Family Tree Maker

by Software MacKiev (Jack Minsky)
This program Family Tree Maker was acquired by Software MacKiev and they will be supporting and continuing the development of the program. They made their first new version of the program available in March 2016. Please use this entry to review only Software MacKiev’s Windows releases of Family Tree Maker beginning with Family Tree Maker 2014, Build 429, version 22.0.1.429 (32-bit) or version 22.0.1.1429 (64-bit) or later. Please go to Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2012 - by Ancestry to review earlier versions by Ancestry. Please go to Family Tree Maker for Mac to review the Mac version.

Purchase • Windows • Full Featured
http://www.familytreemaker.com/
Overall202.07 out of 52.07 out of 52.07 out of 52.07 out of 52.07 out of 5 2.07
2017112.35 out of 52.35 out of 52.35 out of 52.35 out of 52.35 out of 5 2.35
201691.55 out of 51.55 out of 51.55 out of 51.55 out of 51.55 out of 5 1.55
Earlier0    No Ratings

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

20 Reviews of Family Tree Maker     RSS 2.0 RSS                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker Review by Karen M.,  3 days ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Any good reviews on here must be paid shills. I got the 2014.1 upgrade in the end of February 2017. Was working fine. I even paid for a multi computer license and a CD. Less than 30 days later they came out with the 2017 version and wanted another $29.95 for a license for the new version, plus $39.95 for the new software, plus another $9.99 for a CD. All attempted contacts to the company, with a receipt copy, went unanswered. Don’t waste your time or money on this company.

Biggest Pro: There are none
Biggest Con: The Company

Family Tree Maker Review by John,  6 days ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have pre-ordered 2017 in March, and have not received any additional information about the product since. I have also emailed the support group and have not received any response. As far as I am concerned at this time I would rate them very low for their product and support.

Family Tree Maker Review by Geoff Wright,  Apr 13, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Ref. Pre-order - Family Tree Maker 2017 Download [SMK170328-****-*****]
Further to my unanswered emails sent 9th and 11th April requesting information about my order I now ask you for the 3rd time, please advise when download can be expected. Payment taken from bank 3rd April.
Refusing to answer only makes your company looks as if you don’t care about your customers never mind the fact that it is also downright bad manners!

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: No comment because MacKiev won’t correspond.

Family Tree Maker Review by Henry,  Apr 7, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

The update to the FTM version is seamless but Mackiev indicates they are changing the sync features but this has not gone well and there are numerous errors. Mackiev only communicates with submitted emails and they do not respond in many cases. To survive they need to desperately improve their customer service.

Biggest Pro: the 2014.1 version links well with the previous FTM
Biggest Con: No customer service support

Family Tree Maker Review by ROGERNS,  Mar 29, 2017

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

NEEDS A LOT OF WORK.. TOO EXPENSIVE.. NEVER GOT 2015, 2016. DID NOT KNOW THEY WERE OUT.
2014 UPGRADE REQUIRED COMPACT AND SAVE MY GEDCOM FILES, THEN INSTALL THE 2014.1 WHICH COST 35.95 AND NOW THEY WANT ANOTHER 29.95 FOR THE UNSEEN 2017, AND I DONT GE T A CD WHICH I GOT. JUST GOT THROUGH GETTING THIS 2014.1 WHICH MADE ALL MY CONTACTS ON ANCESTRY UNABLE TO GET INTO MY TREE., WILL HAVE TO REINVITE WITH NEW TREE NAME. MR MINSKY NEED TO GET HIS ACT TOGETHER. THIS SUCKS!!!!

Biggest Pro: STILL EVALUATING.. NO PROS YET.
Biggest Con: NEED TO GET OPTION FOR PEOPLE WITH CHILDREN, BUT NOT MARRIED..

Family Tree Maker Review by Ed Snow,  Mar 21, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The best software I have ever used. Works like a charm, especially I love publishing option as it allows me to generate and print charts for my family. They have always been supporting me with this hobby. Do not know what to add regarding Ancestry TreeSync as I do not want to upload my tree to the Internet.

Biggest Pro: Publishing options.
Biggest Con: Can’t change preferred relationship to show, I can only check this in the Relationship Calculator.

Family Tree Maker Review by Alex,  Mar 21, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Quite good, especially comparing to Ancestry versions, and competitor products.

Biggest Pro: Faster, less likely to crash, compatible with newest OS.
Biggest Con: still depending on Ancestry with sync (in 2016 version)

Family Tree Maker Review by Jan jones,  Feb 25, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Always used this programme. Since the upgrade all I get are unable to open file errors, data losses and crashes. Two of my friends have had the same and are using Roots Magic which I find clunky. Luckily I’ve got a back up gedcom. I’ve switched to Legacy. Not cheap but it does work.

