Family Tree Maker for Mac

by Ancestry.com
This is the Mac version of Family Tree Maker. It includes a Windows-based conversion tool to allow you to import files from Family Tree Maker 2008 or newer.

Purchase • Mac • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://store.ancestry.com/ProductDetail.aspx?p=P-4845&PT=Software
Overall351.82 out of 51.82 out of 51.82 out of 51.82 out of 51.82 out of 5 1.82
2014141.69 out of 51.69 out of 51.69 out of 51.69 out of 51.69 out of 5 1.69
2013171.99 out of 51.99 out of 51.99 out of 51.99 out of 51.99 out of 5 1.99
Earlier41.5 out of 51.5 out of 51.5 out of 51.5 out of 51.5 out of 5 1.50

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker for Mac

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

35 Reviews of Family Tree Maker for Mac     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Chuck,  Apr 8, 2014

Not Rated

Initially intrigued and impressed with some of the new features. However, actual usage of them has revealed a buggy and incompletely regression-tested piece of software. I upgraded from Mac Family Tree Maker 2 to 3. My 3700-person, ~2GB tree seemed to convert OK (imperative you do a back-up, first). However the default is to constantly sync online. Turn automatic syncing off! The duplicate people process is far slower than before. FTM3 dropped the link to my online tree (the first an only time that I have ever had that issue). I’ve not been able to successfully restore the connect. by any of the ancestry.com recommended methods. I decided to restore my FTM work to a recent back-up. That process fails with no message at all. Trying to open up the full back-up “Open With… FTM3) only gives me a message that the file type is either incorrect or truncated or otherwise broken. Fabulous!…NOT. At the moment, I’m screwed. The current version of my FTM3 database has somehow grown a couple of hundred extra people. If I try syncing to the online tree, the number of additions and modifications is in the thousands. Clearly, something is wrong here, too.

Unless you are starting from scratch, skip this version (currently 22.2.1712)

Biggest Pro: Better integration with ancestry.com. You could realistically do hints and searches without the website.
Biggest Con: Performs untold harm to your database. Won’t restored databases made by the same software.

Biggest Pro: Better integration with ancestry.com. You could realistically do hints and searches without the website.
Biggest Con: Performs untold harm to your database. Won’t restored databases made by the same software.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by mrodgers67,  Mar 23, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

If you want to build a family tree, this is a good program for connecting with Ancestry and providing sources for your data. That said, FTM for Mac crashes… a lot. I have almost 12k people in my tree and they more involved you get into your tree, the more problematic it gets. Many of the features cannot be used because when they are accessed, the program crashes. It is difficult to manage Places and Media in their software.

The more updated the program with the more features, the more problems that occur.

Biggest Pro: easy to work on building a tree with Ancestry.com
Biggest Con: unstable, crashes frequently; slow responses

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Ginger,  Mar 20, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

FTM 2 for Mac crashes continually, sometimes on its own, while I’m not working. The program has constant hangups for no apparent reason. Many times the ancestors of an individual do not appear. The sync feature works about half the time, then disconnects itself from the online tree for no reason. The program has the same problem on both my Macs. It’s the most frustrating, glitchiest program I have ever used. It feels like a bad PC program from the 90s. Ancestry and the developer, Nova, need to completely revamp the program. Despite repeated calls for help over the years, yes years, Ancestry and Nova have never addressed the issues encountered with this program.

Biggest Pro: Works with ancestry.com
Biggest Con: Unstable, crashes, hangs up, does not correctly display information

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Raphael,  Mar 20, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

My experience over the last two weeks of using it has been one huge headache. People disappear and reappear. Photos do the same thing, with some peculiar photos suddenly appearing in Granny’s place and the same one also attached to other people. WORKS SLOWLY and has FROZEN my computer a few times. The” Media processing” just runs for hours and hours and does not complete.

I am new at computer genealogy. This was not a good buy.

Ancestry.co.uk has a very helpful Help Desk, but the Software bill be replaced by something else. I at least got 6 months of Premium Membership.

A VERY BIG HEADACHE.

Biggest Pro: Looks nice
Biggest Con: Continual muddling up of families and ancestors and offspring.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Betsy Rogers,  Mar 10, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Frustrating. It is supposed to synch to a tree on Ancestry.com. Information between the two trees is not consistent. On Family Tree Maker I have my mother’s parents showing up with all their children, including my mother. When I select my mother, it does not show her parents or any of her ancestors, even though they are all there. I only have 280 people in the tree and I am trying to clean it up and be sure it is consistent with the Ancestry tree before I add much to it. I am not having much success, and I am pretty capable with the computer. When I call the help line, they suggest I compact the tree, which I have done repeatedly and it does not solve the problem. I know that genealogy software is complex, but it is frustrating to not be able to get basic questions answered and to be put through a “stander” series of solutions that are not relevant to my specific problem.

