WikiTree

Click To See Award Winners
by Chris Whitten
The Worldwide Family Tree Wiki. Unlike many wikis the content is not completely open and public. Copyrights are kept by the contributors. Content is kept private through a unique “Trusted List” system that enables you to select the individuals you want to collaborate with and the specific content you want to share with them. This flexible system means everyone can be on one worldwide family tree but privacy isn’t sacrificed. GEDCOM import is supported.

WikiTree is free but new members must be invited by a family member or fellow genealogist and must understand the Honor Code and mission before contributing.

Free • Online • Full Featured
http://www.wikitree.com
Overall1002.48 out of 52.48 out of 52.48 out of 52.48 out of 52.48 out of 5 2.48
201591.59 out of 51.59 out of 51.59 out of 51.59 out of 51.59 out of 5 1.59
2014422.34 out of 52.34 out of 52.34 out of 52.34 out of 52.34 out of 5 2.34
Earlier493.41 out of 53.41 out of 53.41 out of 53.41 out of 53.41 out of 5 3.41

Add Your Review of WikiTree

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

100 Reviews of WikiTree     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

WikiTree Review by LANA SMITH-BELL,  5 days ago

Not Rated

there’s too much arguing and interference. someone changed my great grandmother’s birthday to a wrong date. the person who did it didn’t talk to me first and she has no connection to any branch of my family.

Biggest Pro: i don’t see any pros here
Biggest Con: know it all busybodies

WikiTree Review by Raylene,  5 days ago

Not Rated

Working on Custer genealogy.

Biggest Pro: Would like to have a place for middle name, maiden name

WikiTree Review by Wish I'd Never joined!,  Jan 18, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

People merge “just” because the birthdate is close and the names are similar. They don’t do the genealogy work to provide sourcing for their suggestion to merge … just say “names are same”. Then I have to “prove” them wrong or right. I even had someone tell me “I know its not the same person but lets merge the bad profiles together and create a new one for the right person.” I’m like thinking this was the most backwards thinking I’d ever experienced!
Wish I’d never uploaded my gedcom because I can’t delete it and I recently discovered notes were imported that contained personal correspondence. I’m so screwed with this site and my reputation as a genealogist has gone to zero.

Biggest Pro: Supposedly everything is sourced but will allow the phrase”personal knowledge” of someone born 1743 or just the gedcom name as sourcing.
Biggest Con: Lack of valid sourcing, lack of control over haphazard merging and having to deal with bullies.

WikiTree Review by Don Clay,  Jan 18, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Post your feeling about wikttree on face book

WikiTree Review by Don Clay,  Jan 18, 2015

Not Rated

The owners Chris Whitten site tell him of the BS that going on with his product!!!

https://plus.google.com/101048717578305914640/posts

WikiTree Review by Don Clay,  Jan 18, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

My Families information on Schauer, Senteney, Jordan, McFarland, and Others that I posted on wikitree has been changed by Ms Darlene Hill and S. Hill Willson wikitree staff with out my permission.. As of 1/13/2015 none of the information that has my name Clayton as the manager is not mine but staff members that have taken over WIKITREE. I am not responsible for the fouls information! I have been finding more and more information in paid sites that was ONLY posted on wikitree>>>>>

Biggest Pro: crooks
Biggest Con: crooks

WikiTree Review by Don Clay,  Jan 18, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

New people have taken over wikitree and are selling peoples family information!!!!! If you complan your kick off and lock out of the site!!!

Biggest Pro: crooks
Biggest Con: crooks

WikiTree Review by Don Clay,  Jan 18, 2015

Not Rated

My Families information on Schauer, Senteney, Jordan, McFarland, and Others that I posted on wikitree has been changed by Ms Darlene Hill and S. Hill Willson wikitree staff with out my permission.. As of 1/13/2015 none of the information that has my name Clayton as the manager is not mine but staff members that have taken over WIKITREE. I am not responsible for the fouls information! I have been finding more and more information in paid sites that was ONLY posted on wikitree>>>>>

WikiTree Review by Doris Wheeler,  Jan 3, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

This innovative program holds promise of becoming the best compiler of a universal family tree. Its use of DNA test results makes it truly unique. Whatever other program you might use, you should also use Wikitree, in my opinion. Its focus on accuracy of data is unparalleled.

