Ancestral Quest

Click To See Award Winners
by Incline Software (Gaylon Findlay)
This is the program on which the Windows version PAF was based. This program has continued to develop and is a very widely used program. PAF users who want to retain their current database but use a supported program might want to try this out. There is also a free version available called Ancestral Quest Basics. They also have a blog.

Free • Purchase • Windows • Mac • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.ancquest.com/
Overall664.78 out of 54.78 out of 54.78 out of 54.78 out of 54.78 out of 5 4.78
2017174.88 out of 54.88 out of 54.88 out of 54.88 out of 54.88 out of 5 4.88
2016234.67 out of 54.67 out of 54.67 out of 54.67 out of 54.67 out of 5 4.67
Earlier264.76 out of 54.76 out of 54.76 out of 54.76 out of 54.76 out of 5 4.76

Add Your Review of Ancestral Quest

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

66 Reviews of Ancestral Quest     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Ancestral Quest Review by Eithne Mulhall,  2 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I love this software as it is very user friendly and intuitive. It is a program that improves all the time . I love that it links with other programs to provide access to the work of others, which opens the possibility of connecting with relatives. I like that it looks like a program and not a website when you are imputing the information. I like the way the notes are a blank page and do not require titles etc., I like the newsletter which explains updates and gives access to tutorials. I have been using AQ for many years and will continue to use it for many more

Biggest Pro: Easy to learn and use
Biggest Con: none

Ancestral Quest Review by Elder Jeppesen,  2 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used Ancestral Quest for about 6 months now. I was previously attempting to use another program (there are three primary family history software applications on the market, Ancestral Quest, Roots Magic and Legacy). I found the other major program was very difficult to learn to use to its advantage, and the pedigree chart screen had such small type face as to be very difficult to read. I then tried AQ and I have never looked back. It syncs with FamilySearch, Family Tree, has hints for Find My Past as well as My Heritage and Family Search Family Tree. It is so easy to use and I feel I have become somewhat proficient with it. There are some reviews on You Tube comparing the three major applications, but they are out of date and do not give a fair and current review of Ancestral Quest.

Biggest Pro: The “hints” to other data bases has made research so easy.
Biggest Con: I can’t think of any

Ancestral Quest Review by IVOR COHEN,  Jun 19, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Have not used any other “family tree” program, but have seen them being used by others.
In my humble opinin, Ancestral Quest is the best! Besides the best program and interfaces available, their customer service is just that - SERVICE!
Whenever I have needed help with something, which is like once every 5/6 years when I change computers, Paul (and lately, Claire) have been so super helpful and sorted out any problems quickly.
I have used Ancestral Quest for at least 10 years and have NO reason to think I would ever change.

Biggest Pro: CUSTOMER SERVICE!
Biggest Con: Cannot think of one.

Ancestral Quest Review by Shirley Addy,  Jun 16, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am thrilled by the ease of use of AQ, and with the collaboration with Findmypast through Tree Tips. It has surely made research much quicker and easier. Thank you for this interesting new “wrinkle”. JSA

Biggest Pro: Tree Tips Collaboration

Ancestral Quest Review by frantic33,  Jun 16, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’ve been using AQ since about 2008, switching to AQ from PAF5. It was an easy transition. AQ does everything I could ask for even though I haven’t used some of its features.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use — intuitive even

Ancestral Quest Review by CurtB,  Jun 16, 2017

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

The most intuitive and customizable genealogical program available/ It is still regularly upgraded. It also has a terrific users group that resolves questions and problems quickly. It is the third third program one I have used and have transferred all my data to AQ several years ago.

Big drawback…still does not accommodate same sex marriages. If they don’t do so soon some people will move to other programs. I’m annoyed that I have two I cannot accommodate in a tree.

Biggest Pro: Customizable
Biggest Con: Probably the last great one that still does not accomodate same sex marriages

Ancestral Quest Review by JM Fabre,  Jun 16, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The main tasks are easy to use. The program is very customizable. I love that I can color code family lines. When I am working on an individual, the color code is in the corner giving me a hint how this person is connected. The reporting feature is also powerful. I like that I can add historic and family events to the timeline feature. The Collaboration module makes it easy to work with other people to build the tree. Plus Ancestral Quest can pull in record hints for all the major American tree sites, and I can sync my records with my FamilySearch tree.
My only quibble is that customizing or adding a new event or source types is not intuitive and I found the Help for that, not very helpful. This is a powerful and comprehensive tree database with research manager and ability to store images and other files as well.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use of main features + lots of room for customization
Biggest Con: Some customizing features are light on help.

Ancestral Quest Review by Ann Marie Bridges,  May 26, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Have used Ancestral Quest for years. I love the ease of the interaction between websites “tips” icons that alert you to new information to review. I have found the program to be very intuitive and so easy to use.

Biggest Pro: Ease of accessibility
Biggest Con: Really don’t have any at this point.

