Family Tree Builder

Click To See Award Winners
by MyHeritage Ltd. (Gilad Japhet)
Intuitive, easy to use software that includes features such as smart matching technology, chart designs, smart research, consistency checking and online family tree publishing among others. It supports 36 languages and dual language input.

Free • Subscription • Windows • Mac • Full Featured
http://www.myheritage.com/family-tree-builder
Overall2084.34 out of 54.34 out of 54.34 out of 54.34 out of 54.34 out of 5 4.34
2015214.08 out of 54.08 out of 54.08 out of 54.08 out of 54.08 out of 5 4.08
2014944.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 5 4.47
Earlier934.26 out of 54.26 out of 54.26 out of 54.26 out of 54.26 out of 5 4.26

Add Your Review of Family Tree Builder

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

208 Reviews of Family Tree Builder     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Builder Review by ahmad,  2 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

very good

Family Tree Builder Review by Rath,  4 days ago

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I began with the free basis-version a few years ago and was astonished about the range of details I could put into our family tree; now I have upgraded to Premium and got more and more contacts with other family trees linked to mine. Especially “Smart Matches” and the new “Discovery Hub” brought me more and more knowledge about relatives, I had not known about before!

Biggest Pro: Easy to handle, competent service by e-mail
Biggest Con: None

Family Tree Builder Review by D'reen Trotter,  4 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

My Heritage Support Team are dedicated and always reply to any problems, promptly. I was having difficulty downloading FTB but kept getting the same answer each time I asked for help, I think they missed the point of my question after the first answer didn’t work. Eventually Thamar gave me an alternative link to FTB and I was able to download with no problem. My hearfelt thanks to Thamar, he went out of his way to help me, otherwise I would have still been going round in circles.

Biggest Pro: Helpful Support Team
Biggest Con: None

Family Tree Builder Review by Mary Mullan,  Apr 18, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using MyHeritage for a number of years without any problems. Most recently Melody assisted me and fixed the small issue for me.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use
Biggest Con: None

Family Tree Builder Review by Andy Murray,  Apr 12, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Not all that it is pretends to be.

With large trees (in excess of around 30,000 persons) it becomes a real slug. Support say it’s a ram issue but 8 gig should handle anything like this. It consistently runs out of memory and hangs or crashes. Support are appalling. Negative comments on their forums page are deleted and I even got a threatening email about being in breach of the Licence Agreement by criticing the product. I have lost all my notes and photographs (MH say it was an MS upgrade that caused the issue) and fortunately I am savvy enough to maintain two backups plus another online tree with a competitor. I sought support (to see what they would say) and it took them over three weeks to reply. The online “contact us” service is a joke. You cannot even attach an image or screenshot because the link is broken on their webpage! I recently got a reply from a 5 week query which said they had wrongly emailed me on a no return address…..complete lies because you cannot get a no reply address from a site members’ email. Value for money is poor. There hasn’t been a decent upgrade in over two years and the memory leak problem is getting worse. The actual interface is dated and looks like an old MS DOS format. They introduce a new notes function two years back which was just a third party stripped down CMS gui which I am sure I used 15 years ago when first created and managed a webpage. If you want to cut and paste info into notes from external sources it retains all the source formatting which cannot be edited. This is pathetic and very clumsy. There is no drag and drop functionality and report generation is a lottery. Out of memory is the common outcome including a hang. The software has many great features but in terms of database interrogation but basic search features are clumsy and produce variable results. The inability to manage the numbering of persons is annoying. If you create and then delete a person their personal teee number disappears from the register and a gap is created in the numbering sequence. Managing duplicates is a nightmare and requires a degree in maths to work out how best to resolve the problem. This is caused when the alert that is meant to stop duplicates being created, defaults to the off position at odd times. Keeping an eye on personal settings is mandatory as is making regular manual saves and backups. Image and document management is archaic and attaching a photo to a person is a mission. You have to go through several steps including manually capturing the image size to be displayed. Often images disapear from profiles of people in the tree and sometimes you can recover them by reattaching them to the profile but other times they have to be reattached from the source folder to the programme file. All in all, it’s archaic stuff. Probably because of the original programming being DOS. The lack of customistion of the GUI is appalling. The whole delivery on screen is very 1980’s…. if there were skins or templates to allow personalisation and customisation it would certainly make the programme more appealing. Working with the rubbish graphics provided is soul destroying. No point in telling support any of the above of course because they really don’t care. Despite paying their top dollar subscription they treat you like rubbish and never, ever follow through. I am migrating my entire tree to another programme. PS When I had a major loss of data recently and tried using their online backup service it failed. Same when I lost all images. The dowload from the online backup failed. Accordingly, I can state with some authority that their online services for which they charge are useless. Luckily my manual backups and saves delivered the result even though I had to manually copy all source files from my backup folders to MyHeritage folders where the information had mysteriously disappeared from…..identifying them took a bit of time no thanks to failure of their support people to bother answering my questions…..

Biggest Pro: Struggling to think of one
Biggest Con: Useless with large trees. Outdated design and has memory problems. Give it a miss.

Family Tree Builder Review by Marg,  Mar 17, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have been using My Heritage Family Tree Builder for a month and it has suddenly deleted all my work. I had put in all my information for 5 generations, with notes and sources. Now, I have an empty file! The app worked OK but, I wouldn’t bother to give it a second chance.

Biggest Pro: It was organized
Biggest Con: It suddenly lost all my work

Family Tree Builder Review by Chuck Murphy,  Mar 3, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Just a word about support: They really do get back to you and are dedicated to solving your (or their) issues. Their first level support on my first contact sort of missed the point of my question and sent me some boilerplate documentation indicated that he hadn’t read my question, but after I got through to Shlomi, the responses were prompt and excellent. I even got responses early Sunday morning, and on a holiday–exceptional service!

