Family Book Creator

Click To See Award Winners
by Stefan Harms
A plugin for Family Tree Maker for Windows that lets you create a personalized book from your data in your Family Tree Maker database. Different book formats are available such as DOCX, DOC, RTF, PDF, EPUB, JPEG and PNG. Requires FTM 2012 or later.

Purchase • Windows • Utility
http://www.familybookcreator.com/
Overall494.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5 4.40
2017334.25 out of 54.25 out of 54.25 out of 54.25 out of 54.25 out of 5 4.25
201695 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00
Earlier75 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00

Add Your Review of Family Book Creator

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

49 Reviews of Family Book Creator     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 21 - 40                   Add Your Review

Family Book Creator Review by Steve Embley,  Apr 3, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Ordered download and I can’t download app. Trying to find a CD to install that way. This is a disaster trying to get refund , but that’s secret also. Don’t by this.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: everything

Family Book Creator Review by Allan Murphy,  Mar 27, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Trying to download the program is very cumbersome. I have had it for two weeks or more and i still don’t have it working. Should be streamlined it’s what i would call a very busy page. I Will work at it again today.

Biggest Pro: Don’t know yet
Biggest Con: Same as above.

Family Book Creator Review by Marcia,  Mar 24, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Having the same problem as Robert Sear. Trying to download and it’s telling me I don’t have Family Tree 2014.1, but my version is Family Tree Maker 2014 which I am just now updating. Please tell my how to get this program to recognize my Family Tree

Family Book Creator Review by Jim Goodwillie,  Mar 22, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I bought the program and installed it but have many questions. There is no phone support and I can’t find any way to contact them except their web site that doesn’t help me. At this point it is useless to me. I can’t even find out how to register it. I just keep getting a comment that I have X days remaining on my free trial. Have the email confirming the purchase of FBC and a three license package. Looks like just what I want but at this point, I can’t use it or get help. The FAQ are no help.

Biggest Pro: Seems like just the program I need to develop an ancestor book to give to my granddaughter at her wedding.
Biggest Con: Can’t contact FBC for help outside the web site which is no help

Family Book Creator Review by Christine Dawson,  Mar 14, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

As the others. Just downloaded the software and need the password to install. Is there an issue with this problem.

Family Book Creator Review by Terry Embrey,  Mar 10, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Just downloaded the software and need the password so I can install. Can someone please get back to me. Seems like the password is something you would want to provide with the download. So far my rating is not so goodbut I’m sure will improve if I can ever get to the point of using it.
Thanks.

Family Book Creator Review by Marcia,  Mar 7, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Biggest Con: cant get in touch with anyone~ just paid for this software and I cant open it what is the password

Family Book Creator Review by Lorri Digney,  Feb 26, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have created 3 Family History Books in a scrap booking style format. After discovering Stefan’s plugin to Family Tree Maker I can now produce my books with a table of contents, illustrated family charts, index of names and places. I am so impressed with this product, it has given my many years of work a very professional look.

Most importantly it adds life & ease of interpretation to my books.

Stefan is very helpful and timely with his assistance, which is extremley refreshing.

I have recommended this product to my friends, other family historians and Genealogical Societies to which I belong.

Biggest Pro: Exceptional support; user friendly; exceptional end product

Family Book Creator Review by Ivan,  Feb 6, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Genealogy can be extremely boring to friends and family. However, having purchased Family Book Creator I have discovered that people do become interested when your efforts are produced in book form. I have produced four books for friends. They say that it must have taken a long time. Little do they know that producing the Book is the easiest part and takes about a minute!
Great product.

Biggest Pro: The flexibility and content.
Biggest Con: Still looking for one.

Family Book Creator Review by Robert B Sear,  Feb 6, 2017

Not Rated

After seeing my comment Stefan mailed me and solved my problem.
The program is great and I am finding straight forward and easy to use.
Thank you.

Family Book Creator Review by Robert B Sear,  Feb 6, 2017

Not Rated

I purchased it this weekend but is keeps telling me I do not have family tree maker and will not install.
Had family tree maker for 20 years and right up to date as of last Friday. Cannot contact to get it sorted or refund.

Family Book Creator Review by S. M. Rivard,  Feb 6, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I found this little gem of a plugin by accident and by reading the reviews. I am now using it and producing amazing little books for my family. It is very easy to use and includes all the information I want it to. It is simply brilliant!

Biggest Pro: Ease of use and the support from the builder is awesome!
Biggest Con: None

Family Book Creator Review by R van Brakel,  Jan 29, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been working with Family Tree Maker since 2008. From the beginning I wasn’t very satisfied with the book options, But since the programme is so userfriendly I kept using it. When Ancestry announced to discontinue FTM last year, I experimented with RootsMagic and Legacy. Both were not able to produce reports that came close to FTM. However, when I tested Family Book Creator with FTM 2014.1, I finally found the quality of report that I needed. It is a very easy to use plugin, which produces a very nice balanced book with pictures and text. I got a lot of positive responses from family member that now have a much better overview of their ancestors. Compared to the FTM software itself, the price is relatively high. However it is really worth the money. I am also looking forward to the Dutch language version.

Biggest Pro: Very nice books from your tree, Exceptional support from the builder
Biggest Con: The GUI is not as nice as FTM 2014.1 itself

Family Book Creator Review by Laura McEachern,  Dec 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This plug in is exactly what I was looking for! I have completed the task of building my family tree in Family Tree Maker and wanted a way of converting the digital data into book form. With the press of a button, Family Book Creator creates a document including table of contents, photos and charts. When I contacted the developer with a problem, he very quickly responded and was able to solve my issue within a very short time.

