the programmer Stefan Mettenbrink. Meaningful needs to be installed fairly quickly in FB. Thanks a lot for this.
A huge advantage is the import / export options, such as GEDCOM, CVS, etc. In particular, the export can be freely programmed in a program-internal language. So you can themselves cobble together its specific export, like family books, pedigrees or jewelry artwork. Or you can use one of the many questions from the Community available export programs.
The data remains on your own computer and are not constantly forced uploaded into a “cloud”, as in some other programs.
There FB in 12 languages, by users and translation by Google translation.

Biggest Pro: Integrated programming language, for any customizable export options (PDF, RTF, DOC, CVS,) and user community that provides its export opportunities available to others.
Biggest Con: none

Familienbande Review by Tom Ma,  Jan 3, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Sehr gut, das Programm.

Google translate: Very good, the program.

Familienbande Review by Abel,  Jan 2, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Ich arbeite seit 2004 mit Familienbande (bin Mac-Nutzer, da ist das Angebot eingeschränkt) und bin nach wie vor sehr zufrieden damit. Gut finde ich, dass das Programm vom Stick aus betrieben werden kann. Ein Datenaustausch mit Windows und Linux Anwendern ist so leicht möglich. Es gibt die Möglichkeit ganz individuelle Ausdrucke zu erstellen. Das Programm wird ständig weiterentwickelt, es gibt ein rühriges Forum und sollte es einmal eine Frage geben, dann wird mir normalerweise noch am gleichen Tag geholfen (meistens von Stefan Mettenbrink selbst). Häufig stehen die Antworten auch im Handbuch - nur wir das selten gelesen. Dieses Programm kostet zwar nichts, für solch ein Programm wäre ich aber auch bereit Geld zu zahlen.

Biggest Pro: Leicht zu bedienen, rühriges Forum, der Entwickler hilft sehr schnell, wenn man Fragen hat.
Biggest Con: Die “eierlegende Wollmilchsau” wird man bei den Genealogieprogrammen nicht finden.

Google translate: I have been working since 2004 with family ties (am Mac users, since the offer is limited) and am still very happy with it. Well, I think that the program can be run from the stick. A data exchange with Windows and Linux users is so easy to do. There is the possibility to create very individual printouts. The program is constantly evolving, there be a lively forum, and should it even be a question, then is usually helped me on the same day (usually by Stefan Mettenbrink itself). Often the answers are provided in the manual - only we read that rare. Although this program does not cost anything, but for such a program, I would also be willing to pay money.

Biggest Pro: Easy to operate, defamatory or discrediting Forum, the developer helps very quickly if you have questions.
Biggest Con: The “jack of all trades” is not found in the genealogy programs.

Familienbande Review by Jörg Kiel,  Sep 24, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Das Programm ist verständlich aufgebaut, das Handbuch ist sehr gut lesbar, kein Fachchinesisch! und optisch gut erklärbar dargestellt. Anwenderfreundliche Eingaben!!!

Biggest Pro: lauffähig auf mehreren Rechnern mittels USB-Stick…
Biggest Con: Etwas gewöhnungsbedürftige Druckausgabe…

Google translate: The program is structured course, the manual is very readable, no technical jargon! and visually represented well explainable. User-friendly input !!!
Biggest Pro: run on multiple computers using a USB stick …
Biggest Con: A little getting used to print edition …

Familienbande Review by Hans-Jürgen Horn,  Sep 23, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Die beste Genealogiesoftware, es gibt nur in Manko das ist die Darstellung des Stammbaumes.
Besonders gelungen ist die eigene Programmiersprache und die vielen Vorlagen die darauf beruhen und die jeder an sein Bedürfnisse anpassen kann, oder einfach nur nutzen.

Google translate: The best genealogy software, there are only shortcoming that is the display the pedigree. Particularly successful the own programming language and the many templates is that it is based and that everyone can adapt to its needs, or simply use.

Familienbande Review by Ralf Gündel,  Sep 22, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Familienbande ist für mich seit vielen Jahren das beste Anwenderprogramm, weil der Autor weitgehend auf die Wünsche der Anwender eingeht, Hilfestellung nicht nur vom Autor gegeben wird und ein Direktkontakt möglich ist. Außerdem ist die Möglichkeit eigene Berichte herstellen zu können sehr hilfreich. Und die Verwendung mehrerer Sprachen ist vorbildlich. Bei Fragen steht sehr schnell der Entwickler zur Verfügung.

Biggest Pro: einfache Benutzung, ständige Weiterentwicklung,
Biggest Con: ?

Google translate: Family ties is for me for many years the best user program because the author largely responds to the wishes of the users, assistance is not only given by the author and a direct contact is possible. In addition, the possibility of being able to produce their own reports is very helpful. And the use of multiple languages is exemplary. For questions very quickly the developer is available
Biggest Pro:. Easy to use, continuous development, download Biggest Con:?

Familienbande Review by Jan Maier,  Sep 21, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Ich verwende seit ca. 6 Jahren Familienbande unter OpenSuse. Zuerst in der 32 und jetzt in der 64 bit Version.

Biggest Pro: Plattformunabhägigkeit (Mitforscher arbeiten arbeiten under Windows), einfache Benutzung, Skriptsprache für Anpassungen, ständige Weiterentwicklung, GEDCOM Unterstützung und nicht zuletzt die große Hilfsbereitschaft der Nutzer und des Entwicklers
Biggest Con: auf Grund der Beschränkungen der Entwicklungumgebung zur Zeit leider keine gute Unterstützung von 64 bit Linux

Google translate: I use for about 6 years family ties under OpenSuse. (Fellow researchers are working are working under Windows) Plattformunabhägigkeit, ease of use, scripting language for adjustments, continuous development, GEDCOM support and last but not least the great helpfulness of users: First, in the 32 and now in the 64 bit version
Biggest Pro. and developer
Biggest Con: because of the restrictions on the development environment currently no good support of 64 bit Linux

Familienbande Review by Werner,  Sep 21, 2015

Not Rated

ich arbeite seit mehr als 5 Jahre mit Familienbande auf einem Mac. Ein tolles Programm das ich als das Beste unter vielen ausgesucht habe. Bei Fragen steht sehr schnell der Entwickler zur Verfügung.

Biggest Pro: Ständige Weiterentwicklung des Programms
Biggest Con: Keine

Google translate: I have been working for more than 5 years with family ties on a Mac. A great program that I have chosen as the best among many. For questions very quickly is the developer available
Biggest Pro:. Continuous development of the program
Biggest Con: No

Show 21-34 »