Family Tree Maker for Mac

by Software MacKiev (Jack Minsky)
This is the Mac version of Family Tree Maker. It includes a Windows-based conversion tool to allow you to import files from Family Tree Maker 2008 or newer.

Purchase • Mac • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://www.mackiev.com/ftm/
Overall1241.62 out of 51.62 out of 51.62 out of 51.62 out of 51.62 out of 5 1.62
201622.48 out of 52.48 out of 52.48 out of 52.48 out of 52.48 out of 5 2.48
2015401.72 out of 51.72 out of 51.72 out of 51.72 out of 51.72 out of 5 1.72
Earlier821.42 out of 51.42 out of 51.42 out of 51.42 out of 51.42 out of 5 1.42

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker for Mac

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

124 Reviews of Family Tree Maker for Mac     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Mick,  Feb 2, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Please note that I was forced into changing my previous FTM for Mac software to this latest v3 edition at additional cost all because your software was incompatible with my Mac OS. I have little doubt that you will now suggest that the incompatibility issues are again with my Mac. and believe me the problem outlined below is just one of many I have encountered since upgrading to v3. I have written to Ancestry before on this same incompatibility issue and this we bear no responsibility attitude is disgraceful on Ancestry/FTM’s part, why are you selling software not fit for purpose? I have no problems with any other software I run no matter which OS system I am using on the Mac. And, finally deciding to ditch FTM from synchronising with Ancestry is the last straw. I feel angry and totally ripped off by my 2 FTM purchases and annual subscription.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Total RIP OFF incredibly poor programming on FTM and synching takes forever with numerous errors

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by John Murray,  Jan 16, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I use this program frequently and it does satisfy every purpose for which I use it. I like the integration with the on-line (Ancestry) presentation. My main gripe is that it takes forever for “media processing” to take place, and lately that never seems to get completed. I don’t know what failure to complete media processing means, but obviously I would prefer that everything be completed. I suspect it means that my file is too large (615 people, with photos of 85), but this is not a good answer because the program should be able to do complex information given that the whole concept is to go back in history as far as you can.

Biggest Pro: Completeness
Biggest Con: Media processing takes way too long

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Jerry Martell,  Dec 13, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Earlier years I had lots of Sync Problems, etc. I joined a “GenealogyTools” site and all issues ended, once I learned the how to do things properly. But I rated this Software (Family Tree Maker For Mac3) based on pre-Ancestry announcement the other day that this program will no longer exist for sale or support as of Jan 1, 2018. No longer for sale as of Jan 1, 2016, but supported till 2018. So - don’t buy it and start looking for a program that will import all my media, notes, etc. Not very optimistic.

Biggest Pro: Great sync with nice App and good graphics.
Biggest Con: Discontinued as a Product by Ancestry. com - owners of this program

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by JBennett,  Dec 9, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

My wife and I been using ancestry and FTM for years and it keeps Getting worse ! MY WIFE IS ATUCL ON ftm16…NO SUPPORT, NO HLP, NO SUGGESTIONS NO BODY CARES. (TYPICAL OF TODYS MENTALITY)
WHAT A SORRY WAY TO SERVE CUSTOMERS THAT HAVE ZILLIONS OF HOURS IN RESEARCH.
I BEEN LOOKING AT COMMENTS USING MAC… USELESS.. MIGHT AS WELL THROW MONEY OUT THE WINDOW ON THE FREEWAY.
WHAT A LOSS IN FAITH IN THE HUMANITY!
HELLO, WAKE UP AND LISTEN TO THE NEEDS OF YOUR USERS?

Biggest Pro: NO COMPATATABLE WITH MAC
Biggest Con: NO WAY TO IMPORT A LIFETIME OF RESEARCH TO NEWER VERSIONS.. POO-PAH!

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Jennifer Wolcott,  Dec 5, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

FTM3 on El Capitan. Crashes repeatedly, particularly when I quit. So far I am not integrating outside so missing a lot of other people’s problems. But this is annoying. Should be better by now.

