Gramps for Windows

by Don Allingham
This is where you review the Windows version of Gramps. The Unix and Windows versions have enough differences from the Windows version that it should be reviewed separately. Please go to the main Gramps page to review Gramps on Unix, or go to the Gramps for Mac page to review the Mac version.

Free • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.gramps-project.org/
Overall232.88 out of 52.88 out of 52.88 out of 52.88 out of 52.88 out of 5 2.88
201692.9 out of 52.9 out of 52.9 out of 52.9 out of 52.9 out of 5 2.90
201515 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00
Earlier132.16 out of 52.16 out of 52.16 out of 52.16 out of 52.16 out of 5 2.16

Add Your Review of Gramps for Windows

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

23 Reviews of Gramps for Windows     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Gramps for Windows Review by Peter,  Sep 29, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Not impressed at all.

Has to be one of the most disjointed database handling pieces of software I’ve used. Nothing flows here. It is a continuous struggle to input data. I don’t expect flick and tick but this is so far from being acceptable as a genealogy programme.

I know that it is free and open source, but it is not worth retaining or persisting with. It will be uninstalled and a better programme sourced elsewhere.

Biggest Pro: Free
Biggest Con: Too many to mention. It’s a shame really as I had been looking forward to using it. Oh well !!

Gramps for Windows Review by Donald,  Sep 13, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This program actually exceeded my expectations. Definitely a good program to use if you don’t want to buy a program. Has versions for all OS platforms which is good and I definitely recommend Open Source as the way to go. Definitely on par with software like FTM, Legacy and Rootsmagic.

Biggest Pro: Free Open Source, fully functional and versions for all OS’s.
Biggest Con: Biggest Con I’ve seen is probably installation does take a bit longer. Other than that I do not see anything.

Gramps for Windows Review by Brian,  Aug 16, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Installed GRAMPS yesterday, with no prior genealogical software experience. I’ve been collecting data for a few months in a spreadsheet based on Excel2GED (also a free download) and used it to create the GEDCOM file. Got an enormous amount of errors! OK, some were mine and GRAMPS does a good job of finding them. But the biggest problem was the _CHAN tag (indicating the change date) which is used in Excel2GED but not recognized by GRAMPS. Comment out the three lines in the Excel2Go macro and - no more errors! Couldn’t find this anywhere online so that’s why I’m reporting it here in case it helps others. If you aren’t that familiar with VBA, just search the btnExport_Click macro for _CHAN and comment out or delete the three consecutive lines that reference this. It’s too early to give a full review but I had none of the installation problems noted elsewhere. I have about 450 records, no performance issues yet. So rated it 4 for now.

Biggest Pro: Worked first time, solid validation checks, even the basic features I’ve seen already are very helpful
Biggest Con: More helpful error messages would have been nice

Gramps for Windows Review by David,  Aug 12, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I downloaded the portable version of Gramps from portableapps . com. When it starts up it warns that it can’t find some module called OsmGpsMap. I tried to find online such a thing and came up empty. The Gramps Help is an online wiki which is pretty much impossible to find anything on. Apparently OsmGpsMap is some module that lets python interact with Google Earth or Open Street Map. I’m not willing to dig into the internals of Python to figure out where to find it and how to install it. A portable program should already have all it’s dependencies resolved and included in the package. Once you ignore the missing module message and dismiss its window it then lets you load a GEDCOM and see the main screen.

I was not impressed. It seems that the developers are more interested in their program than they are in my data. You’re immediately confronted with something called Gramplets. One is a Welcome screen, one is a FAQ, and one corner of the screen is completely blank, except for a message to load a Gramplet into it. No people anywhere! Yes, you can click on “People” on a menu along the left hand side and get to a view of your individuals, similarly you can click on “Family” and “Ancestry” (but not “Descendants”) and get those views, but it seems to me that the developers have their priorities backwards. This is just the first of many instances where the user interface is odd to the point of being unintuitive because the developers haven’t put the priority on making a nice, easy to use, intuitive user interface that lets you get on with entering your people and being helpful instead of getting in your way.

