WikiTree

Click To See Award Winners
by Chris Whitten
The Worldwide Family Tree Wiki. Unlike many wikis the content is not completely open and public. Copyrights are kept by the contributors. Content is kept private through a unique “Trusted List” system that enables you to select the individuals you want to collaborate with and the specific content you want to share with them. This flexible system means everyone can be on one worldwide family tree but privacy isn’t sacrificed. GEDCOM import is supported.

WikiTree is free but new members must be invited by a family member or fellow genealogist and must understand the Honor Code and mission before contributing.

Free • Online • Full Featured
http://www.wikitree.com
Overall1102.54 out of 52.54 out of 52.54 out of 52.54 out of 52.54 out of 5 2.54
2015192.34 out of 52.34 out of 52.34 out of 52.34 out of 52.34 out of 5 2.34
2014422.34 out of 52.34 out of 52.34 out of 52.34 out of 52.34 out of 5 2.34
Earlier493.41 out of 53.41 out of 53.41 out of 53.41 out of 53.41 out of 5 3.41

Add Your Review of WikiTree

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

110 Reviews of WikiTree     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

WikiTree Review by Don C,  Mar 26, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I keep finding photos and information ONLY I or a family member would know posted on paid for sites that I pasted on WIKTtree before I was kick off for deleting non family members from my tree that THEY added !!

You do know that some people will pay good money to prove that they have family that fought in the revolutions war to get in the DAR or SAR

—– - was one of the people who add to my tree with no sources to back it up.. and when I started to delete what she was doing I was blocked, then kick off the site!!!!
I believe that these people sell this information to people who are trying to join SAS or DAR!!!

And people who are stealing and changing family information on wikitree are now posting BS in here… You may be held legally responsible for what you post on wikitree!!!!!

My Families information on Schauer, Senteney, Jordan, McFarland, and Others that I posted on wikitree has been changed by wikitree staff with out my permission.. As of 1/13/2015 none of the information that has my name Clayton as the manager is not mine but staff members that have taken over WIKITREE. I am not responsible for the false information! I have been finding more and more information in paid sites that was ONLY posted on wikitree

You do know that some people will pay good money to prove that they have family that fought in the revolutions war to get in the DAR or SAR

Biggest Pro: Crooks. None any more
Biggest Con: Crooks. They steal your information and sell it!!!


Moderator note: Multiple reviews by this person have been combined. Comments were edited to remove references to specific people and references to other reviews.

WikiTree Review by Angela Conklin,  Mar 25, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

My dead mother, my children and I were added to this without consent and fall under a profile manager other than myself. It’s odd that I cannot even fill out information about myself, my children and my mom without asking someone who never even knew my mother or children for permission. It’s a very strange and uncomfortable way of doing things.

Biggest Pro: Didn’t have the chance to find one.
Biggest Con: Other people can edit, change, and add things as well as be a manager of your profile. That’s insane! Plus your children can be added without consent.

WikiTree Review by Melanie Williams,  Mar 23, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Wished I would have never joined!! The profiles have no documenations or sources. People attach to profiles that there is no relationship too. STAY AWAY!!!!

WikiTree Review by Nick H.,  Mar 22, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Imported my Gedcom from Ancestry with ease and WikiTree professional support. In use for over a year and have not even received a single instance of Spam much less a sign my info is being farmed for marketing. Ptivacy level is set at users discretion from open to restricted. The Google Group+ support is excellent, informative and sometimes professional. WikiTree is supported by Wikipedia servers. My family enjoys the ease of browsing without the constant nagging of paying for use or even login. Perfect for the novice genealogy researcher.

Biggest Pro: Free with excellent support
Biggest Con: Profiles abandoned and duplication resolving

WikiTree Review by Greg H,  Mar 21, 2015

3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5

Overall not bad for US post 1700 profiles. A lot of profiles are not managed because people upload their GEDCOM files, never edit them then dropout. GEDCOM imports require a lot of manual editing. As others have mentioned, a few of the leaders feel they have been anointed to sit in judgment and get territorial over their fiefdoms. Other profiles do not belong to any particular project, so you need ESP to know with whom to consult. A lot of projects overlap, so leaders will disagree, putting you in the middle. I just try to avoid their projects and stick with US profiles.

Biggest Pro: most leaders and members are cooperative
Biggest Con: a few leaders are condescending and pedantic

WikiTree Review by Norm L,  Mar 21, 2015

Not Rated

I thought it was private , no more delusions of that now.

If you think this is a secure private site think again.

Take this as a warning , you will find the info you put in your tree for sale on the internet . For commercial interests to profit from.
You will be listed as a source ,

Biggest Con: They give or sell your info you input to other sites for them to sell and list you as a source

WikiTree Review by Max P.,  Mar 12, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have been reading the other comments and I find them confusing especially from people that say other members have hijacked some of their ancestors. According to WIKI Tree you can make all your profiles of your ancestors either Private or Public and how much authority you have over your own profiles.

I keep all my profiles under the open Green Lock which tells me anyone can see my profiles but need my permission to change any of the data. I once did get an e-mail suggesting I change a date but I proved to that person the date was correct. As long as you keep your profiles private in some way you shouldn’t have any troubles.

Biggest Pro: FREE and the knowledge that 100s of copies of your family tree will NOT show up on Rootsweb World Connect.
Biggest Con: Don’t see any at the moment.

WikiTree Review by Janie B.,  Mar 3, 2015

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

WikiTree is not perfect, but it’s a great site for those of us tired of having a thousand copies of great-grandpa out there. There is only supposed to be one profile per person.

