Ancestral Quest

Click To See Award Winners
by Incline Software (Gaylon Findlay)
This is the program on which the Windows version PAF was based. This program has continued to develop and is a very widely used program. PAF users who want to retain their current database but use a supported program might want to try this out. There is also a free version available called Ancestral Quest Basics. They also have a blog.

Free • Purchase • Windows • Mac • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.ancquest.com/
Overall734.65 out of 54.65 out of 54.65 out of 54.65 out of 54.65 out of 5 4.65
2017244.62 out of 54.62 out of 54.62 out of 54.62 out of 54.62 out of 5 4.62
2016234.67 out of 54.67 out of 54.67 out of 54.67 out of 54.67 out of 5 4.67
Earlier264.76 out of 54.76 out of 54.76 out of 54.76 out of 54.76 out of 5 4.76

Add Your Review of Ancestral Quest

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

73 Reviews of Ancestral Quest     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Ancestral Quest Review by Darrell Thueson,  Oct 24, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used AncQuest for over 20 years! I love this program! I have seen others, but nothing compares to the logical and intuitive features of AQ. I love their collaboration feature and their online cloud backup. There are so many features that I think it leaves all the other programs “in the dust.” Try it, buy it, you won’t regret it.

Biggest Pro: Easy, intuitive user interface with all the power you need.
Biggest Con: I honestly can’t think of any. If I were forced to find a con, it would be pure nit-picking!

Ancestral Quest Review by Gerald (Jerry) Penhollow,  Oct 23, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Great software, always up to date with the best tools. I have been a user for many years, and support was always there to help when I needed answers.

Biggest Pro: Simple, lots of supporting features more than I can list.
Biggest Con: More ease of creating a family book

Ancestral Quest Review by Bob,  Sep 29, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is a full featured program with unlimited expandability. It is the perfect program for beginners, with its simple, clear and uncluttered main screens. As you become comfortable with the processes used to enter, view and manipulate your data you begin to understand the many advanced features, for instance custom sustenance building and the wide variety of reports which are infinitely customizable. The charts with the program are easy to use and modify to suit your needs. The circular fan chart is the best anywhere. There are many tools that allow all facets of your db to be refined or condensed such as the Source and repository lists and the Merge tool, a very useful tool; but dangerous. I have used Legacy, Roots Magic and Family Tree and each have their strengths; but AQ is the complete package.

Biggest Pro: Flexability and ease of use.
Biggest Con: Register style books can build only one family at a time. Legacy 9 supports multiple lines of descent.

Ancestral Quest Review by J Hartwell,  Sep 28, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Easy to learn, easy to use, and full-featured. Constant monitoring by the developers, and excellent support by them.

Biggest Pro: Did I say CUSTOMER SUPPORT and maintenance?
Biggest Con: Can’t think of one.

Ancestral Quest Review by William Tracy,  Aug 24, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Unclear on how to handle multiple spouses. Too complex on developing a CD to share. Subjects name, birth date and death date should be visible on and across all data entry screens. Would be nice to have downward movement through each generation and across all family lines. Free pdf guide book needs to be available. Should have the ability to remove and substitute several more search sites.

Biggest Con: Subjects name, birth date and death date should be visible on and across all data entry screens.

Ancestral Quest Review by John Holmes Smith,  Aug 21, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I found Ancestral Quest some years ago. It is very easy to enter information (customizable) as well as upload GEDCOMs. Exporting GEDCOMs is also straightforward and easy. The links with Family Search, FindMyPast and MyHeritage are very valuable also. I had a significant problem with my database a couple of years ago, mostly due to its size, and Gaylon Findlay, the principal developer, personally resolved the issue.

Biggest Pro: Customer service
Biggest Con: The program could use more print options

Ancestral Quest Review by Gord Cruikshank,  Aug 10, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Product is excellent for most purposes but fails to support same sex marriages. This is a big fail for ongoing genealogical research as it also prevents correctly adding the couple’s children (in vitro, adopted, surrogate).
Used this and PAF for many years but it just has not kept up with the changed legal and social environment.
There is a work around by entering incorrect sex for spouse, exporting the database to gedcom, editing gedcom to change the sex, importing the gedcom to a new database -ignoring the error message about invalid sex on marriage but it is such a pain that it is easier just to get an up to date package..

Biggest Pro: Easy to learn and have never encountered a bug
Biggest Con: Does not allow same sex marriages. Major FAIL as it therefore prevents adding their children.

Ancestral Quest Review by Eithne Mulhall,  Jul 25, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I love this software as it is very user friendly and intuitive. It is a program that improves all the time . I love that it links with other programs to provide access to the work of others, which opens the possibility of connecting with relatives. I like that it looks like a program and not a website when you are imputing the information. I like the way the notes are a blank page and do not require titles etc., I like the newsletter which explains updates and gives access to tutorials. I have been using AQ for many years and will continue to use it for many more

Biggest Pro: Easy to learn and use
Biggest Con: none

Ancestral Quest Review by Elder Jeppesen,  Jul 25, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used Ancestral Quest for about 6 months now. I was previously attempting to use another program (there are three primary family history software applications on the market, Ancestral Quest, Roots Magic and Legacy). I found the other major program was very difficult to learn to use to its advantage, and the pedigree chart screen had such small type face as to be very difficult to read. I then tried AQ and I have never looked back. It syncs with FamilySearch, Family Tree, has hints for Find My Past as well as My Heritage and Family Search Family Tree. It is so easy to use and I feel I have become somewhat proficient with it. There are some reviews on You Tube comparing the three major applications, but they are out of date and do not give a fair and current review of Ancestral Quest.

