Family Tree Builder

Click To See Award Winners
by MyHeritage Ltd. (Gilad Japhet)
Intuitive, easy to use software that includes features such as smart matching technology, chart designs, smart research, consistency checking and online family tree publishing among others. It supports 36 languages and dual language input.

Free • Subscription • Windows • Mac • Full Featured
http://www.myheritage.com/family-tree-builder
Overall2614.38 out of 54.38 out of 54.38 out of 54.38 out of 54.38 out of 5 4.38
201643.49 out of 53.49 out of 53.49 out of 53.49 out of 53.49 out of 5 3.49
2015704.44 out of 54.44 out of 54.44 out of 54.44 out of 54.44 out of 5 4.44
Earlier1874.41 out of 54.41 out of 54.41 out of 54.41 out of 54.41 out of 5 4.41

Add Your Review of Family Tree Builder

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

261 Reviews of Family Tree Builder     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Builder Review by JoAnn Easley,  4 days ago

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I do like your program but there is one thing that bothers me!
I would not mind giving all the info on my family but you are getting this for free to put on your sight and then charge people for that info. That might be good for you but the people that are giving you the info that I’ve talked to aren’t real happy about it. We are doing all your work and you are selling it. There are other sights as you know that do the same thing. The people that are helping you with all this info shouldn’t be charged for info you have on their family the info they are giving you only makes your data base larger.

Family Tree Builder Review by MD,  Jan 19, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I very much liked the navigation, layout, and ease of use. It’s good intuitive software.
My biggest functional complaint in the short time using it was that the search tool is slow and cumbersome. My old PAF software had a much better search capability.

The killer is that it was unstable on my Windows10 laptop. Same problem after uninstall-reinstall. The software would hang at some point during every session, which resulted in loss of all data since the last save. Although customer service didn’t solve the problem, at least they responded! (better than most!)

Biggest Pro: Nice functionality, free
Biggest Con: Windows10 hang due to code bug

Family Tree Builder Review by jack pun,  Jan 13, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Hands down best genealogy software out there, no question about that.
A lot of people think it’s the same as the myheritage website which it is not the case. I use FTB but never ever visit the MH website.

Biggest Pro: clear graphical user interface
Biggest Con: can’t split up tree

Family Tree Builder Review by Hugh Doherty,  Jan 11, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

having recently updated I have error in line script and the home page will not open, I tried to send my updated family tree but if does not appear to arrive,( about 8 individual emails)

If I uninstall will I lose all my updated files, any suggestions as I have helped fill the trees of many overseas relative who needed help in locating Irish connections over several generations,

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: gets to people who have trouble in access via the Irish records, keep up the good work

Family Tree Builder Review by Sevriens Leopold,  Oct 14, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Hallo
Thanks for help (52520) personslost en back.
Thanks

Biggest Pro: Quick Feedback
Biggest Con: Zero

Family Tree Builder Review by Tim B,  Jun 10, 2015

Not Rated

Sent an email off asking for help and had a comprehensive reply within 24 hours.

Biggest Pro: Quick feedback
Biggest Con: None

Family Tree Builder Review by JudithW,  Jun 9, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Michael sorted out a misunderstanding I had with payment of extra subscriptions. This only took a couple of days and was explained to my satisfaction and appreciation. Customer Support helpful and patiently understanding.
“Smart Matches” is an excellent tool to save search time but I like to spend that extra time when I am unsure of a match.

Biggest Pro: Customer Support is there to help when needed.
Biggest Con: Having to pay too many extra subscriptioins. “Record Matches” has proved most unsatisfactory to me - a big disappointment.

Family Tree Builder Review by angie,  Jun 8, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Outstanding customer support! The “Smart Matches” are great at helping you quickly see if other members (or other sites, even) have additional information (parents, siblings, etc.) about your ancestors. It is easy to navigate on the site.

Biggest Pro: Support and features (charts, books, family data)
Biggest Con: The interface is a little drab

Family Tree Builder Review by Keni010,  Jun 6, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

It was quite a good site until I tried Family Tree Builder (FTB). The support team don’t understand this side of the site either I’m sure. Perhaps they will one day learn how to fully use it themselves and also get the online tutorials right, these do not mention anything about loading ALL photos in one go which I can now do, I found out by accident - instead they go through a whole load of bumpf about how to attach a photo to a person in FTB requiring several moves to do each one and even that doesn’t work if there isn’t a blue box around the photo you pick even if you associate the photo with a person. A typical answer from support involves them cutting and pasting sections from the online tutorial which as said, is wanting and inadequate. I have over 600 photo’s in my tree so loading them one at a time is simply not an option and as said, it is unnecessary, just remember that as soon as you sync the tree the photo’s disappear, well they do for me anyway and support team haven’t responded to my question as to why this happens. I’ve decided that FTB is a waste of time and have stopped using it but I’ll continue with the standard family tree site.

