Family Book Creator

Click To See Award Winners
by Stefan Harms
A plugin for Family Tree Maker for Windows that lets you create a personalized book from your data in your Family Tree Maker database. Different book formats are available such as DOCX, DOC, RTF, PDF, EPUB, JPEG and PNG. Requires FTM 2012 or later.

Purchase • Windows • Utility
http://www.familybookcreator.com/
Overall704.64 out of 54.64 out of 54.64 out of 54.64 out of 54.64 out of 5 4.64
2017544.59 out of 54.59 out of 54.59 out of 54.59 out of 54.59 out of 5 4.59
201695 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00
Earlier75 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00

Add Your Review of Family Book Creator

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

70 Reviews of Family Book Creator     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Book Creator Review by Pat Hawkins,  Dec 1, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I use FBC to provide reports to my family members. It is way to use, flexible and is update along with Family Tree Naker. This make for a great overall package. The support for adding new stuff like the recent add of color in FTM is done quickly. This is a great product!

Biggest Pro: Ease of use and the flexibility to change reports based on personal needs.
Biggest Con: Nothing

Family Book Creator Review by David A. Markgraf,  Nov 28, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This software has enabled me to publish my first book, The Markgraf Family, last year and I am on my way to a second book. It is easy to use and enables the writer to layout all the pertinent sections of the book. When I have had questions Mr. Harms is quick to respond with easy to understand solutions. I highly recommend this software and will continue to use it myself.

Biggest Pro: It automatically does the family charting which would very difficult to do on your own.
Biggest Con: You have to enter your information properly into Family Tree Maker if you want your book to read well.

Family Book Creator Review by Raymond Lopez,  Nov 24, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I was enormously impressed with the dynamics of the program to extract a large amount of data and present it in a comprehensively detailed manner. Footnotes, attached documents and pictures, indexes, etc. were compiled and presented in a matter of a few minutes or less. The ability to add this book to my compilation of charts and graphs, adds another dynamic to the years of research that I have gathered. I purchased the program on a whim, not realizing until I produced the first document what I actually had generated as a product. I have friends who took many years to manually generate and publish an equivalent book. I have yet to delve into the advanced features described in the User Guide, but I am sure that I will find additional enhancements that I have not explored. Technical support has been quick and detailed.

Biggest Pro: The detail that was put into the program that wolud make it an valuable enhancement, not only for an amature genealogist but a professional also.
Biggest Con: Not a major concern, but I would like to be able to change the font on the title page.

Family Book Creator Review by Edward Lieser,  Nov 19, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been working on my family tree history for more than 50 years and I started when the normal process was to request microfilm on various census files from the local Mormon Stake and when the film arrived you would manually scan the rolls on their viewers. I progressed to Family Tree Maker when it became available because paper records were so tedious and it offered a lot of flexibility regarding family data.

One of the great features of FTM was that I could export the various Ascendant and Descendant charts to Microsoft Word and edit both the basic word file as well as add photos to create custom family tree files. Unfortunately FTM 2017 (as of Nov 2017) does not offer this option. Exporting to Word does not allow much flexibility regarding editing the basic word file nor adding photos. It is basically impossible to create a custom family tree document beyond a single generation. When I questioned FTM (Mackiev) they told me, to save money, because not many people used this option, it was no longer available.

I think there is a need and desire to create custom family trees beyond a simple listing of facts and photos and I think Family Book Creator offers that option. The amount of information that is automatically provided, especially the index materials are astounding. I had to create the alphabetical listings manually in the “old days” and I never could have produced the geographic and generation files that are automatic.

While I wish I could easily insert photos and large amounts of text edits by simply editing in Word format I understand the need to work through FTM to maintain the file structure.

I have only worked with this program for a few hours but my request for a resolution to a simple question on a Sunday afternoon was answered within a few minutes by the author of the program. It was exactly what I needed.

I am looking forward to working with this program to create custom Family Tree programs.

Biggest Pro: Strong family tree generation structure format even with some editing in Word
Biggest Con: I wish there was a way to add additional photos outside of FTM but I understand the need to use FTM to maintain the generation numbering and structure.