Biggest Pro: format is easy, although dated
Biggest Con: crashes–at least seems to have saved my work

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by David Lynch,  Nov 12, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I am now unable to open Family Tree Maker 3 on my Mac. The program had crashed a lot and photos and other documents would not share between Family Tree Maker 3 and Ancestry.com. Cannot seem to find any useful hints on how to get the program started again. Not happy with Ancestry and Family Tree Maker.

Biggest Pro: It was that it talked to Ancestry.com
Biggest Con: It will not open and crashes constantly, photos and other documents loaded in Ancestry cannot be seen in FTM

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by ehsilveira,  Sep 23, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Family Tree Maker 3 22.2.5 This program now does not allow me to create an ancestry report of 13 generations including children without crashing. Without children an ancestry report crashes at 31 generations. I have 71962 people in my index. The program now does not allow me to add a person without it’s connection being detached from the parents. The person is not attached, but stands unrelated and alone. I have had and upgraded Family Tree Maker Programs starting about 18 years now. Fixes are almost never resolved on any of these programs. When I upgrade to newer versions, at some point in time old problems pop up again or new ones show up. I have read other people having the same problems, but never have heard of any fixes or corrections being given to the consumer.

Biggest Pro: SEE ABOVE
Biggest Con: SEE ABOVE

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by ray miner,  Sep 19, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Mac version still a poor product. I tried it several years ago this version is a small bit better.. .Reunion for Mac knocks this thing in the head. save your money.

Biggest Pro: questionable that there is a “pro”
Biggest Con: poor programing.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by ray miner,  Sep 19, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Mac version still a poor product. I tried it several years ago this version is a small bit better.. .Reunion for Mac knocks this thing in the head. save your money.

Biggest Pro: questional able that there is a “pro”
Biggest Con: poor programing.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Paul Fuller,  Sep 17, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Keeps telling me that I am not connected to the internet.Absolutely useless!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!I I used FTM2 without a problem until Apple update then i had problems opening different features from th icons. Had to use drop down menus !

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Lenora Backus,  Sep 12, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Used Family Tree Maker for years with very few problems. Installed Tree Maker 3 and have had nothing but problems with it. Don’t get any help. In fact, they like to tell me I did it.

Ancestry is too busy advertising and trying to get new people to sign up and find their whole family history in a few key strokes; they are not keeping up with their websites and software.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Kenneth Irons,  Aug 5, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I was very happy with the FTM3 for the months that I have used it. I was impressed that I could sync it with my PAF5 tree on Ancestry.com. Then it became ‘unsynced’. I have repeatedly called and followed Ancestry.com’s help line and have thankfull for their assistance. But in spite of a number of attempts to ‘resync’ my FTM3 to my PAF5 I am still unsuccesful. This has been my first experience with FTM3 but it is my last. I am switching to another program. I only wish I had read these remarks prior to my purchasing the FTM3. I will certainly try to read comments about any purchase I make online in the future.

Biggest Pro: I like the format and syncing with my PAF5 on Ancestry.com.
Biggest Con: Once ‘unsynced’ I have been unable to combine it with the data put into my PAF5. It refuses to resync.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Tyler,  Jul 26, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

They didn’t build in any tools to correct database problems in the Mac version. And they don’t seem to care. The sync keeps breaking. The relationship tool is a mess. The workaround to to keep downloading the Ancestry tree back down to the Mac.

It is useful for mass merges and location correction but that is what breaks the sync.

Biggest Pro: More tools than Ancestry
Biggest Con: It’s broken.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Jack Kelly,  Jul 10, 2015

Not Rated

I’m on my Eighth reload of my tree and the work involved in constantly fixing this is maddening. I have had nothing but issues with FTM for Mac 3 and it is less than a beta release of crap software.

Now my program refuses to go online.

