Family Tree Builder

Click To See Award Winners
by MyHeritage Ltd. (Gilad Japhet)
Intuitive, easy to use software that includes features such as smart matching technology, chart designs, smart research, consistency checking and online family tree publishing among others. It supports 36 languages and dual language input.

Free • Subscription • Windows • Full Featured
http://www.myheritage.com/family-tree-builder
Overall1344.29 out of 54.29 out of 54.29 out of 54.29 out of 54.29 out of 5 4.29
2014414.33 out of 54.33 out of 54.33 out of 54.33 out of 54.33 out of 5 4.33
2013624.28 out of 54.28 out of 54.28 out of 54.28 out of 54.28 out of 5 4.28
Earlier313.76 out of 53.76 out of 53.76 out of 53.76 out of 53.76 out of 5 3.76

Add Your Review of Family Tree Builder

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

134 Reviews of Family Tree Builder     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Builder Review by Sandtoft,  Apr 12, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Review
Keywords; My Heritage, Family Tree Builder 7.0, Free, Subscription, Standalone, Web sync. Powerful, Many options, Ease of use, Brittle, Mostly pros, Few cons.

The Family tree builder software from My Heritage
http://www.myheritage.com
is a powerful, standalone tree builder with substantial import / export / save options. The fact it is installed locally and does not require the web to run allows data (from whatever source) to be added at will. Most other tree builders of any import require an active web connection.

The initial options for the data to the web (see later) are:
Free (250 people, 500Mb, basic smart matching),
Premium (2500 people, 1000Mb, enhanced matching and a timeline - Paid - check site for current costs)
Premium Plus (Unlimited people, storage, enhanced matching, Timeline and Timebook, again check the page for current costs).

Do not be put off by the web page or costs. It is not necessary to use them and the first 250 people are free anyway. Check the page and look at the options, I would suggest most people would dabble with the free product until happy and then upgrade as required. You do not have to go to the web at all actually, as the Tree builder will produce data that is very adequate for many people. I will talk about the advantages of the web service later.

The format is a sidebar person menu and a working screen, both dynamic and may be sized to your requirements. A top menu gives the most usual options and does not encroach too much on the working area. The person list appends an ID number which may be searched, along with name(s) birth / death / date and relation priority.

Firstly, it must be emphasised that the options to use the data from this tree builder are superb. You can save the data in the native format, copy it, back it up and keep it in a safe place away from the computer. There is an option to dump the data into an Excel spreadsheet (very handy for other people who do not have the software yet). You can do all the usual open, save, manage and print from this drop down menu.

The internationally recognised GEDCOM (GEnealogical Data COMmunication) format for genealogical data transfer is fully supported. I have imported and exported files into other packages with no problem at all and imported external GEDCOM files from other packages into the Tree builder, again with no issues. Very powerful, and do not forget this is a local installation. The option to merge GEDCOM files is also there which allows other family members to contribute their data for insertion. Error trapping is very good with pop up warnings and suggestions. There is also the option to check the tree for consistency, deceased people and duplicates. Again, vital for merged databases.
The editing and merging of single person data is limited (produced from the duplicate report as far as I’m aware) to typing in data from the duplicate person(s) when it is flagged and showing the dialogue boxes. The ability to simply highlight the data you want in any one or both person records and produce a new one would be an advantage but it’s more of a niggle than a problem. Occasionally, merging does not always work as expected.

Of particular interest is the option to choose one person in the list and set it. You can then display the relationship between any two people (xxx is Great Grandfather of yyy etc.).

The photo option to include images and associate them with the person data is simple and good. GEDCOM is also supported well here, much to my surprise when I imported a rather large database from another family member with hundreds of photos appended. No issue at all.

There is an option to generate a family tree in a PDF (Adobe Portable Data Format) and/or a JPG which may be saved, passed on to other family members or printed out. There is a paid option to have a professionally produced, laminated, giant printed tree if desired. At the last check it was approximately 20 GBP for mine. A nice present. The rest is free. The ability to produce the PDF and the JPG image means anyone can look at the tree without web or software, especially useful if printed out and given to an older member of the family without computer skills. I have to say, the program is worth installing for this feature alone. Do not forget you can import files from other sources and produce the print. There are many options for the format of the tree (Descendant, Hour glass, Bow tie etc.).

Most people who research family history and produce trees do so from multiple sources. Data is most usually obtained from commercial sites, family conversations and memory. Of all the tree builders to use, this program is well recommended.
The search packages are similar in look and feel to many of the others available and usually derive data from the same or similar sources.
I have made a point about this being a standalone program. However, the true power of it is in the ability to produce a web based tree (quite separate in look and use) and synchronise the data with the tree builder software. This is the point where most other commercial sites begin.

