WikiTree

Click To See Award Winners
by Chris Whitten
The Worldwide Family Tree Wiki. Unlike many wikis the content is not completely open and public. Copyrights are kept by the contributors. Content is kept private through a unique “Trusted List” system that enables you to select the individuals you want to collaborate with and the specific content you want to share with them. This flexible system means everyone can be on one worldwide family tree but privacy isn’t sacrificed. GEDCOM import is supported.

WikiTree is free but new members must be invited by a family member or fellow genealogist and must understand the Honor Code and mission before contributing.

Free • Online • Full Featured
http://www.wikitree.com
Overall1442.69 out of 52.69 out of 52.69 out of 52.69 out of 52.69 out of 5 2.69
2016132.54 out of 52.54 out of 52.54 out of 52.54 out of 52.54 out of 5 2.54
2015402.86 out of 52.86 out of 52.86 out of 52.86 out of 52.86 out of 5 2.86
Earlier912.61 out of 52.61 out of 52.61 out of 52.61 out of 52.61 out of 5 2.61

Add Your Review of WikiTree

Your name:         Your rating:   worst 1 2 3 4 5 best

    If your review includes a website address, it will not appear until it is checked to ensure it is not spam.

Biggest Pro:  

Biggest Con:  

If you see this field, leave it blank:

144 Reviews of WikiTree     RSS 2.0 RSS     Showing 1 - 20                   Add Your Review

WikiTree Review by Peter J. Roberts,  Jun 15, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Best online collaborative one world tree with the least duplicates that I know of. The forum (G2G) provides fast and helpful information and the questions and answers can be voted up or down. A DNA tester’s Autosomal DNA, Y chromosome, X chromosome, and mitochondrial DNA information is automatically associated with their ancestry. There is so much early ancestry already in WikiTree that it is often easier to manually enter your family tree and connect to shared ancestors already there rather than uploading a GEDCOM.

Biggest Pro: Genetic genealogy features
Biggest Con: Occasional vandals

WikiTree Review by campe,  May 7, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

It great

Biggest Pro: it free
Biggest Con: coding

WikiTree Review by Patricia Prickett Hickin,  May 4, 2016

5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

Personally I really love Wikitree. I love the focus being on the individual and the ability to do really long, illustrated biographies. I love being able to add link to other people, to outside sources, to other websites, etc. I love all the family tree tools. I love being able to do “free-space profiles” about places or events or churches, etc., etc. I love being able to merge information about an individual with the research someone else has done. I love being able to add an infinite number of sources.

Biggest Pro: The biographies that are so easy to view. It’s so much more than names and dates.
Biggest Con: If there’s a disagreement with someone else about parentage there’s no easy way to show both sets, except in the bio.

WikiTree Review by Laura,  Apr 19, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I find wikitree a great site to work on. The support from others is good and yes, there are people trying to control a lot of entries of the same person and messages are sent to the site managers to confirm or reject merges. One can set the privacy control and many sites are accessable due to low privacy set by the manager. Remember that access can be granted by a site manager and that privacy is there to protect living persons listed. Possibly the processes are an aggravation to some, but much is happening on the site which is positive if you remain within the area of your own research. Many people will help as far as they can. I try to substantiate my entries with a copy of a death certificate and am always open to suggestions and corrections. Most of what I receive is there to promote the site and to streamline the info to eradicate duplication.

Biggest Pro: Access is free and assistance is always available.
Biggest Con: Takes a bit of time to get used to the website.

WikiTree Review by Ronald Hatmaker,  Apr 18, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I tried for 2 days to use wikitree and I have encountered many difficulties and I am certainly computer literate.
Entering information is not straightforward. I entered my grandfather but could not enter my grandmother. I knew a birthdate month and year but not day. It would not take it at all. Entering sources is not straight forward if at all.
An average person will never be able to easily use wikitree. Even though the data that I did enter is not private, I have noticed already that someone is changing it.
ron

Biggest Con: ease of use

WikiTree Review by adolph leuzinger,  Apr 9, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

the privacy settings are a joke. i went to a newly installed computer that has never been to wikitree and typed in a name that i knew had a privacy setting of “unlisted” those are not supposed to appear in searches of any kind according to the privacy statement. i typed in the name and it came up with “we found 1 match.” then displayed “unlisted” please try to explain how that profile was “found” in a general search. tell me how it is “unlisted” and comes up as “unlisted” but it is apparent by the search criteria who that “unlisted” individual is. it should not come up as anything. it should say “NO MATCH”

if your name ever is typed into that data base no one can remove it even for privacy violations. no matter what privacy setting someone uses nothing there is private.

they also have a link that is supposed to let you request “anonymous” on your profile and remove all private information but it leads to nothing that lets you even request that. just pages talking about privacy. never a form to fill out or an email address to make the request.

i notice the low rating above. be very cautious in using this site.