Biggest Pro: The “hints” to other data bases has made research so easy.
Biggest Con: I can’t think of any

Ancestral Quest Review by IVOR COHEN,  Jun 19, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Have not used any other “family tree” program, but have seen them being used by others.
In my humble opinin, Ancestral Quest is the best! Besides the best program and interfaces available, their customer service is just that - SERVICE!
Whenever I have needed help with something, which is like once every 5/6 years when I change computers, Paul (and lately, Claire) have been so super helpful and sorted out any problems quickly.
I have used Ancestral Quest for at least 10 years and have NO reason to think I would ever change.

Biggest Pro: CUSTOMER SERVICE!
Biggest Con: Cannot think of one.

Ancestral Quest Review by Shirley Addy,  Jun 16, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am thrilled by the ease of use of AQ, and with the collaboration with Findmypast through Tree Tips. It has surely made research much quicker and easier. Thank you for this interesting new “wrinkle”. JSA

Biggest Pro: Tree Tips Collaboration

Ancestral Quest Review by frantic33,  Jun 16, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’ve been using AQ since about 2008, switching to AQ from PAF5. It was an easy transition. AQ does everything I could ask for even though I haven’t used some of its features.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use — intuitive even

Ancestral Quest Review by CurtB,  Jun 16, 2017

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

The most intuitive and customizable genealogical program available/ It is still regularly upgraded. It also has a terrific users group that resolves questions and problems quickly. It is the third third program one I have used and have transferred all my data to AQ several years ago.

Big drawback…still does not accommodate same sex marriages. If they don’t do so soon some people will move to other programs. I’m annoyed that I have two I cannot accommodate in a tree.

Biggest Pro: Customizable
Biggest Con: Probably the last great one that still does not accomodate same sex marriages

Ancestral Quest Review by JM Fabre,  Jun 16, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The main tasks are easy to use. The program is very customizable. I love that I can color code family lines. When I am working on an individual, the color code is in the corner giving me a hint how this person is connected. The reporting feature is also powerful. I like that I can add historic and family events to the timeline feature. The Collaboration module makes it easy to work with other people to build the tree. Plus Ancestral Quest can pull in record hints for all the major American tree sites, and I can sync my records with my FamilySearch tree.
My only quibble is that customizing or adding a new event or source types is not intuitive and I found the Help for that, not very helpful. This is a powerful and comprehensive tree database with research manager and ability to store images and other files as well.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use of main features + lots of room for customization
Biggest Con: Some customizing features are light on help.

Ancestral Quest Review by Ann Marie Bridges,  May 26, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Have used Ancestral Quest for years. I love the ease of the interaction between websites “tips” icons that alert you to new information to review. I have found the program to be very intuitive and so easy to use.

Biggest Pro: Ease of accessibility
Biggest Con: Really don’t have any at this point.

Ancestral Quest Review by Brenda Romney,  Feb 10, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Ancestral Quest is intuitive. It is easy to use and complete

Biggest Pro: Ease of Use

Ancestral Quest Review by C J Crue,  Feb 7, 2017

Not Rated

I first heard about Ancestral Quest through another user. I transferred all of my files to AC and I’ve never looked back. AC is compatible with FamilySearch and I am more than pleased with the service. I recommend AC to all newbies as well as those who’ve been using other programs and they have always thanked me for the tip.

Ancestral Quest Review by Greg,  Feb 7, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been an AncestralQuest user for a number of years. Like many others, I began with PAF, and when I upgraded to more current software, it was a no brainer for me to go to AQ since its developers were involved in the initial development of PAF and the screens and functions were very similar. I loved the fact that I could move almost seemlessly into AQ without a huge learning curve. I love the features and the links into FamilySearch. It is user friendly and easy to learn. Not only that, but I loved that Gaylon Findlay, the developer of AQ, was available at classes held at the Riverton Family History Library in Riverton, Utah, and when I had questions I could go directly to the source. I have looked at other commercial software packages, but remain very happy using Ancestral Quest. I like that AQ is continuously supported and upgraded. The price is very reasonable.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use, excellent interface with FamilySearch, low cost
Biggest Con: None

Ancestral Quest Review by Patrick Owens,  Jan 24, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Purchased Ancestral Quest when product was first available. Have not been disappointed since that time. Well, maybe a couple of hiccups. AQ had consistently made available updates, corrections and new versions that exceeded expectations every time. Have tried other products from time to time and while very good simple does not meet AQ’s quality. Would recommend to anyone from basic casual user to expert genealogist.

Biggest Pro: Resonable cost, stable product, user level from basic to expert, linkage to other products, product support good.
Biggest Con: None at this time.

Ancestral Quest Review by Phil Miller,  Jan 24, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used Ancestral Quest for many years and cannot imagine a better genealogy software or a better company. The company updates the software constantly and is very responsive if you have any questions or concerns or problems (which is almost never).
The program is first rate in every way and makes doing genealogy research so much easier and faster.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use, updates, service, etc.
Biggest Con: Can’t think of any.

Show 21-40 »