Family Tree Builder

Click To See Award Winners
by MyHeritage Ltd. (Gilad Japhet)
Intuitive, easy to use software that includes features such as smart matching technology, chart designs, smart research, consistency checking and online family tree publishing among others. It supports 36 languages and dual language input.

Free • Subscription • Windows • Mac • Full Featured
http://www.myheritage.com/family-tree-builder
Overall2924.27 out of 54.27 out of 54.27 out of 54.27 out of 54.27 out of 5 4.27
2016353.93 out of 53.93 out of 53.93 out of 53.93 out of 53.93 out of 5 3.93
2015704.44 out of 54.44 out of 54.44 out of 54.44 out of 54.44 out of 5 4.44
Earlier1874.41 out of 54.41 out of 54.41 out of 54.41 out of 54.41 out of 5 4.41

Add Your Review of Family Tree Builder

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

292 Reviews of Family Tree Builder     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Builder Review by Gert,  11 hrs ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Die Online Version ist die einfachste, umfangreichste und übersichtlichste Stammbaum Version! Viel Platz für viele Photos und Personen! Perfekter Support in deutsch und englisch!
Funktioniert wirklich weltweit.

Biggest Pro: Best Service, kindely at all languages
Biggest Con: None

Google translate: The online version is the easiest, most comprehensive and clearly pedigree version! Plenty of room for a lot of pictures and people! Perfect support in German and English!
Works really worldwide.

Family Tree Builder Review by Mary Hylton Hooks,  1 day ago

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I don’t have anything to compare it to since I have never had another Family Tree Builder and sometimes it is hard to understand some of it. Probably just me.

Biggest Pro: I get to see my family all in one place.
Biggest Con: Hard to understand some of the ways to work it.

Family Tree Builder Review by Lorraine Heaven,  1 day ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

My Heritage has been my preferred family research site since 2012.
I have been able to research thousands of pieces of information and now have considerable knowledge of the formation of my family tree.
When I started I barely knew the previous generation and I now have lines stretching back to the Norman invasion of Britain.
I use Smart Matches and Record Matches frequently.
If I have ever had any issues with the program itself, help has always been available both promptly and efficiently. I am really pleased I chose this program and would recommend it to anyone starting out on family research.

Biggest Pro: Wide range of research information available.
Biggest Con: Haven’t found any cons yet.

Family Tree Builder Review by Majdi Belguith,  1 day ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Very Simple to use Excellent

Family Tree Builder Review by H.Be,  2 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Hallo M H
Met MyHeritage kun je op een gemakkelijke manier de afkomst van je familie terug vinden.
Ook met de steun via de telefoon ( Brigitte/bedankt ) was zeer goed.
Mijn ervaringen zijn positief , en als zeer prettig ervaren.

GR….

Google translate: Hello M H. MyHeritage with you an easy way to find the origin of your family. Also, with the support by phone (Brigitte / thank you) was very good. My experiences are positive, and very pleasant experience.

Family Tree Builder Review by E.van der Aa,  3 days ago

Not Rated

Ik ben laatst getroffen door een herstarting van mijn MH bestand waarbij alle foto,s waren verdwenen. MH (servicedesk) heeft mij keurig geholpen om dit te herstellen, dit lukte niet maar de technische dienst is opzoek naar een oplossing maar ik heb het volste vertrouwen dat dit in orde komt

Biggest Pro: altijd voor service klaar staan

Google translate: I recently hit by a re-starting my MH file in which all photo’s were gone. MH (service desk) has nicely helped me to recover it, it did not work out but the technical department is looking for a solution, but I am confident that this will be fine

Biggest Pro: always ready for service

Family Tree Builder Review by FRANCIS,  4 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Bon outil pour faire son arbre généalogique

Google translate: Right Tool for his family tree

Family Tree Builder Review by Jennie,  May 19, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

fast, efficient, simply expressed and easy to follow , no long out draw explanations when it only required a quick solid answer, courteous service with no pushing to buy something else. Melody was the one that responded to me.

Biggest Pro: fast, and clear
Biggest Con: none

Family Tree Builder Review by Martin Mujica,  May 18, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

