Ancestral Quest

Click To See Award Winners
by Incline Software (Gaylon Findlay)
This is the program on which the Windows version PAF was based. This program has continued to develop and is a very widely used program. PAF users who want to retain their current database but use a supported program might want to try this out. There is also a free version available called Ancestral Quest Basics. They also have a blog.

Free • Purchase • Windows • Mac • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.ancquest.com/
Overall424.73 out of 54.73 out of 54.73 out of 54.73 out of 54.73 out of 5 4.73
2016164.73 out of 54.73 out of 54.73 out of 54.73 out of 54.73 out of 5 4.73
201535 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00
Earlier234.54 out of 54.54 out of 54.54 out of 54.54 out of 54.54 out of 5 4.54

Add Your Review of Ancestral Quest

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

42 Reviews of Ancestral Quest     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Ancestral Quest Review by Welda Lendt,  4 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I started out with PAF and the switch to Ancestral Quest was easy. I have used Ancestral Quest for many years and find there is a way to do just about anything I want to do with my data. The interaction with Family Tree is excellent. Over the years it has constantly gotten better and even easier to use. I salute the author and recommend Ancestral Quest over any other software I have looked at.

Biggest Pro: Possibility to do about anything you would want to do with your data. Well designed.
Biggest Con: Can’t think of any.

Ancestral Quest Review by Frederick C Buss Jr,  Nov 27, 2016

Not Rated

Som how I lost my Key but you say I will need to pay again if this is the case I will need to cancel and delete it.
And when I came on and downloaded your program. I also paid for it What happen now. I thought I printed the Key number. Roots Magic help get your key back. I haven’t done much on your program yet
Email woulb fbuss jr Or punchclown@outlook.com.
Some of us are old like me at 87 and been fighting cancer for 4 years now. But this program help me get tho the day as long with Family Search.org

Ancestral Quest Review by Elizabeth,  Oct 25, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have reviewed AQ before and really like the programme, having tried most of the others over recent times. The one thing I would like to see from my own point of view is in the Individual Summary, where any notes added to an event get cut off short once they run out of space (I’m not talking about really long notes, but one or two sentences). Other programmes I have tried allow for the notes to run on until complete but the AQ table format seems to only allow so many characters before it cuts off in mid sentence.

I know these notes can be added to the sources but I would prefer to be able to read them on the event itself rather than skipping to the sources to see whether there are any additional notes (separate from the main Notes section itself I mean).

I’d also like the ability to include a picture on the Title page of a book when creating it, I can’t see a way of doing that yet short of printing the title separately onto a pre-printed paper with the picture already on it.

These features would make the programme perfect as far as I am concerned.

Biggest Pro: Very clear and comprehensive.
Biggest Con: Nothing major but would like to see the above enhancements.

Ancestral Quest Review by Nancy Greenhalgh,  Oct 25, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I used PAF years ago, but switched to Ancestral Quest when support for PAF was no longer available. The transition was super easy. I have tried other programs, but nothing is better than Ancestral Quest in my opinion. It just keeps getting better and better.

Biggest Pro: Their dedication to improvement of the product, and their fantastic customer service.
Biggest Con: None I can think of right now.

Ancestral Quest Review by Patrick Owens,  Oct 25, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

My usage of Ancestral Quest goes back to AQ version 2.0 back in the 90’s. I have either purchased or upgraded all the version since that time. It was a good program in the beginning with just the basics. I believe that it has progressed to a great product today. I plan on purchasing the next version asap. Even today I am still learning some of its many features it has available. I have tried several other products and even though they are good I find that I can maintain better control of details in AQ.

Biggest Pro: Attached images, better source control, online collaboration, like scrap book.
Biggest Con: None at this time.

Ancestral Quest Review by Gene L. Jeffries,  Oct 25, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Program: Easy to work with. Good instructions. Very fair price.

Personnel: On the occasions I have had to phone, I have found them to be hospitable, listening, and excellent in
understanding and solving problems.

Projection: 1) I would dearly love to have the Scrapbook picture area (that holds six pictures) receive multiple
pictures via drag ‘n drop. It would save much time;
2) I would love to have a Surname box where one could be located without having to drag through the
entire list by means of the side bar.

Biggest Pro: Program & Personnel
Biggest Con: Projections 1 & 2, as stated above

Ancestral Quest Review by Carvel,  Oct 25, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Ancestral Quest is the only desktop program that supports online collaboration: the sharing of genealogy databases without having to send GEDCOM files back and forth. It is as easy as checking out an online book. Quick, easy, and effective.

Another big benefit: because this architecture puts our genealogy database in the cloud, we automatically have backup copies on my hard drive and the hard drives of my cousins who are also working on the same data.

This is a MUST HAVE capability for anyone who is doing shared research on your ancestry!

