Gramps

Click To See Award Winners
by Don Allingham
This is where you review the Unix (Linux and FreeBSD) versions of Gramps. Please go to the Gramps for Windows page to review the Windows version, or to the Gramps for the Mac page to review the Mac Version. Gramps is an Open Source project written in Python and is free. This is where you go to help with the development of Gramps. The Gramps project has a blog and a Reddit. See also Gramps Portable.

Free • Unix • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.gramps-project.org/
Overall483.58 out of 53.58 out of 53.58 out of 53.58 out of 53.58 out of 5 3.58
201684.45 out of 54.45 out of 54.45 out of 54.45 out of 54.45 out of 5 4.45
201582.58 out of 52.58 out of 52.58 out of 52.58 out of 52.58 out of 5 2.58
Earlier323.41 out of 53.41 out of 53.41 out of 53.41 out of 53.41 out of 5 3.41

Add Your Review of Gramps

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

48 Reviews of Gramps     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Gramps Review by Gail T,  Aug 21, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Works really well, no installation issues both Gramps 4.2.3 and Gramps 5.0.0-alpha1. For those of you reviewing I suggest mentioning what version you tried as older version do suck a bit.

Biggest Pro: Free, wide range of reports and addon
Biggest Con: Workflow could be improved, too many clicks (So do yourself a favor and install the 3rd party “Form Addon’s”

Gramps Review by J T Waterfield,  Jun 20, 2016

Not Rated

So I tried this after the Windows version (which didn’t work, see other review). I’m sorry, I reckon I’m pretty good with software, but this just proved impossible to set up. I’m full of admiration for those who build and maintain software that is good enough for others to use, and I’m sure this is as good as lots of people report, but it just isn’t going to work for me.

Biggest Pro: Free?!
Biggest Con: Couldn’t get it installed.

Gramps Review by Martin H. Watson,  Jun 15, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Mark Twain said something like “When I was a boy of 14, my father was so ignorant I could hardly stand to have the old man around. But when I got to be 21, I was astonished at how much the old man had learned in seven years.”

6 months ago, as a total novice genealogist but with a lifetime in IT tech support behind me, I looked at GRAMPS and thought it looked slick but bewildering. I put it to one side and started using ‘My Family Tree’ by Chronoplex, which was simple, and easy for me to input my limited data, 90+ records. 6 months later I was finding it a bit limited, and wanted greater customisation, and web publishing options. I imported my GEDCOM data into GRAMPS and after just an hour, experimenting with it, and generating reports and HTML pages, populated with my own real data, I am stunned. It will take a long time for me to fully understand and exploit all the functionality, but I am totally converted to GRAMPS. Remember to keep a initial GEDCOM file, so that when you are fully familiar with it, you can start again from the GEDCOM file, after trying lot of experiments. If you’ve tried it before and not liked it, try it with your current GEDCOM data file. I never give 5 stars to any review unless it comes with free beer. 4/5 is as good as I ever give.

Biggest Pro: Free and sophisticated, and well worth persevering with.
Biggest Con: Hard on beginner genealogists and/or those with limited IT knowledge, but one day, you see the light. Wow!

Gramps Review by Ben Weston,  Apr 20, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I migrated my family tree from Family Tree Maker to Gramps recently and I have become very impressed with it. At first it felt a bit clunky but after a very short while I started to appreciate its depth and power. It is very flexible and now I have learnt the basics using it is very straightforward. I am quite a light weight in the world of genealogical research but I get the feeling that Gramps is suitable not only for relative novices, such as myself, but also contains features that will satisfy serious researchers.

Biggest Pro: The ability to tailor the views of almost every screen using gramplets.
Biggest Con: Takes a while to discover all its features and how to access them (thanks be to Google).

Gramps Review by Dawn Dove,  Feb 21, 2016

Not Rated

Well after reviewing the web for a couple of days I thought to load Gramps and give it a whirl..After 5 hours I have given up.
Consistently locked my file and secondary pop windows are hidden behind the main screen. Not intuitive for this old dog although I grew up with DOS and have upgrade my knowledge for 20 years.
This may be a great program but I ended up wiping off my system.

