Genbox Family History

Click To See Award Winners
by Thoughtful Creations (William Flight)
A complete genealogy software package. It will help you organize your research, store your data, enter proper source citations, and produce professional-quality charts and reports that you can preview and modify, then print or publish on the web. There has not been a program update since 2007 and the program may now be unsupported.

Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.genbox.com/
Overall283.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 5 3.70
201663.72 out of 53.72 out of 53.72 out of 53.72 out of 53.72 out of 5 3.72
201523.35 out of 53.35 out of 53.35 out of 53.35 out of 53.35 out of 5 3.35
Earlier204.02 out of 54.02 out of 54.02 out of 54.02 out of 54.02 out of 5 4.02

Add Your Review of Genbox Family History

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

28 Reviews of Genbox Family History     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Genbox Family History Review by Elizabeth B,  Nov 3, 2016

Not Rated

Thankyou Denise for the information, I will email the owner and see how I fare. I have the feeling I have already tried that, but will give it another go.

I’m unwilling to pay by credit card unless I can be sure I will receive the license, so do need to hear from the creator before I commit. I do like the programme despite its age.

Genbox Family History Review by Denise Moss-Fritch,  Oct 17, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

The development to Genbox stopped some years ago, as did the development of The Master Genealogist. However, Genbox is still available. Several individuals have reported contacting the developer directly at:

Thoughtful Creations
PO Box 58637
Cincinnati, OH 45258

Phone: 513-522-4116

Email: admin@thoughtfulcreations.com

to purchase a license. As Elizabeth B discovered, the Paypal link apparently does not function.

While now a bit aged, Genbox is still very fast displaying genealogy software, also creating large charts and reports faster than other available software. While problems do not display on-screen with an icon, you can run a problems report. In all, still an excellent genealogy software despite its age.

Biggest Pro: Fast, accurate information input, displays, and output (charts and reports)
Biggest Con: Only one - it is no longer being developed.

Genbox Family History Review by Elizabeth B,  Sep 3, 2016

Not Rated

Update on my previous review.
Very disappointing experience with Genbox. I liked the programme but despite being listed on the TopTenReviews for 2016, I was unable to purchase it. I paid via Paypal (thank goodness) but never received my license info for the programme. All my emails to the owner went unanswered.
The owner did not respond to the dispute opened through Paypal and after several efforts to make contact Paypal kindly refunded my money.
I understand that peoples’ circumstances can change (illness etc) but it would be good to have the website updated to say that the programme can no longer be purchased and that it to no longer accepts payment. Otherwise, make it free so that others do not have the negative experience that I did.

My advice - do NOT send your money.

Biggest Con: Could not actually purchase.

Genbox Family History Review by ElizabethB,  Jun 14, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

No replies to my emails about not receiving the license I paid for.

Have had to try and get my money back through Paypal.

Very disappointing.

Biggest Con: Appears to still be selling but no response from owner.

——
One day earlier:

I liked the look of this software after downloading the trial, but am a little worried now.

I have paid for a license but did not receive the temporary or permanent license details I was expecting according to the website info.

I have emailed using an email address on the website but no reply yet.

Genbox Family History Review by Roman Shparber,  May 16, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

It remains the best and irreplaceable for many years

Biggest Pro: REPORTS

Genbox Family History Review by Denise Moss-Fritch,  Apr 16, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Still the best intermediate and advanced genealogy software available.

Use Undo to correct errors.

Press F5 to open Place Data Entry dialog from any place field, or Notes dialog from a note field for easy, swift entry of place structure and note data.

Offers a full research system — Projects, Research Targets, Correspondence Log, and Researcher - that links to locations, repositories, and, individuals and events within your database. Keep track of what you have done and what still needs to be done. This is much more than a ‘to do’ entry.

Easily work with Lists of records (Individuals, Families, Places, Citations, Sources, Media, Correspondence, Researchers, Research, Projects, Notes, Events, and Event Types) from View > Lists.

Offers excellent, rapidly produced, charts and reports. Need a descendant narrative that excludes the living? Selecting one option (Living field on the Contents tab) and Genbox excludes anyone who is listed as living. There is no need to sort your database for deceased descendants first.

Biggest Pro: undo, place and note entry dialogs, user changable source and citation coding
Biggest Con: development discontinued (licenses still available)

Genbox Family History Review by Denise Moss-Fritch,  Aug 30, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

While little known, the software was actively developed between 2000 and its ‘demise’ in November 2007. This program works perfectly with Windows 10. The web site for the product is still active and a trial version is available. There is also a user list on Rootsweb for Genbox.

Biggest Pro: Speedy creation of reports and charts, full research records (projects, tasks, correspondence, etc), ‘witness’ recording of events
Biggest Con: Development stopped in Nov 2007

Genbox Family History Review by Margie,  Feb 27, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I wish I could communicate with the company that makes this software. Two emails have been ignored, and they were about questions before purchase. The program looks interesting, but why would I purchase it when I can’t get an answer before purchase? Very disappointed at first impression!

