Heredis for Mac

by BSD Concept
The best known genealogy software in Europe, developed over 20 years ago. Offers several tools for speedy and simple data entry, analysis of your genealogy and editing of your documents. It includes a Search Wizard that accesses online research tools including Heredis Online, Family Search, Ancestry and MyHeritage. It is available in French and English. There is also a Windows version and an iOS version.

Purchase • Windows • Mac • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.heredis.com/en/heredis-mac/
Overall244.33 out of 54.33 out of 54.33 out of 54.33 out of 54.33 out of 5 4.33
20140    No Ratings
201314 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00
Earlier234.35 out of 54.35 out of 54.35 out of 54.35 out of 54.35 out of 5 4.35

Add Your Review of Heredis for Mac

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

24 Reviews of Heredis for Mac     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Heredis for Mac Review by PC Mac-user,  Jan 20, 2013

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have Heredis both for PC and MAC - and I love it. I also use Family Tree Maker Platinum on both MAC and the latest version for my PC.

The reason I use Family Tree maker is because I am subscribed to Ancestry.com. As are many others - and this means that when I make changes online - they are then synched to my computer version. But as well as that - Ancestry finds possible matches in trees for me and I have found many well researched branches of my family tree effortlessly. I then save each updated tree as a Gedcom and import it into Heredis.

I do this because I want to make my finished family tree a product that will be available to all family members - and the publishing aspects of Heredis are second to none.

I also find the charts easier to draw and understand in Heredis.
I am delighted they brought out Heredis for PC too as previously it was the best amongst the MAC programmes - and I don’t think was available for PC.

I have given it 4 stars - but if it could only synch with Ancestry - I’d give it 5 stars without question.

Biggest Pro: The publishing of your completed information and charts for distribution.
Biggest Con: Doesn’t synch with Ancestry or Family tree software.

Heredis for Mac Review by JanK,  Dec 21, 2012

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have downloaded the trial version of Heredis and played around with it a bit. It seems to be a great improvement over the Mac Family Tree program that I am currently using. The data input interface is straight-forward, the charts are beautiful and the ability to print the family history in book form is very appealing. I am preparing to purchase the full version.

Biggest Pro: value to price ratio
Biggest Con: Haven

Heredis for Mac Review by Peter Dalling,  Dec 21, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Nice and easy to use. It works fine for me. The printing of charts and trees is great.

Biggest Pro: One of the few programmes which work on the Mac
Biggest Con: None that I can think of.

Heredis for Mac Review by C Saunders,  Dec 21, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Bought this recently because I needed some Genealogy software that would work with Mountain Lion. Previously i had used Reunion but I would have needed to buy a full version to get the latest Reunion and that was a lot more expensive than Heredis. I was able to bring in all of my information from Reunion easily and having got used to it now it is very straightforward to use and I would recommend it to any Mac user looking for a value for money genealogy programme.

Biggest Pro: Not expensive
Biggest Con: Not found anything yet

Heredis for Mac Review by Graham March,  Dec 21, 2012

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Some of the chart options are not as good as the previous version but overall a much improved system.
Without a doubt the best system for mac users.

Biggest Pro: Use on a Mac
Biggest Con: Chart Production

Heredis for Mac Review by nn.blovell@btinternet.com,  Dec 21, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used several genealogy programs but Heredis seems to me to be the most straight forward of them. It is almost intuitive to use.

Heredis for Mac Review by MaggyMay,  Dec 21, 2012

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Have free version for Mac, so have had to learn your vocabulary and where things are compared to FTM which I have used since 1998 but thought I’d give your program a try. I also have the free versions of iPad and Windows downloaded - which would be my ideal world. I love the fact I can sync all three, HOWEVER your Windows version isn’t a mirror image to the Mac version, so I have trouble finding things and have to re-learn TWO programs and honestly can’t be bothered to remember 2 different programs. For that reason I have reverted back to FTM for windows only. Until you can offer the Windows and Mac versions being the same AND a combined price for both programs I will not be using Heredis - look at programs like Adobe Photo Elements - you buy the program in one box, and it can be used for BOTH Windows AND Macs. I do like Heredis for Mac. Thanks for asking.

Biggest Pro: Love the idea of syncing 3 computers - a perfect world
Biggest Con: charging for both Mac and Windows program, and not having the Mac and Windows programs identical

Heredis for Mac Review by peter,  Dec 21, 2012

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Runs seamlessly on Mac, intuitively easy to use and i can sync with my family’s iPhones so they always have the latest up-to-date tree.

Biggest Pro: sync with iPhone/iPad
Biggest Con: geolocation iffy at times

Heredis for Mac Review by Dr. Roger Martinez,  Dec 20, 2012

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

This newest version of Heredis is a “partial” product that only contains some of the functionality of the prior product. The loss of all web publication tools is a significant impediment.

