Reunion

Click To See Award Winners
by Leister Productions, Inc.
Reunion is one of the easiest-to-use programs with superb charting capabilities and many features. Only available for the Macintosh.

Purchase • Mac • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.leisterpro.com/
Overall484.23 out of 54.23 out of 54.23 out of 54.23 out of 54.23 out of 5 4.23
201654.34 out of 54.34 out of 54.34 out of 54.34 out of 54.34 out of 5 4.34
201554 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00
Earlier384.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 5 4.30

Add Your Review of Reunion

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

48 Reviews of Reunion     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Reunion Review by Ramakrishna Nayak,  2 days ago

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

My original reunion from 1999 was good. When I bought my MacBook Air, the old program was not compatible and I bought a new Reunion program. data entered in the old program was transferred to the new program successfully. Now I find that I can no longer add any new data. I can add the data but the program does not retain it. Is there any help available? it is very frustrating to find info entered is not saved. In the old program, after entering any new data, one could hit a SAVE button to save new data. In the newer program that feature is not there and any new data entered is not saved.

Biggest Pro: Unable to save newly entered data

Reunion Review by Heike,  Jul 15, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

It is far the best program for Macs, and I always regret that there is no version for all the people using PCs. Working with genealogy programs for more than 15 years now, I started with Reunion, tried others over the years (including FTM and Ahnenblatt while using a WIndows-based laptop, but always returned to Reunion again: it is easy even for beginners, you can customize a lot of entries just the way you like it, has lots of ways to generate charts and reports just the way you want them, is always upgraded without problems, and you have a very fine website with only some clicks. The help functions are easy to understand, and if ever there is a problem you can rely on the very capable report. So after several test of ther programs it’s always Leister again!

Biggest Pro: Easy to understand and very capable in its optins
Biggest Con: Does not run on PCs

Reunion Review by Shelly Arnold,  May 21, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is by far the BEST genealogy software on the market today!!! I have been using and upgrading for many many years. I also used Family Tree Maker along side REUNION for portability because my laptop is a PC and desktop a Mac, but with the newer iPhone and iPad Apps, I’m REUNION all the way. Super easy to navigate, create reports and charts, and build a fantastic website with a few clicks to customize then upload to the site of your choice, mine is on Rootsweb/Ancestry.com-Freepages. Leister support is also wonderful, but frankly their manual and FAQs answers most of my questions. The instructions are well written and gives tips and tricks not previously known. Google search: “Arnold/Wilcox and Low/Packer Family” to view my REUNION generated tree.

Biggest Pro: SUPER user friendly, superior screen navigation, sync w/ iPad and iPhone
Biggest Con: Mac only, a bit pricey but WORTH every penny

Reunion Review by Katherine,  Apr 19, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using Reunion since FTM stopped supporting Mac. I find it robust and easy to use. The chart outputs work well. I haven’t used the web building or iPad features, but I’m glad to see them introduced.

Biggest Pro: Mac native
Biggest Con: Must add documents manually

Reunion Review by Judith,  Apr 19, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using Reunion since Version 3. It is so easy to use.
I like the ability to set references and reuse them without having to type all the details each time. They can be tweaked as necessary with new information. Searching specific individuals is very quick using the family name.

Creating trees in a chosen format allows good visuals. Reunion can also be synced with iPhone and iPad making it easy to take when ‘on the go’, and I like the multi-media option so I can add lots of pictures to the family page.

Great support if you strike a snag. I like being able to see how each person is related to me as it can be set to show on the person’s page.
I’ve looked at many other programmes, but would never swap.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use and ability to sync with phone and pad.

Reunion Review by Pat F,  Dec 11, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Nice program. Fairly easy to use, produces the usual reports and websites. Fabulous support by Leister. I had year of work done in Generations, a Windows port of a very old version of Reunion that was abandoned. No other package could properly convert my existing file. Leister helped me do it perfectly.

Entering data shows off how old the UI is, you type in name and have to go to a new screen for birth and death date entry. Very little of the usual top-of-screen menu bar does anything.

