Family Tree Builder

Click To See Award Winners
by MyHeritage Ltd. (Gilad Japhet)
Intuitive, easy to use software that includes features such as smart matching technology, chart designs, smart research, consistency checking and online family tree publishing among others. It supports 36 languages and dual language input.

Free • Subscription • Windows • Full Featured
http://www.myheritage.com/family-tree-builder
Overall1794.41 out of 54.41 out of 54.41 out of 54.41 out of 54.41 out of 5 4.41
2014864.49 out of 54.49 out of 54.49 out of 54.49 out of 54.49 out of 5 4.49
2013624.28 out of 54.28 out of 54.28 out of 54.28 out of 54.28 out of 5 4.28
Earlier313.76 out of 53.76 out of 53.76 out of 53.76 out of 53.76 out of 5 3.76

Add Your Review of Family Tree Builder

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

179 Reviews of Family Tree Builder     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Builder Review by Fredrik Ahlstrom,  5 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

If you have a sapling of a family tree, plant it at MyHeritage.com

My own family tree has since long gone from sapling and bush to shrubbery, but I’ve been at it for 15 years.
I’ve seen how ancestry webpages has grown from crude and slow to dynamic and really usefull packed with new information.

The trees of today tent to be big, really big. I’ve contributed with half my family tree, 3000 souls and made connnections to other trees, 15000 souls and 40000 souls and with amount of Data you need functions like Record Matches and Smart Matches.

MyHeritage.com can handle Big Data!

Biggest Pro: Dynamics and Growth!
Biggest Con: A bit pricey

Family Tree Builder Review by Robert Ritter,  6 days ago

Not Rated

I recently ask for help. I have two Ritter web sites. One is Basic, One is Premium Plus. You offered to fix this and remove the basic on 11-16-14. You followed up and said it was done. Today 11-18-14 the web site is still asking me to upgrade.

Family Tree Builder Review by john jackson,  6 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I was most impressed with the trouble taken to correct my problem the staff arranged to log on to my computer even thought there was an 8 hr time difference, it was done at a time to suit me not at their convenience, the staff member was extremely helpful over a number of interchanges of emails and information and the service responses were always prompt. although it took a wile to sort out my problem the staff were most cooperative.

Biggest Pro: staff member was very accomodating

Family Tree Builder Review by 4smith,  Nov 15, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

It has most things you need and with a little searching can find what you are looking for. I have yet to work out how to format the quick name search col on the left so that the cols stay the width I want them to be, working on that. I does not interact well with other web media. It does allow you to create a link to say a Facebook site of a person but to do so requires drilling into obscure parts to create the link. Once created it is displayed on the main screen for that person and can be clicked on. This could be improved greatly.

Pictures.
What can I say, You can link all sorts of pictures to a person. You can link the one picture to multiple people and clicking on each of them will show that picture. Great. but the linking, access to picks just could be done better. Developers need to understand the different screen sizes, types and dynamically change layout to make best use of what is available. (Drag and Drop would also help).

It’s good, it works, its a bit in your face about upgrading (when using the free version) but hey they are trying to make a buck and they are still offering a free version. I would love to know a LOT more about security of data on line, it is the one thing that stops me from uploading my tree, I just have NO confidence that the data is secure, given what Mr Snowden has told us, nothing is, but that does not mean that its not an important issue.

Biggest Pro: Free version, standalone, shows that there are other bits of matching information out there, like that. This is a good app that does what I need but…
Biggest Con: I am a graphic type of a person and I am finding all Tree type software just does not do it for me. Interface still could be better.

Family Tree Builder Review by Yaman Parar,  Nov 15, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Great application. Süper bir yazılım.

Family Tree Builder Review by BW,  Nov 13, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have nothing but praise for the Support team at MyHeritage. They are wonderful.
One of the members of our Family Tree recently had an issue after he changed his email address and couldnt then log in to MyHeritage.
The support team helped change his email address within MyHeritage and then emailed him some very clear and helpful instructions as to how to regain access to the system.
Nice to know that some help is available.

Biggest Pro: Easy to edit
Biggest Con: None

Family Tree Builder Review by Bill Matley,  Nov 11, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’ve been very happy with MyHeritage family tree builder and their software support crew. I tried ancestor.com but prefer MyHeritage. One of my family members had a problem but the support team at MyHeritage diagnosed the inappropriate behavior by the family member and promptly sent directions to cure the problem.

Biggest Pro: Simple method of access other family trees that match yours and easily transfer data from one to the other.
Biggest Con: Nothing significant, like any software application there is a learning curve.

Family Tree Builder Review by Debbie How,  Nov 10, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I dealt with Tzill and she was wonderful. She answered all my questions clearly and concisely.

Biggest Pro: Detail in answers to questions.
Biggest Con: Don’t have one.

Family Tree Builder Review by Paul Sondervan,  Nov 4, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

MyHeritage is a fine place to make your family tree.
Had problems to export the family tree in a GEDCOM file.
Customer service helped me very good and I was able to export the family tree.

