Hope Chest

by Hope Chest Software, LLC. (Eric Vance)
A program that helps users of the FamilySearch.org website by searching your family tree and collecting Temple work that is ready to request. It is available as a Google Chrome browser extension and also as an Android App and an iOS App.

Free • Purchase • Windows • Mac • Handheld • Utility
http://hopechestsoftware.com/
Overall552.69 out of 52.69 out of 52.69 out of 52.69 out of 52.69 out of 5 2.69
2017132.41 out of 52.41 out of 52.41 out of 52.41 out of 52.41 out of 5 2.41
2016122.87 out of 52.87 out of 52.87 out of 52.87 out of 52.87 out of 5 2.87
Earlier303.13 out of 53.13 out of 53.13 out of 53.13 out of 53.13 out of 5 3.13

Add Your Review of Hope Chest

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

55 Reviews of Hope Chest     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Hope Chest Review by John Wilson,  1 day ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Doesn’t work. Waste of time and money.

Biggest Pro: Great when it works.
Biggest Con: Doesn’t work.

Hope Chest Review by John Wilson,  1 day ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have been using Hope Chest for a year. At first I found lots and was thrilled. The last few months, Hope Chest finds NO ancestors that need work. It just doesn’t work.

Biggest Pro: When it works it works great in finding potential ancestors
Biggest Con: Doesn’t work anymore.

Hope Chest Review by Cathleen Long,  Oct 31, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I paid the price they asked. Never Delivered the goods with what was promised. I contacted twice, no answer ………………………………………….

Biggest Pro: NO ANSWER FOR MY PAID PROGRAM
Biggest Con: WHERES THE INFO STORED THATS EXPORTED? THE RABBIT HOLE, YOU NEVER RESPONDED TO MY ASKING FOR HELP 2X’S AND I PAID, YOU GOT YOUR MONEY, I GOT NOTHING

Hope Chest Review by Ray H. Linford,  Aug 23, 2017

Not Rated

I have had problems with the icon disappearing on me. I get a catch-22 phenomenon when I try get support.
Basically I have not been able to use it. A waste ofmoney

Biggest Pro: I have seen it work and when it does it is nice
Biggest Con: Most of the time I cannot find the icon.

Hope Chest Review by Lyne,  Jun 17, 2017

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I upgraded to plus and had an issue…contacted support three times and never got a response. Unable to use it.

Biggest Pro: Looks cool
Biggest Con: No support

Hope Chest Review by Paul,  Jun 8, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have the upgrade edition to save searches by name and it works well. Others have complained about not being able to contact the developer. However, I asked a question by email and got a response overnight. I have had none of the erratic problems others have talked about (although I have only used the browser edition). I think that having a good internet connection and an adequate computer will be important factors to get good results from Hope Chest.

Biggest Pro: Being able to name searches to stay organized.
Biggest Con: None so far.

Hope Chest Review by Don Pearson,  May 10, 2017

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I have used Hope Chest successfully for a couple of my family lines but then:
1. I tried another family line and the search would never end. This happened twice.
2. I tried another family line and it indicated it was “finished” but nothing was saved.

Biggest Pro: Saves lots of time when it works.
Biggest Con: A total waste of time when it doesn’t.

Hope Chest Review by Norman,  Apr 17, 2017

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I’ve been using Hope Chest for a long time now. It has found (through looping) several problems in my FamilySearch database. I was able to fix most of them when I finally found the problem. There have been times when I didn’t think HC was working properly, but it was really FamilySearch. There have been a couple of HC updates that required a “re-enabling” in Google Chrome. It didn’t work before I updated…. afterwards was OK again. The premium version, when tested with several grandchildren who were new to HC, worked successfully each time! It is great! I think we got the great end of the deal when my father-in-law bought the premium version…. he has 10 children, about 44 grandchildren, and 49 great-grand children with more coming!! :)

Biggest Pro: Totally a time saver…. does exactly what I used to do by hand…. a great tool
Biggest Con: Ends up being problems with the FamilySearch database….. not Hope Chest

Hope Chest Review by Kevin,  Mar 26, 2017

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Good program. Easy to use. HOWEVER, I signed up for the special edition to allow my progeny to use the program and they can not. There appears to be no way to contact the company for resolution.

