The Master Genealogist (TMG)

by Wholly Genes, Inc. (Bob Velke)
A comprehensive program with many features that include a powerful report writer and excellent source referencing. It has User Groups.

Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.whollygenes.com/
Overall1373.85 out of 53.85 out of 53.85 out of 53.85 out of 53.85 out of 5 3.85
201464.52 out of 54.52 out of 54.52 out of 54.52 out of 54.52 out of 5 4.52
201393.71 out of 53.71 out of 53.71 out of 53.71 out of 53.71 out of 5 3.71
Earlier1223.62 out of 53.62 out of 53.62 out of 53.62 out of 53.62 out of 5 3.62

Add Your Review of The Master Genealogist (TMG)

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

137 Reviews of The Master Genealogist (TMG)     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Mary McGuire,  Mar 25, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I love this program and have been loyal for decades. But I’m about to surrender. I use a mac now and have used parallels to run TMG (and nothing else on windows). It has come to the point that Parallels and Windows sucks up too much of my computer activity and it takes ages to do anything, waiting for the processing to try to work. Little round whirly thing, I hate you.
I have nothing against a pc, but I have a mac.

Biggest Pro: Everything but the fixation on the PC
Biggest Con: Lack of Mac

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Patrick,  Jan 14, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Most comprehensive program for total genealogical research. Easy to enter data and then build on the information to start further research. I have used the program for ten years and nothing else comes close.

Biggest Pro: Many alternatives allowed, variety of Roles permitted for each event
Biggest Con: Marketing by developer is limited

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Ken,  Jan 3, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

TMG is an excellent program that I used for many years and even taught in classes. Last year I converted my data to RootsMagic and did not regret it. TMG has become an outdated program given the new features in many other newer releases. And TMG’s learning curve it just too much to expect of those who are not very proficient with computers. Again, great program for it’s generation with many features for those who know how to use it. IMHO it needs to be completely redesigned with a simple user interface, more cloud features, and a data repository interface with Ancestry and FamilySearch.

Biggest Pro: Has more features than most genealogy programs especially publication features
Biggest Con: High learning curve; lack of updated features and releases

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Warren,  Jan 3, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The ability to do anything you like.

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by P Martin,  Jan 3, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Very adaptable. Not for the beginner. Tremendous user support. Print drivers not always functional.

Biggest Pro: Very versatile
Biggest Con: Infrequent updates

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Richard_V,  Jan 3, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have been using this program for years. I continue to be impressed with the wealth of features the program offers. The latest feature I have been incorporating in my records is the ability to include a copy of the source documents with the record of an individual. I cannot find another program I would prefer to use over TMG.

Biggest Pro: The extensive features
Biggest Con: It may take a while to learn how to use so many features but you can start slowly.

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Lindsay Graham,  Oct 29, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Ultimate flexibility means that TMG will do just about anything that you want it to do in the way that you want it to. I’ve looked at quite a few other programs, and have not found anything that comes even close.

Biggest Pro: Flexibility, range of reports, support (email list, forum), companion programs such as Second Site.
Biggest Con: Complexity of source citation fields (but not a biggy)

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Mike R,  Sep 15, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used TMG UK Version for MANY years but have not been using it in a while since I move entirely to using a MAC. I do NOT want to move to another program as I love TMG and find it more comprehensive than any other program out there. I do not run a dual set up on my MAC right now and would rather avoid it …. are there ANY plans to create a MAC version so I can remain a loyal customer!

Biggest Pro: Best Genealogy software on the market
Biggest Con: doesn’t work on the MAC

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Virginia Blakelock,  Jul 8, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Many reviewers note, with good reason, the outdated interface in TMG. It _is_ outdated, originally designed to accommodate different screen resolutions. Layouts are completely customizable in TMG - and I doubt anyone uses the default layout. For examples of user-customized TMG layouts, Google for ‘Customizing the Workspace in v8.’ TMG has 8 modular windows ( which you can arrange in any configuration (layout). See Window on the top menu in TMG for selections. You can name and save multiple layouts, using different combinations of windows to fit the data-entry chore. For publishing your TMG data online, Google for ‘Second Site - user sites.’ TMG arguably has the best looking reports, charts, and interface of any geni software. TMG does not have Unicode or Family Search Sync.

Biggest Pro: Layouts, Reports, Charts, SecondSite, forum and mailing list
Biggest Con: None for my purposes.

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Billy Bob,  Jun 7, 2013

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

This program still cannot produce webpages from your entered information……..Gee wiz the web became mainstream back in 1995…….get with it TMG.

As others have said, dated look, horrible interface & upgrading to version 8 was a nightmare & every new upgrade causes more issues.

To the people that blindly stick with it……. “The Emperor Has No Clothes”

Biggest Pro: Got me on this one
Biggest Con: Too many to list

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Rudy Dudy,  Jun 1, 2013

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

This is a feature rich package, but it is really stuck in the 1990s (or earlier) in terms of its user interface. In a word: UGLY.

