WikiTree

Click To See Award Winners
by Chris Whitten
The Worldwide Family Tree Wiki. Unlike many wikis the content is not completely open and public. Copyrights are kept by the contributors. Content is kept private through a unique “Trusted List” system that enables you to select the individuals you want to collaborate with and the specific content you want to share with them. This flexible system means everyone can be on one worldwide family tree but privacy isn’t sacrificed. GEDCOM import is supported.

WikiTree is free but new members must be invited by a family member or fellow genealogist and must understand the Honor Code and mission before contributing.

Free • Online • Full Featured
http://www.wikitree.com
Overall1202.76 out of 52.76 out of 52.76 out of 52.76 out of 52.76 out of 5 2.76
2015292.98 out of 52.98 out of 52.98 out of 52.98 out of 52.98 out of 5 2.98
2014422.34 out of 52.34 out of 52.34 out of 52.34 out of 52.34 out of 5 2.34
Earlier493.41 out of 53.41 out of 53.41 out of 53.41 out of 53.41 out of 5 3.41

Add Your Review of WikiTree

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

120 Reviews of WikiTree     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

WikiTree Review by Morris Simon,  3 days ago

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Over the past decade, I’ve used most online family tree presentations, including both commercial and “free” sites. In terms of accuracy, openness and quality, I prefer WikiTree to anything else on the internet. It takes a while to master the privacy levels, the documentation system, and the data entry fields, but once you know the system fairly well it’s an intuitive, informative and productive presentation site. WikiTree is designed for cooperative efforts and is not for people who dislike sharing or blending their work with that of others. I particularly like the documentation requirements of WikiTree, which somewhat force users to add sources, especially for older generations. With hundreds if not thousands of internet users looking over your shoulder, it’s difficult to get away with entering guesswork or dubious data. Not for the casual user!

Biggest Pro: Documentation procedures; cooperative data sharing
Biggest Con: Awkward data entry procedures; steep learning curve

WikiTree Review by Graham Lewis,  Aug 18, 2015

Not Rated

Concept was interesting/attractive, but the reality immensely disappointing. I uploaded my gedcom and was “matched to very large numbers of other gedcoms. I commenced comparing the matches hoping to find cousins or other researchers with whom I could collaborate, but quickly realised that most of what I was looking at was poorly researched rubbish copied from elsewhere on the web. There would have been huge effort required to point out the immediately obvious errors that any researcher with slight attention to detail should have realised for themselves. I have better ways to spend my time than correcting/educating people who are simply “collecting” names of interest, rather than building reasonably authenticated family trees!
NOT WORTH THE TIME TO REMAIN A MEMBER.
So I decided to resign and delete all signs of my being there. NOT EASY! And no response whatsoever when I tried to give constructive feedback to their customer service peopl, and seek help in getting my data and personal info systematically removed from their site. NOT EVEN AN ACKNOWEDGEMENT! HOPELESS!!!!

Biggest Pro: POTENTIALLY VERY WIDE REACH
Biggest Con: TOO MUCH RUBBISH RESEARCH PUBLISHED THERE TO ALLOW FINDING USEFUL COLLABORATORS

WikiTree Review by PV,  Aug 17, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I wish I had never heard of this site. If you download info. anyone on the “trusted” list can take over management and will make changes at will. The site “owns” your family tree. There is no way you can remove your entries if someone else has changed your info. I hate these people.

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: They ARE cons, don’t do it.

WikiTree Review by Michele Camera,  Aug 10, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I love WikiTree and the way it works. I have “met” (online) cousins I hadn’t known existed by working on the same ancestor profiles and chatting both on and offline. The G2G community is a beneficial society with many people who are generous with their time, advice and resource suggestions.

My frustration is that my software did not upload source citations when I posted my GedcGED com. Now I have to recheck all my ancestor profiles and manually add citations. That is an issue I caused with my software, not the site.

There are a few curmudgeonly individuals but they were probably the kids who didn’t play nicely with others in the playground sandbox. Now, they are old and can’t last forever.

Biggest Pro: collaborative nature of site and the W2W genealogist community
Biggest Con: failure by some contributors to provide real source citations

WikiTree Review by Richard Williams,  Aug 6, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

I see so many reviews here that say “someone stole my information, and used it with their ancestors and I don’t know them, and no one living in my family knows them!” Well, get a grip and think about it for a minute. I know that no one alive has ever met some of my relatives. Some of them died 600 years ago!! Through those relatives I am a member of thousands of families, some I have never heard of but the data checks out. So just because you don’t know me doesn’t mean that we can’t me related and that your data is yours and yours alone. I have first cousins that I have never met much less people who are related to me from 7 or 8 or 9 generations

Your data gets stolen? What do you think a Wiki is? It is a collaborative effort is put together the data held my millions of people and see the connections between them.

