Family Tree Builder

Click To See Award Winners
by MyHeritage Ltd. (Gilad Japhet)
Intuitive, easy to use software that includes features such as smart matching technology, chart designs, smart research, consistency checking and online family tree publishing among others. It supports 36 languages and dual language input.

Free • Subscription • Windows • Mac • Full Featured
http://www.myheritage.com/family-tree-builder
Overall3244.22 out of 54.22 out of 54.22 out of 54.22 out of 54.22 out of 5 4.22
201753.81 out of 53.81 out of 53.81 out of 53.81 out of 53.81 out of 5 3.81
2016624.05 out of 54.05 out of 54.05 out of 54.05 out of 54.05 out of 5 4.05
Earlier2574.42 out of 54.42 out of 54.42 out of 54.42 out of 54.42 out of 5 4.42

Add Your Review of Family Tree Builder

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

324 Reviews of Family Tree Builder     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Builder Review by LizRickett,  1 day ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Needed help - called toll free number - had to wait a long time but well worth it - very knowledgeable and helpful person at customer support AND it solved the problem!!

Biggest Con: Long wait before connected

Family Tree Builder Review by Hub Hoedemakers,  1 day ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Very helpfull, nice conversation, I will recommend everyone My Heritage

Biggest Pro: Look above
Biggest Con: None (geen)

Family Tree Builder Review by desma,  1 day ago

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

have been using this program for a few years now, and I actually like the new update, was having heaps of problems with the combination of windows 10 and the older version, I find the new search engine ,is heaps improved, I had stopped subscribing to the older one as it only gave American results, but this seems ok. though I have found, like the member below, that when I tried to update a profile photo it disappeared, though I still have it under my photos…am thinking that this should work itself out as long as the actual data remains onsite. Any syncing problems that I have had seem to be fixed by a restart

Biggest Pro: ease of use, able to print out trees
Biggest Con: duplication of trees, need a way to link them up/delete or join them automatically

Family Tree Builder Review by charles lynch,  1 day ago

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

the person on the phone was wonderfull but could hardly understand the scotich accent

Biggest Pro: very helpfull
Biggest Con: language

Family Tree Builder Review by Helen Marie More,  Feb 16, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I’m a Premium Member with MyHeritage .. and up until the recent update to Version 8 of Family Tree Builder .. Have had NO problems. Needless to say .. there are many, many frustrated customers experiencing the same issue .. NO Syncing .. NO access to the Internet .. No Updating .. NOTHING !! We’re in the same boat .. with not even a bloody oar to lend a helping hand. Most certainly .. there is a Monumental Serious Flaw / Bug within the program .. and I find this entire scenario totally unacceptable !! I’ve sent E-Mail after E-Mail to your customer service department .. without even “1″ single reply on what you plan to do to correct this horrid nightmare for all of us !!

Biggest Pro: Superb Interface with wonderful features
Biggest Con: Customer Service Dept. which does not give a hoot about their paying clientele !!

Family Tree Builder Review by Donna Roberts,  Nov 18, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have been happily using My Heritage for many years but ever since I upgraded it to version 8 I have had nothing but drama. I have had some responses to my requests for help from their support team but their tone pretty much says not to expect them to fix the bug that I am experiencing (that is, the ability to save any changes/ edits/ alterations) to the tree.
I imported my tree back into version 7 but unfortunately now all of my Notes are no longer visable (even though at the top of each tab it states 1 of 4 etc) but the Notes are all blank although there is data there?!
At wits end. Thinking of just going to another family tree format altogether.
Makes you question why they didn’t stick to the old saying “If it aint broke, don’t fix it”.

Biggest Pro: Easy to navigate
Biggest Con: There are huge glitches in version 8. Saving is impossible, Notes are no longer visable.

Family Tree Builder Review by Maureen,  Oct 8, 2016

Not Rated

At first I was blown away by all the options = steep learning curve. Friendly helpful staff member rang and asked if everything was good etc. But has some problems. You easily end up with duplicate trees, as I’ve read on other reviews. When I transferred data by GEDCOM to another site it worked great but revealed I had 4 duplicates of each photo, thus 4 separate trees. I have entered a Gt grandma’s photo countless times and it vanishes into thin air. Now it’s not even in the album but others are still there??? I managed to delete one duplicate tree, then found half my photos missing - shouldn’t have happened. Now it won’t let me go straight to the family site. Only shows 3 generations on main pages. Limited number of people on free version. Have to pay to contact other tree users by email. I got sick of it and though I still have it, have basically swapped over to another brand.

Biggest Pro: Heaps of options, nice looking setup, friendly staff, photo cropping is brilliant..
Biggest Con: Expensive if want to put more members on and get services. Easily duplicates trees and you don’t notice it. Has bugs but they will probably be very helpful fixing them, if you have patience.

Family Tree Builder Review by Nili London Krassner,  Sep 14, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’m very Happy with the level of understanding your support person exhibited. Although I was disappointed to discover that My heritage does not offer the capability of including a schedule (for each individual on the tree) where one can input the various search venues needed to look into for the person, as well as room for followup notes and a followup calendar. I also suggest that once you create such an option, it should further have the ability of collect info. from each such calendar and have a summery in one place of all the follow ups need.
IE:
WEBSITE
COUNTR
DATE OF SEARCH
RESULTS
FULLOW UP DATE
I hope the above is clear enough, however, if not, then you are welcome to contact me at US-561-641-4423.
Thanks for creating such an amazing site.