Ancestral Quest Review by Brenda Romney,  Feb 10, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Ancestral Quest is intuitive. It is easy to use and complete

Biggest Pro: Ease of Use

Ancestral Quest Review by C J Crue,  Feb 7, 2017

Not Rated

I first heard about Ancestral Quest through another user. I transferred all of my files to AC and I’ve never looked back. AC is compatible with FamilySearch and I am more than pleased with the service. I recommend AC to all newbies as well as those who’ve been using other programs and they have always thanked me for the tip.

Ancestral Quest Review by Greg,  Feb 7, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been an AncestralQuest user for a number of years. Like many others, I began with PAF, and when I upgraded to more current software, it was a no brainer for me to go to AQ since its developers were involved in the initial development of PAF and the screens and functions were very similar. I loved the fact that I could move almost seemlessly into AQ without a huge learning curve. I love the features and the links into FamilySearch. It is user friendly and easy to learn. Not only that, but I loved that Gaylon Findlay, the developer of AQ, was available at classes held at the Riverton Family History Library in Riverton, Utah, and when I had questions I could go directly to the source. I have looked at other commercial software packages, but remain very happy using Ancestral Quest. I like that AQ is continuously supported and upgraded. The price is very reasonable.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use, excellent interface with FamilySearch, low cost
Biggest Con: None

Ancestral Quest Review by Patrick Owens,  Jan 24, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Purchased Ancestral Quest when product was first available. Have not been disappointed since that time. Well, maybe a couple of hiccups. AQ had consistently made available updates, corrections and new versions that exceeded expectations every time. Have tried other products from time to time and while very good simple does not meet AQ’s quality. Would recommend to anyone from basic casual user to expert genealogist.

Biggest Pro: Resonable cost, stable product, user level from basic to expert, linkage to other products, product support good.
Biggest Con: None at this time.

Ancestral Quest Review by Phil Miller,  Jan 24, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used Ancestral Quest for many years and cannot imagine a better genealogy software or a better company. The company updates the software constantly and is very responsive if you have any questions or concerns or problems (which is almost never).
The program is first rate in every way and makes doing genealogy research so much easier and faster.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use, updates, service, etc.
Biggest Con: Can’t think of any.

Ancestral Quest Review by Craig,  Jan 23, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used Ancestral Quest, first as PAF and then later I graduated to paid versions. I did try a few other apps back then but none really worked as intuitively for me. I have been very happy with the app all along and its great that the new version 15 has come out with all the upgraded functions. The direct linkage features - particularly linking into the LDS database is wonderful.

Biggest Pro: Linkages into other databases
Biggest Con: Doesn’t allow same sex marriages. I guess its an ideological thing.

Ancestral Quest Review by Leroy Carlson,  Jan 23, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been a user of Ancestral Quest since it first became available, For features, price and ease of use it can’t be beat. I know of no other software firm where the author and head man jumps in and responds to users queries the way Gaylon Findlay does. Their service and constant updates, mostly free, is unmatched.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use, price, service
Biggest Con: None that I have found

Ancestral Quest Review by Don,  Jan 2, 2017

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I used PAF before it (in DOS, and Ancestral Quest from its inception. The user interface is elegant . )It remains my favorite genealogy program except for one increasingly-significant flaw. The software developers steadfastly refuse to program for same-sex relationships and families. I have reluctantly moved to software which is less elegant in operation.

Biggest Pro: Intuitive one-click data entry, including repeat for the most-recent entry in many fielsa
Biggest Con: No provision for same-sex family relationships.

Ancestral Quest Review by Carvel,  Jan 2, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Ancestral Quest is a solid, full-featured desktop program with very rich functionality, but it also includes interfaces with the major online web programs, which gives the best of both worlds. A team of us who are working together use AQ as our platform to work together and share our data.

Biggest Pro: The collaboration feature (a powerful feature to share data with other researchers). No other desktop program has this functionality.
Biggest Con: none.

Ancestral Quest Review by Russell L Gray,  Dec 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Ancestral Quest (AQ) is a full-featured comprehensive genealogy database based on leading-edge technology. AQ can use both its own database file and popular PAF database files. Users can transfer information to and from AQ and FamilySearch Family Tree, and from AQ perform record searches on leading genealogy databases such as Ancestry, FindMyPast, and MyHeritage. User support is excellent and many free tutorials are available.

Biggest Pro: Comprehensive and full-featured.
Biggest Con: None.

Ancestral Quest Review by James R. Marsh,  Dec 29, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I like font used in narrative part of modified register genealogy book printout in PAF, but do not like font used in AQ-14. I was unable to find the option to change font and called techincal service and was told that there is no option available for that and was also told that it may be available in version 15, but I had updated to version 15 and there is still no option for that. How come?

Ancestral Quest Review by Richard Groesbeck,  Dec 29, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I find the program, very easy to use. I love the features, abilities to merge, use sources, photos. LDS users will like the interfaces with familysearch.org. Great software. Great customer support when I’ve had an occasional question.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use, great feature set, LDS familysearch integration
Biggest Con: none.

Show 21-40 »