Ancestral Quest

Click To See Award Winners
by Incline Software (Gaylon Findlay)
This is the program on which the Windows version PAF was based. It uses the same database structure as PAF (Personal Ancestral File). This program has continued to develop and is a very widely used program. PAF users who want to retain their current database but use a supported program might want to try this out. There is also a free version available called Ancestral Quest Basics.

Free • Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.ancquest.com/
Overall234.45 out of 54.45 out of 54.45 out of 54.45 out of 54.45 out of 5 4.45
201453.67 out of 53.67 out of 53.67 out of 53.67 out of 53.67 out of 5 3.67
201345 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00
Earlier144.94 out of 54.94 out of 54.94 out of 54.94 out of 54.94 out of 5 4.94

Add Your Review of Ancestral Quest

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

23 Reviews of Ancestral Quest     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Ancestral Quest Review by muqiang,  Mar 21, 2014

Not Rated

不知道

Biggest Pro: no
Biggest Con: no

Ancestral Quest Review by Romana Tarau,  Jan 21, 2014

Not Rated

Have used PAF since I first started doing genealogy 13 years ago. Since the church no longer supports the Paf program I have upgraded to AQ 14 version and find this software program does the job adequately. There is a feature that would be great to have on this program that would make it stand out above other similar genealogy programs and that would be a 3D view of your genealogy view. This feature I have found on Ancestry.com (free version) to be simple, very user friendly, visually effective in using when giving presentations to large groups etc,
I look forward to more useful additions to AQ14 as it evolves,

Biggest Pro: Ease of use
Biggest Con: No 3D features

Ancestral Quest Review by Cathy Meder-Dempsey,  Jan 3, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’ve used AQ for over 10 years and have never had any major problems. They have a wonderful support group at yahoo groups and someone always has an answer. This past year I had a minor issue that was fixed and included in the new build within a week by the Incline team.
It does everything I want a genealogy program to do.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use and top support!
Biggest Con: None

Ancestral Quest Review by Elaine Mayfield,  Jan 3, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used Ancestral Quest for at least five years and enjoy all the good features everyone else has written about.

There are two features I wish to speak to:
Customer service: I have only had VERY GOOD customer service via email and via telephone. Perhaps in the past there were periods when this wasn’t possible. But my experience is an email answer within hours, or a phone call is returned in 3-5 hours.
Moble available: In a recent meeting it was told this was coming. At the present time a web-style list of family members can be assembled and saved to a mobile device. (can’t remember the name of this style of listing.)

Biggest Pro: Ability to have a collaboration copy to which my family members can add/change information.
Biggest Con: None

Ancestral Quest Review by Tom Marshall,  Jan 2, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

It is so annoying that every time I update the program it have to close my whole stinking computer down for the update to take effect. You have to go through so many hoops to get the update installed it makes me wish I never started with it in the first place.

When I use the FamilySearch tools it drives me crazy that when I make changes it forces the screen to close. I then have to reopen to see what changes I made. It’s such a time waster.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Design flow issues that are not thought out completely.

Ancestral Quest Review by Björn Hansson,  Dec 6, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Det bästa släktforskningsprogram som jag har provat. Jag har använt det sedan det kom i början på 1990 talet.

Biggest Pro: Fantastiskt program
Biggest Con: Fantastiskt program

Google translation: The best genealogy program I’ve tried. I have used it since it came in the early 1990’s.
Biggest Pro: Fantastic program
Biggest Con: Fantastic program

Ancestral Quest Review by Elizabeth,  Jul 15, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Having trialled three genealogy software programmes, I chose AQ for its simplicity, reliability and ease of use. I feel it is the ‘dark horse’ of the genealogy programmes I have seen and I like the fact that it is a tidy, unglitzy, get-on -with-the-job sort of programme. I like the interface in general, it’s attractive enough to not feel old fashioned, although one other programme has a more appealing ‘Edit’ dialogue box, however it does the same thing so that’s just appearance.

Biggest Pro: It does everything I require and more.
Biggest Con: I would have liked to see more website based support similar to one or two of the other programmes. The only email I sent to AQ went unanswered and the main support seems to be via the user group.

Ancestral Quest Review by Dan Garnitz,  Jan 19, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is a great program for most genealogist. It has all the bells and whistles most genealogist want. Developed originally as an addon for PAF, it is know a full blown stand alone package, that can use your PAF data files, and give you the new features you may need, such as new Family Tree access (formerly new FamilySearch), web searches (Ancestry.com) and more. Numerous reports, including a few special reports.