When you have your initial data in the tree builder you can synchronise this with a web page generated from it. Do not be put off synchronising your data as it is all private and you have full control. Personally, I added lots of data to the Tree Builder software prior to synchronising it to the web primarily as I was concerned that I suddenly did not want the world to see my family tree and I was not sure of the controls in place. I need not have worried as there are site manager options that you have to use allowing different level of access to other people (should you wish).
The most important issue is that once the tree is synchronised (private but published) the Smart matching comes into play. Data that is in your tree is compared to other data that has been synchronised and matches, (singly initially) are sent to you. These may take the form of similar name, date of birth, location, date of death, parents etc. If you consider these matches to be worth pursuing, the web page and contact details of the owner of the other web page are made available (if they have allowed it). You can then email them and request a little more information and possibly even allow each other to look at the trees. This resulted in my family tree being at least five times larger, as a relative had done so much of the work from their side of the family. We agreed to swap information and have both benefited from the smart matching. Some matches are erroneous but are usually easily discarded. Synchronise early, it may save you many hours of work! You still have control of privacy and permission level.

Now to some downsides, although the pros still far outweigh the cons…

The software is very powerful and does many calculations. With that in mind, running it with many other applications on a PC occasionally causes it to hang. This usually only shows when the PC is heavily loaded with other applications. It is suggested you use the Tree builder on its own if you are working on the data. Save often, especially if you have added a large amount of data. I have never lost data and a quick reboot has always sorted the issue.

On startup of the Tree builder, it fires up the default browser and takes you to your My Heritage web page. It’s probably an authentication move but annoying nevertheless, especially considering the above comment. I usually quit the browser immediately after it has loaded…

If you have a subscription that is up for renewal it is automatic and the only way you can stop it is by contacting customer support (email). There is no tick box or “I do not want to renew my subscription” option. This is not really a problem and I quite understand why My Heritage do it. They will often give you very preferential rates on renewal if you so wish but it does mean you have to contact them. This is not so much of a problem, again just a niggle. However, the support team at My Heritage is superb and once you have been in contact you have a resource available to you very capable of guiding you through any issues you may have. Use them. They know the systems and have vast experience in this field.

That’s about it. Without doubt the easiest course of action is to try the software and use it. Get to know it and start entering data. Initially, go for all the easy options until you have a little more confidence but I’m quite sure you will not be disappointed. I have tried a number of other leading software tree builders but none come close to the variety of options available.

17/03/14
My Heritage Family Tree Builder - ver 7.0.0 Build 7121 August 2013

Biggest Pro: Many options and ability to produce a printed tree.
Biggest Con: Program occasionally brittle and may hang, although no data loss.

Family Tree Builder Review by Elton Broderick,  Mar 6, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using the My Heritage software for many years now and can not fault it. Its easy to use, functional, and captures a wide range of information. I particularly like the public facing web page which allows friends and family to view my family tree and share my investigations and discoveries.
Couple this with a responsive support team, a reasonable pricing structure and a huge database of supporting information, and it makes this application one of the standout genealogy software packages in the market.

Biggest Pro: Ability to compare information with other My Heritage family trees.
Biggest Con: Historical records could include more Australian information.

Family Tree Builder Review by Naomi Ron,  Feb 27, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I want to thI want to thank MyHeritage for fast and effective response, for courteous and useful help and for letting me continue my father legacy. My father started the family tree in order for us to see our history and how far and big the family has spread. MyHeritage team allowed me to continue his work after he passed away. They responded in a timely manner, with curtsy and understanding the situation. They explained in details what I need to do and how to progress. As I was conversing with them, I understood, that any question or task, will be answered no matter how small and certainly when it was a bigger issue. I sensed that they take their work seriously and want to improve and add to their databases as well as site functionality. I had very good experience and recommend using the site for creating and keeping your family history. ank MyHeritage for fast and effective response, for curtous

Biggest Pro: support and ease of use the software
Biggest Con: didn’t find one yet

Family Tree Builder Review by Lene Søby,  Feb 19, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I like it - it’s very easy to use and logically structured. However, I experience many negative input about Famlily Tree Builder and the Family Site - but when examined, it turns out that it is the user who don’t know the system functions well enough.

