Family Book Creator

Click To See Award Winners
by Stefan Harms
A plugin for Family Tree Maker for Windows that lets you create a personalized book from your data in your Family Tree Maker database. Different book formats are available such as DOCX, DOC, RTF, PDF, EPUB, JPEG and PNG. Requires FTM 2012 or later.

Purchase • Windows • Utility
http://www.familybookcreator.com/
Overall303.99 out of 53.99 out of 53.99 out of 53.99 out of 53.99 out of 5 3.99
2017143.15 out of 53.15 out of 53.15 out of 53.15 out of 53.15 out of 5 3.15
201695 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00
Earlier75 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00

Add Your Review of Family Book Creator

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

30 Reviews of Family Book Creator     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 21 - 30                   Add Your Review

Family Book Creator Review by John Lazar,  May 3, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have tried several family tree/history programs and this plug-in is by far the best of the bunch. Extremely easy to use. It produces an outstanding report. Gives you the option of selecting the details to include/exclude and saves what would be hours of manually constructing a story using standard reports from ancestry programs.

Biggest Pro: Easy of use, visual presentation and time saved
Biggest Con: Report limited to a single home person at a time.

Family Book Creator Review by Jane,  Mar 19, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This plug in is incredibly easy to use and so versatile. I’ve never been happy with the standard report offerings, nor how difficult it is to assemble a book on a large family with the in-built FTM functions, but using the plug in I’m able to set up the reports in a manner with which I am quite pleased. It’s also so quick and easy to print off copies of my research to share.

Biggest Pro: Enables all ancestor options, quick report preparation.
Biggest Con: No step-families included.

Family Book Creator Review by John Martens,  Jan 27, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been searching for a long time for a program that I could use to create a professional looking book, I came across FBC, I tried it, and lo and behold, the end result was what I had been looking for. This program is easy to use and the service from FBC is great. I suggest that anyone that wants to have a professional looking book to get this plug-in.

Biggest Pro: Takes the guess work out of making a professional looking book.
Biggest Con: None

Family Book Creator Review by Ingvar Nore,  Dec 30, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Thanks for a very good program. I have been looking for this type a program for a very long time. I have used MS Word during 20 years which have taken vrey long time to use. And the update will newver be done. Now I can create Family Book very easy. I hope you will go on with the development of this program.

Biggest Pro: I spara a lot of time then i create a new book. The included dual anchester diagram is very good!

Family Book Creator Review by Ed Hondl,  Dec 29, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using FBC for over a year now. I would strongly recommend it. It’s worth the $60. I have found it to be a significantly easier solution to use than the Books solution provided by FTM. As I add people, facts, pictures, etc., to FTM I don’t have to do anything additional to get them included in the next version of the book created by FBC. In FTM I would also have to edit your book to include the additional people and or families. It becomes difficult once your have lots of people and families in your book. It also has some nice configurable options for the main part of your book (the families sections). My current FBC output includes over 2500 people and is over 900 pages long.

The one draw back for FBC is the limitations it has in the front sections of the book (Title page, Foreward, Introduction, etc. I have about 20 pages of information in these front pages which include pictures, charts, and text that I can’t maintain within FBC for various reasons. I have found it acceptable to just have a separate MS Word document containing my front pages. I just copy these pages into the output created by FBC… once I save the RTF doc as a MS Word doc . I am somewhat proficient with MS Word so it’s no big deal.

Biggest Pro: People, facts, pictures, etc., added to FTM are automatically included in next generated FBC book. No additional work like there is with FTM’s Book solution
Biggest Con: Limitations in what can be done within the “front book” sections

Family Book Creator Review by Martha White,  Dec 27, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have printed ancestor books for many people in my family using Family Book Creator, and they love them! This plug-in takes the genealogy facts I have entered into Family Tree Maker and puts the information into a very readable format, complete with family trees for each generation of the family, which makes it easy even for a non-genealogist to follow. My family tells me that the reports I’m giving them now are very understandable, and, frankly, not as boring as they used to be. I am very glad I purchased Family Book Creator.

