MacFamilyTree

by Synium Software
A comprehensive and full featured program for the Macintosh. Available in many languages

Purchase • Mac • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.syniumsoftware.com/macfamilytree/
Overall232.76 out of 52.76 out of 52.76 out of 52.76 out of 52.76 out of 5 2.76
20140    No Ratings
201322 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 2.00
Earlier212.99 out of 52.99 out of 52.99 out of 52.99 out of 52.99 out of 5 2.99

Add Your Review of MacFamilyTree

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

23 Reviews of MacFamilyTree     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

MacFamilyTree Review by Tomas,  Aug 3, 2013

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

- MacFamilyTree’s approach to sources is rather limited. You can’t enter the type of source or group your sources, thus every source has the same generic template and there is no place to enter specific information. You can’t even enter bibliographic information of a book. You need only a dozen sources and it gets confusing.
- MacFamilyTree has no advanced plausibility check (I entered a wrong birth year some days ago and the build in plausibility record had no problem with a mother being a toddler herself).
- MacFamilyTree’s reports are of limited usefulness. Colorful large dots indicating the sex of a person instead of condensed matter-of-fact reports that you dare to give to fellow genealogists or send to an archive to back up your question.
- MacFamilyTree’s interface doesn’t focus on displaying relevant information (e.g. date and place of birth and death of connected family members).
- Entering information is a pain. You can’t even use the tab key to navigate through all the fields without an interruption. Adding sources is time-consuming as well, because it is necessary to access some event window, find the right place and use your mouse a lot to identify the right source and add it. Then you have to navigate back and no, there are absolutely no keyboard shortcuts.
- Exported GEDCOM files result regularly in errors when trying to import them into other applications. I know about GEDCOM’s limits, but sometimes the exported files just seem to be corrupt.

I don’t know if the developers are genealogists themselves, it doesn’t feel this way.

Biggest Pro: actively developed, iOS app available, good integration with FamilySearch and other search engines, stable
Biggest Con: entering a log of data complicated, does not display the most relevant information when needed, weak plausibility checks, limited features in terms of sources, dysfunctional interface

MacFamilyTree Review by tws,  Feb 18, 2013

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Eigentlich gut, kann aber keine Paten, Trauzeugen verwalten. Sehr sehr schlechte Quellenverwaltung.

Biggest Con: Very very poor source management

MacFamilyTree Review by JanK,  Dec 21, 2012

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I would not recommend this program. I purchased it because it seemed like the best option for use on a Mac but I have been disappointed with it. I find the data entry for events and sources to be very awkward. There seems to be nothing intuitive about this program. One of the most compelling reasons to purchase Mac Family Tree was the connection with the LDS site Family Search. I have never been able to connect to the search site through Family Tree. Very disappointing! I see the price for this program has been reduced from $109.00 to $29.00 so that tells you something.

Biggest Pro: It works (sort of) on a Mac
Biggest Con: It doesn’t live up to its claims and is awkward to use

MacFamilyTree Review by George,  Nov 5, 2012

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Good news. The manual update from the website works now. Will have to test if the problem when saving persists.

MacFamilyTree Review by vanbeek,  Nov 4, 2012

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I have had the same saving-problems. I found the solution in an upgrade from snow-leopard to mountain-lion. But there are a number of things still not working: no marriage dates in the family-list; not possible to search for the gps values from cities.

I have also triewd to download the latetst update, but had the same experience, the update refused to install and the download was empty

Biggest Pro: easy to use and great graphics
Biggest Con: not stable

MacFamilyTree Review by George,  Nov 4, 2012

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I have been using MacFamily Tree for a few years now and was always very impressed. Lately however the programme crashed every time I tried to save a view. Yesterday an update arrived and I thought that it would solve my problem. The update refused to install. As suggested on the download message I tried to update from the Synium webpage but the download was empty. One is supposed to drag the programme from the box to Applications but the said box is empty. There is no programme to be seen. Is there any solution to this?