Those who scream about “theft,” like Peg George below, obviously joined up and signed the Honor Code without meaning a word of it. We don’t need “genealogists” who either can’t/won’t read, or deliberately lie about their intentions in order to join the site.

Biggest Pro: One profile per person.
Biggest Con: People who join without learning what it’s about.

WikiTree Review by Teri,  Feb 18, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I wondered how the data I put on this website had been added to and changed until I read some of the reviews. I would like an alternative to ancestry where I can put my information and I should be the ONLY one able to change or add information to my own tree.

Biggest Pro: I thought it would be a nice place to do my family tree.
Biggest Con: I found out that my information was added to and changed incorrectly!

WikiTree Review by Peg George,  Feb 8, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

This site is the worst of the worst. I joined this site as a free alternative to Ancestry.com. I thought it appeared to be a legitimate site because they offered a feature to lock profiles. So, I joined and started adding data. That was the worst mistake that I ever made ! Within three days, other members of the site hijacked control of my data !!!!
For example, I entered my great grandmother’s information. Someone else who had her listed as an ancestor, that joined before me was allowed to “merge” the profiles and take control of her data. This happened with almost 1,000 different ancestors. I have no idea who these people are that claim to be related to me. I have never met them and none of my living relatives that I have contacted know anyone by those names ! But, now, because these people joined the site before me, they were allowed to hijack all my data, including photos, birth certificates, death certificates, etc. I tried complaining and refusing to merge the data, but it did not do any good. The people in charge of the site merged the profiles without my permission.
I asked to delete all information that I had entered, but was told that is not allowed !!!! Now, there is a bunch of personal information on that site about all of the living people in my family tree and a lot of the dead ones, as well !!!! Stay away from this site, unless you want some strangers hijacking your profile and taking control of all your ancestors data. Free is not always a good thing.
After talking at length with several Ancestry.com members and finding out that they have never had such issues with that site, I might just spend the money and join.

Biggest Pro: Free
Biggest Con: Data theft. You don’t retain control or ownership of your own data. No security.

WikiTree Review by LANA SMITH-BELL,  Jan 26, 2015

Not Rated

there’s too much arguing and interference. someone changed my great grandmother’s birthday to a wrong date. the person who did it didn’t talk to me first and she has no connection to any branch of my family.

Biggest Pro: i don’t see any pros here
Biggest Con: know it all busybodies

WikiTree Review by Raylene,  Jan 25, 2015

Not Rated

Working on Custer genealogy.

Biggest Pro: Would like to have a place for middle name, maiden name

WikiTree Review by Wish I'd Never joined!,  Jan 18, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

People merge “just” because the birthdate is close and the names are similar. They don’t do the genealogy work to provide sourcing for their suggestion to merge … just say “names are same”. Then I have to “prove” them wrong or right. I even had someone tell me “I know its not the same person but lets merge the bad profiles together and create a new one for the right person.” I’m like thinking this was the most backwards thinking I’d ever experienced!
Wish I’d never uploaded my gedcom because I can’t delete it and I recently discovered notes were imported that contained personal correspondence. I’m so screwed with this site and my reputation as a genealogist has gone to zero.

Biggest Pro: Supposedly everything is sourced but will allow the phrase”personal knowledge” of someone born 1743 or just the gedcom name as sourcing.
Biggest Con: Lack of valid sourcing, lack of control over haphazard merging and having to deal with bullies.

WikiTree Review by Don Clay,  Jan 18, 2015

Not Rated

Post your feeling about wikttree on face book

WikiTree Review by Don Clay,  Jan 18, 2015

Not Rated

The owners Chris Whitten site tell him of the BS that going on with his product!!!

https://plus.google.com/101048717578305914640/posts

WikiTree Review by Don Clay,  Jan 18, 2015

Not Rated

My Families information on Schauer, Senteney, Jordan, McFarland, and Others that I posted on wikitree has been changed by Ms Darlene Hill and S. Hill Willson wikitree staff with out my permission.. As of 1/13/2015 none of the information that has my name Clayton as the manager is not mine but staff members that have taken over WIKITREE. I am not responsible for the fouls information! I have been finding more and more information in paid sites that was ONLY posted on wikitree>>>>>

Biggest Pro: crooks
Biggest Con: crooks

WikiTree Review by Don Clay,  Jan 18, 2015

Not Rated

New people have taken over wikitree and are selling peoples family information!!!!! If you complan your kick off and lock out of the site!!!

Biggest Pro: crooks
Biggest Con: crooks

WikiTree Review by Don Clay,  Jan 18, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

My Families information on Schauer, Senteney, Jordan, McFarland, and Others that I posted on wikitree has been changed by Ms Darlene Hill and S. Hill Willson wikitree staff with out my permission.. As of 1/13/2015 none of the information that has my name Clayton as the manager is not mine but staff members that have taken over WIKITREE. I am not responsible for the fouls information! I have been finding more and more information in paid sites that was ONLY posted on wikitree>>>>>

WikiTree Review by Doris Wheeler,  Jan 3, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

This innovative program holds promise of becoming the best compiler of a universal family tree. Its use of DNA test results makes it truly unique. Whatever other program you might use, you should also use Wikitree, in my opinion. Its focus on accuracy of data is unparalleled.

Biggest Pro: Free.
Biggest Con: Potential users can be overwhelmed by its complexity and rich features.

WikiTree Review by burnedette carla deysel grobler,  Dec 29, 2014

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I would realy like to fill in all the things my self like mother ,ather spouse,kods ,ect .than I want to change my email aress to my own h were using my husbund’s thanks.

Biggest Pro: try to create an email accound and in the meantime I was useing my husbunds no that I have my own I realy want to use mine

Show 21-40 »