Yes, it’s probably great that they have a way to add features to the program. Yes, I can probably make this work if I’m willing to put enough time and effort into it, probably by writing my own Gramplets. No, it’s definitely not ready for prime time on Windows 10. It looks like it’s got potential. It looks like if you’re willing to either work with their convoluted GUI or write your own Gramplets then you can make it work. All the basic bits and pieces are there. You can enter new people and places and dates and events and sources and notes. You can see ancestors and families and descendants. But it doesn’t work the way I want it to. At all!

I’d like to have a menu of people, or better yet a tree of people organized by last name along the left hand margin, not a bunch of Gramplet names. The frequently used program functions to change views should be on the top toolbar or menu or ribbon, like other Windows programs. I’d like to have a view where I can see and add all the quick facts about an entire family on one screen, without opening separate windows for each person, each event, and each place. I don’t want to see meaningless information (Duh!) in my events, like the “main participant” to a birth event being the person himself. Hide the crap that only the program needs to know and use my valuable screen real estate for the facts I’m interested in. Make it easy for me to see my notes and sources by putting them right next to the facts and events they relate to. When showing me my individuals, don’t take up half the screen with a complex Filter Gramplet that most of the time I don’t need. Make the Descendants Gramplet one of the main views and make it dynamic, so I can close off parts of the descendants tree I’m not interested. Last but not least, let me have my preferred date form: dd Mon yyyy. I don’t want dd Month yyyy or dd MON yyyy. Every other possibility is covered except the one I want!

But modern genealogy programs should do more than that. Nowhere does this program try to interrogate any internet site, so far as I can see. That’s really sad. All the major paid software works with at least one online genealogy data provider. The only thing you can download from the internet into Gramps is more Gramplets. Ideally, Gramps wouldn’t just let me run online queries, but would automatically present me with hints like ancestry . com does. And I really want a genealogy program to vet my place names against a data base to complete them and make sure the places actually exist. Mapping would be a great extra, but vetting is required even if the software doesn’t have an available mapping service.

Biggest Pro: Flexible Gramplets
Biggest Con: Horrible, nonintuitive, outdated, practically unusable GUI.

Gramps for Windows Review by David Henry,  Aug 12, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

The installation ran without problems and easily imported a GEDCOM file from my ancient DOS program.
A quick check showed that relationships were all complete.
I was less impressed by the Web reports. Several parent-child relationships that were visible on the People pages were not visible on the generated web pages.
Also, while the top level list of Surnames was accurate, drilling down to the individuals with that Surname showed only a partial list.

Biggest Pro: Imports GEDCOM
Biggest Con: Generated web pages

Gramps for Windows Review by J T Waterfield,  Jun 20, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Installed on Windows 10; installer reported ‘OK’ though I was bothered by an earlier line which warned of various errors, including ‘runpy module not found’ or similar. Would not run; at most I’d get an hourglass over the icon for a few seconds…

Uninstalled and reinstalled in its default directory in case that made a difference (_not_ somewhere I’d want a program…) - nope, still the same non-performance.

I’ll try the Linux version on another machine, because I’ve read good things about the software, but that’s already going further than I would normally - I reckon if there’s a Windows installer provided, and it says ‘intall ok’, then it should work…

Biggest Pro: Free; uninstall seems to work effectively
Biggest Con: Didn’t actually run.

Gramps for Windows Review by Brian Lewis,  Feb 2, 2016

Not Rated

I am running windows insider previews and gramps 4.2.2 does not appear to run now. It did on previous versions?? Any thoughts.

Gramps for Windows Review by Jan,  Jan 29, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Only the best :)

Gramps for Windows Review by Dora Smith,  Jan 10, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I installed it in Ubuntu and in Windows. Ubuntu version won’t run because it needs great big other things installed that I’d have to figure out. Windows was blocked by my antivirus, both from installing, and from running. Finally I got the program to open.

