Click To See Award Winners
by Leister Productions, Inc.
Reunion is one of the easiest-to-use programs with superb charting capabilities and many features. Only available for the Macintosh.

Purchase • Mac • Full Featured • Builds Website
Overall414.17 out of 54.17 out of 54.17 out of 54.17 out of 54.17 out of 5 4.17
201534 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00
201444.37 out of 54.37 out of 54.37 out of 54.37 out of 54.37 out of 5 4.37
Earlier344.24 out of 54.24 out of 54.24 out of 54.24 out of 54.24 out of 5 4.24

Add Your Review of Reunion

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

41 Reviews of Reunion     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Reunion Review by M Kowalski,  Sep 28, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I should begin by pointing out that I am using an older version (9.05) that I bought in 2007.

My main gripe has been with the data entry mechanism, which opens a new subwindow when I want to update a date or place — I can’t tab from the birth fields to the death fields, so it offends the touch-typist in me. I’ve grown accustomed to it, however.

A second grip (which might be fixed in the current version) is that it didn’t support tab characters in source fields.

It imported my Gedcom from PAF almost flawlessly (swapped the name prefix and suffix, but I don’t use those much) with more than 10,000 individuals.

It exported my Gedcom flawlessly to trees on, including extensive, detailed sources. Ancestry imported these same citations but left the title blank.

I want lots of freedom to do the clear thing when I cite a source, and Reunion allows that. It also has templates for its idea of standard citations.

My sources are usually free-form (I manually put in commas between name, title, publication info, volume, and page — as we did in high school), rather than typing the information into separate fields. As I said, I’m a touch-typist. I add a transcription of what I found in the source. Sometimes they run 50 or more lines long, if I find many of my family on a series of census pages. It lets me link the JPG (TIF, PDF, etc.) image(s) of the source page(s) to that source, so I can quickly rescreen it when I come back to it later for reference. And then I can attach that source to the names, births, and residences of everyone named in it. The source will appear as one endnote in any reports I create, but there will be an endnote reference on each item in the report that came from that source.

Reunion has been flexible enough to let me do these things and thus support me in my efforts to document my research as clearly as I can.

It supports single-sex parents. It supports multiple-parent-couple situations, such as adoptions.

It allows me to enter several versions of each type of event (if there are several versions of a birth date, for example). It also allows me to create new event types or fact types, and it includes them in reports if I like.

Biggest Pro: Clean Gedcom import & export. Extensive, flexible source citation support, including images.
Biggest Con: Not a touch-typist’s preferred mode.

Reunion Review by Sharon Rowe,  Jun 19, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I switched to this from Brother’s Keeper when I got a Mac. I first tried some shareware programs then bit the bullet and paid for this one. I still haven’t learned all the features but it gets the job done.

Biggest Pro: Best program I have found for the Mac.
Biggest Con: Difficult to add and delete people.

Reunion Review by John Meara,  Jan 24, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Been using for about 5 years after PC-based Relatively Yours. Both excellent, but I moved to Apple gear, so had to move to Reunion. I really like that Reunion has Apps for my iPhone and iPad, making research away from home really easy to record and transfer via a synch back to main program. The layout and graphical interface are intuitive, allowing lots of Mac-typical functionality (drag and drop etc).

Biggest Pro: Great Apps for iPhone and iPad so I can be mobile with all my iMac content. Easy to use and add photos and content.
Biggest Con: None yet.

Reunion Review by les L,  Aug 4, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I would like to add a comment about the excellent help which is available and included in the cost. As a newcomer to this field, this was a very important feature and their staff, particularly Deb, is very knowledgeable and helpful.

Biggest Pro: phone help

Reunion Review by Wayne,  Jun 12, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using Reunion for many years and have been through several upgrades with no problems. Once information is entered on an individual, one feature I really enjoy is the ability to search through 57 websites. You can choose them one at a time or set up a list of your favorite genealogy web sites. The list does include websites that charge a fee. Searching within the database is also very easy to do. Leister has excellent tech support even though it limits the time that it is available. I found the people very helpful. Reunion can create a variety of reports both for print and online publishing.

