Family Tree Builder

Click To See Award Winners
by MyHeritage Ltd. (Gilad Japhet)
Intuitive, easy to use software that includes features such as smart matching technology, chart designs, smart research, consistency checking and online family tree publishing among others. It supports 36 languages and dual language input.

Free • Subscription • Windows • Mac • Full Featured
http://www.myheritage.com/family-tree-builder
Overall2674.17 out of 54.17 out of 54.17 out of 54.17 out of 54.17 out of 5 4.17
2016102.03 out of 52.03 out of 52.03 out of 52.03 out of 52.03 out of 5 2.03
2015704.44 out of 54.44 out of 54.44 out of 54.44 out of 54.44 out of 5 4.44
Earlier1874.41 out of 54.41 out of 54.41 out of 54.41 out of 54.41 out of 5 4.41

Add Your Review of Family Tree Builder

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

267 Reviews of Family Tree Builder     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Builder Review by Stew Robinson,  Apr 14, 2016

Not Rated

I am a PremiumPlus member and according to the promotional advantages to being a PremiumPlus member is a speedy answer to your help requests.
Writing to ‘MyHeritage Support’ is a waste of time as they do not answer any of your requests for help and come up with all sorts of none relevant answers to your questions asking you do a list of things that do not solve the problems.

The latest version of Family Tree Builder is a real mess up.

Photos of people show as Photo Place holders.
When you try and add photos to people, you get error messages.

On the MyHeritage web page it creates an updated new tree.
The updated new tree does not have the same security settings and privacy settings as the old tree, also the security settings on the old tree seem to be over ridden with those of the new tree. None of the Photos in the old tree are in the new tree.

I am so disappointed with the latest versions of Family Tree Builder Ver 8.0.0.8206 - 8219 – 8225 I have gone back to Ver 7.0.0.7143, but it is still synchronizing to the new tree Ver 8.0.0.8206 created.

All the Smart Matches one had on the old tree are lost and the Newly Created tree is starting from scratch. For someone that has diligently been updating and verifying smart matches, they have lost untold work. When working on Family Tree Builder and you want to look at the Smart Matches you constantly get the message that your Smart Matches are being updated, please try again later.

I want Ver 7.0.0.7143 which I have reloaded on my computer to sync to the original tree. Since I upgraded to Ver 8 and went back to Ver 7 all new photos I have put into my tree have not been Syncing. Also when I installed Ver 8 the pictures did not sync.

I wanted the new tree created by Ver 8 deleted so there is only one tree on my page and the newly created tree does not block the smart matches of my existing tree in Family Tree Builder. On the MyHeritage site, under manage trees, the option to delete a tree is no longer there. They told me this is to protect my tree but their promotional information says you are always in control of your trees on MyHeritage.

I am so disappointed MyHeritage has released such a shoddy version of a version that worked relatively well.
Since writing the first post I have installed Ver 8.0.0.8225 on another computer and all the relevant folders and photos and imported my uzed file into Ver 8.0.0.8225 and all the faults mentioned below are still valid on the other computer. None of the photos have been imported into the new file. I question also, if they had have been imported, would they have been cropped and trimmed as they were in the original file and group photos that had individuals identified in them, would they still be identified in the import process.

My Suggestion to MyHeritage is, all future upgrades continue using the existing tree in both Family Tree Builder and on the MyHeritage Web Site. I also suggest they get some real world users to evaluate their new releases before distributing it to the general public. (To do this they would have to allocate a new site to the tester and pay for their data usage during the evaluation period. To upload my existing tree and Photos Would be a minimum of 20 GB.)

Regards from an unhappy customer.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: The package does not work as intended and not as well as version 7

Family Tree Builder Review by Paul,  Apr 1, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I had formerly rated this software a 5. It was one of the better ones out that and myheritage.com had a great immersive tree for online viewing.

The new version 8 of the software has multiple glitches. It does not sync properly and using it as a backup will guarantee to lose data. I do not know who thought this was market ready.

It is not a comment on the software, but the immersive tree is gone and there is no pedigree view. For someone who uses genealogy software to do genealogy, this is a catastrophe.

I think they have moved forward halfheartedly with the software to try to devote more resources to sell more of their records, in the manner of ancestry.com. However, they failed to realize that if nobody is using the site or the software, nobody will but the records either.

Biggest Pro: Great hourglass view of generations.
Biggest Con: New version has glitches and syncing does not work properly.

