Family Book Creator

Click To See Award Winners
by Stefan Harms
A plugin for Family Tree Maker for Windows that lets you create a personalized book from your data in your Family Tree Maker database. Different book formats are available such as DOCX, DOC, RTF, PDF, EPUB, JPEG and PNG. Requires FTM 2012 or later.

Purchase • Windows • Utility
http://www.familybookcreator.com/
Overall614.54 out of 54.54 out of 54.54 out of 54.54 out of 54.54 out of 5 4.54
2017454.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 54.47 out of 5 4.47
201695 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00
Earlier75 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00

Add Your Review of Family Book Creator

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

61 Reviews of Family Book Creator     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Book Creator Review by Jane,  3 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Family Book Creator is a fantastic plugin. Not only does it allow you to produce beautiful, customisable print outs with ease, the publisher has great after-sales service if you encounter any challenges. I can’t imagine using FTM without FBC!

Biggest Pro: Simple to create books from large trees very quickly.
Biggest Con: Can’t always include every person who is in your tree (eg step-families)

Family Book Creator Review by George Kennedy,  4 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I was so happy to discover this plug-in product to help me create a document to include all the facts, stories, and pictures that I collected and included in Family Tree Maker. Family Book Creator is very easy to use and produces a very nice finished product. Stefan’s technical support is prompt and thorough.

Biggest Pro: Fast and easy to use.
Biggest Con: FTM Custom Facts don’t print out, not a big problem once you know it, just include the info in notes.

Family Book Creator Review by Liz Guest,  Oct 6, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am so happy with Family Book Creator, there are many options available for you to include specific item in your book. Easy to use and most importantly user friendly. Once book is created very easy to edit if required. I did have a query in regards to formatting my book and emailed support, they responded quickly and resolved my question with clear and concise information. I would highly recommend the purchase of this product to be used in conjunction with family tree maker. I am more than happy, in fact over the moon. Thank you Stefan for creating this wonderful product now all my hard work in Ancestry can be produced in beautiful books for family members.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use to create stunning books
Biggest Con: have not found one yet

Family Book Creator Review by Stacey Weidner,  Sep 26, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used this product for many years and was able to create family books to hand out at a 2016 family reunion. I was also in contact with many family members so they would be able to add their family stories…just in time for the reunion. I have found that in the past the edit part of the book can be time consuming and did not allow you to add new pictures once you created the book. Not sure how the 2017 version works yet but overall still love this program and would totally recommend it to all. Cannot wait to get started with more books.

Biggest Pro: Love the end results
Biggest Con: Editing is time consuming

Family Book Creator Review by Paul Baker,  Sep 19, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

After a few more weeks of use of this plug-in I’ve decided to write a second review. Quite simply this should not be an optional plug-in, it should be a requirement of FTM, as without it you only have a data base, and no good way of presenting all your work to others.

I built my FTM database many years ago and was always disappointed in the output options. I now have a one click solution producing something that a recipient family member can understand and enjoy.

Since writing the previous review I have added portrait photographs to FTM. This was a pointless task with the built-in reports but produces fantastic results in the book. The trees made of names and pictures are brilliant and the whole point of all the research.

Biggest Pro: Absolutely everything about it, but most especially its use of photographic media from FTM.
Biggest Con: I didn’t know where to find the User Guide but now know it’s here http://www.familybookcreator.com/media/files/UserGuideFBC2017.pdf

Family Book Creator Review by George Allen Adkins,  Sep 19, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I had problems and contacted FBC support.
The best ever. Correct answers and assistance and not only that - they were prompt.

Biggest Pro: accurate and fast

Family Book Creator Review by Carole Cunniff,  Sep 12, 2017

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

After years of research and the painstaking, time-consuming task of entering data and sources, I wondered how to present my material in an interesting fashion. Enter Family Book Creator - I selected my options, chose my starting ancestor, and pressed Enter. In less than 2 minutes, I was looking at an actual book, complete with a Table of Contents, media, Family trees, a narrative, and an index. I was thrilled to see the results of my research presented in such a straightforward and easy to follow manner.
I did offer a suggestion, that custom events created in the Ancestry tree that syncs up with FTM be passed through to Family Book Creator, and I believe this will be a future enhancement that will make the product a 5 out of 5.