Biggest Pro: Easy to use
Biggest Con: Paid money and didn’t get the product.

Hope Chest Review by Joe Gammon,  Mar 12, 2017

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I have been using Hope Chest for about a year, and I have a very mixed review. When it is operating properly, it is a fantastic tool, automating the discovery of names on FamilySearch.org with different ordinance statuses. . However it has been bug-ridden from the beginning. Responses from the customer service email address (support@HopeChestSoftware.com) are either generic, not addressing the issues, or just as often, no response at all. No issues reported have been resolved over the past year.

Major issues: On the premium version, the date, and ordinance status filters do not work as designed. They often allow the return of names outside the date or status options selected. Recently within the past 4 weeks, the free version, which originally functioned property, now does not save search requests in the inbox. The search is conducted, names are found, but they are not saved.

So my rating on the free version is a 1. The rating on the premium version is a 2.

Biggest Pro: Automated, time-saving searches for the ordinance status of names at FamilySearch.org
Biggest Con: Complete failure of free version and some premium options with no corrections by customer service.

Hope Chest Review by Nancy Barnes,  Mar 6, 2017

Not Rated

I paid for Hope Chest Plus on Mar. 13 2016. It is now gone, and I have no one to contact. Would you please give me a phone number so I can contact you about this issue. Thank you, Nancy Barnes My phone # is 435-730-0261.

Biggest Pro: Good software if I still had it!
Biggest Con: Can not talk to anybody about issues.

Hope Chest Review by Nancy Barnes,  Feb 27, 2017

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I bought Hope Chest Plus on March 13, 2016. And now it is gone. Can I have this software reinstalled please. Whom do I contact.

Biggest Pro: Good software.
Biggest Con: Not good if I can’t use it.

Hope Chest Review by Janice C Parkin,  Feb 3, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have a mixed review. I had Hope Chest and loved it. It saved me thousands of hours. But it has now disappeared and I can’t get it back. I paid the 10 original fee.

Biggest Con: it has now disappeared and I can’t get it back. I paid the $10 original fee. but cannot get it to reinstall like the instructions have said.

Hope Chest Review by Darren Jensen,  Oct 31, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using Hope Chest for a year and it is absolutely fantastic. In that time I have submitted nearly 4000 names to the temple, I would pay any price for this easy to use program.

Biggest Pro: The ability to easily and efficiently find names to submit to the temple
Biggest Con: No Con’s

Hope Chest Review by LaRissa,  Oct 30, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Doesn’t save any names, so why bother?

Biggest Pro: Appears to search.
Biggest Con: Doesn’t save anything, so why bother?

Hope Chest Review by Joe Bingham,  Oct 25, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used Hope Chest for about 4months and it is the best thing that ever happened to LDS genealogical research. I had a problem today because I tried to use the program while they were in transition. I emailed them and they were very prompt in assisting me. This is great.

Biggest Pro: Ability to find people that meet the criteria I enter.
Biggest Con: Could be a little faster but no serious con’s at all.

Hope Chest Review by Susan Adams,  Oct 24, 2016

Not Rated

I upgraded to Hope Chest Plus- Posterity addition but deleted the email before installing it. Could you email me another one with instructions?

Hope Chest Review by Jennifer,  Sep 8, 2016

Not Rated

Waiting for it to stop doing the yellow square. Had it on and it started nad it has covered the same people all day 8 hours and still no 8 square.

Biggest Pro: Concept is great
Biggest Con: 8 hours and still running the same people over and over. Waiting for the green square.

Hope Chest Review by Nancy Barnes,  Aug 8, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I bought the software for family search and now it is gone.

Biggest Con: How many times do I have to buy this softeware?

Hope Chest Review by Chloe Ferrin,  Jun 5, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Interesting. Nice idea and worked very well a few years back. Now all that I get is a never ending loop. Hopefully this can be fixed sometime in the future.

Biggest Pro: Hands Free
Biggest Con: The Looping

Show 21-40 »