Biggest Pro: Fit with Ancestry
Biggest Con: Just doesn’t work since Mackiev got hold of it

Family Tree Maker Review by John Brombaugh,  Feb 22, 2017

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I like the new 2012 version of Family Tree Maker made/sold by Software MacKiev but it seems funny that it does not connect with Ancestry.com. I used the older version for many years and was sad when it was being phased out by Ancestry.com. Maybe they just had some bad argument.

Biggest Pro: Sensible to use and I have a very large tree made over the years.
Biggest Con: That is doesn’t sync with Ancestry.com

Family Tree Maker Review by Judy Hill,  Jan 26, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

For a person not experienced in using a computer it is very hard to communicate problems with a program via desktop communication. It takes 20 minutes to discuss something that would take five minutes over the phone.

Biggest Pro: Can’t think of one
Biggest Con: No telephone communication to solve problems.

Family Tree Maker Review by Marilyn,  Jan 18, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I downloaded the latest MacKiev version of FTM 2014 yesterday onto a new computer running Windows 10 and none of my FTM tree files will sync with my existing Ancestry trees. Now, after several attempts, FTM tells me that my trees are no longer linked to Ancestry and during an e-mail conversation, MacKiev tells me it is an Ancestry problem. Talked to Ancestry today who told me it was a MacKiev problem. Nice to leave the consumer in between. Obviously, from other reviews here, this problem has occurred before. MacKiev should have at least told consumers not to try syncing with this version until their updating is complete.

Biggest Pro: Used to synchronize with Ancesty and has good charts and forms
Biggest Con: Not able to synch with Ancestry at this time

Family Tree Maker Review by Janet Dean,  Nov 7, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Can’t contact these people. And cannot sync with Ancestry. What a total waste.

Biggest Pro: Haven’t found one yet
Biggest Con: Can’t sync with Ancestry.

Family Tree Maker Review by Sharon Chiddister,  Oct 30, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I can’t connect my Windows 10 version to Ancestry.com. Very Frustrating

Biggest Con: Can’t download familly trees from Ancestry

Family Tree Maker Review by Delbert Ritchhart,  Oct 15, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have been using FTM for about 20 years and like it very much. There have been some glitches since Mackiev took over; but I still like it very much. I really can’t understand the very low overall rating of 1.5 stars by others.

Biggest Pro: Interface with Ancestry.com. Does searching while I am sleeping!
Biggest Con: Some software glitches.

Family Tree Maker Review by Ann,  Sep 23, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

There is no way other than email to contact MacKiev.
I cannot get FTM trees to sync with Ancestry.
The online instructions for FTM are not coordinated with FTM 2014 and the update has yet to be released.
I was skeptical about this company acquiring FTM based on its other products which are very elementary by comparison.
Fortunately when FTM lost an entire tree with years of effort, I was able to restore it with Carbonite. MacKiev should have left things alone until more bugs were worked out. Instead it has introduced new bugs!
Don’t even consider using if RootsMagic gets its Ancestry sync going. If not soon, watch for reviews that include improvements by MacKiev. In the meantime backup everything on Ancestry. FTM is not a solution.

Biggest Pro: Promises that may never come to fruition.
Biggest Con: Why is it not possible to contact the company by phone for tech support!!!

Family Tree Maker Review by Paul S,  Aug 31, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I thought that when they would take over from Ancestry, we would see some improvements. So far, nothing. It is the same terrible bloatware with all of the glitches.

Biggest Pro: Syncs with Ancestry…mostly.
Biggest Con: Slow, full of glitches, loses data…I really do not understand this one, the promised update is taking far longer than “soon”.

Family Tree Maker Review by Dianne Dunn,  Jul 21, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Family Tree Makers 2014 LOST a report I used ALL the time. The Share button ( top right) used to have an option to create a Descendant Report in PDF format. The report numbered each generation sequentially so it was easy to find people I Really miss this function.

Family Tree Maker Review by Jennifer,  Jul 12, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

well I downloaded the program 2014.1 two days ago and have had nothing but problems, start using straight away, they said no I cant it just keeps crashing when you try to do something, contact support takes two days to get back to you have lost data photos etc not a happy person

Family Tree Maker Review by Erdeslau,  Jul 10, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Well, its now more than three months since Software MacKiev took over Family Tree Maker development completely; and promised an imminent update for both the current Mac and Windows versions; and guess what? There website still advises that the update is coming “soon”. Not sure what the definition of “soon” is in the Ukraine, but something seems to get lost in translation.

1 Star only, because the original version still works (with occasional glitches), at least until Ancestry changes it’s Application Interface later in 2016 and synching with online trees is due to cease functioning.

Biggest Pro: It still works (most of the time)
Biggest Con: Unfulfilled promises, with no rational explanation, by the software developer.

Family Tree Maker Review by Phyllis Stefiuk,  Jun 9, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Informative. Quite easy to use.

Biggest Pro: Quite easy to use.