I also do not like the constant new versions that one has to purchase or the stranglehold that Ancestry seems to have on genealogy research. The website advertises such a broad range of data, but all I ever seem to find are census reports, references to Find A Grave and the occasional social security death certificate. Much information that has been scanned has errors and it is important to carefully look at the copies of the original documents to discern accurate names, dates, etc.

There are many good things about the program - I find it easy to use and easy to attach information to a person, search on Ancestry and compare information. I have had to merge people regularly as when I add information it often ends up duplicated. I am not sure why, as the function is very controlled and has specific steps that should prevent duplication. As I said, it does not seem consistent in how it brings data in or how it synchs. I am waiting for Legacy to come out with their Mac version. . . .

Biggest Pro: Comprehensive, easy to work with, linked with Ancestry.com
Biggest Con: Inconsistencies - in how data shows itself, which family members are linked, how it synchs with Ancestry. . . frequent inconsistencies.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by James Crow,  Mar 9, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I have been using FTM for years, beginning on a PC then converting to a Mac2. The Mac2 version worked but there were a few problems. I recently upgraded to FTN Mac3 and am very dis-satisfied with this version. It is very slow, when I try to move from one area to another I get the spinning when and it takes so long for any operation to finish. This is not up to the standards I grew to like on the PC.

Biggest Con: very slow operation

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Michael Schultz,  Feb 25, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Not happy! I installed FTM3 Mac yesterday, and attempted to download a family tree from my Ancestry account. Logging on & selecting the tree (chose not to link to the tree) was fine, and clicked Export to prepare the file to Download worked.

However, when clicking on Download to actually download the file, I got the spinning windmill icon, for a very long time. I figured the file was pretty large, if it contained all of hte graphics & links to sources, so let it run overnight.

I let it run 10 hrs on a DSL line where I have a download speed of over 19 Mbps & upload speed of over 20 Mbps. This shouldn’t take this long so canceled out of the process.

I then tried to import a GED file which I had exported, and this was also not successful. It was if FTM3 didn’t even recognize that a file was there to import.

I held off on buying FTM2 Mac because of the many problems that people were having. I’m already dreading the fact that I purchased FTM3 Mac, thinking that things had changed.

I tried a different route to get my Windows FTM2012 (running it in a Parallels virtual environment on the Mac) family tree file into my newly installed FTM3 Mac software, by using the FTM Converter utility.

When being asked to select my FTM2012 file using the utility, I was informed that it could only save the FTM2012 file into the FTM2 Mac format (NOT FTM3 Mac). I proceeded, hoping that FTM3 Mac would be able to read the FTM2 Mac format, and open the file.

After converting the file, I transferred the 3GB file over to the Mac, and tried opening it in FTM3 Mac. Guess what??

IT DIDN’T WORK!! FTM3 Mac CAN’T OPEN An FTM2 Mac FILE!!!!! SUPER PROGRAM!!

So if I have done something wrong here, please let me know. But in all honesty, I don’t think you people really know what you’re doing when it comes to Macintosh software. I thought I’d give FTM3 Mac a try, but am thoroughly disappointed in what you’ve delivered. I’m also followed the forums here since you came out with a Mac version, and people in general who want to use the program can’t and get very little support.

I’ve been using Reunion since it was v4.0, and am still using it as my primary application.

Biggest Pro: Convinced me to stick with Reunion!
Biggest Con: Thought FTM would have learned from FTM2 Mac problems - they didn’t!

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by WLW,  Feb 6, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I can’t use it! Everytime I try to open my tree, the program crashes! I am using OS X 10.9.1 so I now know why!

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: It crashes on my MAC!

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Claret,  Feb 3, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have struggled with this software since purchase. From the start there were syncing problems which duplicated people and citations that took me months to sort out. Now I can’t even open the software, but maybe that’s a good thing?

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Being sucked into buying it in the first place

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Don Brooks,  Feb 3, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

It appears that that merging data from an online tree works, most of the time IF the number of names to be added does not exceed 10. Otherwise the program “quits unexpectedly”

The sync function worked for a while but eventually it failed. Since attempting to upload a new version of the file. the program continues to attempt to connect to the old version.

Customer support emailed the standard instructions for doing what I had already done.

