Ultimate Family Tree (UFT)

Click To See Award Winners
by Palladium Interactive, Inc.
Ultimate Family Tree was developed in 1997 when Palladium combined the ease of use of its Family Gathering program with the power and capabilities of the ROOTS software it purchased from CommSoft. UFT became the standard for other programs to achieve. In 2003, Ultimate Family Tree was purchased by Genealogy.com, who dropped it in favor of their Family Tree Maker software.

Unsupported • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://web.archive.org/web/20020906135607/http://www.uftree.com/UFT/UF...
Overall244.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5 4.70
201445 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00
20130    No Ratings
Earlier203.99 out of 53.99 out of 53.99 out of 53.99 out of 53.99 out of 5 3.99

Add Your Review of Ultimate Family Tree (UFT)

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

24 Reviews of Ultimate Family Tree (UFT)     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Ultimate Family Tree (UFT) Review by LFG,  Jun 14, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

loved the program….but where did all the old data loaded on the web go? I had saved a very big family tree project and uploaded. since, my pc has crashed and I only have a printed copy left. any idea where I can find the original web stuff i loaded? if you do..please email me at bdgguy69@yahoo.com

Ultimate Family Tree (UFT) Review by Mary W. Jones,  May 20, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Ultimate Family Tree was the best I have seen. The other family software does not seem to have what Ultimate had. The Family Journal in Ultimate I really enjoyed.

Ultimate offered a variety of reports that I enjoyed. I am updating my family tree. I have the disks from Ultimate but they are not compatible with the software I have.

I am interested in the Family Journal so that my family can go step by step. I bought the Family Tree Maker but it is nothing compared to Ultimate.

Is there a 2014 version of the Ultimate Family Tree?
Ultimate Family Tree was the best. I don’t know why you guys changed it. Can we go back to it?

Biggest Pro: It was easy to follow. The Family Tree Maker is not easy to follow

Ultimate Family Tree (UFT) Review by Karen Q,  Apr 24, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Quite a few years ago, I was very excited about genealogy research. When UFT couldn’t be loaded onto my new computer, I purchased Family Tree Maker, and tried importing my family tree. When I realized that all of my source information was “messed up,” I became discouraged and haven’t done much since then. Now that I’m retired, I decided to try again and have started trying to correct errors that are in the source files. I’m beginning to think it’s an impossible situation. Notes I made are in the title of the source, source names are in the wrong places. People who were entered as a presiding minister, bridesmaid, godparent, etc., are in my family tree, and I have no idea who they are unless I use both my old computer and have both programs open. Wish someone would update and reintroduce a program that’s compatible with UFT!

Ultimate Family Tree (UFT) Review by John Sprague,  Mar 29, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

As a long time genealogist, I consider the ULT software the best ever made! Sadly, 20 years ago, this software was wonderful to work with and nothing produced today comes close to it. Genealogy.com made a big mistake by dropping it in favor of another less favorable software.

Ultimate Family Tree (UFT) Review by Denise Moss-Fritch,  Aug 19, 2012

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

This genealogy software was a Windows update to the old Roots software. I met the developers and staff at a couple of the San Francisco Bay Area genealogy shows in the late 1990s, so was very unhappy to see this software close after being sold.

About the only software today that comes close to matching UFT, and adding new features, is Genbox.

Biggest Pro: Citations for parts of a date or place
Biggest Con: Sold and not continued

Ultimate Family Tree (UFT) Review by Richard Autry,  Jul 20, 2012

Not Rated

@ Pat. I had no problem running this in Windows 7

Ultimate Family Tree (UFT) Review by Richard Autry,  Jul 20, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is a good program, but it just needs updating with neww windowds for the 1930 and 1940 census’

Biggest Pro: Covers most all genealaogical models
Biggest Con: does not have space for the e1930 and 1940 census’

Ultimate Family Tree (UFT) Review by Daryl,  Jul 7, 2012

Not Rated

I have used reviewed Family Tree Maker 2012 and The Master Geneologist. Neither program even remotely compares to the Ultimate Family Tree. I will try to transfer this to a virtual XP environment on Windows 7 and will report if I succeed.

Anyone who can get their hands on the original code and update the program will have a goldmine.

Meanwhile I also work on downloading the material to other digital media. Fortunately Excel Export and Word Export are possible with great effort.

Biggest Pro: Format for data entry, reporting options, Event orientation, templates
Biggest Con: Cumbersome access to the data base

Ultimate Family Tree (UFT) Review by pat,  Mar 21, 2012

Not Rated

OOPS..SORRY. I just read than even LDS’s software’s support is/has been stopped! Who’d of thunk?