Biggest Pro: Clean interface.
Biggest Con: No web publication tools.

Heredis for Mac Review by Herb Clark,  Dec 20, 2012

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

This is the best Mac genealogy software I have seen so far. Still in trial mode. I have purchased other Mac genealogical software and been disappointed. It is great that it can be synced to iPhone and iPad!

Biggest Pro: Has capability to generate family books although not in more professional look. But I can fix that in Pages.
Biggest Con: European terminology i.e. Partners ILO Husband and Wife would be better if user could select the terminology they wish to use.

Heredis for Mac Review by Curt Fukuda,  Dec 20, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

For years I was frustrated because my relatives and I wanted to do our family’s genealogy, but I use a Mac and some of my relatives use Windows. There was no good application that was cross platform until I discovered Heredis. My relatives and I can collaborate on our genealogy using one application. And, the bonus is that Heredis is very good, it’s not a compromised application.

Biggest Pro: Powerful features and works on multiple platforms
Biggest Con: Nothing really!

Heredis for Mac Review by Patrick O'Shea,  Dec 20, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have tried quite a number of genealogy programs, and Heredis has by far the best overall functionality at a very modest price. In addition, the software is always being refined and updated. Customer support is responsive and helpful. Overall, this is an excellent cross-platform choice for organizing your genealogical data.

Biggest Pro: Stability and functionality
Biggest Con: Occasional changes in layout in updates - but this is a very minor point

Heredis for Mac Review by Barry J.W.,  Dec 20, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’m a beginner genealogist with a Mac. I tried a couple of other programs but didn’t find them easy to use. Then I came across Heredis and for someone like me it is ideal, it takes you gently by the hand and teaches you at your own speed. The newer version is even better. The resulting tree of a very complex family, or families, is just what I was looking for and the ease of entering additional supporting material, photographs and anecdotes, make the resulting book,that is one of the choices of output, very popular with other family members.

Biggest Pro: The intuitive interface and adjustments to suit your own style of working.
Biggest Con: Not really a con, the original instructions are in French and the translation to English can be charmingly continental!

Heredis for Mac Review by Ian B,  Dec 20, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Having investigated several Mac genealogy programs I opted for Heredis. It is simple to use and output can be made in various forms. It is useful that it can be synchronised with both iPhone & iPad. I thoroughly recommend it.

Heredis for Mac Review by Jim,  Dec 20, 2012

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Great data management. Data presentation is outstanding. Integration with all Heredis apps is good. Too Euro-centric for most USA users. Place presentation on reports with the dashes between date elements is non-standard and ugly.

Biggest Pro: Integration with all Heredis apps
Biggest Con: euro-centricity

Heredis for Mac Review by Alan S-D,  Dec 20, 2012

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Rather better than the earlier version, but didn’t seem to be back compatible. However, sometime after I had started to re-build my family tree it manifested that capabiity. At the moment, I am trying to ensure that there is complete transfer between the two systems. The new system does seem easier to work with. but it is still early days

Biggest Con: errors can not be readily removed; at least they probably can but it is not always straight forward.

Heredis for Mac Review by Marcel Dufresne,  Dec 20, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have written a full review of this wonderful application for our Users Group Newsletter, the DoubleClick. You can read it from this link:
https://docs.google.com/file/d/0B5g0WdTy40z7YzRzb0R1c3EycW8/edit

Biggest Pro: Ease of use
Biggest Con: None that I have come across yet

Heredis for Mac Review by M Minors,  Dec 20, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used Heredis on Macs since 2004 and found it relatively easy and robust. However the latest version is a huge improvement, and I would recommend it to any user. Navigation is even more simple and powerful, yet intuitive and the reports are much improved. I have exchanged GEDCOM files with no problems.

Biggest Pro: Must be the interface
Biggest Con: Seems tricky to add geolocation for a place not recognised by Heredis

Heredis for Mac Review by Ron Hall,  Dec 20, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Love the software updates!

Biggest Pro: Ease in moving between people
Biggest Con: Not a big fan of canned layouts. Like to have more control of where and how to located info on charts like in the original version.

Heredis for Mac Review by Chris,  Dec 20, 2012

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

The main reason I switched to Heredis is because of the ability to easily and quickly generate a book in Word format which can then be edited like a normal Word file. This helps in dealing with Chinese family trees because existing programs are not designed to deal with the complexities such as multiple names and name order. I find the layout better than the traditional Ahnentafel layout.
I also like the layout for viewing families. It seems more intuitive to me than Family Tree Maker or Legacy, for example.
The only major problem I have is that I can’t import the chinese characters from a Gedcom file but I think this is more of a Gedcom problem than a Heredis problem.
So overall, it was money well spent.

Biggest Pro: Layout, ability to generate Word documents in a nice layout
Biggest Con: nothing major as yet

Show 21-24 »