Relatively Yours

Click To See Award Winners
by Computability Pty. Limited (Greg Morgan)
A complete system, designed and programmed in Australia, so that all the information you can research about your family history can be recorded, displayed and reproduced in a meaningful fashion. Has some very interesting and unique reports.

Unsupported • Windows • Full Featured
http://web.archive.org/web/20160118221235/http://www.relativelyyours.c...
Overall194.22 out of 54.22 out of 54.22 out of 54.22 out of 54.22 out of 5 4.22
201714 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00
201644.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5 4.70
Earlier143.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 5 3.70

Add Your Review of Relatively Yours

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

19 Reviews of Relatively Yours     RSS 2.0 RSS                   Add Your Review

Relatively Yours Review by Glenn Wood,  Jan 3, 2017

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

And older program but still works well on all versions of Windows up to and including Windows 10.

As well as being comprehensively featured, it is easy to use. My favourite feature (compared to other products) is the ability to see at a glance on one page, all of the details about a person. But if you want to see less on a page you can easily change the configuration to do so.

Biggest Pro: No longer supported
Biggest Con: Person page clearly shows all data on a person on one single page.

Relatively Yours Review by Ondine,  Dec 18, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using the RY3 program for about 14yrs. I have tried many others just in case there was anything better but have always come back to RY3. It does everything where others always seem to have one thing or another that is missing.

Biggest Pro: It works
Biggest Con: Now there is no updates available

Relatively Yours Review by David Knight,  Nov 26, 2016

Not Rated

I have been using Relatively Yours since the 1990’s and I have a large database. I now run the program under Windows XP in Virtual Box (free download) on a Windows 10 computer. It works just fine.

Biggest Pro: Very easy to use
Biggest Con: Works on Windows XP but not on 7, 8 or 10

Relatively Yours Review by Darryn P.,  Aug 8, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Re: Relatively Yours Review by Don Cameron, Dec 23, 2015.

Don,
Have you looked @ VMPlayer / Virtual PC - Run a Virtual PC as a Windows Machine, Ex: Win 7, then install RY3 inside that - You catch myself via Skype User ID - “Razzle3912″ & I could potentially assist you with RY3 Update issues.

Re: I’m a pensioner, so I reckoned that it would be worth my while to buy a new PC lap-top, just to run RY3, rather than paying a yearly subscription to Parallels. Problem is, that while I have up-loaded RY3 from an old disc onto my new PC laptop, and restored my saved databases from an external hard-drive, the RY3 version I have on disc v3.1.3236, will not allow me to access these saved databases.

The other problem is that Greg Morgan,(the chap who purchased, or acquired RY3 from the deceased estate of the programme’s original developer), is not now supporting RY3, and it is no good writing to him, as his website e-mail address is no longer active.

Some people on the RY3 forum say there is a 2009 version update on the RY3 website. I’ve tried to up-load that, but I’ve not been able to get it to work for me.

Biggest Pro: Brilliant Program still - 12yrs since last updated.
Biggest Con: Would love to purchase the Source Code to assist in modernising it to Windows 8.1 / Win 10 versions.

Relatively Yours Review by AnneK,  Aug 8, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Came across this when looking for any updates.
Bought RY in the ’90s to record my children’s family history in Australia.
Had clitches a couple of times with new computers but was able to contact Greg and get it sorted. The personal contact was good.
The program was flexible as my project fanned out from my children to their forebears and I was able to record that. With the personal profiles in word, I was able to copy and paste them easily into my PowerPoint document. The personal information copied easily into table form and could be edited/reformatted easily.
I would have liked to have been able to reference within the personal profile area.
However, I do have a 200 page PowerPoint document with facts, blurb and photos which was developed from the RY3 program.

Biggest Pro: Self explanatory and relatively flexible. Ability to transfer the information easily into a PowerPoint or Word format.
Biggest Con: Referencing for reproducing in a formal document.

Relatively Yours Review by Don Cameron,  Dec 23, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Relatively Yours Review by Judy Cutts, Sep 13, 2015

Judy, I’ve been running RY3 on my Mac using Parallels (there is no Mac version of RY3). Now that Parallels wants to charge about AUD $100 a year for a subscription service (rather than purchasing a hard copy of their programme) that seems excessive to me. I stated having problems when I up-dated my Mac to the new operating system, El Capitan, which would only work with a new version of Parallels (the subscription version).