FTB es sin duda el mejor programa de genealogía. Por de pronto, porque está disponible en 42 idiomas, lo que es de por si un record que habla muy bien de la disposición de servicio de la empresa. Si bien hay algunos problemas de traducción de algunos conceptos, cuando se está trabajando con FTB no se pierde la impresión de estar inmerso en la propia cultura del usuario. El programa es capaz de registrar rasgos culturales específicos como lo es el uso de apellidos paternos y maternos en la tradición cultural de los países de la Hispanidad.
MyHeritage tiene convenios con numerosas fuentes de datos genealógicos, como archivos, entre ellos el más grande archivo genealógicos del mundo, el de la Iglesia de los Santos de los Últimos Días (Mormones) en Salt Lake City, Utah. Ello permite el acceso a fuentes que permiten aumentar el árbol familiar o verificar los datos que ya se tienen.
Recientemente he tenido que remplazar el disco duro de mi ordenador y ello me ha ocasionado algunos problemas en el manejo de los archivos de MyHeritage. Primero he tratado de solucionar los problemas sin recurrir al servicio de ayuda pero no ha sido facil porque terminaba siempre recibiendo mensajes de error pero el sistema no explica en detalle dónde están los errores que había cometido y que impedían instalar la base de datos completa en Family Tree Builder. Gracias a la paciente ayuda de Felipe, del servicio de ayuda de MyHeritage y con una buena comunicación entre él y yo, he podido restablecer la base de datos y ahora tanto FTB como el sitio familiar están funcionando sin problemas.
Si bien hay aspectos que se pueden mejorar, elijo el declarar FTB de MyHeritage en la categoría “Best” en el “Rating” de este sistema de evaluación.

Biggest Pro: Disponibilidad en 42 lenguas; programa gratuito complementado con un programa pagado
Biggest Con: Algunas veces, el sistema no advierte que hay datos existentes cuando se incorporan datos con Record Matches o Smart Matches.

Google translate:

FTB is definitely the best genealogy program. For the moment, because it is available in 42 languages, which is itself a record that speaks well of the provision of service of the company. While there are some problems translating some concepts, when you are working with FTB not the impression of being immersed in the culture of the user is lost. The program is able to record specific cultural features such as the use of paternal and maternal surnames in the cultural tradition of the countries of the Hispanidad.
MyHeritage has agreements with numerous sources of genealogical data, such as files, including the largest genealogical archive in the world, the Church of Latter-day Saints (Mormons) in Salt Lake City, Utah. This allows access to sources that increase the family tree or verify the data you already have.
I recently had to replace the hard drive of my computer and this has caused me some problems in handling files MyHeritage. First I have tried to solve the problems without help desk but has not been easy because I always ended up getting error messages but the system does not explain in detail where the mistakes he had made and that prevented installing the entire database in Family are Tree Builder. With the help of Felipe patient, help desk MyHeritage and good communication between him and me, I have been able to restore the database and now FTB both as family site are running smoothly.
While there are aspects that can be improved, I choose to declare FTB MyHeritage in the category “Best” in the “Rating” of this evaluation system.

Biggest Pro: available in 42 languages; free program supplemented by a paid program
Biggest With: Sometimes the system does not notice that there are existing data when data Record Matches or Smart Matches are incorporated.

Family Tree Builder Review by ruth schembri,  May 18, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

ideal very user friendle and customer care very helpful would recommand this to enyone. thanks

Family Tree Builder Review by Gerard,  May 18, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I’ve been using MyHeritage to build a family tree. The site makes it easy to import and crop photos of family members. But the software kept importing one photo rotated the wrong way. But what the site lacked, their customer service solved — they imported it and cropped it for me. Very nice!

Family Tree Builder Review by Terina,  May 18, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Very happy with this product. Allows our family to finally keep a proper record of our family tree locally and abroad.
There are so many excellent features, I can only say bravo to the development team.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use.

Family Tree Builder Review by Brian,  May 18, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

MyHeritage has been a fundamental part of my life the last few months. I just can’t seem to drag myself away from my computer with all the hints and matches that I am receiving. I did run into a problem where I had no idea what to do. I contacted the support team and was given a solution within hours of my email to them. The problem was resolved instantly and I can only praise the team for their perfect guidance. I would highly recommend MyHeritage to anyone that is wanting to do their family history.

Family Tree Builder Review by François Matthey,  May 15, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Myheritage.com offre un excellent outil informatique avec Family Tree Builder (FTB) vous permettant de construire de façon assez ludique et satisfaisante votre arbre généalogique en perpétuelle expansion. Il est facile d’utilisation, fiable, permet d’introduire une foule de renseignements divers (photos, mémoires, références etc…). Avec l’option Premium Plus vous n’aurez aucune limite, certains arbre comportant plus de 20′000 individus!.

Dans mon cas l’équipe de support a toujours répondu de façon adéquate, rapide et claire.

Il va sans dire que l’on souhaiterait toujours plus, mieux et moins cher, mais quand je repense à mes premières tentatives manuelles, cet outil est tout simplement génial! Encore faut-il faire l’effort de le maîtriser ce qui ne va pas toujours tout seul. Les versions futures pourront encore perfectionner le produit (rating 4).

Les options graphiques sont très faciles à utiliser informatiquement. Mais attention par contre au passage à l’impression. C’est passablement plus ardu jusqu’à l’obtention d’un résultat satisfaisant et l’exercice peut vite devenir cher! Aucun problème par contre si vos ambitions sont modestes (pas au-delà de 3 générations).

Biggest Pro: Facile, fiable, illimité
Biggest Con: Vue d’ensemble trop limitée.

