Gramps

Click To See Award Winners
by Don Allingham
This is where you review the Unix (Linux and FreeBSD) versions of Gramps. Please go to the Gramps for Windows page to review the Windows version, or to the Gramps for the Mac page to review the Mac Version. Gramps is an Open Source project written in Python and is free. This is where you go to help with the development of Gramps. The Gramps project has a blog. See also Gramps Portable.

Free • Unix • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.gramps-project.org/
Overall303.53 out of 53.53 out of 53.53 out of 53.53 out of 53.53 out of 5 3.53
201432.72 out of 52.72 out of 52.72 out of 52.72 out of 52.72 out of 5 2.72
201335 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00
Earlier243.67 out of 53.67 out of 53.67 out of 53.67 out of 53.67 out of 5 3.67

Add Your Review of Gramps

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

30 Reviews of Gramps     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Gramps Review by VRM,  Aug 11, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

So Gramps is the best?

So good that I have to track through multiple menus to try and remember how to add a parent to a person?

I have to add a source in one menu, then I kind-of sort-of maybe might be able to access it later to add it to someone?

The manual is inaccurate (”the last icon is the Configure the active view…” yet it’s the fifth icon from the right, or the Person icon referred to is actually the People icon), or just plain wrong.

The developers expect you to read the whole manual before attempting anything, yet they provide directions that you’ll not remember by the time you actually get to the software.

Also, as for the manual, wall-of-text alert. The program icons? Some are mystery meat, where you guess what they are (Why does that green tree split apart at the bottom?)

There are much easier ways to manage this information, rather than switching to one menu to add a source and then another to add a person, after copying that source to a clipboard.

I have a strong background with computers, having worked with computers for years and also having a Computer Science degree, and I found this software overly complicated and rather daunting.

There are better ways to do things.

Biggest Pro: Open source, works in Linux
Biggest Con: Confusing interface design, poor information management, doesn’t seem to allow embedding external documents into the database for export and distribution, but who knows? I don’t want to read 50 pages of manual to find out if it does or not.

Gramps Review by Sjoerd van Staveren,  Aug 6, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

By far the best genealogy I have ever seen and I have tried a few. It is not only an database for genealogical data it is also a management system for sources and media. The possibilities to link data to sources and media are limitless as is the way you can link people to events.
When you put your datafiles in dropbox you can use the same dataset from different systems and locations.

Biggest Pro: It’s Linux, it’s open source, it’s free and and it’s under continuous improvement.
Biggest Con: Can’t think of any.

Gramps Review by bh,  Jun 17, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

The Manuel in not helpful. You need to be a PHP Code Wizard to understand how to understand the information and you need to be God to get the software to run. They must have read the book Visual Basics For Dummies when they designed this software.

Biggest Pro: You’ll uninstall it before it wastes your time! Better yet, DON’T EVEN DOWNLOAD IT in the first place.
Biggest Con: Crashed

Gramps Review by blarney55,  Dec 6, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Gramps is a mature, stable, and well designed genealogy program for Linux.

Windows users please take note: Gramps (and GTK) have been ported to Windows because it’s in demand: Gramps is the best free genealogy program on the planet. But it is a Linux program. So expect some bugs on Windows- your loss for running Windows.

Gramps is easy to use and includes many features not present in commercal programs, Gramps doesn’t include access to online genealogy data (as many commercial programs do- but for a price). Gramps assumes you have your data- and it offers the most intelligent interface of any program for entering, retreiving, and publishing that data .

Gramps assumes you have a modicum of intelligence (which some of the 1-star reviewers clearly lack).

Gramps defines excellence in open source applications- because the developers ARE its users.

Biggest Pro: Pro features for free
Biggest Con: Not a native Windows application; no access/ integration with online genealogy databases.

Gramps Review by Jim C.,  Apr 20, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’ve used Gramps for years and used Family Tree Maker before that. Gramps wins hands down as far as features and ease of use goes but, like any other program, switching to it after using something else takes time.

If you’re not willing to spend the time to learn how to use gramps, stick to what you’re familiar with and don’t whine about how difficult this excellent program is to use. Anyone that invests the effort will find Gramps worthy.