Biggest Pro: Easy to use and nice graphics
Biggest Con: above problem

MacFamilyTree Review by Dennis Schmidt,  Oct 31, 2012

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have used this program the past year and find the navigation straight forward and easy to use. The various charts are color coded and quite handsome. Some competing programs charts look very childish. These look professional. I began using MacFamilyTree after using RootsV and Family Tree Maker for the PC. At the time of my conversion to MacFamilyTreeI had over 1200 individual records and have not encountered any issues.

Biggest Pro: The graphical output is outstanding
Biggest Con: Do not provide a register report

MacFamilyTree Review by Glenn Thomas,  Oct 23, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been a mac family tree user for the past 5 years. great software and great support.

Biggest Pro: Great visual trees!
Biggest Con: cost to upgrade between releases of software

MacFamilyTree Review by Graeme,  Jan 14, 2012

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have had the same experience as Jennifer Geraghty (Dec 19 2011). Up until now I was very impressed with the system and found it comfortable to use and as with most of the Mac software they continually improve it.
Even after retrieval from Time Machine the software will not allow access to former version. Does the LDS have some time limitation on use of the software, I have had the earlier version now for one year and it appears to have expired!!!!

Biggest Pro: it did work well
Biggest Con: I have lost everything

MacFamilyTree Review by Andrew,  Jan 14, 2012

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

The iPad app keeps crashing. Totally frustrating since that’s a primary entry source for me. The main app is good. The web interface is pretty limited.

Biggest Pro: Main app has many features and has been robust
Biggest Con: Limited web features and crashing iPad app.

MacFamilyTree Review by Jennifer Geraghty,  Dec 19, 2011

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

On Wednesday 14 December 2011, I updated my MacFamilyTree software with 6.2 as recommended in software updates on my Mac (running OSX Lion). Prior to updating I was not having any trouble with MacFamilyTree; I did not ask for the update; I did not require the update. After I updated, the program crashed. I contacted the company, Synium, and sent my crash log; they did nothing.

On Friday 16 December 2011, I updated with the 6.2.1 update which they issued in order to fix the crash; it did nothing. Again I sent them the crash report.

This morning, Monday 19 December 2011, I received an email from them. They actually had the nerve to send me an update this morning called 6.2.2 which is nothing more than a new version of MacFamilyTree. They have done ABSOLUTELY nothing to help me restore the huge database I lost because of their update.

DO NOT BUY THIS SOFTWARE. The support people clearly have no clue about what they are doing. So now I have software on my computer that is completely unusable (by the way I paid full price for it through their website). I have lost my entire family tree on my Mac, although I do have backups on my iPad and iPhone; however the backups no longer interface with the software.

Biggest Con: Their lousy updates

MacFamilyTree Review by Gert Ermers,  Oct 3, 2011

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Geweldig programma.

MacFamilyTree Review by James Goddard,  Jun 21, 2011

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I’d be very careful about choosing this software. The interface is clunky at best, often requiring digging 5+ levels deep just to inter a simple piece of information. There are tons of bugs and customer service is practicably nonexistent. When they do respond they lie through their teeth.

I’d highly recommend looking at the other programs in this category and steering clear of anything made by Synium.

MacFamilyTree Review by Valerie Craft,  Jan 11, 2011

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Mac Family Tree is a very attractive program, but I personally find it clunky and not as user intuitive as other genealogy programs designed for Mac computers. It seems to me like the creators of the program wanted to include a ton of options and views, but in the end they made a program that is so cluttered it takes a while to find anything. I don’t like the family views, which don’t show the parents of the specific couple. I don’t like the person view, which is a jumble of multiple windows/tabs in one screen. I don’t like the Virtual Tree, which is very pretty, but can be hard to navigate. I don’t like when the program crashes on me.

A lot of the reason that I don’t like this is personal preference. I think it tries to do too much and it does it badly. Others might be willing to put up with the program for the very nice reports and charts that it can create.

Biggest Pro: Lot of different charts and reports.
Biggest Con: Lots of “pretty” feature that clutter up the program and make it difficult to navigate.

