Family Tree Maker for Mac

by Ancestry.com
This is the Mac version of Family Tree Maker. It includes a Windows-based conversion tool to allow you to import files from Family Tree Maker 2008 or newer.

Purchase • Mac • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.ancestry.com/cs/apps/P-5246
Overall861.49 out of 51.49 out of 51.49 out of 51.49 out of 51.49 out of 5 1.49
201542.25 out of 52.25 out of 52.25 out of 52.25 out of 52.25 out of 5 2.25
2014571.33 out of 51.33 out of 51.33 out of 51.33 out of 51.33 out of 5 1.33
Earlier251.82 out of 51.82 out of 51.82 out of 51.82 out of 51.82 out of 5 1.82

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker for Mac

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

86 Reviews of Family Tree Maker for Mac     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Greg Rhodes,  1 day ago

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I agree that this software is very unsettling. It freezes frequently, terminates, mutates, you name it. The blue bar for “Media Processing” is like watching grass grow or paint dry. Will research for another brand for use on the MacBook Air.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Arthur Lloyd,  3 days ago

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Excellent all round program. Hard to find a fault.

Biggest Pro: Easy, intuitive format.
Biggest Con: I could be improved if you offered a search facility where other users could perhaps help where a brick wall is encountered.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Kevin,  5 days ago

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Version 3 for Mac has great appearance and a strong set of features. I purchased the companion book which was very helpful for getting started. Problem 1 appeared when I realized the software would not synch correctly with Ancestry’s website. Technical support could not resolve this issue, so I accessed Ancestry.com outside of Family Tree Maker. Problem 2 was logging in with Safari (version 5.1.10), the latest version available for my fairly recent iMac. I was forced to use Foxfire. Tech support was friendly but poorly trained, preferring to send email documents with written instructions. Fixes sent were ineffective. Following one set of instructions actually trashed my family file, leaving me with a year’s worth of data that disappeared. A supervisor with tech support helped me restore from a back-up file, but my original problems have not been resolved in over 12 months. Version 3 for Mac is buggy and the compatibility with browsers a huge disappointment. This software was not ready for release in 2014, and still does not function properly in 2015.

Biggest Pro: Impressive design features
Biggest Con: Some features don’t work

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by J. McFarland,  Jan 19, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

FTM3 is extremely frustrating. Media processing goes on forever - today’s sync has been working for 16 hours and is not finished. Consequently, I have no idea whether all of my media has transferred or not. .htm files will not transfer from FTM to ancestry.com, but finding and changing them is very time consuming. But, the .htm files originally came from ancestry.com into my FTM2 files. The people who answer the support phone number at Ancestry - after waits of at least 30 minutes, do not seem to know what they are talking about. They only send links to useless information. If you ask them to walk you through what do them should be an easy fix, they refuse and just send out more links.

Biggest Pro: None that I have discovered so far.
Biggest Con: Linking with Ancestry Trees

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by John Chambers,  Dec 30, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Family Tree Maker for Mac version 3 has been a problematic since I bought the software. It is becoming more hit and miss each time I use it. Today the software has decided it will crash everytime I try to display my tree. I can view “Places”, I can view “Media”, I can view “Sources”, I can view “Publish”, I can view “Web Search” but heaven forbid if I want to view my tree by selecting “People”. The software crashes and generates a crash report for Apple. This is seriously the worst and most unstable software I have every experienced. I makes Windows operating systems appear to be the Gold standard in software stability by comparison. Any company with half an ounce of credibility would be ashamed to put their name to this software.

Biggest Pro: Cannot think of any redeeming features at present except that the developers have perfected the art of producing unstable software.
Biggest Con: Ancestry.com having the hide to market this as an integrated software solution.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Barbara Smith,  Dec 27, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

It’s pretty awful.

I have used both the PC and mac versions and the software is getting worse.

I would actually give the mac version a 1.1 because it does (sort of) sync your online tree at ancestry with your computer version, but has the following unresolved issues:

1) Will suddenly become unsynced from the online tree and declare it does not exist when the tree on ancestry is still right there.

2) Media conversions from a Mac are problematical. Expect from one hour to two weeks for media to be converted and added to the tree, but some will never convert.

3) Don’t expect anything like useful suggestions or help from Ancestry. Ancestry just says “clear your cache and cookies” for all issues-(and really there are too many to list–just giving the most irritating.)Yeah, well taking care of cache and cookies is part of computer maintenance and I do take care of it. They tell me that one more time and I may blow my cookies.

4) This issue has happened twice to me and once each to friends of mine. The tree suddenly corrupts, making up to ten duplicates of individuals, merging people who have nothing in common and may be hundreds of years apart in age, marries people who never met and gives them random children–some of whom may be many years older than their “new parents.”

5) Don’t expect “merge duplicates” to be any help either. I wonder if the software writers just randomly match up people? It will match “duplicates” who do not have the same name, same parents, same siblings, spouses and may be hundreds of years apart in age.

Biggest Pro: I am trying to find one
Biggest Con: The one pulled on me when I paid good money for this piece of &%$#

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Tobasco2011,  Dec 27, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Upgraded to MAC Yosemite now FTM MAC2 major buttons don’t work, constantly processing media.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Has become very difficult to work with!

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by BMD,  Dec 16, 2014

Not Rated

Oh dear. v2 for Mac. what a pile of roughage. I’ve been trying for a couple of years with this damn programme. it will merge? oh yeah, then it won’t actually merge the two names in a tree. whatever. Crashes, oh yes. loses information? Yes, that too.

i want to upgrade to Yosemite, but I have to upgrade to v3 as apparently v2 is unstable (like it’s stable now, haha). I have a subscription to ancestry, but still would have to pay $120 for an “upgrade” , even though it $30 in the US. Wrote to Ancestry. They couldn’t even be bothered to reply.