Biggest Pro: Exceptional support from the developer of the Plug In
Biggest Con: None

Family Book Creator Review by Ian Grant,  Dec 9, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Best add on for Family Tree Creator that I have ever tried. I have been looking for the best way of letting my extended family see the current state of my research and this is definitely it. Much of those interested are elderly and are not PC savvy so do not feel confident in going on line to view the data.
So easy to use, you have great selections on what data, documents, and photos to output and what you can suppress. The various formats of output surly suite most if not all needs.
Excellent software and so easy to use. I am much impressed and will recommend FBC to all users of FTM that I know. Well done.

Biggest Pro: The ability to show and hide all sorts of data.
Biggest Con: Nothing that I can find.

Family Book Creator Review by Michael Downs,  Aug 13, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Probably the most useful piece of software I have for my genealogy research.

Without any special effort, I simply pressed a button and it produced a wonderful book that was immediately useful in detecting mistakes and miss-matching of evidential documentation, and bad links to families.

I am going to get a lot of use out of Family Book Creator, it has already made my life and hobby so much easier.

Biggest Pro: Quality of the Output
Biggest Con: Hard to master at first, but it grows on you

Family Book Creator Review by Martin,  Aug 7, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Best Plug In ever
Very good support from the developer of the Plug In.

Biggest Pro: Best support from the developer of the Plug In

Family Book Creator Review by Dick Humphrey,  Jul 21, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

As a Family Tree Maker user, have you wanted a straightforward way to export your entire tree content into book form readable in the future by family kin?

If you have tried the built-in book feature in FTM’s Publish workspace, you know that it is not a book creation tool, but rather a technique for combining multiple FTM charts, reports and Smart Stories such that the collection can be printed as a book with table of contents, etc. There is no simple way to generate all the individual reports and charts for all the individuals in the tree.

Family Book Creator installs as a plugin software component for Family Tree Maker. Operating from Plugins on the Tools menu, Family Book Creator produces a Rich Text Format file (RTF) in a matter of minutes. Microsoft Word can then quickly process this file and provide output to a printer or PDF file.

FEATURES OF FAMILY BOOK CREATOR
• Three output book styles: Relatives, Ancestors or Descendants of the selected person.
• Standard, configurable book items at the beginning – title, colophon, dedication, forward, introduction and table of contents.
W• Optional indexes at the end of the book – bibliography (very nicely done listing of sources with repositories), index of places either in city, county, state, country order or reverse, index of individuals (with assorted arrangements) and source citations either as footnotes, endnotes or embedded in the narrative sections.
• The genealogical portions focus on families. Small family charts enhance the beginning section for each family. Profile portraits may be optionally included as well as person and research notes.
• The content of facts is presented in narrative style similar to that of Smart Stories in FTM, but use sentence templates built-in to FBC. These paragraphs are not great prose, but convey the data in readable style. Facts can be selectively excluded for the family head, partner and children.
• Optional photo albums for the family head persons.
• Book content can be output in at least eight languages.
• Even though there are lots of choices, the default selection makes impressive output.

SIMPLE PROCEDURE
1. With Family Book Creator produce the output RTF book file.
2. With Microsoft Word
• Save the output RTF file as DOCX
• Select all (entire document), refresh with F9, and resave.
• Print or save as PDF.
Special coding by FBC allows the table of contents and various indexes to be updated via the refresh operation, F9, in Microsoft Word.

SAMPLE BOOK CREATION - Using FTM2014 (Ancestry version) and Microsoft Word 2010
• Test FTM tree: 185 individuals, 5 generations, 1275 facts, 220 places, 565 media, 78 sources, 275 source citations
• Book option selected: “Relatives”
• Family Book Creator: RTF book file of 237 pages produced in 3 minutes for 127 families including photos.
• Microsoft Word:
Save as DOCX file: 5 seconds
Refresh table of contents and indexes (F9): 15 seconds
Save as PDF file: 15 seconds

The DOCX file is immediately ready for back-to-back, book style printing. Large FTM trees may take considerable time (tens of minutes?) for the output file to be generated. So be patient.

NOTES
• Free trial version available for 30 days.
• No Mac version available. Mac FTM tree could be copied to Windows and RTF file copied back to Mac system.
• Software download only, no disc.
• Microsoft Word needed to render and output the book file produced by Family Book Creator
• Changes made in Family Tree Maker do not pass directly to the output book as they do with books created internally in Family Tree Maker. It is necessary to export the data again, creating a new output file. However the output book file can be edited in Microsoft Word; the page numbers and indexes will be adjusted automatically with the refresh operation (F9).
• To make a book for a portion of a tree, consider exporting the desired individuals to a separate FTM tree first.
• Steps, helps and explanations in well-written English are remarkably appropriate and clear.

Biggest Pro: Works! Extremely configurable; remarkable quick to produce.

Family Book Creator Review by Reuben Kummer,  Jun 20, 2016

Not Rated

I know how hard it is to keep up with this genealogy efforts. It looks great. Keep up the good work. Sweatt Genealogy

http://www.sweattgenealogy.com/

Family Book Creator Review by John Lazar,  May 3, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have tried several family tree/history programs and this plug-in is by far the best of the bunch. Extremely easy to use. It produces an outstanding report. Gives you the option of selecting the details to include/exclude and saves what would be hours of manually constructing a story using standard reports from ancestry programs.

Biggest Pro: Easy of use, visual presentation and time saved
Biggest Con: Report limited to a single home person at a time.

« Show 1-20    Show 41-49 »