Biggest Pro: Easy and intuitive way of making a family tree.
Biggest Con: The payed fees are way too expensive for the extra’s you get.

Family Tree Builder Review by M.P. from Illinois,  Nov 3, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I love myheritage..com. It’s a great way to track down people you haven’t seen for a while and discover distant cousins. The company’s customer service is also amazing and they resolve your concerns immediately. I highly recommend this website for tracking down people and social purposes.

Biggest Pro: customer service
Biggest Con: monthly fees are not available - only annual fees but it’s all worth it

Family Tree Builder Review by Tony Mansell,  Oct 31, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

A superb product with everything needed.
If you can’t find what you want then just ask and the answer comes flying back

Family Tree Builder Review by Ester Lötter,  Oct 30, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I wish to thank “My Herritage” support group
from the bottom of my heart. They are really great and
I’m sure they are the best Family Site.
It is a user friendly program and I would recommend
it to anybody who would like to do their family tree. I am using my Hetritage
for years and they never push me for any payment. Only to upgrade
Will cost me money.

Biggest Pro: User friendly, amazing support team, unlimited people even with free downloaded copy
Biggest Con: The biggest problem is unfortunately my own as the Rand /Dollar currency is bad and I cannot upgrade to premium

Family Tree Builder Review by Elize,  Oct 30, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have nothing but praise for the way in which I have had support from the My Heritage team. It has been very pleasing to have all my queries sorted out in the shortest possible time, and with great success.

Family Tree Builder Review by E.de Jong,  Oct 29, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

My heritage is heerlijk om mee te werken.
Elke zondag besteed ik er enkele uren aan. Ik heb er veel plezier mee.
In geval van moeilijkheden wordt je snel en efficient geholpen door de supportdesk

Biggest Pro: Je kan er erg gemakkelijk mee werken
Biggest Con: Geen idee, alles verloopt soepel

Google translate: My heritage is wonderful to work with.
Every Sunday I spent a few hours on it. I have a lot of fun with it.
In case of difficulty you will quickly and efficiently helped by the support desk
Biggest Pro: You can be very easy to work with
Biggest Con: No idea, everything runs smoothly

Family Tree Builder Review by Lee-Anne,  Oct 28, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

My Heritage is great software for building your family tree. It is easy to navigate and is designed so you can store small or large amounts of information on any person. It is free to use for a small number of people so you can try it out. If you like it, it is definitely worth paying and upgrading to the Premium Version. The Smart Matches are great and help you link to other people and Trees. You can upload your tree to your own My Heritage site and invite family to the site. The site has the family tree and plenty of other features on displaying the information in interesting ways. Like a Time Line or Time Book, that pulls in photos and information from your tree and presents them in an interesting format.
I’ve used the program for about four years and had very few IT problems but recently I had a problem syncing my Family Tree Builder to the site. When you have so much time and information invested in your Family Tree you need to feel confident you are not going to lose it or have to start again. The IT support was fantastic. They sent me clear step by step instructions with images to follow and coached me through the steps. When I couldn’t fix the problem they organised a direct hook up and worked until the problem was solved. The service was fantastic; I can’t thank them enough for all their help. I highly recommend My Heritage.

Biggest Pro: Great customer support

Family Tree Builder Review by B.J.A. Siers,  Oct 28, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

MyHeritage is in het gebruik zeer vriendelijk en duidelijk. Het uitwerken van de gegevens gaat snel en gemakkelijk en het maken van overzichten zoals kwartierstaten en stambomen is een fluitje van een cent. Ook het koppelen van nieuw ingebrachte personen aan reeds bestaande relaties werkt goed. Wat ik echter wel mis is het kunnen selecteren van een reeks personen, die je dan tegelijk kunt verwijderen als ze er dubbel instaan. Nu moet dat stuk voor stuk. Ook het updaten van de foto’s gaan niet altijd correct zodat er op de website verkeerde foto’s aan personen hangen. Die zijn moeilijk of in het geheel niet te veranderen of te verwijderen.

Biggest Pro: het gemak en de overzichtelijkheid
Biggest Con: zoals gezegd de selectiemogelijkheid in het persoonsbestand

Google translate: MyHeritage is to use very friendly and clear. Working out the details is quick and easy and making statements such as pedigree charts and family trees is a piece of cake. Also linking newly introduced people to existing relationships work well. But what can I do miss is selecting a set of individuals, which you can then delete them at once if they double guarantee. Now you need that piece by piece. Also updating the pictures are not always correct so that wrong pictures hang on people on the website. They are difficult to change or not at all or to remove.
Biggest Pro: the ease and clarity
Biggest Con: as said the selection option in the personal file