Family Tree Builder Review by Derrick GOSSELIN,  Mar 28, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Version 8 - Dutch. About nothing works. I have a genealogy of +10000 members. All pictures and photos after installing version 8 haven been or corrupt or associated with other persons or linked at least 3 to 5 times with the same person.
Synchro is a nightmare. Most of the time the synchro talkes more than 2-3 hrs and afterwards the update doesn’t even exist and the system asks for a new synchro. The save button has been removed so you can not even know if your own version has been save. One can not even save his own version anymore.
These people should test software before releasing!!!

Biggest Pro: after installing Vers.8 your whole genealogy is disorganised.
Biggest Con: I hope 1000’s of hrs have not been destroyed.

Family Tree Builder Review by Carlos,  Mar 20, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Big mistake:
Version 7 to 8 conversion:
01- notes and citations was lost;
02- sources usage do not exist at vervion 8.
Version 8 (8211) BUG persist.

Biggest Pro: ?
Biggest Con: Version 7 to 8 conversion notes and citations was lost

Family Tree Builder Review by JKS,  Mar 17, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

De laatste maand is er geen communicatie meer mogelijk.
Support is niet te bereiken.
Support reageert totaal niet op verzoeken e-mail contact of op voice-mail berichten

Biggest Pro: het laatste jaar werd het steeds slechter
Biggest Con: geen enkel support.

Google translate: The last month there is no communication possible.
Support can not be reached.
Support responds totally to requests email contact or voice mail messages
Biggest Pro: last year it was getting worse
Biggest Con: no support.

Family Tree Builder Review by Ralph Campbell,  Mar 16, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

version 8 was downloaded, now I am unable to “sync” “Match” and I get a notice that I am unable to communicate with Heritage.com “make sure I am connected with the internet”. Well I am connected but further use of sight is a problem. I requested assistance of Heritage but have not been successful.

Biggest Pro: Have liked the ability to keep a copy of my work and continue working at home where I am not connected to the internet.
Biggest Con: with this new version, just a problem of updating my work.

Family Tree Builder Review by JoAnn Easley,  Feb 6, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I do like your program but there is one thing that bothers me!
I would not mind giving all the info on my family but you are getting this for free to put on your sight and then charge people for that info. That might be good for you but the people that are giving you the info that I’ve talked to aren’t real happy about it. We are doing all your work and you are selling it. There are other sights as you know that do the same thing. The people that are helping you with all this info shouldn’t be charged for info you have on their family the info they are giving you only makes your data base larger.

Family Tree Builder Review by MD,  Jan 19, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I very much liked the navigation, layout, and ease of use. It’s good intuitive software.
My biggest functional complaint in the short time using it was that the search tool is slow and cumbersome. My old PAF software had a much better search capability.

The killer is that it was unstable on my Windows10 laptop. Same problem after uninstall-reinstall. The software would hang at some point during every session, which resulted in loss of all data since the last save. Although customer service didn’t solve the problem, at least they responded! (better than most!)

Biggest Pro: Nice functionality, free
Biggest Con: Windows10 hang due to code bug

Family Tree Builder Review by jack pun,  Jan 13, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Hands down best genealogy software out there, no question about that.
A lot of people think it’s the same as the myheritage website which it is not the case. I use FTB but never ever visit the MH website.

Biggest Pro: clear graphical user interface
Biggest Con: can’t split up tree

Family Tree Builder Review by Hugh Doherty,  Jan 11, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

having recently updated I have error in line script and the home page will not open, I tried to send my updated family tree but if does not appear to arrive,( about 8 individual emails)

If I uninstall will I lose all my updated files, any suggestions as I have helped fill the trees of many overseas relative who needed help in locating Irish connections over several generations,

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: gets to people who have trouble in access via the Irish records, keep up the good work

Family Tree Builder Review by Sevriens Leopold,  Oct 14, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Hallo
Thanks for help (52520) personslost en back.
Thanks

Biggest Pro: Quick Feedback
Biggest Con: Zero

Family Tree Builder Review by Tim B,  Jun 10, 2015

Not Rated

Sent an email off asking for help and had a comprehensive reply within 24 hours.

Biggest Pro: Quick feedback
Biggest Con: None

Family Tree Builder Review by JudithW,  Jun 9, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Michael sorted out a misunderstanding I had with payment of extra subscriptions. This only took a couple of days and was explained to my satisfaction and appreciation. Customer Support helpful and patiently understanding.
“Smart Matches” is an excellent tool to save search time but I like to spend that extra time when I am unsure of a match.