Family Book Creator Review by Tony,  Nov 1, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Excellent piece of software for creating really useful family history books

Biggest Pro: The way it interprets and presents info from your tree in book format
Biggest Con: Can’t think of one!

Family Book Creator Review by Richard,  Oct 29, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I love this software. It allows me to create a book with very few steps. The books it creates are the best way to show everyone the family history. I think this is the best software for showing my family history I have ever purchased and i have been doing this for a very long time.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use
Biggest Con: Would like more editing options

Family Book Creator Review by Suzanne,  Oct 29, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Absolutely wonderful program to instantly write your family history through Family Tree Maker. The FTM Smart Story feature is very poor compared to what Family Book Creator can do for you. FBC has the ability to add extra pages, text and images, etc, and automatically update the table of contents, etc. Even if you have step-families (or other extended family) you can type in text to explain the connection.

The service provided by Stefan Harms is amazing. He is quick to reply to any queries and very helpful in explaining how things are done.

Biggest Pro: So quick in producing a family history book. Ease to use.
Biggest Con: Not a problem for me, but do need to be a proficient in MSWord if using a docx file.

Family Book Creator Review by Bofus,  Oct 26, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I found out about Family Book Creator in 2014. While FTM could not make large books, FBC can do so easily and have complete TOC, Indices, etc.. The new options for PDF and Word Sub-Document output, allows very large books to be produced (Word has a file size limit of 512MB.) The newest version allows for the inclusion of PDF documents in your family file to be incorporated in the book. Support is very good and updates are made as needed.

Biggest Pro: Complete Family History Books can be made easily
Biggest Con: No Standalone Version (for use with other Genealogy Programs.)

Family Book Creator Review by John Pottenger,  Oct 23, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have only has FBC for 5 weeks. In that time I have produced several kinds of reports (I won’t call them books, because I really have been just experimenting to see what can be done). It is obvious FBC can be utilised to produce simple reports or more detailed reports, (ie books) displaying charts, photographs, documents, sources, personal or family notes, etc.
I realise I can transform my gathered information into easy to understand format for other family members and future generations to access.
A great product!
Support assistance has been very prompt. Thanks Stefan

Biggest Pro: Easy to use to produce produce professional results.

Family Book Creator Review by Jane,  Oct 18, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Family Book Creator is a fantastic plugin. Not only does it allow you to produce beautiful, customisable print outs with ease, the publisher has great after-sales service if you encounter any challenges. I can’t imagine using FTM without FBC!

Biggest Pro: Simple to create books from large trees very quickly.
Biggest Con: Can’t always include every person who is in your tree (eg step-families)

Family Book Creator Review by George Kennedy,  Oct 18, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I was so happy to discover this plug-in product to help me create a document to include all the facts, stories, and pictures that I collected and included in Family Tree Maker. Family Book Creator is very easy to use and produces a very nice finished product. Stefan’s technical support is prompt and thorough.

Biggest Pro: Fast and easy to use.
Biggest Con: FTM Custom Facts don’t print out, not a big problem once you know it, just include the info in notes.

Family Book Creator Review by Liz Guest,  Oct 6, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am so happy with Family Book Creator, there are many options available for you to include specific item in your book. Easy to use and most importantly user friendly. Once book is created very easy to edit if required. I did have a query in regards to formatting my book and emailed support, they responded quickly and resolved my question with clear and concise information. I would highly recommend the purchase of this product to be used in conjunction with family tree maker. I am more than happy, in fact over the moon. Thank you Stefan for creating this wonderful product now all my hard work in Ancestry can be produced in beautiful books for family members.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use to create stunning books
Biggest Con: have not found one yet

Family Book Creator Review by Stacey Weidner,  Sep 26, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used this product for many years and was able to create family books to hand out at a 2016 family reunion. I was also in contact with many family members so they would be able to add their family stories…just in time for the reunion. I have found that in the past the edit part of the book can be time consuming and did not allow you to add new pictures once you created the book. Not sure how the 2017 version works yet but overall still love this program and would totally recommend it to all. Cannot wait to get started with more books.