No intuitive way to add a person. Evidently you’re supposed to add sources and ten million other things, including ALL of your places, first! Well, I got it to add a person anyway. It let me add the name - but no way to tab from one field to another. You can only add the date. You have to click to select the gender; typing f or m doesn’t do it. You can only SELECT the place - you can’t type it in!

That’s as far as I went. This software is absolutely, completely, ridiculous.

Biggest Pro: I didn’t find any pros
Biggest Con: Designed by total idiots?

Gramps for Windows Review by Jim Family,  Sep 2, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Have used earlier version and now using latest Gramps Windows AIO 4.2-1 64bit on Windows 7 sp1 64bit Home Premium. Installed it in non administrator standard account to see how well it would handle that. To help you better compare this usage of Gramps, this desktop pc has MSI 785GM-P45 motherboard, AMD Athlon x2 245 2 core cpu, 8 GB Dual-channel DDR3 666MHz ram, MSI ATI Radeon HD 5450 Graphics card, AOC F22 23 inch display monitor, 500 GB Seagate ST500DMO SATA 3 main hdd, 1 TB Samsung HD103SJ SATA 3 storage hdd, Optiarc DVD RW AD-7260S SATA 3 Optical drive all powered by LSP 550 watt ATX power supply. This system was built in 2007, has run 24 hrs a day 7 days a week never turned off except when power outage then turned back on. You can see it is kind of old, but runs well.

Installing Gramps for windows AIO 4.2-1 64 bit on this system in standard user account took less than 5 min. I had the KIS 2015 protection paused while installing. Clicking on the Gramps AIO exe launched the installer writing the folders and files to their appropriate places then started the compiler which complied all required apps, placed only 1 icon on the desktop which was the Gramps startup launch icon. It created a Gramps folder in the programs menu and placed 3 icons in there to launch Gramps startup, Gramps console,and Gramps debug, if ever needed.

Gramps AIO installed all it’s directories and files in the user account\apps\local apps, and user account\apps\roaming. I checked the registery and could not find any added modifications.

I set up a c:\Gramps Storage\ folder on the root drive with my folders of media, photos, images, documents, etc; and in Gramps set this as my relative media path.

I launched gramps selected the menu for checking for, downloading and installing the most current up to date apps and gramplets, this completed quickly, in the preferences menu, I set what I desired. I set up a newly named family tree then loaded it.

In the places category, I entered all the places I had written down, country, state, county, city, etc; and set these to view and work in group format, really handy for me. I then selected the peoples category and entered all that I currently have and any associated information. Then I selected the families category with the most recent (youngest) person in the peoples category selected, I added the fater and mother, set their relationship type, then added the marriage event and date. when clicking OK, a window pops up to allow selecting the relationship between the chield and both parents, birth, stepchild, adopted, etc;, clicking ok when finished. I then clicked the child + symbol and added each child in that family and their associated event information, birth, death, etc;. When completed with that family, I selected the father of that family to be the child of the next family event, then associated the father, mother and continued on as previously described, working my way up to the oldest and last family event.

When finished I clicked on the charts category, and behold, I have a pedigree or desendants chart that is amasing. I can click on any of them, to add or modify, etc; and every thing stays in sync. While doing this in Gramps, I found it to be very responsive, and quick to update its database as I add, modify or remove any item I decide to change. If you make a lot of modifications, it might hesitate just a little bit as it updates its database for all the changes and saves them, but this is expected. I am still doing research on the internet and in person and adding people, places, events, sources, etc; and find Gramps to be a well qualified Genealogy program to work with and use. It does not take a whole lot of effort or time to understand and use this program, a little reading here and there and from the forums and trying things yourself.

