Family Book Creator

Click To See Award Winners
by Stefan Harms
A plugin for Family Tree Maker for Windows that lets you create a personalized book from your data in your Family Tree Maker database. Different book formats are available such as DOCX, DOC, RTF, PDF, EPUB, JPEG and PNG. Requires FTM 2012 or later.

Purchase • Windows • Utility
http://www.familybookcreator.com/
Overall374.08 out of 54.08 out of 54.08 out of 54.08 out of 54.08 out of 5 4.08
2017213.68 out of 53.68 out of 53.68 out of 53.68 out of 53.68 out of 5 3.68
201695 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00
Earlier75 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00

Add Your Review of Family Book Creator

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

37 Reviews of Family Book Creator     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Book Creator Review by Fred Sheinbein,  May 17, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using Family Tree Maker since version 1 and am now using FTM 2017 Test Drive Edition.
This year I discovered Family Book Creator and purchased version 2014 and just upgraded to FBC 2017 without problems.
I did email FBC with a question and Stefan answered back within a few hours thoroughly answering my question showing me he cares about his users and is there to give great customer support..
FBS has opened up a whole new way for me to publish and share my family history, especially with other family members.
This plugin should definitely be added to FTM by everyone using that program.
.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use. The book it creates is indispensable in organizing and sharing family history..
Biggest Con: Have not found any.

Family Book Creator Review by John McNamee,  May 9, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am a long time user of Ancestry.com / Family Tree Maker and have tried their earlier versions of “book publishing” plugins. With the addition of FAMILY BOOK CREATOR my problems are over since it does a magnificent job of sharing our common heritage information with nieces, nephews, cousins and of course children and grandchildren.
Earlier I had attempted to produce reports tailored to each descendant, but the printing, packaging, and mailing costs were adding up to significant dollars expended. With FAMILY BOOK CREATOR I can create a report anywhere from one page to 3500 pages with no cost except for the initial purchase price and the subscription to Ancestry/Family Tree Maker (now 2014) but 2017 coming.
Once the book is created with your individual preferences, I was able to save the report in one of many formats. I chose MS Word 2007 since I already had the word processing software. Word 2007 also permits, as well as other programs, the conversion of the Word 2007 file in Adobe Acrobat PDF format, which is reduced in size for transmission over the World Wide Web (WWW). Using a “cloud” subscription service, Box.com, I am able to upload files as large as 5 Gb. Most of the files produced with a 12,000 person database are usually around 2.5Gb in size. Once uploaded Box.com allows for sharing with one or more individuals with an information message to download to their individual computers. Box.com does not add extra cost for this additional feature.
Using Box.com and FAMILY BOOK CREATOR, I have been able to share my 40 years of family history with many other family members, all descendants of a few individuals many centuries ago.
In my not so humble opinion, FAMILY BOOK CREATOR is worth five times what they charge. In addition, their support staff is “super”.

Biggest Pro: Saves money on reports and prirnting/mailing; program can be tailored to your preferences.
Biggest Con: Small learnfing curve, but it does take a few hours to review preferences and relate to report format. But time well spent for good reporting techiques.

Family Book Creator Review by Christie,  May 9, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Biggest Pro: Best genealogy program for books

Family Book Creator Review by Marion Vermazen,  Apr 16, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

An absolutely wonderful program that created professional books the right way!!

Biggest Pro: It works
Biggest Con: You probably need to understand how software works in order to know what to correct in FTM when an output on a page looks wrong. It is a very powerful program!

Family Book Creator Review by Jerry Swanson,  Apr 14, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Hello all…

Re: Family Book Creator by Stefan Harms of Germany.

A link to their website:
http://www.familybookcreator.com/en/

I wanted to spread the word about a relatively new plugin for Family Tree Maker software. I asked a moderator to create this board, because I believe it will become a great help to those considering writing their own family history books.

