Hope Chest

by Hope Chest Software, LLC. (Eric Vance)
A program that helps users of the FamilySearch.org website by searching your family tree and collecting Temple work that is ready to request. It is available as a Google Chrome browser extension and also as an Android App and an iOS App.

Free • Purchase • Windows • Mac • Handheld • Utility
http://hopechestsoftware.com/
Overall323.11 out of 53.11 out of 53.11 out of 53.11 out of 53.11 out of 5 3.11
201622.99 out of 52.99 out of 52.99 out of 52.99 out of 52.99 out of 5 2.99
2015132.82 out of 52.82 out of 52.82 out of 52.82 out of 52.82 out of 5 2.82
Earlier173.59 out of 53.59 out of 53.59 out of 53.59 out of 53.59 out of 5 3.59

Add Your Review of Hope Chest

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

32 Reviews of Hope Chest     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Hope Chest Review by Edwin Bolton,  Jan 14, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Signed up for Hope Chest Plus. Money was taken by my paypal. Several hours have passed and and still do not have access?????????

Biggest Con: Payment and service

Hope Chest Review by Richard Thorpe,  Jan 7, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The name Pandora Hope Chest was changed in 2013 or 2014 to just Hope Chest. Since then there have been incredible updates. In the first six months of 2015, FamilySearch placed Hope Chest in their App Gallery. You find it listed in two categories: Find Ancestors and Tree Analyzing.

“Hope Chest will save hours of time clicking through your tree. Find what you are looking for without all the tedious effort.”

Negative reports of Hope Chest are a result of problems in an individual’s family tree. Ex. looping, searches the names over and over. All the problems that people have listed can easily be solved by knowing how to use the Chrome settings, or just watching the video introduction, or becoming more familiar with FamilySearch (checking for duplicates, merging files, etc.)

Biggest Pro: Time saved
Biggest Con: none

Hope Chest Review by Sara,  Dec 21, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Keeps looping and searching the same names over and over.

Biggest Pro: Helps find names quicker
Biggest Con: Keeps looping

Hope Chest Review by Stephan,  Dec 5, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Teh install went fine, Paid for the update and it find 25 names and loops. never moves from those names.

Biggest Pro: Looks like it has great potetnial, but it needs a fix.
Biggest Con: NO Support find back..

Hope Chest Review by Joan Shaw,  Nov 23, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I paid for the update, but it did not update. That was in September and I have emailed for help several times, but have never received any response.

Biggest Pro: Good idea
Biggest Con: No help with concerns

Hope Chest Review by Shirlene Peck,  Sep 9, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

How do I reach support for the Hope Chest? I purchased it and it did a great search. The next time I went to my computer, the search was gone and the site was asking me to purchase it again. I can’t find anywhere to reach out to them for help.

Biggest Con: Can’t find them for help.

Hope Chest Review by Julie Homer,  Sep 1, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

This program uses the data in FamilySearch Family Tree as it’s database. It leads you to assume that the information in the database is correct. A lot of the information is INCORRECT. Duplication of temple work has multiplies enormously since people have been using this program without doing any research to verify the information. Also, many names in the database have multiple records that are not combined, so even if the work has been done before, even many times, the program will tell you they need temple work again. Please do your research.

Biggest Pro: Easy?
Biggest Con: Leads to duplication in many cases.

Hope Chest Review by Carolyn Gardner,  Jun 13, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I can not get crome to work with me to down load hope chest on my computer because I had it once and now it is gone. What can I do to restore it?

Hope Chest Review by Linda Kennedy,  Apr 6, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

HOPE CHEST is the best way I have found to make your research be focused, rather than just clicking around in your Family Tree to try and find someone. The list it provides you will give you many hours of research and will yield more ordinances than your family can do.
HOPE CHEST is a great tool, and can help you decide who to start working on. Bear in mind that it is just ONE TOOL to use. It is VERY USEFUL in creating a list of ancestors/cousins that may need ordinances done. But do not just take the list and run to the temple. You will still need to make sure the person has no duplicates, has the right parents, the right spouse/s, the correct siblings and children.
I LOVE HOPE CHEST.

Biggest Pro: Focuses your research.
Biggest Con: Only works in Chrome

Hope Chest Review by Patricia Heaton,  Feb 28, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

This is a very helpful program for finding names that need ordinances. The program does have some hangups. There has to be an easier way to find our place when we return to the name list. We shouldn’t have to click on the file we are working on with every single name. There must be a way to have the file we are working on remain as the default while we are working in it. If these things could be corrected it would vastly improve its usage. Thanks for developing this process. Keep improving it! And we will keep using it!

