Family Book Creator

Click To See Award Winners
by Stefan Harms
A plugin for Family Tree Maker for Windows that lets you create a personalized book from your data in your Family Tree Maker database. Different book formats are available such as DOCX, DOC, RTF, PDF, EPUB, JPEG and PNG. Requires FTM 2012 or later.

Purchase • Windows • Utility
http://www.familybookcreator.com/
Overall215 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00
201755 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00
201695 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00
Earlier75 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00

Add Your Review of Family Book Creator

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

21 Reviews of Family Book Creator     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Book Creator Review by Ivan,  Feb 6, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Genealogy can be extremely boring to friends and family. However, having purchased Family Book Creator I have discovered that people do become interested when your efforts are produced in book form. I have produced four books for friends. They say that it must have taken a long time. Little do they know that producing the Book is the easiest part and takes about a minute!
Great product.

Biggest Pro: The flexibility and content.
Biggest Con: Still looking for one.

Family Book Creator Review by Robert B Sear,  Feb 6, 2017

Not Rated

After seeing my comment Stefan mailed me and solved my problem.
The program is great and I am finding straight forward and easy to use.
Thank you.

Family Book Creator Review by Robert B Sear,  Feb 6, 2017

Not Rated

I purchased it this weekend but is keeps telling me I do not have family tree maker and will not install.
Had family tree maker for 20 years and right up to date as of last Friday. Cannot contact to get it sorted or refund.

Family Book Creator Review by S. M. Rivard,  Feb 6, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I found this little gem of a plugin by accident and by reading the reviews. I am now using it and producing amazing little books for my family. It is very easy to use and includes all the information I want it to. It is simply brilliant!

Biggest Pro: Ease of use and the support from the builder is awesome!
Biggest Con: None

Family Book Creator Review by R van Brakel,  Jan 29, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been working with Family Tree Maker since 2008. From the beginning I wasn’t very satisfied with the book options, But since the programme is so userfriendly I kept using it. When Ancestry announced to discontinue FTM last year, I experimented with RootsMagic and Legacy. Both were not able to produce reports that came close to FTM. However, when I tested Family Book Creator with FTM 2014.1, I finally found the quality of report that I needed. It is a very easy to use plugin, which produces a very nice balanced book with pictures and text. I got a lot of positive responses from family member that now have a much better overview of their ancestors. Compared to the FTM software itself, the price is relatively high. However it is really worth the money. I am also looking forward to the Dutch language version.

Biggest Pro: Very nice books from your tree, Exceptional support from the builder
Biggest Con: The GUI is not as nice as FTM 2014.1 itself

Family Book Creator Review by Laura McEachern,  Dec 30, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This plug in is exactly what I was looking for! I have completed the task of building my family tree in Family Tree Maker and wanted a way of converting the digital data into book form. With the press of a button, Family Book Creator creates a document including table of contents, photos and charts. When I contacted the developer with a problem, he very quickly responded and was able to solve my issue within a very short time.

Biggest Pro: Exceptional support from the developer of the Plug In
Biggest Con: None

Family Book Creator Review by Ian Grant,  Dec 9, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Best add on for Family Tree Creator that I have ever tried. I have been looking for the best way of letting my extended family see the current state of my research and this is definitely it. Much of those interested are elderly and are not PC savvy so do not feel confident in going on line to view the data.
So easy to use, you have great selections on what data, documents, and photos to output and what you can suppress. The various formats of output surly suite most if not all needs.
Excellent software and so easy to use. I am much impressed and will recommend FBC to all users of FTM that I know. Well done.

Biggest Pro: The ability to show and hide all sorts of data.
Biggest Con: Nothing that I can find.

Family Book Creator Review by Michael Downs,  Aug 13, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Probably the most useful piece of software I have for my genealogy research.

Without any special effort, I simply pressed a button and it produced a wonderful book that was immediately useful in detecting mistakes and miss-matching of evidential documentation, and bad links to families.

I am going to get a lot of use out of Family Book Creator, it has already made my life and hobby so much easier.

Biggest Pro: Quality of the Output
Biggest Con: Hard to master at first, but it grows on you

Family Book Creator Review by Martin,  Aug 7, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Best Plug In ever
Very good support from the developer of the Plug In.