Biggest Pro: All the connection that are available
Biggest Con: Never getting a call back after calling tech support and requesting a call back when you are busy. Membemshing is expensive,, yes, I know it is the best.

Family Tree Builder Review by Gudbrand,  Aug 23, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Family Tree Builder has many good components however by their own admission in the manual they do not support an easy to use effective system for merging duplicates. They concentrate on smart matches and overlook an essential component relating to avoiding duplication in your family file.

Biggest Pro: has a support system
Biggest Con: to be comprehensive they eliminated an essential component

Family Tree Builder Review by L.Labelle,  Jun 14, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

My experience with the web site has been minimal. However, I have been dabbling with the Tree Builder product for quite some time, and I find it totally fantastic.

Shir from the support group was prompt and efficient in responding to an issue submitted.

Keep up with the good work.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use & customer support
Biggest Con: Limited access to custom facts; would like to see added functionality in the View and Custom Report options.

Family Tree Builder Review by Roberto Mario Ornstein,  Jun 11, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

La nueva versión del programa Family Tree Builder - como todo programa nuevo -presenta algunos problemas, pero el excelente servicio de ayuda técnica bindado por Rafael posibilita la adecuada solución de todos los inconvenientes

Biggest Pro: atención eficiente y muy cordial

Family Tree Builder Review by Pam Haywood,  Jun 8, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Thank you to Rafael and Yoel who helped me with the problem I had on my Family Tree Builder. They were extremely helpful to the extent of working on a Sunday to fit in with my timing.

Biggest Pro: Efficienct

Family Tree Builder Review by Alaor J Freitas,  Jun 6, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Very practical and easy to understand for all level of people.

Biggest Pro: Desegn
Biggest Con: Capacity

Family Tree Builder Review by Bernard PLACIER,  Jun 6, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Bravo pour votre réactivité et la qualité de vos réponses pour la résolution de problèmes divers et variés. Merci encore.

Google translate: Bravo for your responsiveness and quality of your answers for solving various and varied problems. Thanks again.

Family Tree Builder Review by Christian Vancoppenolle,  Jun 6, 2016

Not Rated

Très heureux de l’utilisation de ” My Heritage”.Ce logiciel est très facile, intuitif et compatible avec les autres programmes du même type. Dommage qu’il soit encore impossible de détacher une branche de l’arbre.Son personnel est très réactif quant aux problèmes qui lui sont soumis.
Bravo et continuez.

Google translate: Very happy to use “My Heritage” .This software is very easy, intuitive and compatible with other similar programs. Too bad it is still impossible to detach a branch of arbre.Son staff is very responsive about the problems that are submitted.
Congratulations and continue.

Family Tree Builder Review by Matthieu Seassau,  Jun 5, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I would like to share my really good appreciation about MyHeritage because I can check the improvement every year and as soon as you need help it will occurred very quickly! May be not flexible enough to play with different trees, but if it is s small critic it has to be applied for any other genealogy site I suppose.
So, yes I am very satisfied with MyHeritage and happy to discover many cousins in the world!

Family Tree Builder Review by Tadeas Santarius,  Jun 5, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Represent on a screen is very good,maybe the best from all genea programs, but program Family Tree Builder has a many bad basic function, I think.

Family Tree Builder Review by Christian Vancoppenolle,  Jun 5, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Après avoir longuement hésité et examiné d’autres logiciels de généalogie, j’ai choisi “My Heritage” . Je le trouve,après plusieurs années d’expérience, très intéressant car facile à l’emploi, complet, compatible avec d’autres logiciels et très souple quant au niveau de discrétion qu’on souhaite. Un seul regret : l’impossibilité que j’ai rencontrée à séparer une “branche” de l’arbre généalogique.A noter également la réactivité du personnel à répondre aux problèmes soumis.
Bravo et bonne route

Google translate: After long hesitation and looked at other genealogy software, I chose “My Heritage”. I find, after several years of experience, very interesting as easy to use, complete, consistent with other software and very flexible as to the level of discretion is desired. One regret: the impossibility that I met in a separate “branch” of the tree généalogique.A note responsiveness of staff to respond to the problems submitted.
Congratulations and good luck

Family Tree Builder Review by Valerie Heslip,  Jun 5, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I started my family Histort research many years ago having used many sits on and off but not for a few years so I was rusty as it was different from others Having joined a few weeks ago through someone’s tree have got back to 1540 ancestors I had no idea about only the middle name of my Grandfather who I have been researching for years not too much information is given for Ireland . I would say without doubt this is my best site ever

Family Tree Builder Review by Delaney Griggs,  Jun 3, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

My experience with Family Tree Builder has been great! It is easy to add photos and personal data. When I had a problem, I contacted Family Tree Builder, and the problem was quickly solved. I am very pleased with this product and with the service I have received.

Biggest Pro: Being Able to Share Family Tree with other Family Members
Biggest Con: Sometimes I forget how to navigate from one display to another

Show 21-40 »