Evidentia

by Evidentia Software, LLC (Ed Thompson)
A source centric genealogy tool that augments your current genealogy software by letting you focus on sources. It allows you to document sources, catalogue claims and analyze evidence, all in support of the Genealogical Proof Standard (GPS).

Purchase • Windows • Mac • Unix • Auxiliary
http://evidentiasoftware.com/
Overall74.91 out of 54.91 out of 54.91 out of 54.91 out of 54.91 out of 5 4.91
201555 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00
20140    No Ratings
Earlier24 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00

Add Your Review of Evidentia

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

7 Reviews of Evidentia     RSS 2.0 RSS                   Add Your Review

Evidentia Review by A Dwelis,  2 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

If you have a hard time entering your sources to the Genealogical Proof Standard. This software will help with the process.

Biggest Pro: Works well.
Biggest Con: There is a learning curve.

Evidentia Review by Jenny Lanctot,  Jan 7, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Evidentia is unique in its ability to force you to really LOOK at your sources - get all the information out of them that’s possible. But it doesn’t stop there. It allows you to take all the evidence you’ve compiled, analyze it using ONLY the evidence that pertains to your specific question, corroborate, resolve conflicts, and craft a solid conclusion. There is simply no other software on the market that is designed to help you adhere to the Genealogical Proof Standard (GPS) set forth by the Board for Certification of Genealogists (BCG).

Biggest Pro: Ability to isolate only that evidence that is pertinent to your research problem and view it as a whole.

Evidentia Review by Kory England,  Jan 6, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Evidentia is a wonderful tool to help document all of a genealogists sources. I use it for not only my own genealogy, but also for work I do for others. I highly recommend Evidentia to my genealogy students and to anyone who wants to do more with their own research.

Evidentia Review by Linda Schreiber,  Jan 6, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Marvelous tool for any professional genealogist or serious hobbyist genealogist! Focuses on the source *first*, and provides tools for extracting every possible detail and implication.

As the sources accumulate, so do the relevant details, and the possible implications. The claims….

Evidentia links all available details, across all those sources, to individuals or possible individuals, or places, or events. Truly provides a structured way to resolve conflicts, and analyze a good proof statement. And then allows further research to add to and alter that proof statement.

Invaluable! The only possible confusion is achieving the understanding of *source first*. Once you have that, the rest follows.

A crucial tool in the toolbox of any genealogist!

Biggest Pro: All of the above
Biggest Con: You need to understand the importance of the source you are working with….

Evidentia Review by MaryAnnK,  Jan 6, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Collecting sources via family tree software is convenient, but by its very nature, family tree software doesn’t pull every last bit of available information from a source when attaching it. After years of collecting documents, I realized that I really didn’t even know what information I actually had. Evidentia is changing that for me.

Instead of being person-oriented, Evidentia is source-oriented. Each source is entered into the database (templates make citations easy, and fields even align with page numbers in Evidence Explained for extra help with source citation explanations). Every single fact associated with that source is pulled out and classified using the genealogical proof standard criteria (direct/indirect/negative, primary/secondary/unknown, etc.).

Once everything is entered for a particular person, you can confidently make an source-based conclusion about any given fact for that person based on all of the evidence for that fact (for example, a birth date is analyzed by looking at the information from all censuses, vital records, obituaries, and family knowledge all on one page with each source already evaluated for reliability). Using Evidentia has revolutionized the way I process my sources and given me greater confidence in my conclusions.

The developer is quite responsive by email and through google+. He is continually improving the software, which is available for Windows and Mac. Evidentia is a great value at around $30 (Jan. 2015 price), and has a free 14 day trial.

Biggest Pro: The quality of my genealogical research has improved greatly by using Evidentia because it forces me to a) gather *all* information from a source and b) properly evaluate all sources for each fact.
Biggest Con: It is time consuming to enter and analyze each source, but the result is gratifying.

Evidentia Review by TomB,  Jan 9, 2013

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I just purchased Evidentia because of the immense quality it provides to my genealogical research. Evidentia helps you to “prove” the assertions that we all make in genealogical research, resulting in bringing a level of quality to your work that only true veteran genealophiles attain. If you give Evidentia a try (free download and testing), you’ll likely agree very quickly that it is well worth the reasonable price it is offered for. I didn’t wait for the trial period to end, I jumped at the opportunity to buy Evidentia right away.

It’s a new app and the developer Ed Thompson appears to have already rolled out several improvements since its initial release; he also appears to have a commitment to continuing the process of refining and enhancing Evidentia as well.

PS- Evidential is currently being offered for 25% off its regular price too.

Biggest Pro: Source centric approach and Proofing your assertions
Biggest Con: Non-standard Mac interface. Not confusing or difficult however, just non-standard.

Evidentia Review by Alex,  Jan 2, 2013

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Great first version. Much promise.