The Master Genealogist (TMG)

by Wholly Genes, Inc. (Bob Velke)
A comprehensive program with many features that include a powerful report writer and excellent source referencing. In December 2014, TMG was discontinued. It still has User Groups.

Unsupported • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.whollygenes.com/
Overall1433.89 out of 53.89 out of 53.89 out of 53.89 out of 53.89 out of 5 3.89
201543.68 out of 53.68 out of 53.68 out of 53.68 out of 53.68 out of 5 3.68
201484.54 out of 54.54 out of 54.54 out of 54.54 out of 54.54 out of 5 4.54
Earlier1313.65 out of 53.65 out of 53.65 out of 53.65 out of 53.65 out of 5 3.65

Add Your Review of The Master Genealogist (TMG)

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

143 Reviews of The Master Genealogist (TMG)     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Bonnie Hansen,  3 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Looking for another program that will utilize my data. I was late in getting latest program and it is no longer available.

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by RichardW,  Jan 3, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

The Master Genealogist was discontinued July 2014.
It is dead. You can’t buy it anymore.
http://www.whollygenes.com/forums201/index.php?/topic/15798-tmg-to-be-discontinued/

Biggest Pro: Many people loved it
Biggest Con: It is now dead

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Doris Wheeler,  Jan 3, 2015

Not Rated

TMG is by far the most flexible and powerful program for genealogy. I have used it for more than ten years and have looked at or actually installed and tested many other programs just to see if I’m missing anything. Nada. Nothing else comes close. Even though it is no longer available for purchase, I have no intention of moving to another, especially because I would then lose Second Site, an amazing companion program for website development.

Biggest Pro: Unmatched flexibility, fully customizable, Second Site
Biggest Con: No longer available to buy

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Tracey Milligan,  Jan 3, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

TMG is without a doubt the best genealogy software that has been, or ever will be, written. Nothing comes close to the features and capabilities of this software. Date sorting, witnesses, custom tagging, narrative, reporting, charting, custom layouts, accenting, flags, and so much more…

I’m not trying to sell anyone on this software because you cannot buy it anymore.
I will, however, continue to use it for many years to come.
Thank you Bob Velke for a great product.

Biggest Pro: Flexibility and capabilities.
Biggest Con: learning curve and software is now discontinued

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Sherry Earp,  Dec 27, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Nothing better ……… there is no system that has all the NECESSARY bells and whistles of TMG.

Biggest Pro: It does everything!
Biggest Con: Created on Visual FoxPro a Microsoft product that is discontinued and they are discontinuing TMG on Dec 31

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Diana Ritchie,  Jun 26, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I love all the ways I can customize what I see. While I agree that, even with my customizations, it looks “dated” I really don’t care because I can have (and save) multiple layouts. In practical terms this means I have a layout for my big main monitor and a totally different layout for my smaller second screen. I also have a layout that is specific for when I am doing heavy-duty data entry.

I also love the chronological display of the data on my main screen. Even though I’ve seem some programs that will produce a REPORT that shows a timeline, I don’t have to do a special report to see a timeline on the ancestor I’m working on - it’s what’s on the screen!

Another of my favorite features is the ability to create my own tags for things that I want to track. It makes it so easy to create specific reports.

Biggest Pro: The ability to customize, the chronological layout, ad hoc reporting capability
Biggest Con: Learning curve, old platform, slow to come out with upgrades

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Mary McGuire,  Mar 25, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I love this program and have been loyal for decades. But I’m about to surrender. I use a mac now and have used parallels to run TMG (and nothing else on windows). It has come to the point that Parallels and Windows sucks up too much of my computer activity and it takes ages to do anything, waiting for the processing to try to work. Little round whirly thing, I hate you.
I have nothing against a pc, but I have a mac.

Biggest Pro: Everything but the fixation on the PC
Biggest Con: Lack of Mac

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Patrick,  Jan 14, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Most comprehensive program for total genealogical research. Easy to enter data and then build on the information to start further research. I have used the program for ten years and nothing else comes close.

Biggest Pro: Many alternatives allowed, variety of Roles permitted for each event
Biggest Con: Marketing by developer is limited

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Ken,  Jan 3, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

TMG is an excellent program that I used for many years and even taught in classes. Last year I converted my data to RootsMagic and did not regret it. TMG has become an outdated program given the new features in many other newer releases. And TMG’s learning curve it just too much to expect of those who are not very proficient with computers. Again, great program for it’s generation with many features for those who know how to use it. IMHO it needs to be completely redesigned with a simple user interface, more cloud features, and a data repository interface with Ancestry and FamilySearch.

Biggest Pro: Has more features than most genealogy programs especially publication features
Biggest Con: High learning curve; lack of updated features and releases

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Warren,  Jan 3, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The ability to do anything you like.

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by P Martin,  Jan 3, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Very adaptable. Not for the beginner. Tremendous user support. Print drivers not always functional.