Biggest Pro: The standard family tree site - without Family Tree Builder - is fine and easy to use.
Biggest Con: Family Tree Builder and very poor support, which is now zero support, i.e. not answering my emails..

Family Tree Builder Review by Mary Langan (Brotheridge),  Jun 3, 2015

Not Rated

As a new member of the MyHeritage site, I have had a couple of problems negotiating around the site and have had to seek assistance. In both instances my queries were dealt with very promptly and I was able to proceed.

Biggest Pro: Good support
Biggest Con: Having to pay for extra subscriptions to delve further.

Family Tree Builder Review by marta flecha,  Jun 3, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Pude contactar con familiares que ni sabia que existian…Excelente grupo. Cuando tuve algunos inconvenientes c on cuentas viejas, tambien me solucionaron. Gracias por estar siempre en contacto.

Google translate: I could contact relatives who never knew existed … Excellent group. When I had some drawbacks c on old accounts, I also sorted out. Please stay in touch.

Family Tree Builder Review by jonathan,  Jun 2, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Great customer service! I ordered a chart and forgot to include the places of birth and death on it. They immediately issued a credit (within 12 hours) and I was able to reorder the correct chart at no charge, even though this first chart was probably already printed by the time I noticed the goof.

The website has a few quirks but after you get used to them it’s pretty easy to navigate. I would give them 5 stars except you can’t find everything there. I know that’s unrealistic, though.

Biggest Pro: Customer service

Family Tree Builder Review by Sari,  Jun 1, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Chtela bych podekovat panu Petrovi z MYHERITAGE .cz Velmi rychle mi pomohl vyresit problem s mym predplatnym!!Vyborne stranky,jak patrat po predcich a budovat vlastni strom zivota.Nasla jsem zde spoustu pribuznych a to nejen z ceske republiky.Jeste jednou Dekuji

Biggest Pro: Vyborna podpora

Google translate: I want to thank Mr. Peter from MyHeritage .com very quickly helped me solve a problem with my subscription !! excellent pages to hunt for ancestors and build their own tree of life. I’ve found plenty of relatives here, and not only from the Czech republic once again thank you
Biggest Pro: Excellent supportsupport

Family Tree Builder Review by bonnie,  Jun 1, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

i had a few problems with my heritage due to my novice state. I was very pleased with the instruction and patience that was shown me and all my problems were solved. They were very quick in resolving my difficulties, I on the other hand took numerous attempts due to my novice understanding. I love this site!!! I have joined and payed to use most geneo. sites and this is by far the best. The ease of finding and adding material is by far the best . Thank you for making this program.

Biggest Pro: the eas of finding and adding ancestors
Biggest Con: took me a while to figure out the more advanced items

Family Tree Builder Review by Adrian Arnold,  Jun 1, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I have been using My Heritage for a few years now and have found it is great way to keep members of the family in touch with family events - particularly those who are in different parts of the world

Family Tree Builder Review by Danielle,  Jun 1, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

myheritage.com is a excellent website for families to connect and know your families ancestry. There support team was very professional.

Family Tree Builder Review by Alexander Goncharov,  Jun 1, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

It is sad to realize that my ancestors did not care and did not leave behind any written information about themselves and their loved ones, and thus deprived of their descendants to enjoy the pleasure of having at least some small details of who their ancestors were and how they lived.
My site was created with the support of MyHeritage.com.
It is a great system that allows anyone like you and me to create a site for their family, build their family tree and share family photos.
Almost 6 years ago, in 2009, I came into contact with a website called http://www.myheritage.com.
With the help of myheritage.com I have built not only a family tree.
It was possible to explore the relationship with the famous dynasties.

Family Tree Builder Review by Cecilia,  May 31, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Easy to build your family tree, though when confirming posts I wish names of relatives were clickable so that I wouldn’t have to scroll through long lists of names.

i have a family chronicle (1520-1939) and when I posted all the names of old relatives I found new (after 1939) through My Heritage

Family Tree Builder Review by Jaroslav Nov├ík,  May 29, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Intuitive, easy to use software. Above all I like the possibility to find out the same persons in different family trees. In the case of an error, the support team is willing and quick. Some complicated is the chart design, a simply chart as for example in Ancestry program is in MH missing.

Biggest Pro: Finding out the same persons in different trees
Biggest Con: Simplier chart is missing

Family Tree Builder Review by Jim Netherton,  May 28, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using the Family Tree Builder for several years now, and like it’s intuitive layout and capacity to attach a wide variety of records to a person. I recently had a question that was not exactly covered in the online manual. An e-mail to customer support was answered the same day, and quickly resulted in a complete checklist of steps to do the job I wanted. I can’t ask for a better result than that.

Show 21-40 »