Biggest Pro: sorry too frustrated to give a thumbs up.
Biggest Con: Wanted a simple family tree on digital to give to kids.

Gramps Review by Peter,  Jan 26, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Gramps is a very sophisticated full featured genealogy software programme, with many more features and capabilities that what I have seen in commercial products. For example, sources are managed at three levels (citation, source and repository) and places are managed in a hierarchy structure (town, county, state, country). Reports and charts are very good. The Gramplet plugins bring more features.
Best of all, it is open source, so your data is not locked in come proprietary file format.

Biggest Pro: lots of functionality for the serious genealogist
Biggest Con: all those functions can make it difficult to learn

Gramps Review by Peter,  Jan 15, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Started somewhere with version 2.x and upgraded continuously to current version. No problems, no data losses. Has lots of possibilities to enter sources and media as well as graphical and text reports and web sites of your family tree.

Biggest Pro: Free, runs on Linux and Windows, very flexible
Biggest Con: takes time to find out/discover all the possibilities and ways of working

Gramps Review by Mathieu,  Jan 11, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

To benefit from this soft, you must be well organized for your photos and sources management. But when it is, Gramps greatly helps to work your trees.

Biggest Pro: Freedom Software; Sources management
Biggest Con: GUI using many popup-windows requires a screen of great size

Gramps Review by Colin,  Dec 21, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Neither intuitive nor easy to learn.
I am sympathetic to open source software, but this really does feel like its been cobbled together by a committee who set out to design a horse and came up with a camel.
I finally gave up when I bought a new computer and tried to load my backup into the new download of Gramps. It was really hard to find out how to do this basic task. While I managed it in the end, as far as I was concerned, that was the end. Software this difficult to use has no place on my computer.

Biggest Pro: Free. Does the job
Biggest Con: Difficult to learn. Not at all intuitive

Gramps Review by Doug E,  Dec 19, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I agree. Incomprehensible. It is supposed to have “shared events”. Input an event, such as a family reunion, then try to share the event among the six participants. Good frickin’ luck. And if it is in fact easy, why is there no procedural help? The help file, in the form of a Wiki, is essentially useless in identifying the steps that one would go through to do something as elementary as this. One would think that a piece of share/free ware written by code jocks could have clear, algorithmic, step-by-step help for some common actions. If such step-by-step descriptions do exist, call me stupid, but I could not find them.

Biggest Pro: Really complicated
Biggest Con: But at least it was free.

Gramps Review by Ralph,  Nov 10, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Originally started with Cumberland Family Tree which had a simple interface, used other programs like Legacy and Heritage. Gramps is superior software and the fact that I can easily write plugins is even better. This is a serious program with alot of features. A learning curve is there but worth it.

Btw the person who says it crashed..I never had the program crash, perhaps something with your PC

Biggest Pro: Serious program with a lot of features.
Biggest Con: UI can be a little confusing

Gramps Review by Paul,  Oct 8, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Software is highly unstable (Which is unacceptable for genealogy software). Crashes when you close a window within the program (When it should only close THAT window). Presents itself as a software with a lot of freedom yet, once you learn how it works, it is highly restrictive software-side. Gramps could be #1 if it was actually stable and wasn’t held back by lazy coding.

Biggest Pro: No other software has as much options and precision in the information you put in.
Biggest Con: Unstable, crashes a lot, corrupts files easily.

Gramps Review by Pascal Dobbelaere,  Jun 19, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Very interesting, with a lot possibilities. Can handle great amount of persons. Media management very handy. Very powerful!

Biggest Pro: event-level media support, flexibel, extensive possibilities, free…
Biggest Con: High learning curve

Gramps Review by C McHale,  Jun 17, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I wanted to get a complete descendant tree that would show an individual, all her marriages and all her children/grandchildren. Can’t do it in this software. It presents only the ascendants rather than the descendants. That is it gives the person I want with HER mother and father and doesn’t give me the husbands/children/grandchildren as it should in a real descendant tree. So this software isn’t useful at all to me

Biggest Pro: imports from Family Tree maker
Biggest Con: can’t do a complete descendant tree

Gramps Review by J Bennett,  May 2, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Utterly incomprehensible. Help is just as bad. Completely useless. Unfortunately, you don’t discover this until you’ve installed it and spent an age trying to understand how it’s supposed to work. How any review can come up wit a favourable opinion beats me.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: incoprehensible.

