Family Tree Maker for Mac - by Ancestry

by Ancestry.com
This is the Mac version of Family Tree Maker 2008 to 2014 by Ancestry.com. It includes a Windows-based conversion tool to allow you to import files from Family Tree Maker 2008 or newer. In 2016, MacKiev has taken over managing of this program. Go to the MacKiev page to review MacKiev’s version. Use this page to review the Ancestry version of the program.

Unsupported • Mac • Full Featured • Builds Website
http://web.archive.org/web/20141220060856/http://www.ancestry.com/cs/a...
Overall1321.69 out of 51.69 out of 51.69 out of 51.69 out of 51.69 out of 5 1.69
2016102.12 out of 52.12 out of 52.12 out of 52.12 out of 52.12 out of 5 2.12
2015401.72 out of 51.72 out of 51.72 out of 51.72 out of 51.72 out of 5 1.72
Earlier821.42 out of 51.42 out of 51.42 out of 51.42 out of 51.42 out of 5 1.42

Add Your Review of Family Tree Maker for Mac - by Ancestry

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

132 Reviews of Family Tree Maker for Mac - by Ancestry     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

Family Tree Maker for Mac - by Ancestry Review by Jeanne Hathaway,  Aug 23, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I upgraded to FTM3 early this year b/c they said it could be run on more than one computer and I take my lap top with me on most all research field trips. BUT, when I went to sync my lap top to Ancestry.com, I was told that I could only sync one computer to Ancestry! This makes no earthly sense whatsoever, I mean people, this is the age of multiple device cloud syncing!! THEN, very shortly thereafter we were abruptly told that they would be discontinuing FTM at the end of 2016. Trust me, I never would have spent the money to upgrade had I known either of these things b/c, bottom line, I have always found FTM inherently counterintuitive and difficult to use. I am looking forward to finding and using something much better.

Biggest Pro: Syncs to Ancestry.com
Biggest Con: difficult to use and can only sync one device

Family Tree Maker for Mac - by Ancestry Review by at,  Jul 22, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I have fem for mac 2010 and all has been updated. Ever since I downloaded latest version, the tabs on FTM no longer work, and most recently, the internet connection to Ancestry, no longer works. I tried my Security software program (called them to check) and that is not the problem. The problem is with FTM. So, I called FTM. After a 20 minute on hold for customer service, I was then told to read an article for problem solving. I thought they were kidding. They said it was protocol and if article step-by-step instruction did not help, to call them back (another 20 minute wait). Long story short- still all issue unresolved.

Family Tree Maker for Mac - by Ancestry Review by Shelly Arnold,  May 21, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

My main genealogy database has always been and will likely remain ‘REUNION’ for Mac’s only. I began using Family Tree Maker (FTM) years before it was owned by Ancestry then upgraded to FTM by Ancestry after they purchased the product for portability reasons to sync with Ancestry.com because my laptop is a PC & desktop a Mac. I would export a GEDCOM file from REUNION when I had major updates and upload it to Ancestry.com than sync it into FTM on my PC making my tree portable. I never did much within FTM tree maker because it was SO confusing to use!! Poorly written instructions and the use of odd terminally made navigation worse. Overtime, this ‘plus’ became a ‘negative’ when Ancestry.com allowed saving primary source docs to specific people (rather than a general ’shoebox’ file) so uploaded tree replacements from my main REUNION software to Ancestry.com to sync with FTM no longer made sense. So I purchased an iPad, which made my favored REUNION software portable and no longer use FTM by Ancestry.com. I do, however, use REUNION side by side with my Ancestry.com tree updating both at the same time with primary source docs. Yes, more work but for me it is the best of both worlds and worth the time and effort!

Biggest Pro: Synchronization with Ancestry.com
Biggest Con: Not user friendly as a computer based software and synching errors that require manual correction

Family Tree Maker for Mac - by Ancestry Review by Chuck,  May 19, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I have FTM 3 Version 22.2.5.820 for Mac running on ElCapitan 10.11.5.
When it works, a very useful program. I primarily use it to sync to my online tree and download the associated media for the records associated with relatives. There are some very useful utilities on FTM (duplicate persons, resolving place names) that cause changes to occur from FTM to the online tree. Syncing when the changes on the online tree occur is usually painless (the media updates frequently fail and need to reoccur). Deleting users is far easier from FTM than online. However, when changes occur on the FTM side that need syncing toward the online tree, it almost always fails and results in an unlinked tree. This is a fairly recent change. I’m wonding if the sync API is changing and has broken the current versions. MacKiev is promising an update, and it can’t occur soon enough.