Biggest Pro: Best support from the developer of the Plug In

Family Book Creator Review by Dick Humphrey,  Jul 21, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

As a Family Tree Maker user, have you wanted a straightforward way to export your entire tree content into book form readable in the future by family kin?

If you have tried the built-in book feature in FTM’s Publish workspace, you know that it is not a book creation tool, but rather a technique for combining multiple FTM charts, reports and Smart Stories such that the collection can be printed as a book with table of contents, etc. There is no simple way to generate all the individual reports and charts for all the individuals in the tree.

Family Book Creator installs as a plugin software component for Family Tree Maker. Operating from Plugins on the Tools menu, Family Book Creator produces a Rich Text Format file (RTF) in a matter of minutes. Microsoft Word can then quickly process this file and provide output to a printer or PDF file.

FEATURES OF FAMILY BOOK CREATOR
• Three output book styles: Relatives, Ancestors or Descendants of the selected person.
• Standard, configurable book items at the beginning – title, colophon, dedication, forward, introduction and table of contents.
W• Optional indexes at the end of the book – bibliography (very nicely done listing of sources with repositories), index of places either in city, county, state, country order or reverse, index of individuals (with assorted arrangements) and source citations either as footnotes, endnotes or embedded in the narrative sections.
• The genealogical portions focus on families. Small family charts enhance the beginning section for each family. Profile portraits may be optionally included as well as person and research notes.
• The content of facts is presented in narrative style similar to that of Smart Stories in FTM, but use sentence templates built-in to FBC. These paragraphs are not great prose, but convey the data in readable style. Facts can be selectively excluded for the family head, partner and children.
• Optional photo albums for the family head persons.
• Book content can be output in at least eight languages.
• Even though there are lots of choices, the default selection makes impressive output.

SIMPLE PROCEDURE
1. With Family Book Creator produce the output RTF book file.
2. With Microsoft Word
• Save the output RTF file as DOCX
• Select all (entire document), refresh with F9, and resave.
• Print or save as PDF.
Special coding by FBC allows the table of contents and various indexes to be updated via the refresh operation, F9, in Microsoft Word.

SAMPLE BOOK CREATION - Using FTM2014 (Ancestry version) and Microsoft Word 2010
• Test FTM tree: 185 individuals, 5 generations, 1275 facts, 220 places, 565 media, 78 sources, 275 source citations
• Book option selected: “Relatives”
• Family Book Creator: RTF book file of 237 pages produced in 3 minutes for 127 families including photos.
• Microsoft Word:
Save as DOCX file: 5 seconds
Refresh table of contents and indexes (F9): 15 seconds
Save as PDF file: 15 seconds

The DOCX file is immediately ready for back-to-back, book style printing. Large FTM trees may take considerable time (tens of minutes?) for the output file to be generated. So be patient.

NOTES
• Free trial version available for 30 days.
• No Mac version available. Mac FTM tree could be copied to Windows and RTF file copied back to Mac system.
• Software download only, no disc.
• Microsoft Word needed to render and output the book file produced by Family Book Creator
• Changes made in Family Tree Maker do not pass directly to the output book as they do with books created internally in Family Tree Maker. It is necessary to export the data again, creating a new output file. However the output book file can be edited in Microsoft Word; the page numbers and indexes will be adjusted automatically with the refresh operation (F9).
• To make a book for a portion of a tree, consider exporting the desired individuals to a separate FTM tree first.
• Steps, helps and explanations in well-written English are remarkably appropriate and clear.

Biggest Pro: Works! Extremely configurable; remarkable quick to produce.

Family Book Creator Review by Reuben Kummer,  Jun 20, 2016

Not Rated

I know how hard it is to keep up with this genealogy efforts. It looks great. Keep up the good work. Sweatt Genealogy

http://www.sweattgenealogy.com/

Family Book Creator Review by John Lazar,  May 3, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have tried several family tree/history programs and this plug-in is by far the best of the bunch. Extremely easy to use. It produces an outstanding report. Gives you the option of selecting the details to include/exclude and saves what would be hours of manually constructing a story using standard reports from ancestry programs.

Biggest Pro: Easy of use, visual presentation and time saved
Biggest Con: Report limited to a single home person at a time.

