Pandora’s Hope Chest

by Pandora’s Hope (Eric Vance)
A Google Chrome browser extension that helps users of the FamilySearch.org website by searching your family tree and collecting Temple work that is ready to request.

Free • Windows • Mac • Unix • Utility
https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/pandoras-hope-chest/gjneklba...
Overall143.25 out of 53.25 out of 53.25 out of 53.25 out of 53.25 out of 5 3.25
2014113.29 out of 53.29 out of 53.29 out of 53.29 out of 53.29 out of 5 3.29
201332.81 out of 52.81 out of 52.81 out of 52.81 out of 52.81 out of 5 2.81
Earlier0    No Ratings

Add Your Review of Pandora’s Hope Chest

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

14 Reviews of Pandora’s Hope Chest     RSS 2.0 RSS                   Add Your Review

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by Bill,  3 hrs ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The new version of Hope Chest is amazing!!

Biggest Pro: Helps FamilySearch users find ancestors who still need their work done
Biggest Con: Only works with Chrome (minor Con)

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by Morgan,  13 hrs ago

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I was using Pandora’s Hope Chest and went into Family Search to click on the Hope Chest icon and it was gone. I love this program but it is of no worth if I can’t access it any longer. Please advise how to get the icon back. I tried to reload it into Chrome but since it already is loaded it won’t let me.

Biggest Pro: It was an awesome tool for names not yet done
Biggest Con: Can’t access it any longer

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by Gary Kemp,  Oct 13, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Can’t get google chrome to download and so cannot use it, i would like to use it on Safari

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by Linda Massey,  Jul 25, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have been using this hope chest for the last couple of weeks and absolutely loved it! Then today it seems they did and update and suddenly when it starts a search it stops and will not move after it locks onto the very first one that needs work done. This is way too slow now and very confusing because after accepting or rejecting the need for reserving the work you have a hard time figuring out where to start again.
Please go back to the way it was! Before today I would have rated it a great big 5.

Biggest Pro: Before the update it was Great and Fast
Biggest Con: needs the ID number included

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by Pat Gardner,  Jul 25, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is a great tool to locating incomplete temple work. BUT it is a tool…and research still must be done to verify the information. I love it.

Biggest Pro: Locating missed ordinances
Biggest Con: people need to research.

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by Jennie,  Jul 5, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Pandora’s Hope Chest has helped me send hundreds of names to the temple for ordinance work. Yes, you still have to check each name and make sure it’s eligible for ordinances, but its ability to go through not only direct line ancestors but also their descendants makes it a life saver. If you understand how to use it, you will be able to save SOOO much time! Thank you to Eric Vance for making this tool available. Our Ogden Family History Library showed it to us, and I am very grateful for it. :-)

Biggest Pro: Checks names I would probably miss, methodically goes through all descendants.
Biggest Con: It also finds names which are not eligible for work since date of birth is not 110 years ago.

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by Clive Ingram,  May 6, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

If you are searching for “Green Arrows for your ancestors or their descendants this is by far the easiest and quickest way I have found to do this. Just be sure to treat the persons found as if you had searched and found them manually.

Biggest Pro: Very easy for a novice to use, found 11,000 plus “Green Arrows” the 1st time I used it.
Biggest Con: Almost too easy and some may reserve ordinances without checking for accuracy

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by Cathy Anderegg,  Apr 29, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

This tool is not yet a 3rd Party Program certified with FamilySearch. If it becomes certified, it will need to meet the restrictions and program designs required by FamilySearch Family Tree. Until that time, use with caution.

Here is the First Presidency policy regarding submitting names to the temple as seen in Get Help on FS.org.

“Because of the sacred nature of this work, members should be diligent in assuring the accuracy of all information submitted for ordinance work.” (16 June 1995, p. 80)
Validating information involves documenting and presenting the information used when submitting a name for ordinances. Submitting many names without research is not adhering to the counsel of the brethren. Please research and accurately identify ancestors before submitting names for temple ordinances.

The data on Family Tree is many, many times erroneous and must be verified, especially relationships.

Biggest Pro: Easy
Biggest Con: Does not remind folks of temple submission policy

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by JD,  Apr 3, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

It searched my entire tree in about 20 minutes, which pretty impressive since I’ve medieval genealogy in my tree. It found 11 names. Unfortunately, 9 of those names had multiple duplicates, including one woman with 10!!! in Family Tree. The other 2 that it found, included an ordinance that requires permission before it can be done. The other name needs more research because there’s evidence that this is not her maiden name.

If this were about cleaning up your tree and making it as accurate as possible, I’d say that this is a great tool for that. However, finding ordinances, I’m not so sure. If more members were careful about checking the information, I’d feel more comfortable recommending it. Temple and family history work isn’t just about seeing how many names you can find. It’s about learning about yourself and your family as you search out your ancestors.

Biggest Pro: Takes you to parts of your tree you’d never see otherwise.
Biggest Con: Can’t really determine what’s a duplicate and what’s not

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by Gillian Wiles,  Mar 12, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Very much quicker than searching through all the lines that you add to your tree to find those that you can submit to the Temple - really good

Biggest Pro: speed of finding people
Biggest Con: can’t think of one

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by Ashley,  Feb 4, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Super great program! It finds all the ordinances that still need to be done with my family and it searches super far back and it is truly amazing to see all these great people I am related to!
But for several hours now, I have been stuck in this eternal loop and I have been wondering if it will ever end…But I legitimately think it is stuck and wont move on and I’m really sad, just in case there is still family that needs to be looked at and they are missing out from this program.

Biggest Pro: Searches really deep into your tree to find those that still needs ordinances completed.
Biggest Con: Serious malfunction in getting stuck in an eternal loop and can’t discover more of the family at a certain point.

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by Katy Rowley,  Dec 24, 2013

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

This is very exciting to extend your family lines so far back but on quite a few of my lines I ended up in an eternal loop that just added generation after generation of the same name. Hope you can fix this. It is quite a hassle to free yourself from this occurrence so be prepared to watch and stop as soon as it gets started.

Biggest Pro: Instant access to lineage you have never seen before…

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by Kathleen Olsen,  Jun 3, 2013

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I love how quickly this program searches for information and links names

Biggest Pro: quickly finds duplicates and ancestors who need temple ordinances
Biggest Con: figuring out how to find the duplicates is not an easy process

Pandora’s Hope Chest Review by April Postert,  Apr 18, 2013

Not Rated

heard its great can’t download??? why april.postert@hotmail.com