Family Tree Builder

Click To See Award Winners
by MyHeritage Ltd. (Gilad Japhet)
Intuitive, easy to use software that includes features such as smart matching technology, chart designs, smart research, consistency checking and online family tree publishing among others. It supports 36 languages and dual language input.

Free • Subscription • Windows • Mac • Full Featured
http://www.myheritage.com/family-tree-builder
Overall2024.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5 4.40
2015154.34 out of 54.34 out of 54.34 out of 54.34 out of 54.34 out of 5 4.34
2014944.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 5 4.47
Earlier934.26 out of 54.26 out of 54.26 out of 54.26 out of 54.26 out of 5 4.26

Add Your Review of Family Tree Builder

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

202 Reviews of Family Tree Builder     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Builder Review by Chuck Murphy,  2 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Just a word about support: They really do get back to you and are dedicated to solving your (or their) issues. Their first level support on my first contact sort of missed the point of my question and sent me some boilerplate documentation indicated that he hadn’t read my question, but after I got through to Shlomi, the responses were prompt and excellent. I even got responses early Sunday morning, and on a holiday–exceptional service!

Family Tree Builder Review by Evelyn Vergara,  Feb 20, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I was disappointed that at first I couldn’t use it because I had a MacBook Air. I wasted a lot of time trying to use an old Microsoft laptop, until was asked to participate on a Mac trial of FTB. I got had sum issues in downloading photos so I gave us. Because my subscription was expiring I emailed them of problems and personal issues I had. They were very supportive and give me extra time. I appreciate the personal attention and addressing issues promptly. Thank you.

Biggest Pro: Customer service got me back on track when I got stuck!
Biggest Con: Premium plus subscription cost

Family Tree Builder Review by Carolyn Gibson,  Feb 18, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have just downloaded Family Tree Builder, I had no idea MyHeritage had this and for free.

Biggest Pro: This should be a great advantage
Biggest Con: none!

Family Tree Builder Review by JudyD,  Feb 16, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

“Thamar,
Thank you for your prompt email and the advice you gave me. Perfect info as I asked and I do appreciate the way you fixed my home page!! I noticed that right away, even before I got your email. Thank You Very Much!!”
This gentleman knew his stuff, was very efficient, informative and helpful!!! Very pleased customer!

Biggest Pro: Knowledgeable
Biggest Con: none

Family Tree Builder Review by Geoff Moran,  Feb 13, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Recently a Family Site was shown as not having renewed the subscription. I contacted the Manager of the site personally by email twice & received no reply. He is a distant relation & always responds to all forms of contact promptly. I contacted My Heritage by email & received a phone call from a My Heritage team member within a day or so. The call was followed by up an email which explained the process of taking over the data base in more detail & I agreed to the arrangement on the phone & reactivated the site. Within a few days I received 2 more email messages to answer a couple of questions & I was delighted.(Still am)

I believe that my extended family will benefit, because a large amount of Family Data is still in circulation & accessible.

I still find it difficult to accept that all this took place in a very short time & with a very sensitive & personal manner, from organisation like this from half a world away.
Full marks to My Heritage - You Beauty!

Biggest Pro: Contacted by Phone & Email, quckly,accurately & simply.
Biggest Con: None

Family Tree Builder Review by Sean,  Feb 10, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Easy to use, well laid out but most importantly support is absolutely awesome. I created a few issues for myself, wrote the web support team and “Shlomi” responded immediately, set up an appointment and fixed all the problems that I had caused, no questions asked. The ability to use this program remotely eliminates duplication of work and possibility of errors when re-entering information. Thank you to the designers and support team at My Heritage for a fantastic product.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use, and they stand behind their product which seems rare today.
Biggest Con: No cons

Family Tree Builder Review by Julie,  Feb 5, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

So happy when I found the tree builder, it has made adding people so much easier

Biggest Pro: Easy of Use
Biggest Con: trying to add a web page never works!

Family Tree Builder Review by Jan,  Jan 19, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

nice but slow, helpdesk doesn’t look back to earlier answers and questions.
Can’t stop smoking because every name takes about 15 minutes to input.

Biggest Pro: looks good
Biggest Con: helpdesk, very slow sync

Family Tree Builder Review by Shmuel Dvir,  Jan 15, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’m using this web site for a few years and I find it excellent. Myheritage.com is very friendly, easy to use and has a good customer service. My family tree contains 500 people and it’s continue to growing thank to the smart matches. I wish I could have more time to spend on this great web site.

Biggest Pro: Very friendly, nice user interface, smart matches, customer service, can put a lot of information

Family Tree Builder Review by Nina,  Jan 10, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

All in all an easy programme to use with lot of facilities. The “smart match” function is however in need of improvement as it accepts too many even though the set-up is restricted. The best is a very good support function who helped me out when I discovered a big error in my records.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use with lots of facilities. Good support function
Biggest Con: When loading in new versions you may risk the previous proper layout printing is deteriorated

Family Tree Builder Review by Nils Dahlgren,  Jan 8, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Over all I am. happy with most of the functions. But the record matching function is not good. Allways when I am trying to verify and extrct its flipping out. Even the doublettserching I am disappointed with. Ancestry have a much better system.
But you got used to this problem, and learn to take adventage of the good functions, it´s great! Specially the smart matching system.
Sometimes syncronicing function have failed. But I have expierenced tha an extra “save” can sort it out.