Biggest Pro: Professional results from a jumble of facts, media and sources.
Biggest Con: Not handling custom events from Ancestry.

Family Book Creator Review by Vinny,  Sep 8, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Excellent product. I am very happy with this software. It lays out everyone in an orderly fashion. I am still making some practice runs to use it to what I want. There will be some editing on your part. I also had to hone my Word skills. Support is phenomenal. Immediate help and answers from the author. You have to get this software if you want a simple and excellent way to put your tree on paper.

Biggest Pro: The way it sets everything up for you

Family Book Creator Review by Paul Baker,  Sep 7, 2017

Not Rated

Having used FTM over the past fifteen years in its various versions, the one greatest drawback was presenting your information. A tree given to a relative with them included in a mid-generation of a descendants or ancestors tree was not the best format to get their buy-in and assistance.
The “relatives of” in this book generator sorts out this problem perfectly. The detailed, brilliantly laid out, comprehensive and easily readable format ensure the reader keeps reading.
The formatting of data into sentences, addition of week days, age of death etc etc are a great bonus.
I’m only a week into using it and look forward to learning more it has to offer, for example use of photographs and media.
If you own FTM, you need this plugin, it’s that simple!

Biggest Pro: If you own FTM, you need this plugin, it’s that simple!
Biggest Con: None

Family Book Creator Review by Mark Schmidt,  Aug 28, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Well friends…this is it. A great way to show our families the life time of effort we have put in to create a family history for all to share. I am blown away at what this “plugin” does, with one touch of a button. I am more like Fred Flintstone than Bill Gates, and even I could do this easily. The lay out for the media items and notes and charts is just fantastic. And I am just using the default settings—I haven’t changed a thing. I have been waiting for something like this since 1986. Well done to all who developed this program. You have changed my life !!!!

Biggest Pro: Easy to use and the end result is perfect to showcase our work.
Biggest Con: Can’t think of a single thing

Family Book Creator Review by John Harris,  Aug 26, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I love this program. It makes creating books within FTM very easy.
There are plenty of options to customize the book just as you like.
Stefan, the developer, is very responsive to questions and the documentation is very well written and easy to follow.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use, great documentation, developer responds quickly to issues/questions.
Biggest Con: None so far.

Family Book Creator Review by Dick Morant,  Aug 22, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is an excellent plugin for Family Tree Maker and provides an easy to use method of translating facts and tree structures into a readable book format. Because I found it very intuitive to understand from just reading the Quick Start Guide, I delved straight and experimented with the various formats it offers. In doing so, a number of queries arose which I emailed to its author Stefan Harms who provided detailed answers within minutes. Invariably my queries were all answerable had I read the comprehensive User Guide but Stefan patiently provided explanations and links to the various pages anyway. In summary, great value for money and an excellent product with comprehensive support from its author.

Biggest Pro: Intuitive to use and great support provided by Stefan
Biggest Con: Yet to discover one.

Family Book Creator Review by Gary B,  Aug 16, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Congratulations on your excellent software. It has solved all of my problems in trying to find a program that could produce my records from Family Tree Maker at publication standard. I had been searching for something for several years, trying lots of programs - including the in-built publication options in FTM 2011, 2014 and 2017. The solution is Family Book Creator 2017. It is a simple and seamless plug-in that converts your data into Word then save to pdf. I’ve just had a 600 page book printed and it’s perfect. Facts, relationships, family wire diagrams, photographs, notes, sources … the lot! All finished in a professionally laid out ready for print format. You need to spend a little time trying different options to get the exact layout you’re after, but the program is so quick that you can try multiple times without fuss.

