Ages

by Jom Daub
The “comfortable” genealogy program, with a nice tree-drawing capability. Multi-lingual in 11 languages. Website in English or German.

Purchase • Windows • Full Featured
http://www.daubnet.com/english/ages.html
Overall84.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 54.8 out of 5 4.80
20140    No Ratings
201325 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00
Earlier64.25 out of 54.25 out of 54.25 out of 54.25 out of 54.25 out of 5 4.25

Add Your Review of Ages

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

8 Reviews of Ages     RSS 2.0 RSS                   Add Your Review

Ages Review by Wulf von Restorff,  Oct 7, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Easy to use program.
Excellent features for graphics and for reports
Almopst all qualituies of a subject may be sampled

Ages Review by tws,  Feb 18, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Very comprehensive. Only few things that could be improved, incl. stability.

Biggest Pro: Most comprehensive software available
Biggest Con: Stability

Ages Review by DougVL,  Sep 4, 2011

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Finally! A relatively simple program with an “All Relatives” chart. All the charts are nice and well laid out, and the program gives 3 choices for chart output: to printer, to PDF, and to disk.

I started out with PAF, so I still use it for data entry and management, but it doesn’t print tree charts. Ages! works directly with GEDCOM files (no need to import), so it’s easy to use with my family data. I haven’t used Ages! for any data entry or editing, just data output.

My main interest in genealogy is in seeing who my relatives are, rather than just ancestors, so the “All Relatives” chart is a very important feature to me in a genealogy program. It’s also nice to have for sharing the info with other family members at family gatherings. People like to see themselves on charts, so they can see how they’re related to other people. And since many of the people at gatherings are cousins, I need an “All Relatives” chart or, maybe better yet, an “Everyone” chart like GenBox and Family Historian have.

The reports (called Lists) output choices are Word [RTF], PDF, and disk

When making an “All Relatives” chart to take along to a funeral, I learned that selecting a person to edit made that person the default selection for chart creation. If no one is selected in the Person Edit window, then each time I would try to revise my chart, I would have to re-find my base person for the chart. And with 1900 names in the file, it takes a while to scroll to the correct name.

I like and recommend this program. You wouldn’t really need any other one, either. I’m just set in my ways and stick with PAF for most work. I also use Brother’s Keeper, Ahnenblatt, GedReporter, GenoPro Beta (last free version), and OnePageGenealogy.

Biggest Pro: Charts
Biggest Con: navigation to a specific person could be a little easier, but it’s still not bad.

Ages Review by MarB,  Aug 17, 2011

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

- direct GEDCOM-saving
- with calc fields (like Excel) very personalized Output (List/Trees)
- great sources management
- good places management
- supports weblinks, e-mail and GPS-Geo-coordinates (all GEDCOM-compatible)

Looking forward for the update of v1.53

Biggest Pro: very good user interface, great GEDCOM-Support, calc fields
Biggest Con: few people behind the software, few updates

Ages Review by Hazel,  Oct 21, 2009

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I really love Ages! I’ve been using it for years now, and I’m still very happy with my choice. The programm has had a number for free updates since, which added new stuff to it.
It took me a bit to wrap my head around its layout system, but now I see the advantages in their flexibility. The only time I had to use an additional program was when I wanted to put my data on a website. But even that was easy, because Ages! stores your data as a GEDCOM file already - so no export was necessary. I decided to use phpmygedcom ( somebody helped me set it up - see other reviews on this site), and simply upload my GEDCOM every now and then. As it turns out, that is more difficult to set up, but way easier to update.

Biggest Pro: flexibility and ease of use
Biggest Con: does not create a website

Ages Review by Hippo,  May 7, 2009

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

On opening of a GEDCOM file it said there are errors… that’s all. What kind of errors?.. Where?.. nobody knows…
It couldn’t even find multimedia files in the same directory where the GEDCOM file was opened from… (The files had no path to a subdirectory - just names, so the program must find them!)

Biggest Pro: do not see any
Biggest Con: I unistall it too early to find out…

Ages Review by W Daykin,  Apr 12, 2009

Not Rated

Easy to use and draws excellent charts.
excellent access to photos contained in a repositary.
Poor factory backup however.

Biggest Pro: Charts media access
Biggest Con: Poor factory backup

Ages Review by Christian R.,  Oct 25, 2008

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I ike this programm because it saves directly to GEDCOM-Format. Also the sources are well implemented. And all this goes well with publishing online with PhpGedView. So I work primarily with Ages to enter all my genealogical data. For the output I use also other Software, because here I can’t do anything with Ages

Biggest Pro: Perfect to build GEDCOM-Databases with full sources support and PGV-compatibility
Biggest Con: Grafic, Tables and Lists lacks some features