Family Book Creator

Click To See Award Winners
by Stefan Harms
A plugin for Family Tree Maker for Windows that lets you create a personalized book from your data in your Family Tree Maker database. Different book formats are available such as DOCX, DOC, RTF, PDF, EPUB, JPEG and PNG. Requires FTM 2012 or later.

Purchase • Windows • Utility
http://www.familybookcreator.com/
Overall494.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5 4.40
2017334.25 out of 54.25 out of 54.25 out of 54.25 out of 54.25 out of 5 4.25
201695 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00
Earlier75 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00

Add Your Review of Family Book Creator

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

49 Reviews of Family Book Creator     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Book Creator Review by Gary B,  2 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Congratulations on your excellent software. It has solved all of my problems in trying to find a program that could produce my records from Family Tree Maker at publication standard. I had been searching for something for several years, trying lots of programs - including the in-built publication options in FTM 2011, 2014 and 2017. The solution is Family Book Creator 2017. It is a simple and seamless plug-in that converts your data into Word then save to pdf. I’ve just had a 600 page book printed and it’s perfect. Facts, relationships, family wire diagrams, photographs, notes, sources … the lot! All finished in a professionally laid out ready for print format. You need to spend a little time trying different options to get the exact layout you’re after, but the program is so quick that you can try multiple times without fuss.

Biggest Pro: Seamless integration with FTM and perfect layout.
Biggest Con: Cannot do charts or reports as separate parts (eg annexes) of the same publication.

Family Book Creator Review by Brian Stoll,  Aug 10, 2017

Not Rated

Recently purchased this plug-in blind without trying it. Bad mistake. For me, 72yrs, it is quite difficult to navigate the UI. Too many menu’s to set up. You will most certainly need to be very proficient with MS word 2010. The major issue for me is I’ve written tens of thousands of words of text into dozens of peoples “person notes” section of Family Tree Maker 2014.1. I’ve made several attempts to construct a book with this plug-in and each time a person is shown the program will write the text from the person notes. When I added up all the ‘extra” pages of text within the book I had 42 pages of redundancy. This in not acceptible to me and emails to the developer result in no help. Use at your own risk.

Biggest Pro: Possibly a great program once the issues are resolved
Biggest Con: No support from anyone. Should be a Family Book Creator forum online

Family Book Creator Review by Rhonda W,  Aug 1, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is an excellent tool to provide a professional looking document to share with family.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use, professional appearance and simple to add additional stories

Family Book Creator Review by William Saul,  Jul 30, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This software solved a big problem of creating a large book of 1500 families and over 1600 pages. FTM crashed when this was attempted, but FBC did the book with ease, including the TOC and index. The user guide is easy to read and understand and the whole program menus and features are very intuitive to use.

Biggest Pro: Creating a large book
Biggest Con: none

Family Book Creator Review by Kerry Heffernan,  Jul 26, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I spent about 15 minutes prior to downloading & installing FBC into my Desk top & Lap top. The installation went like clock work I was pretty happy with it all. Then when I did the first Family transfer from FTM 2017 to FBC 2017.
I was truly OVERJOYED. to see all the photos Text Certificates Etc. for the first time looking like a real book and saved as a PDF Made all of the 21 years of research come alive. I can not find fault with the software at all. I truly Recommend this to every person who has cough the Family history bug to put you research into print of at least into a PDF file and save it all to a thumb drive. This software is well worth the money A great asset to have in your puters.

Biggest Pro: ease of use and installation
Biggest Con: I can not think one It is a fantastic package

Family Book Creator Review by Don,  Jul 25, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I recently purchased this product for use with FamilyTreeMaker 2017. It rated 5 stars not because it is perfect, but because it does a difficult job well, and in my opinion, better than the other products I’ve tried. It has a good array of customization options, and generates in many formats (the ones I used are Word and pdf). For my project, It produced a 3,000 page document with over 5,000 people with many, varied images. I rate customer support at 10 on this 1-5 scale - it was that good.

Biggest Pro: Does the job well, with a variety of output formats
Biggest Con: It does a very good job with image handling, but I’d like to see more options.

Family Book Creator Review by Michel-Mitch Latour,  Jul 20, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Well designed software which works easily as a plug-in addition to my new version of FTM.2017 One of the best feature for me, is that I can publish in English or in French. Although I have just started learning the operation of this program, I have already produced documents in several formats that I will easily share with my relatives. I had to ask for support about a small problem I was having, and within 30 mins, I had a reply and a solution to my problem. I strongly recommend this software.

Biggest Pro: Operates in several languages - Produces great documents in several formats
Biggest Con: Takes a bit of time to figure out all the bells and whistles, but it gets easier with time

Family Book Creator Review by Craft Kathie,  Jul 20, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I had been struggling to come up with a way to “publish” my ancestry information. I was at a loss as to what I wanted or how to start. However, Family Book Creator made the process quite easy. I can publish the information that contains all the information I wanted with just a few clicks. In conjunction with Family Tree Maker, I can even add personal notes which makes the publication much more interesting on a personal level. I found it is also a great way to see if my information on ancestry “makes sense” by reading it in a published form. So glad I purchased it.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use with multiple options.
Biggest Con: Manipulating size of media (like census data) in the final document that is sometimes difficult to read.