In closing I want to add that I and many others, truly appreciate, the developers and programmers time and work they put in to achieving such a fantastic Genealogy program with no monetary pay for their efforts. A truly heartfelt thanks to all you people.

Jim

Biggest Pro: Performance, usability, reliability, GUI.
Biggest Con: None, if I, a 71 year old retired person can use it, anyone can.

Gramps for Windows Review by VHT,  Dec 25, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Initially it seemed to work OK on Windows 8. But having added about 50 people Gramps started to slow down, i.e. Windows wouldn’t open or close, which became increasingly frustrating. Then the entire database got corrupted, which the repair utility didn’t resolve. Although I used the backup function, there doesn’t seem to be a utility to recover the database from the backup. As a result, I lost all data! I will not use this application ever again.

Biggest Pro: GUI OK, multiple views
Biggest Con: Corrupted database with no tool to repair or revover from backup.

Gramps for Windows Review by Ad,  Dec 24, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I use it 2 years iyt is not allway simpet

Biggest Pro: The grapical interface
Biggest Con: It takes time to overcome de learning curve

Gramps for Windows Review by Not ready for prime time,  Jul 8, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I’m sure that someday this will be good software but right now it’s not the greatest. I have been going around in circles trying to add a spouse. The documentation doesn’t match version 4 in this respect so it’s no help. I really tried to give this a chance but after entering quite a bit of data I got nowhere fast which is too bad. I like the idea of open source but just because it’s opensource and team developed doesn’t mean it’s any good.

Biggest Pro: open source
Biggest Con: not intuitive, sketchy documentation

Gramps for Windows Review by J. Poole,  Dec 9, 2013

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I reviewed Gramps a while ago, when I was using Ubuntu. Since, circumstances have moved me to Windows 8, and I’ve found that many of the criticisms of Gramps from Windows people are justified. It can’t handle placing its windows correctly on Win OS, leading to endless moving windows around if you have a laptop sized screen. And the latest all-in-one for windows leaves an empty Python terminal open continuously, needlessly cluttering up the taskbar. The Gramps developers come across as quite proud of their anti-Windows bias, relegating that platform to an all-in-one sidebar activity. Maybe I’m wrong, but that’s how it looks from here… and so I doubt that Windows irritants are high on their priority list.

If you are a person who wants a well behaved Windows app, this may not be the best genealogy program for you. I’m less impressed than I was in my Ubuntu days, and have considered other options.

Biggest Pro: Free
Biggest Con: It’s really a Linux application. If you aren’t, tread carefully…

Gramps for Windows Review by Eduard,  Dec 1, 2013

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I prefer quality products for Windows.

Biggest Con: Not native for microsoft products

Gramps for Windows Review by Douglas T Watts,  Jun 17, 2013

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Too Complex hen it came to adding a spouse???

Gramps for Windows Review by Hal Bates,  May 29, 2013

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

This program is junk. Every time I run a report to produce a web output I get a different result any changes to the data or report criteria whatsoever. Rubbish.

Gramps for Windows Review by Hal Bates,  May 26, 2013

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I found it very difficult to use and it is not intuitive.

Biggest Pro: Very extensive for recording information about each person
Biggest Con: Hard to use or figure out

Gramps for Windows Review by Doug,  Jan 27, 2013

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Whilst it clearly has many features inputting even basic information is far too complicated and the doucmentation is weak. Even a simple task like creating a marriage link between two people isn’t intuitive and the information required (available names of the right gender) simply does not display. I’m sure it is a fine programme if you have the time and desire to overcome the steep learning curve and complex operations, but get-up-and-go it isn’t.

Biggest Pro: Depth of features
Biggest Con: Interface far too complex

Gramps for Windows Review by CAB,  Jan 25, 2013

Not Rated

The only text it accepts is English. I have relatives in other countries and they have names in another languages…

No, this doesn’t work for me.

Biggest Pro: Don’t know. Didn’t get in too far.
Biggest Con: No Unicode support

Show 21-23 »