Family Tree Maker

by Software MacKiev (Jack Minsky)
This program Family Tree Maker was acquired by Software MacKiev and they will be supporting and continuing the development of the program. They made their first new version of the program available in March 2016. Please use this entry to review only Software MacKiev’s Windows releases of Family Tree Maker beginning with Family Tree Maker 2014, Build 429, version 22.0.1.429 (32-bit) or version 22.0.1.1429 (64-bit) or later. Please go to Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2012 - by Ancestry to review earlier versions by Ancestry. Please go to Family Tree Maker for Mac to review the Mac version.

Purchase • Windows • Full Featured
http://www.familytreemaker.com/
Overall131.73 out of 51.73 out of 51.73 out of 51.73 out of 51.73 out of 5 1.73
201742.01 out of 52.01 out of 52.01 out of 52.01 out of 52.01 out of 5 2.01
201691.55 out of 51.55 out of 51.55 out of 51.55 out of 51.55 out of 5 1.55
Earlier0    No Ratings

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

13 Reviews of Family Tree Maker     RSS 2.0 RSS                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker Review by Jan jones,  8 hrs ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Always used this programme. Since the upgrade all I get are unable to open file errors, data losses and crashes. Two of my friends have had the same and are using Roots Magic which I find clunky. Luckily I’ve got a back up gedcom. I’ve switched to Legacy. Not cheap but it does work.

Biggest Pro: Fit with Ancestry
Biggest Con: Just doesn’t work since Mackiev got hold of it

Family Tree Maker Review by John Brombaugh,  2 days ago

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I like the new 2012 version of Family Tree Maker made/sold by Software MacKiev but it seems funny that it does not connect with Ancestry.com. I used the older version for many years and was sad when it was being phased out by Ancestry.com. Maybe they just had some bad argument.

Biggest Pro: Sensible to use and I have a very large tree made over the years.
Biggest Con: That is doesn’t sync with Ancestry.com

Family Tree Maker Review by Judy Hill,  Jan 26, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

For a person not experienced in using a computer it is very hard to communicate problems with a program via desktop communication. It takes 20 minutes to discuss something that would take five minutes over the phone.

Biggest Pro: Can’t think of one
Biggest Con: No telephone communication to solve problems.

Family Tree Maker Review by Marilyn,  Jan 18, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I downloaded the latest MacKiev version of FTM 2014 yesterday onto a new computer running Windows 10 and none of my FTM tree files will sync with my existing Ancestry trees. Now, after several attempts, FTM tells me that my trees are no longer linked to Ancestry and during an e-mail conversation, MacKiev tells me it is an Ancestry problem. Talked to Ancestry today who told me it was a MacKiev problem. Nice to leave the consumer in between. Obviously, from other reviews here, this problem has occurred before. MacKiev should have at least told consumers not to try syncing with this version until their updating is complete.

Biggest Pro: Used to synchronize with Ancesty and has good charts and forms
Biggest Con: Not able to synch with Ancestry at this time

Family Tree Maker Review by Janet Dean,  Nov 7, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Can’t contact these people. And cannot sync with Ancestry. What a total waste.

Biggest Pro: Haven’t found one yet
Biggest Con: Can’t sync with Ancestry.

Family Tree Maker Review by Sharon Chiddister,  Oct 30, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I can’t connect my Windows 10 version to Ancestry.com. Very Frustrating

Biggest Con: Can’t download familly trees from Ancestry

Family Tree Maker Review by Delbert Ritchhart,  Oct 15, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have been using FTM for about 20 years and like it very much. There have been some glitches since Mackiev took over; but I still like it very much. I really can’t understand the very low overall rating of 1.5 stars by others.

Biggest Pro: Interface with Ancestry.com. Does searching while I am sleeping!
Biggest Con: Some software glitches.

Family Tree Maker Review by Ann,  Sep 23, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

There is no way other than email to contact MacKiev.
I cannot get FTM trees to sync with Ancestry.
The online instructions for FTM are not coordinated with FTM 2014 and the update has yet to be released.
I was skeptical about this company acquiring FTM based on its other products which are very elementary by comparison.
Fortunately when FTM lost an entire tree with years of effort, I was able to restore it with Carbonite. MacKiev should have left things alone until more bugs were worked out. Instead it has introduced new bugs!
Don’t even consider using if RootsMagic gets its Ancestry sync going. If not soon, watch for reviews that include improvements by MacKiev. In the meantime backup everything on Ancestry. FTM is not a solution.

Biggest Pro: Promises that may never come to fruition.
Biggest Con: Why is it not possible to contact the company by phone for tech support!!!

Family Tree Maker Review by Paul S,  Aug 31, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I thought that when they would take over from Ancestry, we would see some improvements. So far, nothing. It is the same terrible bloatware with all of the glitches.

Biggest Pro: Syncs with Ancestry…mostly.
Biggest Con: Slow, full of glitches, loses data…I really do not understand this one, the promised update is taking far longer than “soon”.

Family Tree Maker Review by Dianne Dunn,  Jul 21, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Family Tree Makers 2014 LOST a report I used ALL the time. The Share button ( top right) used to have an option to create a Descendant Report in PDF format. The report numbered each generation sequentially so it was easy to find people I Really miss this function.

Family Tree Maker Review by Jennifer,  Jul 12, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

well I downloaded the program 2014.1 two days ago and have had nothing but problems, start using straight away, they said no I cant it just keeps crashing when you try to do something, contact support takes two days to get back to you have lost data photos etc not a happy person

Family Tree Maker Review by Erdeslau,  Jul 10, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Well, its now more than three months since Software MacKiev took over Family Tree Maker development completely; and promised an imminent update for both the current Mac and Windows versions; and guess what? There website still advises that the update is coming “soon”. Not sure what the definition of “soon” is in the Ukraine, but something seems to get lost in translation.

1 Star only, because the original version still works (with occasional glitches), at least until Ancestry changes it’s Application Interface later in 2016 and synching with online trees is due to cease functioning.

Biggest Pro: It still works (most of the time)
Biggest Con: Unfulfilled promises, with no rational explanation, by the software developer.

Family Tree Maker Review by Phyllis Stefiuk,  Jun 9, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Informative. Quite easy to use.

Biggest Pro: Quite easy to use.