Biggest Pro: Free, full-featured and runs on multiple platforms
Biggest Con: Not precisely the same as whatever…

Gramps Review by Dan Garnitz,  Jan 4, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Gramps is a great genealogy program and has a great set of features available. I use it in Linux, XP, and Vista installs all with no problems. Granted as commented here it can sometime be slow on very large databases, that can also be affected by OS and machine specs. Being a free software package is a plus, and the developers are constantly adding features and reports based on requests and comments. I have been doing genealogy for almpst 30 years and have tried probably every software package since the early ’80s. I am not sure why several reviews complain about interface, seems pretty straight forward to me. To add a person use the people screen, to add a family use the Families screen. Everyone had their own “favorite” interface. I personanly hate the interface of FTM. Most software has a small learning curve. In my choice of software one of my criteria is intuitiveness. If you have to pull out manual, then in my mind the software is not a good package. Gramps has large following, using all 3 of the supported OS, Winows, MAC, and Linux. All 3 will install all needed dependancies, assuming the full installer was downloaded for that OS. Has GEDCOM import and export, numerous reports, and several “bells and whistles.”

Biggest Pro: Free genealogy software
Biggest Con: Can at times be slow depending on database size and PC specs.

Gramps Review by francis,  Dec 31, 2012

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Très bon programme mais un peu lent avec beaucoup d’entrées, plus de 70000

Google translation: Very good program but a little slow with a lot of entries, more than 70,000

Gramps Review by Robert K. Tompsett,  Nov 21, 2012

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Installed Gramps on Ubuntu 12.04. Gramps has no documention worth using. It has no means to import files from another program. Gramps is worthless.

I pray to God every night that Family Tree Maker will make a Linux Ubuntu verson because Gramps does not even come close to user friendly.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: User unfriendly

Gramps Review by Grampa Betts,  Oct 29, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Gramps is a remarkably full featured genealogy program that is easy to use. It is also reliable, stable, and saves your data in an open source format. It expects you to do the footwork of research- it does not link to online resources or provide raw databases of genealogical data.

Unlike most proprietary (commercial) programs, Gramps has had a large community of both users AND developers. New features are often implemented based on feedback and bugs are fixed quickly..

Lots of commercial genealogy programs have come and gone- leaving users stranded with obsolete and non-functioning software. Gramps will be around as long as the user-base demands- its developers ARE the part of the community.

Biggest Pro: Open source, multi-platform, free, easy, powerful, stable.
Biggest Con: How can a program this great be free? :)

Gramps Review by J. Poole,  Jun 25, 2012

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Reading these reviews, it seems people either hate Gramps or like it. It is quite a powerful program for free, and it as good as or better than any of the other genealogy programs I’ve tried. For you Windows people, there is a Windows Installer for Gramps (search for Gramps on Windows) which automates the ridiculously complex process of putting Gramps on a Win PC. I use the Ubuntu version of Gramps, but I have used the Windows Installer to put it on a Windows PC with no issues.

I like the program. I think if you give it a chance, you might like it too, even if you’re a Windows person. Mac?- no idea…

Biggest Pro: Free– and as fully featured as the paid versions I’ve tried
Biggest Con: Free– at upgrade time, you get what the developers wanted, not necessarily what you wanted.

Gramps Review by Chris,  Jun 2, 2012

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have used an earlier version (2.2?) and upgraded to 3.3 when I recently got a new computer. 3.3 is a big improvement in navigation and data entry. This version is also much more intuitive and easier to learn.
I have not used any of the other genealogy software availabe so I can’t compare against the other main ones that are available.

I am using in a Linux OS. I have not tried in Windows or Mac.

I am giving it a four vs the two I would given as a grade to the earlier version. The developers made some big strides.

Biggest Pro: A much easier version to use from the prior version.
Biggest Con: Some data (dates and family relationships) was lost when moving from version 2.2 to 3.3. (luckily I hadn’t done much more than learn the program)

Gramps Review by linux user,  Feb 8, 2012

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I installed and use the Linux version of Gramps, not the Windows version of Gramps.

It is easy to understand and use. The interface is clear and straightforward. References, pictures are handled pretty well. There is a communiy of developers that provide add-ons that you can download. All of it is free.

The tools work well. Gedcom file input and output work well, same for backups.

The generated reports are NOT that good because they look amateurish but I only use it for my own personal use so that doens’t impact me.

Try it and see what you think.

Biggest Pro: free
Biggest Con: reports

Gramps Review by Benjamin Wade,  Sep 21, 2011

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

This program is full featured and powerful, but the installation requires that you first install other (free) programs, making it slightly too complex for some computer users.

Biggest Pro: full featured and powerful.
Biggest Con: hard to install and poor instructions.

Gramps Review by Oviot,  Jul 14, 2011

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Good program

Gramps Review by Neil,  Dec 30, 2010

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is a program that is written by people who use the program. It has many great features, and makes keeping track of source information quick and easy.

