Ahnenblatt

Click To See Award Winners
by Dirk Böttcher
A free and easy-to-use genealogy software for Windows. It is available in several languages (English, German, French, Spanish and more). It also has a website in German and a Portal in German.  Can run as a portable application on a USB stick.

Free • Windows • Full Featured
http://www.ahnenblatt.com/
Overall1574.86 out of 54.86 out of 54.86 out of 54.86 out of 54.86 out of 5 4.86
201554.53 out of 54.53 out of 54.53 out of 54.53 out of 54.53 out of 5 4.53
2014264.88 out of 54.88 out of 54.88 out of 54.88 out of 54.88 out of 5 4.88
Earlier1264.91 out of 54.91 out of 54.91 out of 54.91 out of 54.91 out of 5 4.91

Add Your Review of Ahnenblatt

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

157 Reviews of Ahnenblatt     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Ahnenblatt Review by genealogyuser,  Jun 16, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Simple, easy, shows relationships at a glance!! Shows multiple GENERATIONS at a glance! How great is that? Only improvement I would suggest (I’ve just started using the program) is that it separate with pargrapsh spaces the notes separate notes from gedcom files.

Biggest Pro: Quick, easy, clean, and shows multiple generations at a glance
Biggest Con: No big cons, only minor ones

Ahnenblatt Review by Patsy Reading,  Jun 4, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have had Ahnenblatt for a couple years and was able to easily put my family tree on my computer. Then I ran into problems when I came to second spouse and family. Also ended up accidently putting a person on twice several times when they disappeared.
I read there were some bugs that had been fixed. Now I am trying to install Ahnenblatt again with bugs fixed. It wouldn’t install so I reinstalled the old one but NOW I can’t re-install. When I try I am stopped by “signature of absetup.exe is corrupt and won’t let me go any further. Help. I anticipated having to enter all my family again but not that I couldn’t re-install the Ahnenblatt program! Help.

Biggest Pro: I loved the ease with using Ahnenblatt
Biggest Con: couldn’t find out how to put in a “Second” family or remarriage.

— Moderator’s note: DieVo posted the following to help this reviewer.
— Moderator’s note: I’m allowing this now, but please refrain from using this site as a forum.

The following lines should be no review of the program Ahnenblatt, but is only an aid to the writer of the previous post:

The error mentioned seems to be only in Internet Explorer and only if you will run the file ‘absetup.exe’ directly.
So instead of that ’save’, then ’show download folder’ and start from there.
Alternatively, use a different browser, like Firefox for instance.
He offers only the ‘Save’-Option anyway.

Ahnenblatt Review by Dr. Mark Marzinzik,  Jan 5, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Ahnenblatt is a very clearly structured software for managing your family tree.
Very helpful is its list printing/exporting feature. You can then further edit the lists in your word processor.
Ahnenblatt even runs on most Linux distributions (when Wine is installed).

Biggest Pro: list creation and its ability to run on most Linux distributions (with Wine)
Biggest Con: no online genealogy search integration

Ahnenblatt Review by Benno,  Jan 5, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Sehr intuitive bedienbares Programm.
Super Forum zum Programm.
Stehte weiterentwicklung.

Biggest Pro: Die einfache und übersichtliche Bedienung
Biggest Con: keine

Google translate:
Very intuitive to use application.
Super forum to the program.
Stehte further development.
Biggest Pro: The simple and clear operation
Biggest Con: no

Ahnenblatt Review by Athaos,  Jan 1, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

comfortable handling. Mostly seölf-explaining.

Biggest Pro: Good all individual print-possibilites
Biggest Con: -.-

Ahnenblatt Review by Major Tom,  Dec 29, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Exzellent.
Selbsterklärend.
Hilfe bzw. Support auch in Englisch-

Google translate:Excellent.
Self-explanatory.
Help and Support in English-

Ahnenblatt Review by DieVo,  Dec 28, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Schon bis zur Version 2.74 ließ Ahnenblatt bei der Erfassung von Genealogie-Daten nur wenige Wünsche offen: ein sehr einfach zu bedienendes Programm mit umfangreicher Funktionalität und vielfältigen Ausgabe-Möglichkeiten für genealogische Daten.
Ab der Version 2.80 im Juli 2014 hat der Entwickler des Programms die interne Datenstruktur von Ahnenblatt komplett an das GEDCOM-Dateiformat angelehnt. Dadurch lässt sich alles was an Datenfeldern in GEDCOM möglich ist nun intern auch in Ahnenblatt speichern.
Nun bin ich sehr gespannt, welche neuen Daten-Erfassungs-Möglichkeiten die angekündigte Version 3.00 von Ahnenblatt dann haben wird!