Three years ago, I published my first genealogy book, “Wegert Family and Friends Cookbook and History”. My online Ancestry.com family tree includes over 32,000 individuals, over 8200 marriages, over 7000 images, thousands of documents, and hundreds of family stories. This book was about my Mom’s side of the family tree. I started with her branch, because my dad’s “Dockstader” side of the tree is HUGE, considering the extensive Mormon roots there.

Besides working online, I use Family Tree Maker Software, 2014.1, and am anxiously awaiting the release of a stable version of FTM 2017.

So…that book is 450 pages of over 100,000 words, about 1500 full-color images, hundreds of tree charts, and other created-by-hand formats of data and stories. I worked on the book for over 10 years. I printed the book in full color and hand-bound the 50 editions I released to family.

Why tell that story? Because if I would have had this new Book Creator Software, I would have saved thousands of hours of research, organizing, and keypunching my data into a logical and easy-to-read layout.

The software works with FTM 2012, 2014, 2014.1 and 2017 (when that final version is released). You are able to create your book in MS Word format or PDF. I did my book in Word and created both .docx and .pdf formats for my e-book edition.

The software is so easy to use. As I mentioned…it is a plugin, so it works within FTM. It is highly configurable and you may create books for “Relatives of”, “Ancestors of”, “Descendants of”, or a simple “Alphabetical Family Register”. You may also limit the scope of the book by specifying how many generations will be output. For example, having the software generate a book for my father, for five generations of “relatives”, resulted in a book of about 600 pages in PDF format. My e-books, in .pdf format, are ranging from 35 to 250 Mb.

The software gives you all the names, places, and dates, and all the images associated with those relatives. You design your Title Page, Colophon, Dedication, and Forward…configure layouts…decide what data to include…even down to margin sizes…and the software does the rest.

My first book created with FBC was “The Relatives of Larry Dockstader”, my dad. The software created 600 pages, in .pdf format, in about two minutes. The output is cleanly organized in story-form for each individual included in the compilation of data with tree charts also created. FBC uses your FTM data to compile the book. And remember…your book data is only as good as the data in your FTM software.

Another good result for me was that I have received many emails with many suggested corrections, omissions, new images, or other reasons for edits once family started reading the book. Of course, they want it to be correct. And anyone doing genealogy will appreciate that cuz everyone knows how it is like pulling teeth to get family input in so many cases, eh?

Anyway…my mouth was ajar after doing my first book, and was secretly cursing the software designer for not creating the software 12 years ago…smiles. If I would have had this software when compiling my first book, I could have output the data and stuff in .docx format and then used my MS Word for the final output after I added my custom information, stories, images, not to mention the hundreds of family recipes…since that is what my book started out as…a family cookbook with a little family history thrown in. It turned out to be a book of our family history with a few recipes thrown in…smiles.

Being the family genealogist…I am ever so happy to…with this software…now offer to anyone in the family a custom book of their own for their particular branch of our tree. VERY COOL. I have already published eight books in this manner for those asking. I am in the process of creating a custom book for my Father, Mother, Mom’s 7 siblings, and my four brothers. Yes…we have a LARGE family…smiles. The e-books will be great gifts…how cool is that?

Anyway…take a look at the website link above. If you always wanted to start a family history book of your own…here is a pretty easy way to get started.

And if anyone is interested…my family genealogy website is:
http://www.compassist.com/jerry/dockstader-wegert-family/index.html

I have several page links there where I have honored family war hero’s! Proud of them!

Thanks for listening!

Jerry

Biggest Pro: Ease
Biggest Con: Have not found one yet.

Family Book Creator Review by Fiona Poulton,  Apr 12, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using family history software since it was invented, so have used a fair few in my time.
This software is worth its weight in Gold, I just love it. from a fairly easy interface it is a powerful piece if kit. Ideal for sending relatives family books, can be set up how you like edited….. I could go on.
Well done

Biggest Pro: ease of use and standard of output
Biggest Con: I would like to see more layouts as standard, but to be fair you don’t need them if you output to word

Family Book Creator Review by liz,  Apr 9, 2017

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Every time i try to create a book it shuts down my computer.