Family Tree Builder Review by Evelyn Vergara,  Feb 20, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I was disappointed that at first I couldn’t use it because I had a MacBook Air. I wasted a lot of time trying to use an old Microsoft laptop, until was asked to participate on a Mac trial of FTB. I got had sum issues in downloading photos so I gave us. Because my subscription was expiring I emailed them of problems and personal issues I had. They were very supportive and give me extra time. I appreciate the personal attention and addressing issues promptly. Thank you.

Biggest Pro: Customer service got me back on track when I got stuck!
Biggest Con: Premium plus subscription cost

Family Tree Builder Review by Carolyn Gibson,  Feb 18, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have just downloaded Family Tree Builder, I had no idea MyHeritage had this and for free.

Biggest Pro: This should be a great advantage
Biggest Con: none!

Family Tree Builder Review by JudyD,  Feb 16, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

“Thamar,
Thank you for your prompt email and the advice you gave me. Perfect info as I asked and I do appreciate the way you fixed my home page!! I noticed that right away, even before I got your email. Thank You Very Much!!”
This gentleman knew his stuff, was very efficient, informative and helpful!!! Very pleased customer!

Biggest Pro: Knowledgeable
Biggest Con: none

Family Tree Builder Review by Geoff Moran,  Feb 13, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Recently a Family Site was shown as not having renewed the subscription. I contacted the Manager of the site personally by email twice & received no reply. He is a distant relation & always responds to all forms of contact promptly. I contacted My Heritage by email & received a phone call from a My Heritage team member within a day or so. The call was followed by up an email which explained the process of taking over the data base in more detail & I agreed to the arrangement on the phone & reactivated the site. Within a few days I received 2 more email messages to answer a couple of questions & I was delighted.(Still am)

I believe that my extended family will benefit, because a large amount of Family Data is still in circulation & accessible.

I still find it difficult to accept that all this took place in a very short time & with a very sensitive & personal manner, from organisation like this from half a world away.
Full marks to My Heritage - You Beauty!

Biggest Pro: Contacted by Phone & Email, quckly,accurately & simply.
Biggest Con: None

Family Tree Builder Review by Sean,  Feb 10, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Easy to use, well laid out but most importantly support is absolutely awesome. I created a few issues for myself, wrote the web support team and “Shlomi” responded immediately, set up an appointment and fixed all the problems that I had caused, no questions asked. The ability to use this program remotely eliminates duplication of work and possibility of errors when re-entering information. Thank you to the designers and support team at My Heritage for a fantastic product.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use, and they stand behind their product which seems rare today.
Biggest Con: No cons

Family Tree Builder Review by Julie,  Feb 5, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

So happy when I found the tree builder, it has made adding people so much easier

Biggest Pro: Easy of Use
Biggest Con: trying to add a web page never works!

Family Tree Builder Review by Jan,  Jan 19, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

nice but slow, helpdesk doesn’t look back to earlier answers and questions.
Can’t stop smoking because every name takes about 15 minutes to input.

Biggest Pro: looks good
Biggest Con: helpdesk, very slow sync

Family Tree Builder Review by Shmuel Dvir,  Jan 15, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’m using this web site for a few years and I find it excellent. Myheritage.com is very friendly, easy to use and has a good customer service. My family tree contains 500 people and it’s continue to growing thank to the smart matches. I wish I could have more time to spend on this great web site.

Biggest Pro: Very friendly, nice user interface, smart matches, customer service, can put a lot of information

Family Tree Builder Review by Nina,  Jan 10, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

All in all an easy programme to use with lot of facilities. The “smart match” function is however in need of improvement as it accepts too many even though the set-up is restricted. The best is a very good support function who helped me out when I discovered a big error in my records.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use with lots of facilities. Good support function
Biggest Con: When loading in new versions you may risk the previous proper layout printing is deteriorated

Family Tree Builder Review by Nils Dahlgren,  Jan 8, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Over all I am. happy with most of the functions. But the record matching function is not good. Allways when I am trying to verify and extrct its flipping out. Even the doublettserching I am disappointed with. Ancestry have a much better system.
But you got used to this problem, and learn to take adventage of the good functions, it´s great! Specially the smart matching system.
Sometimes syncronicing function have failed. But I have expierenced tha an extra “save” can sort it out.

Family Tree Builder Review by Cynthia Marlette,  Jan 8, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I’ve used the MyHeritage genealogy website since 2009. I’ve gone from a few hundred family members to almost 2500 in that time due to the research capabilities within the site. It has excellent connections with many records, although you do have to pay more for certain research capabilities. They seem to always be looking for ways to improve and upgrade the site, which is appreciated. I’m impressed by their customer service as they’ve always gotten back to me quickly. Their marketing is sometimes assertive as they try to sell you on extending your membership, but it’s not beyond reasonable.

Biggest Pro: Customer service

Family Tree Builder Review by joan marcussen,  Jan 5, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I am so happy for getting help with my problems by Mr. Noa. Thank you so much! I am not so very happy for taken so long time before I got help. 1 month is too long time. I am Premium Plus member!

Family Tree Builder Review by George,  Jan 4, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This review pertains to support at MyHeritage.com:

A few years ago I began using MyHeritage Family Tree Builder but at some point I goofed up and ended up in my tree as two entities with slightly different names. For some reason, perhaps due to an e-mail change, I could no longer log in as the adminstrator. When I finally got around to asking for help I found support to be very helpful. Thamar with the support team solved the problem and I am now back in the saddle as administrator of my family tree. Thanks Thamar!

Show 21-40 »