Smart Matches are smart, but it must be used wisely. It is the users themselves who put the genealogy information out, and many blame MyHerritage when there are errors in these. But this you cannot blame MyHerritage for. Always check the sources yourself before you merge - then you will avoid many problems.

Family Tree Builder Review by Julia Maliyeva,  Feb 19, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I really liked the Family Tree Builder until… I changed my old computer to an Apple product. I could not even imagine that the software is not supported by Mac. I can now only work through the web-site which is not very convenient, somehow I cannot even load the pictures from time to time. What was very important for me in the Family Tree Builder - I could include any information besides the dates of life, such as family stories, notes, etc. Now being a Premium user I have to be content only with a limited web-version.

Family Tree Builder Review by Mikko Rantanen,  Feb 17, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am satisfied with MyHeritage. Some small improvments possible. Smart Match sometimes compares with wrong persons . If there are two same persons A and B in two trees . Smart match compares A to B and B to A. I have to answer” not same persons” allthoug I see that there is question of same persons wrongway compared.

Biggest Pro: Good sarvice
Biggest Con: Complicated to take information in smart match into my own tree out of the other tree.

Family Tree Builder Review by Tomer Sinai,  Feb 15, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This website is very friendly and comprehensive. It allows me to put in everyone in my extended family, but after 250 people I had to pay extra 15$ a year which is really not much to keep a full on record of my entire family, both for myself and for the next generations.
It’s easy to use and they have a PC software that makes things a lot more convenient to use.
I managed to update all of my family’s info pretty fast with the help of sharing the family’s page on MyHeritage, and I’m getting nothing but great reviews from my family. And with the smart matches I found many new family members! which was all worth the hard work.
Their support is fantastic and very detailed. They get back to you quite fast with a full support to my questions.
I wish they’d have a software version for Mac’s as well, and also would make the tree possible to see in horizontal mode and not just vertical so it’ll be much easier to scout through.
Other than that, they’re pretty great and I’d recommend using it.

Biggest Pro: Smart matches helps you find other family members. Works amazing!
Biggest Con: No software version for Mac/Apple

Family Tree Builder Review by Eytan,  Feb 11, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

My heritage, following the great additions of 2013 especially regarding smart matches and record matches, is excellent both research and storing your family tree and family history info.
You can easily import information from smart matches to your tree.
To that one can add that support team is quick to reply and eager to assist.

Biggest Pro: Smart and record matches

Family Tree Builder Review by Ken Stewart,  Feb 11, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have used the software for 3+ years and have been very satisfied for the most part. When there is a problem, you receive a quick response via e-mail. Some of the problems I have encountered: Too many repeat Smart Matches are sent to confirm. When I first started, I lost 700+ photos and FTB could not restore them. I backup my chart on a daily basis now. Some problems in syncing my chart. When a chart is loaded, sometimes a message appears that there are inconsistencies–they are fixed automatically, but I wish they would show us what the inconsistencies are so we can decide if there is a problem. When 2 spouses share the same gravestone and the picture is placed in the chart for each person–only the last one that is placed shows full size–the other spouse’s picture is very cramped.

Biggest Pro: Quick e-mail responses when problems arise
Biggest Con: Work on lowering cost of software programs

Family Tree Builder Review by Thea Baas,  Feb 10, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

super site en gemakkelijk en eenvoudig en dat is voor de vaak oudere doelgroep die niet zo goed zijn met een computer makkelijk te volgen en mee te werken.

Biggest Pro: eenvoudige opzet
Biggest Con: veel foute smartmatches, in Israel snappen ze niet dat Holland mensen met veel kinderen vaak dezelfde naam geven

Google translate: super site and easy and simple and that is often the older audience who are not so good with a computer, easy to follow and work with.
Biggest Pro: simple design
Biggest Con: many smart incorrect matches, in Israel they do not understand that Holland people with many children often give the same name

Family Tree Builder Review by willem brouwer,  Feb 6, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

my heritage is a site for family tree builders with a lot of possibilities:
- opportunity for uploading pictures
- pages for specific extra information
- smart matches with other tree builders, gives information that a person is also in an other family tree which you can exchange data .

Biggest Pro: smart matches

Family Tree Builder Review by Joan Marie Jaqué,  Feb 5, 2014

Not Rated

Jeg er MY Premium Plus medlem. Det har jeg meget glæde af. Hvis jeg har et problem, sender jeg en mail til MY, og jeg får altid løst mit problem. Tak for det.

I am MY Premium Plus member. I have much pleasure from. If I have a problem, I send an email to MY, and I always get solved my problem. Thank you.