Biggest Pro: Freeware, einfache Navigation, unkomplizierte Bedienung, Flexibilität, beeindruckender Leistungsumfang
Biggest Con: Die Umstellung auf das neue interne Datei-Format war nicht ganz problemlos

Google translate: Even up to version 2.74 was Ahnenblatt in the collection of genealogy data just to be desired: a very easy-to-use program with rich functionality and a variety of output options for genealogical data.
As of version 2.80 in July 2014, the developer of the program has completely inspired the internal data structure of Ahnenblatt to the GEDCOM file format. This allows all data fields in GEDCOM is possible now stored internally in Ahnenblatt.
Now I am very excited about the new Data Capture opportunities the announced version 3.00 of Ahnenblatt will have then!
Biggest Pro: Freeware, simple navigation, easy operation, flexibility, impressive scope
Biggest Con: The transition to the new internal file format was not easily

Ahnenblatt Review by Rob Spencer,  Dec 14, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Very good Program, it takes a little getting use to it, but overall a good solid program, similar to Family Tree Maker and Rootsmagic7, I now use all 3 on my Computer.

Biggest Pro: Nice & easy to use, easily enter all info on tree members
Biggest Con: only 1 basic tree view.

Ahnenblatt Review by Benno,  May 26, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Sehr intuitiv zu bedienen

Biggest Pro: macht den Einstieg in die Ahnenverwaltung mit dem PC sehr leicht
Biggest Con: keine

Google translate: Very intuitive to use
Biggest Pro: makes the relatives across the administration to the PC very easily
Biggest Con: No

Ahnenblatt Review by clarkHH,  May 25, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Ich nutze Ahnenblatt seit 5 Jahren. Was sonst?

Biggest Pro: Zuverlässig, kostenlos, einfach zu bedienen und ein engagierter Support!.

Google translate: I use Ahnenblatt for 5 years. What else?
Biggest Pro: Reliable, free, easy to use and a dedicated support!.

Ahnenblatt Review by Jozef,  May 24, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Kostenlos

Biggest Pro: Einfach sehr gut !
Biggest Con: Keine

Google translate: free
Biggest Pro: Easy to very good!
Biggest Con: No

Ahnenblatt Review by A. Alberich,  May 23, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Simple, quick and easy. Ilove it. Best prgram for genealogy ever.

Ahnenblatt Review by Ray Muhlade,  May 23, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Easy to use.
Available in English with support in English at Ahnenblatt Portal.
Very good printing results.

Ahnenblatt Review by Thomas,  May 22, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Eines der besten Programme die ich kenne

Biggest Pro: Übersichtlich, einfach zu bedienen, großer Funktionsumfang, kostenlos
Biggest Con: Fehlende Orts- und Quellenverwaltung

Google Translate: One of the best programs I know
Biggest Pro: Clear, easy to use, great features, free
Biggest Con: Lack of local and Source Management

Ahnenblatt Review by KT,  May 22, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Waiting for version 3.0

Biggest Pro: Easy to use

Ahnenblatt Review by Marcus,  May 21, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Ahnenblatt is available in english, as well as there is an english support section to be found at ahnenblattportal.de !
The new 2.80 looks very promising as a next to last step in direction of the long awaited 3.0 version.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use and learn; Fine trees; Store and Plugins (all free); Support from other users.
Biggest Con: Management of sources may be too simple - but therefore easy to use.

Ahnenblatt Review by J.H,  Mar 17, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Would love an update, it’s simple, quick and easy, I use it to load all data then transfer to other programs eg: My Family Tree to view.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use
Biggest Con: No English,

Ahnenblatt Review by Inigo Berganza,  Mar 16, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Very useful program! using it for my son’s genealogy tree!

Biggest Pro: easy and intuitive to use

Ahnenblatt Review by Jörg,  Mar 16, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Einfach, selbsterklärend, großer Funktionsumfang und dabei übersichtlich. Mit das beste Genealogieprogramm, das ich kenne.

Biggest Pro: Gut zu bedienen, kostenlos. Mit Plugins erweiterbar.
Biggest Con: Kleinigkeiten in Spezialfällen warten auf bearbeitung

Google translate: Simple, self-explanatory, great functionality and clearly displayed. With the best genealogy program that I know of.
Biggest Pro: Good to use, free of charge. Can be extended with plugins.
Biggest Con: little things in special cases awaiting processing

Ahnenblatt Review by Heinz,  Mar 5, 2014

Not Rated

Ein gutenprogrammen fur volks.

Biggest Pro: Guten shcmarten programmen.
Biggest Con: Nein fahrtenschtink,

Google translate: A good programs for folk.
Biggest Pro: Good smart programs.
Biggest Con: No fahrtenhtink,

Show 21-40 »