Ultimate Family Tree (UFT) Review by pat,  Mar 21, 2012

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Great program that I’m STUCK with and struggling to keep working. No provision was made in the software to export ALL of your data and research notes. So… if you have a large database you’ve accumulated for YEARS it becomes totally impractical to manually copy data to new software. But keeping the program running has now become a techie’s nightmare. It will neither load or copy/run in Windows 7. I’m trying now to see if I can get it to go in a Virtual XP environment. If anyone has tried this I’ll appreciate all pointers..
I’d strongly advise any newbie in genealogy to go ONLY with the software that’s non-profit supplied and supported and you know will still be out there 50 years from now. It may not be the best, but there’s only one that really meets the criteria and it’s free from the LDS Church. Bells & whistles don’t compensate for lost data.

Biggest Pro: Good software - only a 3 because of it’s technical limitations
Biggest Con: Support, support, support.

Ultimate Family Tree (UFT) Review by Graeme,  Dec 31, 2011

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

A great program until dumped by vendor with another program to push. It produced what is still the best narrative report, no current software comes close to it. Likes it event driven approach and wish it was still around being developed today.

Biggest Pro: Even driven, great narrativer reports
Biggest Con: dumped and no longer being developed

Ultimate Family Tree (UFT) Review by Sandy,  Oct 24, 2011

Not Rated

The closest software to UFT, there is only one, The Master Genealogist

Ultimate Family Tree (UFT) Review by Connie Penquite,  Oct 15, 2011

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Now that UFT is no longer supported, I am looking to switch to another program. Does anyone have a suggestion as to which software is the closest to UFT.

Biggest Pro: Very easy
Biggest Con: no longer supported

Ultimate Family Tree (UFT) Review by Ray,  Aug 27, 2011

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I bought several UFT programs, It was the best program I ever bought. Now, there are new programs and I dislike everyone including a new one I bought last year.
I very much would like this program to come back. It was easy to use. I made several backups and now I can’t access them because you need the patch. I saved it now, am unable to find it.
Patch vs2.8 I think. I had this software running on windows XP home and it worked differently, but it worked.

Biggest Pro: This program was the best I ever got, and still want to run it. Even printed my entire tree.
Biggest Con: companies buy other companies just to put them out of business to sell you there products.

Ultimate Family Tree (UFT) Review by Bill Wilson,  Jun 27, 2011

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Need to find a way or program compatible with Windows 7.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use
Biggest Con: UNable to load program into Windows 7

Ultimate Family Tree (UFT) Review by James Cluff,  Feb 4, 2011

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have had this software since the ROOTS days. I spent hundreds of hours imputing data into the program. For my money, it was (and still is) the best genealogy program on the market. The decision by the Family Tree Maker people to discontinue support while not making any provision for a FULL transfer of all data to their platform was nothing less than contemptible. I will certainly never buy FTM (unless they belatedly provide for a means to transfer all the data in UFT).

For those who still have it, UFT will run on Windows 7 but only on the 32 bit version. I think that even when they discontinued the support for it, the program required a Foxpro patch to slow it down for the more current computers.

If anyone is aware of a program which transfers all data (and not just using Gedcom, which limits the information sent), I’d love to hear about it. I’ve tried Generations, Reunion, Mac Family Tree among others. I can be reached at cluffjamesh@gmail.com.

Biggest Pro: Ease of Use; Printing of Reports
Biggest Con: Unsupported and (increasingly) unplayable on modern computers

Ultimate Family Tree (UFT) Review by Paola,  Jun 10, 2010

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have spent years putting information into this program along with many photos and notes when we had a desktop now crashed. the backups on diskettes did not transfer well to the new desktop and I found more corrupted info when transferred to my laptop. No photos transferred at all. I pretty much need to reinvent the info now because so much is in the wrong family and the program itself is misaligned so I am unable to accurately add some info.
Has anyone had this happen? I am afraid to mess with it too much and lose what I have.

Ultimate Family Tree (UFT) Review by Cheryl McDonald,  May 5, 2010

Not Rated

I’m looking for a copy of UFT to upload so I can convert all of my data to another software.

Ultimate Family Tree (UFT) Review by Cheryl McDonald,  May 5, 2010

Not Rated

When Vista came out Microsoft came out with a platform in which you could run 16 bit programs on a 32 bit OS. Can’t remember what it was called. It would run partitioned like Linux runs on a machine. Try a local computer club to see if some one can help you locate that platform.

Ultimate Family Tree (UFT) Review by S,  Mar 27, 2010

Not Rated

UFT is a great program…. BUT it will NOT run on Windows 7. It will not load. It will not transfer. There is no way currently to get it to work in Windows 7. Any help to get it to convert would be appreciated.

Biggest Con: DOES NOT WORK IN WINDOWS 7

Show 21-24 »