Kind regards,
Joan Marie Jaqué, Denmark

Family Tree Builder Review by Bob Cook,  Feb 4, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

This program is intuitive to the point that users with average skill level can utilize the software without instruction. Even though it is very user-friendly, the functionality is quite adequate for most users. Customer support is prompt and attentive. Jonas gave good service in that respect

Biggest Pro: very user-friendly software
Biggest Con: The program still has some incompatabilities with Windows 8.1

Family Tree Builder Review by Roberto Amallo,  Feb 4, 2014

Not Rated

Mi mayor agradecimiento al soporte de My Heritage por el servicio prestado ante una falla del sistema, corrigiendo con prontitud el inconveniente que se había producido una vez detectado el origen del problema.

Google translation: My greatest thanks to the support of My Heritage for the service provided to a system failure, promptly correcting the problem that had occurred once detected the source of the problem.

Family Tree Builder Review by Doris Simmons,  Feb 4, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I was having touble with the slidesyhow I sent a e-mail and was ans right away Shlami told me how to fix if and that took care of my prolembe. Thanks for the help

Biggest Con: Can’t call and talk to some one have to email, can’[t always find what I want

Family Tree Builder Review by Alexey Dmitriev,  Feb 4, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I use Family Tree Builder since March 2012 as it appeared most convenient of programs on genealogy that have been tested by me then. Besides this program understood Russian and had the free version. In process of a family tree filling the limit of the free version has soon been exceeded, now at me a premium-plus account and almost unlimited possibilities. Still I consider this program of most convenient of known to me despite some incongruities in support Russian names, patronymics, surnames and titles

Biggest Pro: Synchronization of the genealogical data between the program and the web site, SmartMatches, RecordMatches
Biggest Con: Does not consider singularities of Russian names, patronymics, surnames and titles, especially for women

Family Tree Builder Review by Fernando Cardenas,  Feb 1, 2014

Not Rated

I have been a member of My Heritage for two years and I created the tree of my family that is very large. I found the program very easy to operate and is very impressive and eloquent. I recently had a problem with the operation of the program, but I received very clear instructions from Noan who has been my contact to help me resolve the problems.

I highly recommend Family Tree Builder.

Fernando Cardenas

Biggest Pro: Easy to operate, lots of features, can upload pictures and videos and documents.
Biggest Con: Wish you had support via telephone

Family Tree Builder Review by Jan Kuijpers,  Feb 1, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Ik gebruik de FTB-software al zo’n 6 jaar en ben erg content over de gebruiksmogelijkheden. Het programma is inzichtelijk en gebruiksvriendelijk. Door de stamboom te publiceren op de website van MyHeritage maak je hem toegankelijk voor andere stamboomonderzoekers hetgeen tot nuttige interacties kan leiden.
Een bijzonder nuttige service van ‘MyHeritage’ is het systeem ‘Smart Matches’ dat je automatisch attendeert op overeenkomsten tussen jouw stamboom en die van anderen. Een handig hulpmiddel om ontbrekende gegevens aan te vullen. Een kritische instelling voor de kwaliteit van deze gedeelde informatie is uiteraard op zijn plaats.
Tot slot een welgemeend compliment aan de mensen van MyHeritage support team. De keren dat ik een beroep op hen deed werd ik vlot en op een plezierige manier geholpen. Chapeau!

Biggest Pro: ‘Smart Matches’ en het Support Team
Biggest Con: De bijkomende kosten als je van ‘Document Search’ gebruik wil maken

Google translate: I am using the FTB software for about 6 years and am very content about the usage. The program is transparent and user-friendly. By publishing on the website MyHeritage Family Tree you make it accessible to other family researchers, which may result. Useful interaction
A particularly useful service on MyHeritage ‘the system’ Smart Matches’ ​​you automatically draws attention to similarities between your family and others. A useful tool to fill missing data gaps. A critical adjustment to the quality of the shared information is, of course, in place.
Finally, a sincere compliment to the people of MyHeritage support team. The times I appealed to them was smooth and I helped in a pleasant way. Chapeau!
Biggest Pro: Smart Matches’ ​​and Support Team
Biggest Con: The additional cost if you want to use “Document Search”

Family Tree Builder Review by Solveig Dahl-Olsen,  Jan 29, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Det er brukervennlig og oversiktlig.

Biggest Pro: Matching

Google translate: It is user-friendly and transparent.

Family Tree Builder Review by marjan,  Jan 29, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am very satisfied, and everywhere they help to solve it if you have a problem,

Biggest Pro: the support

Show 21-40 »