Family Book Creator Review by Allan Murphy,  Apr 5, 2017

Not Rated

I have not used the program yet. In the process of moving. Hope to use the program soon and family tree has not shipped the update of 2017. Murphy’s law.

Family Book Creator Review by Steve Embley,  Apr 3, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Ordered download and I can’t download app. Trying to find a CD to install that way. This is a disaster trying to get refund , but that’s secret also. Don’t by this.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: everything

Family Book Creator Review by Allan Murphy,  Mar 27, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Trying to download the program is very cumbersome. I have had it for two weeks or more and i still don’t have it working. Should be streamlined it’s what i would call a very busy page. I Will work at it again today.

Biggest Pro: Don’t know yet
Biggest Con: Same as above.

Family Book Creator Review by Marcia,  Mar 24, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Having the same problem as Robert Sear. Trying to download and it’s telling me I don’t have Family Tree 2014.1, but my version is Family Tree Maker 2014 which I am just now updating. Please tell my how to get this program to recognize my Family Tree

Family Book Creator Review by Jim Goodwillie,  Mar 22, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I bought the program and installed it but have many questions. There is no phone support and I can’t find any way to contact them except their web site that doesn’t help me. At this point it is useless to me. I can’t even find out how to register it. I just keep getting a comment that I have X days remaining on my free trial. Have the email confirming the purchase of FBC and a three license package. Looks like just what I want but at this point, I can’t use it or get help. The FAQ are no help.

Biggest Pro: Seems like just the program I need to develop an ancestor book to give to my granddaughter at her wedding.
Biggest Con: Can’t contact FBC for help outside the web site which is no help

Family Book Creator Review by Christine Dawson,  Mar 14, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

As the others. Just downloaded the software and need the password to install. Is there an issue with this problem.

Family Book Creator Review by Terry Embrey,  Mar 10, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Just downloaded the software and need the password so I can install. Can someone please get back to me. Seems like the password is something you would want to provide with the download. So far my rating is not so goodbut I’m sure will improve if I can ever get to the point of using it.
Thanks.

Family Book Creator Review by Marcia,  Mar 7, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Biggest Con: cant get in touch with anyone~ just paid for this software and I cant open it what is the password

Family Book Creator Review by Lorri Digney,  Feb 26, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have created 3 Family History Books in a scrap booking style format. After discovering Stefan’s plugin to Family Tree Maker I can now produce my books with a table of contents, illustrated family charts, index of names and places. I am so impressed with this product, it has given my many years of work a very professional look.

Most importantly it adds life & ease of interpretation to my books.

Stefan is very helpful and timely with his assistance, which is extremley refreshing.

I have recommended this product to my friends, other family historians and Genealogical Societies to which I belong.

Biggest Pro: Exceptional support; user friendly; exceptional end product

Family Book Creator Review by Ivan,  Feb 6, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Genealogy can be extremely boring to friends and family. However, having purchased Family Book Creator I have discovered that people do become interested when your efforts are produced in book form. I have produced four books for friends. They say that it must have taken a long time. Little do they know that producing the Book is the easiest part and takes about a minute!
Great product.

Biggest Pro: The flexibility and content.
Biggest Con: Still looking for one.

Family Book Creator Review by Robert B Sear,  Feb 6, 2017

Not Rated

After seeing my comment Stefan mailed me and solved my problem.
The program is great and I am finding straight forward and easy to use.
Thank you.

Family Book Creator Review by Robert B Sear,  Feb 6, 2017

Not Rated

I purchased it this weekend but is keeps telling me I do not have family tree maker and will not install.
Had family tree maker for 20 years and right up to date as of last Friday. Cannot contact to get it sorted or refund.

Family Book Creator Review by S. M. Rivard,  Feb 6, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I found this little gem of a plugin by accident and by reading the reviews. I am now using it and producing amazing little books for my family. It is very easy to use and includes all the information I want it to. It is simply brilliant!

Biggest Pro: Ease of use and the support from the builder is awesome!
Biggest Con: None

Show 21-37 »