Pandora’s Hope Chest

by Pandora’s Hope (Eric Vance)
A Google Chrome browser extension that helps users of the FamilySearch.org website by searching your family tree and collecting Temple work that is ready to request.

Free • Windows • Mac • Unix • Utility
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/pandoras-hope-chest/gjneklba...
Overall253.55 out of 53.55 out of 53.55 out of 53.55 out of 53.55 out of 5 3.55
201583.49 out of 53.49 out of 53.49 out of 53.49 out of 53.49 out of 5 3.49
2014143.66 out of 53.66 out of 53.66 out of 53.66 out of 53.66 out of 5 3.66
Earlier32.81 out of 52.81 out of 52.81 out of 52.81 out of 52.81 out of 5 2.81

Add Your Review of Pandora’s Hope Chest

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

25 Reviews of Pandora’s Hope Chest     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by Carolyn Gardner,  Jun 13, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I can not get crome to work with me to down load hope chest on my computer because I had it once and now it is gone. What can I do to restore it?

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by Linda Kennedy,  Apr 6, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

HOPE CHEST is the best way I have found to make your research be focused, rather than just clicking around in your Family Tree to try and find someone. The list it provides you will give you many hours of research and will yield more ordinances than your family can do.
HOPE CHEST is a great tool, and can help you decide who to start working on. Bear in mind that it is just ONE TOOL to use. It is VERY USEFUL in creating a list of ancestors/cousins that may need ordinances done. But do not just take the list and run to the temple. You will still need to make sure the person has no duplicates, has the right parents, the right spouse/s, the correct siblings and children.
I LOVE HOPE CHEST.

Biggest Pro: Focuses your research.
Biggest Con: Only works in Chrome

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by Patricia Heaton,  Feb 28, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

This is a very helpful program for finding names that need ordinances. The program does have some hangups. There has to be an easier way to find our place when we return to the name list. We shouldn’t have to click on the file we are working on with every single name. There must be a way to have the file we are working on remain as the default while we are working in it. If these things could be corrected it would vastly improve its usage. Thanks for developing this process. Keep improving it! And we will keep using it!

Biggest Pro: Finding names
Biggest Con: Way to much clicking to bring up the correct file — and way to difficult to find our place when we return to the list.

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by Shoal Creek,  Feb 26, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

On the very first run of my family tree, it got stuck in an infinite loop (maybe a faulty design for IDDFS?). Admittedly, my extended family has very many extremely proactive LDS genealogists that often find names that were unknown before and take them all the way through SS and SP; however, this program should be able to detect when it has already traversed the tree once (a very basic premise of breadth-first searching) and should also completely explore each node on the first time through. Remember, the main goals for software that have people waiting for results are time efficiency, accuracy, and proper feedback. If it looks like it is looping through multiple times, then it will frustrate the user. In other words, fix the search (there are many standard, of the shelf algorithms for searching tree graphs that, with some optimization, will be just as accurate and much more time efficient than they approach you’ve taken)

Biggest Pro: ?
Biggest Con: infinite loop and requires Google spyware

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by birchdelores@gmail.com,  Feb 21, 2015

Not Rated

Hope Chest icon is gone from my Chrome site on Family Search. I paid for it about a month ago. Please e-mail solutions.

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by *NOT NAMED*,  Feb 17, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

It was great until I got on today and discovered that all of my names were erased. The same thing happened to a friend of mine. Other than that I thought it was a great time saver.

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by Jen Carrasco,  Jan 30, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is so helpful and saves so much time! it makes finding family names for temple work so much easier! I purchased the updated version a couple of months ago and now I can’t find it anywhere!!! Please help!

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by Bruce II,  Jan 27, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Great program to use when you are looking for focused work on ancestors and cousins that need additional work to complete their records. Saves days of tiresome searching and let’s me spend my time on the Genealogy, Sourcing and Reserving.

I use this in conjunction with Chrome browser and Puzzilla.org and let the computer do days worth of searching in just a couple hours.
1) I Open Puzzilla and set Generations to 10 (I use 7 to 10 depending on speed of computer)
2) I go to outer ring on Puzzilla (generation 10) and select 1 individual then click on “View in Family Tree”
3) When asked, I login to FamilySearch and then go to top left on the down arrow on the right of TREE and select that individual.
4) I then go to “Pandora” Hope Chest (top right) and select “Search Descendants”
5) I then go to either Step 2 above and begin another search in a new tab or open the Pandoras Box and begin checking, verifying and sourcing.
Once I get the first search going… I open more tabs and set up multiple searches at once and then start researching the results.
this has mad this work so much more fun and alot easier.