Biggest Pro: nothing
Biggest Con: privacy is not upheld

WikiTree Review by Cindy,  Apr 5, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

On line genealogy acquaintance tried to get me to join, oh she was so excited that now the “truth will come out” and “all the mistakes of all those other on-line trees will be a thing of the past” and how it’s going to be “so much better” than all those other sites. So, I checked it out. MY GOD WHAT A MESS! The people putting the information in here are the same people that are making all those other on-line trees with all those mistakes, and they’re all right here in this tree, too. If the person managing that mistake doesn’t want to change it, they’re not going to change it, no matter how much proof you shove at them. So, the lies and mistakes just go on the way they have before. It’s actually worse than all those other online trees, because for some reason people think Wiki anything is the Bible or the Encyclopedia Brittanica, they don’t seem to understand that any idiot can post anything they want. It’s hard to navigate, it’s a jumbled mess, hard to search, hard to read, the format is just plain ridiculous Try to correct a mistake someone has made. Pfffft. There are instances where people’s surnames are spelled differently, so the thing won’t let you connect them because of the spelling. Anybody that has ever seriously done genealogy (and you’d hope that someone who built a genealogy site had done some genealogy) knows that there are families that spell their names differently. Then you have the people that don’t know diddly about DNA saying they’ve got “DNA PROOF” that so-and-so is who they claim him to be. No way in hell. Just because John Smith and Mary Doe both have James Doe listed as their g-g-g-g-grandfather, it doesn’t make it so. Yes, John and Mary’s DNA may match, but that just means they are related to each other. Unless they have a sample of Old James Doe’s DNA, it doesn’t prove a thing. If the two of you made the same mistake, that DNA is not going to prove you’ve got the right person, just that you’re related. I wouldn’t touch this with a ten foot pole, and I wouldn’t recommend it to my worst enemy. Ought to be taken down completely.

Biggest Pro: Absolutely None
Biggest Con: Perpetuates false and misleading information

WikiTree Review by Adolph Leuzinger,  Mar 15, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Wikitree has many “orphan” accounts. i have seen many complaints about this. the biggest reason for this that no one talks about is that so many people are banned from wikitree without solid reasoning. the mediation process is a joke. they tend to be biased to one person for whatever reason. sometimes the mediator is a friend of one of the persons they are mediating for. ONE person decides if someone is to be banned based on their biased position. no group oversight before someone is banned. no way of appeal after this unjust banning proceedure.

the whole web site is a power play for accounts. one person has control of a person’s profile and even if that profile is of your parent, you can be locked out of that account by some controlling person who likes to play games.

be smart and do not join. i did not but i represent some who did and were banned without any proof of wrong doing. wikitree mediation emails give enough proof to take the owner to court and that will eventually happen.

Biggest Pro: there is not one
Biggest Con: management and biased mediation that has no over sight to keep it on the up and up.

WikiTree Review by Peter T Burke,  Mar 9, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Miserable website to try! If you like frustration and problems with the website this is the place for you!

I have been doing genealogy on the internet for about 30 years. I have over 4,000 verified ancestor profiles in a GEDCOM. I have done extensive DNA testing. I thought I would share these to make it easier for other search for the same ancestors. Silly me. What a hassle! Everything is so secure that you can’t get at your own name.

Biggest Pro: Don’t know that there is one
Biggest Con: Very difficult and not intuitive at all!

WikiTree Review by Vicky,  Feb 21, 2016

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

WikiTree seems to be one of those things that people either really love or really hate.

Personally, I consider it to be one of the best free collaborative family tree websites out there - the key word being “collaborative”. One of WikiTree’s primary goals is to share information as widely as possible so that multiple people can contribute to the same profile. This means that if you put your family information on WikiTree, you have to be OK with the fact that other people will want to see it and/or comment on it and/or correct it. These other people may be distant relatives that you have never heard of, or not even related at all. That doesn’t mean everything is totally public - there are privacy options (which you really need to learn to use), but privacy is just that: privacy. As opposed to control. If you want your own private tree that you control for yourself and not talk to anyone, then WikiTree is not for you.

The other major foundation of WikiTree is accuracy. This means being able to back up your relationships with actual sources, and cite those sources when asked. Yes, personal recollections count as “sources”, and yes, you can add in questions or speculation (as long as you mark it as such). The WikiTree FAQ is full of instructions about how to present all kinds of information. However, if you’re just looking to dump your GEDCOM without a second thought, or collect a bunch of names, then WikiTree is not for you.

One caveat: I don’t have much experience with the WikiTree “community”… I tend to avoid online genealogy communities in general due to the fact that they are usual cesspools of drama. I don’t know if WikiTree’s is any different. But you don’t really need to use the forums to use WikiTree.