Family Book Creator Review by Gary Ammerman,  Jul 18, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is the best thing ever! Not before could you print a book or select(s) from the FTM. I have made several printouts of family members and their history. Also the tech service is fast , accurate , and easy to understand and use. Good work Stefan Harms

Biggest Pro: It WORKS as it should!!
Biggest Con: none

Family Book Creator Review by Cullen Hayashida,  Jul 18, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been slowly gathering and filling in my Family Tree Maker database year after year whenever i had some time. Needless to say, the work was never done and perhap will never be completed. Before the Family Book Creator was available, i was never sure if all my work would just remain as part of the database and impossible to share with others. This software has helped me create drafts which i could quickly begin sharing with my extended family and have them actively participate to help me verify facts, date and stories. This is a tool that i have been waiting for! It has remotivated me to start working on add stories and context to our family’s history.

This saves time and will remotivate you and others to complete your genealogy work!

Biggest Pro: (1) Seamless integration with Family Tree Maker; (2) ease of use;(3) flexibility, (4) great value, (5) documentation of sources incorporated
Biggest Con: I must remember that if i were to add any new information into my book, i will need to remember to reinput that into the Family Tree Maker. It would be great if there was a way to color code new information so that i can be sure that they can be transferred to the FTM database later.

Family Book Creator Review by Mary S,  Jul 16, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is the perfect software for creating a family book. It is easy to format and work in. I just love it and highly recommend it.

Family Book Creator Review by Archie MacLean,  Jul 11, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I really like the way the Family Book can be personalised for each and every member of a family, showing ancestors, and hangers-on, and what they all got up to during their lives. It is a fantastic way to publish your research in a format that everyone can enjoy, and it is also a hard-copy backup for your electronic data for when things go wrong! I really enjoy showing off my research in this way by using the Family Book Creator plug-in with Family Tree Maker. I commend it to every genealogist.
I needed Support for a registration issue. Stefan responded quick as a flash, and sorted my problem (which was me by the way). Nevertheless it is good to know there is a good support structure in place when you need it.
Three cheers.

Biggest Pro: So easy to use in every sense of the word.
Biggest Con: I can’t think of anything yet.

Family Book Creator Review by Fred Sheinbein,  May 17, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using Family Tree Maker since version 1 and am now using FTM 2017 Test Drive Edition.
This year I discovered Family Book Creator and purchased version 2014 and just upgraded to FBC 2017 without problems.
I did email FBC with a question and Stefan answered back within a few hours thoroughly answering my question showing me he cares about his users and is there to give great customer support..
FBS has opened up a whole new way for me to publish and share my family history, especially with other family members.
This plugin should definitely be added to FTM by everyone using that program.
.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use. The book it creates is indispensable in organizing and sharing family history..
Biggest Con: Have not found any.

Family Book Creator Review by John McNamee,  May 9, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I am a long time user of Ancestry.com / Family Tree Maker and have tried their earlier versions of “book publishing” plugins. With the addition of FAMILY BOOK CREATOR my problems are over since it does a magnificent job of sharing our common heritage information with nieces, nephews, cousins and of course children and grandchildren.
Earlier I had attempted to produce reports tailored to each descendant, but the printing, packaging, and mailing costs were adding up to significant dollars expended. With FAMILY BOOK CREATOR I can create a report anywhere from one page to 3500 pages with no cost except for the initial purchase price and the subscription to Ancestry/Family Tree Maker (now 2014) but 2017 coming.
Once the book is created with your individual preferences, I was able to save the report in one of many formats. I chose MS Word 2007 since I already had the word processing software. Word 2007 also permits, as well as other programs, the conversion of the Word 2007 file in Adobe Acrobat PDF format, which is reduced in size for transmission over the World Wide Web (WWW). Using a “cloud” subscription service, Box.com, I am able to upload files as large as 5 Gb. Most of the files produced with a 12,000 person database are usually around 2.5Gb in size. Once uploaded Box.com allows for sharing with one or more individuals with an information message to download to their individual computers. Box.com does not add extra cost for this additional feature.
Using Box.com and FAMILY BOOK CREATOR, I have been able to share my 40 years of family history with many other family members, all descendants of a few individuals many centuries ago.
In my not so humble opinion, FAMILY BOOK CREATOR is worth five times what they charge. In addition, their support staff is “super”.

Biggest Pro: Saves money on reports and prirnting/mailing; program can be tailored to your preferences.
Biggest Con: Small learnfing curve, but it does take a few hours to review preferences and relate to report format. But time well spent for good reporting techiques.

Family Book Creator Review by Christie,  May 9, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Biggest Pro: Best genealogy program for books

Family Book Creator Review by Marion Vermazen,  Apr 16, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

An absolutely wonderful program that created professional books the right way!!