Biggest Pro: Updated regularly to keep current.
Biggest Con: none

Ancestral Quest Review by Brent,  Jan 7, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Solid, solid program (which in the end, is what we really want). Not overly flashy but powerful - it looks on the surface like PAF with color. But under the hood there are tons of powerful new features.

I have used lots of other programs. This one is the best.

With a free basic version, there is no reason not to start with this program.

Biggest Pro: Continually updated with the features that I use and need.
Biggest Con: Can’t think of one.

Ancestral Quest Review by Chris,  Apr 13, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Have tried most ancestrial programs, this is the best

Ancestral Quest Review by D. L. Johnson,  Mar 31, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This does not produce “3-D” singing, dancing flower borders, but it is the gold standard for professional, airtight programming. It is clear that these guys care about the customers’ ultimate goals of reliability, clarity, and capacity. These program does exactly what it says it will do. I have yet to find another one that does.
Others have more decoration on the screens and reports, but I’m more entertained by something I can trust my 4,800 family records to.
After 20 years of family history research, this is the one I trust.

Biggest Pro: Conservative, airtight programming
Biggest Con: None

Ancestral Quest Review by Leroy Carlson,  Jan 3, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using it since Version 1 and have never had any problems. It is intuitive and easy to use. It has immense capability in its features, much more than most could use. Support is the best I have ever seen from any software vendor. It is inexpensive and has a free version. A real buy!

Biggest Pro: Ease of use and product support
Biggest Con: none

Ancestral Quest Review by Dona Thorpe,  Sep 22, 2011

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

It is great, I love it.

Biggest Pro: Professional help is just a phone call or an Email away.
Biggest Con: Once I link to an individual in Family search, other records with the same name are not available to me.

Ancestral Quest Review by Björn Hansson,  Sep 16, 2011

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Ett av dom bästa släktforskningsprogrammen

(translation from Swedish: “One of the best genealogy programs”)

Biggest Pro: Lätt att arbeta med (Easy to work with)
Biggest Con: non (no)

Ancestral Quest Review by Margaret,  Sep 15, 2011

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The developers are excellent at keeping on top of changes to nFS and any other issues found by users. Updates are frequent and free.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use and frequent updates
Biggest Con: none

Ancestral Quest Review by Pete Smee,  Mar 23, 2011

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

An excellent program which allows considerable felxibility in usage, Excellent support available from program Creator and very active user forum

Biggest Pro: ease of use, level of reporting
Biggest Con: lack of templating for events

Ancestral Quest Review by Richard Wolff,  Dec 19, 2009

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I converted from PAF when they didn’t bring out a Windows version. I have absolutely loved AQ. I also like that the program is continually updated and improved. The user community asks for changes and they happen.

Biggest Pro: Sources and images
Biggest Con: Not enough people use it

Ancestral Quest Review by Billie Fogarty,  Apr 10, 2009

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Easy to learn and use. Intuitive and easy source documentation process, which should be one of the criteria to be rated. I have installed and used many of the popular genealogy software programs and always come back to Ancestral Quest because of its straightforward data entry process, research manager, and wide range of features that do not distract the reader with eye-catching add-ons that add little to the substance.

Biggest Pro: Ease of entering source information.

Ancestral Quest Review by Charles Hansen,  Oct 3, 2008

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I started using Ancestral Quest with version 1, and really liked version 2 which I still use. I tried version 3 and it ran so slow on the computer I had then, that I uninstalled version 3 and kept using version 2. Recently I installed version 12, still learning all the new features but it still is a lot like version 2 which I like. I still don’t like not to be able to use more than one picture in the notes or to resize the pictures in the notes. Before I switched to windows I had a program that allowed as many picturs as you wanted in the notes and you could size them individually, so a group picture could be large to see everyone, and a close up could be small.

Charles

Biggest Pro: Ease of use
Biggest Con: Having nearly all the pictures in the scrapbook

Ancestral Quest Review by M Trexler,  Sep 28, 2008

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I am a long time user of Ancestral Quest and until 12 weeks ago all of my ratings would have been 5’s, however I have found a bug in my program and cannot get a answer from Customer Service. I have emailed 5 times and called 3 times, as well as copying and sending my program to them, at their request, for review, but still no response. The problem is when entering new sources and documentation. When entering new documentation that information is added to all people in the program who also have the same source deleting the previous documentation.

Biggest Con: Customer Service

Show 21-23 »