Its a pure Macintosh application, from when Apple didn’t want you to know anything about folders, directories, files, etc. which makes it hard to control backups, control directory usage, etc. Made worse by recent additions for photos, multi-media, etc. which really need careful directory/folder management.

Biggest Pro: support from Leister
Biggest Con: rough learning curve, dated UI. Very Macintosh design concepts. A bit pricey to stay current.

Reunion Review by Lynn,  Dec 3, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I’m using Version 10 & was very unhappy with the last upgrade. They dropped functions that I used a lot when making handwritten notes in libraries or courthouses. I’m nervous about upgrading to Version 11….what else are they going to discontinue or what new steps are they going to create to complicate rather than simplify?! Too bad it’s practically the only game in town!

Biggest Pro: for Mac users
Biggest Con: only game in town of any usefullness at all

Reunion Review by M Kowalski,  Sep 28, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I should begin by pointing out that I am using an older version (9.05) that I bought in 2007.

My main gripe has been with the data entry mechanism, which opens a new subwindow when I want to update a date or place — I can’t tab from the birth fields to the death fields, so it offends the touch-typist in me. I’ve grown accustomed to it, however.

A second grip (which might be fixed in the current version) is that it didn’t support tab characters in source fields.

It imported my Gedcom from PAF almost flawlessly (swapped the name prefix and suffix, but I don’t use those much) with more than 10,000 individuals.

It exported my Gedcom flawlessly to trees on wc.rootsweb.com, including extensive, detailed sources. Ancestry imported these same citations but left the title blank.

I want lots of freedom to do the clear thing when I cite a source, and Reunion allows that. It also has templates for its idea of standard citations.

My sources are usually free-form (I manually put in commas between name, title, publication info, volume, and page — as we did in high school), rather than typing the information into separate fields. As I said, I’m a touch-typist. I add a transcription of what I found in the source. Sometimes they run 50 or more lines long, if I find many of my family on a series of census pages. It lets me link the JPG (TIF, PDF, etc.) image(s) of the source page(s) to that source, so I can quickly rescreen it when I come back to it later for reference. And then I can attach that source to the names, births, and residences of everyone named in it. The source will appear as one endnote in any reports I create, but there will be an endnote reference on each item in the report that came from that source.

Reunion has been flexible enough to let me do these things and thus support me in my efforts to document my research as clearly as I can.

It supports single-sex parents. It supports multiple-parent-couple situations, such as adoptions.

It allows me to enter several versions of each type of event (if there are several versions of a birth date, for example). It also allows me to create new event types or fact types, and it includes them in reports if I like.

Biggest Pro: Clean Gedcom import & export. Extensive, flexible source citation support, including images.
Biggest Con: Not a touch-typist’s preferred mode.

Reunion Review by Sharon Rowe,  Jun 19, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I switched to this from Brother’s Keeper when I got a Mac. I first tried some shareware programs then bit the bullet and paid for this one. I still haven’t learned all the features but it gets the job done.

Biggest Pro: Best program I have found for the Mac.
Biggest Con: Difficult to add and delete people.

Reunion Review by John Meara,  Jan 24, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Been using for about 5 years after PC-based Relatively Yours. Both excellent, but I moved to Apple gear, so had to move to Reunion. I really like that Reunion has Apps for my iPhone and iPad, making research away from home really easy to record and transfer via a synch back to main program. The layout and graphical interface are intuitive, allowing lots of Mac-typical functionality (drag and drop etc).

Biggest Pro: Great Apps for iPhone and iPad so I can be mobile with all my iMac content. Easy to use and add photos and content.
Biggest Con: None yet.

Reunion Review by les L,  Aug 4, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I would like to add a comment about the excellent help which is available and included in the cost. As a newcomer to this field, this was a very important feature and their staff, particularly Deb, is very knowledgeable and helpful.

