XY Family Tree

Click To See Award Winners
by Brian Jones
Displays your ancestors, desendants and relatives on your PC and, optionally, in your own folder on the XY Family Tree website. You can create broad trees or tall trees. Large trees can be separated into distinct families very easily.

Free • Purchase • Windows • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.xy-family-tree.com/
Overall154.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5 4.70
20140    No Ratings
20130    No Ratings
Earlier154.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5 4.70

Add Your Review of XY Family Tree

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

15 Reviews of XY Family Tree     RSS 2.0 RSS                   Add Your Review

XY Family Tree Review by Paul,  Nov 30, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’ve been using this since the early versions with no problems. Now I’m on version 5.4. It is very versatile and easy to use, much easier than others. I can easily record my research in the Private Notes section for each person, showing what searches I have done, so I don’t need another program to cross-reference anything - it appears there on each person. I find the text search very handy for searching place names and surnames - which is super when you have over 1100 folk on my personal tree! Within the same program, you can easily create seperate trees for your researches. It will run on a flash memory stick also, so it is very portable.

Biggest Pro: Recording your searches/notes for each person.
Biggest Con: None whatsoever!

XY Family Tree Review by Margaret Usmar,  Nov 6, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I use Reunion for my own tree research, but have recently begun a tree for someone else and this program is not only simple to use, it’s very forgiving if you make a mistake and allows easy correction. Wish I’d discovered it years ago.

Biggest Pro: Simple data input, simple to correct errors
Biggest Con: Haven’t discovered any yet…..I’ll let you know if I do!!

XY Family Tree Review by Cathlene,  Oct 2, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I absolutely love this program.. I have tried many others and this one is by far the easiest to navigate. Adding and editing information is super easy as well. This program as A+++++++ number one program in my book!!!

Biggest Pro: Easy navigation
Biggest Con: None

XY Family Tree Review by Cathlene,  Sep 3, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have used several different programs and this one is by far the easiest to use and navigate!! Love the private notes section…very easy to create notes and edit! Absolutely LOVE this program!!!!

Biggest Pro: Navigation capability
Biggest Con: None

XY Family Tree Review by Jeanette,  Jul 21, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Downloaded and playing with it for a few hours. Moved my GED straight in- no problems, no losses. Response time is GREAT! functionality is GREAT! Love the “no marriage required” Ease of linking photos and web based data is VERY easy and fast. GREAT WORK!!!

Biggest Pro: All of it!!!
Biggest Con: Haven’t found the ability to change from standard pink and blue for gender indicators yet.

XY Family Tree Review by GG,  Jul 20, 2012

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Excellent Program
Easy to use, compact and great interface!!!
Really like that everything can be seen on one simple page, and additions and corrections can be made with a quick click of the mouse!!

WAY TO GO!!!

XY Family Tree Review by Joelyn,  May 16, 2012

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I is very easy to use and to work with.

XY Family Tree Review by Lindsay,  May 13, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I tried several different programs and this is by far the best. I had a question using the free version and got a response within hours. That was even more impressive when you consider I was in the states and he’s in the UK.

Biggest Pro: You can print out a list of all the people you are related to and how.
Biggest Con: After using the program for two weeks with hundreds of names, NONE.

XY Family Tree Review by Paul,  Mar 6, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I would recommend this to anyone. It is totally self-contained and could be run from a USB memory stick. It has no fancy add-ons and does not do internet searches for you. It is very easy to use also. I like the notes section for each person; it also has a private notes section, which I use to add my research/search notes. It has a search facility which incorporates searching your notes also. You can also do many family trees from this one program. You can also import and export gedcom files.

Biggest Pro: A very good free version - but buy the full version!
Biggest Con: None found.

XY Family Tree Review by Marijke,  Feb 27, 2012

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have just started on this new adventure of collecting family tree data and enjoy using this program. Technical support is just an e-mail away and very friendly.

XY Family Tree Review by PaulJ,  Feb 21, 2012

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have not used any other tools (apart from manual or computer graphic programmes) to collect family tree data, so I was pleased to find the free version of this tool, and have used it to collect data on both strands of the families I am documenting.
The tool is pretty intuitive and economically designed in terms of memory and resource usage.
I am using it for North European names so an ability to type accented letters would be useful.
I had a technical question and got an immediate and helpful response.

Biggest Pro: Value for money! Small and efficient.
Biggest Con: Would be nice if the ’see ancestors’ view would go both ways and show layers of older & younger

XY Family Tree Review by Cheryl Lacroix,  Jan 27, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Really enjoy using your program, I am not computer savy but it is so easy to use and if I do run into the any problems because of my not knowing about the computer, I get an reply almost immediately, the next day pertaining to my problem. I just love the program. Thanks

Biggest Pro: Could be copied to USB
Biggest Con: None I could think of

XY Family Tree Review by Charles Clark,  Jan 27, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I think it is a excelent program,and is very easy to use, I only wish it was also fore use on the iMac as well as i believe it would be an excelent selling program for the Mac, I personaly hate the PC computer and i have used both PC amd Mac for over 30 years, my second choise has allways been the PC if i can’t get the programs i want for thr Mac , in 30 years of using the Mac i havve never had even 5 inutes of trouble, and NO VIRUSES, the PC has been nothing but trouble .

Thank you and hope to see a Mac version soon .

Charles Clark

XY Family Tree Review by Gene,  Jan 20, 2012

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Great software . Import and export .GED . No limitations yet after 1 month of use. Able to add pictures as well .Highly recommended for the mid level family tree explorer.

Biggest Pro: .GED
Biggest Con: none yet

XY Family Tree Review by Charles Clark,  Jan 10, 2012

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

would be good if it covered more generations