Family Tree Legends

by Pearl Street Software (Cliff Shaw & Chris Cooper)
A complete, easy to use and very nice looking program. In 2007, Pearl Street Software merged with MyHeritage.com and the website has since been removed.

Unsupported • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
https://web.archive.org/web/20130430063252/http://www.familytreelegend...
Overall123.92 out of 53.92 out of 53.92 out of 53.92 out of 53.92 out of 5 3.92
201714 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00
201625 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00
Earlier93.05 out of 53.05 out of 53.05 out of 53.05 out of 53.05 out of 5 3.05

Add Your Review of Family Tree Legends

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

12 Reviews of Family Tree Legends     RSS 2.0 RSS                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Legends Review by JMB,  Feb 16, 2017

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Has anyone gotten this to run on Windows 10? Windows says the software is either infected with a virus or there is a bad sector on the hard drive.

Biggest Pro: Great Price
Biggest Con: Won’t run on Windows 10

Family Tree Legends Review by Grae,  Sep 3, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Too intrusive. Too many “trawling” names.

Biggest Pro: Simple & uncomplicated
Biggest Con: Taken over by MyHeritage

Family Tree Legends Review by Judy Clarke,  Mar 11, 2016

Not Rated

The Family Tree Legends and the gencircles website have apparently been killed by My Heritage. I have lost my backups for my family. The free FTL download is no longer available. Is there any way I can acess for family tree now.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use.
Biggest Con: Gone

Family Tree Legends Review by Rob,  Nov 6, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

A good piece of software here - fine for anyone that is starting out needs to have their hand held.

I wanted to sort out my tree of about 2500 people, but Family Tree Legends was just not up to the job.

A small footprint, easy setup and nice charting make a good impression, but there’s no depth.

For example I couldn’t seem to be able to get names to split properly, prefixes do not show, and parents are assumed to be married even when my import file says they are not!

A lot of information is hidden behind various buttons to make the main screen easy to understand, but this tends to make serious work difficult if you have a lot of changes to make.

Try Ahnenblatt if you want something more robust, or Scion if you need to do a lot of sorting out.

Biggest Pro: Clean interface, easy to use, good charting options
Biggest Con: Not for the serious genealogist, irritating if you need to do lots of updating

Family Tree Legends Review by Linda Jean Beppler,  Aug 4, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I am trying to learn how to use it.

Family Tree Legends Review by LeahC,  Nov 18, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Why was Family Tree Legends taken off the internet? Why? A great program. Used it all the time.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use
Biggest Con: Gone

Family Tree Legends Review by DougVL,  Oct 20, 2011

Not Rated

I forgot to mention in my review that one of its handier capabilities is the ability to make a CD with all your data and a read-only version of the program. You can make the CD and give it to family members who can then run the program, create reports and charts, see the pictures (if you included any), look up their relatives, and whatever they like, but they can’t change the data.

Because the Legends program wouldn’t run on my Vista laptop, neither will the CD, but it did work fine with XP.

I think the CD may require internet access when it starts. It didn’t start when I tried it on an XP machine that didn’t have web access, anyway.

Biggest Pro: ability to make a CD with all your data and a read-only version of the program
Biggest Con: CD may require internet access when it starts

Family Tree Legends Review by DougVL,  Oct 20, 2011

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Outstanding bargain! It’s easily worth at least twice its price. (A little humor here)

Really, it’s a very good and very comprehensive program. I think it would be all anyone needs, as long as they aren’t using Windows Vista anyway. It won’t work on my Vista laptop, but works fine on XP.

I’ve tried all the free and ‘free trial’ programs I can find. This one compares very well. I’d prefer it over Family Tree Maker, Family Tree Builder, Legacy or RootsMagic. Partly because the free versions of those are so crippled they’re very hard (for me) to use.

It has a good layout, easy menu system with both icons and commands, makes nice charts and reports, and has a large user guide for lots of help.

It’s built to have online backup, but apparently that’s no longer available. I didn’t try it.

I do wish it had an “All Relatives” or “Everyone” chart, but otherwise it’s great.

<<>>

Biggest Pro: Free
Biggest Con: not for Vista

Family Tree Legends Review by searchingfamilyhistory,  Mar 18, 2009

Not Rated

1A752-42184-B74A3-AD752 is the serial number for the free version, which is available for download at http://www.familytreelegends.com/downloads (the security certificate is expired so you will have to override the error message if you get it.)

Family Tree Legends Review by Steve Woody,  Mar 3, 2009

Not Rated

The Family Tree Legends and the gencircles website have apparently been killed by My Heritage. I have lost my backups for two familys. The free FTL download is no longer available. I have the setup file, but have misplaced the serial number. Can anyone provide a serial number?

Biggest Pro: ease of use

Family Tree Legends Review by Sue Foster,  Feb 27, 2009

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Have been unable to access web sites for Family Tree Legends an Gencircles for 7 days now–would like to find out why–and if these are now defunct!!

Biggest Pro: smartmatching
Biggest Con: unable to access site

Family Tree Legends Review by Jeanne,  Feb 4, 2009

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have been happy for the most part. Have used this software for about four years. I am not completely happy with the choices for reports or trees. I would like more options to view the link between two individuals quickly. I have been having trouble lately with the internet publishing not showing deceased individuals but this used to work well so I am thinking it is an error on my part.

Biggest Pro: backs up on the internet in real time to a free access web site
Biggest Con: reports and trees somewhat limited