Family Tree Builder

Click To See Award Winners
by MyHeritage Ltd. (Gilad Japhet)
Intuitive, easy to use software that includes features such as smart matching technology, chart designs, smart research, consistency checking and online family tree publishing among others. It supports 36 languages and dual language input.

Free • Subscription • Windows • Full Featured
http://www.myheritage.com/family-tree-builder
Overall1874.41 out of 54.41 out of 54.41 out of 54.41 out of 54.41 out of 5 4.41
2014944.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 5 4.47
2013624.28 out of 54.28 out of 54.28 out of 54.28 out of 54.28 out of 5 4.28
Earlier313.76 out of 53.76 out of 53.76 out of 53.76 out of 53.76 out of 5 3.76

Add Your Review of Family Tree Builder

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

187 Reviews of Family Tree Builder     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Builder Review by D. Kramer,  Dec 10, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

It’s an easy to you use program.
In the beginning the smartmatchsystem is a nice addition. When your familytree grows however the smartmatching starts to fail.
For example: I communicated with another treebuilder and we after two years of cooperation approxamately 4000 matches (+ and -). We had both a crash so that we had to start allover. After a few months we get no more than 3000 matches back while we have build further on our family trees (by standard email communication) and shoukld have at least 4500-5000 matches.

Biggest Pro: The simple way it works.
Biggest Con: All the bugs in the smartmatch software.

Family Tree Builder Review by Kathleen Jansen,  Dec 9, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I had an issue with my family tree due to a computer crash. I had problems accessing the tree and when I did get it to open all of my photos (over 1100) were missing. I tried manually reloading them but the software kept closing down. I contacted support at myheritage and they tried to walk me through the problem. Unfortunately I was not able to work through the problem. But all was not lost thanks to a representative that was able to access my computer remotely. After lots of hard work on the representatives part everything on my family tree was totally restored. They went above and beyond to be sure my problem was resolved.

Biggest Pro: The convenience of working with the program.
Biggest Con: Not sure I have one.

Family Tree Builder Review by Robert Germain,  Dec 3, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

The Family Tree Builder software has both the fat client environment and web based. It is very user friendly which makes it easy to learn. I base my comparison with Brother’s Keeper and Ancestry.com.

The level 1 support is ok but due to the lack of having VOIP, there is a bit of email ping-pong to explain issues which in my view just causes frustration or delays in resolving issues. The second level personnel are better equipped in managing a problem by organizing a support meeting with the customer. I have to state that the level 2 person that took care of my issue had the listening skills and was very responsive to resolving the issues.

On and end note, for the people having a premium account subscription with My Heritage, Billion Graves should be included in the package.

Biggest Pro: User friendly and intuitive
Biggest Con: Untapped value added services needs to be addressed (ie: chat support features, VOIP support when required.

Family Tree Builder Review by John,  Dec 2, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I started with MyHeritage in 2009. It was easy to join and set up my family tree. When I had some technical issues, the people there were very helpful.

I now have a tree with over 6000 people, and over 200 members. My members can all upload photos, documents, videos and audios. They can write to me on the software, and write to one another as well. They can invite other family members to the tree. However, I decide who can have management of the tree (who can actually add people into the tree) - I have two other of my members to whom I have given this ability. I can withdraw this control whenever I wish. I like that.

MyHeritage was cheaper than Ancestry.com which was the main reason I first chose them. Their overall appearance is also more attractive and colorful. They have improved their functionality over these last 5 years.

One of the features that I loved the most was the ability to get a complete description of someone’s relationship to anyone else in the tree. I found out that I was 21 steps removed from Pocahontas, and 12 steps removed from John Muir. Unfortunately, this app only works on trees under 5000 people. When my tree got over this amount, I lost that functionality. They say they have no plans to implement this for larger trees. That’s a bummer. However, there are not that many families with trees as big as mine.

Overall, I have been quite happy with MyHeritage.

Biggest Pro: Great support.
Biggest Con: Ability to trace interpersonal connection with others is limited to trees under 5000 people

Family Tree Builder Review by mordehai marek skurnik,  Dec 1, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I would like to thank myheritage support. they gave me the best support for my problem.
I write to them end after 2-3 days the do the best for me as I asked for.
thank you very very much
mordehai marek skurnik

Family Tree Builder Review by Robert Ritter,  Nov 27, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Thank you for your help. Everything seems to be fine now.

Family Tree Builder Review by Alex K,  Nov 27, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Great tool for creating a family tree, very powerful. Superb support with short and accurate answers.

Family Tree Builder Review by Ugurd,  Nov 27, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used My Heritage and its local client Family Tree Builder for about five years now and I am very satisfied with the functionality and performance. I have a fairly small tree, ca 1500 records. I think FTB is very flexible when it comes to registering various family types, events in a person’s life and there is a free format notepad. It is linked to the web where your tree is published and updated according to a schedule. I have used FTB via Iphone and Ipad as well. Ipad is OK but Iphone is a bit too small for displaying trees with good performance. On the computer the display is excellent with customising possibilities. You can use photos from your computer and display them with the records.
I also like the rich report functionality and the map function. The automatic matching with other trees in the system is not working that well. You get too many faulty matches regardless of match criteria.
As for support the team at MH has been very helpful. I had a situation where the system crashed after 40 minutes without leaving a trace to analyse. After a day of remote logon to my computer with various tests it finally turned out that there was a conflict with an old add-on wallpaper software.