It is really frustrating: hunting relatives is hard enough without the software buggering it up.

time to find an alternative….

Biggest Pro: hmmm.
Biggest Con: the software

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Catherine McGregor,  Dec 15, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I could not even download the file from the link after paying for it. All I could get was a 1kb text file of gibberish.
I seemed to be dealing with three different companies including Ancestry in trying to resolve the issue. They just all referred me to each other. A very frustrating experience.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Complete waste of money

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Lynn Campbell,  Dec 4, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Truly the most frustrating program. I’ve had better. I thought it would be a good idea to print all of my data so I could start from scratch and not lose anything and I can’t do that. I bought the full version for the Mac even though in the past I have had the old version on PC and that was better by far. Frustrated and almost ready to throw in the towel. Yes, and I’ve lost heaps of research too because of duplicate entries that won’t match up with the original record.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by brian aussie,  Dec 2, 2014

Not Rated

Platinum version (for Windows 8) crashed completely. Won’t reopen even earlier backups. Lost everything.
Back to re-using 2012 version but am worried it will go the same way.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: complete fail

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Seasalter66,  Nov 29, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Relatively new to this kind of software having used a very old Windows based FTM by Broderbond I think. However this software is terrible it constantly quits automatically when pressing the “People” key and continues to do this however many times you close it down and reopen it. This results in having to abandon this file and open up an older backup file and start again wasting hours of work. The find duplicates function is rubbish it lists people who clearly are not duplicates and there is no way to easily resolve the record without corrupting the tree.
I am appalled this is allowed to be marketed as a proper programme.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: A totally useless piece of software

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Alan,  Nov 27, 2014

Not Rated

I use this software as part of my profession. The finished product of the work must include a Family Tree Chart with details of birth, deaths and marriages. Now that I have updated to this I cannot transfer some basic information across to the charting page. I have spent an hour on the telephone with support and have made no progress. I literally cannot work and am at my wits end what to do, to avoid losing valuable clients.

Biggest Pro: If the basic functions don’t work, then there isn’t a pro. Get your fingers out Ancestry
Biggest Con: Transfer of data is erratic and untrustworthy

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Ivyhill2,  Nov 15, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

First I lost the ability to sync trees , then I was told that online trees had been deleted, and now I can’t merge people with out crashing.

Biggest Pro: none

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Paul Loseby,  Nov 2, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have to agree with the others. I thought it was working ok but then syncs stopped working properly and you don’t know what data has transferred and what hasn’t. Ok if you don’t want to sync. I have spent part of the afternoon with the very helpful support team at Ancestry but even having followed instructions step by step, it is still as bad.

Biggest Pro: Not sure
Biggest Con: Doesn’t synchronise with Ancestry without missing data both ways

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Bonnie,  Oct 28, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

This version of FTM is by far the worst program of any kind that I have used. Crashes, slow, can’t print horizontal censes reports, children & spouses do not print in birth/date order, and on and on. Oh, how I wish I could return to Mac 2 where I didn’t have problems.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Printing reports, Children/Spouses in correct order on genealogy reports.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by John Evans,  Oct 5, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

This program is an absolute disaster and I would really like my money back. It is very slow, doesn’t update information easily and I cannot seem to save any changes. I am not at all happy - SHAME ON YOU Ancestry.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Mike,  Oct 5, 2014

Not Rated

Have entered more that 500 individuals in FTM3 Mac. Everytime I open and enter or edit data, the program hangs, generates an error report and exits. have tried from compacted, produced extended charts and backup, but problem persists.

If anyone has any ideas, please share- will be much appreciated.

Biggest Pro: easier to enter and link data
Biggest Con: program seems to exit for apparent reason

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Ginger,  Sep 30, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

The new Family Tree Maker for Mac 3 is not an improvement on FTM for Mac 2. All the problems are still there: Hangups, crashes, strange glitches that sometimes make it impossible to see an individual’s ancestors, duplications (the program created over 3,000 of these in one of my files), and a general instability that makes it the worst program I’ve ever dealt with. It feels like a 90’s PC program. Technical assistants are polite but of no use. They keep recommending that you “compact” your file, an archaic housekeeping chore. Family Tree Maker is a great idea, but is in desperate need of proper development. Fire the current developers and hire somebody who can fix these glitches! I’m appalled that so much of my work on my family tree is tied up in this glitchy, unstable program. DO NOT BUY THE UPGRADE! It’s just as bad as the previous version.

Biggest Pro: links with ancestry.com
Biggest Con: Too many to name: Hangups, missing ancestors, crashes, glitches galore

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Rosita,  Sep 26, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

With a PC of 8 years and the non-support issues looming with Ancestry & FTM I decided to put FTM on my MacBook Pro using the download approach and then paying for the CD. I only converted 2 small trees and not my most important. The first few days seemed to go smoothly but now the print icon while on ancestry from FTM is no longer functioning. Print request, i.e., a census, the screen says.. “preparing for full resolution” and then nothing. I have checked my printer utilities, every which way, reinstalled my printer, then I called Ancestry. They told me they don’t show any problem and that it’s probably Safari and I should clear the cache/cookies, huh? The rep said they would email the instructions to do so, still waiting and its been 5 hrs. I have been using FTM for at least 15 years and have updated, etc., I am really disappointed and frustrated.

Biggest Pro: Seems smooth after about a week
Biggest Con: The print function is no longer working after several days of doing so.

Show 21-40 »