TL;DR: WikiTree can be really good or really bad depending on your needs and expectations. It’s not for everyone. It’s probably not for beginners.

Biggest Pro: One profile per person, collaboration, strict conduct code and detailed contingency/resolutions for most problems
Biggest Con: It’s not for beginners or casual family historians

WikiTree Review by Terri,  Feb 21, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I’ve tried several family tree type sites, and this one is just awful. Worst of all, it’s NOT user friendly at all. Visually is badly done, IMO. The font on the pages is often tiny, and it’s just visually abrasive [color, arrangement, etc.]

Biggest Pro: undecided
Biggest Con: Not user friendly

WikiTree Review by saladin,  Feb 17, 2016

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

I thought WT was going to be great - UNTIL I ran into the controllers who act like they own it. There are a few obsessed people who try to dictate your info and almost bully you ( though they might do it ” sweetly” so they don’t break their ” rules”. I found obstinate profile managers who block you from your own family members and think they know everything. Collaboration is pretty a much a joke sometimes. There is too much drama there. I decided to move to familysearch.org. I like it better.

Biggest Pro: free posting and easy access
Biggest Con: controlling know-it-alls who want to control YOU.

WikiTree Review by Jared,  Jan 30, 2016

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

I do not rate wikitree at all! Sure it strives to connect people, but it has one critical flaw. I started adding family with creditable evidence and as some family lived so long ago, it was freely open to all. An American who has no evidence nor family connection started making changes. They started changing names and adding family with no real evidence, just an index number without actually checking the original after doing half an hour of research. I use Ancestry also and every American who I have queried on my family (I contacted over 50 users last year alone), I found the didn’t actually know a thing and based a lot of so called evidence on “assumption”, very unprofessional. One thing to be weary is that most “researchers” don’t actually check documents they quote! I saw a few trees and thought wow, I check actual records and the evidence was not theirs to claim. Most recently an American I am in contact with claim descend of Adam Rolland of Gask, a well documented tree with wills, probates and death records and this person completely manufactured her connection through the surname when in actual fact that person never had any surviving male heirs. I pride myself on gathering evidence (there are no facts, only evidence) and connecting the dots and when some hick shows me their “family tree” I show them mine, along with my archive system and over two hundred folders of evidence I have collected to support my claims. Back to my point on Wiki, this American was just changing information for fun, they think themselves a genealogist without formal qualification (yes, to be a genealogist requires an actual qualification). I am not a genealogist, I don’t have the qualification, I am merely a family archiver. Most people you will find on Wikitree are amateurs, they do 10 minutes of research or worse just copy another’s tree without checking. The only truth with Wikitree is it will never be true, there will always be false manufactured connections to royalty or because most people don’t know a thing about their family and just copy. Therefore if Wikitree cannot be fully true, it is pointless. My advice is to stick to building your own tree that you control because if somebody says you should change your tree, you turn to them like me and request evidence. A good rule of thumb, three points of evidence make a good case as one piece of evidence is circumstantial and not enough to prove a point. I didn’t put all my evidence on Wikitree, but I did reference it and encouraged people to contact me and ask. Nobody did. My ancestry tree is private to that very reason, people take and take and take until you find a picture of you ancestor associated with another incorrect person. Never publicly show your tree, it is your own work, your history, your photos and evidence for your family alone. Wikitree encourages stealing and will never protect your property and integrity. When the Internet is gone Wikitree will be gone, so publish your work in books, so that many generations can read and enjoy. Wikitree is not a tool like other family tree programs, it is open sourced and anybody, I mean anybody can steal, edit and delete your precious work.

P.S. If you stay with Wiki, be careful, follow the evidence and not the conman who edits your tree without evidence. Ethically only proven family should edit your tree, not random unrelated people.

Biggest Pro: Connections
Biggest Con: The amount of fraudulent information being edited and shared and the fact people mostly don’t connect the same trees

WikiTree Review by Patricia,  Dec 29, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

12/29/2015

Hi — I tried this site today & it was a mistake. I saw a FREE offer for family tree so I thought Why Not.
Well, I typed my info & could not figure out how to add the other family members.

Biggest Pro: A FREE web site for family trees
Biggest Con: No able to add other family members

WikiTree Review by SC Hultgren,  Dec 25, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

Unfortunately this is the very worst source there is for family records. Copyrights are kept by contributor. Many contributors have simply gone on sights such as Ancestry.com uploaded GEDCOM’s from members trees who have not marked their trees as “Private” and deposted the list of names. These GEDCOMs have been copied without ANY supported facts. As a result you have a web page with a list of names. In my case the “contributor” has uploaded 15,690 random names most with a note “Supported Documentation Did Not Transfer” and when I request that information be taken down .. By an absolutely random contributor who is not even related to I was told No. So there it sits on the web wrong, created by someone who is not related. Lets face it very few people are going to be related to 15,690 people as this so called contributor claims to be.