Family Book Creator Review by Jane,  Mar 19, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This plug in is incredibly easy to use and so versatile. I’ve never been happy with the standard report offerings, nor how difficult it is to assemble a book on a large family with the in-built FTM functions, but using the plug in I’m able to set up the reports in a manner with which I am quite pleased. It’s also so quick and easy to print off copies of my research to share.

Biggest Pro: Enables all ancestor options, quick report preparation.
Biggest Con: No step-families included.

Family Book Creator Review by John Martens,  Jan 27, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been searching for a long time for a program that I could use to create a professional looking book, I came across FBC, I tried it, and lo and behold, the end result was what I had been looking for. This program is easy to use and the service from FBC is great. I suggest that anyone that wants to have a professional looking book to get this plug-in.

Biggest Pro: Takes the guess work out of making a professional looking book.
Biggest Con: None

Family Book Creator Review by Ingvar Nore,  Dec 30, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Thanks for a very good program. I have been looking for this type a program for a very long time. I have used MS Word during 20 years which have taken vrey long time to use. And the update will newver be done. Now I can create Family Book very easy. I hope you will go on with the development of this program.

Biggest Pro: I spara a lot of time then i create a new book. The included dual anchester diagram is very good!

Family Book Creator Review by Ed Hondl,  Dec 29, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using FBC for over a year now. I would strongly recommend it. It’s worth the $60. I have found it to be a significantly easier solution to use than the Books solution provided by FTM. As I add people, facts, pictures, etc., to FTM I don’t have to do anything additional to get them included in the next version of the book created by FBC. In FTM I would also have to edit your book to include the additional people and or families. It becomes difficult once your have lots of people and families in your book. It also has some nice configurable options for the main part of your book (the families sections). My current FBC output includes over 2500 people and is over 900 pages long.

The one draw back for FBC is the limitations it has in the front sections of the book (Title page, Foreward, Introduction, etc. I have about 20 pages of information in these front pages which include pictures, charts, and text that I can’t maintain within FBC for various reasons. I have found it acceptable to just have a separate MS Word document containing my front pages. I just copy these pages into the output created by FBC… once I save the RTF doc as a MS Word doc . I am somewhat proficient with MS Word so it’s no big deal.

Biggest Pro: People, facts, pictures, etc., added to FTM are automatically included in next generated FBC book. No additional work like there is with FTM’s Book solution
Biggest Con: Limitations in what can be done within the “front book” sections

Family Book Creator Review by Martha White,  Dec 27, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have printed ancestor books for many people in my family using Family Book Creator, and they love them! This plug-in takes the genealogy facts I have entered into Family Tree Maker and puts the information into a very readable format, complete with family trees for each generation of the family, which makes it easy even for a non-genealogist to follow. My family tells me that the reports I’m giving them now are very understandable, and, frankly, not as boring as they used to be. I am very glad I purchased Family Book Creator.

Biggest Pro: Beautifully done output from FTM, fully editable in MS Word

Family Book Creator Review by Daryl Rickards,  Dec 25, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Overall a very good package with good user manual to explain the various options available. Would recommend to FTM2014 users. I am currently producing a Book of Descendants (8000 persons from the 1550’s to present day) which because of the limitations of MS Word requires me to produce the data into 7 volumes containing various generations - FBC handles this extremely well.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use
Biggest Con: Not all FTM facts are represented as yet but gradually being included

Family Book Creator Review by Beverly Sullivan,  Dec 25, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The program works great. My family and I have really enjoyed the books that have resulted using Family Book Creator. I wouldn’t hesitate to buy any program they create. The Customer Service has been top notch and I couldn’t be more pleased.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use and makes a nice presentation.
Biggest Con: Having to insert the media catagory FBC_PhotoAlbum_FulllWidth and not being able to change all the photos to that catagory at one time.

Family Book Creator Review by Dag Arne Danielsen,  Dec 11, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Family Book Creator is an plugin for Family Tree Maker, that gives me just FANTASTIC reports from FTM !
I’ve used it for two years and I am VERY satisfied with the program.
Very easy to use this plugin.

Biggest Pro: Fantastic reports !! Very easy to use this plugin.

Show 21-21 »