WikiTree Review by Henry's Nana,  Aug 1, 2015

Not Rated

i joined Wikitree hopeful and left Wikitree extremely disappointed. I found an entire line of my family hijacked by an Internet myth and had no way to correct it. My only option was to post notes or comments with the correct information, but I could not change the massively incorrect information attached to historical people because the people who claim the ancestry through the myth don’t want it corrected. I also found hundreds of records with no information except a name, and most of the records I looked at had ancestry trees or other web sites as their sources, not any actual documentation. The goals seem good, I liked the idea of writing a little bio for each person, but I have no interest in attaching my documented research to a bunch of garbage.

Biggest Pro: thereare some good, well documented records
Biggest Con: mostly garbage, not genealogy

WikiTree Review by Henry coy dawson,  Jun 24, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Wikitree works great for me.I just started to look up my family history

WikiTree Review by Brad Foley,  Jun 9, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I’m baffled by many of the comments here, and felt like I had to chime in. It’s obvious that a majority of the people criticising WikiTree simply didn’t read the FAQs (”frequently asked questions”, for those who don’t know how to Internet). I think the idea for a single, free, shared tree is really important and necessary. It’s pretty early now, but will only get better over time as more people contribute to it, and keep it rigorous. It’s a fantastic resource for sharing ancestral information, and most importantly I don’t need to pay a monthly fee for access to my own, and other relatives’, work

First, the vast majority of negative comments here seem to stem from a profound misunderstanding of what “shared” means. People are angry that their work is “stolen” or “hijacked” by others who are also working on the tree. Some of those gripes sound legitimate (people adding unsourced branches) but are solvable within the community framework. Others just sound like people want to have a private tree within a tree, off limits to anyone else. These people clearly don’t belong on WikiTree, and clearly didn’t try and understand what the status of shared entries means.

Second, some people seem to think that, because the paid sites have started offering WikiTree profiles as documentation (and are charging for it) that their work is being stolen by the crooks in charge of WikiTree. No. Because the paid sites are scouring the net, and dredging up possible matches; and because WikiTree is free, they’re just charging to provide access to free information. This is *not* the fault of WikiTree.

I have my own moderate gripes with WikiTree - mostly that the GedCom import options leave many abandoned, messy duplicate profile stubs that take too much work to integrate. That said, I love WikiTree, and love the community and volunteers there.

Biggest Pro: Collaborative
Biggest Con: Collaborative

WikiTree Review by Don,  May 22, 2015

Not Rated

More and more of my families information that I posted on Wikitree is showing up in other peoples family trees that are applying for DOR and SOR! But the links that they got from wikitree are false

Biggest Pro: None
Biggest Con: crooks selling niformation that are false

WikiTree Review by john65,  May 15, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

I have worked on at least six genealogy sites and settled on Wikitree as the best place to put my family tree. It has been a great way to get in contact with people working on ancestors, as the profiles come up high on web searches and people get in touch. The never ending duplication of historic profiles seen on other sites just doesn’t happen. I have found people polite and helpful. The site is a bit clunky, but what do you expect from a free site. Multiple site managers is very frustrating, but I suppose democratic. There are a few complaints here about photos and certificates being purloinedby others through the site. My advice is don’t upload them in the first place.Public genealogy trees should, in my view, well sourced but not necessarily have the actual soruces. If material is valuable to you, don’t make it public. My tree is public and online, but now of the thousands of documents that underpin it.

Biggest Pro: Free, single profile per person, well sourced
Biggest Con: A bit clunky and very public

WikiTree Review by Don C,  Mar 26, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I keep finding photos and information ONLY I or a family member would know posted on paid for sites that I pasted on WIKTtree before I was kick off for deleting non family members from my tree that THEY added !!

You do know that some people will pay good money to prove that they have family that fought in the revolutions war to get in the DAR or SAR

—– - was one of the people who add to my tree with no sources to back it up.. and when I started to delete what she was doing I was blocked, then kick off the site!!!!
I believe that these people sell this information to people who are trying to join SAS or DAR!!!

And people who are stealing and changing family information on wikitree are now posting BS in here… You may be held legally responsible for what you post on wikitree!!!!!

My Families information on Schauer, Senteney, Jordan, McFarland, and Others that I posted on wikitree has been changed by wikitree staff with out my permission.. As of 1/13/2015 none of the information that has my name Clayton as the manager is not mine but staff members that have taken over WIKITREE. I am not responsible for the false information! I have been finding more and more information in paid sites that was ONLY posted on wikitree

You do know that some people will pay good money to prove that they have family that fought in the revolutions war to get in the DAR or SAR

Biggest Pro: Crooks. None any more
Biggest Con: Crooks. They steal your information and sell it!!!


Moderator note: Multiple reviews by this person have been combined. Comments were edited to remove references to specific people and references to other reviews.

WikiTree Review by Angela Conklin,  Mar 25, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

My dead mother, my children and I were added to this without consent and fall under a profile manager other than myself. It’s odd that I cannot even fill out information about myself, my children and my mom without asking someone who never even knew my mother or children for permission. It’s a very strange and uncomfortable way of doing things.