Biggest Pro: Syncing
Biggest Con: Syncing

Family Tree Maker for Mac - by Ancestry Review by Steve Meyers,  Apr 7, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

My biggest complaint when I was using FTM was that if installed on my desktop Mac and synch’d to my online tree, there was no way to really use another copy of the program on my laptop, such as when I travel or am at the library. I had asked the support tech folks at RootsTech 2015 in SLC, Utah and there was no plan to change that. I used RootsMagic after that, but it does NOT run well on a Mac with the CrossOver wrapper. I had nothing but consistent errors with it and inability to open a functional browser while in the program to preview a source for example. I took advantage of the discount on MacFamilyTree by Synium about 5 months ago, and have really liked the simplicity of it. It is also a native MacOS app, not a Windows app running in CrossOver like others touting Mac compatability.

Biggest Pro: Used to sync with online Ancestry (will be discontinued)
Biggest Con: Van only be used on ONE machine if you are trying to keep the database in sync

Family Tree Maker for Mac - by Ancestry Review by shailesh saigal,  Apr 2, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

problems:

bad programming structure
gobbles memory 10gb+ at times
crashes other parts of your operating system
sync can fail an unlink your trees
troubleshooting does not exist online or by phone. no help through email
they blame you fro problems… not their program

ancestry has server issues. Not enough capacity! too many requests so fails intermittently.

ther are SO many other issues

If you download or upload anything to or from ancestry or FTM it is their servers that are bottlenecking.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: slow, muitiple failurers, no alternative for sync

Family Tree Maker for Mac - by Ancestry Review by Anne,  Mar 9, 2016

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Managing the database is easy to follow
The parameters in the database are rather limited and changes not easy
The reports are terrible - only choice of relationship is marriage
Partners are not ordered by 1st, 2nd etc husband/wife/partner
No report structure for the descendants of 2 (married) ancestors

Biggest Pro: Ease of getting started and correcting mistakes
Biggest Con: The descendant report is poorly drawn

Family Tree Maker for Mac - by Ancestry Review by Ron,  Mar 5, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I use FTM 3 daily for nearly two years and do not have the issues found in some of the other reviews. The seamless connection to Ancestry.com makes research quick and effortless with the automatic sourcing. Any facts brought it from other resources can be easily sourced with built-in templates. Once filtering is mastered, you can efficiently isolate groups to work on. The interface is painless to use.

Biggest Pro: TreeSync with Ancestry.com
Biggest Con: Inability to export reports in useable format (too cluttered with predetermined formatting to be of use)

Family Tree Maker for Mac - by Ancestry Review by Mick,  Feb 2, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Please note that I was forced into changing my previous FTM for Mac software to this latest v3 edition at additional cost all because your software was incompatible with my Mac OS. I have little doubt that you will now suggest that the incompatibility issues are again with my Mac. and believe me the problem outlined below is just one of many I have encountered since upgrading to v3. I have written to Ancestry before on this same incompatibility issue and this we bear no responsibility attitude is disgraceful on Ancestry/FTM’s part, why are you selling software not fit for purpose? I have no problems with any other software I run no matter which OS system I am using on the Mac. And, finally deciding to ditch FTM from synchronising with Ancestry is the last straw. I feel angry and totally ripped off by my 2 FTM purchases and annual subscription.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: Total RIP OFF incredibly poor programming on FTM and synching takes forever with numerous errors

Family Tree Maker for Mac - by Ancestry Review by John Murray,  Jan 16, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I use this program frequently and it does satisfy every purpose for which I use it. I like the integration with the on-line (Ancestry) presentation. My main gripe is that it takes forever for “media processing” to take place, and lately that never seems to get completed. I don’t know what failure to complete media processing means, but obviously I would prefer that everything be completed. I suspect it means that my file is too large (615 people, with photos of 85), but this is not a good answer because the program should be able to do complex information given that the whole concept is to go back in history as far as you can.

Biggest Pro: Completeness
Biggest Con: Media processing takes way too long

Family Tree Maker for Mac - by Ancestry Review by Jerry Martell,  Dec 13, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Earlier years I had lots of Sync Problems, etc. I joined a “GenealogyTools” site and all issues ended, once I learned the how to do things properly. But I rated this Software (Family Tree Maker For Mac3) based on pre-Ancestry announcement the other day that this program will no longer exist for sale or support as of Jan 1, 2018. No longer for sale as of Jan 1, 2016, but supported till 2018. So - don’t buy it and start looking for a program that will import all my media, notes, etc. Not very optimistic.