Google translate: Myheritage.com offers excellent computer skills with Family Tree Builder (FTB) allowing you to build enough fun and satisfying way your family tree ever expanding. It is easy to use, reliable, allows to introduce a host of various information (photos, memories, references etc …). With the Premium Plus option you will have no limit, some tree with more than 20,000 individuals !.

In my case the support team has always responded adequately, fast and clear.

It goes without saying that we would ever, better and cheaper, but when I think back to my early attempts manual, this tool is just great! Must still make the effort to control it which is not always alone. Future versions will further improve the product (rating 4).

The graphics options are very easy to use by computer. But be careful against by the transition to printing. It is quite more difficult to obtain a satisfactory result and exercise can quickly become expensive! No problem by cons if your ambitions are modest (not beyond 3 generations).

Biggest Pro: Easy, reliable, unlimited
Biggest Con: Overview too limited.

Family Tree Builder Review by Aad Rijnders,  May 15, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Ik werk nu een paar jaar met My Heritage en ben over het algemeen prima tevreden over de mogelijkheden, toegankelijkheid en vormgeving. In de laatste update van Builder liep het fout met de toegankelijkheid en werd ik er vaak na enkele mutaties of toevoegingen aan mijn stambomen ‘uit gegooid’. In een intensief contact met support van MH zijn we er samen uit gekomen en is het opgelost. Complimenten voor de service en het vastbijten in het probleem, net zolang totdat er een oplossing was. Ander punt van discussie vind ik de privacy. Op zich biedt het systeem aardige mogelijkheden maar al een paar ben ik gestuit op reacties van anderen die via zoekmachines als Google alle foto’s van mijn site kunnen zien, downloaden etc. Natuurlijk kunnen ze niet in stamboom (afgeschermd) maar ik vind het niet correct dat vanuit de beschermde omgeving van MH gedownload kan worden. Dit schendt toch de privacy. Als ik upload naar bijv. Dropbox kunnen anderen er niet bij, tenzij ik daar een akkoord op geef of anderen uitnodig via mailbericht. Ik vind dit punt echt een minpunt en zou verbeterd moeten worden door MH.

Biggest Pro: possibilities and support
Biggest Con: an aspect of privacy

Google translate: I now work for a few years with My Heritage and am generally well satisfied with the opportunities, accessibility and design. In the latest update of Builder went wrong with accessibility and I was often after some changes or additions to my family tree “thrown out.” In close contact with support of MH, we have come out together and it’s solved. Compliments for the service and stuck into the problem, continuing until there was a solution. Another point of discussion I find the privacy. In itself, the system offers nice features, but a few I met with reactions of others who can see all the pictures of my site through search engines like Google, downloading, etc. Of course, they can not in pedigree (shielded) but I think it is not correct that can be downloaded from the protected environment of MH. This surely violates privacy. If I upload to eg. Dropbox others can not, unless I had an agreement to give or invite others via mail. I think this point really a flaw and should be improved by MH.
Biggest Pro: possibilities and support
Biggest Con: an aspect of privacy

Family Tree Builder Review by Ken H,  May 11, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Response to my query was made within a few days and the person dealing with it did so speedily & efficiently. Happy with this site.

Biggest Pro: The Family Tree Book which they produce from the tree, amazing! Better than a chart if you have more than around 50 people in your tree.
Biggest Con: Nil.

Family Tree Builder Review by CHARITONSKY,  May 11, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

My Heritage est un site pratique et précieux pour la famille. Très facile à utiliser même pour les moins initiés. D’un prix très abordable pour les services rendus, il devient de nos jours quasiment indispensable. Je le conseille vivement même aux moins initiés car il est facile d’utilisation. Excellent rapport qualité/prix.

Google translate: MyHeritage is a practical and valuable site for the family. Very easy to use even for the less initiated. From a very affordable price for services, it becomes almost essential these days. Excellent affordable site at all. I highly recommend even less initiated because it is easy to use. Excellent price / quality ratio.

Family Tree Builder Review by Russ M,  May 10, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Very easy to use, full featured and when you get stuck, friendly help is just an email away.

Biggest Pro: EASY TO USE
Biggest Con: Nothing bad to say about it

Family Tree Builder Review by Steve Turner,  May 9, 2016

Not Rated

Easy to use, with a plethora of options. I’m a PremiumPlus member and have been using MyHeritage since 2009.
With the assistance of MyHeritage, I’ve been able to trace one branch of my tree back to King Robert 11 of Scotland (1316 - 1390). The researching has been a fascinating project, and I would never have been able to go back in time so far without MyHeritage and the internet.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use
Biggest Con: None that I’ve found

Family Tree Builder Review by Dieter Heuer,  May 9, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Ladies and gentlemen,

I am a PremiumPlus member from the 05.05.2016 onwards and your technical service is exellent and questions / enquiries are clarified / answered to my full satisfaction.

I wish great success for MyHeritage and especially for the service personal.

With best regards
Heuer

Biggest Pro: straight response
Biggest Con: no “con” at all

Show 21-40 »