Hope Chest

by Hope Chest Software, LLC. (Eric Vance)
A program that helps users of the FamilySearch.org website by searching your family tree and collecting Temple work that is ready to request. It is available as a Google Chrome browser extension and also as an Android App and an iOS App.

Free • Purchase • Windows • Mac • Handheld • Utility
http://hopechestsoftware.com/
Overall423 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00
2016122.87 out of 52.87 out of 52.87 out of 52.87 out of 52.87 out of 5 2.87
2015132.82 out of 52.82 out of 52.82 out of 52.82 out of 52.82 out of 5 2.82
Earlier173.59 out of 53.59 out of 53.59 out of 53.59 out of 53.59 out of 5 3.59

Add Your Review of Hope Chest

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

42 Reviews of Hope Chest     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Hope Chest Review by Darren Jensen,  Oct 31, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using Hope Chest for a year and it is absolutely fantastic. In that time I have submitted nearly 4000 names to the temple, I would pay any price for this easy to use program.

Biggest Pro: The ability to easily and efficiently find names to submit to the temple
Biggest Con: No Con’s

Hope Chest Review by LaRissa,  Oct 30, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Doesn’t save any names, so why bother?

Biggest Pro: Appears to search.
Biggest Con: Doesn’t save anything, so why bother?

Hope Chest Review by Joe Bingham,  Oct 25, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used Hope Chest for about 4months and it is the best thing that ever happened to LDS genealogical research. I had a problem today because I tried to use the program while they were in transition. I emailed them and they were very prompt in assisting me. This is great.

Biggest Pro: Ability to find people that meet the criteria I enter.
Biggest Con: Could be a little faster but no serious con’s at all.

Hope Chest Review by Susan Adams,  Oct 24, 2016

Not Rated

I upgraded to Hope Chest Plus- Posterity addition but deleted the email before installing it. Could you email me another one with instructions?

Hope Chest Review by Jennifer,  Sep 8, 2016

Not Rated

Waiting for it to stop doing the yellow square. Had it on and it started nad it has covered the same people all day 8 hours and still no 8 square.

Biggest Pro: Concept is great
Biggest Con: 8 hours and still running the same people over and over. Waiting for the green square.

Hope Chest Review by Nancy Barnes,  Aug 8, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I bought the software for family search and now it is gone.

Biggest Con: How many times do I have to buy this softeware?

Hope Chest Review by Chloe Ferrin,  Jun 5, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Interesting. Nice idea and worked very well a few years back. Now all that I get is a never ending loop. Hopefully this can be fixed sometime in the future.

Biggest Pro: Hands Free
Biggest Con: The Looping

Hope Chest Review by Cathy Hill,  May 31, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

My program ran for a week and never stopped. It was frozen and I couldn’t even open the hopechest

Hope Chest Review by Joel,  Mar 28, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Scam!
I stumbled across this review site while trying to find my an article on how to locate my $9.99 upgrade after I paid for it.
I never found it.
This software app promises to help us organize the sometimes overwhelming genealogical records we have in FamilySearch.org.
IT GETS STUCK IN A 20 HOUR LOOP OF HIGHLIGHTING BOXES OF PEOPLE IN MY FILES AND NEVER YEILDS ANYTHING BUT A
HOPELESS CHEST OF EMPTY PROMISES.
Not worth it

Biggest Pro: Affirms our need for organizational help
Biggest Con: Dishonest

Hope Chest Review by Peter van Schaik,  Mar 15, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Incredible, thank you so much. What a great app to have.
I really like the option to add sources to my family records. I have thousands of sources attached to my AQ family file and have been wondering how I can update those sources on FamilySearch.
This app makes it so easy to find family members and suggest sources from FamilySearch record collection.

Biggest Pro: Portable , very easy to use.
Biggest Con: Missing progress indicator. Or auto scroll to next needed action.