Biggest Pro: Didn’t have the chance to find one.
Biggest Con: Other people can edit, change, and add things as well as be a manager of your profile. That’s insane! Plus your children can be added without consent.

WikiTree Review by Melanie Williams,  Mar 23, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Wished I would have never joined!! The profiles have no documenations or sources. People attach to profiles that there is no relationship too. STAY AWAY!!!!

WikiTree Review by Nick H.,  Mar 22, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Imported my Gedcom from Ancestry with ease and WikiTree professional support. In use for over a year and have not even received a single instance of Spam much less a sign my info is being farmed for marketing. Ptivacy level is set at users discretion from open to restricted. The Google Group+ support is excellent, informative and sometimes professional. WikiTree is supported by Wikipedia servers. My family enjoys the ease of browsing without the constant nagging of paying for use or even login. Perfect for the novice genealogy researcher.

Biggest Pro: Free with excellent support
Biggest Con: Profiles abandoned and duplication resolving

WikiTree Review by Greg H,  Mar 21, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Overall not bad for US post 1700 profiles. A lot of profiles are not managed because people upload their GEDCOM files, never edit them then dropout. GEDCOM imports require a lot of manual editing. As others have mentioned, a few of the leaders feel they have been anointed to sit in judgment and get territorial over their fiefdoms. Other profiles do not belong to any particular project, so you need ESP to know with whom to consult. A lot of projects overlap, so leaders will disagree, putting you in the middle. I just try to avoid their projects and stick with US profiles.

Biggest Pro: most leaders and members are cooperative
Biggest Con: a few leaders are condescending and pedantic

WikiTree Review by Norm L,  Mar 21, 2015

Not Rated

I thought it was private , no more delusions of that now.

If you think this is a secure private site think again.

Take this as a warning , you will find the info you put in your tree for sale on the internet . For commercial interests to profit from.
You will be listed as a source ,

Biggest Con: They give or sell your info you input to other sites for them to sell and list you as a source

WikiTree Review by Max P.,  Mar 12, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have been reading the other comments and I find them confusing especially from people that say other members have hijacked some of their ancestors. According to WIKI Tree you can make all your profiles of your ancestors either Private or Public and how much authority you have over your own profiles.

I keep all my profiles under the open Green Lock which tells me anyone can see my profiles but need my permission to change any of the data. I once did get an e-mail suggesting I change a date but I proved to that person the date was correct. As long as you keep your profiles private in some way you shouldn’t have any troubles.

Biggest Pro: FREE and the knowledge that 100s of copies of your family tree will NOT show up on Rootsweb World Connect.
Biggest Con: Don’t see any at the moment.

WikiTree Review by Janie B.,  Mar 3, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

WikiTree is not perfect, but it’s a great site for those of us tired of having a thousand copies of great-grandpa out there. There is only supposed to be one profile per person.

Those who scream about “theft,” like Peg George below, obviously joined up and signed the Honor Code without meaning a word of it. We don’t need “genealogists” who either can’t/won’t read, or deliberately lie about their intentions in order to join the site.

Biggest Pro: One profile per person.
Biggest Con: People who join without learning what it’s about.

WikiTree Review by Teri,  Feb 18, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I wondered how the data I put on this website had been added to and changed until I read some of the reviews. I would like an alternative to ancestry where I can put my information and I should be the ONLY one able to change or add information to my own tree.

Biggest Pro: I thought it would be a nice place to do my family tree.
Biggest Con: I found out that my information was added to and changed incorrectly!

WikiTree Review by Peg George,  Feb 8, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

This site is the worst of the worst. I joined this site as a free alternative to Ancestry.com. I thought it appeared to be a legitimate site because they offered a feature to lock profiles. So, I joined and started adding data. That was the worst mistake that I ever made ! Within three days, other members of the site hijacked control of my data !!!!
For example, I entered my great grandmother’s information. Someone else who had her listed as an ancestor, that joined before me was allowed to “merge” the profiles and take control of her data. This happened with almost 1,000 different ancestors. I have no idea who these people are that claim to be related to me. I have never met them and none of my living relatives that I have contacted know anyone by those names ! But, now, because these people joined the site before me, they were allowed to hijack all my data, including photos, birth certificates, death certificates, etc. I tried complaining and refusing to merge the data, but it did not do any good. The people in charge of the site merged the profiles without my permission.
I asked to delete all information that I had entered, but was told that is not allowed !!!! Now, there is a bunch of personal information on that site about all of the living people in my family tree and a lot of the dead ones, as well !!!! Stay away from this site, unless you want some strangers hijacking your profile and taking control of all your ancestors data. Free is not always a good thing.
After talking at length with several Ancestry.com members and finding out that they have never had such issues with that site, I might just spend the money and join.

Biggest Pro: Free
Biggest Con: Data theft. You don’t retain control or ownership of your own data. No security.

Show 21-40 »