Biggest Pro: Collaboration: because our genealogy file is in the cloud, my relatives and I can work together on the same data, sharing our work. It is the only program with this capability.
Biggest Con: none

Ancestral Quest Review by Carol Palmer,  Sep 27, 2016

Not Rated

Ancestral Quest is the best genealogy program that I have found! Love it!

Biggest Pro: works great with family search. and Love the color coding.
Biggest Con: no app as yet!

Ancestral Quest Review by Michael Richter,  Sep 26, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used Ancestral Quest for Windows for many years. Fantastic software! Full featured and very stable.

I recently purchased a MAC license as well and now use Ancestral Quest on both platforms without problems. I can actually share the same database.

Very pleased with the program on both operating systems!

Biggest Pro: Full featured, runs on Mac or Windows
Biggest Con: No mobile features

Ancestral Quest Review by Anny,  Sep 24, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

It is easy to use and connect with Familysearch

Ancestral Quest Review by Ann Marie Bridges,  Sep 24, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used Ancestral Quest for years, absolutely love it, and strongly encourage others to buy it and use it. When they do, they all comment on how much they, too, like the program. It’s definitely a keeper. Thanks, Gaylon and staff for the great work.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use; great for both beginners and advanced genealogists.
Biggest Con: Nothing, really.

Ancestral Quest Review by Phil Miller,  Sep 23, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I started with PAF, but soon went with Ancestral Quest after researching other genealogy software and AQ has always been WONDERFUL!
It’s everything I ever wanted and needed from genealogy software and has allowed me to keep my family lines and research very organized, which is vital in genealogy.
Also, Incline Software is extremely responsive if you ever have a question or problem (which is very rare) and the Company is constantly upgrading and improving.
I can’t say enough good or positive about this software and this Company and the people who work there!

Biggest Pro: Compatibility with FamilySearch.org; continual upgrading and improving; Company responsiveness and employees.
Biggest Con: None, no complaints at all.

Ancestral Quest Review by Margaret Thompson,  Sep 20, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is the greatest thing ever for keeping track of everyone in your family, including living individuals. It works wonderfully with FamilySearchFamilyTree. It takes only a few hours (at the most) to get an email response from Gaylon Findley or his support team. They are quick to fix problems and work on adding requested features. Now it is available in Windows and Mac versions.

Biggest Pro: Short response time for questions.
Biggest Con: Not used by more people.

Ancestral Quest Review by Frantisek Pastor,  Apr 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Ancestral Quest 14 is an excellent genealogy software for Windows. It has a very good and a very nice design, it is a multilanguage software and it is very simple for an using.

Biggest Pro: A support and a reasonable price.
Biggest Con: None.

Ancestral Quest Review by Gary,  Feb 6, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Not Mac native software. A shoehorning of software developed for the PC. Not only does it show in the sad user interface (not up to Mac standards), but you’ll like find your finder stops working properly after you run the program.

Biggest Pro: Looks to be full featured.
Biggest Con: NOT MAC NATIVE. BUGGY - WILL MESS UP YOUR FINDER.

Ancestral Quest Review by Anonymous,  Jan 23, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Have used the program for over 20 years. I especially like the support that is offered and it’s ease of use. There are a good array of reports and charts that allow you to view your data in a logical fashion. As well, over the years there have been a number of upgrades which are done seamlessly. Good value for the price point.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use

Ancestral Quest Review by Anonymous,  Aug 26, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I really liked this, and I got my family tree to go back to the 1500s.

Biggest Pro: Goes back as far as you can get.
Biggest Con: Doesn’t stretch out to siblings, only parents.

Ancestral Quest Review by HKhnling,  Jun 17, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Super Programm !

Biggest Pro: PAF ähnlich, sehr gut mit zu arbeiten.
Biggest Con: Gedcom leider nicht 1 zu 1 in deutsche, überarbeitete Gedcom zu übernehmen und umgekehrt

Google translate: Super program!
Biggest Pro: PAF similar to work very well with.
Biggest Con: not 1 to 1 to accept Gedcom in German, and vice versa revised GEDCOM

Ancestral Quest Review by G Dalton,  Jan 3, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I started using Ancestral Quest several years ago because of its built-in links into FamilySearch. Other programs provide similar links, but I chose AQ because the screens are very similar to what I had become accustomed to with PAF (Personal Ancestral File). Using AQ, I didn’t have to learn a completely new system for adding, displaying, and navigating through family information. I was pleased to discover that Ancestral Quest and the latest versions of PAF were designed by the same people–hence, the similarities in use. I have also been pleased that AQ sends out regular notifications of updates along with very clear descriptions on why the update was created and what problems, if any, were addressed. The updates are free and easy to download. Gathering and documenting my family history information is challenge enough; I don’t want to fight software!

Biggest Pro: Very similar to PAF; works well and is well-supported.

Ancestral Quest Review by jack branson,  Jul 31, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

none

Show 21-40 »