Biggest Pro: Beautifully done output from FTM, fully editable in MS Word

Family Book Creator Review by Daryl Rickards,  Dec 25, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Overall a very good package with good user manual to explain the various options available. Would recommend to FTM2014 users. I am currently producing a Book of Descendants (8000 persons from the 1550’s to present day) which because of the limitations of MS Word requires me to produce the data into 7 volumes containing various generations - FBC handles this extremely well.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use
Biggest Con: Not all FTM facts are represented as yet but gradually being included

Family Book Creator Review by Beverly Sullivan,  Dec 25, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The program works great. My family and I have really enjoyed the books that have resulted using Family Book Creator. I wouldn’t hesitate to buy any program they create. The Customer Service has been top notch and I couldn’t be more pleased.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use and makes a nice presentation.
Biggest Con: Having to insert the media catagory FBC_PhotoAlbum_FulllWidth and not being able to change all the photos to that catagory at one time.

Family Book Creator Review by Dag Arne Danielsen,  Dec 11, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Family Book Creator is an plugin for Family Tree Maker, that gives me just FANTASTIC reports from FTM !
I’ve used it for two years and I am VERY satisfied with the program.
Very easy to use this plugin.

Biggest Pro: Fantastic reports !! Very easy to use this plugin.

Family Book Creator Review by John Donaldson,  Nov 1, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

So why would you pay around $50 to buy a book creator for Family Tree Maker when there is a free book making module in Family Tree Maker?

In my opinion it all gets down to what you want to do with a book using facts and data in Family Tree Maker. My guess is that for the majority of Family Tree Maker users who produce the occasional book, the book module is adequate. Maybe stop reading here?

But if you want to produce a more serious book, then the FBC offers you a better option.
The book module in Family Tree Maker produces its output as a PDF file, which you can print or send to a printing service. Whilst you have the ability to add text items and use Smart Stories, any editing changes all have to occur inside Family Tree Maker, which can limit your flexibility to tweak the book. You effectively cannot edit and tweak a PDF file, which severely limits serious book writing!

On the other hand the output from the FBC is Rich Text Format (RTF) and it opens in MS Word, a fully-fledged word processor so you can post edit your book endlessly.

Better still the FBC RTF output utilizes MS Word’s powerful, field, styles, and other high-end features including an updatable Index of Places which is not supported in Family Tree Maker’s book module. Now a lot of you may not be aware of nor use these features in MS Word, but to have them generated and available to you as part of your book preparation is priceless. I have written a few books now, and can testify to using more than just the basic features of MS Word.

Also, if you choose to send your book to a boutique book publisher who have templates and can readily exploit and edit your MS Word file and/or then load it to a Desk Top Publisher (DTP) application like Adobe InDesign for the ultimate output. Most commercial printing is done in InDesign and I have taken a book from Family Tree Maker via FBC and finalised it in InDesign. The ultimate!!!!

Perhaps the best way to explain the two approaches is to compare a standard $15~20,000 family hatchback with an upmarket Mercedes, BMW or Audi etc. You can do the shopping in both, but I know which one is nicest to travel in and does the job better.

Incidentally, if you are seriously interested in producing books using your Family Tree Maker data, you can download a trial and limited version of FBC from: http://www.familybookcreator.com/en/menu-download-en

Prerequisites
• Family Tree Maker for Windows
Family Book Creator is a plugin for Family Tree Maker. This means you need to have Family Tree Maker for Windows installed in order to install and use the plugin. There is no Mac OS X Version available.
• Microsoft Word
You will also need a word processor like Microsoft Word. It is possible to use OpenOffice Writer as word processor as well, but then not all Family Book Creator features are supported.

Trial Edition
This plugin is distributed on a try-before-you-buy basis, which gives you the opportunity to test the demo version to make sure it works right on your computer and you really need it. To continue using it after the trial period is over you have to license the product.
You can test the plugin without a license for a limited period of time. The trial limitations are:
• only the data of seventy families are shown
• once in a while instead of the lifespan for an individual just the text “Free - Trial” is show inside family charts
• from time to time the month of an event is replaced with “trial month” inside narrative sections
• every page contains a watermark on the background
• the button “Save Settings” is not enabled

Finally

As you can tell I like the FBC as it gets the best out of Family Tree Maker in a format that can be readily edited with all the features that a commercial book has.

John Donaldson

Biggest Pro: You can fully edit the output
Biggest Con: None really. It does the job it claims to do

« Show 1-20