Gramps Review by Dan,  May 1, 2015

Not Rated

This is a review of Gramps 4.1.2 - Gramps is a great genealogy program and has a great set of features available. I use it in Linux, Vista, and Win 8. It installs all with no problems. Granted as commented here it can sometime be slow on very large databases, that can also be affected by OS and machine specs. Being a free software package is a plus, and the developers are constantly adding features and reports based on requests and comments. I have been doing genealogy for almost 30 years and have tried probably every software package since the early ’80s. I am not sure why several reviews complain about interface, seems pretty straight forward to me. To add a person use the people screen, to add a family use the Families screen. Everyone had their own “favorite” interface. I personally hate the interface of FTM. Most software has a small learning curve. In my choice of software one of my criteria is intuitiveness. If you have to pull out manual, then in my mind the software is not a good package. Gramps has large following, using all 3 of the supported OS, Winows, MAC, and Linux. All 3 will install all needed dependencies, assuming the full installer was downloaded for that OS. Has GEDCOM import and export, numerous reports, and several “bells and whistles.”

Biggest Pro: Great free software version
Biggest Con: Places need some work,

Gramps Review by Chris Bagley,  Sep 11, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I came across Gramps in looking for programs to use in exploring Linux. We have been long, long term users of TMG and it is interesting to compare the two. I think each genealogical program has its own particular way of entering data, formed from the author(s) preferences, and it is not useful to rate programs on that basis. On the basis of utility, functionality, ease of use (when one gets to know it), extendibility and the like I rate Gramps very highly.

Biggest Pro: flexibility
Biggest Con: formation of families is somewhat idiosyncratic

Gramps Review by travisdj,  Aug 28, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

This program is unusably complicated for someone just wanting to build a basic GEDCOM for free. You can’t make family trees, adding people is far more time-consuming than it needs to be, and doing anything — if you can figure it out — involves navigating a byzantine menu of “gramplets” which do not seem to make much sense.

“You get what you pay for” doesn’t often apply to freeware, but in this case it’s absolutely true. This program is unusable.

Biggest Pro: Free
Biggest Con: Unusable

Gramps Review by VRM,  Aug 11, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

So Gramps is the best?

So good that I have to track through multiple menus to try and remember how to add a parent to a person?

I have to add a source in one menu, then I kind-of sort-of maybe might be able to access it later to add it to someone?

The manual is inaccurate (”the last icon is the Configure the active view…” yet it’s the fifth icon from the right, or the Person icon referred to is actually the People icon), or just plain wrong.

The developers expect you to read the whole manual before attempting anything, yet they provide directions that you’ll not remember by the time you actually get to the software.

Also, as for the manual, wall-of-text alert. The program icons? Some are mystery meat, where you guess what they are (Why does that green tree split apart at the bottom?)

There are much easier ways to manage this information, rather than switching to one menu to add a source and then another to add a person, after copying that source to a clipboard.

I have a strong background with computers, having worked with computers for years and also having a Computer Science degree, and I found this software overly complicated and rather daunting.

There are better ways to do things.

Biggest Pro: Open source, works in Linux
Biggest Con: Confusing interface design, poor information management, doesn’t seem to allow embedding external documents into the database for export and distribution, but who knows? I don’t want to read 50 pages of manual to find out if it does or not.

Gramps Review by Sjoerd van Staveren,  Aug 6, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

By far the best genealogy I have ever seen and I have tried a few. It is not only an database for genealogical data it is also a management system for sources and media. The possibilities to link data to sources and media are limitless as is the way you can link people to events.
When you put your datafiles in dropbox you can use the same dataset from different systems and locations.

Biggest Pro: It’s Linux, it’s open source, it’s free and and it’s under continuous improvement.
Biggest Con: Can’t think of any.

Show 21-40 »