Family Book Creator

Click To See Award Winners
by Stefan Harms
A plugin for Family Tree Maker for Windows that lets you create a personalized book from your data in your Family Tree Maker database. Different book formats are available such as DOCX, DOC, RTF, PDF, EPUB, JPEG and PNG. Requires FTM 2012 or later.

Purchase • Windows • Utility
http://www.familybookcreator.com/
Overall764.66 out of 54.66 out of 54.66 out of 54.66 out of 54.66 out of 5 4.66
201834.66 out of 54.66 out of 54.66 out of 54.66 out of 54.66 out of 5 4.66
2017574.62 out of 54.62 out of 54.62 out of 54.62 out of 54.62 out of 5 4.62
Earlier165 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00

Add Your Review of Family Book Creator

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

76 Reviews of Family Book Creator     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Book Creator Review by Tom,  Jan 28, 2018

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

This is a great way to automatically generate a well-presented book from FTM with good customization. I’ve suggested adding the family relationship for each person listed relative to the home person (eg 1st cousin, 4th removed). I would like to see an option to produce images as half A4 size rather than the default size; this would create more readable image sizes

Biggest Pro: Comprehensive way of creating a printed version of FTM data. Easy to use
Biggest Con: Ability to increase image sizes.

Family Book Creator Review by Candace Christianson,  Jan 16, 2018

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The best feature about Family Book Creator (FBC) is the personalized support. Stefan has assisted me many times and has followed up to be sure my problems were resolved. The service he provides is incredible.

The variety of settings in FBC provides for the customization of each book to your own specifications. FBC allows you to integrate numerous pictures into your family history book which makes the book more intriguing for relatives, close and distant. Although there is a slight learning curve, the end result is well worth the effort to learn all the features of FBC.

The fact that you can save your settings for each type of book is a time saving step. It enables you to quickly produce books with your favorite settings. The automatic generation of a Table of Contents and Index enhances every publication. Since the final books are published in MS Word, it is easy to make minor adjustments to the text.

Most of my genealogy research is related to Norway. I am having difficult with Family Tree Maker not supporting the specialized Norwegian characters. However, when I import documents into FBC, the Norwegian characters print correctly which is a tribute to Stefan’s attention to detail.

After using Family Tree Maker for generations, I would never consider publishing a family history book without the assistance of FBC.

Biggest Pro: The outstanding support provided by Stefan Harms and the variety of settings, allowing customization of your family history book.
Biggest Con: None

Family Book Creator Review by Patrick Mattson,  Jan 1, 2018

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Awesome product that helped me get started in compiling my family book. Highly recommend this to anyone who is serious about genealogy research - it is a must buy companion to FTM 2017.

Biggest Pro: Intuitive menus
Biggest Con: Can’t think of any.

Family Book Creator Review by Melissa Mularski,  Dec 30, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Family Book Creator (FBC) allows you to add everything, and I mean everything, you’ve ever wanted to in a family history / genealogy / family tree book quickly and easily.

When you give a Descendant or Ancestor report (or book) to family that you’ve created in Family Tree Maker, they’re always happy, but you can usually see you’ve given a lot of DATA and not a lot of what everyone always wishes to see more of - pictures, newspaper clippings, recipes, war draft forms, census pages, love letters, PDFs, etc. - you name it. Yes, you can add some images into Family Tree Maker reports/books, but it’s a slow, difficult process. And it takes up so much more processing speed that most people’s computers will lock up before a bigger report or book will be processed.

Using the Family Book Creator plugin makes issues like that a thing of the past. If you have images, if you have a ton of images (or newspaper articles, letters, census pages, etc.) GREAT! If you don’t, that’s fine too. As you add them, they’ll be incorporated into your books. You, your family, anyone you’re making a book for will thank you.

SOME of my favorite features in FBC
- You can choose to display a mini-family tree on each person’s page, including an image of each person. It can show the person, any spouse and children, that person’s parents, and their grandparents if you choose. It might be overkill for you, but likely incredibly helpful for any person reading the report.
- Opening pages for your books will include pages like: Title page, Dedication Page, Copyright (Colophon) page, Table of Contents, Stats page (tells how many people are in your book, and all sorts of added interesting facts). Each opening page has multiple options, and you can also choose to skip any (or all) of those pages all together.
- Ability to change font types, styles and sizes for all the various pages in the book
- TONS of options for what and how to display things. If you don’t understand what an option does, give it a shot; make one change, ‘Create’ a book, and see what it does.
- The text for each person reads very much like a real book. Of course, it partially depends on how you’ve set up things in options, and how you’ve written things out for each person.
- If an image has multiple people tagged, you can have the image appear for each person’s section, or (preferably) you can have it show up in one of the people’s sections, and every other person’s section will have a note that there’s a photo of them on X page.
- Ability to change image sizes, even make full-size page images.
- Fantastic, automatic indexing system added to the back of your books. Also has a very cool ‘Place’ index that lists each place people have live in (only places displayed in the report will be shown, obviously).
- If you choose PDF format, you can opt for hyperlinks in your books so you can easily click to the person you’re interested in.
- YOUR choices for your Family Book Creator books are automatically saved, so every time you open it, it’s ready to go. You can also save your options for certain types of books separately (which you can load when you open the FBC plugin) in case you have various types of formats you’d like.
- Where there’s an update, installation is a breeze and it doesn’t mess up any of your saved options.
- If you have questions or need help and send an email, the support group at FBC will get back to you quickly. I typically get replies in 0-2 days’ time.

