Family Tree Maker

by Software MacKiev (Jack Minsky)
This program Family Tree Maker was acquired by Software MacKiev and they will be supporting and continuing the development of the program. They made their first new version of the program available in March 2016. Please use this entry to review only Software MacKiev’s Windows releases of Family Tree Maker beginning with Family Tree Maker 2014, Build 429, version 22.0.1.429 (32-bit) or version 22.0.1.1429 (64-bit) or later. Please go to Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 - by Ancestry to review earlier versions by Ancestry. Please go to Family Tree Maker for Mac to review the Mac version.

Purchase • Windows • Full Featured
http://www.familytreemaker.com/
Overall291.75 out of 51.75 out of 51.75 out of 51.75 out of 51.75 out of 5 1.75
2017201.81 out of 51.81 out of 51.81 out of 51.81 out of 51.81 out of 5 1.81
201691.55 out of 51.55 out of 51.55 out of 51.55 out of 51.55 out of 5 1.55
Earlier0    No Ratings

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

29 Reviews of Family Tree Maker     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker Review by Ian Jolly,  2 days ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

As one of the unfortunates that was quick to take up Family Tree 2017 in the early days and pay for it I would like to ask the elusive Software MacKiev when the are going to fix the issues plaguing it, particularly the synching and roll out a permanent version to us. I the mean time I would discourage anyone from upgrading to it.

Biggest Con: The trial verson and synching

Family Tree Maker Review by Incredulous!,  6 days ago

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Whilst I have never been a great fan of Family Tree Maker and primarily use it as an Ancestry site search tool, I must say that the views expressed in the last few reviews posted here are totally unfair; and show a particular level of ignorance about the developments that have been taking place between:

- Ancestry and (MacKiev) Family Tree Maker; and also
- Ancestry and RootsMagic

Both of which business relationships are quite obviously progressing steadily towards implementing a new (and heavily tested) method for synching Family Tree data. Software developers are dependent on the data provider’s systems being robust before releasing new software features and if one actually reads the information being provided there have obviously been, and continue to be, essential refinements to be made before the system is strong enough to be released beyond the extensive test groups to the wider user domain.

To date, MacKiev has, and continues to, post regular progress updates at https://support.mackiev.com/498640-RELEASE-OF-FTM-2017 for anyone to view. As do the RootsMagic developers.

It seems that some users just expect to be spoon-fed. Patience is a virtue!

Family Tree Maker Review by Thomas,  6 days ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Have used Family Tree maker for 20+ years. The new MacKiev 2014.1 version and the beta 2017 versions are worthless. They are much slower than the original 2014 version which was a huge step backward from previous versions. On top of that, the only reason to purchase one of these versions was the promise of being able to sync trees again with ancestry.com. Haven’t been able to sync yet and MacKiev is mostly silent about any progress other than glowing reports they give about how well things are going with Beta testers. Yet to find a single beta tester on any forum that has had a successful experience. Delays stretch on and on with no apparent resolution in sight. Save your money and wait to see if they ever get out of beta.

Biggest Pro: Can’t think of one
Biggest Con: Program does not work. At all.

Family Tree Maker Review by Dennis Gibson,  Jun 9, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I was having no problems with syncing my trees until MacKiev took over the tree sync and called it the family sync. I have tried everything and nothing has worked. I feel cheated.

Family Tree Maker Review by MG,  Jun 7, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I waited and waited - hoping that Family Tree Maker could be brought back to life. The problem seems to be either total ineptitude, or total lack of concern for their customers. Either way - the time has come for me to delete all FTM files and software from my laptop and move on to something more developed. Time to get on with it…

Biggest Pro: program has great potential
Biggest Con: an incredible amount of ongoing, unrealized potential

Family Tree Maker Review by Ken,  Jun 2, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Preordered, with the email saying categorically that it would be released on March 31st. Still waiting. No updates for over a week. I was told by one Daniel from MacKiev, when I emailed, that the email I had seen stated “coming soon” - his copy that he sent me was in US Dollars, so I sent him back a copy of my email showing the release date of 31 March and the cost in Sterling. No response!
I have asked for a refund, and had to specify in Sterling!
MacKiev Customer Services are useless, as, it would appear, is their software!
Never using them again.

Biggest Pro: None at all
Biggest Con: Con merchants!

Family Tree Maker Review by Mike,  May 18, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Once Broderbund sold Family Tree Maker, it has went downhill. I tried Ver 2017 Software MacKiev and their version is the worst of the worst. In my opinion to much info on one page. They reduced the fonts to get all info on a page. Hard to read. The only color you have is what they choose. They chose only 3. I have contacted MacKiev for a refund, no get back as of now. Also I still have my first version of FTM. It is on floppy disk for Windows 3.1. It was better than what we now have.

Biggest Pro: Software MacKiev hype.
Biggest Con: Ver 2017

Family Tree Maker Review by Hazel Gaudet,  May 16, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I purchased ver 14 and it has never worked right. I up graded to 14.1 and it keeps crashing. If I loose all my research I will loose my mind.

Family Tree Maker Review by Carol R,  May 11, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have used FTM for 20 years. It has work very well until this year. Nothing but problems. I’ve upgraded as MacKiev recommended several months ago. Now I can’t sync with Ancestry. I’m now told that I have to purchase the 2017 version in order to sync. Ancestry.com will not discuss FTM software issues. Can’t contact MacKiev by phone. Must do a chat and that was not productive and waisted an hour of my time. Do I really need to sync. If other people don’t sync either will we be able to make contact with other tree owners and get updated info? Will they want more money every time there’s a problem? Would legacy 8 be a better software choice? I don’t know what to do now. Any answers?