Biggest Pro: Finding names
Biggest Con: Way to much clicking to bring up the correct file — and way to difficult to find our place when we return to the list.

Hope Chest Review by Shoal Creek,  Feb 26, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

On the very first run of my family tree, it got stuck in an infinite loop (maybe a faulty design for IDDFS?). Admittedly, my extended family has very many extremely proactive LDS genealogists that often find names that were unknown before and take them all the way through SS and SP; however, this program should be able to detect when it has already traversed the tree once (a very basic premise of breadth-first searching) and should also completely explore each node on the first time through. Remember, the main goals for software that have people waiting for results are time efficiency, accuracy, and proper feedback. If it looks like it is looping through multiple times, then it will frustrate the user. In other words, fix the search (there are many standard, of the shelf algorithms for searching tree graphs that, with some optimization, will be just as accurate and much more time efficient than they approach you’ve taken)

Biggest Pro: ?
Biggest Con: infinite loop and requires Google spyware

Hope Chest Review by birchdelores@gmail.com,  Feb 21, 2015

Not Rated

Hope Chest icon is gone from my Chrome site on Family Search. I paid for it about a month ago. Please e-mail solutions.

Hope Chest Review by *NOT NAMED*,  Feb 17, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

It was great until I got on today and discovered that all of my names were erased. The same thing happened to a friend of mine. Other than that I thought it was a great time saver.

Hope Chest Review by Jen Carrasco,  Jan 30, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is so helpful and saves so much time! it makes finding family names for temple work so much easier! I purchased the updated version a couple of months ago and now I can’t find it anywhere!!! Please help!

Hope Chest Review by Bruce II,  Jan 27, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Great program to use when you are looking for focused work on ancestors and cousins that need additional work to complete their records. Saves days of tiresome searching and let’s me spend my time on the Genealogy, Sourcing and Reserving.

I use this in conjunction with Chrome browser and Puzzilla.org and let the computer do days worth of searching in just a couple hours.
1) I Open Puzzilla and set Generations to 10 (I use 7 to 10 depending on speed of computer)
2) I go to outer ring on Puzzilla (generation 10) and select 1 individual then click on “View in Family Tree”
3) When asked, I login to FamilySearch and then go to top left on the down arrow on the right of TREE and select that individual.
4) I then go to “Pandora” Hope Chest (top right) and select “Search Descendants”
5) I then go to either Step 2 above and begin another search in a new tab or open the Pandoras Box and begin checking, verifying and sourcing.
Once I get the first search going… I open more tabs and set up multiple searches at once and then start researching the results.
this has mad this work so much more fun and alot easier.

Biggest Pro: Does the tedious searching in a fraction of the time it takes me!
Biggest Con: Only Works in Chrome

Hope Chest Review by tye davis,  Nov 25, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

it works great but i need help i bought it and know its gone please help me get it back at tyeandkaren2@yahoo.com

Hope Chest Review by Ed Fillmore,  Nov 23, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Not only did it save me hours and hours, it found relatives that I didn’t even know about. Besides that, it was fun to watch it work. A very thorough system.

Hope Chest Review by Malissa,  Nov 3, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Does the searching, you must do the checking. For those who’ve lost the hope chest icon, try this: to the right of the address bar is an icon with 3 horizontal lines, click it, scroll down to ‘more tools’ and click it, scroll down to ‘extensions’ and click it, find ‘hope chest’ and click ‘enable.’ Good luck.

Biggest Pro: searches forward and backward
Biggest Con: won’t do the checking too

Hope Chest Review by Bill,  Oct 24, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The new version of Hope Chest is amazing!!

Biggest Pro: Helps FamilySearch users find ancestors who still need their work done
Biggest Con: Only works with Chrome (minor Con)

Hope Chest Review by Morgan,  Oct 23, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I was using Pandora’s Hope Chest and went into Family Search to click on the Hope Chest icon and it was gone. I love this program but it is of no worth if I can’t access it any longer. Please advise how to get the icon back. I tried to reload it into Chrome but since it already is loaded it won’t let me.

Biggest Pro: It was an awesome tool for names not yet done
Biggest Con: Can’t access it any longer

Show 21-32 »