Heredis for iOS

Click To See Award Winners
by BSD Concept
A free program for iOS (iPhone/iPad/iPod touch) that is a GEDCOM viewer that can also add or delete individuals, exchange files between computers (Mac or PC), control for duplicates, recover media in photos, display a family tree chart and print it, manage your sources and more.

Free • Handheld • Utility
http://www.heredis.com/en/heredis-iphone-ipad/
Overall154.18 out of 54.18 out of 54.18 out of 54.18 out of 54.18 out of 5 4.18
201414 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00
201323.49 out of 53.49 out of 53.49 out of 53.49 out of 53.49 out of 5 3.49
Earlier124.33 out of 54.33 out of 54.33 out of 54.33 out of 54.33 out of 5 4.33

Add Your Review of Heredis for iOS

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

15 Reviews of Heredis for iOS     RSS 2.0 RSS                   Add Your Review

Heredis for iOS Review by Stephen Williams,  Apr 3, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I downloaded this for the ipad as it was the only genealogy program available as a standalone piece if software. Generally very happy with it other than the frequent crashes ( see con below). Don’t let this put you off though because it is a powerful tool to keep your family history. Ipad version is basic, but the version for windows has all the bells and whistles you need and is not expensive.

Biggest Pro: It’s free! Only program for ipad.I was so impressed I also bought the version for Windows to synch on my main PC. No regrets. Intake my ipad on research trips so I can refer to my tree.
Biggest Con: Frequently crashes . I do have a lot in my tree (1000+), so maybe that is the reason. It always restarts back up again ok.

Heredis for iOS Review by Brett,  Jan 14, 2013

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Inputting and navigation are not very intuitive. Great if you use only as a viewer.

Biggest Pro: Family Tree viewer
Biggest Con: Not very intuitive

Heredis for iOS Review by Colin Spencer,  Jan 7, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

A free app for iOS what more can one say.

It allows me to have my tree with me at all times on iPhone or iPad. Its Gedcom links perfectly to my main PAF programme. I do not use it for research trips still preferring pencil and paper but there is no easier way to carry your tree with you.

You can even print pretty trees from it.

Heredis for iOS Review by Mike,  Dec 24, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The perfect companion to PC and Mac
Accepts Gedcom’s ; not necessarily to be used in conjunction with Heredis PC or Mac

Heredis for iOS Review by GC,  Dec 23, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Most comprehensive and useful genealogy app for iPad that I know of. Can export ancestor chart in PDF format which can then be emailed. Not as powerful as a desktop program of course but that is understandable. Syncs with Windows and Mac versions. Imports GEDCOM from Brothers Keeper with few errors.

Biggest Pro: Accurate GEDCOM import.
Biggest Con: Doesn’t output descendant charts.

Heredis for iOS Review by MaggyMay,  Dec 21, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Love this app! I have tried 2 others and prefer this of the three . . . BUT . . . I have free version for Mac, so have had to learn your vocabulary and where things are compared to FTM which I have used since 1998 but thought I’d give your program a try. I also have the free versions of iPad and Windows downloaded - which would be my ideal world. I love the fact I can sync all three, HOWEVER your Windows version isn’t a mirror image to the Mac version, so I have trouble finding things and have to re-learn TWO programs and honestly can’t be bothered to remember 2 different programs. For that reason I have reverted back to FTM for windows only. Until you can offer the Windows and Mac versions being the same AND a combined price for both programs I will not be using Heredis - look at programs like Adobe Photo Elements - you buy the program in one box, and it can be used for BOTH Windows AND Macs for the same price. Thanks for asking.

Biggest Pro: love that I can sync iPad, Mac and PC - it’s an ideal world to me
Biggest Con: Mac and Windows programs aren’t mirror imagae and to use them I’d have to pay double the price

Heredis for iOS Review by Champart,  Dec 20, 2012

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

J’aime la fonction de recopie vers l’iPhone, l’ensemble est assez convivial. Je n’aime pas la mention obligatoire “sait ou ne sait pas signer qu’onne peut pas mettre à blanc (pour un enfant mort enbas âge, quel intérêt?)
Une aide à la recherche des codes postaux et de la localisation des villes serait la bienvenue.

Heredis for iOS Review by Clyde Matsumoto,  Dec 20, 2012

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I like having having genealogical data available on my iDevices, but don’t like the response from support and the way the application takes liberties with the formatting of last names. The convention being used is to visually denote people in the direct line by having their last names all capitals, while everyone else has only the first letter capitalized. Heredis overrides that convention by making all last names either all caps or first letter only. When I queried support if there were a way to tell Heredis to leave the last names being imported alone, they initially didn’t understand the question, and later told me that I needed to import the data into Heredis on the Mac or PC, since the iDevice app didn’t have that capability. But after downloading Heredis to the PC, it turned out that that information was false. I was left feeling like I had wasted my time.

Biggest Pro: Ability to carry data anywhere.
Biggest Con: App overrides last name formatting.

Heredis for iOS Review by David Tait,  Dec 20, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have found Heredis to be extremely useful. It is easy to add information and to display it in a format that is easy to follow and work through. I would recommend it to any user professional or amateur.

Biggest Pro: Easy to enter information.
Biggest Con: A little clunky when addin

Heredis for iOS Review by chacal,  Dec 20, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Excellent program. It’s very stable, includes many fields for details and sourcing. The design is clean, which makes it easy to use. Provides apps for iPhone/iPod Touch and iPad.

Biggest Pro: Includes a lot of customization and is fast.
Biggest Con: Adding images is not very intuitive. Cannot change interface color.

Heredis for iOS Review by Ron Hall,  Dec 20, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I love the app! Like having this information on my iPad and iPhone. Comes very handy when not at the Mac.

Biggest Pro: Like the way the information is layered
Biggest Con: Charting

Heredis for iOS Review by Rick Heiser,  Dec 20, 2012

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have tried several genealogy programs. This is the best. Information that I used to keep on hundreds of scraps of paper is now instantly at hand on my latop and my iPad. And the two are perfectly synchronized! Entry of information is a breeze. The program checks and identifies duplicates, points out inconsistencies in the data. I’m very pleased.

Biggest Pro: Easy to learn, easy to use.
Biggest Con: Everything is a single color.

Heredis for iOS Review by Lucie LeBlanc Consentino,  Dec 20, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I love Heredis on my iPad - to date it has been my preferred genealogy app for iPad.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use and ease of loading a gedcom
Biggest Con: None

Heredis for iOS Review by abc,  Dec 20, 2012

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

fails to load large gedcom 40mb. hence not very useful.
very large app 21 mb vs 1mb for reunion and rootsmagic app

Heredis for iOS Review by John Hebert,  Dec 20, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I love this App!! You could use it as a standalone genealogy program, as it includes many of the features of the MAC/PC based software. I use Heredis on my MAC laptop and it does a great job syncing new entries and gives me the option to sync from the phone or the computer. I can easily keep all my devices up to date and in perfect sync.

Biggest Pro: Syncing capability with computer
Biggest Con: Haven’t found one yet