Biggest Pro: phone help

Reunion Review by Wayne,  Jun 12, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using Reunion for many years and have been through several upgrades with no problems. Once information is entered on an individual, one feature I really enjoy is the ability to search through 57 websites. You can choose them one at a time or set up a list of your favorite genealogy web sites. The list does include websites that charge a fee. Searching within the database is also very easy to do. Leister has excellent tech support even though it limits the time that it is available. I found the people very helpful. Reunion can create a variety of reports both for print and online publishing.

Biggest Pro: search features; variety of reports
Biggest Con: fee for new upgrades

Reunion Review by Jane S,  Jan 13, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I used LegacyFamilyTree software on my PC. Then I switched to Mac, and although I love the Mac, I sorely miss LegacyFamilyTree. Reading the wonderful reviews of Reunion, I believed I would have the same features as in LegacyFamilyTree, only with Mac capabilities. Reunion IS beautiful, but the actual functions are very basic. Instead of comparing Reunion to FamilyTreeMaker, developers, please take a look at LegacyFamilyTree and incorporate their features — that should be your comparison. I am tempted to buy another PC just to use LegacyFamilyTree again. I would love to give Reunion five stars after the program adds many more features.

Biggest Pro: Beautiful display, copies to MSWord
Biggest Con: Basic program only, limited charts and reports. Not suitable for advanced research reports.

Reunion Review by Nancy T,  Jan 3, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using Reunion for 14 years and couldn’t be happier. It’s easy to use, easy to search, easy to get reports, select only people from specific places, etc. I have 5,000 in my database and I need easy access to get to the people I want. I add notes, sources, websites and any questions or books relating to that person in the notes. Reunion has a message board for discussing changes, requests for next version and help for the software where I have gotten answers quickly.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use, updates by request, fast help.

Reunion Review by Meg Bate,  Oct 13, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

A great program for the Mac. It’s easy to use and has the capability to produce great chats, books and most importantly you can keep track of your research using multimedia. Also Apps for your ipad and iphone.

Biggest Pro: Flexibility & multimedia options

Reunion Review by Rosemary Kopittke,  Oct 4, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Fantastic, reliable, very easy to learn and use

Reunion Review by Karen,  Aug 12, 2013

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I am just started using Reunion 10. I just went to the IAJGS conference in Boston and took a workshop on Reunion 10. It has lots of great new features, that I am just beginning to use!

Reunion Review by Hkahdfs,  Jun 1, 2013

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Reunion 10 is adequate for basic genealogical documentation, but really is not the final say in genealogical software, despite other glowing reviews. Its user interface is incredibly dated (early 2000s), and frankly ugly in my opinion. More importantly, the documentation system is absolute rubbish. Yes, you can record your sources, but there is no way to indicate the quality of the source (though you can add a field and do it manually), nor format the sources the way you want; you can change the order that the fields appear it, but that is about it. Overall this is almost a deal killer for me.

The other big turn off is the so-called mapping function. Yes, you can add geotagging to place names, but if you want to view it on a map, Reunion just opens up Google Map in your web browser rather than having a built-in globe view (MacFamily Tree is far better for this).

While Reunion does allow you to note pretty specific information (”no children,” “never married,” etc.), it is also a bit disappointing in not providing any data format overrides for specific cases. For example, if you want to have a Hungarian name formatted as family name first, given name second (and is appropriate for Hungarian), it is impossible. In fairness, there are only a few genealogy programs that will do this, and they are all on Windows, but it does make Reunion less interesting for professionals who want to do things right.

Biggest Pro: fairly complete feature set, but not perfect
Biggest Con: properly formatting sources is impossible

Reunion Review by Meg Bate,  Apr 30, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Best program for the Macintosh Computer. I have used Reunion over a number of years am am now using the latest version and I am still happy using it. I have looked at some other programs and they still do not match it.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use - Great for linking multimedia to people & families
Biggest Con: Probably no windows version

Reunion Review by Lyle Rawlins,  Dec 9, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using Reunion for several years.

Biggest Pro: The web search feature

Show 21-40 »