Biggest Pro: Seamless integration with FTM and perfect layout.
Biggest Con: Cannot do charts or reports as separate parts (eg annexes) of the same publication.

Family Book Creator Review by Brian Stoll,  Aug 10, 2017

Not Rated

Recently purchased this plug-in blind without trying it. Bad mistake. For me, 72yrs, it is quite difficult to navigate the UI. Too many menu’s to set up. You will most certainly need to be very proficient with MS word 2010. The major issue for me is I’ve written tens of thousands of words of text into dozens of peoples “person notes” section of Family Tree Maker 2014.1. I’ve made several attempts to construct a book with this plug-in and each time a person is shown the program will write the text from the person notes. When I added up all the ‘extra” pages of text within the book I had 42 pages of redundancy. This in not acceptible to me and emails to the developer result in no help. Use at your own risk.

Biggest Pro: Possibly a great program once the issues are resolved
Biggest Con: No support from anyone. Should be a Family Book Creator forum online

Family Book Creator Review by Rhonda W,  Aug 1, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is an excellent tool to provide a professional looking document to share with family.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use, professional appearance and simple to add additional stories

Family Book Creator Review by William Saul,  Jul 30, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This software solved a big problem of creating a large book of 1500 families and over 1600 pages. FTM crashed when this was attempted, but FBC did the book with ease, including the TOC and index. The user guide is easy to read and understand and the whole program menus and features are very intuitive to use.

Biggest Pro: Creating a large book
Biggest Con: none

Family Book Creator Review by Kerry Heffernan,  Jul 26, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I spent about 15 minutes prior to downloading & installing FBC into my Desk top & Lap top. The installation went like clock work I was pretty happy with it all. Then when I did the first Family transfer from FTM 2017 to FBC 2017.
I was truly OVERJOYED. to see all the photos Text Certificates Etc. for the first time looking like a real book and saved as a PDF Made all of the 21 years of research come alive. I can not find fault with the software at all. I truly Recommend this to every person who has cough the Family history bug to put you research into print of at least into a PDF file and save it all to a thumb drive. This software is well worth the money A great asset to have in your puters.

Biggest Pro: ease of use and installation
Biggest Con: I can not think one It is a fantastic package

Family Book Creator Review by Don,  Jul 25, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I recently purchased this product for use with FamilyTreeMaker 2017. It rated 5 stars not because it is perfect, but because it does a difficult job well, and in my opinion, better than the other products I’ve tried. It has a good array of customization options, and generates in many formats (the ones I used are Word and pdf). For my project, It produced a 3,000 page document with over 5,000 people with many, varied images. I rate customer support at 10 on this 1-5 scale - it was that good.

Biggest Pro: Does the job well, with a variety of output formats
Biggest Con: It does a very good job with image handling, but I’d like to see more options.

Family Book Creator Review by Michel-Mitch Latour,  Jul 20, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Well designed software which works easily as a plug-in addition to my new version of FTM.2017 One of the best feature for me, is that I can publish in English or in French. Although I have just started learning the operation of this program, I have already produced documents in several formats that I will easily share with my relatives. I had to ask for support about a small problem I was having, and within 30 mins, I had a reply and a solution to my problem. I strongly recommend this software.

Biggest Pro: Operates in several languages - Produces great documents in several formats
Biggest Con: Takes a bit of time to figure out all the bells and whistles, but it gets easier with time

Family Book Creator Review by Craft Kathie,  Jul 20, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I had been struggling to come up with a way to “publish” my ancestry information. I was at a loss as to what I wanted or how to start. However, Family Book Creator made the process quite easy. I can publish the information that contains all the information I wanted with just a few clicks. In conjunction with Family Tree Maker, I can even add personal notes which makes the publication much more interesting on a personal level. I found it is also a great way to see if my information on ancestry “makes sense” by reading it in a published form. So glad I purchased it.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use with multiple options.
Biggest Con: Manipulating size of media (like census data) in the final document that is sometimes difficult to read.

Show 21-40 »