Generations

Click To See Award Winners
by Sierra On-Line, Inc.
Generations was a popular program that Sierra developed. They purchased Reunion for Windows from Leister Productions around 1997 when Leister wanted to only continue their Mac version. Sierra developed the program until 2002 when they sold it to A&E, the parent company of Genealogy.com. Broderbund produced and distributed the software for Genealogy.com, but a couple of years later, Genealogy.com dropped Generations, Family Origins and Ultimate Family Tree in favour of their number 1 product, Family Tree Maker. A comprehensive site of information for Generations users is still maintained by Mike Hobart.

Unsupported • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://web.archive.org/web/20011025033626/www.sierrahome.com/products/...
Overall124.45 out of 54.45 out of 54.45 out of 54.45 out of 54.45 out of 5 4.45
20170    No Ratings
201674.63 out of 54.63 out of 54.63 out of 54.63 out of 54.63 out of 5 4.63
Earlier53.34 out of 53.34 out of 53.34 out of 53.34 out of 53.34 out of 5 3.34

Add Your Review of Generations

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

12 Reviews of Generations     RSS 2.0 RSS                   Add Your Review

Generations Review by Wanda Tolley,  Nov 18, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Easy to read, easy to find people, easy to add information to.

Generations Review by Connie Everitt,  Nov 17, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

My husband and I looked around for a long time for a program that was user-friendly and that would do what we wanted. Generations Deluxe was the program we bought and loved to use. Unfortunately, we had to get new computers and much to our dismay our beloved Generations would not work on the newer computers. So we are again looking for another program.

Biggest Pro: Unlimited notes. Easy to input information, relationships at a glance, nice reports and tree’s to be printed.
Biggest Con: Would not work on newer computers we bought.

Generations Review by stephen maddern,  Nov 9, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Love generations so easy everything there for you to see please someone make a programme with the same set up .

Biggest Pro: easy to use love the style of it .
Biggest Con: not being able to find anything to match it

Generations Review by Nessa,  Aug 28, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I used Reunion initially, & upgraded to Generations Grande Suite. Initially I had problems with Windows 7, but downloaded the patch which fixed the problem, which was that as I added information, the programme deleted a piece of information already stored. I upgraded the computer to Windows 8 with no problems. I did panic when my laptop upgraded itself to Windows 10, but again, I haven’t encountered any problems with Generations. it works as well as it always has done.

Biggest Pro: Works well for me.

Generations Review by Judy,  Aug 8, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have most of my family tree on it from Grand Suite Version 8.0. Have not worked on it for a few years. Now we are having a family reunion, and I wanted to up date the dates and add people who joined or deceased. When I tried to put this information in I lost other information, Can anyone tell me what I need to do. I am working on a windows 7 machine.
Thank you

Biggest Pro: It was very good when I had my windows XP
Biggest Con: on windows 7 I am loosing information when I try to change or add info.

Generations Review by Peter Maxfield,  Jun 17, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I’ve just loaded it up today off a Windows XP magazine Edition 37 dvd and it seems to be Generations Family Tree Version 8.5A June 6, 2002. Well it’s running under Windows 7. When I went to the help/about drop-down once it was installed it said to click on a microsoft update to get the help functioning. That worked.

It is easy to use, so I might sit back and enjoy it, and see how it goes. I read on one of these posts that someone lost data, so I’ll make sure it’s backed up somewhere.

So if you’ve got Windows 7 - look for a later version and it will install ok. It did give some message when it was installing, but I just went ahead, and it’s all working. The first thing I did was change the colour scheme. :-)

Good luck.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use and gives you the ages
Biggest Con: None - it’s going fine - not sure if it would work on windows 10.

Generations Review by Ivor Betty,  Apr 9, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Best family tree program to use and cannot get on with the other family tree programs, is there some out there there to make this program work on windows 7 and on to window 10.
HELP
Hope someone can help

Biggest Pro: Easy to use and to see what you have on your family
Biggest Con: not been able to use it any more

Generations Review by Peter Frank,  Jul 29, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

While I thought this was very useful and easy to use software, there is a fatal flaw. Any company that develops and distributes software, that by its very nature needs to be enduring, is cheating its customers by allowing the software to go out of date and not be used on other operating stems or platforms. After spending countless hours researching and inputting data on my family tree, I now have a uds file that is inaccessible! This is a question that is always a concern when purchasing software that is intended to be used for many years in the future. While the company be in existence? Will they continue to support the data files? Will they charge new license fees every few years to maintain an updated program, even if all you want to do is access as opposed to modifying? I wasted my money on this software and will be very wary about these types of systems in the future.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use
Biggest Con: You lose everything you created!!!

Generations Review by Mary Delbridge,  May 25, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I loved generations, wish someone would take it and update it because it was the easiest and the best software to use. I hate the others that I have tried. They are so complicated.

Biggest Pro: it’s was simple and very easy to use.
Biggest Con: no support.

Generations Review by Jolynn Winland,  Aug 19, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This software’s ease of use has me hesitant to even consider another genealogy software program. It may not be a best seller, but it’s super-easy to enter data into and navigate. I do not print charts very much, and I’m not one to upload (or download) GEDCOMS all over the place, so those functions aren’t that important to me. I had initially bought Generations thinking that once I ‘knew the ropes’, so to speak, that I could get more sophisticated software at a later date. After 14 years of using Generations, I’ll never use another program. I do hope another company will pick it up–but not change too much. It’s not broken, so it does not need to be fixed.

Biggest Pro: ease of use
Biggest Con: no support

Generations Review by Dennis,  Feb 17, 2011

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Loved the program. However the chart printing problem caused me to stop the genealogy hobby for quite a few years. If you have your time invested in Generations, try exporting the data via GEDCOM. Generations created an excellent GEDCOM file which to my great surprise imported into Legacy in an almost flawless fashion. All those hours were saved. I rated Generations a 3 only because of the chart printing problem.

Biggest Pro: Creates an excellent GEDCOM file
Biggest Con: Chart printing problem

Generations Review by Gillian,  Sep 29, 2008

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

wish, oh wish that someone would be able take it on and develop it as it is the best and easiest program and I have tried a lot since it was “killed” by Ancestry but have always gone back to it as it is definitely my favourite

Biggest Pro: sorting and its output
Biggest Con: no longer updated