Biggest Con: Instability of code and constant crashing.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by R Woodruff,  Jun 19, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Crashes every 5-10 minutes. Used to ask if I wanted to restart, but as of this morning it no longer asks. What is going on? I’m sincerely concerned about the 15+ years of data that I have compiled.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Crashes every 10-15 minutes

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Barbara Smith,  Jun 7, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

This is a dreadful piece of software which should never have been released. Extremely unstable, even when you follow all recommendations for backups and file compaction. (1) In the last 6 months, my ftm mac 3 has (with no warning or reason) suddenly decided my trees are no longer linked to corresponding synced trees on ancestry.com (2) Repeated requests for help only result in suggestions you clean cache and cookies (duh, check that first) and that you must back up trees regularly as well as compact files. Since I already do that every single time I open a tree plus again before I close it, that seems like useless advice. Ancestry will not admit there is anything at all wrong with the program–trust me. If you buy this program, when (note I said WHEN not IF) you start having trouble, you will not get any help at all. (3) Trying to find duplicate people is a true waste of time. You would think people with the same name, birth and death dates and parents should show up in duplicate list, right? No. Sorry. I have no idea what criteria if any are used. (4) I could go on, but why bother.

Biggest Pro: It does sync trees when it is not crashing or unlinking them.
Biggest Con: Very unstable

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Kathy P,  Jun 1, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Three months ago FTM did an ‘upgrade’ and they deleted all of the media on my tree. The media remained in a previous back up. They told me to check each piece to return it to my tree. I have worked for three months making frequent calls for assistance and have regained my tree with it’s 26,000 pieces of media. Some missing photo’s I will need to add from my storage. The helpers explained to me that when they did the ‘upgrade’ a ’small number of people lost their media’. They did not offer to assist me and I only stuck with it because I had done so much work to that point.

Biggest Pro: Great design, capable of designing a tree with complex overlap of ancesters, ambitious
Biggest Con: When things do not go well they are politely impervious; when not working it is infuriating

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Christine MF,  May 31, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I started with FTM, then FTM2 and now FTM3, not happy with it at all, when opening I get a message stating FTM3 quite unexpectedly do I want to reopen. usually have to shut down and try again and again. Also issue with syncing and a lot of duplication of information and names. Takes more time to correct than it does to research. I have spoken to help support without success.

Biggest Pro: Looks good on first impressions
Biggest Con: too many issues unresolved, syncing, crashing on opening and duplication.

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by John S,  May 31, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

FTM3 has problems that Ancestry does not want to admit or address. Their in-window direct search using Ancestry, does not work at times. FTM3 cannot find the correct census, I know because I have a paper copy of the page from that census year. The Ancestry Help will tell you that the Census for that year is off-line and that you should try later. If you do get search results, sometimes the census information is only attached to the head of family and no one else. You have to manually insert each record to the other persons in the family.

Searching directly on Ancestry you may find the record but adding to your Ancestry file. However, returning to your FTM3 file you will find that you cannot synch because it says that the Ancestry file has been deleted but checking back your Ancestry file is still there. Ancestry does not have a Tech line to correct their database, so they will never correct errors of get back to you with an update.

Trying to upload or download either Ancestry or FTM3 files are a nightmare with duplicate everything in the one your transferring too. I have spent many hours correcting the duplications in the FTM3. I think I will be using Familysearch.org for my genealogy files.

Biggest Pro: Lot if bells and whistles, if they work.
Biggest Con: Difficult to learn, inaccurate searches and unable to synch

Family Tree Maker for Mac Review by Nancy Welch,  May 25, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I used FTM and then FTM 2 and loved it. When I got a new Mac I decided to upgrade to the FTM3 - I downloaded it from the website and wouldn’t run - long story but Customer Service couldn’t figure it out. I then bought the CD and tried it that way - Still won’t work. It opens for about 5 sec and then crashes. I have spent hours!! on the phone with out resolution - and no offer for a refund. I absolutely loved the program before upgrading….wish I could just go back in time.

Show 21-40 »