Biggest Pro: Free.
Biggest Con: Potential users can be overwhelmed by its complexity and rich features.

WikiTree Review by burnedette carla deysel grobler,  Dec 29, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I would realy like to fill in all the things my self like mother ,ather spouse,kods ,ect .than I want to change my email aress to my own h were using my husbund’s thanks.

Biggest Pro: try to create an email accound and in the meantime I was useing my husbunds no that I have my own I realy want to use mine

WikiTree Review by Gail Ross,  Dec 21, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

This site is the best one I have found to date that allows for a rich, comprehensive place to offer my families information. The site allows not only names, dates, but photographs, documents like death certificates, and links to census and Find A grave web sites. Families of our past should be shared and having a World Family Tree is the best way to present them to others.

I am looking forward to managing my families profiles and learning more about them over the years to come using this web site.

WikiTree Review by Whine, whine, whine.,  Dec 13, 2014

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

The negative reviews on here are evidence of the great quantity of terrible genealogy floating around out there. Wikitree strives to create genealogy based on evidence, not the volume with which people shout their ‘truths.’ Some people simply don’t react well to having their construct poked at for veracity - they know best, and they heard something once from their MeeMaw, or “everyone knows that…” There is so much information put out on the internet without any real source, and the bottom line on Wikitree is: show your work, show your evidence. Find another site if you want to strut around proclaiming as absolute truth that Cleopatra was your 15G grandma without it being challenged.

I’ve been using the site for 6 months, and I’ve never encountered an “elder,” (whatever that is supposed to be.) The creator of the site responded to a question I had about the site helpfully and with enthusiasm. Other folks I’ve contacted on the site have been nothing but helpful - we’re all trying to get to the bottom-line evidence for a relationship or specific history.

It ain’t perfect - and if there weren’t so many petulant people giving this one star, I wouldn’t give it five. Collaboration isn’t always easy, particularly with people you don’t know. There are always egos involved, and reconciling conflicts isn’t always straightforward. People still get upset. But generally, it seems like disagreements are honest misunderstandings / mistakes rather than people out to attach someone else’s work. There’s no really good template for people working en masse, collaboratively, on a single family tree, so we’re all figuring it out as we go along, to some degree. The unfortunate thing is that some of the ego-driven people below may be the ones hoarding the family bible that could unlock a mystery. But hopefully some of those items will be digitized at some point by someone so they don’t rot in those folks’ attics.

As to the people that complain that there’s no direct access to census records or other source materials - for the best profiles, people have uploaded that information. If you find a profile without it, but on your big boy/girl pants and find those materials on familysearch or elsewhere and upload it for the next person. That’s called collaboration - it’s a two-way street.

Biggest Pro: The junk genealogists giving this one star aren’t around to make everyone’s life miserable.
Biggest Con: Trying to recruit serious genealogists who are tired of dealing with the junk genealogists on the internet.

WikiTree Review by Disgusted,  Dec 9, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

The latest thing going on at wikitree is a group of elders leading a program that creates profiles for celebrities - living minor luminaries like Rosie Perez and Britney Spears. These celebrities have not given their permission to be added to wikitree and likely don’t even know of its existence. And this effort is led by several of the leaders, the bosses, who could turn their labors to more useful things. Like many historic figures that languish without sources and proper biographies. This site has become a joke among real genealogists and antiquities researchers.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: stupidity