Biggest Pro: (See above) plus the plugin is continually updated and improved
Biggest Con: Can’t display custom facts or the fact called “Physical Description” (called “Description”) in Ancestry. But I suspect those options will be added soon.

Family Book Creator Review by John Fassbender,  Dec 28, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is by far the easiest way to create a very detailed book from Family Tree Maker. It allows you to print multiple media items per person and now supports color coding. The developer response is good and helpful.

Biggest Pro: Media and color coding
Biggest Con: No support for custom facts.

Family Book Creator Review by Mark Keene,  Dec 27, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am in the process of creating books for each of my grandchildren. This software is making this so much easier! I did have a couple of issues (primarily self-inflicted). The support and service from Family Book Creator was both prompt and extremely helpful.

Biggest Pro: The ease of use, beautiful organization and the Service and Support!
Biggest Con: None

Family Book Creator Review by Pat Hawkins,  Dec 1, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I use FBC to provide reports to my family members. It is way to use, flexible and is update along with Family Tree Naker. This make for a great overall package. The support for adding new stuff like the recent add of color in FTM is done quickly. This is a great product!

Biggest Pro: Ease of use and the flexibility to change reports based on personal needs.
Biggest Con: Nothing

Family Book Creator Review by David A. Markgraf,  Nov 28, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This software has enabled me to publish my first book, The Markgraf Family, last year and I am on my way to a second book. It is easy to use and enables the writer to layout all the pertinent sections of the book. When I have had questions Mr. Harms is quick to respond with easy to understand solutions. I highly recommend this software and will continue to use it myself.

Biggest Pro: It automatically does the family charting which would very difficult to do on your own.
Biggest Con: You have to enter your information properly into Family Tree Maker if you want your book to read well.

Family Book Creator Review by Raymond Lopez,  Nov 24, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I was enormously impressed with the dynamics of the program to extract a large amount of data and present it in a comprehensively detailed manner. Footnotes, attached documents and pictures, indexes, etc. were compiled and presented in a matter of a few minutes or less. The ability to add this book to my compilation of charts and graphs, adds another dynamic to the years of research that I have gathered. I purchased the program on a whim, not realizing until I produced the first document what I actually had generated as a product. I have friends who took many years to manually generate and publish an equivalent book. I have yet to delve into the advanced features described in the User Guide, but I am sure that I will find additional enhancements that I have not explored. Technical support has been quick and detailed.

Biggest Pro: The detail that was put into the program that wolud make it an valuable enhancement, not only for an amature genealogist but a professional also.
Biggest Con: Not a major concern, but I would like to be able to change the font on the title page.

Family Book Creator Review by Edward Lieser,  Nov 19, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been working on my family tree history for more than 50 years and I started when the normal process was to request microfilm on various census files from the local Mormon Stake and when the film arrived you would manually scan the rolls on their viewers. I progressed to Family Tree Maker when it became available because paper records were so tedious and it offered a lot of flexibility regarding family data.

One of the great features of FTM was that I could export the various Ascendant and Descendant charts to Microsoft Word and edit both the basic word file as well as add photos to create custom family tree files. Unfortunately FTM 2017 (as of Nov 2017) does not offer this option. Exporting to Word does not allow much flexibility regarding editing the basic word file nor adding photos. It is basically impossible to create a custom family tree document beyond a single generation. When I questioned FTM (Mackiev) they told me, to save money, because not many people used this option, it was no longer available.

I think there is a need and desire to create custom family trees beyond a simple listing of facts and photos and I think Family Book Creator offers that option. The amount of information that is automatically provided, especially the index materials are astounding. I had to create the alphabetical listings manually in the “old days” and I never could have produced the geographic and generation files that are automatic.

While I wish I could easily insert photos and large amounts of text edits by simply editing in Word format I understand the need to work through FTM to maintain the file structure.

I have only worked with this program for a few hours but my request for a resolution to a simple question on a Sunday afternoon was answered within a few minutes by the author of the program. It was exactly what I needed.

I am looking forward to working with this program to create custom Family Tree programs.

Biggest Pro: Strong family tree generation structure format even with some editing in Word
Biggest Con: I wish there was a way to add additional photos outside of FTM but I understand the need to use FTM to maintain the generation numbering and structure.