I’m a pensioner, so I reckoned that it would be worth my while to buy a new PC lap-top, just to run RY3, rather than paying a yearly subscription to Parallels. Problem is, that while I have up-loaded RY3 from an old disc onto my new PC laptop, and restored my saved databases from an external hard-drive, the RY3 version I have on disc v3.1.3236, will not allow me to access these saved databases.

The other problem is that Greg Morgan,(the chap who purchased, or acquired RY3 from the deceased estate of the programme’s original developer), is not now supporting RY3, and it is no good writing to him, as his website e-mail address is no longer active.

Some people on the RY3 forum say there is a 2009 version update on the RY3 website. I’ve tried to up-load that, but I’ve not been able to get it to work for me.

One would think that as Greg Morgan is no longer interested in keeping this programme functioning, he should sell it, or hand over control of RY3 (which is a great programme) to someone, or to a group of past customers, who could actively support the programme. This kind of failure to keep supporting computer programmes is an important issue. One should carefully consider when purchasing any kind of computer programme, how long will it be supported? It’s the brave new world of computers, and computer programme customers seem to have no rights under consumer legislation. At least not at the moment. These companies are all too happy to take your money, but not keen to meet their obligations to customers in the long run.

My only option now is to pay Parallels for a subscription, and somehow find a use for the new PC laptop - it’s been a very expensive exercise so far.

Biggest Pro: Great programme
Biggest Con: No longer supported, no ability to contact the programmes owner

Relatively Yours Review by DieVo,  Oct 31, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Dieses Programm bietet vom Leistungsumfang her Eingabe- und Ausgabe-seitig sehr viele Möglichkeiten; besonders gefallen mir folgende Funktions-Details:

- es erlaubt das Erfassen jeder Art von Ereignis mit begleitenden Beschreibungen;
- unbegrenzte verbale Informationen für jedes Ereignis können erfasst werden;
- mehrere Quellen pro Ereignis können zugeordnet werden;
- das Passfoto-Konzept des Programms ermöglicht, dass Bilder in Dokumenten und Anzeigen integriert werden können;
- es ermöglicht die Einbeziehung aller Multimedia-Objekte einschließlich Fotos, Tonaufnahmen und Heimvideos;
- sehr wichtig: eine GEDCOM Import- und Export-Schnittstelle ist auch vorhanden!

Schade, dass Relatively Yours offensichtlich nicht mehr weiterentwickelt wird.
Wenn man deshalb auf eine andere Genealogie-Software umsteigen will oder muss, kann oder sollte man die in diesem Programm auch enthaltene GEDCOM-Export-Schnittstelle nutzen.
Damit könnte man seine Stammbaum-Datenbank aus Relatively Yours in sein neu angeschafftes Genealogie-Programm migrieren; das ist natürlich aber auch nur möglich, wenn in dem neuen Programm eine GEDCOM-Import-Schnittstelle vorhanden ist!

Biggest Pro: Wie oben beschrieben!
Biggest Con: Schade, dass die Weiter-Entwicklung des Programms eingestellt wurde!

Google translate: This program provides the scope of her input and output side of a lot of possibilities; I particularly enjoyed the following functional details:
- It allows the detection of any kind of event with accompanying descriptions;
- Unlimited verbal information for each event can be captured;
- Multiple sources for each event can be assigned;
- Allows the passport photo concept of the program is that images can be integrated into documents and advertisements;
- Allows the integration of all multimedia objects including photographs, audio recordings and home movies; - Very important: a GEDCOM import and export interface is also available!
Too bad that Relatively Yours is obviously no longer being developed. If you therefore want to or have to change to a different genealogy software, can or should use the GEDCOM export interface in this program also included. It could be used to migrate its pedigree database from Relatively Yours in his new genealogy program; that is of course also possible only if a GEDCOM import interface is present in the new program!
Biggest Pro: As described above!
Biggest Con: Too bad that the further development of the program has been set!

Relatively Yours Review by Judy Cutts,  Sep 13, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I rate RY3 a 5 as it is the only program I have ever used for almost 25 years now.
I have recently downloaded Windows 10 without thought to RY3 but it is so far working just the same as when on Windows 7. I would like to upgrade to a new computer using Apple…….can anyone tell me if RY3 is compatible to Apple? If so is there anything I should be alert to when purchasing and Apple computer?

Biggest Pro: Relatively easy to use. A shame no one in I T has picked up this program to help the many users out there.
Biggest Con: No con as far as I am concerned……I just need support now to transfer data across to an Apple system.

