Evidentia

Click To See Award Winnersby Evidentia Software, LLC (Ed Thompson)
A source centric genealogy tool that augments your current genealogy software by letting you focus on sources. It allows you to document sources, catalogue claims and analyze evidence, all in support of the Genealogical Proof Standard (GPS).

Purchase • Windows • Mac • Unix • Auxiliary
http://evidentiasoftware.com/
Overall124.97 out of 54.97 out of 54.97 out of 54.97 out of 54.97 out of 5 4.97
201625 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00
201585 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00
Earlier24 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00

Add Your Review of Evidentia

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

12 Reviews of Evidentia     RSS 2.0 RSS                   Add Your Review

Evidentia Review by Mick Reed,  6 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This is a splendid app. As others have said, it helps you squeeze every bit of information from a source and to evaluate it thoroughly. This helps pin-point inconsistencies between different sources giving information on an event or fact. A tool that grew on me as I used it.

The amount of data entry required is considerable and for those with masses of evidence already to hand, it might be a big ask to put everything through Evidentia, but any problem areas, or brick walls will likely be easier to analyse after putting material through Evidentia.

Unlike many others, I’m no great fan of Evidence Explained, but Evidentia doesn’t insist that you adhere to that standard, only that you adhere to A standard. But if you are an EE fan, then Evidentia fits like a glove.

Biggest Pro: Great analytical tool for sources and good value for money. Several training videos available on web site
Biggest Con: Bit of a learning curve and data entry is considerable

Evidentia Review by Ann Hinds,  Jan 14, 2016

Not Rated

Oh my goodness, my assumption was wrong but I didn’t know that until I added my sources to Evidentia. This program makes it easy to spot conflicting data and then draw correct conclusions. My example, my dad’s birthdate. Who knew he lied to us all those years? I love this program.

Biggest Pro: One place to review all the individual facts
Biggest Con: Time consuming process to list each entry

Evidentia Review by BRMiller,  Dec 20, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Evidentia helps you use all the information from a source, “figure out” a citation for that source, and use all the information on hand which applies to any specific genealogical question / problem. Many people have had the experience of going back to documents found early in the research process, taking a “second look” and discovering information which answers questions that they had been trying to answer for years. Evidentia allows you to apply each piece of information in any source to any number to individual persons, and then look at all the information you have which applies to any one person. Being able to construct a source citation according to Evidence Explained is an additional benefit.

Biggest Pro: Helping you realize all the facts that you already have a source in hand for
Biggest Con: Time consuming to “work” each individual document - but you should only have to do each document once!

Evidentia Review by D. B.,  Dec 13, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Evidentia has helped me so much in my genealogy research! It has simplified the task of documenting my sources and put my sources in one easily accessible place. It is a program that seems to grow with my understanding of the family research I need to do. There’s still a lot for me to learn so the follow up you tube videos are invaluable. Thank you!!!

Biggest Pro: helps to organize my research & is adaptable to my unique needs
Biggest Con: none that I can think of…

Evidentia Review by Ann Royal,  Dec 9, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I love Evidentia because it retrains your brain to really look at the document and find all of the data contained therein. You look at the document as a whole and you also look at all of its various parts to make sure that you don’t miss any information. It belps with citing and with analyzation of the data. I find that I never miss a piece of data anymore. I no longer rely on other people to index the information or to have a program into my tree. Every data bit has a citation. Because it follows the GPS, you know you’re following the standards. I also like that he uses the templates or EE.

Evidentia Review by A Dwelis,  Jan 28, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

If you have a hard time entering your sources to the Genealogical Proof Standard. This software will help with the process.

Biggest Pro: Works well.
Biggest Con: There is a learning curve.

Evidentia Review by Jenny Lanctot,  Jan 7, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Evidentia is unique in its ability to force you to really LOOK at your sources - get all the information out of them that’s possible. But it doesn’t stop there. It allows you to take all the evidence you’ve compiled, analyze it using ONLY the evidence that pertains to your specific question, corroborate, resolve conflicts, and craft a solid conclusion. There is simply no other software on the market that is designed to help you adhere to the Genealogical Proof Standard (GPS) set forth by the Board for Certification of Genealogists (BCG).

Biggest Pro: Ability to isolate only that evidence that is pertinent to your research problem and view it as a whole.

Evidentia Review by Kory England,  Jan 6, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Evidentia is a wonderful tool to help document all of a genealogists sources. I use it for not only my own genealogy, but also for work I do for others. I highly recommend Evidentia to my genealogy students and to anyone who wants to do more with their own research.

Evidentia Review by Linda Schreiber,  Jan 6, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Marvelous tool for any professional genealogist or serious hobbyist genealogist! Focuses on the source *first*, and provides tools for extracting every possible detail and implication.

As the sources accumulate, so do the relevant details, and the possible implications. The claims….

Evidentia links all available details, across all those sources, to individuals or possible individuals, or places, or events. Truly provides a structured way to resolve conflicts, and analyze a good proof statement. And then allows further research to add to and alter that proof statement.

Invaluable! The only possible confusion is achieving the understanding of *source first*. Once you have that, the rest follows.

A crucial tool in the toolbox of any genealogist!

Biggest Pro: All of the above
Biggest Con: You need to understand the importance of the source you are working with….

Evidentia Review by MaryAnnK,  Jan 6, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Collecting sources via family tree software is convenient, but by its very nature, family tree software doesn’t pull every last bit of available information from a source when attaching it. After years of collecting documents, I realized that I really didn’t even know what information I actually had. Evidentia is changing that for me.

Instead of being person-oriented, Evidentia is source-oriented. Each source is entered into the database (templates make citations easy, and fields even align with page numbers in Evidence Explained for extra help with source citation explanations). Every single fact associated with that source is pulled out and classified using the genealogical proof standard criteria (direct/indirect/negative, primary/secondary/unknown, etc.).

Once everything is entered for a particular person, you can confidently make an source-based conclusion about any given fact for that person based on all of the evidence for that fact (for example, a birth date is analyzed by looking at the information from all censuses, vital records, obituaries, and family knowledge all on one page with each source already evaluated for reliability). Using Evidentia has revolutionized the way I process my sources and given me greater confidence in my conclusions.

The developer is quite responsive by email and through google+. He is continually improving the software, which is available for Windows and Mac. Evidentia is a great value at around $30 (Jan. 2015 price), and has a free 14 day trial.

Biggest Pro: The quality of my genealogical research has improved greatly by using Evidentia because it forces me to a) gather *all* information from a source and b) properly evaluate all sources for each fact.
Biggest Con: It is time consuming to enter and analyze each source, but the result is gratifying.

Evidentia Review by TomB,  Jan 9, 2013

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I just purchased Evidentia because of the immense quality it provides to my genealogical research. Evidentia helps you to “prove” the assertions that we all make in genealogical research, resulting in bringing a level of quality to your work that only true veteran genealophiles attain. If you give Evidentia a try (free download and testing), you’ll likely agree very quickly that it is well worth the reasonable price it is offered for. I didn’t wait for the trial period to end, I jumped at the opportunity to buy Evidentia right away.

It’s a new app and the developer Ed Thompson appears to have already rolled out several improvements since its initial release; he also appears to have a commitment to continuing the process of refining and enhancing Evidentia as well.

PS- Evidential is currently being offered for 25% off its regular price too.

Biggest Pro: Source centric approach and Proofing your assertions
Biggest Con: Non-standard Mac interface. Not confusing or difficult however, just non-standard.

Evidentia Review by Alex,  Jan 2, 2013

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Great first version. Much promise.