Biggest Pro: Great sync with nice App and good graphics.
Biggest Con: Discontinued as a Product by Ancestry. com - owners of this program

Family Tree Maker for Mac - by Ancestry Review by JBennett,  Dec 9, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

My wife and I been using ancestry and FTM for years and it keeps Getting worse ! MY WIFE IS ATUCL ON ftm16…NO SUPPORT, NO HLP, NO SUGGESTIONS NO BODY CARES. (TYPICAL OF TODYS MENTALITY)
WHAT A SORRY WAY TO SERVE CUSTOMERS THAT HAVE ZILLIONS OF HOURS IN RESEARCH.
I BEEN LOOKING AT COMMENTS USING MAC… USELESS.. MIGHT AS WELL THROW MONEY OUT THE WINDOW ON THE FREEWAY.
WHAT A LOSS IN FAITH IN THE HUMANITY!
HELLO, WAKE UP AND LISTEN TO THE NEEDS OF YOUR USERS?

Biggest Pro: NO COMPATATABLE WITH MAC
Biggest Con: NO WAY TO IMPORT A LIFETIME OF RESEARCH TO NEWER VERSIONS.. POO-PAH!

Family Tree Maker for Mac - by Ancestry Review by Jennifer Wolcott,  Dec 5, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

FTM3 on El Capitan. Crashes repeatedly, particularly when I quit. So far I am not integrating outside so missing a lot of other people’s problems. But this is annoying. Should be better by now.

Biggest Pro: format is easy, although dated
Biggest Con: crashes–at least seems to have saved my work

Family Tree Maker for Mac - by Ancestry Review by David Lynch,  Nov 12, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I am now unable to open Family Tree Maker 3 on my Mac. The program had crashed a lot and photos and other documents would not share between Family Tree Maker 3 and Ancestry.com. Cannot seem to find any useful hints on how to get the program started again. Not happy with Ancestry and Family Tree Maker.

Biggest Pro: It was that it talked to Ancestry.com
Biggest Con: It will not open and crashes constantly, photos and other documents loaded in Ancestry cannot be seen in FTM

Family Tree Maker for Mac - by Ancestry Review by ehsilveira,  Sep 23, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Family Tree Maker 3 22.2.5 This program now does not allow me to create an ancestry report of 13 generations including children without crashing. Without children an ancestry report crashes at 31 generations. I have 71962 people in my index. The program now does not allow me to add a person without it’s connection being detached from the parents. The person is not attached, but stands unrelated and alone. I have had and upgraded Family Tree Maker Programs starting about 18 years now. Fixes are almost never resolved on any of these programs. When I upgrade to newer versions, at some point in time old problems pop up again or new ones show up. I have read other people having the same problems, but never have heard of any fixes or corrections being given to the consumer.

Biggest Pro: SEE ABOVE
Biggest Con: SEE ABOVE

Family Tree Maker for Mac - by Ancestry Review by ray miner,  Sep 19, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Mac version still a poor product. I tried it several years ago this version is a small bit better.. .Reunion for Mac knocks this thing in the head. save your money.

Biggest Pro: questionable that there is a “pro”
Biggest Con: poor programing.

Family Tree Maker for Mac - by Ancestry Review by ray miner,  Sep 19, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Mac version still a poor product. I tried it several years ago this version is a small bit better.. .Reunion for Mac knocks this thing in the head. save your money.

Biggest Pro: questional able that there is a “pro”
Biggest Con: poor programing.

Family Tree Maker for Mac - by Ancestry Review by Paul Fuller,  Sep 17, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Keeps telling me that I am not connected to the internet.Absolutely useless!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!I I used FTM2 without a problem until Apple update then i had problems opening different features from th icons. Had to use drop down menus !

Family Tree Maker for Mac - by Ancestry Review by Lenora Backus,  Sep 12, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Used Family Tree Maker for years with very few problems. Installed Tree Maker 3 and have had nothing but problems with it. Don’t get any help. In fact, they like to tell me I did it.

Ancestry is too busy advertising and trying to get new people to sign up and find their whole family history in a few key strokes; they are not keeping up with their websites and software.

Family Tree Maker for Mac - by Ancestry Review by Kenneth Irons,  Aug 5, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I was very happy with the FTM3 for the months that I have used it. I was impressed that I could sync it with my PAF5 tree on Ancestry.com. Then it became ‘unsynced’. I have repeatedly called and followed Ancestry.com’s help line and have thankfull for their assistance. But in spite of a number of attempts to ‘resync’ my FTM3 to my PAF5 I am still unsuccesful. This has been my first experience with FTM3 but it is my last. I am switching to another program. I only wish I had read these remarks prior to my purchasing the FTM3. I will certainly try to read comments about any purchase I make online in the future.

Biggest Pro: I like the format and syncing with my PAF5 on Ancestry.com.
Biggest Con: Once ‘unsynced’ I have been unable to combine it with the data put into my PAF5. It refuses to resync.

Show 21-40 »