Family Tree Maker for Mac

by Ancestry.com
This is the Mac version of Family Tree Maker. It includes a Windows-based conversion tool to allow you to import files from Family Tree Maker 2008 or newer.

Purchase • Mac • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://store.ancestry.com/ProductDetail.aspx?p=P-4845&PT=Software
Overall601.51 out of 51.51 out of 51.51 out of 51.51 out of 51.51 out of 5 1.51
2014351.39 out of 51.39 out of 51.39 out of 51.39 out of 51.39 out of 5 1.39
2013201.88 out of 51.88 out of 51.88 out of 51.88 out of 51.88 out of 5 1.88
Earlier51.36 out of 51.36 out of 51.36 out of 51.36 out of 51.36 out of 5 1.36

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker for Mac

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

60 Reviews of Family Tree Maker for Mac     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Stuart Tribble,  Jul 22, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

FTM 3 for Mac is not a good product and I do not recommend it. I have tried to use it but when you attempt to download an existing ancestry tree there are replication errors that do not appear in the ancestry tree. These errors cannot be deleted. Attempts to do so creates further errors. I have called the help line on several occasions with no success. Support for this product sucks. Also note that My Canvas will no longer provide publishing capability after Sept 2014.

Biggest Pro: Genealogy report selections are better than those in ancestry.
Biggest Con: Trees are said to be in sync when they are clearly not in sync.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Paul,  Jun 24, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Family Tree Maker for Mac 2 is only 6 months old and will not sync or connect to internet. No support from Ancestry, NOVA refers you to SoftCity which says it has been discontinued, tried to reinstall but it now refuses the licence number. Valuable data and photographs and documents have disappeared. Have they done this to seel the new version 3? People with version 3 seem to have same problems.

Biggest Pro: None.
Biggest Con: Useless and NO support. Happy to take your money but then they disappear.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Danny,  Jun 22, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Mine will not merge people. It transfers the information from one person to the other but then it deletes one of the entries completely, no matter how I do it. Very disappointing. Also the sync seems to be inoperative for over 2 weeks now.

Biggest Pro: Not hard to use
Biggest Con: Not worth using as is.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Terrible Purchase,  Jun 21, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Do not make the same mistake that I, and so many others, have made: do not buy this product. Absolutely NO support from ancestry, Nova, and amazon, even though the product literally does not work as advertised.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: does not connect to ancestry as it claims to

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Fed up.,  Jun 21, 2014

Not Rated

Think we all need to contact Australian Consumer Affairs regarding faulty product.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Hanny,  Jun 21, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Almost a week ‘there is no internet connection’ message though the connection is there and FTM has worked OK before. My software is up to date and I am using the programme on a Mac. Tries every ’solution’, but they don’t improve this lousy situation. HELP!

Biggest Pro: easy to use
Biggest Con: not always reliable

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Karen,  Jun 20, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have FTM 3 for Mac and it’s a piece of crap! Won’t go online. I will make sure it is online but it will flip offline. I just want to know how to get my money back. If not, I hope this helps someone not to make this mistake because it’s a piece of crap!

Biggest Pro: Nothing
Biggest Con: Doesn’t work

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by ReadyToGiveUpOnThis,  Jun 19, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I used to love using Family Tree Maker for Mac 2. I never had any of the issues other people write about. Syncs always ran fine and never experienced crashes. That all changed when Family Tree Maker for Mac 3 was released. After reading all the reviews, I decided NOT to upgrade to Mac 3 version. The Mac2 version was working well enough.
However, ever since Mac 3 was released, It seems the software developer completely forgot about supporting the previous versions. I cannot connect to the internet (says-no internet connection) even thought there is a connection alive and well working for every other piece of code on my computer. I cannot download my Ancestry.com tree (no connection again) even though, after uninstalling and reinstalling, the program had no problems downloading software updates from the internet.

I wonder, is this their (unsuccessful) way of forcing people off FTM Mac2 and onto FTM Mac3?

—-

I just went on the Ancestry Site news/annoucement page and found this:

————————————————
Service Alert

Around 1:30 p.m. MT on Monday, June 16, 2014, attackers targeted Ancestry with a Distributed Denial of Service attack (DDoS). The Ancestry websites are still recovering from this attack.
Family Tree Maker Search and Tree Sync features have been disabled until site stability has been fully restored. Our team is actively working on restoring these to full service.
Thank you for your patience as we continue to work through bringing the sites back up to full capacity.
————-

This explains all connectivity and sync issues I experienced this past week with FamilyTreeMaker for Mac2. I hope this is resolved soon.

Still no help with FTM2 for Mac. There is a connection now, but the sync feature is still non-existent.

One other little thing worries me: I decided to delete all (but one) online tree. I noticed other people are having problems deleting their tree because it won’t accept their current user password. I was able to delete my trees by using my OLD password. This is cause for concern. It tells me they probably had to restore member information from an old backup! Was there a security breach somewhere? Has the personal information of all relatives marked as ‘living’ been compromised? I hope they address our security concerns in their next post.

Biggest Pro: none now
Biggest Con: cannot connect to Ancestry to download

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by grace falcone,  Jun 19, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

After reading many of these reviews, I am having the same difficulties. Just upgraded from FTM 2 to 3. My tree is a mess. FTM 2 it wasn’t good so thought 3 might be better. I am now looking for a new program because of the inconsistencies - duplication of families, families no longer exist as they were, it goes on and on. I have no more confidence to add anything to this data base. Problem is I have a MAC, most good programs use different operating system.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by CR Shabazz,  Jun 19, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Unable to connect to the internet. After reading your posts I now realize that this is an existing and known problem that has not been resolved. I may look into different software.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Unable to connect to internet

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by OneNumber,  Jun 18, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

If you are planning to buy this software, don’t !