WikiTree Review by Judy Davisson,  Dec 4, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

that happened to me, too. I used to answer questions and one women on the wikitree staff told me to register and join. I responded that I was not inclined to do that and put my family tree, which is quite extensive and part of Clan Douglas where it could be tampered with by people who knew nothing about the Clan. I was very polite in saying this. I have been unable to visit wikitree since then, locked out

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: not nice

WikiTree Review by Miss Confederate,  Dec 4, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I’m not a member of wikitree but I do visit the site and read the questions in the forum. Recently, I have answered some questions that have gone unanswered, always with a documented source for the bygone person involved. I thought I’d take a look today only to find I am locked out. Apparently this is done by blocking my computer IP address from accessing the g2g question forum. A big red note comes up that says I need PERMISSION to just read the questions. The members of wikitree who normally answer the g2g questions don’t like the fact that I can find information that they can’t. The powers that be at wikitree tout this site as a big happy cooperative friendly family BUT THEY AREN’T.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: closed minds and hearts

WikiTree Review by Outsider,  Nov 12, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

This is a closed society, with a pecking order. Newcomers have limited rights. Don’t think the promises they make will be kept. Your work is scrutinized. The valuable is taken over. You lose control. There are paid administrative staff members who will hop at you for the least thing. There are longtimers, leaders, supervisors whose arrogance is intolerable. The hello sweetie, welcome home doesn’t last long.

Biggest Pro: nothing
Biggest Con: everything

WikiTree Review by kay Rawson,  Nov 8, 2014

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Been a bit of a nightmare. The first person to merge with my tree was not related and it took ages to clear her out. I was locked out of my own tree several times. When I rejected a merge because it was so wrong I returned two weeks later to find the merge had taken place anyway courtesy of wikibot. What the hell is a wikibot? I have received abusive emails from various wanting me to clean out the multiple repeats of the same ancestor but have been locked out so I can’t even be mildly sarcastic in response. It is a shame as it is easy to use and showed great promise.

Biggest Pro: Ease of use
Biggest Con: Easy to be locked out by others who merge

WikiTree Review by injustice,  Nov 5, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Bobby Smith got locked out of Wikitree yesterday. Bobby refused to merge his Major Loggins ancestor with a brand new Major Loggins profile created by a young woman seeking a connection to the historic. The young lady in question had an ancestress named Lucinda. She insisted this was an hitherto unknown daughter of Major Loggins. She had no real proof[birth certificate, named by Major in his will, etc] She insisted that a death notice for Lucinda LEGGINS Evans printed in a church magazine proved her case. Words were exchanged, strong words. The result; all Bobby’s hard work has been taken by others. And little miss I WANNA BE SOMEBODY is in control of a grand family history that she had put no work into and likely has no blood connection with.

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: high handedness

WikiTree Review by no longer such a fan,  Oct 14, 2014

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

WikiTree is a GREAT idea. Only one profile per person, courtesy, collaboration to improve profiles — great idea. The execution, though? Not so much. There is a small group of “leaders” who are exempt from the courtesy and collaboration rules. They feel they can do anything they want to any profile, with or without sources, and if you don’t like it, too bad. Contrary to one review below, this isn’t a case of profile managers claiming “fiefdoms.” It’s a simple request for courtesy, as is required of everyone else on the site.

Until the arrogance of this small group is reined in, WikiTree will never be what it could be. And that’s sad.

Biggest Pro: one profile per person, can work with others on the same profile
Biggest Con: some of the leaders and arborists

WikiTree Review by found on wikitree,  Oct 13, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Why would you erase my profile layout?

Why would you tell others to leave this site and go to another (find a grave)?

Why would you add unsourced data?

Why would you erase credit due to wikitree members? Original profile creator? Myself? My Cousins?
AND THE ANSWER GIVEN TO THIS PERSON WAS Who was “there first” does not matter. WikiTree is a collaborative project. We share the same profiles [ answered by Chris Whitten

Biggest Pro: none
Biggest Con: everything

Show 21-40 »