Family Tree Maker for Mac

by Ancestry.com
This is the Mac version of Family Tree Maker. It includes a Windows-based conversion tool to allow you to import files from Family Tree Maker 2008 or newer.

Purchase • Mac • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.ancestry.com/cs/apps/P-5246
Overall741.48 out of 51.48 out of 51.48 out of 51.48 out of 51.48 out of 5 1.48
2014491.39 out of 51.39 out of 51.39 out of 51.39 out of 51.39 out of 5 1.39
2013201.88 out of 51.88 out of 51.88 out of 51.88 out of 51.88 out of 5 1.88
Earlier51.36 out of 51.36 out of 51.36 out of 51.36 out of 51.36 out of 5 1.36

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker for Mac

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

74 Reviews of Family Tree Maker for Mac     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Alan,  18 hrs ago

Not Rated

I use this software as part of my profession. The finished product of the work must include a Family Tree Chart with details of birth, deaths and marriages. Now that I have updated to this I cannot transfer some basic information across to the charting page. I have spent an hour on the telephone with support and have made no progress. I literally cannot work and am at my wits end what to do, to avoid losing valuable clients.

Biggest Pro: If the basic functions don’t work, then there isn’t a pro. Get your fingers out Ancestry
Biggest Con: Transfer of data is erratic and untrustworthy

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Ivyhill2,  Nov 15, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

First I lost the ability to sync trees , then I was told that online trees had been deleted, and now I can’t merge people with out crashing.

Biggest Pro: none

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Paul Loseby,  Nov 2, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have to agree with the others. I thought it was working ok but then syncs stopped working properly and you don’t know what data has transferred and what hasn’t. Ok if you don’t want to sync. I have spent part of the afternoon with the very helpful support team at Ancestry but even having followed instructions step by step, it is still as bad.

Biggest Pro: Not sure
Biggest Con: Doesn’t synchronise with Ancestry without missing data both ways

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Bonnie,  Oct 28, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

This version of FTM is by far the worst program of any kind that I have used. Crashes, slow, can’t print horizontal censes reports, children & spouses do not print in birth/date order, and on and on. Oh, how I wish I could return to Mac 2 where I didn’t have problems.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Printing reports, Children/Spouses in correct order on genealogy reports.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by John Evans,  Oct 5, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

This program is an absolute disaster and I would really like my money back. It is very slow, doesn’t update information easily and I cannot seem to save any changes. I am not at all happy - SHAME ON YOU Ancestry.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Mike,  Oct 5, 2014

Not Rated

Have entered more that 500 individuals in FTM3 Mac. Everytime I open and enter or edit data, the program hangs, generates an error report and exits. have tried from compacted, produced extended charts and backup, but problem persists.

If anyone has any ideas, please share- will be much appreciated.

Biggest Pro: easier to enter and link data
Biggest Con: program seems to exit for apparent reason

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Ginger,  Sep 30, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

The new Family Tree Maker for Mac 3 is not an improvement on FTM for Mac 2. All the problems are still there: Hangups, crashes, strange glitches that sometimes make it impossible to see an individual’s ancestors, duplications (the program created over 3,000 of these in one of my files), and a general instability that makes it the worst program I’ve ever dealt with. It feels like a 90’s PC program. Technical assistants are polite but of no use. They keep recommending that you “compact” your file, an archaic housekeeping chore. Family Tree Maker is a great idea, but is in desperate need of proper development. Fire the current developers and hire somebody who can fix these glitches! I’m appalled that so much of my work on my family tree is tied up in this glitchy, unstable program. DO NOT BUY THE UPGRADE! It’s just as bad as the previous version.

Biggest Pro: links with ancestry.com
Biggest Con: Too many to name: Hangups, missing ancestors, crashes, glitches galore

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Rosita,  Sep 26, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

With a PC of 8 years and the non-support issues looming with Ancestry & FTM I decided to put FTM on my MacBook Pro using the download approach and then paying for the CD. I only converted 2 small trees and not my most important. The first few days seemed to go smoothly but now the print icon while on ancestry from FTM is no longer functioning. Print request, i.e., a census, the screen says.. “preparing for full resolution” and then nothing. I have checked my printer utilities, every which way, reinstalled my printer, then I called Ancestry. They told me they don’t show any problem and that it’s probably Safari and I should clear the cache/cookies, huh? The rep said they would email the instructions to do so, still waiting and its been 5 hrs. I have been using FTM for at least 15 years and have updated, etc., I am really disappointed and frustrated.

Biggest Pro: Seems smooth after about a week
Biggest Con: The print function is no longer working after several days of doing so.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Miriam Baker,  Sep 21, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

There are still several problems with the Mac version of Family Tree Maker. The first problem occurred in transferring my file from Reunion to Family Tree Maker. For individuals with a suffix attached to their name, FTM failed to import the name and replaced it just with the suffix. Thus I ended up with multiple people names, “Jr.” The report generating capability in FTM is very limited as compared with Reunion. There are not the options necessary to customize the report. For example there is no way to include only selected people. Moreover, certain reports, including the Family Group Sheet and the Outline Descendant Report, list children in the order they were entered, not in chronological order. Ancestry is aware of this issue and says that that is the way the program was intended to work.

