Ancestral Quest

Click To See Award Winners
by Incline Software (Gaylon Findlay)
This is the program on which the Windows version PAF was based. This program has continued to develop and is a very widely used program. PAF users who want to retain their current database but use a supported program might want to try this out. There is also a free version available called Ancestral Quest Basics. They also have a blog.

Free • Purchase • Windows • Mac • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.ancquest.com/
Overall584.74 out of 54.74 out of 54.74 out of 54.74 out of 54.74 out of 5 4.74
201794.88 out of 54.88 out of 54.88 out of 54.88 out of 54.88 out of 5 4.88
2016234.67 out of 54.67 out of 54.67 out of 54.67 out of 54.67 out of 5 4.67
Earlier264.76 out of 54.76 out of 54.76 out of 54.76 out of 54.76 out of 5 4.76

Add Your Review of Ancestral Quest

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

58 Reviews of Ancestral Quest     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Ancestral Quest Review by Brenda Romney,  Feb 10, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Ancestral Quest is intuitive. It is easy to use and complete

Biggest Pro: Ease of Use

Ancestral Quest Review by C J Crue,  Feb 7, 2017

Not Rated

I first heard about Ancestral Quest through another user. I transferred all of my files to AC and I’ve never looked back. AC is compatible with FamilySearch and I am more than pleased with the service. I recommend AC to all newbies as well as those who’ve been using other programs and they have always thanked me for the tip.

Ancestral Quest Review by Greg,  Feb 7, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been an AncestralQuest user for a number of years. Like many others, I began with PAF, and when I upgraded to more current software, it was a no brainer for me to go to AQ since its developers were involved in the initial development of PAF and the screens and functions were very similar. I loved the fact that I could move almost seemlessly into AQ without a huge learning curve. I love the features and the links into FamilySearch. It is user friendly and easy to learn. Not only that, but I loved that Gaylon Findlay, the developer of AQ, was available at classes held at the Riverton Family History Library in Riverton, Utah, and when I had questions I could go directly to the source. I have looked at other commercial software packages, but remain very happy using Ancestral Quest. I like that AQ is continuously supported and upgraded. The price is very reasonable.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use, excellent interface with FamilySearch, low cost
Biggest Con: None

Ancestral Quest Review by Patrick Owens,  Jan 24, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Purchased Ancestral Quest when product was first available. Have not been disappointed since that time. Well, maybe a couple of hiccups. AQ had consistently made available updates, corrections and new versions that exceeded expectations every time. Have tried other products from time to time and while very good simple does not meet AQ’s quality. Would recommend to anyone from basic casual user to expert genealogist.

Biggest Pro: Resonable cost, stable product, user level from basic to expert, linkage to other products, product support good.
Biggest Con: None at this time.

Ancestral Quest Review by Phil Miller,  Jan 24, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used Ancestral Quest for many years and cannot imagine a better genealogy software or a better company. The company updates the software constantly and is very responsive if you have any questions or concerns or problems (which is almost never).
The program is first rate in every way and makes doing genealogy research so much easier and faster.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use, updates, service, etc.
Biggest Con: Can’t think of any.

Ancestral Quest Review by Craig,  Jan 23, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used Ancestral Quest, first as PAF and then later I graduated to paid versions. I did try a few other apps back then but none really worked as intuitively for me. I have been very happy with the app all along and its great that the new version 15 has come out with all the upgraded functions. The direct linkage features - particularly linking into the LDS database is wonderful.

Biggest Pro: Linkages into other databases
Biggest Con: Doesn’t allow same sex marriages. I guess its an ideological thing.

Ancestral Quest Review by Leroy Carlson,  Jan 23, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been a user of Ancestral Quest since it first became available, For features, price and ease of use it can’t be beat. I know of no other software firm where the author and head man jumps in and responds to users queries the way Gaylon Findlay does. Their service and constant updates, mostly free, is unmatched.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use, price, service
Biggest Con: None that I have found

Ancestral Quest Review by Don,  Jan 2, 2017

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I used PAF before it (in DOS, and Ancestral Quest from its inception. The user interface is elegant . )It remains my favorite genealogy program except for one increasingly-significant flaw. The software developers steadfastly refuse to program for same-sex relationships and families. I have reluctantly moved to software which is less elegant in operation.

Biggest Pro: Intuitive one-click data entry, including repeat for the most-recent entry in many fielsa
Biggest Con: No provision for same-sex family relationships.

Ancestral Quest Review by Carvel,  Jan 2, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Ancestral Quest is a solid, full-featured desktop program with very rich functionality, but it also includes interfaces with the major online web programs, which gives the best of both worlds. A team of us who are working together use AQ as our platform to work together and share our data.

Biggest Pro: The collaboration feature (a powerful feature to share data with other researchers). No other desktop program has this functionality.
Biggest Con: none.

Ancestral Quest Review by Russell L Gray,  Dec 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Ancestral Quest (AQ) is a full-featured comprehensive genealogy database based on leading-edge technology. AQ can use both its own database file and popular PAF database files. Users can transfer information to and from AQ and FamilySearch Family Tree, and from AQ perform record searches on leading genealogy databases such as Ancestry, FindMyPast, and MyHeritage. User support is excellent and many free tutorials are available.