Biggest Pro: It works
Biggest Con: You probably need to understand how software works in order to know what to correct in FTM when an output on a page looks wrong. It is a very powerful program!

Family Book Creator Review by Jerry Swanson,  Apr 14, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Hello all…

Re: Family Book Creator by Stefan Harms of Germany.

A link to their website:
http://www.familybookcreator.com/en/

I wanted to spread the word about a relatively new plugin for Family Tree Maker software. I asked a moderator to create this board, because I believe it will become a great help to those considering writing their own family history books.

Three years ago, I published my first genealogy book, “Wegert Family and Friends Cookbook and History”. My online Ancestry.com family tree includes over 32,000 individuals, over 8200 marriages, over 7000 images, thousands of documents, and hundreds of family stories. This book was about my Mom’s side of the family tree. I started with her branch, because my dad’s “Dockstader” side of the tree is HUGE, considering the extensive Mormon roots there.

Besides working online, I use Family Tree Maker Software, 2014.1, and am anxiously awaiting the release of a stable version of FTM 2017.

So…that book is 450 pages of over 100,000 words, about 1500 full-color images, hundreds of tree charts, and other created-by-hand formats of data and stories. I worked on the book for over 10 years. I printed the book in full color and hand-bound the 50 editions I released to family.

Why tell that story? Because if I would have had this new Book Creator Software, I would have saved thousands of hours of research, organizing, and keypunching my data into a logical and easy-to-read layout.

The software works with FTM 2012, 2014, 2014.1 and 2017 (when that final version is released). You are able to create your book in MS Word format or PDF. I did my book in Word and created both .docx and .pdf formats for my e-book edition.

The software is so easy to use. As I mentioned…it is a plugin, so it works within FTM. It is highly configurable and you may create books for “Relatives of”, “Ancestors of”, “Descendants of”, or a simple “Alphabetical Family Register”. You may also limit the scope of the book by specifying how many generations will be output. For example, having the software generate a book for my father, for five generations of “relatives”, resulted in a book of about 600 pages in PDF format. My e-books, in .pdf format, are ranging from 35 to 250 Mb.

The software gives you all the names, places, and dates, and all the images associated with those relatives. You design your Title Page, Colophon, Dedication, and Forward…configure layouts…decide what data to include…even down to margin sizes…and the software does the rest.

My first book created with FBC was “The Relatives of Larry Dockstader”, my dad. The software created 600 pages, in .pdf format, in about two minutes. The output is cleanly organized in story-form for each individual included in the compilation of data with tree charts also created. FBC uses your FTM data to compile the book. And remember…your book data is only as good as the data in your FTM software.

Another good result for me was that I have received many emails with many suggested corrections, omissions, new images, or other reasons for edits once family started reading the book. Of course, they want it to be correct. And anyone doing genealogy will appreciate that cuz everyone knows how it is like pulling teeth to get family input in so many cases, eh?

Anyway…my mouth was ajar after doing my first book, and was secretly cursing the software designer for not creating the software 12 years ago…smiles. If I would have had this software when compiling my first book, I could have output the data and stuff in .docx format and then used my MS Word for the final output after I added my custom information, stories, images, not to mention the hundreds of family recipes…since that is what my book started out as…a family cookbook with a little family history thrown in. It turned out to be a book of our family history with a few recipes thrown in…smiles.

Being the family genealogist…I am ever so happy to…with this software…now offer to anyone in the family a custom book of their own for their particular branch of our tree. VERY COOL. I have already published eight books in this manner for those asking. I am in the process of creating a custom book for my Father, Mother, Mom’s 7 siblings, and my four brothers. Yes…we have a LARGE family…smiles. The e-books will be great gifts…how cool is that?

Anyway…take a look at the website link above. If you always wanted to start a family history book of your own…here is a pretty easy way to get started.

And if anyone is interested…my family genealogy website is:
http://www.compassist.com/jerry/dockstader-wegert-family/index.html

I have several page links there where I have honored family war hero’s! Proud of them!

Thanks for listening!

Jerry

Biggest Pro: Ease
Biggest Con: Have not found one yet.

Family Book Creator Review by Fiona Poulton,  Apr 12, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using family history software since it was invented, so have used a fair few in my time.
This software is worth its weight in Gold, I just love it. from a fairly easy interface it is a powerful piece if kit. Ideal for sending relatives family books, can be set up how you like edited….. I could go on.
Well done

Biggest Pro: ease of use and standard of output
Biggest Con: I would like to see more layouts as standard, but to be fair you don’t need them if you output to word

Family Book Creator Review by liz,  Apr 9, 2017

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Every time i try to create a book it shuts down my computer.

Family Book Creator Review by Allan Murphy,  Apr 5, 2017

Not Rated

I have not used the program yet. In the process of moving. Hope to use the program soon and family tree has not shipped the update of 2017. Murphy’s law.

Show 21-40 »