Biggest Pro: The data available on Ancestry.com is very useful
Biggest Con: Sync failures and unexpectedly quoting

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Ralph Black,  Feb 2, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

What a disappoint. The sync functionality is described as problematic at best. Since there is a button, there is presumably functionality, but that it does not work consistently is the issue. What a headache!!!

The upgrade was a giant step backs with regards to this functionality. Question - was the product regression testing before deploying on the market? Quite frankly for the upgrade money I paid I am dumbfounded to articulate what functionality I gained.

Biggest Pro: There is an application for genealogy
Biggest Con: That the sync functionality with ancestry.com web site frequently does not work.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Lynn Zaback,  Jan 25, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

If you have OS X 10.9.1, do not purchase FTM for Mac 3. Although the web site says it supports 10.9, it appears that everyone with 10.9 are experiencing the same problem. If you try to download an online ancestry family tree, the software crashes.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Unusable on Mac OS X 10.9.1

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Linda Smith,  Jan 21, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have used Family Tree Maker for years, first on a PC and now the Mac. The Mac 3 version was my second Mac upgrade. So far FTM Mac 3 has been unusable. When I finally (very slow) connect to Ancestry and click on a link a circle starts to spin and would spin for hours if I didn’t stop the process.

I have contacted support and followed all of their suggestions except the one that I need to down load Internet Explorer 11 to my Mac. After 3 days of jumping through hoops and spending hours on the internet trying to resolve the problem, I still have the same problem. The problem solving suggestions from Ancestry have been on their support web site for years, it’s a one shoe fits all fix.

One of the fixes is to make sure that all of your past versions of FTM are uninstalled and trashed. I have some trees that have taken me years to build and I am not sure where to go from here.

Biggest Pro: I haven’t a clue
Biggest Con: I cannot get the program to work

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by John Rainey,  Jan 16, 2014

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I hope the 2014 version has the ability to wrap text around photos and also has the ability to adjust page margins where in book format. I would also like to see the 2014 version available outside the USA soon!

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Martin Rom Colthoff,  Dec 4, 2013

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I started half a year ago with this package. It is certainly not user friendly as I was accustomed to in the Windows version.
In fact it is an old fashioned package. The flexibility for graphs is very limited. Facilities for DNA genealogy are non existent. Comparisons over time cannot be made.
Even the settings for various reports and prints is primitive, like windows used to have 10 years ago, but not what I should expect of a Mac version today.
It is a pretty new package, that’s fine, but I should expect more activity regarding upgrades (and announcements for upgrades)

Biggest Pro: Not really, if I compare with the better Windows packages.
Biggest Con: Not possible to print a descendant chart, based on male decency only

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Hines,  Dec 2, 2013

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I just happened on this site and cannot believe the reviews I am reading. I converted from Family Tree Maker for Windows in November 2011 to Family Tree Maker for Mac. The conversion was simple and forthright. No problems.
Since then, it has worked beautifully. For some time, it had features the Windows version did not have.
I am running OS Maverick on a Mid-2011 build iMac. I also have the program on my iPhone and iPad. Works great!
I also have 7,300 names in my tree. It syncs beautifully each time with my Ancestry tree.

Hope this helps.

Biggest Pro: Complete integrated program.
Biggest Con: No big cons.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by jeanine smith,  Oct 27, 2013

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I cannot use it. It constantly crashes or freezes.

Once, when I was in the Apple Store waiting for a class, I opened it up and it worked like it was supposed to work. That is the only time it has worked correctly

When I call in, they always say something is wrong with my internet connection, etc…However, the other programs are working efficiently on my macbook pro–but not family tree maker II.

They very much need to stop selling this thing and correct all the bugs. More and more people are using mac computers these days….

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: It simply cannot, does not, will not work.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by al,  Sep 23, 2013

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

read a fantastic review that FTM was tops. it appears to not have a facility to add siblings. seem to be able to add children to same father which is same thing but those do not appear as my siblings. most confusing and time wasting. if I can negotiate a refund I will. recommend others review TM’s a bit more rigorously than I did

Biggest Pro: still looking
Biggest Con: rated as No 1

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Andrew White,  Sep 18, 2013

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Sync and backup crashes occur every time despite doing everything FTM advises to correct. If you have a Mac,
don’t waste money on this product. They aren’t interested in supporting it, obviously.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Liz,  Aug 18, 2013

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Really struggling with FTM constantly losing link to my Ancestry.com tree. It’s driving me crazy

Biggest Pro: When it works, it’s great
Biggest Con: But it doesn’t work because it keeps losing the link so you cannot sync trees

Show 21-35 »