Family Tree Builder Review by Cynthia Marlette,  Jan 8, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I’ve used the MyHeritage genealogy website since 2009. I’ve gone from a few hundred family members to almost 2500 in that time due to the research capabilities within the site. It has excellent connections with many records, although you do have to pay more for certain research capabilities. They seem to always be looking for ways to improve and upgrade the site, which is appreciated. I’m impressed by their customer service as they’ve always gotten back to me quickly. Their marketing is sometimes assertive as they try to sell you on extending your membership, but it’s not beyond reasonable.

Biggest Pro: Customer service

Family Tree Builder Review by joan marcussen,  Jan 5, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I am so happy for getting help with my problems by Mr. Noa. Thank you so much! I am not so very happy for taken so long time before I got help. 1 month is too long time. I am Premium Plus member!

Family Tree Builder Review by George,  Jan 4, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This review pertains to support at MyHeritage.com:

A few years ago I began using MyHeritage Family Tree Builder but at some point I goofed up and ended up in my tree as two entities with slightly different names. For some reason, perhaps due to an e-mail change, I could no longer log in as the adminstrator. When I finally got around to asking for help I found support to be very helpful. Thamar with the support team solved the problem and I am now back in the saddle as administrator of my family tree. Thanks Thamar!

Family Tree Builder Review by Eytan Lederer,  Jan 3, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Genealogy is my main hobby, and I spend much time on reserach as well as preservation and sharing the fruits of research.
I trued other softwares, but My Heritage is by far the best in my opinion for both reserach and preserving and sharing the data.
It is very user-friendly, easy to use and the designing is simple and not burdening the eyes.
When I contacted the The Support Desk I found them always very helpful and friendly .

Biggest Pro: Smart matches + records matches
Biggest Con: None

Family Tree Builder Review by D. Kramer,  Dec 10, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

It’s an easy to you use program.
In the beginning the smartmatchsystem is a nice addition. When your familytree grows however the smartmatching starts to fail.
For example: I communicated with another treebuilder and we after two years of cooperation approxamately 4000 matches (+ and -). We had both a crash so that we had to start allover. After a few months we get no more than 3000 matches back while we have build further on our family trees (by standard email communication) and shoukld have at least 4500-5000 matches.

Biggest Pro: The simple way it works.
Biggest Con: All the bugs in the smartmatch software.

Family Tree Builder Review by Kathleen Jansen,  Dec 9, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I had an issue with my family tree due to a computer crash. I had problems accessing the tree and when I did get it to open all of my photos (over 1100) were missing. I tried manually reloading them but the software kept closing down. I contacted support at myheritage and they tried to walk me through the problem. Unfortunately I was not able to work through the problem. But all was not lost thanks to a representative that was able to access my computer remotely. After lots of hard work on the representatives part everything on my family tree was totally restored. They went above and beyond to be sure my problem was resolved.

Biggest Pro: The convenience of working with the program.
Biggest Con: Not sure I have one.

Family Tree Builder Review by Robert Germain,  Dec 3, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

The Family Tree Builder software has both the fat client environment and web based. It is very user friendly which makes it easy to learn. I base my comparison with Brother’s Keeper and Ancestry.com.

The level 1 support is ok but due to the lack of having VOIP, there is a bit of email ping-pong to explain issues which in my view just causes frustration or delays in resolving issues. The second level personnel are better equipped in managing a problem by organizing a support meeting with the customer. I have to state that the level 2 person that took care of my issue had the listening skills and was very responsive to resolving the issues.

On and end note, for the people having a premium account subscription with My Heritage, Billion Graves should be included in the package.

Biggest Pro: User friendly and intuitive
Biggest Con: Untapped value added services needs to be addressed (ie: chat support features, VOIP support when required.

Family Tree Builder Review by John,  Dec 2, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I started with MyHeritage in 2009. It was easy to join and set up my family tree. When I had some technical issues, the people there were very helpful.

I now have a tree with over 6000 people, and over 200 members. My members can all upload photos, documents, videos and audios. They can write to me on the software, and write to one another as well. They can invite other family members to the tree. However, I decide who can have management of the tree (who can actually add people into the tree) - I have two other of my members to whom I have given this ability. I can withdraw this control whenever I wish. I like that.

MyHeritage was cheaper than Ancestry.com which was the main reason I first chose them. Their overall appearance is also more attractive and colorful. They have improved their functionality over these last 5 years.

One of the features that I loved the most was the ability to get a complete description of someone’s relationship to anyone else in the tree. I found out that I was 21 steps removed from Pocahontas, and 12 steps removed from John Muir. Unfortunately, this app only works on trees under 5000 people. When my tree got over this amount, I lost that functionality. They say they have no plans to implement this for larger trees. That’s a bummer. However, there are not that many families with trees as big as mine.

Overall, I have been quite happy with MyHeritage.

Biggest Pro: Great support.
Biggest Con: Ability to trace interpersonal connection with others is limited to trees under 5000 people

Family Tree Builder Review by mordehai marek skurnik,  Dec 1, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I would like to thank myheritage support. they gave me the best support for my problem.
I write to them end after 2-3 days the do the best for me as I asked for.
thank you very very much
mordehai marek skurnik

Show 21-40 »