Gramps for Windows

by Don Allingham
This is where you review the Windows version of Gramps. The Unix and Windows versions have enough differences from the Windows version that it should be reviewed separately. Please go to the main Gramps page to review Gramps on Unix, or go to the Gramps for Windows page to review the Windows version.

Free • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.gramps-project.org/
Overall111.65 out of 51.65 out of 51.65 out of 51.65 out of 51.65 out of 5 1.65
201412 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 2.00
201371.55 out of 51.55 out of 51.55 out of 51.55 out of 51.55 out of 5 1.55
Earlier31.61 out of 51.61 out of 51.61 out of 51.61 out of 51.61 out of 5 1.61

Add Your Review of Gramps for Windows

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

11 Reviews of Gramps for Windows     RSS 2.0 RSS                   Add Your Review

Gramps for Windows Review by Not ready for prime time,  Jul 8, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I’m sure that someday this will be good software but right now it’s not the greatest. I have been going around in circles trying to add a spouse. The documentation doesn’t match version 4 in this respect so it’s no help. I really tried to give this a chance but after entering quite a bit of data I got nowhere fast which is too bad. I like the idea of open source but just because it’s opensource and team developed doesn’t mean it’s any good.

Biggest Pro: open source
Biggest Con: not intuitive, sketchy documentation

Gramps for Windows Review by J. Poole,  Dec 9, 2013

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I reviewed Gramps a while ago, when I was using Ubuntu. Since, circumstances have moved me to Windows 8, and I’ve found that many of the criticisms of Gramps from Windows people are justified. It can’t handle placing its windows correctly on Win OS, leading to endless moving windows around if you have a laptop sized screen. And the latest all-in-one for windows leaves an empty Python terminal open continuously, needlessly cluttering up the taskbar. The Gramps developers come across as quite proud of their anti-Windows bias, relegating that platform to an all-in-one sidebar activity. Maybe I’m wrong, but that’s how it looks from here… and so I doubt that Windows irritants are high on their priority list.

If you are a person who wants a well behaved Windows app, this may not be the best genealogy program for you. I’m less impressed than I was in my Ubuntu days, and have considered other options.

Biggest Pro: Free
Biggest Con: It’s really a Linux application. If you aren’t, tread carefully…

Gramps for Windows Review by Eduard,  Dec 1, 2013

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I prefer quality products for Windows.

Biggest Con: Not native for microsoft products

Gramps for Windows Review by Douglas T Watts,  Jun 17, 2013

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Too Complex hen it came to adding a spouse???

Gramps for Windows Review by Hal Bates,  May 29, 2013

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

This program is junk. Every time I run a report to produce a web output I get a different result any changes to the data or report criteria whatsoever. Rubbish.

Gramps for Windows Review by Hal Bates,  May 26, 2013

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I found it very difficult to use and it is not intuitive.

Biggest Pro: Very extensive for recording information about each person
Biggest Con: Hard to use or figure out

Gramps for Windows Review by Doug,  Jan 27, 2013

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Whilst it clearly has many features inputting even basic information is far too complicated and the doucmentation is weak. Even a simple task like creating a marriage link between two people isn’t intuitive and the information required (available names of the right gender) simply does not display. I’m sure it is a fine programme if you have the time and desire to overcome the steep learning curve and complex operations, but get-up-and-go it isn’t.

Biggest Pro: Depth of features
Biggest Con: Interface far too complex

Gramps for Windows Review by CAB,  Jan 25, 2013

Not Rated

The only text it accepts is English. I have relatives in other countries and they have names in another languages…

No, this doesn’t work for me.

Biggest Pro: Don’t know. Didn’t get in too far.
Biggest Con: No Unicode support

Gramps for Windows Review by niteowl,  Jun 22, 2012

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

This software is the worst genealogy software for entering info I have ever used, I have been a genealogist for 22 years and would NOT recommend this software, free or not.

Biggest Pro: privacy
Biggest Con: navigation and data entry

Gramps for Windows Review by DougVL,  Sep 22, 2011

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Kind of interesting, but I had to use the Portable Apps version, which isn’t the latest.
I tried and tried, but could not fill the ‘dependencies’ for installing the Windows version. It needs a LOT of other software, installed in very particular ways. And following the instructions exactly, it still wouldn’t work.

I’m mainly looking for charts that show relatives, not just ancestors or descendants. This has such a chart, but only saved as SVG file format. It’s been pretty hard to find a way to use that.

Biggest Pro: Has an ‘all relatives’ or ‘everyone’ chart
Biggest Con: ‘all relatives’ or ‘everyone’ chart produced in SVG file format

Gramps for Windows Review by DougVL,  Jan 1, 2011

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I spent 2 or 3 hours trying to get it to work in Windows Vista. There is a problem with it using GTK2 - it claims it can’t find it. I found comments about adjusting the DOS PATH and tried them. Can’t get it to work and gave up.
I read that it might be able to import a CSV file. I want to make a mass change to a GEDcom file, so I exported and changed it. Now I need a program to get it back into GEDcom format.

Doug

Biggest Pro: might work with CSV files
Biggest Con: Can’t make it work in Windows Vista.