Biggest Pro: The non linier fashion that you can entre data
Biggest Con: Charts are not the best looking

Gramps Review by Neil LCW Naessens,  Dec 21, 2010

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I used Gramps only when I was trying out Ubuntu on one of my computers and found it extremely and annoyingly basic compared to the likes of Windows-based programmes like FTM. It just doesn’t cut it, I am sorry. It’s so bad that it is one of the reasons that I ditched Linux again because I can’t run the top genealogical programmes in it. I’d be stuck with Gramps and that’s just not on.

Biggest Pro: Runs in Linux so it is free and is automatically included in just about any Linux-based distro.
Biggest Con: Linux. If you could run FTM (as a for instance) in Linux, why would you bother with Gramps?

Gramps Review by Dianne,  Nov 6, 2010

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Easy to use, but with a few data entry quirks which don’t always seem obvious to a beginner

Biggest Pro: Good support through the mailing list
Biggest Con: Can be difficult to find info in the extensive online documentation

Gramps Review by SilentButeo2,  Jun 28, 2010

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I’m using genealogical programs for over 3 years now. The last 2,5 years i use Gramps.

I was looking for a program that gave me options to connect resources to the data I entered.
This way you can verify later on if the info you entered was from a thrustable source or just ‘heard from …’
My previous genealogical program was ‘aldfaer’. And because of the lack of some decent resource implementation i started looking for an alternative program.

The only area Gramps is not that featured is the graphical output. There are several graphical output functions, but not as many as i was used in aldfaer (maybe a little bit spoiled). But because of the open source character of the program, i think there will be more and more graphical outputs available. Even when I have some time (next year or so, i’ll create a Gramps plugin for graphical output).

I’m using more and more linux and this program also works on that OS.

Biggest Pro: expanded resource information, open source
Biggest Con: because of the amount of options and features, first usage is not that simple (so hang on the fist time you use (test) it)

Gramps Review by SilentButeo2,  Jan 4, 2010

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I’m using this software some months now. Previous I used “Aldfaer ” this was a dutch program that i used for 2 years.
The reason that I switched programs, was because I searched a genealogy program that could better handle source information. The older program had only some minimal support for this. Also the fact that it can be ran on linux, was a reason to choose for GRAMPS. (although I use it mainly under Windows for now).

Adding of persons was a bit difficult in comparison with the other program. But I got used to it after adding some persons. The source information is great. You can add for many events (birth, dead, marriage, …) a source. For example: I have a mourning card of a person. I store an image of that on my computer and add this source to the dead event of that person. This way you can easily back-check the information you have entered into the program.

Converting the data from my previous program to GRAMPS was not that difficult. Knowing that I had back then about 320 persons. Converted the old one into a GEDCOM file and imported into GRAMPS. No great errors were found after the import. Only some minor problems due to some restrictions of the elder software.

The only thing that I mis is the minimal output options. In my previous program there where many graphical output options. GRAMPS has less option in that way. There are some third party plug-ins that counter the lack.

Biggest Pro: broad range for “mention of the source” / cross platform
Biggest Con: minimal output possibilities (grafical)

Gramps Review by Pete,  Dec 29, 2009

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Came across this application via Full Circle magazine (issues 1-2). Read through it briefly back then, curiosity more than anything. Now doing a university course in history, and also begun researching my own family history quite a bit, so seemed sensible to install it.

No idea what I’m doing yet, but two hours shared with reading help and getting stuff installed is fruitful so far, myself, parents and one grand parent details listed rudimentary fashion.

A bit of time spent looking at features made me realise how useful this will be in my studies (I plan on writing historical fiction one day, can already realise potential uses…)

Had no trouble installing (didn’t mess about, installed via synaptic), running it on Ubuntu 9.10 on a low spec machine. I use gnome-do for opening most stuff, once synaptic had finished, not a problem , typed gra, hit enter, there it was (latest help info is a little bit outdated/confusing, start menu in 9.10 it’s hidden in Accessories > Office.

Interface seems “simple” so far…, had a bit of trouble at first, then once I got started I figured it’s fine, just the user thats the problem it seems… Look forward to sussing out more about how it all works, and more about my family and others o’course.

Biggest Pro: ease of installation and getting started (sort of). The amount of features it offers I can see will be useful once I learn how to use them. Large number of contributers to project, must be onto something here!!!
Biggest Con: Can see there will be a learning curve that could be a little daunting at the beginning for a “casual user”, just finding the right help files is tricky at first (not too bad though, I found them).

Show 21-30 »