Biggest Pro: Syncs with Ancestry.com
Biggest Con: A number of the reports list the children in the order they were entered rather than in chronological order.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by James Brock,  Sep 16, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

No problems with FTM for Windows v6 to v2014. Countless problems since FTM mac v1 up to & including FTM mac v3. Media files missing in v3 after upgrade from v2. Upload & download problems to/from ancestry. Media files names changed in v2. Media files in v2 duplicated up to 7 times, some renamed some not. Media files from one tree appearing in a DIFFERENT tree. Birth date order of children in v3 scrambled. Small trees in v2 & v3 able to upload to ancestry with media files (although a couple of media files were miniaturised). Large family trees in v2 won’t upload media files to ancestry. Unable to convert ftmb or ftmm files to ftm files. The list is endless. These are just some of the problems I have so far found. Ancestry are very polite but totally ineffective at solving any of my problems (bar the 2 miniaturised media files). DO NOT BUY THIS PROGRAM! It is not worth the hassle.

Biggest Pro: ABSOLUTELY nothing
Biggest Con: VIRTUALLY everything

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Larry Cocking,  Aug 28, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

The original FTM on the PC worked fine and it was possible to build a tree and print charts. When my PC expired I bought a Mac and bought FTM for Mac, then subsequently upgraded to FTM Mac2, then FTM Mac3.
Transition from version to version has been a continuous downhill slide, losing data, losing flexibility, and losing the ability to make large charts - unless they were sent to an FTM franchisee who would print them for a fee.
The latest disappointment is that hints offered with the latest upgrade require signing up for a 30 day trial and providing credit card payment details - notwithstanding that my membership runs until 2015.
Ancestry has a lot of loose ends to clean up before this can be considered anything more than a party novelty for a quick look for relatives who lived in the recent past.

Biggest Pro: Trying to find it.
Biggest Con: Besides losing text entries and photos, data gets corrupted when being transferred to an upgrade.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Bill Weller,  Aug 16, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Easy to use, multiple categories for family data, flexible source documentation w/ optional templates. An earlier subversion crashed regularly but appears to have been fixed.

Biggest Pro: Integrates with Ancestry.com
Biggest Con: Synchronizing local and web attachments is very unreliable.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Val Kirwan,  Aug 9, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Don’t buy just a head ache, nothing works the way it should and keeps freezing up

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by johojo,  Aug 3, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I started a family tree online, then downloaded it to FTM Mac. There are synchronization problems, such as people that definitely are in the database (they show up in person view) don’t appear in the pedigree view. I had hoped to really get into a detailed investigation of my family history, but out of the gate I find I cannot trust FTM Mac to implement my work. Had I known of these problems I would not have purchased the software.

Biggest Pro: If it is not reliable there is no ‘pro’.
Biggest Con: Unreliable

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Stuart Tribble,  Jul 22, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

FTM 3 for Mac is not a good product and I do not recommend it. I have tried to use it but when you attempt to download an existing ancestry tree there are replication errors that do not appear in the ancestry tree. These errors cannot be deleted. Attempts to do so creates further errors. I have called the help line on several occasions with no success. Support for this product sucks. Also note that My Canvas will no longer provide publishing capability after Sept 2014.

Biggest Pro: Genealogy report selections are better than those in ancestry.
Biggest Con: Trees are said to be in sync when they are clearly not in sync.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Paul,  Jun 24, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Family Tree Maker for Mac 2 is only 6 months old and will not sync or connect to internet. No support from Ancestry, NOVA refers you to SoftCity which says it has been discontinued, tried to reinstall but it now refuses the licence number. Valuable data and photographs and documents have disappeared. Have they done this to seel the new version 3? People with version 3 seem to have same problems.

Biggest Pro: None.
Biggest Con: Useless and NO support. Happy to take your money but then they disappear.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Danny,  Jun 22, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Mine will not merge people. It transfers the information from one person to the other but then it deletes one of the entries completely, no matter how I do it. Very disappointing. Also the sync seems to be inoperative for over 2 weeks now.

Biggest Pro: Not hard to use
Biggest Con: Not worth using as is.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Terrible Purchase,  Jun 21, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Do not make the same mistake that I, and so many others, have made: do not buy this product. Absolutely NO support from ancestry, Nova, and amazon, even though the product literally does not work as advertised.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: does not connect to ancestry as it claims to

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Fed up.,  Jun 21, 2014

Not Rated

Think we all need to contact Australian Consumer Affairs regarding faulty product.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Hanny,  Jun 21, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Almost a week ‘there is no internet connection’ message though the connection is there and FTM has worked OK before. My software is up to date and I am using the programme on a Mac. Tries every ’solution’, but they don’t improve this lousy situation. HELP!

Biggest Pro: easy to use
Biggest Con: not always reliable

Show 21-40 »