Biggest Pro: Company does not respond to email questions
Biggest Con: ???

Genbox Family History Review by Denise Moss-Fritch,  Feb 8, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Still the best professional level genealogy software available today despite no development beyond Nov. 2007.

Rated sources/citations can be attached to each event, or individually to elements of an event (date, place, at locations). Even notes for an event can include a source/citation. Name variations can be recorded and identified by event and source/citation. Instead of a simple To-Do list, Genbox offers a research system that includes Projects, Research Targets, Correspondence log, and Researcher elements, all linked together into a real research system. Timeline charts are available for each chart type. Offers a excellent database check and repair system that identifies exactly where problems exist when any are found. The software even accepts same-sex marriage events and is designed to accurately record transgendered individuals (gender designation of “Other”).

Biggest Pro: Best professional genealogical software available
Biggest Con: Older (no updates since Nov 2007)

Genbox Family History Review by Anthea,  Dec 7, 2013

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I love this software - it does everything I want it to do - I like the interface, I like the charts, I like the reports, I like the fact that I can create my own fields. However I have found that it is losing my older research - events are being deleted.

Biggest Pro: The charts and being able to create my own fields
Biggest Con: My data is being lost

Genbox Family History Review by RP,  Jul 29, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Love the database and all of the various fields that can be entered. Had some minor problems in merging family information (e.g. a couple have a biological child, but the spouse shows up as Family 2 for one of the parents). Also some minor problems in tweaking the chart to look exactly as I want it. But, I love this program anyway and feel it is the best one that I have tried.

Biggest Pro: Generates a chart that includes everyone (this is the main reason why I purchased this software above all others).
Biggest Con: There have been no software updates in six years (i.e. since 2007)

Genbox Family History Review by Denise Moss-Fritch,  Jan 16, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Many of the features found in Ultimate Family Tree (discontinued in 2001) are found in Genbox, specifically relating to events and citations to the date or location elements of an event. Those citations can also be shown in all output, including pedigree charts. You can also associate a specific spelling of an individual’s name with an event, accounting for different spellings found on different documents. The only problem with Genbox is the application is developed by a single developer, so updates are slow in coming.

Biggest Pro: Event driven, Attach sources to every element (date, location levels) of an event, unique identification of locations
Biggest Con: Very slow update development

Genbox Family History Review by Klaus Cook,  Jan 5, 2012

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I use this program only for its chart generation. One of the best as far as charting is concerned. I use an on-line program with an SQL database to actually store my data. The lack of support and program updates make me a little leary of GenBox.

Biggest Pro: Great charting
Biggest Con: Seems like a dead product. No updates or new version in a very long time.

Genbox Family History Review by DougVL,  Aug 29, 2011

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I like it for its capability to make a chart of everyone in the database. My interest in genealogy is seeing who my relatives are, not just my ancestors. This program can show them all to me.

I didn’t find it particularly difficult to use. It is very flexible, and there are a lot of things you can change in a report or chart, but you can preview first and see it your change has the effect you want.

I think the complaints about slow updates are silly. It works on my computer now, and it will continue working until I have to replace the computer. Updates are troublesome and can be expensive. As someone else said, “If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.” As a long-time repair technician, I say “amen!”.

Go ahead and get the free trial. It will import your GEDcom and show you good things!

Biggest Pro: capability to make a chart of everyone in the database

Genbox Family History Review by Russell,  Aug 28, 2011

Not Rated

Easy to use but no recent up dates

Biggest Pro: No UPDATES
Biggest Con: Easy to use

Genbox Family History Review by Beertus,  May 8, 2011

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

very difficult

Genbox Family History Review by Fletch,  Apr 22, 2011

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Seems to be a complete program that covers most things you need. Lack of updates is a good thing IMHO. If it’s not broke, why fix it? Finally, a program that is complete enough and bug free that doesn’t NEED to be updated on a regular basis!!!!

Steep learning curve to it though but the proccess Genbox takes makes sense.

Biggest Pro: not constantly updated
Biggest Con: complexity

Genbox Family History Review by Vladimir,  Feb 13, 2011

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

very good program but updates coming so slowly… windows 7 64bit its no supported :(

Biggest Pro: working like access
Biggest Con: updates

Genbox Family History Review by Graham Wade,  Oct 4, 2010

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Excellent program - still one of the best. However lack of new version since November 2007 worries me about it’s long tem viability.

Biggest Pro: Excellent Program and Charts.
Biggest Con: Lack of updates/ new version.

Genbox Family History Review by Catpurrson,  Oct 3, 2010

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Love it and I’ve used them all, including some of the more obscure ones.

Show 21-28 »