Relatively Yours Review by Peter Quick,  Aug 24, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Have been using this software for a number of years, really like it but it’s no longer supported & I can’t move across to Windows 8 platform…soon to be Windows 10. Major issue. I haven’t been able to find other software that I can migrate my (very large) database to, and it’s just not feasible to re-enter thousands of pieces of information into another package. If anyone has any suggestions, I’d be grateful to hear them…

Biggest Pro: Easy to use and had everything I needed for my family tree
Biggest Con: Now obsolete and can’t (?) migrate my family tree to other software. MAJOR PROBLEM!!

Relatively Yours Review by Frank,  Jul 27, 2015

Not Rated

Have been using the program since early this century. Recently my computer gave up the ghost. I have a back up of RY3. Have revived old computer but in doing so lost all data’ Have reinstalled RY3 but have not succeeded in restoring back up. Any suggestions.???

Relatively Yours Review by Lynette Jones,  Dec 14, 2014

Not Rated

I have all the data from RY3 that I know have to try and find another system that will upload the data and is compatible with W7.

I now have 5 different family trees that I am trying to maintain (not easily as we have had to upgrade and I longer can use RY3 on the old machine and can’t upload to RY3.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use lovely charting had everything I needed
Biggest Con: Noone to continue upgrading.

Relatively Yours Review by Laurie,  Nov 13, 2014

Not Rated

The owner and programer past away about 2009

Biggest Pro: Great program wish someone could take it up.

Relatively Yours Review by Kurt Sauer,  Nov 6, 2014

Not Rated

I am wondering if this program is still alive. Have tried to get in touch with them but so far no response. Does anybody else have a problem with them or is able to give me some advice.

Relatively Yours Review by Darryn P.,  Oct 20, 2014

Not Rated

A very well written & professionally layered style of Family Tree Data Base, I first saw RY1 (DOS Platform) on a Neighbour’s PC & also assisted in RY2 Beta testing on his Computer. I was within the first 5 people to purchase RY2 online on the day of its release & with the MAPS CD Rom also. Then naturally progressed to RY3 on the day of its release after assisting in beta testing on the Neighbour’s Computers.

Wish it was updated for Windows 7 & Windows 8 with regards to the use of more modern application icons / buttons, this program still has a great deal to offer further for it’s professional style.

Biggest Pro: This program still has a great deal to offer further for it’s professional style.
Biggest Con: Five years to await an update or more features, will happily keep using RY3…

Relatively Yours Review by Andy,  Mar 20, 2014

Not Rated

I haven’t seen any updates for RY since 2009. Do anyone know whether they are still around and provide support

Relatively Yours Review by Michael Roache,  Feb 12, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I started with RY1 over 20 years ago, and have since used it to collect, collate and display information for use in five publications on “The Roache Story”, “The Donelan Story”, “The Bugler Story”, “The Corlis Story” and “The Fargher Story”. It’s a good Australian-made and locally-supported product, and I have been through all the migrations from RY1 to RY2 and then to RY3 with the maximum of support and minimum of fuss.

Biggest Pro: Simple, Intuitive, fewer rectrictions on input, but still compliant with international standards.
Biggest Con: Was once ahead of its time, but caught by the pack with greater R&D resources.

Relatively Yours Review by Ian Monteith,  Jul 1, 2012

Not Rated

I started about 2003 with RY2 and went on to RY3. For a computer beginer, it did take some understanding, but it did fall into place. I found correcting my mistakes an issue but again it all worked out.
It was facinating to see the graphs and trees fall into place.
Product Support from Greg at Relatively Yours was exelent.

Biggest Pro: Versatile and worth the exercise.
Biggest Con: I would like to send a completed copy to a DVD without having to select each section.

Relatively Yours Review by Ken Wolff,  Apr 8, 2010

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using RY for many years nows, starting with RY2 and now RY3. Compared to some other programs I feel RY gives me control of what I input rather than having to input what the program demands. As I note in the “biggest con”, there are so many ways to add additional information that I rarely use the full capacity of the program in that way - but it is something I am working on and in future may keep more information in the program that I currently keep in handwritten notes.

Biggest Pro: ability to add “freestyle” comments and notes
Biggest Con: So much capacity to add information that I rarely use them all.

Relatively Yours Review by Laurence E Stephenson,  Sep 25, 2008

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

A very different genealogy program, a bit of a learning curve but worth it. Good for those who prefer less structure for entering information.

Biggest Pro: Very versatile
Biggest Con: Very expensive