Biggest Pro: Does the tedious searching in a fraction of the time it takes me!
Biggest Con: Only Works in Chrome

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by tye davis,  Nov 25, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

it works great but i need help i bought it and know its gone please help me get it back at tyeandkaren2@yahoo.com

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by Ed Fillmore,  Nov 23, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Not only did it save me hours and hours, it found relatives that I didn’t even know about. Besides that, it was fun to watch it work. A very thorough system.

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by Malissa,  Nov 3, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Does the searching, you must do the checking. For those who’ve lost the hope chest icon, try this: to the right of the address bar is an icon with 3 horizontal lines, click it, scroll down to ‘more tools’ and click it, scroll down to ‘extensions’ and click it, find ‘hope chest’ and click ‘enable.’ Good luck.

Biggest Pro: searches forward and backward
Biggest Con: won’t do the checking too

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by Bill,  Oct 24, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The new version of Hope Chest is amazing!!

Biggest Pro: Helps FamilySearch users find ancestors who still need their work done
Biggest Con: Only works with Chrome (minor Con)

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by Morgan,  Oct 23, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I was using Pandora’s Hope Chest and went into Family Search to click on the Hope Chest icon and it was gone. I love this program but it is of no worth if I can’t access it any longer. Please advise how to get the icon back. I tried to reload it into Chrome but since it already is loaded it won’t let me.

Biggest Pro: It was an awesome tool for names not yet done
Biggest Con: Can’t access it any longer

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by Gary Kemp,  Oct 13, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Can’t get google chrome to download and so cannot use it, i would like to use it on Safari

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by Linda Massey,  Jul 25, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have been using this hope chest for the last couple of weeks and absolutely loved it! Then today it seems they did and update and suddenly when it starts a search it stops and will not move after it locks onto the very first one that needs work done. This is way too slow now and very confusing because after accepting or rejecting the need for reserving the work you have a hard time figuring out where to start again.
Please go back to the way it was! Before today I would have rated it a great big 5.

Biggest Pro: Before the update it was Great and Fast
Biggest Con: needs the ID number included

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by Pat Gardner,  Jul 25, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is a great tool to locating incomplete temple work. BUT it is a tool…and research still must be done to verify the information. I love it.

Biggest Pro: Locating missed ordinances
Biggest Con: people need to research.

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by Jennie,  Jul 5, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Pandora’s Hope Chest has helped me send hundreds of names to the temple for ordinance work. Yes, you still have to check each name and make sure it’s eligible for ordinances, but its ability to go through not only direct line ancestors but also their descendants makes it a life saver. If you understand how to use it, you will be able to save SOOO much time! Thank you to Eric Vance for making this tool available. Our Ogden Family History Library showed it to us, and I am very grateful for it. :-)

Biggest Pro: Checks names I would probably miss, methodically goes through all descendants.
Biggest Con: It also finds names which are not eligible for work since date of birth is not 110 years ago.

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by Clive Ingram,  May 6, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

If you are searching for “Green Arrows for your ancestors or their descendants this is by far the easiest and quickest way I have found to do this. Just be sure to treat the persons found as if you had searched and found them manually.

Biggest Pro: Very easy for a novice to use, found 11,000 plus “Green Arrows” the 1st time I used it.
Biggest Con: Almost too easy and some may reserve ordinances without checking for accuracy

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by Cathy Anderegg,  Apr 29, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

This tool is not yet a 3rd Party Program certified with FamilySearch. If it becomes certified, it will need to meet the restrictions and program designs required by FamilySearch Family Tree. Until that time, use with caution.

Here is the First Presidency policy regarding submitting names to the temple as seen in Get Help on FS.org.

“Because of the sacred nature of this work, members should be diligent in assuring the accuracy of all information submitted for ordinance work.” (16 June 1995, p. 80)
Validating information involves documenting and presenting the information used when submitting a name for ordinances. Submitting many names without research is not adhering to the counsel of the brethren. Please research and accurately identify ancestors before submitting names for temple ordinances.

The data on Family Tree is many, many times erroneous and must be verified, especially relationships.

Biggest Pro: Easy
Biggest Con: Does not remind folks of temple submission policy

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by JD,  Apr 3, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

It searched my entire tree in about 20 minutes, which pretty impressive since I’ve medieval genealogy in my tree. It found 11 names. Unfortunately, 9 of those names had multiple duplicates, including one woman with 10!!! in Family Tree. The other 2 that it found, included an ordinance that requires permission before it can be done. The other name needs more research because there’s evidence that this is not her maiden name.

If this were about cleaning up your tree and making it as accurate as possible, I’d say that this is a great tool for that. However, finding ordinances, I’m not so sure. If more members were careful about checking the information, I’d feel more comfortable recommending it. Temple and family history work isn’t just about seeing how many names you can find. It’s about learning about yourself and your family as you search out your ancestors.

Biggest Pro: Takes you to parts of your tree you’d never see otherwise.
Biggest Con: Can’t really determine what’s a duplicate and what’s not

Show 21-25 »