Family Tree Maker for Mac

by Software MacKiev (Jack Minsky)
This is the Mac version of Family Tree Maker. MacKiev previous developed this program for Ancestry. In 2016 MacKiev took over management and distribution. Go to the Ancestry page to review Ancestry’s version. Use this page to review the MacKiev version of this program.

Uncategorized
http://www.mackiev.com/ftm/
Overall81.43 out of 51.43 out of 51.43 out of 51.43 out of 51.43 out of 5 1.43
20170    No Ratings
201681.43 out of 51.43 out of 51.43 out of 51.43 out of 51.43 out of 5 1.43
Earlier0    No Ratings

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker for Mac

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

8 Reviews of Family Tree Maker for Mac     RSS 2.0 RSS                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Ken Schaub,  Dec 3, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

When going from my 5th great grandfather to his father, the relationship is then listed as “Brother of 2nd cousin -1x removed” rather than 6th great grandfather. This then messes up all subsequent forefathers. This is the explanation I received:
(The) Coefficient of relationship for Brother of 2nd cousin -1x removed is 1/128, which is exactly the same as for 6th great grandfather. However, the path for Brother of 2nd cousin -1x removed relationship is actually shorter than the path for 6th great grandfather relationship. You can check it by creating the Extended Family Chart. Hence, FTM 2014.1 displays Brother of 2nd cousin -1x removed relationship as the main one.

By default, Family Tree Maker displays only the most direct relationship. So, even though the Relationship Calculator shows 6th great grandfather relationship as an option, it can’t be selected.

Biggest Pro: Still able to sync with Ancestor
Biggest Con: Relationship calculator is limited thus becoming a deal breaker.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Peggy,  Aug 25, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have been using FTM since I started researching family in 1998. I am now trying to use the Mac version which is probably the worst mistake I’ve ever made with software. I can’t get my program to even function until I try several times to open a person’s name. I can’t publish any reports because the program will not connect to the internet. I’m ready to change software but don’t know which one to go to or how to get my 6000+ names off the old program for transfer. This is a shame that this has happened to a software program that has been a staple in the genealogy area for years.

Biggest Pro: None today
Biggest Con: Everything

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Mrs E,  Aug 22, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Still waiting for the promised update from Mackiev - it is now August 2016. Are they finding it more difficult than they first thought? We would appreciate more information from them - not just a silence.
I am, like others users, considering changing to another software package. There are so many small problems that need fixing and of course the longer Mackiev take the worse it will be.

Biggest Pro: At the moment Nothing!
Biggest Con: Promises that so far have not materialised

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Turbeville,  Jul 17, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Here it is mid July and still no update for us users who have the software. Because of this you get a 1 star rating. I’ve pretty much already resigned myself that I will have to switch to Roots Magic for Mac. Since gedcom isn’t required everything transfers over perfectly. Damn shame actually, I really like Family Tree Maker for Mac.

Biggest Pro: At this Point for this Company there isn’t one
Biggest Con: This Companies inability for follow through with a promise

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Erdeslau,  Jul 10, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Well, its now more than three months since Software MacKiev took over Family Tree Maker development completely; and promised an imminent update for both the current Mac and Windows versions; and guess what? There website still advises that the update is coming “soon”. Not sure what the definition of “soon” is in the Ukraine, but something seems to get lost in translation.

1 Star only, because the original version still works (with occasional glitches), at least until Ancestry changes it’s Application Interface later in 2016 and synching with online trees is due to cease functioning.

Biggest Pro: It still works (mostly)
Biggest Con: Unfulfilled promises with no explanation by the software developers

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Alan LaPearle,  May 28, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have to agree with the two other reviews up to April 2016 and beyond. For Ancestry.com to abandon this software entirely is abismal to say the least. I give Mackiev Software kudo’s for trying to take on the mess they inherited but have to give them less than one star for little to no communication on what they are doing, if anything, to bring this program up to something that ‘could’ be very useful. Please Mackiev be honest with us if you really are in fact working on this program. I spoke to Mackiev at ROOTSTECH 2016 and they were very evasive then. I got the impression they really didn’t know what they were getting into but were hoping they had found a gold mine - what a joke since the program has only got progressively worse with time, up to the time Mackiev took over.
I won’t put another penny into this software until I’m sure it is a completely working and secure program. I upgraded once but I won’t again. I think Mackiev got the program home, started working on the code (it) and found Family Tree Maker to be such a mess they just gave up. If Mackiev wants me to upgrade to even a working program they are going to have to offer a very substantial discount price for upgrading to any new fixed, honestly working software.

Biggest Pro: It was once a fairly good genealogy program
Biggest Con: It was abandoned by ancestry.com when it became a problem they could have fixed.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Dorothy Petraitis,  Apr 29, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have just learned that FTM for Mac is no longer supported by Ancestry. What a blow!! There is no support from MacKiev except for sending a request for support. Since this version is headquartered in the Ukraine, what are the chances that we we get any support at all, even if it is from someone whose second language is English.

This is a shameful sellout by Ancestry. I have been a FTM user since it was a Broderbund product. I’ve remained faithful through thick or thin. Believe me is has never been thinner. After 25 years of research, I am left with a product that has deteriorated since I purchased it just a few months ago.

The usual way to edit Person Notes does not work. Ancestry does not support Mac. I’m up the creek without a paddle at a point in my life when I’ve spent 25 years and $25,000 to do my research. Does Ancestry have no answer? Or perhaps it has no conscience? Just the bottom line counts.

Biggest Pro: How can there be a pro when the application doesn’t do the job and help is unavailable.
Biggest Con: “CON” as in confidence game: Ancestry’s selloff without any input from users while it continues to peddle its more lucrative products.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Erdeslau,  Apr 10, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Very difficult to review Vapourware (rumoured, but non-existent) software updates.

When Software MacKiev took control of FamilyTreeMaker development it promised an almost immediate free update for both the Mac OS X (Version 3) and Windows Version (2014)! Sales of the ‘new’ version commenced 1 March 2016, or shortly afterwards. However, as of 10 April 2016, there is no sign of an update having been released for existing users of the software.

- In February 2016, Software MacKiev’s own website said the updates were “coming soon”;
- By mid-March 2016, the website message had been amended to “coming later this month”;
- 10 April 2016, the site now states “There will be a free update available at some point soon.”

The product may not have been abandoned in the way it was originally announced by Ancestry, but Software MacKiev seems to be doing a sterling job of killing off the software and driving users away through neglect and lack of communication with registered users.

For now the existing product still works adequately, but is in dire need of a substantial update to improve performance and clear up frequently reported ‘bugs’ and weaknesses in operation.

Biggest Pro: Useful research tool for Ancestry subscribers (until Ancestry amends its API (Application Program Interface later this year)
Biggest Con: Lack of attention to known problems with the software, and poor developer communication with registered users.