Family Book Creator Review by Tony,  Nov 1, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Excellent piece of software for creating really useful family history books

Biggest Pro: The way it interprets and presents info from your tree in book format
Biggest Con: Can’t think of one!

Family Book Creator Review by Richard,  Oct 29, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I love this software. It allows me to create a book with very few steps. The books it creates are the best way to show everyone the family history. I think this is the best software for showing my family history I have ever purchased and i have been doing this for a very long time.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use
Biggest Con: Would like more editing options

Family Book Creator Review by Suzanne,  Oct 29, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Absolutely wonderful program to instantly write your family history through Family Tree Maker. The FTM Smart Story feature is very poor compared to what Family Book Creator can do for you. FBC has the ability to add extra pages, text and images, etc, and automatically update the table of contents, etc. Even if you have step-families (or other extended family) you can type in text to explain the connection.

The service provided by Stefan Harms is amazing. He is quick to reply to any queries and very helpful in explaining how things are done.

Biggest Pro: So quick in producing a family history book. Ease to use.
Biggest Con: Not a problem for me, but do need to be a proficient in MSWord if using a docx file.

Family Book Creator Review by Bofus,  Oct 26, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I found out about Family Book Creator in 2014. While FTM could not make large books, FBC can do so easily and have complete TOC, Indices, etc.. The new options for PDF and Word Sub-Document output, allows very large books to be produced (Word has a file size limit of 512MB.) The newest version allows for the inclusion of PDF documents in your family file to be incorporated in the book. Support is very good and updates are made as needed.

Biggest Pro: Complete Family History Books can be made easily
Biggest Con: No Standalone Version (for use with other Genealogy Programs.)

Family Book Creator Review by John Pottenger,  Oct 23, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have only has FBC for 5 weeks. In that time I have produced several kinds of reports (I won’t call them books, because I really have been just experimenting to see what can be done). It is obvious FBC can be utilised to produce simple reports or more detailed reports, (ie books) displaying charts, photographs, documents, sources, personal or family notes, etc.
I realise I can transform my gathered information into easy to understand format for other family members and future generations to access.
A great product!
Support assistance has been very prompt. Thanks Stefan

Biggest Pro: Easy to use to produce produce professional results.

Family Book Creator Review by Jane,  Oct 18, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Family Book Creator is a fantastic plugin. Not only does it allow you to produce beautiful, customisable print outs with ease, the publisher has great after-sales service if you encounter any challenges. I can’t imagine using FTM without FBC!

Biggest Pro: Simple to create books from large trees very quickly.
Biggest Con: Can’t always include every person who is in your tree (eg step-families)

Family Book Creator Review by George Kennedy,  Oct 18, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I was so happy to discover this plug-in product to help me create a document to include all the facts, stories, and pictures that I collected and included in Family Tree Maker. Family Book Creator is very easy to use and produces a very nice finished product. Stefan’s technical support is prompt and thorough.

Biggest Pro: Fast and easy to use.
Biggest Con: FTM Custom Facts don’t print out, not a big problem once you know it, just include the info in notes.

Family Book Creator Review by Liz Guest,  Oct 6, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am so happy with Family Book Creator, there are many options available for you to include specific item in your book. Easy to use and most importantly user friendly. Once book is created very easy to edit if required. I did have a query in regards to formatting my book and emailed support, they responded quickly and resolved my question with clear and concise information. I would highly recommend the purchase of this product to be used in conjunction with family tree maker. I am more than happy, in fact over the moon. Thank you Stefan for creating this wonderful product now all my hard work in Ancestry can be produced in beautiful books for family members.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use to create stunning books
Biggest Con: have not found one yet

Family Book Creator Review by Stacey Weidner,  Sep 26, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used this product for many years and was able to create family books to hand out at a 2016 family reunion. I was also in contact with many family members so they would be able to add their family stories…just in time for the reunion. I have found that in the past the edit part of the book can be time consuming and did not allow you to add new pictures once you created the book. Not sure how the 2017 version works yet but overall still love this program and would totally recommend it to all. Cannot wait to get started with more books.

Biggest Pro: Love the end results
Biggest Con: Editing is time consuming

Family Book Creator Review by Paul Baker,  Sep 19, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

After a few more weeks of use of this plug-in I’ve decided to write a second review. Quite simply this should not be an optional plug-in, it should be a requirement of FTM, as without it you only have a data base, and no good way of presenting all your work to others.

I built my FTM database many years ago and was always disappointed in the output options. I now have a one click solution producing something that a recipient family member can understand and enjoy.

Since writing the previous review I have added portrait photographs to FTM. This was a pointless task with the built-in reports but produces fantastic results in the book. The trees made of names and pictures are brilliant and the whole point of all the research.

Biggest Pro: Absolutely everything about it, but most especially its use of photographic media from FTM.
Biggest Con: I didn’t know where to find the User Guide but now know it’s here http://www.familybookcreator.com/media/files/UserGuideFBC2017.pdf

Show 21-40 »