Biggest Pro: Very versatile
Biggest Con: Infrequent updates

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Richard_V,  Jan 3, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using this program for years. I continue to be impressed with the wealth of features the program offers. The latest feature I have been incorporating in my records is the ability to include a copy of the source documents with the record of an individual. I cannot find another program I would prefer to use over TMG.

Biggest Pro: The extensive features
Biggest Con: It may take a while to learn how to use so many features but you can start slowly.

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Lindsay Graham,  Oct 29, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Ultimate flexibility means that TMG will do just about anything that you want it to do in the way that you want it to. I’ve looked at quite a few other programs, and have not found anything that comes even close.

Biggest Pro: Flexibility, range of reports, support (email list, forum), companion programs such as Second Site.
Biggest Con: Complexity of source citation fields (but not a biggy)

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Mike R,  Sep 15, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used TMG UK Version for MANY years but have not been using it in a while since I move entirely to using a MAC. I do NOT want to move to another program as I love TMG and find it more comprehensive than any other program out there. I do not run a dual set up on my MAC right now and would rather avoid it …. are there ANY plans to create a MAC version so I can remain a loyal customer!

Biggest Pro: Best Genealogy software on the market
Biggest Con: doesn’t work on the MAC

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Virginia Blakelock,  Jul 8, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Many reviewers note, with good reason, the outdated interface in TMG. It _is_ outdated, originally designed to accommodate different screen resolutions. Layouts are completely customizable in TMG - and I doubt anyone uses the default layout. For examples of user-customized TMG layouts, Google for ‘Customizing the Workspace in v8.’ TMG has 8 modular windows ( which you can arrange in any configuration (layout). See Window on the top menu in TMG for selections. You can name and save multiple layouts, using different combinations of windows to fit the data-entry chore. For publishing your TMG data online, Google for ‘Second Site - user sites.’ TMG arguably has the best looking reports, charts, and interface of any geni software. TMG does not have Unicode or Family Search Sync.

Biggest Pro: Layouts, Reports, Charts, SecondSite, forum and mailing list
Biggest Con: None for my purposes.

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Billy Bob,  Jun 7, 2013

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

This program still cannot produce webpages from your entered information……..Gee wiz the web became mainstream back in 1995…….get with it TMG.

As others have said, dated look, horrible interface & upgrading to version 8 was a nightmare & every new upgrade causes more issues.

To the people that blindly stick with it……. “The Emperor Has No Clothes”

Biggest Pro: Got me on this one
Biggest Con: Too many to list

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Rudy Dudy,  Jun 1, 2013

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

This is a feature rich package, but it is really stuck in the 1990s (or earlier) in terms of its user interface. In a word: UGLY.

On the plus side, I can record ALMOST everything I want in the format I want it. Where it falls down in terms of usability is a complete lack of Unicode support. There is zero excuse for this in the 2010s.

On the whole, this program really needs a major rewrite from the ground up.

Biggest Pro: Can customize data to suit individual contexts.
Biggest Con: No Unicode. Ugly, ugly, ugly user interface.

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Stephen,  Mar 31, 2013

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have used TMG since version 4, for data entry the programme is excellent the problem occurs in production of reports as something seems to go seriously wrong over time and when yo try to produce journal reports TMG just stops and you have to reboot it, the same problem occurs with othe reports. The only way to create a report is to transfer the data to another genealogy program and produce it from that. The current version I have is the update to v8 problem with that is it wont unlock the programme when you enter the licence code. This has finally tipped me over the edge and have decided to stop using TMG and get another programme that works properly

Biggest Pro: Excellent data entry
Biggest Con: Reports don’t work

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Trakker,  Mar 10, 2013

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I’ve used TMG for over ten years and have no complaints, except the UI is getting dated. I’m a family historian with probably 7,000 individuals in my database and every year I become more adept at collecting and attaching information to individuals and so I’ve employed more and more of the TMG bells and whistles, in fact it’s fun to explore different features I haven’t used yet to see what they offer. I use this on a small laptop (13.3″ screen, 3 GB RAM, Pentium SU2700) and while it is slow to load, it has never choked or locked up. I do believe the program is due for an overhaul soon because the UI and screens look dated.

Biggest Pro: Many useful features, flexible, stable (few if any bugs).
Biggest Con: Look and feel is dated.

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Cheri,  Jan 11, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Great customer support. Can use both actual date and a sort date is the actual date is not known. Great reports. The program basics are easy to learn. Once you start using the program, you will see what other programs are missing. Flexible. It’s for genealogists who want a good solid program to organize and print their work out. I have been using it for years now and glad I switched from FTM. Check out a user’s group which are listed on their web site.

Biggest Pro: Reports, able to customize most things, easy to work with
Biggest Con: Can be slow if on an older PC

Show 21-40 »