Biggest Pro: Comprehensive and full-featured.
Biggest Con: None.

Ancestral Quest Review by James R. Marsh,  Dec 29, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I like font used in narrative part of modified register genealogy book printout in PAF, but do not like font used in AQ-14. I was unable to find the option to change font and called techincal service and was told that there is no option available for that and was also told that it may be available in version 15, but I had updated to version 15 and there is still no option for that. How come?

Ancestral Quest Review by Richard Groesbeck,  Dec 29, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I find the program, very easy to use. I love the features, abilities to merge, use sources, photos. LDS users will like the interfaces with familysearch.org. Great software. Great customer support when I’ve had an occasional question.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use, great feature set, LDS familysearch integration
Biggest Con: none.

Ancestral Quest Review by Gaudry C.,  Dec 28, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Très bon logiciel. Quelques rares menus ou fonctions pas encore abouties, perfectibles, mais de nombreuses fonctions très performantes et fiables

Bing translate: ‎Very good software. A few rare menus or functions not yet accomplished, perfectible, but many high-performing and reliable functions‎

Ancestral Quest Review by Rosemary Hopkins,  Dec 28, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is the best genealogical software available especially in working with familysearch and ancestry.com. I have been a long time user of both PAF and Ancestral Quest. It is easy to understand–being very user friendly. The support is phenomenal–user groups and from Gaylon Findlay himself. So enjoy all of the features–more than I am inclined to use at times. I cannot imagine using any other program to store my data and expand it. There are tutorials that explain all aspects of the program.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use and very helpful monthly newsletters, online support groups, and online tutorials.
Biggest Con: None

Ancestral Quest Review by Leroy Carlson,  Dec 28, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Best program around! Superior support!!!. I have been using it since it first became available. For the beginner. it is intuitive and has a minimal learning curve. I heartedly recommend to everyone, especially with the free basic version to try it out.

The AQ15 version has a number of features that make it an excellent research tool as well as a top record keeper. I am still learning new ways to use it. I know of no other software with such excellent support and willingness to respond to user needs and problems.

Biggest Pro: user support
Biggest Con: NONE

Ancestral Quest Review by A Bridges,  Dec 28, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Excellent Program. Easy to use and interfaces well with other databases. Recommend it highly. I have had several occasions to learn from Gaylon, in person, and he does such a good job in explaining new features and answering questions. Thanks to Gaylon for continually improving the program.

Biggest Pro: A very good program
Biggest Con: I can’t think of any.

Ancestral Quest Review by Welda Lendt,  Dec 2, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I started out with PAF and the switch to Ancestral Quest was easy. I have used Ancestral Quest for many years and find there is a way to do just about anything I want to do with my data. The interaction with Family Tree is excellent. Over the years it has constantly gotten better and even easier to use. I salute the author and recommend Ancestral Quest over any other software I have looked at.

Biggest Pro: Possibility to do about anything you would want to do with your data. Well designed.
Biggest Con: Can’t think of any.

Ancestral Quest Review by Frederick C Buss Jr,  Nov 27, 2016

Not Rated

Som how I lost my Key but you say I will need to pay again if this is the case I will need to cancel and delete it.
And when I came on and downloaded your program. I also paid for it What happen now. I thought I printed the Key number. Roots Magic help get your key back. I haven’t done much on your program yet
Email woulb fbuss jr Or punchclown@outlook.com.
Some of us are old like me at 87 and been fighting cancer for 4 years now. But this program help me get tho the day as long with Family Search.org

Ancestral Quest Review by Elizabeth,  Oct 25, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have reviewed AQ before and really like the programme, having tried most of the others over recent times. The one thing I would like to see from my own point of view is in the Individual Summary, where any notes added to an event get cut off short once they run out of space (I’m not talking about really long notes, but one or two sentences). Other programmes I have tried allow for the notes to run on until complete but the AQ table format seems to only allow so many characters before it cuts off in mid sentence.

I know these notes can be added to the sources but I would prefer to be able to read them on the event itself rather than skipping to the sources to see whether there are any additional notes (separate from the main Notes section itself I mean).

I’d also like the ability to include a picture on the Title page of a book when creating it, I can’t see a way of doing that yet short of printing the title separately onto a pre-printed paper with the picture already on it.

These features would make the programme perfect as far as I am concerned.

Biggest Pro: Very clear and comprehensive.
Biggest Con: Nothing major but would like to see the above enhancements.

Ancestral Quest Review by Nancy Greenhalgh,  Oct 25, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I used PAF years ago, but switched to Ancestral Quest when support for PAF was no longer available. The transition was super easy. I have tried other programs, but nothing is better than Ancestral Quest in my opinion. It just keeps getting better and better.

Biggest Pro: Their dedication to improvement of the product, and their fantastic customer service.
Biggest Con: None I can think of right now.

Show 21-40 »