Ahnenblatt

Click To See Award Winners
by Dirk Böttcher
A free and easy-to-use genealogy software for Windows. It is available in several languages (English, German, French, Spanish and more). It also has a website in German and a Portal in German.  Can run as a portable application on a USB stick.

Free • Windows • Full Featured
http://www.ahnenblatt.com/
Overall1834.84 out of 54.84 out of 54.84 out of 54.84 out of 54.84 out of 5 4.84
2016164.84 out of 54.84 out of 54.84 out of 54.84 out of 54.84 out of 5 4.84
2015154.75 out of 54.75 out of 54.75 out of 54.75 out of 54.75 out of 5 4.75
Earlier1524.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 5 4.90

Add Your Review of Ahnenblatt

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

183 Reviews of Ahnenblatt     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Ahnenblatt Review by Reinhard,  2 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Großer Funktionsumfang und trotzdem einfach zu bedienen
Deutsch als Hauptsprache, nicht irgendeine eingedeutschte Sprachversion

Biggest Pro: Sprache, benutzerfreundlichkeit
Biggest Con: ?

Google translate: Wide range of functions, yet easy to use. German as a main language, not some is German language version
Biggest Pro: language, user-friendliness

Ahnenblatt Review by David,  Aug 12, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Ahnenblatt is a decent attempt to create a basic genealogy program, but your needs have to fit exactly within its limitations. For me, the killer is that there is no place to put burial and memorial information. I get a lot of information from Find-a-Grave and I want to be able to record what cemetery someone is buried in and their Find-a-Grave memorial number. In PAF 5.2.18.0 there is no problem. There is a burial event where I can put the name and location of the cemetery and there is a Custom ID attribute where I can store the Find-a-Grave memorial number.

Not so in Ahnenblatt. Furthermore, PAF lets you add any of a large number of predefined events that aren’t ordinarily displayed, such as Residence or Occupation and can even let you create your own events or edit existing events. Ahnenblatt doesn’t provide any of this flexibility. What you see is all that’s available. I would have to abuse its fields and put the name of the graveyard in the Funeral location, which leaves me with the problem of what to do when I come across actual funeral data, and also leaves me with a conversion problem when I export the GEDCOM and try to load it into another program that has a real burial event.

There’s also no place to put residence information, and that’s another killer because another big source of information for American genealogy is US Census data available at 10 year intervals. Without a residence event, or a way to create a custom one, all that information has to end up in general notes. With PAF you can add a residence event for every census the person participates in. All neat and tidy.

There are other limitations that people need to be aware of too. I see no way to add a fifth marriage/partnership/relationship. There are four partner slots available and when they’re all used up there’s no + button to add more. Likewise there are only 12 slots for children. That may seem like a lot, until you get back a couple of hundred years ago and find 8 children to be the norm and 13 not that unusual, especially if a man has more than one wife. Children are limited to two parents. Adoptions can’t be kept track of at all. There’s not even an option to indicate that one or both parent relationships is a guardianship or an adoption.

Sadly then, I have to conclude that Ahnenblatt is not going to be very useful for American genealogists. I should also mention that the help file is in German and you have to download an English language help file from another source unless you happen to understand German. That help file isn’t quite finished, but it’s quite usable, so I don’t downgrade the program for that.

Of course, the program is also missing advanced features such as automatically querying online genealogy data services and generating automatic hints like Ancestry . com.

Biggest Pro: User interface is intuitive for beginners.
Biggest Con: Lack of flexibility. If you’re too tall to sleep in its bed, the only option is to cut off your legs.

Ahnenblatt Review by Piit58,  Aug 8, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Das verständlichste Programm punkto Genealogie. Und dazu noch gratis!!!
Das Programm ist sowohl für Anfänger als auch für “Ahnenforscher-Profis” das Beste, sowohl in der Bedienung als auch in der Sicherheit und Verständlichkeit.
Gratulation und ein herzliches Dankeschön an Herrn Dirk Böttcher.

Biggest Pro: Dass es dieses Programm gibt.
Biggest Con: Der Programmumfang.

Google translate: e most comprehensible program terms Genealogy. And still free !!!
The program is for beginners as well as for “genealogist professionals” the best, both in operation and in the security and clarity. Congratulations and a big thank you to Mr Dirk Böttcher.
Biggest Pro: That there is this program.
Biggest Con: The program scope.

Ahnenblatt Review by Andreas,  Jul 2, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Gutes Programm. Es wird.
Vielen Dank für die Entwicklungsarbeit.

Biggest Pro: Perspektive.
Biggest Con: Im- und Export.

Google translate: Good program. It will.
Thanks for the development work.
Biggest Pro: perspective.
Biggest Con: import and export.

Ahnenblatt Review by opa-günni,  Jun 17, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

leicht verständliches Programm auch für Neueinsteiger sehr gut geeignet

Biggest Pro: gute Übersicht, leicht zu handhaben
Biggest Con: ./.

Google translate: easy to understand program very suitable for beginners
Biggest Pro: good overview, easy to handle
Biggest Con: ./.