It is buggy, it crashes frequently, it does not synchronise with the online data correctly, updates screw up (both the program and your data) and now - last straw - it refuses to accept the Internet connection. Truly awful software.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Family Tree Maker 3 for Mac

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by OneNumber,  Jun 18, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Quick review: Do not waste your money on this package.

I am (sort of) using Family Tree Maker 3 for Mac. I have struggled with this piece of rubbish software for five weeks, crashes and bad syncs with the online data, slow response and plenty of time watching the beach ball. Today, i have the error “There is no connection to the Internet or a firewall is preventing etc..” Needless to say, there is a connection to the Internet and the connection is not being blocked by a firewall.

This is not the worst software I have ever used but it is comes a very close second.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: paying money for a totally crap piece of software.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Linda Smith,  Jun 18, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

FTM Mac 3: I have had nothing but trouble with this version of FTM.
Yesterday and today I connote open FTM? I logged off of Ancestry and tried to load the program off-line because Ancestry has been having web site problems. I still cannot open FTM.

I am at a loss. Why release such a bad upgrade? I have been using FTM for years and converted to the MAC several years ago.

Biggest Pro: None so far with this version
Biggest Con: I have spent hours, days, weeks, and now months trying to get the program to work consistently

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Mark Penney,  Jun 17, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Wish I read these reviews before I bought the software and wasted my money and several hours of research time and writing. This program looks good but does not perform. It is impossible to download my current tree and sync it. It constantly freezes or searches for something. Just about everything mentioned in the previous reviews is true. Apparently this has been going on for years. DO NOT BUY THIS PIECE OF JUNK!!!!!

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Waste of money

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Adrienne,  Jun 14, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I used FTM on my PC several years ago, and I really liked it. Now I have a Mac and this was the only software title that I recognized, so I bought it. HUUUUUGE mistake. It actually crashed my laptop. I’ve had this laptop for almost 2 years, it’s in perfect condition, and it has never crashed before. I go into my logs and hey guess what? EVERY SINGLE ISSUE my laptop has had since I installed this software? Yep. It’s because of this software. I love being able to sync with Ancestry.com but AAAAARGH. Finding something else. I’ll eat the $60 headache.

Biggest Pro: Syncs with ancestry site
Biggest Con: Crashes my computer constantly

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by db,  Jun 11, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

FTM for MAC V2 is the worse software I have had. You cannot make the fonts bigger for importing information. It can only be achieved in Notes. Surely I am not the only person who finds the size very small. I have used FTM versions for many years on a PC. But hopeless on a MAC

Biggest Pro: nothing
Biggest Con: Cannot easily be transferred from pc to mac

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by JERRI,  May 7, 2014

Not Rated

THIS IS THE WORST PIECE OF SOFTWARE I HAVE EVER HAD. IT MISAPPROPRIATES ALL THE PEOPLE AND YOU END UP WITH A TOTAL WORTHLESS BUNCH OF RESEARCH. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS SOFTWARE TO ANYONE.

Biggest Pro: NOTHING
Biggest Con: IT LOSES ALL HISTORICAL DATA AND LOSES ALL FAMILY MEMBERS AND CONNECTS THEM WITH OTHER FAMILY MEMBERS THEY AREN’T CONNECTED TO.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Arie Verloop,  May 4, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have >30,000 people in my genes-file (all in Europe) and “upgraded” to FTM Mac 3 a month ago. Just now I notice many family relations (parent-child) are lost and no longer connected. After gazillion hours of putting these together… FTM needs to fix this. This has not happened before after >15 years of buying their product.

Arie Verloop
averloop@aol.com

Biggest Pro: couldn’t find any. Genea reports (up & down) were a lot better ten years ago.
Biggest Con: Parent - child connections are lost!

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Bob Sullivan,  May 3, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

FTM 3 turned out to be a disaster. I never found an easy way to transfer my tree from FTM 2 to FTM 3 but once I did many problems surfaced. It wouldn’t show any of the Media I had. I wasn’t able to Sync at all. Same thing when I went back to FTM 2. Both programs crashed during the Syncing process every time.
Talking to people at Ancestry was an adventure. Two of the four people told me that they were aware of a problem the other two denied that there was a problem. One person from Ancestry sent me a link to go to that would take care of the problem. That was a waste of printing out 14 pages that didn’t help one bit.
Once I threw out FTM 3 everything went back to normal in FTM 2.
Ancestry should take FTM 3 for MAC off the market until all the bugs are fixed. They should also be fined for trying to sell a product that doesn’t work.

Biggest Pro: Nothing
Biggest Con: No syncing and constant crashes.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Ray,  Apr 28, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

MAC 3 brought a lot of problems, including creating many duplicates in some lines (2000 added bogus duplicates), detaching people from the tree so they just float unconnected, taking 30 seconds after adding the first character of a location or a new parent before allowing you to proceed. I had to export my database to get rid of the duplicates, but losing all the detached people. The 30 second wait is still there and a real annoyance.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Bad implementation of code to add or insert new data

Show 21-40 »