Hope Chest Review by Edwin Bolton,  Jan 14, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Signed up for Hope Chest Plus. Money was taken by my paypal. Several hours have passed and and still do not have access?????????

Biggest Con: Payment and service

Hope Chest Review by Richard Thorpe,  Jan 7, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The name Pandora Hope Chest was changed in 2013 or 2014 to just Hope Chest. Since then there have been incredible updates. In the first six months of 2015, FamilySearch placed Hope Chest in their App Gallery. You find it listed in two categories: Find Ancestors and Tree Analyzing.

“Hope Chest will save hours of time clicking through your tree. Find what you are looking for without all the tedious effort.”

Negative reports of Hope Chest are a result of problems in an individual’s family tree. Ex. looping, searches the names over and over. All the problems that people have listed can easily be solved by knowing how to use the Chrome settings, or just watching the video introduction, or becoming more familiar with FamilySearch (checking for duplicates, merging files, etc.)

Biggest Pro: Time saved
Biggest Con: none

Hope Chest Review by Sara,  Dec 21, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Keeps looping and searching the same names over and over.

Biggest Pro: Helps find names quicker
Biggest Con: Keeps looping

Hope Chest Review by Stephan,  Dec 5, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Teh install went fine, Paid for the update and it find 25 names and loops. never moves from those names.

Biggest Pro: Looks like it has great potetnial, but it needs a fix.
Biggest Con: NO Support find back..

Hope Chest Review by Joan Shaw,  Nov 23, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I paid for the update, but it did not update. That was in September and I have emailed for help several times, but have never received any response.

Biggest Pro: Good idea
Biggest Con: No help with concerns

Hope Chest Review by Shirlene Peck,  Sep 9, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

How do I reach support for the Hope Chest? I purchased it and it did a great search. The next time I went to my computer, the search was gone and the site was asking me to purchase it again. I can’t find anywhere to reach out to them for help.

Biggest Con: Can’t find them for help.

Hope Chest Review by Julie Homer,  Sep 1, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

This program uses the data in FamilySearch Family Tree as it’s database. It leads you to assume that the information in the database is correct. A lot of the information is INCORRECT. Duplication of temple work has multiplies enormously since people have been using this program without doing any research to verify the information. Also, many names in the database have multiple records that are not combined, so even if the work has been done before, even many times, the program will tell you they need temple work again. Please do your research.

Biggest Pro: Easy?
Biggest Con: Leads to duplication in many cases.

Hope Chest Review by Carolyn Gardner,  Jun 13, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I can not get crome to work with me to down load hope chest on my computer because I had it once and now it is gone. What can I do to restore it?

Hope Chest Review by Linda Kennedy,  Apr 6, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

HOPE CHEST is the best way I have found to make your research be focused, rather than just clicking around in your Family Tree to try and find someone. The list it provides you will give you many hours of research and will yield more ordinances than your family can do.
HOPE CHEST is a great tool, and can help you decide who to start working on. Bear in mind that it is just ONE TOOL to use. It is VERY USEFUL in creating a list of ancestors/cousins that may need ordinances done. But do not just take the list and run to the temple. You will still need to make sure the person has no duplicates, has the right parents, the right spouse/s, the correct siblings and children.
I LOVE HOPE CHEST.

Biggest Pro: Focuses your research.
Biggest Con: Only works in Chrome

Hope Chest Review by Patricia Heaton,  Feb 28, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

This is a very helpful program for finding names that need ordinances. The program does have some hangups. There has to be an easier way to find our place when we return to the name list. We shouldn’t have to click on the file we are working on with every single name. There must be a way to have the file we are working on remain as the default while we are working in it. If these things could be corrected it would vastly improve its usage. Thanks for developing this process. Keep improving it! And we will keep using it!

Biggest Pro: Finding names
Biggest Con: Way to much clicking to bring up the correct file — and way to difficult to find our place when we return to the list.

Show 21-40 »