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Cost and Sync issues

Family Tree Maker Review by Karen M.,  Apr 26, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Any good reviews on here must be paid shills. I got the 2014.1 upgrade in the end of February 2017. Was working fine. I even paid for a multi computer license and a CD. Less than 30 days later they came out with the 2017 version and wanted another $29.95 for a license for the new version, plus $39.95 for the new software, plus another $9.99 for a CD. All attempted contacts to the company, with a receipt copy, went unanswered. Don’t waste your time or money on this company.

Biggest Pro: There are none
Biggest Con: The Company

Family Tree Maker Review by John,  Apr 24, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have pre-ordered 2017 in March, and have not received any additional information about the product since. I have also emailed the support group and have not received any response. As far as I am concerned at this time I would rate them very low for their product and support.

Family Tree Maker Review by Geoff Wright,  Apr 13, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Ref. Pre-order - Family Tree Maker 2017 Download [SMK170328-****-*****]
Further to my unanswered emails sent 9th and 11th April requesting information about my order I now ask you for the 3rd time, please advise when download can be expected. Payment taken from bank 3rd April.
Refusing to answer only makes your company looks as if you don’t care about your customers never mind the fact that it is also downright bad manners!

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: No comment because MacKiev won’t correspond.

Family Tree Maker Review by Henry,  Apr 7, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

The update to the FTM version is seamless but Mackiev indicates they are changing the sync features but this has not gone well and there are numerous errors. Mackiev only communicates with submitted emails and they do not respond in many cases. To survive they need to desperately improve their customer service.

Biggest Pro: the 2014.1 version links well with the previous FTM
Biggest Con: No customer service support

Family Tree Maker Review by ROGERNS,  Mar 29, 2017

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

NEEDS A LOT OF WORK.. TOO EXPENSIVE.. NEVER GOT 2015, 2016. DID NOT KNOW THEY WERE OUT.
2014 UPGRADE REQUIRED COMPACT AND SAVE MY GEDCOM FILES, THEN INSTALL THE 2014.1 WHICH COST 35.95 AND NOW THEY WANT ANOTHER 29.95 FOR THE UNSEEN 2017, AND I DONT GE T A CD WHICH I GOT. JUST GOT THROUGH GETTING THIS 2014.1 WHICH MADE ALL MY CONTACTS ON ANCESTRY UNABLE TO GET INTO MY TREE., WILL HAVE TO REINVITE WITH NEW TREE NAME. MR MINSKY NEED TO GET HIS ACT TOGETHER. THIS SUCKS!!!!

Biggest Pro: STILL EVALUATING.. NO PROS YET.
Biggest Con: NEED TO GET OPTION FOR PEOPLE WITH CHILDREN, BUT NOT MARRIED..

Family Tree Maker Review by Ed Snow,  Mar 21, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The best software I have ever used. Works like a charm, especially I love publishing option as it allows me to generate and print charts for my family. They have always been supporting me with this hobby. Do not know what to add regarding Ancestry TreeSync as I do not want to upload my tree to the Internet.

Biggest Pro: Publishing options.
Biggest Con: Can’t change preferred relationship to show, I can only check this in the Relationship Calculator.

Family Tree Maker Review by Alex,  Mar 21, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Quite good, especially comparing to Ancestry versions, and competitor products.

Biggest Pro: Faster, less likely to crash, compatible with newest OS.
Biggest Con: still depending on Ancestry with sync (in 2016 version)

Family Tree Maker Review by Jan jones,  Feb 25, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Always used this programme. Since the upgrade all I get are unable to open file errors, data losses and crashes. Two of my friends have had the same and are using Roots Magic which I find clunky. Luckily I’ve got a back up gedcom. I’ve switched to Legacy. Not cheap but it does work.

Biggest Pro: Fit with Ancestry
Biggest Con: Just doesn’t work since Mackiev got hold of it

Family Tree Maker Review by John Brombaugh,  Feb 22, 2017

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I like the new 2012 version of Family Tree Maker made/sold by Software MacKiev but it seems funny that it does not connect with Ancestry.com. I used the older version for many years and was sad when it was being phased out by Ancestry.com. Maybe they just had some bad argument.

Biggest Pro: Sensible to use and I have a very large tree made over the years.
Biggest Con: That is doesn’t sync with Ancestry.com

Family Tree Maker Review by Judy Hill,  Jan 26, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

For a person not experienced in using a computer it is very hard to communicate problems with a program via desktop communication. It takes 20 minutes to discuss something that would take five minutes over the phone.

Biggest Pro: Can’t think of one
Biggest Con: No telephone communication to solve problems.

Family Tree Maker Review by Marilyn,  Jan 18, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I downloaded the latest MacKiev version of FTM 2014 yesterday onto a new computer running Windows 10 and none of my FTM tree files will sync with my existing Ancestry trees. Now, after several attempts, FTM tells me that my trees are no longer linked to Ancestry and during an e-mail conversation, MacKiev tells me it is an Ancestry problem. Talked to Ancestry today who told me it was a MacKiev problem. Nice to leave the consumer in between. Obviously, from other reviews here, this problem has occurred before. MacKiev should have at least told consumers not to try syncing with this version until their updating is complete.

Biggest Pro: Used to synchronize with Ancesty and has good charts and forms
Biggest Con: Not able to synch with Ancestry at this time

Show 21-29 »