Biggest Pro: There are none
Biggest Con: The people can load 10’s of thousands of names and have Zero supporting documentation to support the info.

WikiTree Review by MAL,  Dec 23, 2015

1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5

The Definition of Family History is.

A drawing or chart that shows how the different members of a family are related to each other.
In other words - A line of descent traced continuously from an ancestor.
That being the case. How can somebody, who appears to have done a One Name Study on their Surname, include these Totally Unrelated Persons, and call it their family tree. 

There is NO Continuous Line Of Descent.


But then to have the audacity to become the MANAGER of the Spouse one of these Totally Unrelated person.

When I asked this person how he was related to my Grandmother.
The Answer was.
“There is no direct link to my family line”

When I asked how he got all his information.
The reply was.
“I’ve just been busy trying to log lots of people with the surname ********. Its largely a copy from Ancestry. I’ve put all that I have in Wikitree”

So presumably, this person has pulled several hundred, or more, unrelated people with the same surname as themselves. Along with their spouses, and their descendants. And called it their Family Tree.
This person ADMITS to not having a line of descent that they can trace continuously from the person in MY Family, that they have attached to themselves.

So why is it allowed???

Perhaps over years of research, they may be able to piece some of this vastly expanded, unrelated tree together. But until they can proved a Continuous Line of Descent. They shouldn’t be allowed to make connections.

My own Family Tree consists of just over 7,700 people. This includes over 1500 people who have my surname, who are related. 
No doubt this unrelated person would have latched on to 90 or so people in my tree that had his surname.
Because if he wasn’t related to my Grandmother. He WASN”T related to them. Having latched on to my Grandfather, they again given the chance would have latched on to the 1500+ people with his name.

WikiTree - Don’t Go Near It

Merry Christmas Everybody

I Bet This Gets Deleted

Biggest Pro: There Isn’t One
Biggest Con: To True, WIKITREE Is The Biggest CON

WikiTree Review by sylvia,  Dec 11, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

i found a lot of unsupported information and wild stories about people without documents to support those stories. i joined because of a distant cousin. found the atmosphere hostile. the profile “managers” can take away your trusted status even on your own father if you disagree with them and ask for documentation. then you go to the mediation process and the cards are stacked against you as the new person on the block.
the person who is directly related to an ancestor should have the option of managing their page, regardless of who originally added the profile. co management is an option too but to be “just trusted” with parent or grandparent to a 2 cousin twice removed is a travesty. they do not share these persons as common ancestors as your wikitree co management statement states. not with immediate family. wherever you connect is where we become distant cousins and can co manage the profiles. as long as this web site has policies not being followed and no one who is willing to uphold them, this is a very negative atmosphere.

Biggest Pro: i did not find any. everything gets tangled up when you have to ask to be trusted with your own father’s profile.
Biggest Con: profile managers who refuse to share profiles with those who are direct descendents of someone they manage.

WikiTree Review by Dr. Taylor Ruhl,  Nov 9, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

I have found considerable information of value on WikiTree that I could not find elsewhere. However, I’ve found that my contributing is constantly being watched. If I put in some new records without documentation, I get an email from an observer within 30 minutes or less reminding me. If I point out something incorrect that someone else has contributed and suggest that it be corrected, I quickly get an email asking if I’m putting pressure on someone - and I am an unfailingly polite person. Thus I decided to take a time out from Wikitree. I may continue to use it to find information, but will discontinue contributing.

Biggest Pro: Quite accurate (much more than Ancestry.com).
Biggest Con: “Big brother” operation where you are constantly watched.

WikiTree Review by Jon L,  Oct 31, 2015

2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5

Names added that do not belong and unable to remove!

Biggest Con: Names added that do not belong and unable to remove!

WikiTree Review by Jim,  Oct 15, 2015

4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5

Being a Wiki, Wikitree is free and always will be. No chance it will be absorbed by some big name and hidden behind a Paywall.

Like any Wiki, the information is only as trustworthy as the people keying it in. But wrongs can be corrected, and there are plenty of opportunities to share source info and links.

Unlike many online genealogy databases, Wikitree is intended to be a shared tree, conceivably linking every human on the planet, with a goal of one profile per person.

It’s not as richly featured as some, but the basic features are there. It will get better with time. Its potential is staggering!

Biggest Pro: Sharing and collaboration
Biggest Con: Unrestricted GEDCOM imports by novices can in an instant contaminate entire trees dating back centuries. There needs to be some restrictions on who is allowed to import (perhaps a certification exam) and how far back (1800 would be a good cutoff)

Show 21-40 »