Biggest Pro: search features; variety of reports
Biggest Con: fee for new upgrades

Reunion Review by Jane S,  Jan 13, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I used LegacyFamilyTree software on my PC. Then I switched to Mac, and although I love the Mac, I sorely miss LegacyFamilyTree. Reading the wonderful reviews of Reunion, I believed I would have the same features as in LegacyFamilyTree, only with Mac capabilities. Reunion IS beautiful, but the actual functions are very basic. Instead of comparing Reunion to FamilyTreeMaker, developers, please take a look at LegacyFamilyTree and incorporate their features — that should be your comparison. I am tempted to buy another PC just to use LegacyFamilyTree again. I would love to give Reunion five stars after the program adds many more features.

Biggest Pro: Beautiful display, copies to MSWord
Biggest Con: Basic program only, limited charts and reports. Not suitable for advanced research reports.

Reunion Review by Nancy T,  Jan 3, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using Reunion for 14 years and couldn’t be happier. It’s easy to use, easy to search, easy to get reports, select only people from specific places, etc. I have 5,000 in my database and I need easy access to get to the people I want. I add notes, sources, websites and any questions or books relating to that person in the notes. Reunion has a message board for discussing changes, requests for next version and help for the software where I have gotten answers quickly.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use, updates by request, fast help.

Reunion Review by Meg Bate,  Oct 13, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

A great program for the Mac. It’s easy to use and has the capability to produce great chats, books and most importantly you can keep track of your research using multimedia. Also Apps for your ipad and iphone.

Biggest Pro: Flexibility & multimedia options

Reunion Review by Rosemary Kopittke,  Oct 4, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Fantastic, reliable, very easy to learn and use

Reunion Review by Karen,  Aug 12, 2013

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I am just started using Reunion 10. I just went to the IAJGS conference in Boston and took a workshop on Reunion 10. It has lots of great new features, that I am just beginning to use!

Reunion Review by Hkahdfs,  Jun 1, 2013

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Reunion 10 is adequate for basic genealogical documentation, but really is not the final say in genealogical software, despite other glowing reviews. Its user interface is incredibly dated (early 2000s), and frankly ugly in my opinion. More importantly, the documentation system is absolute rubbish. Yes, you can record your sources, but there is no way to indicate the quality of the source (though you can add a field and do it manually), nor format the sources the way you want; you can change the order that the fields appear it, but that is about it. Overall this is almost a deal killer for me.

The other big turn off is the so-called mapping function. Yes, you can add geotagging to place names, but if you want to view it on a map, Reunion just opens up Google Map in your web browser rather than having a built-in globe view (MacFamily Tree is far better for this).

While Reunion does allow you to note pretty specific information (”no children,” “never married,” etc.), it is also a bit disappointing in not providing any data format overrides for specific cases. For example, if you want to have a Hungarian name formatted as family name first, given name second (and is appropriate for Hungarian), it is impossible. In fairness, there are only a few genealogy programs that will do this, and they are all on Windows, but it does make Reunion less interesting for professionals who want to do things right.

Biggest Pro: fairly complete feature set, but not perfect
Biggest Con: properly formatting sources is impossible

Reunion Review by Meg Bate,  Apr 30, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Best program for the Macintosh Computer. I have used Reunion over a number of years am am now using the latest version and I am still happy using it. I have looked at some other programs and they still do not match it.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use - Great for linking multimedia to people & families
Biggest Con: Probably no windows version

Reunion Review by Lyle Rawlins,  Dec 9, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using Reunion for several years.

Biggest Pro: The web search feature

Reunion Review by Gil Cantlin,  Nov 24, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I think Reunion is the very best genealogy program in existence. That is true not just for Apple for which it was written, but Reunion outshines every other genealogy program for any operating system including Apple’s. It covers the waterfront of needs. The time it takes to become familiar with it is more than a great investment. Nicely, that’s relatively easy, especially if you’re familiar with others. The tech support in the manual is excellent, almost more than one can handle. Fortunately, the email tech support is every bit as good as the program itself. Apple and Reunion were truly made for each other, and what a valuable and happy bond.