Biggest Pro: Good support
Biggest Con: Smart matching not so smart

Family Tree Builder Review by Fredrik Ahlstrom,  Nov 19, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

If you have a sapling of a family tree, plant it at MyHeritage.com

My own family tree has since long gone from sapling and bush to shrubbery, but I’ve been at it for 15 years.
I’ve seen how ancestry webpages has grown from crude and slow to dynamic and really usefull packed with new information.

The trees of today tent to be big, really big. I’ve contributed with half my family tree, 3000 souls and made connnections to other trees, 15000 souls and 40000 souls and with amount of Data you need functions like Record Matches and Smart Matches.

MyHeritage.com can handle Big Data!

Biggest Pro: Dynamics and Growth!
Biggest Con: A bit pricey

Family Tree Builder Review by Robert Ritter,  Nov 18, 2014

Not Rated

I recently ask for help. I have two Ritter web sites. One is Basic, One is Premium Plus. You offered to fix this and remove the basic on 11-16-14. You followed up and said it was done. Today 11-18-14 the web site is still asking me to upgrade.

Family Tree Builder Review by john jackson,  Nov 18, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I was most impressed with the trouble taken to correct my problem the staff arranged to log on to my computer even thought there was an 8 hr time difference, it was done at a time to suit me not at their convenience, the staff member was extremely helpful over a number of interchanges of emails and information and the service responses were always prompt. although it took a wile to sort out my problem the staff were most cooperative.

Biggest Pro: staff member was very accomodating

Family Tree Builder Review by 4smith,  Nov 15, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

It has most things you need and with a little searching can find what you are looking for. I have yet to work out how to format the quick name search col on the left so that the cols stay the width I want them to be, working on that. I does not interact well with other web media. It does allow you to create a link to say a Facebook site of a person but to do so requires drilling into obscure parts to create the link. Once created it is displayed on the main screen for that person and can be clicked on. This could be improved greatly.

Pictures.
What can I say, You can link all sorts of pictures to a person. You can link the one picture to multiple people and clicking on each of them will show that picture. Great. but the linking, access to picks just could be done better. Developers need to understand the different screen sizes, types and dynamically change layout to make best use of what is available. (Drag and Drop would also help).

It’s good, it works, its a bit in your face about upgrading (when using the free version) but hey they are trying to make a buck and they are still offering a free version. I would love to know a LOT more about security of data on line, it is the one thing that stops me from uploading my tree, I just have NO confidence that the data is secure, given what Mr Snowden has told us, nothing is, but that does not mean that its not an important issue.

Biggest Pro: Free version, standalone, shows that there are other bits of matching information out there, like that. This is a good app that does what I need but…
Biggest Con: I am a graphic type of a person and I am finding all Tree type software just does not do it for me. Interface still could be better.

Family Tree Builder Review by Yaman Parar,  Nov 15, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Great application. Süper bir yazılım.

Family Tree Builder Review by BW,  Nov 13, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have nothing but praise for the Support team at MyHeritage. They are wonderful.
One of the members of our Family Tree recently had an issue after he changed his email address and couldnt then log in to MyHeritage.
The support team helped change his email address within MyHeritage and then emailed him some very clear and helpful instructions as to how to regain access to the system.
Nice to know that some help is available.

Biggest Pro: Easy to edit
Biggest Con: None

Family Tree Builder Review by Bill Matley,  Nov 11, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’ve been very happy with MyHeritage family tree builder and their software support crew. I tried ancestor.com but prefer MyHeritage. One of my family members had a problem but the support team at MyHeritage diagnosed the inappropriate behavior by the family member and promptly sent directions to cure the problem.

Biggest Pro: Simple method of access other family trees that match yours and easily transfer data from one to the other.
Biggest Con: Nothing significant, like any software application there is a learning curve.

Family Tree Builder Review by Debbie How,  Nov 10, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I dealt with Tzill and she was wonderful. She answered all my questions clearly and concisely.

Biggest Pro: Detail in answers to questions.
Biggest Con: Don’t have one.

Family Tree Builder Review by Paul Sondervan,  Nov 4, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

MyHeritage is a fine place to make your family tree.
Had problems to export the family tree in a GEDCOM file.
Customer service helped me very good and I was able to export the family tree.

Biggest Pro: Easy and intuitive way of making a family tree.
Biggest Con: The payed fees are way too expensive for the extra’s you get.

Family Tree Builder Review by M.P. from Illinois,  Nov 3, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I love myheritage..com. It’s a great way to track down people you haven’t seen for a while and discover distant cousins. The company’s customer service is also amazing and they resolve your concerns immediately. I highly recommend this website for tracking down people and social purposes.

Biggest Pro: customer service
Biggest Con: monthly fees are not available - only annual fees but it’s all worth it

Family Tree Builder Review by Tony Mansell,  Oct 31, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

A superb product with everything needed.
If you can’t find what you want then just ask and the answer comes flying back

Family Tree Builder Review by Ester Lötter,  Oct 30, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I wish to thank “My Herritage” support group
from the bottom of my heart. They are really great and
I’m sure they are the best Family Site.
It is a user friendly program and I would recommend
it to anybody who would like to do their family tree. I am using my Hetritage
for years and they never push me for any payment. Only to upgrade
Will cost me money.

Biggest Pro: User friendly, amazing support team, unlimited people even with free downloaded copy
Biggest Con: The biggest problem is unfortunately my own as the Rand /Dollar currency is bad and I cannot upgrade to premium

Show 21-40 »