Biggest Pro: Love the end results
Biggest Con: Editing is time consuming

Family Book Creator Review by Paul Baker,  Sep 19, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

After a few more weeks of use of this plug-in I’ve decided to write a second review. Quite simply this should not be an optional plug-in, it should be a requirement of FTM, as without it you only have a data base, and no good way of presenting all your work to others.

I built my FTM database many years ago and was always disappointed in the output options. I now have a one click solution producing something that a recipient family member can understand and enjoy.

Since writing the previous review I have added portrait photographs to FTM. This was a pointless task with the built-in reports but produces fantastic results in the book. The trees made of names and pictures are brilliant and the whole point of all the research.

Biggest Pro: Absolutely everything about it, but most especially its use of photographic media from FTM.
Biggest Con: I didn’t know where to find the User Guide but now know it’s here http://www.familybookcreator.com/media/files/UserGuideFBC2017.pdf

Family Book Creator Review by George Allen Adkins,  Sep 19, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I had problems and contacted FBC support.
The best ever. Correct answers and assistance and not only that - they were prompt.

Biggest Pro: accurate and fast

Family Book Creator Review by Carole Cunniff,  Sep 12, 2017

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

After years of research and the painstaking, time-consuming task of entering data and sources, I wondered how to present my material in an interesting fashion. Enter Family Book Creator - I selected my options, chose my starting ancestor, and pressed Enter. In less than 2 minutes, I was looking at an actual book, complete with a Table of Contents, media, Family trees, a narrative, and an index. I was thrilled to see the results of my research presented in such a straightforward and easy to follow manner.
I did offer a suggestion, that custom events created in the Ancestry tree that syncs up with FTM be passed through to Family Book Creator, and I believe this will be a future enhancement that will make the product a 5 out of 5.

Biggest Pro: Professional results from a jumble of facts, media and sources.
Biggest Con: Not handling custom events from Ancestry.

Family Book Creator Review by Vinny,  Sep 8, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Excellent product. I am very happy with this software. It lays out everyone in an orderly fashion. I am still making some practice runs to use it to what I want. There will be some editing on your part. I also had to hone my Word skills. Support is phenomenal. Immediate help and answers from the author. You have to get this software if you want a simple and excellent way to put your tree on paper.

Biggest Pro: The way it sets everything up for you

Family Book Creator Review by Paul Baker,  Sep 7, 2017

Not Rated

Having used FTM over the past fifteen years in its various versions, the one greatest drawback was presenting your information. A tree given to a relative with them included in a mid-generation of a descendants or ancestors tree was not the best format to get their buy-in and assistance.
The “relatives of” in this book generator sorts out this problem perfectly. The detailed, brilliantly laid out, comprehensive and easily readable format ensure the reader keeps reading.
The formatting of data into sentences, addition of week days, age of death etc etc are a great bonus.
I’m only a week into using it and look forward to learning more it has to offer, for example use of photographs and media.
If you own FTM, you need this plugin, it’s that simple!

Biggest Pro: If you own FTM, you need this plugin, it’s that simple!
Biggest Con: None

Family Book Creator Review by Mark Schmidt,  Aug 28, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Well friends…this is it. A great way to show our families the life time of effort we have put in to create a family history for all to share. I am blown away at what this “plugin” does, with one touch of a button. I am more like Fred Flintstone than Bill Gates, and even I could do this easily. The lay out for the media items and notes and charts is just fantastic. And I am just using the default settings—I haven’t changed a thing. I have been waiting for something like this since 1986. Well done to all who developed this program. You have changed my life !!!!

Biggest Pro: Easy to use and the end result is perfect to showcase our work.
Biggest Con: Can’t think of a single thing

Family Book Creator Review by John Harris,  Aug 26, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I love this program. It makes creating books within FTM very easy.
There are plenty of options to customize the book just as you like.
Stefan, the developer, is very responsive to questions and the documentation is very well written and easy to follow.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use, great documentation, developer responds quickly to issues/questions.
Biggest Con: None so far.

Show 21-40 »