Biggest Pro: Easy coverage of all needs.
Biggest Con: No cons whatever.

Reunion Review by Glenn Thomas,  Oct 23, 2012

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Good app but very expensive to upgrade. IOS apps are just sluggish

Biggest Pro: user interface.
Biggest Con: expensive to upgrade, no notification when updates are ready.

Reunion Review by Heather,  Feb 28, 2011

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Amazing. Wonderful. Faultless,
Only problem is that it is not in a Windows Platform.

Biggest Pro: It is written by a Genealogist who also understands how to keep it simple and perfect
Biggest Con: No Windows version of can be purchased now

Reunion Review by Meg,  Jan 12, 2011

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used several other genealogy programs (Windows & Mac) and Reunion is by far the best for Mac users. It is comprehensive and relatively easy to use. The online Help manual is actually helpful. The program is extremely flexible; but with so many possibilities, newbies may be a little overwhelmed until they decide how they want data to appear.
The company is responsive to users and maintains an active users forum which I have used often. The support exceeds that offered by most other companies for any product.
Reunion is one of the few iPad versions of genealogy programs currently available, which increased the usefulness of the program for me.

Biggest Pro: The company support is fantastic and well worth the price of the app.
Biggest Con: Citation documentation could be improved by the addition of a few templates instead of having to make your own.

Reunion Review by James Moule,  Sep 7, 2010

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using this program for over 15 years and use it every day. It is very easy to find someone in a large file of people with Reunion’s indexing and search capabilities. It produces a very wide variety of reports and charts. The ones I use most frequently are a) Family Group Sheets to tell a correspondent what I know about a family, b) register reports to produce books on different families, and c) web cards that I upload to my web site to share what I have learned to others.

The iPod version is very handy. I have a copy of everything I have learned in my cell phone. If my mother or my children ask who is related to whom or when they were born I have the answer in my pocket. The new iPad version is fantastic! It is very easy to carry all your information with you and update it on the road when visiting libraries etc.

Biggest Pro: An easy to use, full featured, program
Biggest Con: Every one I ever thought of was taken care of in periodic program updates.

Reunion Review by Floyd,  May 16, 2010

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I wanted and needed a program that was very user friendly because I am a stark novice, new to genealogy and not a professional. I have spent two months making a tree on Ancestry and needed software to send the tremendous amount of stuff I had accumulated.

After a lot of time spent researching genealogy software, it seems as if I was lead down the garden path once again! The reviews I read on Reunion 9 for Macs were so glowing that I said even though the price was a bit large and the OTHER reviews said it was as good as sliced bread or canned beer, I took the bait. What a waste of time and my money!

Program is extremely tedious, NOT user friendly, incredibly confusing, and has a VERY steep learning curve for ones who are newbies. The software mfgr should warn folks who are new to the family history game about the learning curve! I guess they just assume all who buy this piece of junk know all about data entry and such for family trees! There are some of us who DO NOT and it would be nice to be warned before hand! The price is way way over the top and overall not good value! My dislikes are so many I can’t list em all! But one GLOWING complaint- no delete function for wrong entries! You gotta open a clipboard and navigate this to delete an entry! Where is the “save as” button? You gotta be joking!
Did I mention NO paper instruction book? They want you to PRINT your own, and it is LONG too! Guess printer ink and paper costs are best left to us unsuspecting customers! Thanks a lot!

I have been diligently trying to figure out this program for three days and have given up in disgust!
Hard to believe this is a MAC program! It will now sit on my hard drive unused till I decide to take it off and give it to my grand kids in around fifty years IF anyone in my family ever becomes interested in genealogy.


Biggest Pro: Nice looking WHEN you can figure it out!
Biggest Con: STEEP learning curve-and NO paper instruction manual

Reunion Review by Lawrie,  May 9, 2010

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Excellent program. I have used it for over 10 years. The mail list is excelleent because it answers every questio I have had.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use from day 1!!!
Biggest Con: There isn’t one!

Show 21-40 »