Ahnenblatt Review by Thomas,  Jun 10, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Das beste unter den kostenlosen Proprammen!! Einfach in Handhabung und Eingabe, übersichtlich in der Darstellung der Tafeln und Listen

Google translate: The best among the free programs !! Easy to use and input, clearly in the presentation of panels and lists

Ahnenblatt Review by Guest,  May 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

What sould i say about a free and good programm?
Test it! :-)

Biggest Pro: Free

Ahnenblatt Review by Thomas Mueller,  Feb 6, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Easy to use, very fast and stable. It allows to enter only parts of each (like year of birth only) and also provides the possibility to enter very detailed data.
And the software is completely free! No account needed, no free-trail!
Thanks Dirk!

Biggest Pro: Easy to use
Biggest Con: Printing familie trees can be very tricky

Ahnenblatt Review by Dieter,  Jan 20, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Beste Bedienung, Super Ahnentafel,

Google translate: Best service, super pedigree,

Ahnenblatt Review by Denis,  Jan 8, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

It is full of features, it organizes the family pretty well and best of all - it is totally free! A great piece of software. Thank you, Dirk Böttcher!

Biggest Pro: Free, fully featured
Biggest Con: -

Ahnenblatt Review by Günter,  Jan 6, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am using Ahnenblatt for many many years and from time to time I was looking for alternative software. However I did not find a better free software. It is constantly developed further and some useful plugins make family research more interesting.
As it is a project from Dirk, my only concern is what will happened, when Dirk stops.

Biggest Pro: free, constant further developing
Biggest Con: one-man show

Ahnenblatt Review by Elbe1,  Jan 5, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Benutze Ahnenblat schon Jahre und bin voll zufrieden.

Google translate: Use Ahnenblat for years and am fully satisfied.

Ahnenblatt Review by Chlodwig,  Jan 3, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Highly recommended!

Biggest Pro: Funktions, Design and many more
Biggest Con: None

Ahnenblatt Review by Jan,  Jan 2, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Ich habe viele Programme für die Genealogy installiert und ausprobiert … aber immer wieder komme ich auf Ahnenblatt zurück! Es ist einfach so schön übersichtlich und klar aufgebaut. Auch wenn es einiges an Funktionen, mit denen andere Programme aufwarten - aber braucht man die wirklich?, nicht hat - jedenfalls nicht derzeit - ist es eine Freude mit diesem Programm zu arbeiten. Und … es wird laufend erweitert … berücksichtigt dabei aber auch die Wünsche der Anwender.

Wer sich mit der Genealogy befasst MUSS sich dies Programm einfach ansehen. Und wer mit den Forschungen erst beginnt … kann bei Verwendung dieses Programms keinen Fehler machen!

Google translate: I have a lot of programs for the Genealogy installed and tried … but always I come back to Ahnenblatt! It’s just so beautiful well laid out and clear. Although there a lot of features that come up other programs - but you need the really ?, has not - at least not at the moment - it is a pleasure to work with this program. And … it is constantly being expanded … but also takes into account the wishes of the user.

Anybody examining the Genealogy has to look at this program easy. And who only begins with the research … can not make a mistake when using this program!

Ahnenblatt Review by Tespapa,  Jan 1, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Benutze Ahnenblat schon Jahre und bin voll zufrieden mit diesem Programm. Zur Info - ohne Dirk Böttcher wäre dieses nicht möglich - besten Dank DIRK!!

Biggest Pro: Alles
Biggest Con: Nichts

Google translate: Use Ahnenblat for years and am fully satisfied with this program. FYI - without Dirk Böttcher this would not be possible - many thanks !! DIRK
Biggest Pro: Everything
Biggest Con: Nothing

Ahnenblatt Review by Wolfgang,  Jan 1, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Arbeite seit vielen Jahren mit Ahnenblatt. Konnte bisher keine kostenlose Genealogie-Software finden, die einen ähnlich großen Funktionsumfang bietet.

Biggest Pro: Einfache Bedienung; exzellenter Tafel-Ausdruck, umfangreiche Daten-Import und -Export Möglichkeiten, kontinuierliche Weiterentwicklung
Biggest Con: -

Google translate: Working for many years with Ahnenblatt. Could not find any previously free genealogy software that offers a similarly wide range of functions.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use; excellent table-expression, extensive data import and export capabilities, continuous development

Biggest Con: -

Ahnenblatt Review by deMaerdes,  Dec 31, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Ich bin begeistert und nutze es seit vielen Jahren!

Google translate: I am thrilled and use it for many years!

Ahnenblatt Review by Cargo,  Dec 31, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Seit vielen Jahren kontinuierlich weiterentwickeltes Programm, welches den Nutzern kostenfrei zur Verfügung gestellt wird. Für Profis wie Einsteiger in die Ahnenforschung gleichermaßen geeignet.

Immer wieder freundliche Hilfe und Unterstützung im Forum.

Biggest Pro: einfach immer wieder gut
Biggest Con: n/v

Google translate: For many years continuously developed program, which is provided to users free of charge. For professionals and beginners suitable in the Genealogy alike.

Again and again, help and support in the forum
Biggest Pro:. Just always good
Biggest Con: n / a

Ahnenblatt Review by SCOW,  Dec 31, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

es ist einfach zu bedienen, übersichtlich, intuitiv, gute Report- und Ausgabemöglichkeiten

Google translate: it is easy to use, clear, intuitive, good reporting and output options

Ahnenblatt Review by Bernard Kriens,  Dec 31, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Nach vielen Versuchen bin ich zu Ahnenblatt gekommen. Ein hervorragendes Programm mit sehr gutem Service.

Google translate: After many attempts I came to Ahnenblatt. An excellent program with very good service.

Show 21-40 »