On the plus side, I can record ALMOST everything I want in the format I want it. Where it falls down in terms of usability is a complete lack of Unicode support. There is zero excuse for this in the 2010s.

On the whole, this program really needs a major rewrite from the ground up.

Biggest Pro: Can customize data to suit individual contexts.
Biggest Con: No Unicode. Ugly, ugly, ugly user interface.

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Stephen,  Mar 31, 2013

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have used TMG since version 4, for data entry the programme is excellent the problem occurs in production of reports as something seems to go seriously wrong over time and when yo try to produce journal reports TMG just stops and you have to reboot it, the same problem occurs with othe reports. The only way to create a report is to transfer the data to another genealogy program and produce it from that. The current version I have is the update to v8 problem with that is it wont unlock the programme when you enter the licence code. This has finally tipped me over the edge and have decided to stop using TMG and get another programme that works properly

Biggest Pro: Excellent data entry
Biggest Con: Reports don’t work

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Trakker,  Mar 10, 2013

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I’ve used TMG for over ten years and have no complaints, except the UI is getting dated. I’m a family historian with probably 7,000 individuals in my database and every year I become more adept at collecting and attaching information to individuals and so I’ve employed more and more of the TMG bells and whistles, in fact it’s fun to explore different features I haven’t used yet to see what they offer. I use this on a small laptop (13.3″ screen, 3 GB RAM, Pentium SU2700) and while it is slow to load, it has never choked or locked up. I do believe the program is due for an overhaul soon because the UI and screens look dated.

Biggest Pro: Many useful features, flexible, stable (few if any bugs).
Biggest Con: Look and feel is dated.

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Cheri,  Jan 11, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Great customer support. Can use both actual date and a sort date is the actual date is not known. Great reports. The program basics are easy to learn. Once you start using the program, you will see what other programs are missing. Flexible. It’s for genealogists who want a good solid program to organize and print their work out. I have been using it for years now and glad I switched from FTM. Check out a user’s group which are listed on their web site.

Biggest Pro: Reports, able to customize most things, easy to work with
Biggest Con: Can be slow if on an older PC

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by J Boyle`,  Jan 3, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Provides a sort date so data can be displayed in proper sequence even if actual date not known. Easy sourcing of every piece of data. Customized screen appearance to suit an individual’s needs.

Biggest Pro: Best narrative reports ever seen
Biggest Con: relatively slow with a large databse

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Becky Pyle,  Nov 28, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’ve used it for many years through many upgrades. The customer support is outstanding! One time Bob Velke, the creator, called me at home to help with an issue!. It’s very versatile and there are features I still haven’t fully explored thoroughly after all these years. My favorite, however, it the witness function. I can enter an event, such as a census, for someone and then have other members of the family as witnesses.

Biggest Pro: witness function & customer support
Biggest Con: steeper learning curve than many programs, but worth the effort.

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Don Raney,  Nov 28, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The very best for documentation and writing a family history book.

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Byron Atkinson,  Oct 24, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Used other programs, and liked them, until I learned how much I was missing, moved to TMG in 1999, kept using FTM for a short period and once I learned most of what TMG offered (one never learns all about TMG) I moved everything and stopped using the other programs. Version 7 was getting rather old, but release of version 8 has moved thi program back to the front of the current programs.

Biggest Pro: All of the opitions, customizations that allows one to set the program and views up in a manner that meets ones needs.
Biggest Con: Folks are afraid of all of the opitions. You don’t need to change anything from the basic program, bur many folks are afraid of all of the possibilities.

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Dr Sidney Barnard,  Sep 19, 2012

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Having used FTM, FH, RM, and several other progams over the years (I presently use FTM12) I was looking for something a little more sophisticated and stable (FTM has one or two bugs that I have failed to resolve). So, having installed and played around with TMG all I can say is ‘you must be joking!’, software for experts ‘really?’, for the professional genealogist, ‘is that right?’. Well, I’d like to know what kind of ‘experts’ and ‘pros’ use this antiquated, 80’s style, slow, super buggy, excuse for software. I know kids that could design something better, by comparison FTM is super slick, super sophisticated, a joy to use, far more ‘professional’, etc. God know’s what kind of ‘experts’ use this but if your paying someone to do research for you find out beforehand and save your money! FTM (and, no, I’m not an Ancestry fanboy) fully intergrates with web services, has a vast forum, solid support base (phone and email) and a current community of user that are realistic about it’s limitations (as well as virtues). Thankfully I only downloaded the trial version of TMG, if I had paid for this I’d have been really pe’ed off. There’s free software available that looks better.

Biggest Pro: You can download a trial version and then delete it.
Biggest Con: They want you to pay for it.

The Master Genealogist (TMG) Review by Doris Wheeler,  Aug 29, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The most comprehensive program available but flexible too so that you can start simply and add function and features at your own pace.

Biggest Pro: Flexibility and Second Site for creative websites
Biggest Con: Functionality seems overwhelming

Show 21-40 »