MacFamilyTree Review by Greg,  Oct 4, 2010

Not Rated

I have used MFT for over two years now. I really would love to report that it works well - but it has it’s issues. The biggest is the complete lack of any meaningful support when you request it. Synium just loves to turn it around on the user and blame them. My largest issue is that I cannot get the PLACES report to work. I would love to be able to just LOOK at the places report - but I haven’t been able to open it for over a year. The standard suggestion has been to export it and edit it there - but that just becomes agonizingly slow and tedious. In short - I like the program and it’s potential - but I just get turned off about having to try to deal with asking questions - especially since the user manual doesn’t address anything beyond the basics. I agree with the reviewer above - they spend too much time on glitz and not enough time on making sure the program works correctly.

Biggest Pro: It’s getting better.
Biggest Con: It doesn’t live up to it’s hype and customer service - when you get it - is usually cranky at best….

MacFamilyTree Review by pwalker,  Aug 8, 2010

Not Rated

For anyone considering buying this program:
While it is true that MacFamilyTree is a program with a huge amount of potential it is severely lacking in several critical areas.
1) Virtually no proper source support. Yes, it does let you attach a large number of sources to individuals and events but what does it do with them? All the sources for the ENTIRE record are lumped onto a Sources tab with no reference to what event/date/place/note they are citing. To see what sources go with what, you have to click on each source in the list and then decipher the long list of attached events. Sources (like with Family Historian) are forced into a book format. I could live with that but on display only the title, page, and date are listed. Worse yet, the person is the ONLY report that bothers to show sources at all! And on that report you don’t have true endnotes/footnotes only a truncated bibliography. I’m no fangirl of Elizabeth Shown Mills but it disturbs me that so many people are perfectly happy with a program that spreads information with virtually no documentation to support it. Even Wikipedia does better than this.
2) Version 6 still has not fixed the incorrect relationship bug - people intermittently appearing joined to the wrong people.
3) As of 2010 this program has NO Register Report (one of the main report used for keeping family updated), no feasibility checking (married before age 14, died before birth etc.), no mass find and replace, weak search features, and no custom events, tags etc.

The good news is the Synium seems very responsive and they are improving their product at lightning speed. I purchased the software because I wanted to support their innovation but, as of today, I cannot use it as my main program.

Biggest Pro: Fast, great interface, blazing a new trail for genealogy information display, web interaction, live reports
Biggest Con: No proper citations AT ALL, weak data analysis reports and tools, limited customization options.

MacFamilyTree Review by J,  Oct 15, 2009

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I’m excited about MacFamilyTree. While too much development goes into the ‘icing on the cake’ (3-d view and historic database), I’m hopeful that real development time will be put into input efficiency and error report generation. I don’t feel that the tool is quite ‘there’ yet, but one day soon it’s going to appeal to a whole new generation of genealogy investigators. One day…and I’m checking for updates every day…this may be the only genealogy application I use (besides its iPhone companion, of course)! :)

Biggest Pro: continual development, great charts
Biggest Con: missing ‘the meat’

MacFamilyTree Review by Irishroots,  Sep 23, 2009

Not Rated

I have been using MFT for a little over a year. Plus stuff=free updates, helpful forum from users and sometimes from the developers, great charts, and improved navigation.
Negative=poor reports at most levels especially what they call an ancestor and descendant report, 2 or 3 relationships on kinship report are wrong and have been for a year and they have failed to correct it. People should be 2nd cousins a generation removed and they show them as my 2nd aunt or uncle. Extremely frustrating.

Biggest Pro: Charts, color, free updates
Biggest Con: Incorrct relationships, poor reports compared to windows FTM

MacFamilyTree Review by Ray1969,  Jun 25, 2009

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Simply the best genealogy app on the Mac or PC. Great charts, good editing, well designed web page creation…what to say more?

MacFamilyTree Review by Bree Clarken,  Jun 16, 2009

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I really like the great charts and reports. The developer always responded quickly which is definitely a plus. Got the iPhone companion app MobilefamilyTree a few days ago and it is awesome.

Biggest Pro: Easy, stable, good support and a fair price
Biggest Con: none encountered

Show 21-23 »