iFamily for Mac

Click To See Award Winners
by Warwick Wilson
A program for Mac that stresses the individual more than the family unit which gives it certain advantages. Specializes in handling images. Previous versions of the program were called iFamily for Leopard and iFamily for Tiger.

Purchase • Mac • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.ifamilyformac.com/
Overall134.95 out of 54.95 out of 54.95 out of 54.95 out of 54.95 out of 5 4.95
201625 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00
20150    No Ratings
Earlier114.64 out of 54.64 out of 54.64 out of 54.64 out of 54.64 out of 5 4.64

Add Your Review of iFamily for Mac

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

13 Reviews of iFamily for Mac     RSS 2.0 RSS                   Add Your Review

iFamily for Mac Review by Pat Hamilton,  14 hrs ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using this for many years. It is ideal for the Mac because it is intuitive; because the photos can be dragged across from iPhoto; because it is well supported, having been upgraded as Apple has updated the operating system.

It has many features that I have never tried, but perhaps ought to have done - but the basics are so easy. Add a name, add a picture….. Good Index to quickly find any individual.

Sometimes I look to see what else is available for a Mac in case this stopped being supported, but there is nothing like iFamily.

Biggest Pro: Superb in design and function. All info is in my own computer - not online. No annual subs to pay. Private.
Biggest Con: None

iFamily for Mac Review by Ellen Sheerin,  Apr 18, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This really suits the way I think and work. I find it fabulous. I liked the fact that I could try it out for free for a limited period to see if it was suitable, rather than having to pay upfront for a progam which may not have been suitable. I have found it very easy to add notes and comments which helps keep me on track in my research.
I like the reports it produces, and find it fits most, if not all of my needs.

Biggest Pro: Suits my working style and needs at the moment
Biggest Con: nothing as yet

iFamily for Mac Review by Guy Holmes,  Feb 20, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I moved to this program 4 or 5 years ago when I moved to the Mac from Windows. I really love it - It makes sense, you don’t need any manual, the basic diagrams and PDF’s it produces are great.

Very easy to navigate through and produce reports detailing any possible errors. Photos are also handled well

Biggest Pro: The Diagrams and PDF charts it can produce
Biggest Con: File structure of the saved folder isn’t very Mac like

iFamily for Mac Review by Glenn Thomas,  Oct 23, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Now works with MAC OS X 10.8. Great user interface! Great support from the Wilson’s and the user community..

Biggest Pro: Ease of use
Biggest Con: none

iFamily for Mac Review by DennisB,  Apr 16, 2011

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I love iFamily for Leopard! Not only is it simple to use, it’s powerful as well. First, it’s visually stunning. On one diagram it shows everything you want to know about an individual: up to six generations of ancestors, a “stack” showing all siblings, their spouse(s), all their children, and even associated people (e.g. godparents). Second, it’s easy to navigate, add information, find information, and make changes. And third it’s powerful, including built-in data checkers (like finding duplicate people as you enter them), date sanity checks, and even place name formatting fixers. I count on these to keep me honest and consistent. I appreciate the enthusiastic community of iFamily supporters who post to the tips and information to the forums. Lastly, Warwick Wilson is done an exemplary job supporting and expanding the program. There’s a lot to love in iFamily!

Biggest Pro: Visual view of the individual and all of their relationships.
Biggest Con: Lacks some charts other programs have - though it makes stunning PDFs.

iFamily for Mac Review by Bonnie,  Feb 14, 2011

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Simple to use and catches date inconsistencies that the other software overlooks.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use; data entry is a breeze.
Biggest Con: Could be easier to combine duplicates or people with different initials, name, etc.

iFamily for Mac Review by Tom Westmoreland,  Jan 25, 2011

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Easy to use. Layouts are well made. For a private computer use, it is very good.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use. Reports are very good.
Biggest Con: Have to start a new tree to upload a GED com. No manual. Like Tribal pages just a little more..

iFamily for Mac Review by David Boyson,  Apr 9, 2010

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’ve tried all the Mac genealogy programmes and many of the PC ones and this is my favorite by far

Biggest Pro: Very easy to use - has everything you need and none of the fripperies
Biggest Con: None

iFamily for Mac Review by Thom Jennings,  Mar 8, 2010

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Nice interface that works on a 13″ MacBook

Biggest Pro: Easy and inexpensive to get started
Biggest Con: No manual, clunky FAQ and forums to figure how to navigate

iFamily for Mac Review by Maura,  Oct 17, 2009

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I adore this program.i have been working on my family tree for about 12 years, initially starting with Family tree maker which I really liked. I changed from a windows to a MAC and had to start using Reunion for Mac, the Reunion program was awful I had been using for about 4 years and I detested it to the point that I no longer enjoyed genealogy. Finally i switched to ifamily for leopard and it was the best thing I did. I am in heaven. Its everything I could ask for. I LOVE IT

Biggest Pro: Its so easy to use, fabulous set up, made me fall in love with genealogy all over.
Biggest Con: None

iFamily for Mac Review by J,  Oct 15, 2009

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

This is the program that really developed my obsession with genealogy, but now find the support and improvements are sorely lacking. There’s an extremely loyal fan-base of users, but I am unfortunately predicting the end of an amazing program. The final frustration is that exporting data from iFamily into other applications seems sketchy, possibly because of all the great features added by its late developer. I wish, wish, wish iFamily still had the dedication and continued development it once did.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use, clarity
Biggest Con: help, updates

iFamily for Mac Review by Irishroots,  Sep 23, 2009

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

The developer has passed away and his son is now handling the program. This a really good program, but reports could be better. Newbies have to adjust to inputting information, especially if you have been using another program. There are not a lot of answers on the forum…seem to a lot more questions. I waited 2 weeks and never received a reply even from the developer. The developer, Warwick, is the only person who works on this program and he is everything to all people and doesn’t have time for anything because of this.

Biggest Pro: Nice layout, all around good program
Biggest Con: Help, charts

iFamily for Mac Review by Bill Wilson,  Sep 26, 2008

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Of the several genealogy applications I have tried, all for the Mac, iFamily is by far the best. It’s easy to understand and use, and if questions arise, developer Keith Wilson (no relation–that I know of) responds immediately and personally.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use
Biggest Con: Lack of a complete Help file, although the online forum and personal response from the developer almost make them unnecessary.