Family Tree Builder Review by Peter van de Vrede,  Oct 26, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Review in Dutch:
Wat mij als gebruiker van FTB het meest opvalt, is de toegankelijkheid van het systeem. Het invoeren van gegevens gaat erg gemakkelijk. Daarbij is het feit, dat het systeem je vraagt naar overeenkomsten met eerder ingevoerde personen erg prettig. Wel is het even goed nadenken als je iemand dubbel invoert. Je moet dan stap voor stap, in omgekeerde volgorde, de persoon of daaraan gekoppelde personen verwijderen. Ook is het invoeren van notities, zoals ik dat doe, erg gemakkelijk. Ik kopieer en plak, voor zover ik deze kan vinden, alle geboorteaktes, trouwaktes, overlijdensaktes/overlijdensberichten en zelfs familieberichten als bewijslast in de notities. Dat gaat prima en helpt om te bewijzen dat de ingevoerde persoon ook daadwerkelijk degene is die je bedoelt. Wel is het opletten wanneer je van Engelstalige sites informatie kopieert en plakt. Soms slaat het systeem dan “op hol” en verdwijnen er notities. Niet werkelijk, maar ze zijn niet meer zichtbaar zodra het een andere taal betreft dan de hoofdtaal. Via de menukeuze Extra/Talen kun je alles weer terugzetten, maar dat is wel even een klusje. Gelukkig is de steun van de Helpdesk super. Voor mij is FTB van My Heritage een prachtig systeem voor mijn genealogisch onderzoek.

Biggest Pro: Toegankelijkheid en gebruiksvriendelijkheid, alsmede de Helpdeskfunctie
Biggest Con: Behalve de Talenkwestie, geen echt nadeel

Google translate: What if user FTB most strikes me is the accessibility of the system. Data entry is very easy. It is the fact that the system asks you previously entered into agreements with persons very pleasant. However, it is just as you enter someone twice. Think carefully You have to step in reverse order, the person or related persons to remove. Also, entering notes, like I do, very easy. I copy and paste, as far as I can find it all birth certificates, marriage certificates, death certificates / obituaries and even family announcements as evidence in the notes. That is fine and helps to prove that the person actually entered one you mean. Is However, it is careful when copying information from English-language sites and paste. Sometimes the system then stores “runaway” and disappear notes. Not really, but they are no longer visible when it is a language other than the main language. By clicking on the menu item Tools / Languages ​​restore everything, but that’s just a job. Fortunately, the support of the Helpdesk is super. For me FTB My Heritage wonderful system for my genealogical research.
Biggest Pro: Accessibility and usability, as well as the Help Desk Function
Biggest Con: In addition to the Language Issue, no real disadvantage

Family Tree Builder Review by eustache theloosen,  Oct 26, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

ben nu inmiddels al 3 jaar lid van myheritage, in principe voor 1 stamboom. nu zijn er ondertussen 5 bij gekomen,waar hele interessante gegevens bij waren,dit alles gerelateerd aan mijn familie en alles te zien in een grote stamboom .de grote moeilijk heden die op mijn pc waren hebben ze snel en accuraat opgelost voor mij.daar voor hartelijk dank aan het team van myheritage.
stas

Google translate: am already three years a member of MyHeritage, basically for one pedigree. now there are five in the meantime, the place very interesting data were all related to my family and to see everything in a large pedigree .the big hard things that had appeared on my PC they are quickly and accurately solved for me. for that thank you to the team of MyHeritage.

Family Tree Builder Review by Jan de Geus,  Oct 23, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Kan niet beoordelen of My Heritage “de beste” met een 5 is, want ik gebruik geen andere programma’s. Haal wel info uit andere programma’s en dan stel ik vast dat MH toch wel heel gebruiksvriendelijk en veelzijdig is. Natuurlijk wil je altijd “meer” en een programma zou ook met z’n tijd mee moeten gaan, maar een zo veel gebruikt programma als MH pas je niet zomaar aan, lijkt me. Zo kent het programma alleen hetero-relaties en zou het handig zijn om bij invoer van geboorte en/of overlijdensdatum direct ook te kunnen kiezen uit doop en/of begrafenisdatum. Maar dat alles doet geen afbreuk aan alle overige gebruiksgemak. Er moet iets te wensen over blijven! Ook de service is prima. Recent een probleempje met invoer van gegevens en één mailtje was voldoende om binnen 24 uur de zaak op te lossen via de helpdesk.

Biggest Pro: groot overzicht, gemakkelijke invoer
Biggest Con: niet actueel bij invoermogelijkheid relaties

Google translate: Can not judge whether My Heritage “the best” with a 5 is because I do not use any other programs. ‘ll Get info from other programs, and then I find that MH anyway is very user friendly and versatile. Of course, you always want “more” and a program should also go along with the times but as widely used as MH program not just to pass you, I guess. For example, the program has only heterosexual relationships and it would be useful to be able to choose between baptism and / or burial date. Direct import of birth and / or death dates But all that does not affect any other convenience. There needs to wish for anything! Also the service is fine. Recently, a problem with data entry and one email was enough to solve via the helpdesk. On the matter within 24 hours
Biggest Pro: great view, easy entry
Biggest Con: not current import capability relationships

Family Tree Builder Review by A. Schuurman,  Oct 22, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Tot heden ben ik uitermate tevreden over Family Tree Builder. Ook de helpdesk ondersteunt met veel geduld.

Google translate: To date, I am extremely satisfied with Family Tree Builder. The helpdesk support with patience.

Show 21-40 »