Biggest Pro: Customer Support is there to help when needed.
Biggest Con: Having to pay too many extra subscriptioins. “Record Matches” has proved most unsatisfactory to me - a big disappointment.

Family Tree Builder Review by angie,  Jun 8, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Outstanding customer support! The “Smart Matches” are great at helping you quickly see if other members (or other sites, even) have additional information (parents, siblings, etc.) about your ancestors. It is easy to navigate on the site.

Biggest Pro: Support and features (charts, books, family data)
Biggest Con: The interface is a little drab

Family Tree Builder Review by Keni010,  Jun 6, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

It was quite a good site until I tried Family Tree Builder (FTB). The support team don’t understand this side of the site either I’m sure. Perhaps they will one day learn how to fully use it themselves and also get the online tutorials right, these do not mention anything about loading ALL photos in one go which I can now do, I found out by accident - instead they go through a whole load of bumpf about how to attach a photo to a person in FTB requiring several moves to do each one and even that doesn’t work if there isn’t a blue box around the photo you pick even if you associate the photo with a person. A typical answer from support involves them cutting and pasting sections from the online tutorial which as said, is wanting and inadequate. I have over 600 photo’s in my tree so loading them one at a time is simply not an option and as said, it is unnecessary, just remember that as soon as you sync the tree the photo’s disappear, well they do for me anyway and support team haven’t responded to my question as to why this happens. I’ve decided that FTB is a waste of time and have stopped using it but I’ll continue with the standard family tree site.

Biggest Pro: The standard family tree site - without Family Tree Builder - is fine and easy to use.
Biggest Con: Family Tree Builder and very poor support, which is now zero support, i.e. not answering my emails..

Family Tree Builder Review by Mary Langan (Brotheridge),  Jun 3, 2015

Not Rated

As a new member of the MyHeritage site, I have had a couple of problems negotiating around the site and have had to seek assistance. In both instances my queries were dealt with very promptly and I was able to proceed.

Biggest Pro: Good support
Biggest Con: Having to pay for extra subscriptions to delve further.

Family Tree Builder Review by marta flecha,  Jun 3, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Pude contactar con familiares que ni sabia que existian…Excelente grupo. Cuando tuve algunos inconvenientes c on cuentas viejas, tambien me solucionaron. Gracias por estar siempre en contacto.

Google translate: I could contact relatives who never knew existed … Excellent group. When I had some drawbacks c on old accounts, I also sorted out. Please stay in touch.

Family Tree Builder Review by jonathan,  Jun 2, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Great customer service! I ordered a chart and forgot to include the places of birth and death on it. They immediately issued a credit (within 12 hours) and I was able to reorder the correct chart at no charge, even though this first chart was probably already printed by the time I noticed the goof.

The website has a few quirks but after you get used to them it’s pretty easy to navigate. I would give them 5 stars except you can’t find everything there. I know that’s unrealistic, though.

Biggest Pro: Customer service

Family Tree Builder Review by Sari,  Jun 1, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Chtela bych podekovat panu Petrovi z MYHERITAGE .cz Velmi rychle mi pomohl vyresit problem s mym predplatnym!!Vyborne stranky,jak patrat po predcich a budovat vlastni strom zivota.Nasla jsem zde spoustu pribuznych a to nejen z ceske republiky.Jeste jednou Dekuji

Biggest Pro: Vyborna podpora

Google translate: I want to thank Mr. Peter from MyHeritage .com very quickly helped me solve a problem with my subscription !! excellent pages to hunt for ancestors and build their own tree of life. I’ve found plenty of relatives here, and not only from the Czech republic once again thank you
Biggest Pro: Excellent supportsupport

Family Tree Builder Review by bonnie,  Jun 1, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

i had a few problems with my heritage due to my novice state. I was very pleased with the instruction and patience that was shown me and all my problems were solved. They were very quick in resolving my difficulties, I on the other hand took numerous attempts due to my novice understanding. I love this site!!! I have joined and payed to use most geneo. sites and this is by far the best. The ease of finding and adding material is by far the best . Thank you for making this program.

Biggest Pro: the eas of finding and adding ancestors
Biggest Con: took me a while to figure out the more advanced items

Show 21-40 »