Ancestris

by Francois Avernes
A free Genealogy program written in Java that works under any operating system. In addition to a standard editor, it also has a GEDCOM editor, and offers many views and reports of your data. It works with GEDCOM 5.5 files to allow exchange and sharing of without losing data. It is available in a number of languages.

Free • Windows • Mac • Unix • Full Featured
http://www.ancestris.org
Overall124.92 out of 54.92 out of 54.92 out of 54.92 out of 54.92 out of 5 4.92
201785 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00
201614 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00
Earlier33.48 out of 53.48 out of 53.48 out of 53.48 out of 53.48 out of 5 3.48

Add Your Review of Ancestris

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

12 Reviews of Ancestris     RSS 2.0 RSS                   Add Your Review

Ancestris Review by ADOLPHE,  May 30, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

100% gedcom 5.5 compatible et logiciel libre.
Le juste nécessaire pour faire, échanger et partager sa généalogie
Bravo au développeurs

Biggest Pro: Multi operating system
Biggest Con: Parfois confus car on peut faire la même chose souvent de plusieurs manières et une seule suffirait, mais finalement on choisit celle qui nous convient et qui ne nous est pas imposée

Bing translate: ‎100% gedcom 5.5 compatible and software free. ‎‎ Just need to, Exchange and share genealogy‎.‎ Kudos to the developers‎
‎Biggest Pro: Multi operating system‎
‎Biggest Con: sometimes confused because you can do the same thing often in several ways and one would be enough, but ultimately decide who is and who is not forced upon us‎

Ancestris Review by paolo odone,  May 29, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

A most complete flexible gedcom 100% compliant

Biggest Pro: interoperability OS for Free
Biggest Con: manual incomplete

Ancestris Review by Teutorigos,  May 29, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Excellent produit avec une équipe et une communauté très réactives.
Mises à jour fréquentes.

Excellent product with a very responsive team and community.
Frequent updates.

Biggest Pro: Respect de la norme Gedcom. 100% Gedcom compliant.

Ancestris Review by Mathieu Acien,  May 29, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

One of the best genealogy program !

Ancestris Review by Jacques JOURDHIER,  May 29, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Très bon produit qui correspond tout à fait à mes attentes. Je le recommande vivement. C’est un produit qui vit.
L’équipe de développement est compétente et réactive.
Bravo et merci

Biggest Pro: Logiciel libre, très bien pensé et aux normes Gedcom, un plus

Bing translate: ‎Very good product that completely meets my expectations. I highly recommend it. It is a product that lives. ‎‎ The development team is competent and responsive. ‎‎ Thank you‎
‎Biggest Pro: Software free, very well thought out and standards Gedcom, a plus‎

Ancestris Review by Francis Baron,  May 29, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Really a great program, it’s my favorite and now my only genealogy program.

Biggest Pro: Free, user friendly, and with a constant support
Biggest Con: nothing

Ancestris Review by AM Diamant-Berger,  May 29, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The main feature is the 100% Gedcom compliance that allows to load the file on genealogical sites (like Geneanet) to allow comparison with, and search in, other trees. The multiple editors and the visualisation tools are another strong feature.

Biggest Pro: Free, constantly improved, very good support
Biggest Con: User community is mostly French

Ancestris Review by Yannick,  May 29, 2017

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

A very good software.
Update frequently
Respect of GedCom grammary.
You can make your user interface finely

Biggest Pro: Free, user friendly, community, update, no cash
Biggest Con: Unknow

Ancestris Review by John Lerwill,  Mar 20, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

A lot of thought and work has gone into this - well done!

I’ve yet to use all the facilities but the Gedcom editor is a beaut!

Ancestris Review by G. Artigue,  Sep 10, 2013

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

This software suits a different kind of user. I do want to see the guts of my genealogy file. I use Legacy on Windows and Gramps on Linux. I need portability first for myself — to use the same file in my different computers and systems — and second to share data with others. I will continue to use Legacy and — mostly — Gramps, especially for reports, browsing, etc. I will keep a single gedcom file where I’ll centralize all the data, ready to be exported/used in any other application, operating system, or computer. To that end Ancestris is an excellent tool.

Biggest Pro: Portability to any gen. application, operating system and computer
Biggest Con: It will follow gedcom’s fate: Ancestris will be outdated as soon as another standard for genealogy is adopted

Ancestris Review by Chris,  Dec 6, 2012

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

The help file is in French and the interface is very confusing and difficult to figure out. Probably great if you’re “techy” and like command line rather than graphical front end. Very good that it is properly GEDCOM compliant, but, personally, I don’t want to see the guts of the file. I do want a clear display of my family history.

Biggest Pro: Migratable as fully GEDCOM compliant
Biggest Con: The user interface

Ancestris Review by Michael Krick,  Jul 28, 2011

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Great program. I recommand using it. Works fine. It is available for Windows, Linux, and Mac OS users,

Biggest Pro: 100% gedcom compliant. A total respect of the gedcom specs.